Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
After spending way too much money on the deluxe cabin again and thinking it would get better, it only got worse. Rented the solar cabin this year. The foldout bed that my daughter and son-in-law slept on should not even be classified as a bed. At least last year in the robotics cabin there was a blow up mattress that went with it. 4 adults Can Not sleep comfortably in that cabin! And no micro!
Aug 14, 2017
It would be nice if they had better wi-if access. Also the flies are horrible especially close to the dumpsters. Wish they could move them over by the pavilion.
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed at KOA for the past 5 years . We always stayed in a cabin an never had an issue with the a/c . This time around we did and it was an issue when we got there . I do feel the manager did what he could but in the end the a/c unit was not fixed . We had friends in other cabins and their a/c's were not working as well . The deluxe cabins are not cheap and a certain standard is expected.
Aug 14, 2017
Things were good - staff amazingly great. Pool crystal clean. Activities fun. Negatives - cobwebs in a lot of the upper areas of the solar cabin 1 (top of kitchen cabinets, top of cabinets in bathroom, vents in floor full of cob webs). No fitted sheets for the bunk beds, so bit of a pain. Neighbor had dog next door without a lease running all over everyone's property.
Aug 14, 2017
We reserved a superior tent site on the river, which was fantastic...except for the folks who were confused about where to get out of the river tubing Run who cut through our site and helped themselves to our paddles and less than secured food. A big "EXIT HERE" or "private" sign would go a long way to direct those who may be confused.
Aug 14, 2017
Beautiful campground. The best KOA we have ever stayed at.
Aug 14, 2017
Excellent!!! We will definitely be back! Only issue I'd say is the shortage of hot water in the showers. But, the grounds, the amount of activities and the cabin selection is outstanding!
Aug 14, 2017
Very enjoyable and we booked again for next year.
Aug 14, 2017
The deluxe camp site was beautiful. I loved falling asleep to the sounds of the river. I've never been to a KoA before so the many activities were wonderful! Even the welcome pack I received upon arrival was impressive. I'm already making plans to come back.
Aug 14, 2017
Very nice stay. Close to The Mines! Clean, relatively quiet. Nice stay next to the river. Close enough to other things to do, but not too far away from things either. Clean. Well maintained. Looks like mega-garbage dumpsters were dumped daily (?). We even got to swim @ your pool and watch them haul a huge septic tank out of the ground. Who could ask for more?
Aug 14, 2017
It was friendly, great workers,especially the security guard at night.
Aug 14, 2017
Live local and have gone by your place for years and had no idea what a great place it is. Rented specialty cabin for our grandkids and they had a ball!! Lots for them to do and enjoy. Plan on returning for a longer stay next year. Thanks! Special Thanks to Adam who did a great job with the grandkids activities.
Aug 13, 2017
We were given a site that was satellite friendly, one of only a few at this campground.
Aug 13, 2017
The wifi was terrible. I like to check email for work and surf the net with my morning coffee and I had to do those with my regular cellular connection. Other than that, the campgrounds were great.
Aug 13, 2017
My kid's and I had an amazing time! We were having so much fun nobody wanted to leave. My boy's are already talking about coming back next summer. I was so happy with the accommodations.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
negative:women's bathrooms-toilets were not working appropriately(not flushing). shower stall walls(between showers) should be closed in. we pack for the family and lose our supplies when passing to person in next shower. positive: we were there during thunderstorms and high winds..your staff was excellent in checking in and giving evacuation plans and making sure no one was hurt. appreciated!
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent!! Quite, clean, lots of things for kids, great place to get in walks. Just really enjoyed staying there. We even had shade. Very impressive.
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility, just not used to spending $48 for a tent site.
Aug 13, 2017
The staff we worked with went out of their way to make our stay was enjoyable and stress-less. We stayed an extra day and were very impressed with the campground as a whole. It was very clean, and well thought out. I hope I will be able to return some day.
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice manager who was accommodating and friendly.
Aug 12, 2017
Wonderful site right on the river for camping and all the speciality cabins were very interesting.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
This is our second year at this wonderful camp. The owner and workers are kind and very helpful. The setting and cabins are beautiful. MIning was so much fun! Everyone is on top of everything. I'm sure you'll replace mattress in deluxe cabin 3 now that you know it lost its support while we were there. Excellent camp-thank you for everything, can't wait till next year.
