Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 30, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
All 5 of us enjoyed the experience. Stream, pool, movies, playground, diamond hunting. Only drawback was the distance for the deluxe campsites to the restrooms for my 3 grandsons. Maybe even a port-a-potty for kid's convenience.
Aug 26, 2014
We had an absolutely great time. It was nice that lemonade and corn were offered to the campers. I do like the chance to donate to a great organization while having fun! The vegetable growing has inspired one of our Girl Scouts to do something similar in one of our local campgrounds. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 25, 2014
we had just stayed at a KOA in Youngstown Ny and then arrived in Herkimer ... the atmosphere was less personal ... not as friendly. Our camp site was underwater.
Aug 25, 2014
sites are to close to each other, pool should be heated. holes need to be filled in on playing field
Aug 23, 2014
We reserved a specific campsite by writing in the notes of our reservation (as directed by the receptionist- who told me to put the # down, which I did 5 minutes after hanging up) but we got a different site than desired. When I brought this up- the person at the desk apologized but the site we wanted remained empty And they didn't offer to move us. Also the site area was covered in goose poop,
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Campsites too close together. Goose poop all over. Staff service was friendly though.
Aug 18, 2014
Already have recommended Kampground to friends. Tons of kids activities to keep children busy.
Aug 16, 2014
The bathroom was a really dirty but other than that everything was great
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Negative: The sites were too close together - I felt like we were packed in like sardines. The bathrooms were not well maintained in both repair and cleanliness. Positive: There were plenty of things for the kids to do. They had a great time in the river and at the ice cream social.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Loved our visit last weekend... Very happy with the bath/shower area ... the dish washing station ... pool ... This was the perfect setting for tenting (perfect weekend weather as well!) friendly, helpful staff ;) and had fun tubing was in the West Canada Creek! Thank you! See you again sometime. Enjoy your summer!!
Aug 12, 2014
We loved the area. We loved that you were able to accommodate our request of being near the bathroom. We loved the discount at the diamond mine.
Aug 11, 2014
We really enjoyed staying with y'all.wThis was our second year. And and I'm sure we will be back next. The first year we stayed n a cabin(sm one) this year we stayed n a tent. Next year we will b going bac to a cabin just for comfort.we enjoy the thing y'all have to offer such as pig roast,ice cream social,arts & crafts & such.my kids r old enough now to tube down the river.thanks again
Aug 11, 2014
This was my grandson's first camping experience. We had a ball.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Price structure was odd almost manipulative.
Aug 08, 2014
Nice location and staff. Bathrooms need to be monitored for cleanliness and broken faucets repaired
Aug 08, 2014
Aside from the tent sites being too close together, everything was great. People picked up their trash and were quiet at night. Also, the bathrooms were cleaner than I expected. We'll be back.
Aug 07, 2014
The campground was great. Like most other comments, I wish the bathrooms were closer to the tent area, but other than that no complaints!
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great stay. The children in our group loved the pool and night activities. Suggestions: Add showers to the pavilion area,offer garbage bags to tenters, and have a returnable can/bottle bin for boys scouts or other charity. Good job on the shower renovation.
Aug 04, 2014
All was great at the KOA, except for our site #96 had a large mud pit on the site. it was difficult with a small child, keeping him from walking through all the mud. The site should be regraded. otherwise everything was great.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Nice camp ground. Great people. Wish the camp sites were a little bigger. Two things to improve: 1. The geese need to be controlled more; they leave a mess. 2. it would be nice if the bathrooms were cleaned more than once a day. They are really dirty by 6 PM.
Jul 28, 2014
This campground has so much to offer! From floating down the creek to diamond mining to all the activities they plan everyday for the entire family. We have stayed here twice and have enjoyed it very much both times. We are planning another trip for next year!
Jul 28, 2014
The activities for the kids were fantastic, and the staff was friendly. The complaint would be with the campers being too noisy. Adults drinking and carrying on after midnight loud enough to be heard from across the field and campers littering in the creek and among the grounds. Movies shown weren't totally family friendly. The staff was great!
Jul 28, 2014
We just stayed one night while on the road, but it was very nice--clean, friendly staff, and sites along a lovely river. Looked like lots for kids to do.
Jul 26, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at this KOA and plan to come back next year with a bigger group.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
This is my second year staying at the koa and I will probably be coming back every year! I absolutely love it there. The atmosphere is great and everyone is so friendly. I had the perfect vacation. My only complaint they need another bathroom close to the deluxe tent sites!!
Jul 22, 2014
Lots of activities for our children. Clean bathrooms and shaded site. We will be back.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. He pool was clean the river was great to tube on. Our biggest complaint was the size of the site. Compared to other campsites we have been to we felt very cramped and close to our neighbors. Apparently there was a 1/2 site next to us 96a and on the second night even more people were moved in. We were also unsuccessful at the diamond mine and we would have loved more instruct
Jul 21, 2014
We LOVED our trip. It was our first camping trip and we are excited for our next one. There were a few things that need improved. The bathrooms and being I formed at check in. We were in the dark the whole weekend because no one informed us of activities or of all the things the campground had to offer.
Jul 21, 2014
Beautiful site, clean, great people, very helpful, diamond mining fun! Really a standout campground!
Jul 21, 2014
My family and I had such a wonderful time at your KOA. You had so much to offer - two family movies, ice cream night, bingo, pancake breakfast(yummy), the swimming pool, and of course diamond mining across the road. Thank you so much and we look forward to our next visit!
Jul 19, 2014
It would be nice if we did't have to rake our site when we get there. If not debris there is goose poop everywhere.
Jul 19, 2014
Everything was fine except the bathrooms became very dirty by morning. Maybe they should be cleaned again in the evening time.
Jul 15, 2014
This was our second stay this summer. Everything was clean and well cared for. Staff is friendly and helpful ...we'll be back. Loved it!
Jul 14, 2014
We had a wonderful weekend at the campground! The kids had a blast playing in the creek and loved the activities and giant chess board. It was very clean and so quiet at night. We hope to come back again soon!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
very nice campground. great sites on the river and very clean.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
We are regulars at Herkimer Koa and always enjoy our time there but this time was different with a strong storm changing our plans . Herkimer Koa employes came to see if we were ok and gave us a cabin for the night being that our tent was in several pieces and our children were soaked.
Jul 02, 2014
Awesome facility. Very friendly staff. Clean cabins. We really had a great time. Highly recommend this KOA. The staff was great the location is perfect. Pool was clean and facilities were maintained properly. Just a great place to stay. Will be staying again soon.
Jul 01, 2014
This location was great. I had a few issues with incorrect information given to me by the rep that booked my site, however when I brought it to their attention they did everything they could to make it right! We had to leave a day early because my dog back home died and they offered me a rain check for another night stay. I am very very impressed.
Jun 30, 2014
Our visit to the campground was outstanding. Our tent site by he creek had trees which provided excellent shade. The bathrooms were modern and clean as was the pool. Camp store had all of the necessities and prices were reasonable. Quiet hours were adhered to the weekend of our stay, which is important when you are camping with children.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.