Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2015
I love koa and love staying I do it every year I love camping there thank you very much
Aug 25, 2015
Need more restrooms and water faucet needs different end on it near the cabins 14-19. Also would be nice if you provided air to blow up tubes
Aug 25, 2015
Awesome place for tons of fun for all ages. The scenery and the enjoyment of the creek on the property is a blessing. We booked again before we left the property. I heard the owner has plans to expand more cabins and Amenities ASAP. Very pleased to hear that. Basically we all felt like we were in another country. Good job!!
Aug 25, 2015
AMAZING customer service at the campground! Extremely pleased. It's nice to see great customer service, since it's not common much these days :)
Aug 25, 2015
We loved the stay at the cabin!! It is great that we were able to take our two dogs also!! The Diamond mine was fun and so was kayaking the river!!! The staff was very courteous!!
Aug 25, 2015
Friendly welcoming staff, clean facilities, beautiful locations, loved that it included nice playground and family fun areas. Didn't feel crowded due to the open grassy area opposite our campsite.
Aug 25, 2015
Fishing is good. Your employees are the best. A. great place to meet other campers. Everyone friendly. Everyone who we met willing to help each other. The tye dying shirts good idea. Need bigger size shirts. Diamond mining is excellent. I wish there was a storage area so I can leave my pop up trailer so we can come up more often. This is our favorite place. Pool is beautiful. Wish it was heated.
Aug 25, 2015
When we made the reservation I wish they would have informed us that they would be sharing the space and pool with a childrens day camp. It made for a very loud and crowded week. We were unfortunately parked right in front of the pavilion where the children arrived around 7:30AM and stayed until 4:00PM. We honestly could not hear ourselves think. The counselors and their bullhorns didn't help.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
This was a very nice campground with many things for the kids to do. I can not wait to come back again! Thank you!
Aug 25, 2015
Thank you! will camp again!
Aug 25, 2015
Love this campground.
Aug 25, 2015
We had a great experience and look forward to coming back again!
Aug 25, 2015
The campsite was very clean and had tons of great activities for family fun. The bathrooms are convenient and showers and clean. I would recommend that people choose a deluxe tent site if they want more privacy. Our neighbors were right on top of us and had a long late party one night making it hard to sleep with two small children. The 10pm-8am quiet hours were not honored well at all. Also, th
Aug 25, 2015
overall fantastic. very clean, very well organized.saw a lot of new upgrades. accommodated to our needs.look forward to every year coming back.A++++
Aug 25, 2015
We had such a wonderful experience here! The staff was very helpful and polite. The facilities and site was more then we expected. I recommend this location to everyone!
Aug 25, 2015
Cabins were great and so were the other services offered, but the bathrooms seemed to have a little backup and were smelly as a result.
Aug 25, 2015
Folks were very nice and accommodating when we requested a different site. Very nice campground with lots to do. The only negative was that, in the section we were in anyway, there seemed to be a lot of flies probably due to the way the dumpster was situated.
Aug 25, 2015
We really enjoyed the scenery at our site and the swing at each site. The pool was clean and fun.
Aug 25, 2015
Always love Herkimer
Aug 24, 2015
We stopped here in June for a overnight stay on our way to Niagara Falls. We loved it so much we came back for a week this August. And we plan on coming by this way again. Love it
Aug 24, 2015
Clean, Friendly and fun. so much entertainment for the whole family.
Aug 24, 2015
This was the very first vacation for my kids. They had a great time and we will be returning. There was so many different things to do. I was able to relax and the kids got to be kids.
Aug 23, 2015
I am writing a letter to KOA office as I feel this is the proper way to handle my issue with my stay, sorry to say and have to do this way.
Aug 22, 2015
Nice camp ground. Plenty to do. Pool very nice. Kids loved playing in creek when level was low. Need to be very careful when water level raises. Current very strong.
Aug 22, 2015
It was so much fun we stayed an extra day.
Aug 22, 2015
This was the fourth time that we have stayed at a solar lodge in Herkimer...everything was great except we were not given enough bath towels...the three of us had to use the same towel and keep it for two days before switching off to a new one...they were not even bath size as provided in the past. that was not good but eveything else was excellent. thank you.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
I love this KOA, but I have noticed this summer that they really need to spend some time updating and repairing the cabins. I was in a cabin by the water that the screens were falling out, futon was really old and there was a double mattress on a queen bed frame. Just a little TLC would help.
Aug 22, 2015
There were dogs allowed to roam. Chasing our son when walking our dog that was leashed. Bathrooms were always dirty and muddy. Bathroom that was part of office always smelled like urine. Papers all over grounds. Gardens not kept. Store a mess and not organized.
Aug 21, 2015
Great place to stay. Wonderful place to stay and friendly staff and campers.
Aug 21, 2015
The staff very nice and helpfull the park is very nice and clean
Aug 21, 2015
We didn't sleep well -- a misunderstanding about bunk beds vs. a full-sized bed, and the temperature control was difficult to get used to, but overall, the place was nice, neat, well-appointed, and the staff was super accommodating!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
I was there a year ago, but I you didnt have room. I desided then, I would come back, and last week I did. It was only for over night, but everything and everyone was great. Next summer we will try to come back, to stay longer. Thanks agine for everything.
Aug 20, 2015
I was very pleased. I was first welcomed by the courteous and welcoming staff. The cleanliness of the campsite and restrooms. I loved how the store had price right supplies, that were simple to have forgotten or depleted. I can't wait for next year to come back.
Aug 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cabin we stayed in was very nice. They had tons of things for the kids to do. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 20, 2015
Your staff is friendly and everything was clean . Plenty of scheduled activities too, we loved the night movies in the pavilion . This is an excellent place to stay . Great job, we will be back .
Aug 20, 2015
The campground was such a wonderful surprise. We don't frequent campgrounds and we were a little apprehensive about what we might find. To our surprise it was fun, friendly and clean. The layout, themes in various areas were very thoughtful and well done. Love that you could rough it or not. Definitely will come again to hunt for diamonds. By the way tubing on the river was a must for all ages.
Aug 20, 2015
We arrived on a Thursday, The first night was so noisy no sleep could be had. Was told there was security, but the two parties across the way were arguing and loud discussions well into 1:00a.m.I did not feel safe.Friday after check-in the park was so crowded, I could not believe it. This is not camping. I Never will stay at a KOA again. We left still having two nights left. No refund was offered
Aug 20, 2015
awesome - bring water shoes and a tube to float down the river
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Very nice campground with friendly, helpful staff but a problem with "Showers". No hot water.
Aug 19, 2015
We had a wonderful time and plan to come back and stay longer!
Aug 19, 2015
Wonderful!! Clean level sites. Evening was quiet. Landscaped beautifully and well maintained
Aug 19, 2015
Great Campground people that work there were very friendly. No complaints at all
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Wonderful staff.....that makes the difference. Great outdoor activities...beautiful creek....
Aug 19, 2015
I thought the camping and being walking distance to the mines were awesome. What was not awesome was the size of the tent sites. Our neighbors were loud, obnoxious, and had a habit of just walking through our site whenever they wanted. The bathrooms close for an hour at different hours for each bathroom. It just would've been nice to know before we had to pee and the closest bathroom was closed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.