San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Sep 01, 2014
Not recommended to anybody. Staff is almost harassing us asking every two hours to move our car, when we are still unloading our stuff. Other campsite have two cars or more for more than a day and they did not get sited for having multiple vehicle.we camp to relax and that was annoying. Poor customer service. Not planning to come back to any KOA campground anywhere.
Sep 01, 2014
great! only wish the BBQ had more food options and was open longer
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
great location for exploring the Bay area and areas north of the city. Very quiet while we were there..but this is a HIGH density campground and could be noisy and cramped during busy weeks/weekends. Nice staff.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
I enjoyed the stay so much that I made reservation for next year when I left. The only suggestion I have is that staying at the top of the hill was great however there were not enough bathrooms for the amount of campers. We had to wait in line or go to another camp area
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Very fun times! Bathrooms were in good shape,plenty of things for kids to do. This is our 2nd time staying, will come back for sure.
Aug 25, 2014
our kids had a blast with all the activities and the lovely pool.
Aug 25, 2014
My family and friends had a great time at the Petaluma KOA, can't wait to come back.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
My family had such a great time. Dj lyle and the karoake was such a hit! They loved the pet farm and bounce pillow and music by the pool too. I am.so impressed! Our cabin was so clean and for being non campers we were able to camp without buying alot of things like chairs and bbqs too. Super.fun! Thank you koa petaluma!
Aug 25, 2014
Delightful location, Clint have been a more pleasant stay.
Aug 24, 2014
We stayed in a lodge cabin and the cabin exceeded our expectations. We were there for 6 nights and I was only able to get on the internet once for a few mins. Lots for the kids to do. The grounds were okay. I would not tent camp there. Staff was great!
Aug 24, 2014
We've stayed here several times with our rv and in cabins. First time in delux lodge cabin though. Expensive but very nice.
Aug 22, 2014
Everything for the most part was great. I just wish when I request a specific room I get it and don't have to go back to the office to request another room because two years in a row I get the wrong room even after I have requested it on line.
Aug 22, 2014
Great environment and even greater staff! Our cabin was cozy and clean and our kids loved all the activities. We are making this trip an annual family outing. Thanks to the friendly staff
Aug 21, 2014
Mostly great but had to wait for propane since there was none ready when we went to grill our first night. Also, activities the next day had been cancelled, but when I complained they found someone to open the activities later in the day to accommodate us and gave us a free coupon for the banana bikes. They also did not have enough toilet paper or trash bags for 3 nights but we had some with us.
Aug 20, 2014
We have stayed here every year for the past 5 years.It seemed like there was a lot more litter this year and lines at the bathroom which I have never experienced before. we rented banana bikes and then went back the next day to rent again but the employee was new and didn't know how to ring up the bikes on a credit crd so she wrote down our cc numbers on pieces of paper.I am nervous about cc fraud
Aug 18, 2014
I stayed in a preferred cabin and it was great as usual. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Kid friendly activities are always a bonus! The only negative I can say would be cleanliness of the camp sites themselves. There was a lot of trash (paper bits, broken plastic utensils, etc.) in the dirt. This is my 6th year at this KOA and the first time I've noticed so much trash.
Aug 18, 2014
We've been coming to this KOA for many years and were just SLIGHTY disappointed with this visit. Assigned cabin 83 and things needed attention. A huge tree branch nearly fell on us and had to be cut down! Light bulb was replaced, door handle was dangling but MOST disappointing was the screen latch. We asked from day 1 for a latch but never got one so dogs kept running out of cabin. Told we get one
Aug 18, 2014
The staff was interesteing but the over all kampground gets a 10 in my book. So much for the kids todo and the lodges were awesome
Aug 18, 2014
Super fun and seemingly safe, supportive, activity-rich enormous vacation "resort" for the kids. We stayed in a little "family Kamp" cabin...ask for one next to a water spigot:)
Aug 18, 2014
Facilities were great and so was staff. Was not thrilled with a staff member named Ryan. He was way over the top. My 5 year old was afraid to go on the jump pillow because of the way Ryan was talking to the other kids. We avoided all activities that he was supervising. His heart seemed to be in the right place and I appreciated how seriously he took his job but he was often inappropriate.
