San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Apr 14, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
Scenic, well-run campground, meticulously clean restrooms/showers, stellar staff. This place has to be the best KOA of all! Thank you! We'll be back!
Mar 27, 2014
The KOA campground in Petaluma offers all the comforts you could need while camping in the rolling Sonoma hills. Beautiful well-kept facilities, friendly staff and peaceful atmosphere. I wish my vacation didn't end!
Mar 17, 2014
Mar 16, 2014
Very nice campground with great facilities and wifi. Perfekt for kids, lots of playgrounds and some farm animals. Nice people at the front desk. A bit hard to find if you come from Hw 1 though.
Mar 12, 2014
The grounds were quiet, safe and clean. It would be helpful to have more information about checking out in the night-registration paperwork. Otherwise, a great stay. Thank you.
Jan 21, 2014
Dec 26, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. Grounds were clean and well maintained. Great place.
Dec 13, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Nov 22, 2013
Nov 16, 2013
Lots for kids to do. The pool heated would have been nice in the cool weather.
Nov 04, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Only one shower in operation intended to service 50 sites.
Oct 27, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
I would recommend not tent camping in October, it gets pretty cold at night. Other than that it was a pleasant stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Oct 21, 2013
This is my third time to come to Petaluma KOA. The staff here is awesome, very friendly and extremely helpful. I come here annually with a youth group that I help mentor. The place is very nice, good for beginners campers. It has clean toilets and showers. It has a store and a pool and a hot tub. I give them 4 stars because of the aweful stench that was there for the whole weekend.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Awesome wonderful time! Too many kid activities (and I mean that in a good way)! The Pool was HEAVENLY and super-warm while swimming at night. Best pool I have ever been in. I liked that it was not too chlorinated/stingy, but crystal clear and clean. All the amenities were clean and great and easily accessed. We felt safe & had family fun. I LOVED it. We will be back next year for sure!
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Great base camp for exploring the SF area. I would likely try a Kabin next time. Road noise from 101 was nonstop and didn't enjoy smell from cow farm near the tent sites.
Oct 15, 2013
This is more as a trailer or motor home then a serious camping place, there are kitchen, swimming pool batch ball etc. kind of easy for a family with young kids, like having a multi family back yard. although it might not be for a real mountain camping.
Oct 14, 2013
Love all the amenities but the security gate is a pain. Not sure why it is necessary.
Oct 14, 2013
We've stayed at you site 3 times now. The kids love it and we will definitely be returning. And we have spread the word:)
Oct 14, 2013
We had never stayed at a KOA before. We thought it was perfect. The location for visiting downtown SFO and then camping with small children in fresh open air was perfect.
Oct 14, 2013
I paid $40.00 for overflow with the only utility we had was water. Had planned on staying 3-4 nights. But for that price and level of service, we left by 7:30am and won't be back.
Oct 14, 2013
Very busy campground so you don't receive the personal attention that many other KOA's provide. The restrooms were disgusting and dirty. The overall upkeep is less than satisfactory.
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
very enjoyable, all good.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Always have a great time there!
Oct 07, 2013
Not a bad location or facility. It was just very crowded when we were there, and someone had removed the tables from our campsite, so there was a delay while they found some for us. Felt a little silly wearing wristbands, but I'm assuming they've had security problems in the past and are trying to deal with them.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
We stayed here earlier this summer and had a good time although our space was busy near a bathroom so when some friends said they would be there this past wknd chose our spot thinking we would be off the beaten path. End of the road tent camping- we had the last site, so we thought, then on our 2nd night at about 930 pm 2 motor homes showed up taking an undesignated spot??? Not cool!!!!!!!
Oct 01, 2013
Great activities, clean grounds, and friendly staff. Tent sites are within view and earshot of the freeway. Road noise not so bad during the day, distracting when trying to sleep.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Staff, grounds, and shower/restrooms are all great. The upper tent sites could have benefitted by another 5 feet of ground...too cramped. The pine trees that have reached the end of their life span...NEED TO GO. I have dealt with them on my property ...in this dying, chronic weeping sap state. It isn't fair to your campers to have all their equipment and vehicles coated in this mess.
Sep 30, 2013
There was only 1 working toilet for the entire upper area, the area without hookups. All of us without toilets had one toilet to share. The breakfast was a snails pace and NO coffee. You had to purchase that from a coffee cart separately. The pancake chef would clear the entire griddle completely before pouring new batter. If he would pour sections as he served he could triple his efficiency!
Sep 30, 2013
We had a nice time with the Vintage Travel Trailers. Facilities were very clean and enjoyable. Only small complaint would be all the flies in the rec room. otherwise facilities are very nice. Swimming, jumpy are lots of fun with the kids.
Sep 30, 2013
It's a fantastic site for family groups. It's so great for city kids to have the freedom to move around on their own. Thank you!
Sep 30, 2013
The stay was great, but the reservation system was bad. It didn't even let me reserve two campsites at once and we had to pay extra to have them next to each other.
Sep 30, 2013
Clean facilities, friendly staff (who found and returned my wallet when I lost it), cool outdoor kitchens and nice activities for the kids. Very happy with our stay!
Sep 30, 2013
We Had a good time, was a little disappointed that the price was so high for a tent site.
Sep 24, 2013
The staff was so friendly and helpful. We usually only camp in rural areas, never been to a KOA. But when we travel we now will be looking for a KOA when we need to stop over night. We would have loved to have taken your tour to San Francisco but we had our dog so was unable to. This KOA was pretty and clean. Thanks again.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
Really enjoyed the campground and staff. Will come back!
Sep 22, 2013
This was our third time stay and it was again great as always. We love the facilities and the staff. Just one incident when we walked too close to a campsite when the campers barked at us like guard dogs. I thought it was just us but when we heard they were yelling at practically everyone else that walked too close we just ignored and stayed away from them. We can't wait to go again.
Sep 21, 2013
Could not have asked for a better visit. We visit here every year and always feel welcome. GREAT FRIENDLY STAFF!! We look forward to our return! Thank you!!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.