Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 15 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2016
Your campground is one of the nicest that we use for camping. Will definitely try to visit once a year.
Jul 27, 2016
Deluxe sites were a bit uneven and narrow if you have a slideout. Bathrooms by office on busy weekends need more frequent attention. Getting a neighbor at 3am wasn't ideal.
Jul 27, 2016
Loved our site. GREAT activities scheduled. Very friendly staff. Unfortunately disappointed with the bath houses. Very dirty and one attached to office building in desperate need of an overhaul.
Jul 26, 2016
canadian geese everywhere, and when they left, POOP everywhere they had been, GROSS !!!! first thing in AM the bathroom/showers were dirty, KOA cleans them between 10-11 AM, but if you need them before 10, they were dirty. Not our greatest expierence here , haven't booked any further reservations for 2017.
Jul 26, 2016
We come there every year and always enjoy ourselves. The staff is very friendly and efficient. My only comment would be to keep the trees and bushes trimmed along the bank so that everyone can enjoy the view.
Jul 26, 2016
We love it there! We have been camping there for over 15 years and our group just keeps getting bigger! Thanks!
Jul 26, 2016
We had a great time. So much going on.
Jul 26, 2016
I took 3 trips to the office over 2 days to get the my issue with the cable corrected. If not for Ben figuring out what was wrong with the cable I would have given this KOA a lower score. Good Job Ben!
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Very nice campground, especially for tubers.
Jul 25, 2016
Love the creekside sites. Exceptional assistance from Dave, an employee, when we had a couple problems with our RV.
Jul 25, 2016
we experienced an issue , It was resolved immediately!!
Jul 25, 2016
Very nice KOA quiet and clean
Jul 25, 2016
The staff was very friendly. We liked the vegetable planters. Campgrounds and rest rooms were very clean. will stay here again.Great job to the owners and the staff.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice place, only stayed one night. Folks were nice and helpful. Looks like there are several things to do.
Jul 25, 2016
This is a nice facility, but they assigned us a camsite that would not possibly fit our camper and when we arrived, it was the only site available. Not what you expect when you reserve well in advance and specify the size of your unit. The staff was very helpful and found us a cabin (with broken a.c.) to stay in so we wouldn't have to find another place to stay, but it was frustrating.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Very nice campground. Lots of things to do. Will be back.
Jul 24, 2016
Very clean, beautiful with trees for shade on most sites, tubing, digging for diamonds,lots to do. Rock gems week was great for the kids they loved it. Will be back next year!
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
my grandsons attended the rock & gem camp that kept them very busy.counselors were very nice.staying along the creek was so relaxing.all the campers were pleasant too. will return next year with more family.
Jul 24, 2016
Very enjoyable stay. The young man at the counter has superior customer service skills.
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Nice but bathrooms need to be kept cleaner Floors always dirty Showers dirty Hair and mud every day. We see people go in but I don't think they are cleaning as same hair and dirt noticed
Jul 23, 2016
Beautiful grounds, but RV sites way too close together for large motorhomes.. When u open slide outs your in your neighbors campsite.
Jul 23, 2016
Great camp ground, friendly clean, lots of RV sites, playgrounds, pool, pavilion. We are planning a family reunion next year will definitely want to stay at the KOA, need to find out if they have cabins that are disability friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
We loved this place! The staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay so much fun when they recommended that we tube down the creek! It was our favorite stop on a week long RV vacation!
Jul 23, 2016
Need to clean bathrooms more than you are presently doing.
Jul 23, 2016
We were impressed with our riverfront site. The deluxe site was well equipped with patio furniture and a swing. The sound of the creek is very relaxing. The grounds are well kept and I absolutely love the vegetable and herb gardens. Nice touch.
Jul 23, 2016
This KOA is a true gem. The place is beautiful, lots of activities available for all ages. Staff is very friendly. This KOA should be placed on all travels must stay list.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice and clean park.
Jul 21, 2016
We had a great stay in a cabin when the report was for threatening weather!Thanks for helping us out!
Jul 20, 2016
I like the sites along the river. 30 amp electric is a bummer. Interior roadways need to be paved. Dumpster overflowed with garbage while we were there. Appears to be lots of cost-cutting going on. Not a bad stay, but I wish that they invested more into the facility.
Jul 20, 2016
Best I've been too
Jul 20, 2016
Campground staff was excellent. My only complaint is the set up of the riverfront sites. Some are pull in but are used as back in. The problem is that there is no designated boundary of the sites. The people next to us backed in to a pull in site and were practically on top of us. This gave them a huge front area to squeeze in tents and tarps. we had practically no space in front of our awning.
Jul 20, 2016
Had to have maintenance man change circuit breaker, but after that all was great. We didn't find any substantial Herkimer diamonds but it was fun looking for them.
Jul 20, 2016
Made reservations for a premium pull through site with all amenities & 50 amp service Upon arrival was advised that we were to go to a pull thru that was not a premium spot. Checked spot and found tree limbs to low. After an hour, was told to go to a premium back in site that did not have cable. Took 30 min to dump due to poor site sewer connection. Not what we expected or paid for.
Jul 20, 2016
Had a little reservation problem when I got in. Someone was in the space I was assigned. I ended up with a lesser spot, but got a discount, of course. Since the park was really full, the water pressure was really low, but we still got showers. It is a nice park, though, the staff really apologized for the mix up and were very nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Awesome staff, clean, and friendly atmosphere. Will return for another week next year!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Excellent stay! Already booked for next year. KOA staff are plentiful, friendly and very helpful. We have been coming here with a group of friends for several years now & have enjoyed every stay. River tubing is a great time!
Jul 19, 2016
Everyone was very pleasant and campgrounds kept up beautifully. Great time had by all!
Jul 19, 2016
we booked this KOA online as we always do. the back in site had a nice view, but I could barely back my 24 ft trailer in without almost bumping into the playground fence, the shower handle in the men's shower was busted so I had to get dressed and change showers, not without the doors opening into each other. my wife said the shower head in the women's stall was clogged with no pressure.
Jul 19, 2016
The pull in/back out site that we were booked for (site 74) would have put our door and awning facing our neighbors door. That would have been awkward for us and them. I've never seen that before. Not sure why it was set up that way. The girl at the office was nice and found us another site. The store needs to stock canned coffee.
Jul 18, 2016
Going here 17 years the prices seem to be getting quite high for camping here. Especially $3 additional for more than two on a site. We always have six so our site cost $72 a night. The bathroom floors were filthy it seemed like they just mopped the dirt around not rinsing the mop out. The faucets sprayed water on you. The cable hookup only gave you five channels. Love the tubing/diamond mining
Jul 18, 2016
Very poor campground. Not worth the money. Sites were not level at all, very muddy after a rain storm. Trees were not trimmed and we had to adjust our motorhome so that it did not interfere with the air conditioner. No posted activities. More concerned with the Diamond mine and other business across the street than the campground. Do not understand how this received a KOA "Resort" status.
Jul 18, 2016
Loud. Busy. Parties until 2 a.m. (does not seem to have staff at night to control things). Extremely small lots. Overcrowded.
Jul 17, 2016
The staff really needs to pick up the goose droppings on the sites as well as the volleyball court and field. We spent an hour picking the droppings up ourselves. We also repaired the volleyball net that was broke for 3 days straight. The free wifi works half of the time or not at all. The bathrooms/showers closest to the tent sites (70's and 80's) are always dirty.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award