Aug 11, 2017
Great campground. Would be nice to have a shuttle once or twice a day to tube the river. So an entire family could go. Safety in numbers. We had a great time. One site we reserved last year was converted to a seasonal site and our inlaws were moved to the other side of us. The layout wasn't as friendly & my inlaws were charged more for the patio site they didn't reserve. Refund the difference?
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Was a nice stay. Well staffed and clean. Only suggestion add to customer hand outs "please do not cut though sites of other campers". We had several people cut though our site with their dogs and kids even when we were having dinner and/or while our dog was put on his leash. Very inconsiderate. Your fence infront of each site yard was a good idea. But some people went around it anyways.
Aug 11, 2017
We were only there for one night. We had a lovely pull thru site with lots of green space....very clean and well kept campground.
Aug 11, 2017
This KOA was the best. Our rig faced the river, we had shade to sit outside to drink our coffee in the morning and dinner in the evening. We really didn't want to spend time sightseeing because we liked sitting outside by our rig.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
We had a great "family reunion" - 19 of us all together. It was nice that there were cabins, RV, camper and tent sites. There was a little issue checking in - I asked for two tent sites next to each other in the 97-100 area and was told I had to wait and talk to the people who requested 98 to see if they would move to 100. It worked out, but it would be nice if we could reserve a specific site.
Aug 10, 2017
I've never stayed in a better campground! The cabins were amazing!
Aug 10, 2017
We had an amazing stay. Super clean and fun events each day. Loved the Diamond mining. Our only complaint is we wished we booked a longer stay. Already have plans to return next year...with tubes of course! Darc & the Harringtons
Aug 10, 2017
Only a one night stay but looked like a nice campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The river looked like it would have been fun to tube on. Would stay again if in the area.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
it was relaxing, the cabin was nice and we went to the mine and left no richer than we went in.
Aug 10, 2017
Very enjoyable. Really nice park! Beautiful landscape!
Aug 10, 2017
We brought our grand kids for a quick get away, great location and they loved the museum and rock shop! Mining was fun, we got a few small diamonds and the kids enjoyed the pool, as well as exploring the creek!
Aug 10, 2017
Great RV park--very scenic and relaxing
Aug 10, 2017
It was a beautiful campground and loved that you could float down the river without even leaving! The pool was nice too! It was great to see all the activities!
Aug 09, 2017
Great activities for kids, Matt was especially good with them. Someone needs to check more on amenities as big dome telescope did not work, one of the inside telescopes had broken tripod leg, had to make my own bunk beds which I was not happy about especially at my age and NO fitted sheets (??). No shampoo in either cabin, charged $12 xtra for kids in treehouse? High prices for do many issues!
Aug 09, 2017
The stay was short It would have been nicer if the family was next to each other and we didn't get so much rain. Hard to enjoy the evening with the rain. The kids enjoyed the river. The sites were a little small compared to some KOA's we have stayed at but sufficient.
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful campground and the employees were wonderful. They were very accommodating with getting our campsite next to another couple and even gave us a new extension cord to use for free!!! I would definitely recommend this campground and look forward to visiting here again!!!
Aug 09, 2017
Would be beneficial to have an additional bathroom near sites 95 to 100 area of the campground
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying here! This is our third year staying at the Herkimer KOA. Great for the kids and just as fun as the adults. Diamond mining is addictive and keeps everyone entertained. Grounds were well kept with lots of activities. There were some minor issues which is why I gave 4/5 stars. Can't wait to come back next year!
Aug 09, 2017
The first night we were at the spot on the stream near the tents and there was so much geese poop we couldn't avoid the dogs or ourselves stepping in it ð© I called them and told them it was just our over night stay which was the half way point to our destination but was reluctant to use there campground on our return trip. They gave us a pull through for the same price as our other spot. Aweso
Aug 09, 2017
Speeds by employees need to abide by 4 mile an hour rule. Fire pits were difficult to figure out. Rocks or metal tire rim. Too close together with other camper. Trivia game has to me updated and revised for children and adults. MC needs to be able to pronunciate properly. Questions were confusing since they referred to choices that were not on the page.
Aug 09, 2017
I stayed for a week at site #98 .. Full tenters and I enjoyed every minute of it. I did stay at the same sight last year and fell in love. I have found my campgrounds. There is just one thing that is needed around the tent campsites. Is "RESTROOMS"... there is an open area that would be perfect to put a small facility Right behind the dumpster area. More appreciative and pleasant to have one close
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award