Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
The staff was friendly and the campsite was awesome! My daughter and I had a great fathers day weekend and there was plenty to do. The guys doing the make your own slime were great, and the fathers day breakfast was fantastic. Highly recommend theis KOA. This was our 4th fathers day weekend at this KOA. Its become a tradition for me and my now 9year old.
Jun 13, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
This is a great campground. One of our favorite KOA. The staff is very nice and make you feel wanted there. There are a lot of thing to do here. Tent sites are of a good size and leave you with extra room. Love the movies on the weekend.
Jun 08, 2017
The grounds were beautiful, the facilities were clean, and the staff was very friendly!
Jun 05, 2017
The amenities and site were great. People were setting up for a special event the next day. They tramped all over our camp site while we were there, shone car lights into the site next to us, and were playing loud music until after 10 pm. ruined our experience.
May 30, 2017
We love camping here. Every year we see new upgrades, and the staff really seem to like what they do.
May 30, 2017
We had a great time. The campsites were huge and was more than enough room for the two large tents we had. The activities were perfect for the kids we brought, they always had something to do and weren't bored once.
May 30, 2017
Searching for diamonds is really fun! The only problem I have with this campground is how close in proximity your neighbors are. They are very obviously trying to maximize their revenue stream.
May 26, 2017
An ideal getaway
May 23, 2017
May 16, 2017
May 08, 2017
Campers next to us were up and loud until after midnight, made it hard to get a good rest. Not very respectful of others around them.
May 02, 2017
The sites were nice, the bathrooms were clean, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, there were things to do at the campground like big chess, and disc golf, the creek was nice, and the kids had a good time.
May 02, 2017
Bathroom could have been closer to tent sites, instead of next to RV sites. Also when we arrived there were campers on either side of us, which is fine for us, butperhaps you should have set them up as far from a large group as possible since every other site was unoccupied, even if you had to upgrade those folks, to make their experience more enjoyable.
May 02, 2017
Facilities were better than I expected. Staff were friendly and helpful. Price is reasonable. Good location.
May 01, 2017
We love you and your Dad and always have a super great time there. Thank you for the drink at the new informal dining spot. It is much more suitable for miners and campers. It is convenient to the mine and the resort. I see the changes and applaud your management over the years. My grandson and I have the best time there always. Congratulations on the Gems Along the Mohawk. I got a quick visit.
Apr 24, 2017
Very nice campground. Convenient. Pleasant and helpful staff. Bathroom at activity building no hot water, small.
Apr 24, 2017
loved it
Oct 26, 2016
This place is great, unless you are tent camping and it rains. Tent camping area does not have a restroom closeby, or running water. After a all day drizzle, our campsite was under a inch of water and we pulled out a day early. If you have a camper, it is a great place! Many activities and things to do in the area!
Oct 24, 2016
Warm and Friendly staff. The Cabins and bathrooms were well kept and I look forward to staying again in the future.
Oct 20, 2016
The camp ground was beautiful and sleeping next to the river was amazing!! What an amazing time my family had and we will be back that's for sure!!
Oct 17, 2016
The staff and activities at the office & pavilion were great.
Oct 13, 2016
My Birthday gift to me! Stayed in the Astronomy Lodge!! Absolutely LOVE staying here! Met some wonderful folks that have been coming here since 2008. That'll be us in years to come! I shall ALWYS enjoy everything about your KOA! Peaceful and cozy! From the poeople that camp here to the crew! You (the crew) are the greatest!!! I look forward to my next visits in 2017!!!
Oct 04, 2016
I only wish that i had better weather!
Sep 28, 2016
We came to check out the mine, and it did not let us down. We had a blast. We definitely will be back to enjoy the campgrounds more next year, looked like fun. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.
Sep 23, 2016
Excellent. Love the new restaurant!
Sep 13, 2016
Sep 08, 2016
We love coming here and do so every year the only thing I would like changed would be stricter leash laws on the campground not once but numerous times we had big dogs running around our sites irritating our leashed dogs and going to the bathroom on our sites.
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Way too crowded on Labor Day weekend, RV's packed like sardines. This is to be expected of course. (Luckily we tent) But we do like to come when less busy. Beautiful setting, attentive staff.
Sep 07, 2016
It was a bit pricey, but a great stay if you have kids due to the amount of activities they plan
Sep 07, 2016
Campground was beautiful, highly recommend for a family trip. However, we had a really hard time finding Herkimer diamonds at the KOA mine. As a semi experienced rock hound, there wasn't much to offer seeing that the mine has been picked through over and over without any new blasting, or excavating.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 05, 2016
It was nice to be able to stay by the water but the camp site was very small and mostly dirt. Also we were extremely close to the neighbours and, being in a tent, made it seem even closer.
Sep 05, 2016
This, most recent stay at Herkimer Diamond KOA was much better that the previous weekend even on a holiday weekend. The location was much better and there was a lot more space. We did not feel like we were sleeping with the neighbours. The ratings would be higher if not for the previous weekend being so poor.
Sep 04, 2016
The Herkimer KOA is a "gem" of a find. The sites along the West Canada creek are just magical, where grown ups can enjoy they beauty and the babbling water, and kids can enjoy tubing and play.
Aug 30, 2016
This campground is our new favorite! The tubing, activities, and pool were great! But the staff was the best! Thanks for everything!
Aug 30, 2016
Such an amazing campground! We loved the kids activities and being close to the water.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Only complant is that on the websote it seems that you can use the telescope but it is only designated to that cabin
Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful campground! Very nice and clean, fun for the whole family. My 5 year old son had a blast. So many activities for the kids.
Aug 28, 2016
The place was great place to stay and plenty to do. Staff could be alot more frendly and more attenative. There s alot more but not enough space to type.
Aug 28, 2016
Wonderful time! The only thing I didn't like about the stay is the firewood. It was wet and we couldn't keep it lit. The Sunday breakfast, other campers, the grounds and the bathrooms were excellent. Thank you for another great memory,
Aug 28, 2016
Had an awesome time! My 1st time at a KOA, will definitely do it again. The creek was awesome. Kids were very entertained with it. Next time we will bring a tube to go tubing. Loved the fact that we could walk right over to the Diamond mine. I'd highly recommend it for families with kids!
Aug 27, 2016
The customer service and accommodations were outstanding!! Really!
Aug 25, 2016
This was our second stay at this KOA, both in deluxe tent sites. We come for the diamonds and river tubing which neither dissapointed. The new signage for the river tubing minimized traffic through our site this visit. Our only complaints were the flies and long walk to the restrooms.
Aug 24, 2016
The campground is clean and well maintained, and the staff is extremely helpful.
Aug 23, 2016
The staff was always pleasant, professional and helpful from start to finish! We loved the facility and had fun rafting as well as finding diamonds at the Diamond Mine across the road! We found the ice cream social great fun and loved this ice cream a treat for a hot summer night while camping! Thank you.... :)
Aug 22, 2016
cleran and nice! bathrooms and showers need to be located closer to the tent sites...quite a hike while there were campers all near the bathrooms.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award