Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
This was our third year at this koa. Every year we explore different cabins. We stayed at the solar lodge. The pool was clean and refreshing after a fun day of mining. Went creek tubing, which is always a blast. I will be back next year and probably bringing more family and friends. Staff was extra friendly this year and was appreciated.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
it was a nice, relaxing stay. staff was very friendly, restrooms were clean, site was quiet, couldn't ask for more.
Aug 16, 2017
Its so busy, the staff was not able to keep up with the bathroom. Toilet paper was out, the garbage was always overflowing. One toilet was completely out for a day. 7th year and they need to bring it back to the high standards we are used to.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
This is our 7th year going. We go with a group of 11 families. Everything was great. The only disappointments were, the bathrooms seemed to be dirtier this time and we were disappointed to reserve for next year and find that most of the sites that all the families get were booked. So next year we are all spread out.
Aug 14, 2017
We reserved a superior tent site on the river, which was fantastic...except for the folks who were confused about where to get out of the river tubing Run who cut through our site and helped themselves to our paddles and less than secured food. A big "EXIT HERE" or "private" sign would go a long way to direct those who may be confused.
Aug 14, 2017
The deluxe camp site was beautiful. I loved falling asleep to the sounds of the river. I've never been to a KoA before so the many activities were wonderful! Even the welcome pack I received upon arrival was impressive. I'm already making plans to come back.
Aug 14, 2017
Very nice stay. Close to The Mines! Clean, relatively quiet. Nice stay next to the river. Close enough to other things to do, but not too far away from things either. Clean. Well maintained. Looks like mega-garbage dumpsters were dumped daily (?). We even got to swim @ your pool and watch them haul a huge septic tank out of the ground. Who could ask for more?
Aug 13, 2017
negative:women's bathrooms-toilets were not working appropriately(not flushing). shower stall walls(between showers) should be closed in. we pack for the family and lose our supplies when passing to person in next shower. positive: we were there during thunderstorms and high winds..your staff was excellent in checking in and giving evacuation plans and making sure no one was hurt. appreciated!
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility, just not used to spending $48 for a tent site.
Aug 10, 2017
We had a great "family reunion" - 19 of us all together. It was nice that there were cabins, RV, camper and tent sites. There was a little issue checking in - I asked for two tent sites next to each other in the 97-100 area and was told I had to wait and talk to the people who requested 98 to see if they would move to 100. It worked out, but it would be nice if we could reserve a specific site.
Aug 09, 2017
Would be beneficial to have an additional bathroom near sites 95 to 100 area of the campground
Aug 09, 2017
I stayed for a week at site #98 .. Full tenters and I enjoyed every minute of it. I did stay at the same sight last year and fell in love. I have found my campgrounds. There is just one thing that is needed around the tent campsites. Is "RESTROOMS"... there is an open area that would be perfect to put a small facility Right behind the dumpster area. More appreciative and pleasant to have one close
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
When we got there a charcoal grill was missing from our site. Went to the office to tell them and they took care of it right away. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely be staying again.
Aug 09, 2017
We unfortunately didn't get to be able to enjoy our stay. 3 hours after we checked in, a massive storm came through and wiped out our tent, canopy and grill. Branches broke from nearby trees and landed on our tent and blew over the rest of our stuff. Tent poles broken, all of our gear soaked...we were told they were booked and didn't have a place for us to stay. That ended our weekend.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
we visit herkimer diamond mines koa yearly. Always enjoy it there. The bathroom was not the cleanest and only one stall was in working order. We did notify the office and he got right on the radio to call maintenance. They don't seem to patrol like they used to. Several sites had more than two cars, and many people. They could use another bathroom down by the tenting area.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Very clean, with nice campsites, and lots to do! Would definitely come back
Aug 01, 2017
Everyone who works there are so friendly and heloful. Showers and toulets clean and well maintained. Lots of kid activities. Food prices extremely reasonable and Sunday morning breakfast was delicious! We will be back!
Jul 31, 2017
One suggestion: consider recycling or renting tubes. we had 2 families who didn't want to buy a piece of plastic for a one-use river tubing, also there were many tubes in the trash at the end of the weekend. This seemed needlessly wasteful. Otherwise, everything was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
Great KOA, friendly staff, clean facilities.
Jul 26, 2017
This campground had so much to offer with diamond mining across the street, a lazy river, pool,nightly movies. Plus the campsites bathrooms and showers were clean. A great experience.
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Excellent
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
We had our second annual group trip for ourselves and friends from out of state this time. Everyone had a wonderful time, and we plan on returning again!
Jul 21, 2017
We had a beautiful tent site on the river, I loved the view. The only thing I didn't like is water hook ups were not included so it made cleaning up after meals difficult.
Jul 20, 2017
Bathrooms are a little far from the tent sites.
Jul 18, 2017
2nd KOA I've stayed at on my bike tour. 2nd KOA that told me internet would work from my site. 2nd KOA where the Internet did not work from my site. I will avoid KOA as internet availability was the major reason I chose it.
Jul 17, 2017
Campground was very enjoyable. The family had a wonderful time.
Jul 17, 2017
The experience was by far the worst I have ever had in my 30+ years of camping. The sites were uncomfortably tight, the quiet hrs were never enforced, the bathrooms were few, and poorly stocked. The drunken, trashy behavior my two small children witnessed was something I cant even wrap my head around. The staff were kind and helpful after the fact, but we still left without finishing our stay.
Jul 16, 2017
Hunting for Herks was an item on our "bucket list". In order to make it happen, we knew we needed an affordable means of lodging. We thought we would try to tent camp. Herkimer KOA couldn't have been more perfect for our family's first go at camping. The river that ran alongside our site was the perfect setting for us to LOVE our stay. Everything else was a bonus. These Midwesterners will be back!
Jul 14, 2017
Very clean. Beautiful sites. Close to places we wished to visit. The negative was a bordering camper couple who at 0130 am every morning would scream and yell at one another using foul language while their young son cried mommy. We almost Called 911.
Jul 14, 2017
Staff 2aas very friendly, the campground was clear. For a reasonable price had w beautiful sight on the river.
Jul 12, 2017
Employees/mgr very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Bathrms cleaned timely!
Jul 11, 2017
Very nice except for the rain. Would be nice to have platforms to put tent on. Areas were little wet. Besides the wetness we enjoyed our stay will be returning. Staff was great.
Jul 10, 2017
I called in to arrange to stay by my brother and the ranger said it was, but it was not. We were far apart.
Jul 10, 2017
The reason that I wouldn't be likely to recommend this KOA is that I don't know of anyone who would be camping in that area. The campground was fine. We were there just a very short time and didn't take advantage of much of what the campground offers, but it all seemed very good. The picnic table was missing from our campsite. When I informed the manager on duty, the problem was quickly rectifi
Jul 08, 2017
Unusable campsite (96) from the day I arrived (gravel, flooded). Moved to a friend's site, flooded out, evacuated, trip ruined. Feel free to contact for MUCH more.
Jul 04, 2017
Very enjoyable for the kids. Loved the creek for rafting. Everything was close to your site....
Jul 03, 2017
Great place to camp for are first time will be there many more times
Jul 03, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 02, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award