San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 21, 2014
Muy buena ,a mis hijas les encanta
Jun 21, 2014
Review based on the tent area. The grounds and facilities were well kept & clean. Smell of cow poop was extreme, especially at night. Kids loved the bouncy "pillow". Main complaint was the customer service. When I made the reservation, I told them that I had 7 people, 2 tents. Our small site, without any room to put both tents, safe from the fire. Not told that the closest bathroom was closed.
Jun 20, 2014
KOA is so nice, you can't even call it camping. It's like the Ritz of camping
Jun 19, 2014
Loved this campground! And the tour was wonderful.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
I was given an end spot when I booked the reservations and checked in. Then they squeezed a party with 3 large tents and 9 people next to us on a mystery Spot. I was forced to move my tent and be 6 feet away from their fire pit. It was very loud and the quit hours were not enforced.
Jun 18, 2014
Another Great stay at KOA Petaluma. Facilities are always very clean. Camping site restrooms & showers appeared to be a new remodel. The only problem was an unkind staff member that denied our daughter art & crafts because he said there was only 15 minutes left for craft time. It should be indicated on the run down of activities that certain events run 45 minutes and not a full hour.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool needs a lifeguard. It was filled beyond capacity--an accident waiting to happen. The visibility was nonexistent. I could barely see my hand underwater.
Jun 16, 2014
Pleasently surprised! Plenty of fun for all of the family to enjoy.
Jun 16, 2014
I aways visit this KOA but this time am not happy about it first night the people that where in 298,297 where to loud I call like at 10:50 to let you guys know and the noise cotinous call again like at 11:30 because they where to loud and told me that they where there and talk to them but I guess they did not care noise still same kids screming loud music like until 1:40am next night same. :-(
Jun 16, 2014
I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground and the activities that were offered for the children. I would definitely stay there again.
Jun 16, 2014
We were really happy with our first stay at a KOA! The staff were always friendly and cheerful and the facilities clean. There was a little confusion at check-in, and the economy tent site system wasn't totally clear, but overall everything was great. We can't wait to return.
Jun 15, 2014
So much to do Beautiful Bathrooms
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Had such a good time. Clean, friendly, great fun for kids and most of all reasonably priced
Jun 09, 2014
Unfortunately we did not realize how crowded KOAs were when we booked our camping stay. It is great if you like that sort of thing, but we prefer camping experiences where you have some elbow room and you do not have to hear people playing drinking games and yelling and swearing until 2 am.
Jun 09, 2014
This KOA is loud and crowded. Partying was acceptable until 3am, Dogs off leashes, garbage everywhere. Random rules set up for use of the facilities. The best part is the animals that are part if the site. Not what we were expecting for a campsite.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
you have a great place but the people who stayed the weekend have no respect for your place they are like animals you need to put automatic door closers on the bathrooms so the doors will be go shut, my parents would have kicked my but if I behaved like they did both the parents & the kids. I could not believe they could,nt even pick up their trash after watching the movie by the pool
Jun 09, 2014
Very clean
Jun 09, 2014
the staff were patient and courteous, but the number of people and the activity level was overwhelming. At 2 in the morning people were still yelling and having a good time. We had to be up at 6 am so it made for a miserable second day. I requested to move campsites and it was granted which I really appreciated. There needs to be a quiet tent camping area away from the rowdiness of pool.
Jun 09, 2014
Great. Thanks. Only issue was I booked a tent site that supp had a fire ring but ours did not. Not a problem but would have been nice. Otherwise all was as adverstised. Would rec KOA Petaluma to others. Thanks!
Jun 08, 2014
Great staff and fantastic pool!
Jun 07, 2014
The best KOA we've stayed at so far...after you get used to the farm smell.
Jun 05, 2014
This is my 2nd KOA that I have stayed at, and I was so disappointed with the service. I always felt when I went into the office, I was a bother. Then while I sat at the pool area, during the day, was told they needed to clean the umbrellas out by the pool area, I went back to tent site, and the umbrellas still sat there. Will never stay there ever again!!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
the tour guy was very very good! Best tour ever, thanks John.
Jun 02, 2014
We came up with a group of 48 families (144 folks total) and everyone had an awesome time. Thanks for providing so many activities for the kids. It was super fun!!
Jun 02, 2014
Campsite is good with option of grass with a slight unevenness and most have some shade. 99% paved and packed gravel for the rest. Bathrooms were great A+ on them badboys and Kampers Korner is great for a place to cook your food. Nice place overall.
Jun 02, 2014
It was an extremely windy weekend and the area where I had my tent had nothing in the way of a wind break. The wind blew so hard other tents in the area were blown over. I finally left early as it was just too much. It would be more customer service oriented to keep that whole area closed to tent camping during windy times like that.
Jun 02, 2014
There are so many great activities for children to do! My 4 year old LOVED it! He especially liked getting to spend some up-close and personal time with the animals in the petting zoo!
Jun 02, 2014
This is the BEST KOA we've ever stayed at. The entire place was very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My son loved the climbing wall and jumping pillow and we both loved the giant pool and jacuzzi.
Jun 01, 2014
Great facilities and activities. The downside was that the brand new toilets, that hadn't quite been finished but will be really cool when done, had bright security lights on the side that were shining (on and off) directly into our campground and tent all night.
May 31, 2014
The best KOA...... Gret place for kids. Lots to do
May 30, 2014
It was great with the exception of parking.I was not allowed to park 2vehicles in the designated tent spot even thought i informed the staff that both drivers had a handicap placard/disability,and there were several tent sites with 2vehicles parked overnoc and the entire time of camping. One site being exactly next to my site.I was told to alternate with my vehicles.
May 30, 2014
May 27, 2014
We were camping in tents, Poor uneven site. Lack of shower and toilet facilities. restrooms/showers were being rebuilt with only portable toilets to use. Communal cooking area dirty, being used as a dumping area by the crew building the restrooms. Broken electrical items, Washing machines X1, Dryers X3,Coffee machine, Slush machine all out of order. Laundry Iron lost/stolen with no replacem
May 27, 2014
Stayed with a large group of families from our 3rd graders' class. Great way to all hang out together.
May 27, 2014
We had a great first stay at your facility and have already reserved our spot for next year. my only feedback would be the showers in the new bathrooms for the tent sites. There are no hooks/space to put your clean clothes.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Nice staff - even when the place is completely full! Well maintained too.
May 24, 2014
Very nice place to stay for a family.
May 22, 2014
I took my three sons camping, we live in Cotati, so we are close. Brilliant to have the Kamp Kitchen. Tent camping is great, the grounds are well maintained, showers work and we do love coming off peak times so never crowded. Staff friendly and helpful, we'll be back!
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
I have a tent site near the playground during my stay. I could not sleep due to heavy traffic, noise and security patrolling every few minutes. The sites are way to close together and there is no privacy!
May 18, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.