San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Tent Reviews

Aug 27, 2015
Really loved most everything about this KOA--jumping pillow, karaoke, the kids dance party, etc. The only flaw, and it's a big one, was when we needed a jump start to leave our spot and check out. At most campgrounds, even State/Federal ones, a kind ranger will come by and help out. When I attempted to get help at this KOA, I was told it was a $20 fee! Nickel-and-dime: NOT COOL
Aug 25, 2015
It was fun and nice first time experience.
Aug 25, 2015
I won't recommend this KOA for many reasons. A) Tent spots were in the side of the road B) It was busy like ever seen C) It was loud and dogs were barking all evening long and worse it started at 5AM D) only two restrooms for the number of people was a bit short. Positive note is that the shower were not busy, could be because of the code.
Aug 24, 2015
Amazing program of children's facilities and all-day activities. This location is perfect, therefore for families, but can become noisy. Extremely well run, overall.
Aug 24, 2015
This Campground is clean and well organized, very good for families with young children. I wish there were trail hiking places in walking distance.The cabins look great , we wanted to rent one and were place in waiting room but were not able to get it. I think there is a need of more Restrooms and showers should be open 24 hrs too. Very friendly Staff. Swimming pool was crowed, didn't use it.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
The KOA staff was fantastic! Friendly and very helpful. The restrooms were clean and we always felt safe. We will definitely return!!
Aug 24, 2015
I was impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the facilities, and the general security setup.
Aug 24, 2015
For travelling with children, this campground is great. The personnel is doing an excellent job. The only thing that bothered us is the location: too close to the highway. If I were the owner I would plant a lot of bushes and trees between campground and highway. It will help avoiding the noise and improve the looks.
Aug 24, 2015
Loud and crowded tent camping area. Very clean facility. Friendly staff.
Aug 24, 2015
Very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. If we ever come that way again we will definitely stay again :)
Aug 24, 2015
First time at a KOA and it was amazing! The entire staff and activities were great and the grounds far exceeded my expectations. Thank you for Helping create everlasting memories
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
We had a fun stay, however, when we first arrived, KOA was watering a tree on our site and forgot to turn the water off. I had to do so and by then, close to half the area was muddy. It made a bigger mess when we had to set up and add two kids to the mix and we were not please at all. The bright spot was I flagged down a worker who added gravel to the area in a quick manner which helped.
Aug 21, 2015
The best
Aug 19, 2015
Tent site was large with trees and cows and donkeys as neighbors. Very pleasant. People came in at 1:30am and pounded tent stakes for 15 minutes. Not sure what could be done to mitigate that. Nice pool, rec center well equipped, friendly knowledgeable staff. Excellent campground.
Aug 18, 2015
We had an amazing trip to KOA. This is our second time at your location. The DJ is amazing!! Only complaint is the rooster crowing every morning. Our site was 134. It would be nice if the rooster could live somewhere else? He woke us up each morning starting at 5 AM.
Aug 18, 2015
The amenities are excellent, but would have like more room between the tent camping sites. I felt that we were on top of the tents next to us.
Aug 18, 2015
First the bad: The modular trailers that are used for toilets and showers could use more space. The showers have no place to place any clothes or a place to sit down and change, it does have one hanger on the wall. The other shower I found was not modular and had a place for clothes and sitting but was like a hot box, it must have been 120 deg inside. The tent sites were small and crowded by oth
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Our stay was a lot of fun! We were at KOA Petaluma on a very warm weekend and the pool was a great refreshing way to cool off. We always look forward to our annual camping trip there with friends.
Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at KOA next year we will add 1 more day. HAPPY CAMPERS.
Aug 17, 2015
Es el mejor KOA al cual hemos ido, mi hijo y mis padres se divertieron en grande, por supuesto nosotros tambien. Super excelente para los niƱos.
Aug 17, 2015
I loved the activities and all amenities. 5 stars for that. The sites are just too small - if you're ok with how closely packed the campground is, then go for it.
Aug 17, 2015
I like the facility but it's kind of noisy at night.
Aug 17, 2015
The restrooms were filthy and witnessed a worker sign the cleaning sheet without actually cleaning the restroom. Quiet time was not enforced
Aug 17, 2015
I think it was the best place for my kids they love it
Aug 17, 2015
Fun, relaxing, best camping facilities, definitely will be visited again.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Overall, I like it. The bathroom is clean and its close to our camp site. The only thing is the shower head is too high. I love the public kitchen.
Aug 16, 2015
It was a very nice place. My only suggestion is not to place campers in a tent site where 2 trees take up most of the camp site. And our picnic table was on a slanted area which made it hard to cook and ect. Our site had no shade for most of day. Otherwise the activities and other things were great. We will come back but would like a different tent space. TX.
Aug 16, 2015
My first experience kamping, and it was wonderful. Bathrooms/showers were clean and plentiful, the staff helpful and I really appreciated the phone charging station! We made new friends from Canada and look forward to our next kamping adventure! Don and Carole
Aug 15, 2015
My family and I had a great time with all the activities and for how close you are to San Francisco. the only bad thing is that my son was playing at the arcade and his scooter was stolen.
Aug 15, 2015
There were not enough toilets and showers for the number of people camping. The ladies washrooms near the pool were never very clean.
Aug 15, 2015
Smelled like cow manure due to the field of cows next door. It was unbearable.
Aug 15, 2015
Ok
Aug 14, 2015
I didn't like my tent site #93 it was very windy for the entire three days. Every time we sat down to enjoy a meal everything got blown away. My kids had fun,lots of fun things for the kids.
Aug 14, 2015
my 2 year old granddaughter came numerous times this past summer. We had a wonderful time each visit. She thought everyone in a golf cart was the "Tractor Man" and everyone would wave back. We spent a lot of time talking to the goats and looking for the cows! The big playground was used a lot. We will be back again and again.
Aug 14, 2015
Filthy, overpriced, campsites stacked on top of each other, staff was unfriendly
Aug 13, 2015
THANKYOU KOA!!! YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST!!!
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
nice site friendley staff
Aug 11, 2015
Our youth group have been camping here for a few years now. We always enjoy our time here. This year however, we did not feel as welcomed. I felt like we were singled out & watched closely. Every night there was a complain we made alot of noise even though all the other people around us were louder than we were. This is camp, if they need quiet time, stay home!
Aug 11, 2015
This is the only KOA I have been to so I have nothing to compare it to. Honestly, our last night there was AWFUL!! There was a group up loud partying till 2:30am. We were by the "kitchen" area. They were bouncing back and forth between site and kitchen. A KOA worker drove by twice and never did anything. It would be nice if the 10:00 quiet time was enforced. My kids enjoyed all the activities
Aug 11, 2015
Always a friendly staff. Clean restrooms however the showers in the portable need hooks on the inside for hanging clothes. Thank you for another nice stay😊
Aug 11, 2015
The staff was friendly, but the campground was overbooked and overpriced. The showers were to small to change in and there weren't enough of them. I think that $80+ dollars for 1 night at a tent sight is ridiculous.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
This was our first family camping trip with our 6 year old twins and they absolutely loved it. Everyone was nice and helpful. The only thing that I thought could be improved is the showers beside the Kamper Kitchen. They dont have nearly as much room to change outside of the shower stall as the showers in the other bathrooms. They also don't have any hooks in the shower/changing area.
Aug 10, 2015
I love everything about this KOA it was my first time at this site and I love it but the only problem was the noise at nite time it was 2 am and they where to loud but ither then that I love everything the show love it.
Aug 10, 2015
You were having electrical problems, but except for that, everything was good.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.