Aug 18, 2014
Going to KOA camp has become a family tradition once a year. Watching my grandkids enjoying all your facilities and events, fulfill completely our expectations. Thank you so much for thinking in all.
Aug 18, 2014
MY kids had a wonderful time during our stay at KOA the only thing i don't like here is the spacing of tent site it's too crowded and very close to each other only 1 tent fit in but other than than everything was great, friendly staff, lots of activities and clean lodges.. next time i want to try their cabin.. KOA is something to consider if you like short family quality time trip and stress free!
Aug 18, 2014
This is our second summer camping at the KOA. I feel very safe camping there with my kids and they love, love it! We would have liked to have an opportunity to climb the rock wall but the time it was available didn't work for us any of the nights we were there. A morning climbing time would have been nice. We also found ourselves picking up some trash and minor clean up at our cabin. Great!
Aug 17, 2014
My children had the best time ever and the facility was clean and quiet.
Aug 16, 2014
Service there was wonderful
Aug 16, 2014
Very clean canins and wonderfull staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Was a little apprehensive about our stay after reading the YELP reviews, however, I was pleasantly surprised! Dianne was welcoming and friendly upon check in. Cabin was nice and clean. Yes, be prepared for flies, but with cows nearby, it comes with the territory. Bathrooms and showers were super clean. Many activities to choose from & great pool! They even warmed it up for the movie at night
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
We stayed here two years ago.with our RV. We were doing a car trip this year and decided to stay here again and use a deluxe cabin. It was great and so close to San Francisco and the wine country. We toured San Fran with the KOA host and driver, John who was so informative as he showed us all around the city and pointed out all the highlights and more.
Aug 14, 2014
Very pleasant and staff was respectful and helpful.
Aug 14, 2014
Totally loved it but a bit close to the freeway. But just don't look!
Aug 13, 2014
The only thing I would change is when we where there they had a ice cream social. It was $3 a bowl. There are 5 people in my family I could not afford $15 for ice cream. Not everyone there has extra money to spend. I had to hear my kids complain about not having ice cream. Maybe they can sell the ice cream at a $1 a scoop up to 3 scoops, other then that had a great time we be back next summer.
Aug 13, 2014
Super clean shower and bathroom stalls except for the one in front of the pool.great staff.only a few stove works.should get them fix.
Aug 13, 2014
The only grumble I have is that there is a severe drought going on in CA and there were not any notifications posted around the camp. This was concerning, as there was water wastage by campers visible throughout the camp.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Weekend stay. Family friendly. A lot quieter than I expected. Thanks KOA Petaluma.
Aug 11, 2014
There are many activities for kids. The pool is nice and big. Our one complaint is there was no one patrolling for "quiet time" at night, and the site next to us had adults being very LOUD until past midnight, using foul language right next to our kids. Other big kids playing loud late at night, and people walking through our site at all hours. Not enough bathrooms for the size.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
It was a great campsite our cabin was clean and very cute, just wish thee wee a few more bathrooms.
Aug 08, 2014
Only two unisex toilets and two unisex showers for way too many sites. Overly crowded.
Aug 08, 2014
My kids were a little bit hesitant abiot going to camping again coz their 1st camping experience years ago was not a pleasant one. KOA changed everything. They had lots of fun playing volleyball, basketball,swimming and bouncing on that giant pillow. The cabin was a big plus since tenting is not for everybody. We'll definitely come back!
Aug 07, 2014
There were very loud neighbors until 12 am. II informed staff 1st night but nothing happened. I informed office next day and even tried to move, I was told that they would take care of it but group was even louder past 12 am. Office staff was not friendly especially Dianne. I have been to other KOA's who enforce their 10pm quiet time. I will never come back and I will never recommend this place.
Aug 07, 2014
Deluxe cabins w/ bathroom are fantastic. Just like a hotel with the camping experience. So don't forget to tip the person who cleans up after you. Kids loved the loft sleeping area, bunk beds. Queen bed was very nice. Wish they had a swing at all cabin; Some do not and that's a real bummer. Family fun campground!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.