Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355


4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Unique

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 28, 2015
We had a great site along the river. Beautiful place and lots to do there.
Oct 27, 2015
Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Excellent and very clean facilities. Definitely a place I will go back with my family. Keep up the great work!!!
Oct 14, 2015
bathrooms could be cleaner. tent sites are SO crowded together that i would NEVER stay here during a busy time. each site was half as large as it sthere was dog crap on the main field where the children were playing. AND, there were large depressions in the field, where my son continually fell while running. step it up a bit, people. you're charging an arm and a leg. invest in your business.
Sep 29, 2015
This was my Girl Scout Troop's first attempt at tent camping. They cannot wait to go back!! The campground was lovely, very scenic and very clean. There was a wonderful variety of activities available, and we can't wait to return to take advantage of them all. Staff at the campground was pleasant and knowledgeable. Thank you for helping to make our first tent camping great!!
Sep 29, 2015
We had an absolutely fabulous time. it was clean, friendly, and program was very well organized.
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Very nice people at the desk. Great campers, Quiet at night. and the Mines were a BLAST!
Sep 21, 2015
Rude staff made our stay very unpleasant, we were not told about certain activities that were going on or other activities that were available. Are camp sight did not have a grill and when I mentioned it to the staff the women at the desk acted like it was a hassle. We also had a very large group and I asked about a group rate she looked at me like I was stupid. I'm very displeased
Sep 20, 2015
Loved out tent site next to the river. Campground was clean and well maintained. Only downfall was that we wish quiet hours would have been monitored & enforced by campground staff.
Sep 20, 2015
Sep 17, 2015
Sep 16, 2015
even though its only 7 miles from the house ..it was a great place to go to get away ...
Sep 16, 2015
The entire staf was welcoming and very friendly. Really made the weekend enjoyable!
Sep 12, 2015
A it cramped on Labor Day weekend, but very well kept and organized.
Sep 10, 2015
We booked a tent site Labor day weekend.Our tent site was near the Pavilion where most of the activities and bathrooms were.This was our best camping trip.We have a 4 year old and 8 year old they had a blast.The camp had activities all day long followed by a outside movie. Showers and bathrooms were clean nice pool+playground. Very reasonable pricing. WiFi throughout the campground.
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Fantastic stay!
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 02, 2015
The kids had a blast and there were lots of scheduled activities for them. They really enjoyed playing in the creek.
Sep 01, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA and enjoyed all the activities that were available for the kids. The bathrooms by the Prospector's Pavilion were a little dirty by Saturday night and more ping pong tables would be great(the kids wanted to play all weekend but the table was never open), but other than that we enjoyed ourselves and will be back again!
Aug 30, 2015
Would like to see more bathrooms, they are a far walk away from some sites. Heating the pool would help too.
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 28, 2015
Beautiful setting. Went on a Sunday and Monday night and it was much quieter than the weekends. Staff caring for place appear to be all young kids or young adults, and they were all friendly and doing a good job. We have camped here many times and will be back.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
The campsite was very clean and had tons of great activities for family fun. The bathrooms are convenient and showers and clean. I would recommend that people choose a deluxe tent site if they want more privacy. Our neighbors were right on top of us and had a long late party one night making it hard to sleep with two small children. The 10pm-8am quiet hours were not honored well at all. Also, th
Aug 25, 2015
We really enjoyed the scenery at our site and the swing at each site. The pool was clean and fun.
Aug 24, 2015
Clean, Friendly and fun. so much entertainment for the whole family.
Aug 22, 2015
There were dogs allowed to roam. Chasing our son when walking our dog that was leashed. Bathrooms were always dirty and muddy. Bathroom that was part of office always smelled like urine. Papers all over grounds. Gardens not kept. Store a mess and not organized.
Aug 20, 2015
awesome - bring water shoes and a tube to float down the river
Aug 19, 2015
We had a wonderful time and plan to come back and stay longer!
Aug 19, 2015
I thought the camping and being walking distance to the mines were awesome. What was not awesome was the size of the tent sites. Our neighbors were loud, obnoxious, and had a habit of just walking through our site whenever they wanted. The bathrooms close for an hour at different hours for each bathroom. It just would've been nice to know before we had to pee and the closest bathroom was closed.
Aug 18, 2015
We have been going with a group for 5 years now. We love it, and always book for the following year before we leave. It is nice to see every year that we come, that there is something renovated or new.
Aug 18, 2015
The diamond mine provides a very unique experience that my kids enjoyed.
Aug 18, 2015
Love the campground very nice workers. Need more bathrooms.
Aug 18, 2015
Would have been 5 stars if there were closer bathrooms and showers available for tenting sites. Plenty of family activities to do.
Aug 13, 2015
Great park with lots of wonderful activities! We especially loved tubing and the diamond mining!!
Aug 13, 2015
I love this place! The staff is friendly, and there is plenty to do. I am a single mom and take my young children here by myself a few times a year. I always feel safe. I love it!
Aug 13, 2015
Nice people and great food.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Very clean and well maintained, tent sites huge
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Bathrooms were not maintained well
Aug 06, 2015
I loved the Herkimer KOA. The only thing I would suggest, is a better way to enforce the "quiet time" hours. The first 2 nights we were there other campers were out past 2am partying.
Aug 06, 2015
We loved our campsite near the creek, it is a beautiful area.
Aug 06, 2015
We stumbled upon your campground by accident last year and it was the best thing to happen!! We have been back 3 times in the last year from canada,this last one just for a quick weekend getaway and cannot wait for our next stay although we keep forgetting to get our VKR card when we check in/out!!! We tell everyone we know how awesome you are!!! Keep up the great work and see you again soon!!!
Aug 06, 2015
Definitely the best Koa I have ever been to
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were filthy. Too many drunk partiers that don't understand quiet hours and nobody enforcing them.
Jul 30, 2015
First I would have to say that the rest rooms could have been cleaner and have an exhaust fan!!!! We were there on "Pirate Weekend" and the activities were lame....There was a family there that did much better activities with their family and other kids from the campground than the campground themselves....too expensive for what you offer.....
Jul 30, 2015
It was an amazing surprise to see how large the tent sites were! Very impressed with the staff at the campgrounds too. The river was a lot of fun to tube down too...and we found a few gems across the street at the mines. Great campground!!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award