St. George / Hurricane KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-8607

Info: 435-879-2212

Email

5800 North Old Highway 91

Hurricane, UT 84737

Get Directions

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 20, 2016
The tent sites here left a lot to be desired - it felt like the sites were squished into repurposed RV sites, with absolutely no privacy and barely enough room for the tent, car, and table. We ended up leaving and booking a hotel for the night because the ground was packed down so much we couldn't get our tent stakes in, even with a hammer. That's an issue in windy Utah.
Jun 20, 2016
The camp site we had was the Boy Scout area in the very back. While some of the other camp sites did look a little better ours had no shade and no grill for cooking. It was so hot during the day we were not even able to stay at the site and do anything at the campgrounds. The bathrooms were somewhat clean but showers were small. Knowing what I know now I would have not booked 2 nights.
Jun 20, 2016
My tent site was extremely small, extremely close to the site next to me, and right next to a trailer park.
Jun 20, 2016
Ground was too hard. Wifi slow. Overall I stayed at 3 koa locations this week and this one ranked last. Not terrible but nothing special about it.
Jun 16, 2016
For tent camping it's terrible. Uneven gravel spots and lots of noise from the highway all night long. Personnel leave early so missed out on getting water for the night. Clubhouse closes too early.
Jun 13, 2016
There was no tent pad area on my site. sites were way too small.
Jun 13, 2016
This KOA Is in a beautiful spot, lots of trees and great view of the mountain. The staff were all wonderful! Clean! I can't get over how these campsites are on top of eachother! It's not just a little cramped, it's awkward how close you are to other people's camp. We won't stay here again for that one reason.
Jun 12, 2016
We drove from Corona California to the St.George KOA heading NORTH on 15 looking for exit 23. There was only exit 22 and next exit wasnt for 24 miles -- we got lost and called and told the closed office that we we'rent able to get back to exit 23 -- next day I get an email of an additional cancellation fee after I already set a reservation and said I was running late - I had called from Las Vegas
Jun 01, 2016
Nice showers and restrooms.
May 30, 2016
The tent sites are to close. Great spot and facility
May 26, 2016
Les installations sont très propres. Le site est accueillant et les emplacements de tentes ont une belle vue.
May 25, 2016
Make sure you call them and check that they have made the improvements they are promising before trying to stay at a tent site. We got there and thought it was a small, but workable site, then we realized we were looking at two sites and ours was just half that. We never did figure out where we could put our tent and still have the car close by. The other facilities were ok.
May 23, 2016
It was our first time staying at a KOA. We had a wonderful experience and the staff at this location was especially helpful. We would highly recommend this site to others in the future.
May 22, 2016
The only issue was that the campsites are so close together and they don't have tables at every site. Some people didn't even have rooms for their tents. But overall, I enjoyed my stay.
May 20, 2016
May 18, 2016
Warn people about the sprinklers, this was the only problem
May 16, 2016
Well the good news is the bathrooms are fantastic, but the pool is small, has cigarette buds in it and the tent sites are right on top of each other. People were constantly waking through our site on the way to the bathroom. They have a clubhouse but don't offer any meals or anything. The playground Not in service either. Not the best KOA. Probably not the worst either
May 16, 2016
Had a great time!
May 16, 2016
The staff was very friendly and the facilities were spectacularly clean. The tent sites had great views of Piney moutain and red cliff state park. There are burn pits at most of tent sites with left over construction wood to burn. The down side is that you can hear the highway, hwy 15, from the tent sites, they are very close together, not level and there are no specific tent areas.
May 13, 2016
Very well maintained, nice campground. Tent does were rather small. Very close to other campers. Our tents were only about 10 from each other.
May 10, 2016
May 08, 2016
Stayed at a powered tent site 118, in a tent. Noisy from I15, and mega RVs parked nearby. Tent sites very hard stones. Not a good place to tent, but facilities very good, and staff very helpful.
May 01, 2016
We stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly and it's in a great location. Only complaint is noise enforcement. The camp next to us blasted music from about 8 pm until 1 am and then started it back up at 5 am.
Apr 25, 2016
Staff was polite and correct, hence the star. However, strong work need to be perform to properly prepare the camping site to receive tents.
Apr 25, 2016
We had a good time. Unfortunately the neighbors on one side came into camp around 1am 1 night and on the other side they were fighting and caused us to lose sleep between the two nights we were there.
Apr 25, 2016
