Herkimer Diamond KOA

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Very well cared for with many amenities. Love it!
Sep 06, 2014
The scouts and their families had a great time. Thank you for all your support both at the campground and at the mines.
Sep 05, 2014
Nice, quiet place to stay. Will stay here again next time we're in the area.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
nicest KOA in my experience
Sep 05, 2014
The campground was dirty. There wasa heavy ppicnic table in the middle of where we needed to park. It was very heavy. There was dog poop (3 piles) in the site. We had to clean before our dog could go out. When taking a walk there was trash in sites and fire rings. I was disappointed. The employees were helpful.
Sep 04, 2014
We will never return. We planned on spending 3 nights, but left after 2 because of very rude neighbors. The KOA security officer did not enforce the 10pm quite hours. They partied till 2am playing loud music, swearing, drinking, and urinating on our site (in front of our 7 year old). Employees were nice but did not enforce any rules. Owners are not the managers like most KOAs we have visited.
Sep 04, 2014
The view of the West Canadian Creek from our site was breathtaking. My boys (ages 6 and 12) loved all the activities offered at the campground and loved diamond mining. We will definitely make Herkimer an annual trip.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Our stay began with no guide to our campsite. Every KOA offered this. Had we a had a guide we would not have been given the wrong tent campsite to park our 40 foot 5TH wheel in. Very unorganized. The hard part is that during this trip we previously stayed at a KOA in Saco and Bar harbor Maine. Will not be back to this one for sure.
Sep 03, 2014
Staff was very warm and friendly. I thought KOA campgrounds were mostly cement pads. This campground was clean and impressive. Thanks for a great summer wrapup.
Sep 03, 2014
Friendly staff, full hook up, clean.beautiful river to enjoy with your morning coffee.....thank you:)
Sep 02, 2014
Staff is always friendly and helpful, love all the activities the campground has.
Sep 02, 2014
Nice campground just our site was a little small and had only 3ft between my awning and neighbors campers
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed the our stay, the only part was the one worker that stayed in the camper behind us was rude. The amount of people that don't obey the 5 mph especially near the playground.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff is super nice, clean bathrooms and showers, lots of activities, loved being able to order food and it's delivered! It was a great weekend.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff were all insanely friendly and welcoming, loved all of the activities...so much to do all weekend! Only reason I didn't rate it a 5 star was due to the bathrooms; the showers were quite grimey, and the water was either boiling hot or freezing cold- no happy medium. Otherwise the camp sites were wonderful!!!
Sep 02, 2014
Great KOA. My only complaint is that speed limits on campground roads are not enforced enough.
Sep 02, 2014
Second time, as good as the first!
Sep 02, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Megan - who helped make our stay so great! !
Sep 02, 2014
Great place! Right by the river, enjoyable !
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
We were most grateful that your campground found a site for us as we travelled home to Ontario.Also, thank - you for the free corn on the cob- it was delicious. If I can make a suggestion Billings, Montana. Not everyone stays in a campground for 3 days on a long weekend, would it be possible for the organization to keep a few sites open for transients as we often use KOAS more that weekenders
Sep 01, 2014
Too crowded.
Aug 31, 2014
We always like to come to Herkimer Koa. I was a little disappointed about the bathrooms. They are starting to look like they need repair. Hopefully they will get fixed.
Aug 31, 2014
Very relaxing and enjoyable. Friendly staff. Great people!!
Aug 31, 2014
clean,organized and friendly.
Aug 31, 2014
We Go every year always clean and fun for all of us
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Very clean, kid friendly and the staff was great. Our site was along the creek so it made it a beautiful site too look at every time I stepped out of my trailer. Only note to mention is if you book a pull in make sure your septic hook up is on the right side of your trailer. Definitely would go back and stay longer. Missed out on tubing down the creek as we only stayed 2 days.
Aug 27, 2014
we had the best time. 2nd time in our new small rv. the campground was extremely clean. being across the street from the Herkimer diamond mine was a plus. all in all a great time.
Aug 27, 2014
Very friendly staff. Awesome as always!
Aug 27, 2014
Facilities were clean and everyone was helpful and friendly, especially since this was our first time with our new travel trailer.
Aug 27, 2014
One our favorite campgrounds! See you next year!
Aug 27, 2014
Fantastic, very clean and quiet.
Aug 26, 2014
Campgrounds were very well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful. The children enjoyed the pool and the rafting. Activities were good the only thing lacking that I saw was they need to enhance their playground.
Aug 26, 2014
Great 4 nights
Aug 26, 2014
Unfortunately it was only an overnight stay for us and the weather did not allow us to explore much, but my wife and I agreed that Herkimer KOA is on our list for a return visit for a longer period.
Aug 26, 2014
My granddaughter had her first camping experience with us. We loved the grounds. Kept well maintained, pool was very nice, and she also enjoyed the play ground. Hope to come back next year and tube down the creek as well as dig for a Herkimer Diamond. It was also nice to be able to purchase items at the store that were less than the local chain stores charged, and did not have to drive to them.
Aug 26, 2014
NIce spot and friendly/helpful staff. Wish we had time to stay longer as there were plenty of fun things to do in the area.
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Our site was not very level. No doggy doo doo bags in the dog park. The neighbor's campfire was within 5 feet of my bedroom window. Not our best KOA experience! But, we will try it again.
Aug 26, 2014
Feels like a gypsy camp. Sites are poorly marked. There is no paving or gravel. Also there is absolutely no security lighting.
Aug 25, 2014
Of course the weather could have been nicer ,but none of us can control that! We like Herkimer Diamond Mines because there is so much to do. We like the entertainment but live entertainment would really make it better. The DJ really didn't know how to get people involved and excited! We already brought a group of family with us this year that had never been before and really enjoyed their stay
Aug 25, 2014
THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME AT HERKIMER KOA. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK NEXT YEAR. WE LOVED ALL THE ACTIVITIES THERE ARE FOR EVERYONE. ONLY IMPROVEMENT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ARE THE SHOWERS. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO REGULATE THE WATER TEMPERATURE. WAS EITHER COLD OR TOO HOT. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE TOILETS WERE FLUSHED.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.