Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
Would like to see more bathrooms, they are a far walk away from some sites. Heating the pool would help too.
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 28, 2015
Beautiful setting. Went on a Sunday and Monday night and it was much quieter than the weekends. Staff caring for place appear to be all young kids or young adults, and they were all friendly and doing a good job. We have camped here many times and will be back.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
The campsite was very clean and had tons of great activities for family fun. The bathrooms are convenient and showers and clean. I would recommend that people choose a deluxe tent site if they want more privacy. Our neighbors were right on top of us and had a long late party one night making it hard to sleep with two small children. The 10pm-8am quiet hours were not honored well at all. Also, th
Aug 25, 2015
We really enjoyed the scenery at our site and the swing at each site. The pool was clean and fun.
Aug 24, 2015
Clean, Friendly and fun. so much entertainment for the whole family.
Aug 22, 2015
There were dogs allowed to roam. Chasing our son when walking our dog that was leashed. Bathrooms were always dirty and muddy. Bathroom that was part of office always smelled like urine. Papers all over grounds. Gardens not kept. Store a mess and not organized.
Aug 20, 2015
awesome - bring water shoes and a tube to float down the river
Aug 19, 2015
We had a wonderful time and plan to come back and stay longer!
Aug 19, 2015
I thought the camping and being walking distance to the mines were awesome. What was not awesome was the size of the tent sites. Our neighbors were loud, obnoxious, and had a habit of just walking through our site whenever they wanted. The bathrooms close for an hour at different hours for each bathroom. It just would've been nice to know before we had to pee and the closest bathroom was closed.
Aug 18, 2015
We have been going with a group for 5 years now. We love it, and always book for the following year before we leave. It is nice to see every year that we come, that there is something renovated or new.
Aug 18, 2015
The diamond mine provides a very unique experience that my kids enjoyed.
Aug 18, 2015
Love the campground very nice workers. Need more bathrooms.
Aug 18, 2015
Would have been 5 stars if there were closer bathrooms and showers available for tenting sites. Plenty of family activities to do.
Aug 13, 2015
Great park with lots of wonderful activities! We especially loved tubing and the diamond mining!!
Aug 13, 2015
I love this place! The staff is friendly, and there is plenty to do. I am a single mom and take my young children here by myself a few times a year. I always feel safe. I love it!
Aug 13, 2015
Nice people and great food.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Very clean and well maintained, tent sites huge
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Bathrooms were not maintained well
Aug 06, 2015
I loved the Herkimer KOA. The only thing I would suggest, is a better way to enforce the "quiet time" hours. The first 2 nights we were there other campers were out past 2am partying.
Aug 06, 2015
We loved our campsite near the creek, it is a beautiful area.
Aug 06, 2015
We stumbled upon your campground by accident last year and it was the best thing to happen!! We have been back 3 times in the last year from canada,this last one just for a quick weekend getaway and cannot wait for our next stay although we keep forgetting to get our VKR card when we check in/out!!! We tell everyone we know how awesome you are!!! Keep up the great work and see you again soon!!!
Aug 06, 2015
Definitely the best Koa I have ever been to
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were filthy. Too many drunk partiers that don't understand quiet hours and nobody enforcing them.
Jul 30, 2015
First I would have to say that the rest rooms could have been cleaner and have an exhaust fan!!!! We were there on "Pirate Weekend" and the activities were lame....There was a family there that did much better activities with their family and other kids from the campground than the campground themselves....too expensive for what you offer.....
Jul 30, 2015
It was an amazing surprise to see how large the tent sites were! Very impressed with the staff at the campgrounds too. The river was a lot of fun to tube down too...and we found a few gems across the street at the mines. Great campground!!
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Map given was wrong and caused confusion for not only us, but we saw and spoke with 3 other campers with the same issue. I'll be back again but QA your maps, it will make the unpacking/packing experience much easier.
Jul 27, 2015
The bathrooms need updating in the showers water is very hot and hard to regulate. We used a tent and the curfew was not enforced people stayed up with music till 1 am not ideal for families.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Sites are too close together and too few bathrooms with showers. Sites were fairly clean.
Jul 23, 2015
Lots of investment made with new cabins, and the grounds are mostly clean. The bathrooms are often filthy and not all the toilets and showers function. Telling staff about maintenance needs elicits yawns or disrespect. This was our fourth visit in five years. Owners seem to be coasting on past successes, missing key necessities like working, clean bathrooms.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
There was a large amount of geese poo in the tent sites, making movement difficult without stepping on a some.It was nice having KOA programs available to children through-out our stay to fill the gaps between mining,meals,and bedtime.Thanks for having the dish-washing sinks available for clean up after meals.Though we were stood up by the KOA person running the Pirate treasure hunt Saturday night
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
My son and I had a fantastic stay at the Herkimer Diamond KOA. We were quickly involved with other campers and their children and my son was so happy to have playmates after several days of too quiet camping at a NY state park. He was able to participate in an evening flashlight candy hunt, evening movies, and a pirate themed treaure hunt. And we had fun at the Herkimer mines across the street.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great stay at KOA this past weekend. Clean, friendly, and the kids loved the pool. We'll definately be back!
Jul 19, 2015
Our stay was amazing, the camp ground is beautiful and I love that it has all the things you need. Definitely will be returning again!No complaints what so ever, maybe besides the bathrooms getting so dirty but its a campground, so what can you do. :)
Jul 18, 2015
So very happy with our time spent here. Have already recommended to family and friends and will surely be back!
Jul 18, 2015
Friendly staff, Jeff was great at check in! Nice campgrounds, clean.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
The activities for the kids throughout the day are super! Blair was a great director and one of the main reasons we will be back next summer. Super guy, great with the kids and very personable. The showers are very small and weren't clean. The check-in staff seemed very hurried and didn't really give first time visitors a warm welcome. Same went with checking out. Not impressed.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Loved the river and open access to it. Campground was very clean but very crowded. Mostly ran by younger people who could have been more helpful and cheerful.
Jul 08, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.