Bathrooms/ showers were clean. However the KOA didn't plan well for tent camping. Spaces were to small and close together, tons of rocks and gravel in the way. Other tent campers had complained and wanted moved or upgraded.
Apr 18, 2016
I love this KOA with the beautiful views it offers. Staff very nice and helpful.
Apr 18, 2016
poor layout and not much room for my tent. also a little run down
Apr 14, 2016
While we were grateful for the KOA have spaces available and saving our family vacation, sleeping on gravel was not fun, and the size of the space was much smaller than what we had at the National Parks for half the price. This location is my only experience at a KOA so far, so I'm not sure how likely we will choose another in the future.
Apr 11, 2016
If staying in a tent then stay away! Horrible tent sites. Basically nowhere to put a tent. Just old trailer sites. Bathrooms were good pool was fine. Just horribly laid out tent sites.
Mar 26, 2016
The campsites for tent camping are very small, convenient to red rocks park.
Mar 24, 2016
The bathrooms were clean. But the tent sites were terrible. There wasn't any grass or ground to put your tent on. All you got was a gravel spot that looked like it was a parking spot. Not a very good place for campers!
Mar 21, 2016
A nice stay, rented a pull through, a tent space... I think your KOA was nice, there are some things that could be improved. The golf course could've been cleaned up also the tent spaces,there's really no place to put a tent only on the gravel and then you have to squeeze your car..I didn't care much for the tent space, The bathrooms and showers were nice they were clean the clubhouse was nice
Mar 20, 2016
It was, frankly, terrible. We could hear and smell everything that went on in the tent site area. There was not enough space between sites. The freeway noise is omnipresent.
Mar 19, 2016
Water wasn't working. Tent sites were abnormally small and uncomfortably covered in rocks. Not enough space for a vehicle and a small tent. We were right by the dumpster and shower/restroom area. Heavy foot traffic in that area for a tent site to be placed at. Everyone used our tent site as a shortcut. Tent site 116 and 117 were a lot smaller than the rest.
Feb 06, 2016
Stopped for quick overnight car camping in a tent site. The campground was clean and quiet--a nice place to stay for a very reasonable price. Just be careful to check a map beforehand. GPS let me down in a pretty significant way.
Dec 01, 2015
Our tent site was not what we expected from a KOA Campground. As a frequent camper, we were very disappointed in the site and overall friendliness. Our site wasn't level, set along a drainage for rain runoff, and there was barely enough room to park our vehicle without us still being in the road.
Oct 28, 2015
Campfound was full of noisy drunks who appeared to be living there full time. Grounds were unkempt, besides the damage from flash flooding.
Oct 21, 2015
Oct 19, 2015
I camped for 3 weeks in western USA and this was the most expensive but the worst one. NOT FOR TENTS! they gave us a tent site which was very small and the ground was too hard for the tent stakes. no privacy at all, it feels like they tried to put as much sites they can in a small area. no table, and far from bathroom. in our tent site we had many cockroaches!
Oct 04, 2015
The campground was clean and safe with good facilities. The store had a variety of supplies. Tent sites are small and the soil is hard to get tent stakes into. There are too many lights near the tents, so it's a little tough to fall asleep.
Oct 03, 2015
No WiFi. Called weeks ahead to confirm Internet access, but was very poor and mostly non-existant. Verizon access non-existent also. Nice restrooms.
Sep 27, 2015
very clean restrooms... 30min away from Zion
Sep 23, 2015
The facility was great, but our neighbors were rude. There was not enough picnics tables for each campsite. Our neighbors would also not share theirs with us.
Sep 22, 2015
We arrived on Friday the 21st about 1:30 pm the staff was real nice I had asked for the same tent camp site as the last time my wife and I stayed there and it was available the whole 3 nights were great look foward to staying at this Koa next year thanks
Aug 30, 2015
It was great; staff was friendly and the bathrooms were very well-maintained.
Aug 28, 2015
Great campground! BEST bathrooms/showers we have EVER had! We stayed at a different rv park in July - Hurricane is far superior.
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
Best staff at any KOA we have ever stayed at. It was miserably hot and my site was washed out from rain. The manager on duty fixed it. She put us in the site with the most shade and even checked to make sure we were happy. Thank you. The bathroom was clean 24/7. Not campground clean, at home clean, spotless. Oh and even when it's 100°+ outside the bathrooms are air conditioned. I loved it!
Aug 27, 2015
It would be nice if KOA campgrounds would have nicer areas to put a tent. This one like many others we have stayed at this summer do not have good tent areas. Most are uneven gravel areas looking like last minute afterthoughts.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals