Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Oct 27, 2014
I am the Assistant Scoutmaster to BSA Troop #166 of Nassau, N.Y. 12123. We came out for the Scouts to work on and get their Geology Merit Badge. Your staff was very good with all Scouts. The information stations for the merit badge were very well put together and the staff kept all Scout attention up front. This is the second time we have brought the troop to this event, and it won't be the last.
Oct 27, 2014
Each time we stay we are very satisfied with the staff, services and campground. We look forward to our stay every year.
Oct 21, 2014
Stayed at the very end of the season, almost nobody around. We just needed a quiet place to spend the night while on the road. I get the feeling it's a nice place when it's active. Very nice, clean bathrooms and showers. Tent lots are very close together with a lot of rocks, but we were the only occupants and so we could spread out. Might have been problem in the busy season.
Oct 15, 2014
I visited several times with my family and have enjoyed. This visit I brought 25 Boy Scouts & leaders. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Campsite was terrific. Thanks for placing us away from the groups and on the river. Reception staff was less helpful than we have experienced at other KOAs.
Oct 06, 2014
Very well maintained!
Sep 29, 2014
My family and I had a wonderful time. Your staff are so nice and very helpful. Especially one of your men that does all around from helping me with my SUV that run our of batteries he give us a jump start, from forgetting our sticks and lend us barrow your extra once because you run out of new once. I wish i remember his name i think his Pwirto Rican. But his very very nice and so helpful.Thankhim
Sep 28, 2014
We stayed one night and had a fantastic time at the diamond mine. Our one wish was that the bathrooms were more numerous
Sep 22, 2014
The property was beautiful. Being right on the water made for one relaxing weekend. Bathrooms were quite dirty, that was my only disappointment. Overall, I can't wait to go back for another peaceful weekend!
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
This was an awesome camping experience. There are lots of activities to do and we had a blast. The only thing was the bathroom is far away from the tent sites.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Stayed at a tent site by the water, I felt my Neighbors were too close. Otherwise, I though this was a very nice camp ground.
Sep 02, 2014
Regular tent sites are very small and too close together. Deluxe site was better, however the bath house (which was well maintained)was too far away, and there was a lot of goose droppings. No privacy. There are very little trees and nothing separating you and your neighbor. The fire wood was priced too high for what was offered in the bundle. Proximity to the Mines and other attractions was ideal
Sep 01, 2014
Setting was beautiful. Staff was great! Enjoyed the ice cream social. Looking forward to coming back.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
All 5 of us enjoyed the experience. Stream, pool, movies, playground, diamond hunting. Only drawback was the distance for the deluxe campsites to the restrooms for my 3 grandsons. Maybe even a port-a-potty for kid's convenience.
Aug 26, 2014
We had an absolutely great time. It was nice that lemonade and corn were offered to the campers. I do like the chance to donate to a great organization while having fun! The vegetable growing has inspired one of our Girl Scouts to do something similar in one of our local campgrounds. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 25, 2014
we had just stayed at a KOA in Youngstown Ny and then arrived in Herkimer ... the atmosphere was less personal ... not as friendly. Our camp site was underwater.
Aug 25, 2014
sites are to close to each other, pool should be heated. holes need to be filled in on playing field
Aug 23, 2014
We reserved a specific campsite by writing in the notes of our reservation (as directed by the receptionist- who told me to put the # down, which I did 5 minutes after hanging up) but we got a different site than desired. When I brought this up- the person at the desk apologized but the site we wanted remained empty And they didn't offer to move us. Also the site area was covered in goose poop,
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Campsites too close together. Goose poop all over. Staff service was friendly though.
Aug 18, 2014
Already have recommended Kampground to friends. Tons of kids activities to keep children busy.
Aug 16, 2014
The bathroom was a really dirty but other than that everything was great
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Negative: The sites were too close together - I felt like we were packed in like sardines. The bathrooms were not well maintained in both repair and cleanliness. Positive: There were plenty of things for the kids to do. They had a great time in the river and at the ice cream social.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Loved our visit last weekend... Very happy with the bath/shower area ... the dish washing station ... pool ... This was the perfect setting for tenting (perfect weekend weather as well!) friendly, helpful staff ;) and had fun tubing was in the West Canada Creek! Thank you! See you again sometime. Enjoy your summer!!
Aug 12, 2014
We loved the area. We loved that you were able to accommodate our request of being near the bathroom. We loved the discount at the diamond mine.
Aug 11, 2014
We really enjoyed staying with y'all.wThis was our second year. And and I'm sure we will be back next. The first year we stayed n a cabin(sm one) this year we stayed n a tent. Next year we will b going bac to a cabin just for comfort.we enjoy the thing y'all have to offer such as pig roast,ice cream social,arts & crafts & such.my kids r old enough now to tube down the river.thanks again
Aug 11, 2014
This was my grandson's first camping experience. We had a ball.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Price structure was odd almost manipulative.
Aug 08, 2014
Nice location and staff. Bathrooms need to be monitored for cleanliness and broken faucets repaired
Aug 08, 2014
Aside from the tent sites being too close together, everything was great. People picked up their trash and were quiet at night. Also, the bathrooms were cleaner than I expected. We'll be back.
Aug 07, 2014
The campground was great. Like most other comments, I wish the bathrooms were closer to the tent area, but other than that no complaints!
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great stay. The children in our group loved the pool and night activities. Suggestions: Add showers to the pavilion area,offer garbage bags to tenters, and have a returnable can/bottle bin for boys scouts or other charity. Good job on the shower renovation.
Aug 04, 2014
All was great at the KOA, except for our site #96 had a large mud pit on the site. it was difficult with a small child, keeping him from walking through all the mud. The site should be regraded. otherwise everything was great.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Nice camp ground. Great people. Wish the camp sites were a little bigger. Two things to improve: 1. The geese need to be controlled more; they leave a mess. 2. it would be nice if the bathrooms were cleaned more than once a day. They are really dirty by 6 PM.
Jul 28, 2014
This campground has so much to offer! From floating down the creek to diamond mining to all the activities they plan everyday for the entire family. We have stayed here twice and have enjoyed it very much both times. We are planning another trip for next year!
Jul 28, 2014
The activities for the kids were fantastic, and the staff was friendly. The complaint would be with the campers being too noisy. Adults drinking and carrying on after midnight loud enough to be heard from across the field and campers littering in the creek and among the grounds. Movies shown weren't totally family friendly. The staff was great!
Jul 28, 2014
We just stayed one night while on the road, but it was very nice--clean, friendly staff, and sites along a lovely river. Looked like lots for kids to do.
Jul 26, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at this KOA and plan to come back next year with a bigger group.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
This is my second year staying at the koa and I will probably be coming back every year! I absolutely love it there. The atmosphere is great and everyone is so friendly. I had the perfect vacation. My only complaint they need another bathroom close to the deluxe tent sites!!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.