St. George / Hurricane KOA

5800 N Highway 91

Hurricane, UT 84737

Reserve: 800-562-8607

Info: 435-879-2212

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Apr 03, 2014
This KOA is in great location, but as you plan your stay know there are two beautiful public campgrounds within 2 miles. This "New" KOA is a rebuilt trailer park, and the tent sites are tiny, uneven, and full of trash. The bathroom is very large, but the shower valves need an update as I took a freezing shower since the knob was broken and turning freely.
Mar 31, 2014
This had all the amenities of a typical KOA, which is great. Management was very nice. Downside is that it is right alongside I-5 and the traffic noise is very annoying at night. The tent spot I was given was so tiny and bare. No trees or grass and only 10 feet from a residential house across the fence. Worst space I've ever rented in.
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 17, 2014
small campsite with barely enough room for a small tent, no table or fire pit. neighbors also having to use our campsite for their larger tent. too close for comfort!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We are developing more spacious Deluxe Tent sites in the next few months that will provide Tent Pad, Picnic Table, & Fire Ring. Todd Hague, Property Manager
Feb 18, 2014
We love this KOA, however the tent site that we stayed in was extremely small and barely fit our tent. With no real fire pit in it. But the worst part was that their little ground light was right next to our tent and shined all night. I wish they would dim or turn off the ground lighting in the tent spots so we could sleep without a light one foot from our tent. Everything else was great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi. Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are in the process of improving our tent sites in the next few months, which will also include quality fire rings. We hope you will consider visiting us again in 2014. Todd Hague, Property Manager
Nov 20, 2013
Great bathroom facilities. tent camp site was very small and far from bathrooms. Great view
Nov 04, 2013
Tent area is poor. Ground is so hard I had tough time hammering military styles stakes
Oct 21, 2013
We had a great experience at this KOA and we be back next spring.
Oct 16, 2013
Everything was great, we did get back late our first night and we did have some noise comming from our incampment, such as breaking up fire wood, and a small party for our son who was getting married in the morning, we walked up to the RV sites to see how much noise could be heard several times, hardly a peep could be heard, night security came by our second night,our stay was wonderful,Thanx Jim.
Oct 14, 2013
Great place, clean, friendly staff, really enjoyed my stay plan on many more in the future!
Oct 12, 2013
Expectations were met campground was clean well managed and staff was polite helpful and efficient. It was a KOA they have all been wonderful.
Oct 08, 2013
This campground has not been under the KOA banner for long. As such their tent sites are not setup properly yet and very rocky and difficult to get pegs in. Once they grow some grass on the tent areas it will be good.
Sep 30, 2013
The tent sites need some work but other than that the campground facilities were excellent
Sep 03, 2013
Where do I start? Terrible location; miles from any services and right beside the freeway. Pitiful excuse for a tent site with only a small useless patch of grass and then gravel to set up on. On top of that I had to sign a release saying I wouldn't complain about the sprinklers that came on during the night. The staff's response to my question about the sprinklers; just put a large rock on it!
Aug 30, 2013
Not many tent site. Old, worn out facilities. No fire rings.
Aug 21, 2013
Too many Cockroaches near the Tent area!!!!
Aug 10, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Not very prepared for tent campers, but the staff was accommodating when presented with camping difficulties. This place is new to KOA and they are doing a good job with what they have.
Jul 27, 2013
Friendly staff! Great facilities! Highly recommend!
Jul 18, 2013
The staff was Awsome the game room,pool,and restrooms were the cleanest I have been to. Had lots of fun. It was my friends first time at an koa. They were impressed .
Jul 17, 2013
We arrived just before the office closed. Very helpful getting us checked in and while making reservations on the phone. The clubhouse was very nice, as was the laundry area. We did not use any other amenities.
Jul 09, 2013
Great place!
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Tent site was in someone's back yard. Next to a smelly sewage container and some electricity contraption with no fire pit and rocky ground to pitch the tent was neither relaxing nor enjoyable. It also promised fishing which was virtually inaccessible unless you climb mountains.
Jun 24, 2013
we all had a fun time in the pool, the club house was great for our family lunch. Julie was very helpful. Thanks
Jun 24, 2013
The campground was a little hard to find. Once we got it it was pretty good, and the staff was helpful.
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
Your booking system does not provide for our type of vehicle, a converted Chrysler Town & Country van. We didn't need a tent or RV site, didn't need power or water, just a place to park our van on some grass. We were allocated a tent site that we couldn't get to so were placed in an out of the way overflow area, rocky & hard, with some shade, not very close to the showers/restrooms.
Jun 05, 2013
This KOA is not set up for tent camping.What they offer as a tent sight is nothing more that a RV platform with sharp gravel and uneven ground,terrible. This KOA should not be alowed to advertise "Tent Camping" until a proper tenting area is constructed.
Jun 04, 2013
The campground was nice and the staff was friendly. The only problem is that the sites are to close together so you have no outside sitting area at your site
Jun 01, 2013
Nice campground, nice people running it, and it was close to several parks
May 29, 2013
Friendly people, incredible view, nice pool & spa, large clean restrooms and showers. My only complaint is that the tent sites are uncomfortably close to each other.
May 26, 2013
Although a nice campground for RV's would not recommend for tenting. Very few sites and poor quality. No store on site. Web site deceiving as to how close the lake is. The word Kamp implies just that, camping. KOA is slowly moving away from traditional camping and is catering more to RV's.
May 22, 2013
After staying at a KOA site in Cortez, (which was absolutely the opposite of this site in Hurricane). We were very disappointed. The site we were given was down the dog walk path, we would have had to pack all of our things down, there was dog poop on the area where we were supposed to tent, no one available to talk to. Ended up sleeping next to the dumpster, which reeked! Dirty bathrooms too.
May 20, 2013
Our reservation was supposed to be for a group tent site; our reservation even said, "Perfect for small ten or small groups traveling together." There were only three small tent sites available when we arrived and the sites were so small that they barely fit one tent! My husband and I had to get a motel room so that the rest of our group could camp! Sprinklers came on in the middle of the night
May 14, 2013
Was very disappointed that their was no staff after 4pm. Also ALL sites should have a picnic table. We had to ask for one and other told us they were sharing with their neighbors. The campground is very clean, and the laundry room was great.
May 13, 2013
Staff is great, location great. Still working on tent friendly. Our only issue was the permanent residents. They were very loud and kept us up all night both nights being loud and drinking. I don't think they take kindly to tenters in their living area.
Apr 29, 2013
I enjoyed my stay but I have a few suggestions. I know that you have recently become a KOA and are not yet equipped for tent campers. If I were to stay again I would like a tent spot with a picnic table, firepit or BBQ grill, and some shade preferably. Tent campers need a clean spot, and a way to cook. Thanks for an otherwise enjoyable stay and I hope to stay in the future.
Apr 27, 2013
Apr 15, 2013
We didn't even stay here. We arrived later in the evening as planned, and found a campsite right next to a 'pet trail' that you should call the 'poop trail' that stunk and was not clean at all. Further, how can you have a campsite right next to the same trail where you're having kids and families walk down the trail?? There was no seperation there or privacy whatsoever. Very disgusted sorry.
Apr 11, 2013
Showers and Pool were great! Camp site was the worst I have ever experienced! It was mostly RV's I think they only had 2 tiny dirt spots next to a fence with cockroaches!
Mar 17, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. I think this will be a great place, once you've made the improvements you're planning. I hope you can get more good tent sites, although my tent site was great--right next to the showers!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.