Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 26, 2016
This place is great, unless you are tent camping and it rains. Tent camping area does not have a restroom closeby, or running water. After a all day drizzle, our campsite was under a inch of water and we pulled out a day early. If you have a camper, it is a great place! Many activities and things to do in the area!
Oct 24, 2016
Warm and Friendly staff. The Cabins and bathrooms were well kept and I look forward to staying again in the future.
Oct 20, 2016
The camp ground was beautiful and sleeping next to the river was amazing!! What an amazing time my family had and we will be back that's for sure!!
Oct 17, 2016
The staff and activities at the office & pavilion were great.
Oct 13, 2016
My Birthday gift to me! Stayed in the Astronomy Lodge!! Absolutely LOVE staying here! Met some wonderful folks that have been coming here since 2008. That'll be us in years to come! I shall ALWYS enjoy everything about your KOA! Peaceful and cozy! From the poeople that camp here to the crew! You (the crew) are the greatest!!! I look forward to my next visits in 2017!!!
Oct 04, 2016
I only wish that i had better weather!
Sep 28, 2016
We came to check out the mine, and it did not let us down. We had a blast. We definitely will be back to enjoy the campgrounds more next year, looked like fun. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.
Sep 23, 2016
Excellent. Love the new restaurant!
Sep 13, 2016
Sep 08, 2016
We love coming here and do so every year the only thing I would like changed would be stricter leash laws on the campground not once but numerous times we had big dogs running around our sites irritating our leashed dogs and going to the bathroom on our sites.
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Way too crowded on Labor Day weekend, RV's packed like sardines. This is to be expected of course. (Luckily we tent) But we do like to come when less busy. Beautiful setting, attentive staff.
Sep 07, 2016
It was a bit pricey, but a great stay if you have kids due to the amount of activities they plan
Sep 07, 2016
Campground was beautiful, highly recommend for a family trip. However, we had a really hard time finding Herkimer diamonds at the KOA mine. As a semi experienced rock hound, there wasn't much to offer seeing that the mine has been picked through over and over without any new blasting, or excavating.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 05, 2016
It was nice to be able to stay by the water but the camp site was very small and mostly dirt. Also we were extremely close to the neighbours and, being in a tent, made it seem even closer.
Sep 05, 2016
This, most recent stay at Herkimer Diamond KOA was much better that the previous weekend even on a holiday weekend. The location was much better and there was a lot more space. We did not feel like we were sleeping with the neighbours. The ratings would be higher if not for the previous weekend being so poor.
Sep 04, 2016
The Herkimer KOA is a "gem" of a find. The sites along the West Canada creek are just magical, where grown ups can enjoy they beauty and the babbling water, and kids can enjoy tubing and play.
Aug 30, 2016
This campground is our new favorite! The tubing, activities, and pool were great! But the staff was the best! Thanks for everything!
Aug 30, 2016
Such an amazing campground! We loved the kids activities and being close to the water.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Only complant is that on the websote it seems that you can use the telescope but it is only designated to that cabin
Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful campground! Very nice and clean, fun for the whole family. My 5 year old son had a blast. So many activities for the kids.
Aug 28, 2016
The place was great place to stay and plenty to do. Staff could be alot more frendly and more attenative. There s alot more but not enough space to type.
Aug 28, 2016
Wonderful time! The only thing I didn't like about the stay is the firewood. It was wet and we couldn't keep it lit. The Sunday breakfast, other campers, the grounds and the bathrooms were excellent. Thank you for another great memory,
Aug 28, 2016
Had an awesome time! My 1st time at a KOA, will definitely do it again. The creek was awesome. Kids were very entertained with it. Next time we will bring a tube to go tubing. Loved the fact that we could walk right over to the Diamond mine. I'd highly recommend it for families with kids!
Aug 27, 2016
The customer service and accommodations were outstanding!! Really!
Aug 25, 2016
This was our second stay at this KOA, both in deluxe tent sites. We come for the diamonds and river tubing which neither dissapointed. The new signage for the river tubing minimized traffic through our site this visit. Our only complaints were the flies and long walk to the restrooms.
Aug 24, 2016
The campground is clean and well maintained, and the staff is extremely helpful.
Aug 23, 2016
The staff was always pleasant, professional and helpful from start to finish! We loved the facility and had fun rafting as well as finding diamonds at the Diamond Mine across the road! We found the ice cream social great fun and loved this ice cream a treat for a hot summer night while camping! Thank you.... :)
Aug 22, 2016
cleran and nice! bathrooms and showers need to be located closer to the tent sites...quite a hike while there were campers all near the bathrooms.
Aug 22, 2016
My family and I had such a great time! We always love staying at this KOA. Each time we try something new! Thank you for making our vacation a memorable one!
Aug 21, 2016
This KOA has polite and helpful staff, nice amenities, large tent sites and neat cabins. Our only complaint is that the $6 bundle of wood I purchased in the store was green.
Aug 21, 2016
The staff was very friendly. We found the campground to be clean, with plenty of activities for the family to do!
Aug 20, 2016
We have been going to this KOA for 6 years, with a bunch of friends. This year I was disappointed in not being warned ahead of time that there was a micro burst coming through the area. We as a group had to pull two tents out of the water and 3 tents were broken, and 4 canopies destroyed. It would have been nice to get a warning from KOA about it. Also, no one checked on us till the next day.
Aug 20, 2016
Need showers and bathroom closer to the tent sites
Aug 20, 2016
Brought four boys from private boarding school, all of us very happy with koa. I have stayed with you many times in past. Will be back Monday!
Aug 13, 2016
We had an amazing stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean site. Thank you!!!
Aug 11, 2016
Fantastic. Too short. Wood delivered to campsite was a very nice service.
Aug 10, 2016
We love it at Herkimer, so much to do. It's a great place to get together with family.
Aug 10, 2016
Very clean and family friendly!
Aug 10, 2016
Beautiful campground with wonderful staff. They are continuously cleaning and very helpful. I will always stay at this camp. Many fun activities.
Aug 10, 2016
This was our fourth year in a row staying at the Herkimer KOA. We brought friends with us, who have never been there, and they are already asking when we can go back!! We as a family love doing all the activities that are offered!! We will see you next year!
Aug 10, 2016
I brought my Girl Scouts on the weekend of 8/5-8/7 and they had so much fun. They loved the Dimond mines the pool and all the activities offered. Thank you koa for providing a scouting price that all of my girls can participate.
Aug 10, 2016
Our tent site was beautiful! Set on the water with trees for my hammock and the perfect spot for my tent with privacy! Great experience again!
Aug 10, 2016
My stay was very enjoyable, staff was very friendly.
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
The KOA seems more geared to RVs than tents. It's frustrating to have such limited access to showers, water and bathrooms. Other than that, it was nice.
Aug 10, 2016
was a great time,lots to do but the bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner
Aug 04, 2016
FABULOUS!!! That's how my stay was. I met some wonderful people and the KOA Crew are really nice. It's so comfortable and relaxing. There is much to do there also; crafts, movies, music and so much more!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award