New York City North / Newburgh KOA

119 Freetown Highway

Plattekill, NY 12568

Reserve: 800-562-7220

Info: 845-564-2836

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2014
My wife and I had a full hookup pull-through site and it was really nice. Big, wooded site with a great big fire pit and plenty of room. Facility was nice (pool, etc) and the staff was friendly. The WiFi was slow, but it worked! We would stay again next time were in the area.
Jul 31, 2014
Only stayed one night. Not enough time to get the true "feel" of the campground
Jul 31, 2014
This was my first visit. My husband and I went with a very large group who has been visiting you for many years. I can see why they keep coming back year after year. You offer a lot activities for families, the place is clean, the staff is friendly, and the other guests are all very nice and friendly too. We will be back next summer.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Very nice
Jul 30, 2014
Everyone was friendly, the facilities were clean and the store provided everything we needed. Activities provided were wonderful, and my sons had plenty to do with no time to announce they were "bored". Prices for firewood were a little high, and the quiet hours were not entirely enforced as they should be. All in all, a great stay at a beautiful site. we will be back!
Jul 30, 2014
BestKOA we have ever used!! andTHAT is saying a lot!!!!!
Jul 29, 2014
Had a wonderful stay except for the very rude and obnoxious security person on at 10pm... We are on vacation and trying to enjoy ourselves and this rude man kept coming buy and talking down to us in a condescending way. We did not have music on, were not damaging anything, just talking around a camp fire. I was not aware that I had to be sent to bed at 10 pm!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
We had a ok time, nothing special, not a lot of activities and I was really taken to spend almost 5 bucks on a half gallon of milk, I understand prices are a bit higher at the grounds but 5 buck for milk, not good
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great time.There is lots to do for the kids.The food prices are fair.The bathrooms and showers are what kept me from giving it a full 5 stars.They need more attention.The showers were better than last year, but still had things broken/missing.The bathrooms were just a constant mess.The pool was extremely cloudy but clean.The kids loved the new bouncy pillow and had fun with the bubbles.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
campground was nice and staff was friendly had a nice stay
Jul 28, 2014
nice site
Jul 28, 2014
Mostly gear toward RV. Tent campers' site have random size. Some big, some small. Most of tent sites have shade. Site can be loud during peak time. Other amenities are good. I wish price is cheaper. Overall, I would stay again.
Jul 28, 2014
Very enjoyable stay. We loved the dog park, the staff was very friendly. The amenities were very nice. Our only complaint, is for the price the wi-fi could have worked better and the cable could have had more channels. But all in all, it was great. If you travel with kids there were plenty of activities. We would certainly come again.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
all was clean and nicely organized. the wifi did not work at my site and there was no problem solving when i told the office. i was told it should work
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Beautifull campsite, large pool and shady sites.
Jul 27, 2014
great location, lots to do at the camp ground and close to many local attractions.
Jul 27, 2014
We appreciate the helpful staff, activities for the kids (facilitated by the Summer Shiners!), and the great NYC tour (facilitated by Woody!). Also, the free pancakes were a added bonus!
Jul 27, 2014
Had a great stay. Very nice campgrounds. Will return for sure.
Jul 26, 2014
Très beau séjour!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Nice campground great for kids, great tour of NYC thanks Mitch and driver Gary.
Jul 26, 2014
Nice large site. Only problem is that it was surrounded by a healthy stand of poison ivy.
Jul 26, 2014
Our 5th or 6th time here. Again, the entire staff was courteous and pleasurable to deal with.The pool and grounds were very clean and even the other campers were quieter and mello.The only down about the place is the check in and out times.2 oclock is too late for a check in time.Also did not like having to pay $10 extra for 2 hours early check in ( we werw there at 1:45 but had to pay for 2 hours
Jul 25, 2014
The cabins and grounds were in fantastic shape.The check-in staff was awful.The young guy wasn't very sharp, Sue was downright nasty, and the older gentleman shouldn't be at the front desk.That all changed when the General Manager arrived on Tuesday. I believe his name is Paul.He's the best!Instead of telling us the sausage is out and doesn't get delivered until Thursday, he got more immediately!
Jul 25, 2014
Great. NYC tour great. Grill for am pancakes needs help! We were there at 6:50 and pancakes were ready at 7:25.
Jul 25, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The camp host and hostess did an excellent job and interacted very well:)We will come back in the near future.
Jul 25, 2014
bathrooms were dirty, showers were filthy and the overall price for the weekend was outrageous. I cna't understand how KOA calls itself a "family campground," but then charges extra for a family of more than 1 child
Jul 25, 2014
Quiet and relaxing .
Jul 24, 2014
Very family centered with two pools and many activities on site. The pancakes and breakfast is yummy! The tour from the camp ground is well worth the expense. Mitch is wonderful. We had a great time here.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice, clean friendly,roomy sites. Well maintained park would definitely stay here again. Camping in a fifth wheel for five days.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
We stayed at this campground for our New York City Trip, it was quiet and nice. The breakfast was excellent as was the NYC Tour. My only small comment would be that new Washrooms/showers are needed in this campground. All in all great place to stay :)
Jul 23, 2014
with a 2 day min. we were not able to come till saturday and leave on monday.saturday evenings there is entertainment but nothing for sundays. I think since its primetime that there should be something offorded to every kamper for every day. also - the ladies room was horrible. needed to be attended to a bit better. I do want to say the staff was very nice and helpful.
Jul 22, 2014
Gr4ea6t Staff. Very clean park. large sites.
Jul 22, 2014
Great location, beautifully laid out, enjoyed the New York City bus tour too!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Been pulling in here for a night each vacation for over 20 years!
Jul 22, 2014
This campground is not worth $73.00 / night. Only 30 amps, no grass.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a family reunion at your CG, being our entire family camps. We ended up with sites that were close together (Thank You), and enjoyed our stay. However, while checking in, the person checking us in commented "oh, you have a lot of people here, you're gonna be a problem"....uncalled for, so if I camp with more than my Wife and Yorkie, maybe we should camp somewhere else?..not group friendly?
Jul 21, 2014
improvements in your showers would be nice has gotten a bit pricey and dont like the fact that workers ask you to be quiet because the manager house is behind our campfire and proceeded to say that we werent really that loud. It's friday and saturday night both nights told same thing and its a campfire and only 10:30 at night give me a break!
Jul 21, 2014
it was wonderful
Jul 21, 2014
Everything was well maintained and clean especially the bathrooms and showers. My only issue was the loud music planning among campers. We were lucky to be surrounded by great people who really wanted to enjoy nature but the noise travels throughout the main camp and the music was unbearable. I think staff needs to do a better job of letting campers know about acceptable levels of noise.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.