Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Oct 03, 2013
It was fantastic! We stayed right by the water, HUGE tent site, bathrooms were always clean... Great time!
Oct 01, 2013
Clean, fun, great sites, River is so beautiful. enjoyed the solar cabin, very great surprise for a campground. The best Campground I have ever seen! Friendly staff, diamond mine a great plus. I would stay there even without the mine!I bet it is really fun in the summer! Can't say enough GOOD stuff!!
Sep 30, 2013
Venture Crew 15 from CT had a great time at the diamond mines working on a geology project. The Camp staff were great with helping us book this trip and making sure we had everything we needed at our campsite. We also had the BEST pancake breakfast Sunday morning. One of the founders of complex was the person who gave us our introduction to the Diamonds and taught us what we needed to know.
Sep 27, 2013
Great place to stay! very well maintained.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Mens bathrooms needed to be cleaned tho towards the end of our stay, other than that, we loved it.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Being able to set up right along the creek, and having two firepits was great!
Sep 03, 2013
We had a lot of rain our first day and were ready to pack it in. We have an autistic son and he was not have a good day with rain and then flooded out campsite. Cliff and Daniel stepped up and changed our site (let our son pick) and gave him a smores pack! We will be back next summer!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Unclean. Planned activities were not followed through with (cancelled without notice). Unfriendly staff. False advertisement of what the weeks activities were and what the campground had to offer.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
we'll be back!
Aug 28, 2013
We camped with 2 other families for 3 nights. We each had our own camp site. Not every campsite had a fire pit. The bathrooms were not very clean and could use some updating. There didn't seem to be any hot or even warm water for a shower. We tried at different times of the day for that. There does not seem to be a quiet time policy in place. People were quite loud into the middle of the night.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
The bathrooms need major updating, regular cleaning, and basic improvement. Urinals are almost 3 feet high (for giants?), too small shower stalls lack shelves for clean clothes, toiletries. Door hanging off hinges. Strong urine smell. Grounds are very clean & orderly (thanks, Tim), staff are professional, friendly, helpful. Location A+. Will return if bathrooms are fixed.
Aug 20, 2013
We have camp here for 3 years now and keep bringing friends everytime we come. The kids have a great time. The only negative I have to say is that I wish there was a bathroom closer to the tent sites.
Aug 17, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. I like the facility as a whole. Water was fun. Activities were well done. Bathrooms need more attention, more often. (out of toilet paper/ paper towels/ floors need to be swept.)
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great location. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that the wood bundles should be a bit larger for the price.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The best KOA in American in my opinion. Clean, relaxing, great location, quiet and peaceful, plenty of room, plenty to do. I'll be back again for sure.
Aug 12, 2013
Great family oriented campsite! Plenty of activities for kids and families. Large, comfortable tent sites in Treasure Cove, but the camp map needs updating...does not reflect the actual layout of sites, which made finding the right site a bit confusing. Overall great experience.
Aug 11, 2013
The park and staff were wonderful. Great time was had by all. Will be staying again !!
Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed in better KOA's in various states. Lack of adequate bathrooms for the amount of people, not cleaned well, both woman's bathrooms were filthy. The smaller Men's was trashed. Roads and campsites could us more gravel. They were a muddy mess! A number of guests vandalized the premises. The staff was very helpful.
Aug 09, 2013
We were only there for 2 nights. The site was like a swamp (but you can't help the weather). We went for smores Friday night but no one could start the fire. Went to candy hunt and my kids didn't get anything (you probably should have had an employee there with a bit extra as we weren't the only ones who came away empty handed). Not enough space on here to write how disappointed we were. :(
Aug 06, 2013
Great facilities, very clean!!! Bring your own food, the breakfast was lame. ;-(
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay - the bathrooms were clean, the area was well marked, we didn't have a fire ring at our site but that's the only negative there was!
Aug 01, 2013
My family has camped there every summer for years now and this year we had tent site 96 at the Diamond Mines KOA Campgrounds. We manage well and are prepared when rain is forecast ed. But this year that camp site flooded and we camped in a pool of water over our whole campsite. I will know for future stays that its a flood zone right there. May i suggest putting in some drainage on some sites
Jul 31, 2013
The staff was great. They actually remembered us and made an effort.
Jul 30, 2013
The site was nice. It was right next to the water. Very nice view. The bathrooms are too far away from the tent sites. They are placed right next to the RV and cabin sites (that all have their own bathrooms) The tent site had no running water and the bathrooms had no water access accept the sink (which did not have hot water and the cold only trickled out). Other than that the site was nice.
Jul 29, 2013
It is the first time I stayed at a KOA and I was very impressed....Our campsite was missing a grill went to the office to report it and they had someone put one up for us... THANK YOU!!!!:) Denise
Jul 25, 2013
Clean, reasonable. Beautiful (large) tent site.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We came twice this year. We love the campground and the mine. We have been coming for about 6 years!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
The only compliant i would have would b shortly after cleaning time, BOTH of the restroom stalls had NO toilet paper!
Jul 13, 2013
Excellent location. Could be improved by better attention to cleanliness in campsites and along river.
Jul 09, 2013
My only recommendation is reiterating a noise policy.... That's it, everything else is a 10! An enjoyable stay.
Jul 08, 2013
I always stay at Herkimer KOA when visiting the mines. Even though they suffered devastating floods prior to my stay they did an excellent job cleaning up. They are also always very friendly and attentive to your needs. Thanx for another great stay.
Jul 08, 2013
We had a great time! The only drawback was the amount of rain. Can't wait to stay again!
Jul 05, 2013
great campground! too bad for the flooding... it would have been perfect otherwise.
Jul 02, 2013
Considering the weather circumstances and the flooding of some of the grounds, the stay was good. The shop was poorly stocked. The facilities were clean and the staff cheerful and helpful.
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
The nicest campground I have ever stayed at! Amazingly clean and beautifully landscaped. The staff was friendly and helpful. Not a person in a yellow shirt passed us without a hello! Bingo and breakfast and a movie! We will definately be back.
Jun 16, 2013
Although the campground was very clean, we enjoyed the activities planned the night we stayed, and our campsite was excellent, we believe that there are not enough bathrooms for the tent campers to use. The bathrooms are located by trailers and mobile homes who have their own bathrooms inside.
Jun 11, 2013
I love this campsite. It's clean and it's very well kept. A very beautiful place to stay.
Jun 10, 2013
Nice place e store has most camping g extras youngsters, very clean bath and shower facilities and laundry.
Jun 10, 2013
We had a great time! Lots to do for the kids and adults too! Thanks!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.