Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 16, 2012
Site 58 is not a good site if you have slideouts as there is a tree in the middle of the site on the canopy side and the water/electric pole on the opposite side which makes is difficult with the slideout and putting up the canopy.
Oct 15, 2012
Sites are level, easy sewer hook up, nice store, clean restrooms, and friendly staff. We will stay there again if we are travelling in this area.
Oct 15, 2012
Oct 15, 2012
Oct 15, 2012
Oct 13, 2012
The Madison KOA employees were amazing, very helpful and friendly. The "Red Roof Inn" cabin is a fantastic place to stay. See you next year!
Oct 12, 2012
Oct 10, 2012
Okay campground, no service/office/store not opened after 4PM or before 9:30 am, cable only had 4 channels, wifi worked fine, washrooms clean/acceptable, fairly tight in/out re manouevering.
Oct 10, 2012
Oct 09, 2012
Oct 08, 2012
Very helpful and gracious staff. The store wasn't open before we left and needed a sewer hose to replace ours, One of the staff was going to get us one to use from the maintenance shed until we could get somewhere and buy a replacement. That's what I call service! Very kind of him to do that.
Oct 08, 2012
Surprised that a KOA would only have 2 tent sites on the whole campground but they were awesome in the woods. The firepit area was fantastic sunk down between the 2 sites. It was late and we were a little rawdy. I didn't appreciate my first warning to diet down with a phone call stating the Koa was going call the police and have us thrown out???. Athough the staff wasn't friendly, we would return.
Oct 08, 2012
good location and service
Oct 08, 2012
Oct 05, 2012
The sites are not rocked or paved so be prepared for a mud bath if you pull in during bad weather.
Oct 04, 2012
The worst KOA I have stayed at. Stink bugs took over my RV. We are still killing bugs two days after our stay. This should be reported to the health dept. Very upset to even have to pay for the night. Was going to stay for a week.
Oct 04, 2012
False advertising - their jumping pillow has been broken over a month and they still advertise it. The owner seems to think the store doesn't need to be open, my reservation wasn't available at the overnight check in box when I arrived at 4pm, but the lady working the desk just happened to be there at that time. Poor service and sub-standard sites (muddy, uneven) for the price.
Oct 02, 2012
I had a GREAT stay at this camp ground... what more can you say...
Oct 02, 2012
I stayed in a kabin and it was great. It seemed like I was in the middle of no where but I had access to civilization within minutes. My only issue was that when we pulled the sheets off one of the bunk beds, they had a bit of a musty, mildewy smell to it. But great otherwise. Thanks!
Oct 02, 2012
The only real issue was that the sewer drain was about 8" or so above level and we have a low trailer so had to go to another site to drain.
Oct 01, 2012
Oct 01, 2012
It was a great experience for our first camping trip ever! The lady at check in was so nice and very helpful. The one glitch, check your cable splitters, people are not very nice when they are hooking up and the splitter connection was terrible. We were in space #1. We will be back again!
Sep 30, 2012
unbeliveable noise still going on at 2AM Child urinating on the grass in the presents of an adult male at tthe next unit
Sep 30, 2012
Campground is poorly maintained with several unkept trailers in the park. Pull thru spots are tight making it tough to get in and out. Checking in was lengthy because staff did not know how to handle KOA gift certificates even though I told them at my online registration I would be using them.
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 29, 2012
Fairly convenient to Pittsburgh and its attractions, but seemed dirty and tired. Sites very close together. Felt more like a residence "trailor park" than a campground
Sep 28, 2012
Sep 25, 2012
This is a nice KOA, and we enjoyed our stay. We chose this camp ground as a half way point for family members to meet together. There were a lot of permanent residents that at times were noisy, even late at night.
Sep 25, 2012
Sep 24, 2012
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Place was very cleann and nice. Had a great time. My only complaint was that the heater did not work in cabin K99; you should check on this. thanks.
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 23, 2012
I know they were crowded, but I had an extremely hard time getting into my site and getting back out of it ( 50A pull thru).The amenitites were good.
Sep 21, 2012
This was the friendliest group of personell I have met during my camping The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant and fun as possible The cabin we stayed in was very clean and welcome as home thanks for a wonderful time
Sep 20, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
Enjoyed our relaxing weekend. Campsite was quiet and well maintained. Thanks.
Sep 19, 2012
Our stay was a stop over night stay on our way to another KOA in Ohio. It was very quiet and easy access from the interstate.
Sep 19, 2012
This KOA does not meet the usual KOA standards. The men's restroom had water puddled throughout and rubber mats so you didn't step in the water. The facility needs a complete upgrade. The store and registration closed the day after we arrived and the only way to purchase items or extend our stay was to call the manager. We chose to move on rather than extend. We stayed at KOA 16 times prior.
Sep 19, 2012
Always friendly, great sites and layout
Sep 19, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
If the big yellow KOA sign hadn't been out front, I wouldn't have believed it was a KOA. We got there @ 4pm and the store was closed and locked. I called and somebody came and it took them 20m to get us a site on an overnite stay on a Mon nite w/an empty campground. The store was dark and dirty but the owner takes in laundry on the side. The laundromat was huge. Awful place.
Sep 17, 2012
They allowed us to stay later in the afternoon so we could see our daughter at U of Pitt. Much appreciated!
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
EAsy In/Out, friendly and courteous staff, real nice campground and facilities.
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
Reserving a space was nearly impossible. I could not get anyone at the campsite on the phone. I spoke with a representative who did not work for KOA and had very limited info. They told me our cabins were together, but they weren't. They didn't know the giant inflatable pillow was broken, or even our cabin numbers. On top of this, we spent $84.84 per cabin, way too much for the tiny space.
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
This was probably the worst KOA. The sites were so close together you could barely put out your awning. The facilities seem to be in a constant state of needing repair and those repairs are only half done. It was dusty, the gravel roads were hard to walk on, the pond was slime covered and the bathrooms were dirty. The only good part was that they had a nice dog area.
Sep 14, 2012
Staff didn't seem to know anything about the area or POI. Store and reception area were poorly lit and somewhat in poor shape. Campground was pretty nice and sites were not real close together and plenty of room.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.