San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2013
Good site for kids! Very nice setting. Everything worked well
Sep 19, 2013
Thank you KOA for a very good experience. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and the management came to our campground with a bottle of wine and card of congratulations! It made our KOA stay so much more special. Thank you again. Christina and Dan Victoria, B.C.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
A great place for kids with all the animals, playgrounds, the large pool, the horse shoe throwing. Our kids liked it a lot, since there are some many other kids around and the can drive around with their bicycles. The only thing that I didn't like, was the location of our tent sitge between two streets, where one street served as a through street. But overall it was a great stay.
Sep 16, 2013
We had a "family friendly" tent spot. It was so small that we had to place our 6x6ft tent almost inside the fire pit - no camp fire for us. The space bordered a busy road on one side and a steep hill on the other. There was so much noise, even after 10pm. We enjoyed the heated pool and huge playground though.
Sep 16, 2013
Not as 'back to nature' as we would have liked. Amazing for kids, but way too close to the freeway.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Very nice family park. Very well kept. The tent sites are small and not well defined, but go to "group camp" with friends you haven't met yet, and have a blast!!
Sep 13, 2013
Loved it in all respects.Good clean facilities and close to where we camped.
Sep 12, 2013
We enjoyed our stay, but we found out on our trip that KOA's are near either major roads with lots of traffic or near train tracks with lots of noise. We don't plan to stay at any more KOAs; too much night noise.
Sep 11, 2013
It was great. The staff were awesome, went out their way. I loved being able to pay an addition fee for late checkout since 11am didn't work for me. My only complaint: bouncy pillow for children only? Boo (smile)
Sep 10, 2013
Terrible WIFI connection! Efficient and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. A bit too busy for our liking
Sep 10, 2013
Once our reservations were cleared up and we arrived it was GREAT!
Sep 10, 2013
Our first night there was an violent incident involving a young girl waking up screaming then a physical altercation between two amped up groups of guys from two different sites. As it involved the site directly next to ours (93) it was particularly upsetting. I laid awake for many hours monitoring the area to provide security to my family. KOA security was nowhere to be found for some time.
Sep 10, 2013
This was the first time my 4 year old granddaughter has been away from home for more than one night. We brought her for 3 nights and she loved it and didn't want to go home after 2 nights and asked to stay for another night.
Sep 09, 2013
Level tent sites. Bathrooms ok - the ones by the full hookup sites looked really nice, the ones by the office are kind of cramped, the ones right by the Kamping Kitchen without showers are really cramped. Some of the wallboard is coming loose. Seemed like one of the outlets in the Kamping Kitchen wasn't working. Do take the tour into SF - it's worth the $$$$. John is a great tour "guy".
Sep 09, 2013
Bathrooms near the Kamper Kitchen area could have been cleaned more often but overall a pretty good visit.
Sep 09, 2013
Quiet hour was not enforced. A party woke us up and got worse when people in the party started fighting. Cops came. It sucked not to get sleep. We were hosting a birthday party for 12 year olds! Burners in the camp kitchen were not functioning and the bathrooms needed attention. One soap dispenser was broken.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
A fun resort for families, but doesn't really feel like camping. My kids loved the various activities, however when we asked what they liked best about camping they answer, 'the pool, the jumper, and the game room' and the actual camping was unfortunately overshadowed. The campsites are on top of each other but are well equipped with water, fire ring and table.
Sep 08, 2013
Great site for families. with lots of activities for kids. Noisy and by the main road, so don't expect a quiet stay!
Sep 05, 2013
great family fun! we loved it so much that we stayed an extra day instead of touring San Francisco! had so much fun tent camping the first night ad staying in a cabin the second night. very clean and the staff is great.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
The Russian River is nearby & FUN FUN! I highly recommend the trip. This RV park was just that - for RV's (I had a tent.) I'm new to KOA "camping" & I definitely didn't feel like I was in this tidy, but dusty, parking lot. The staff & other guests were great, & amenities very clean - showers & toilets - wow! Overall, it was funner than a hotel, but more boring than the woods.
