San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We liked the KOA and all the amenities. The staff was attentive and helpful. We really enjoyed the tour that was offered down to San Fransisco and John our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun. We didn't like our actual tent site. It was not level and the sprinklers turned on at 3:00am every morning soaking our tent. We did tell the staff about it but it was never addressed.
Aug 17, 2014
Great pool with lots of shade opo ups abd umbrellas. Loved the activities ( free) for the kids. Staff was extra helpful. Kamper Kitchen made meal clean up super easy. Restrooms were clean. As a Single Mom camping with her kids, I felt safe in a secure campground. Thanks KOA
Aug 17, 2014
My children had the best time ever and the facility was clean and quiet.
Aug 17, 2014
Very good, Nice kitchen for campers. The best Koa wa had on our trip, although the temperature in the evenings were s bit too low😉
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Just spent Friday night there. We had fun but there was a security light that stayed on all night and we found it hard to go to sleep. Need to dim it after dark.
Aug 16, 2014
Service there was wonderful
Aug 16, 2014
Had a great time with the family, kids loved it and want to go back next year.
Aug 16, 2014
Very clean canins and wonderfull staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Absolutely loved.. Super,super people. Something for everyone... Best I have been at
Aug 16, 2014
Great fun with our 6 year old grandson! Lots for him to do. Great staff! The one thing that I would recommend fixing is the very long wait to buy something from the store. You have to stand in the check in line which can take a VERY long time !
Aug 16, 2014
We arrived on a Sunday nite - very busy. Driving a 40 ft motorhome pulling a car. Could not find our site as row sign hidden behind garbage. Got lost. Very frustrating. Then didn't fit in site. Had to ask for another one. Would have appreciated a guide to our site as in other Koa's. Went on the tour with John. Thought it was fantastic! Best part of our stay.
Aug 16, 2014
Always a great time. Thirty minutes from home but feels like hundreds of miles away. Very clean and friendly staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Pleasant, relaxing. Lots of amenities close by. Definite will return
Aug 16, 2014
AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!!!
Aug 16, 2014
We had heard so many great things about the KOA in Petaluma that we stayed a couple of nights with our granddaughters. Everything was wonderful, we all had a great time. We will be back....thank you.
Aug 16, 2014
Was a little apprehensive about our stay after reading the YELP reviews, however, I was pleasantly surprised! Dianne was welcoming and friendly upon check in. Cabin was nice and clean. Yes, be prepared for flies, but with cows nearby, it comes with the territory. Bathrooms and showers were super clean. Many activities to choose from & great pool! They even warmed it up for the movie at night
Aug 16, 2014
Très bien équipé certes, mais pas assez calme. Le soir c'est vraiment trop bruyant jusqu'à 11h... Le prix est également trop élevé pour un camping...surtout pour les tentes 45 dollars pour avoir un terrain en pente, c'est trop (sans compter les taxes!) Manque un peu d'information touristique, peu de conseil de vives voix (uniquement des flyers )
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Petaluma KOA is fantastic. The staff and activities are well organized. The entire site and bathrooms are clean. It is a very well run campground. We will definitely be back and have already recommended to friends.
Aug 15, 2014
This koa is so easily accessible to all you want to see and do. It is a great home base. We travelled to pt Reyes San Francisco Santa Rosa for a ew wineries plus dis a great walking tour of Petaluma. The San Francisco tour provided by koa for a fee was by far the best tour out there. Be sure to find out when john Horton is driving. He is a native San Franciscan. Awesome!!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Just very nice and cosy!
Aug 15, 2014
We stayed here two years ago.with our RV. We were doing a car trip this year and decided to stay here again and use a deluxe cabin. It was great and so close to San Francisco and the wine country. We toured San Fran with the KOA host and driver, John who was so informative as he showed us all around the city and pointed out all the highlights and more.
Aug 15, 2014
It was a lot of fun great for both adults & kids. Best place I have camped at but 1st time camping at a KOA camp ground.
Aug 14, 2014
The SF tour was awesome, John did a great job. The park was packed and is confusing to navigate, tight turns with overhanging trees. Someone should have escorted us to our site. Other campers were using to roadway, and in an effort to get around them I hit a low hanging tree branch with the rear of the MH while making a turn. Cable TV was bad and no one came to investigate after we called to o
Aug 14, 2014
Very pleasant and staff was respectful and helpful.
Aug 14, 2014
Totally loved it but a bit close to the freeway. But just don't look!
Aug 14, 2014
We really enjoyed our time at the park. It is well-kept and relatively peaceful given the fact that it's very much a park designed for kids and family. We appreciated all of the fantastic activities, and if given the opportunity we would stay there again.
Aug 14, 2014
Great campground with lots of stuff for kids to do. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Loving staying there, just hard to get in unless you book way ahead!
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
The Petaluma KOA is most efficiently operated, courteous & knowledgeable staff, as well as possibly the greatest location in the U.S.!! Even the dog run is one of the best & cleanest we've experience! Our hats off to you!
Aug 14, 2014
I was disappointed that for an expensive koa , the site was not level and we had glass under our Rv. Also don't know why this koa has a check out time of 11 am where everywhere else is 12 noon? maybe for those of us who are older and traveling and do not want to use all your facilities we could have a discounted rate. We have stayed at many koa's over the years and I was disappointed in this one.
Aug 13, 2014
Good facilities and pool. Public transport options to San Francisco are very limited (we were advised only on Wednesday). So you either have to book a guided tour or rent a car when traveling with an RV.
Aug 13, 2014
At our site we got to see 2 red tail hawks up in the redwood trees. It was beautiful.
Aug 13, 2014
The only thing I would change is when we where there they had a ice cream social. It was $3 a bowl. There are 5 people in my family I could not afford $15 for ice cream. Not everyone there has extra money to spend. I had to hear my kids complain about not having ice cream. Maybe they can sell the ice cream at a $1 a scoop up to 3 scoops, other then that had a great time we be back next summer.
Aug 13, 2014
Super clean shower and bathroom stalls except for the one in front of the pool.great staff.only a few stove works.should get them fix.
Aug 13, 2014
The only grumble I have is that there is a severe drought going on in CA and there were not any notifications posted around the camp. This was concerning, as there was water wastage by campers visible throughout the camp.
Aug 13, 2014
location, the ease getting in & out was good.
Aug 13, 2014
first class best one I ever stay at the KOA we drove all over north America in the last 10 years 130,000. mi
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The place is great for kids since all the amenities are nearby; I appreciate the cleanliness and great desk staff. A couple things bothered us: each campsite was tiny; everyone walked thru our site to get to bathroom & pool; everyone was allowed to have dog at pool area except for us; KOA staff did nothing to help us out- not even when RV renters put their tent on our site!
Aug 12, 2014
Very nice campground. The bathrooms were a bit old but were kept clean.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Awful wifi when campground is full. Sites need more routine clean up. Busy at check in, need to upgrade method. Staff could escort camper to site to avoid problems

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.