Spearfish / Black Hills KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0805

Info: 605-642-4633

Email

41 West Hwy 14 (I90/Exit 10)

PO Box 429

Spearfish, SD 57783

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2017
What a great campground!! Of all the places we have stayed this was the best. From check in to the store to the ice cream social the staff was spectacular. This campground sets the bar very high. We couldn't be happier wit our stay. No negatives.
Jul 17, 2017
It was a long hot day and we were very glad that we could rely on KOA for a place to overnight.
Jul 17, 2017
Facilities were extremely clean, site was large and staff was very nice and accommodating.
Jul 17, 2017
We just stayed for 1 night but this is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at
Jul 17, 2017
Super nice staff, clean grounds and pool. Awesome setup for shower facility (and basically brand new).
Jul 17, 2017
This is a nice campground.
Jul 17, 2017
One thing I found annoying was the showers, there is nothing to show if anyone is in there and you have to knock on every door to find one that was open, being in there hearing all the knocks was annoying. Adding those locks that show vacant/occupied would be a great investment!! The limit on dogs allowed is ridiculous. The shaded sites are a huge bonus,Lots of trees, that was great!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate the feedback on the showers - great idea but the type of doors that are used with our public showers (with an exterior/outdoor entrance) do not allow for a reasonably priced handle that you're describing. The only ones I've found are made for interior doors. Sorry that we couldn't allow your friend's Pit Bull. We had a terrible experience here last year and no longer allow the breed.
Jul 16, 2017
Very impressed with our first KOA stay. From check in to check out, your staff was very warm and inviting. The facilities were immaculate, very nice lush grass, very nice rock driveways and pads. Thank you for making our vacation so easy. Highly recommend.
Jul 16, 2017
What a great stay, clean and friendly will come back. Great time!!
Jul 16, 2017
What a wonderful campground, Aaron and Kim where fantastic we arrived a night early,they were full yet they made sure that we had a site for the night, the people that we were camped beside were also wonderful people we had travelled 141/2 hours that day, and I had just had surgery 9 days before in Ontario Canada They even feed us supper, I can't say enough about the wonderful people we met.Thanks
Jul 16, 2017
We stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins. They were clean and new! Didn't get to do ice cream socials but would have liked to. Everything was clean and well kept and easily accessible. Very quiet.
Jul 16, 2017
Very nice and clean campground. Enjoyed the ice cream social.
Jul 16, 2017
Very clean, brand new showers, owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
Jul 16, 2017
Well maintained campground. Pleasant and helpful staff. Close to I-90 but not to close no background noise.
Jul 16, 2017
Traveled from New York to South Dakota and this was the nicest campground. Beautifully kept grounds, very clean and everyone was very friendly. Highly recommended
Jul 15, 2017
Awesome KOA! The sites are big, level and for the most part shaded. Very particular as we saw them walking each site after campers checked out to make sure it was ready for the next camper! Wii definitely go back!
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
The couple who run the place. Very pleasant. Enjoyed!!
Jul 15, 2017
Check in was easy and staff friendly. We will be back again.
Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful campground! Large, clean, newer restrooms, showers and laundry. Absolutely the nicest, most accommodating hosts! Ice cream social every night, very easy on/off the interstate. A favorite!!
Jul 15, 2017
Super nice and helpful staff.
Jul 14, 2017
Nice campground.
Jul 14, 2017
This park is very nice. The site we stayed in was great. We were in a motorhome with a tow and had lots of room. The staff was very friendly and we were centrally located with what we wanted to do. I will recommend this park to everyone!!!
Jul 14, 2017
we visited multiple Koa's while on our 3+ week trip and this camp by far was the best. very classy, clean park and the staff was extremely friendly. we will be putting this camp in our book for future stays.
Jul 14, 2017
The complete staff and facility were absolutely top rated. Would definitely stay here again!!
Jul 14, 2017
We loved this KOA. Staff very friendly, helpful, campground very clean. Beautiful place just to relax and enjoy. Wish we could have stayed longer. This KOA is where I will be staying every time we go to South Dakota.
Jul 14, 2017
I would have given it 5 stars, but we had trouble with slow internet(that wasn't the problem) and the manager/owner went ballistic when my husband (who worked over 30 years in high level IT) told him the problem was with his wifi and not our tech.Evidently, they had just spent a lot of money upgrading. Wifi is always iffy at any campground; usually staff is more laid back about problems with it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello! Our WiFi is intended for general internet usage, not for streaming videos/gaming/etc. My husband & I tried several times to explain this to both of you but you insisted your connection issues were on our end even though we had dozens of campers using the WiFi. We offered to refund you but you declined. We're sorry you had an unpleasant experience here.
Jul 13, 2017
We were very impressed with the property, the customer care, and the proximity of the venues and points of interest we were visiting. We will be back!
Jul 13, 2017
Absolutely wonderful
Jul 13, 2017
We had a a great stay. Clean and neat facilities. Well kept. The staff was friendly and courteous.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Very clean
Jul 12, 2017
This is a beautiful and well kept campground. The staff is very friendly and helpful!
Jul 12, 2017
Wonderful reception when we enter the office and all the ice cream you can eat for pennies.
Jul 12, 2017
We stay here every year! Nice improvements noted this year. Always friendly!
Jul 12, 2017
Very nice campground. The employees we're friendly and helpful.
Jul 12, 2017
nice campground, clean bathrooms and campsites. staff very friendly and helpful
Jul 12, 2017
We had a wonderful visit and stay. We enjoyed meeting the family. The KOA was well managed and maintained. Close to all our sightseeing adventures. Wish you good luck with your KOA. George and Debbie Bel Air Maryland
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
We spent 3 nights there. Had a nice grassy lot back int th back. Hosts were very nice. Bathroom was clean and large, loved the shower rooms very private. Far enough out of the hustle and bustle of the area but still close enough to drive to the sights. Thanks.
Jul 11, 2017
Fantastic place. Well kept, lots of shade and flat pull thru spots. Nice clean restrooms and showers. A great location to tour the Black Hills and Mt Rushmore. The all you can eat ice scream was a nice treat
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The campgrounds were very clean & well kept. The staff was very friendly & accommodating. Definitely would recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Loved everything about our stay! Wish the showers had more pressure, but that's all. Very happy and will be coming back!
Jul 11, 2017
Beautiful CG and the staff was great.
Jul 11, 2017
Probably the best moa we have stayed at, beautiful, clean and friendly
Jul 11, 2017
Very nice and well run campground Enjoyed our time their
Jul 11, 2017
This was a very nice and green campground. Did not expect all the green in this part of the country! Far enough from the interstate that road noise was minimal. Campground host was in evidence multiple times and coaching his staff when needed. Very well run.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award