Sep 03, 2013
Much unfair and inconsistent treatment of guests. I witnessed staff allowing white families/ kids more privileges than non-whites. I was very surprised and shocked by this. Much of the elder staff grew up during segregation and they do not seem to understand it ended. SF Bay Area is so diverse. I would expect so much more for a family place. No recycling bins near garbage cans at sites.
Sep 03, 2013
Is there a curfew enforced where people need to start being more quiet in the evenings around 9pm? Maybe have the workers go around and remind people that it is quiet time. Also someone's alarm kept going off at 1am! Recommend having people turn off their alarms and just lock/unlock their cars manuall. That is so inconsiderate.
Sep 03, 2013
Love everything about this KOA I've been coming here twice a yr for 7yrs now. Staff is wonderful - place is always clean
Sep 03, 2013
I had been told from a friend how family friendly the Petaluma KOA is, and they were so right! We had 4 kids and they all had a blast. I have never seen the 5 year old have a better time. She rode her bike everywhere and loved all of the activities the KOA had to offer, from the pool, playground, water slide to the tractor hay ride she was all smiles all weekend. I'm already planning our next trip
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Was here Labor Day weekend with my husband and toddler. We got the dreaded next to bathroom, no shade, directly under lamp post tent spot. Despite this, we still had an amazing weekend! This is an amazing campground for families.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a blast!
Sep 02, 2013
Friendly helpful staff, tent sites pretty close together and didn't know about the higher price for a friday night.
Sep 02, 2013
We wanted to like this place. We gave it a chance & was very disappointed in the end that we checked out the day before our actual date. The noise is beyond absurd. Noisy people, noisy location, noisy animals, noisy employees. Quiet time is NOT enforced @ all. Camping is supposed to be synonymous with nature & this place, though it may be outdoors, has nothing to do with nature.
Aug 31, 2013
The ENTIRE staff at Petaluma KOA was very helpful and made my stay feel like I was at my best friend's home!!
Aug 31, 2013
Great place if you have a family with you, but I was a single camper in a tent and had no need for many of the benefits.
Aug 30, 2013
I would say nice. It's disappointing that other campers walk through occupied sites instead of walking around. it would be nice to have little fences to create the tent sites and dedicated walkways created.
Aug 30, 2013
I would say nice. It's disappointing that other campers walk through occupied sites instead of walking around. it would be nice to have little fences to create the tent sites and dedicated walkways created. Also the restrooms need to be updated & cleaned later into the night and earlier in the am.
Aug 30, 2013
I would say nice. It's disappointing that other campers walk through occupied sites instead of walking around. it would be nice to have little fences to create the tent sites and dedicated walkways created. Also the restrooms need to be updated & cleaned later into the night and earlier in the am.
Aug 30, 2013
Great place for families. Well-maintained grounds, friendly staff.
Aug 28, 2013
It was a busy campsite, full of activities for children. About a 30-45 minute drive from downtown San Francisco. There is a large pool and a small climbing wall.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Such a wonderful family oriented camp ground! We stayed with a group and are already planning our visit next summer!
Aug 27, 2013
I love this place. It offers so many activities for the kids, and is super clean.
Aug 26, 2013
I was surprised to see it so full but there is 1 more week until Labor Day. Lots of activity my only complaint is more bathrooms are needed for tent campers or those in RVs without facilities. I noticed even the large RV owners went to the showers and toilets.
Aug 26, 2013
Great facilities and very friendly staff. One of the top campgrounds I've ever stayed at.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Loved every minute we spent there. 8/21/2013 it was the quietest time to relax and rekindle wonderful family experiences. The staff was polite and courteous. I definitely would like to come back again. Thanks.
Aug 25, 2013
Nice but should having the climbing wall working more of the day not just 45 minutes per day. The kitchen wash areas were really helpful b
Aug 23, 2013
We made a reservation and were still placed in an overfill campsite. It was a spot meant for an RV so there was hardly any room for our tent. We were literally in between a light pole and the picnic bench. Also being right next to the bathrooms in our tent wasn't a pleasant experience. The only thing between our tent and the bathrooms was our car.
Aug 21, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.