New York City North / Newburgh KOA

Open March 25 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-7220

Info: 845-564-2836

Email

119 Freetown Highway

Plattekill, NY 12568

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Didn't put us near family we went with even after we booked together. Lack of activities for kids. Rock wall we thought we would use is only open Tuesday thru sat at 2. Our stay was sat thru Monday. Staff stands around on cell phone,sleeping in activity hut,or bouncing on pillow. Garbage thrown around park. Park is not maintained or run down except for front office. free pancakes only a plus
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
Disappointed the last 2 times that I have stayed. Tent spikes at campsite that I almost ran over and tripped over. Garbage blowing around. Personnel don't know which sites are level. It's a problem with my fridge in the RV. You do have location in your favor which is why I stay there. However, now I will not expect a pleasurable visit and then won't be disappointed. Something has changed this year
Aug 23, 2016
This among the best campgrounds that I have ever visited. Paved roads, trees everywhere, clean and well maintained. Helpful staff, lots of activities. Worthy of six stars !!
Aug 23, 2016
Easier than most KOA's for big rigs. Good location for exploring the Hudson Valley and New York City
Aug 23, 2016
Was extremely disappointed to hear while checking in that no cable service was available at all for our 3 day stay. I was also told that no discount would be issued for the lack of service even though I paid for a premium site. Also during our entire stay our electric service was interrupted frequently due to a faulty KOA site breaker.KOA was unable to correct the problem.Poison ivy everywhere
Aug 23, 2016
Good fun for the kids and the cabins were well maintained. Overall a good time for the family, but surely not "roughing" it by any means.
Aug 23, 2016
We stayed in one of the small cabins with 1 full size bed and 1 set of bunk beds.I would have liked to have a bathroom closer. The mattresses were not comfortable either. A/C would have been very helpful. The park itself was very nice (minus the mosquitos) with many activities to do without extra cost. The free pancakes were a very nice gesture. We took the NYC tour which was outstanding.
Aug 23, 2016
Not enough bathrooms. Nice amenities.
Aug 23, 2016
This KOA needs help. No cable (it was out for a week before we arrived) the planters between sites need to b weeded (over your knees!) and employees were bad mouthing KOA corporate while we were in the store. And they charge a resort fee...for what? Over priced for what we got and we won't be returning.
Aug 23, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
Ideal location for the bus trip into New York City. Facilities were great. Only complaint, too much noise from some close by campers after quiet hours.
Aug 23, 2016
Great stay. Excellent sites and service.
Aug 22, 2016
Only issue with this campground was the scarcity of bathrooms. This required frequent cleaning of the 2 that are there. This was a little inconvenient to campers.
Aug 22, 2016
Had a great time here for our annual family reunion camp weekend, The staff are extremely helpful and polite. All their grounds are kept extremely clean. The only thing I found unlikable was the amount of skunks at night but, if you don't bother them they are also fine.
Aug 22, 2016
We love all the amenities that you offer. We would suggest that each camper gets a paper at check in to list the events happening during their stay. We missed out on a few not knowing what was available. Also, the kids love the gaga pit...a suggestion of getting a glow in the dark ball and lighting the perimeter of area was made so that they can play in the evening. Can't wait to see everyone agai
Aug 22, 2016
Only real quibble about the stay: Hard gravel bed for tents in electric hookup sites unpleasant surprise. A word of warning on the selection page would help to make an informed decision. Last time we stayed in a cabin because of bad weather, so didn't know.
Aug 22, 2016
fabulous as always
Aug 22, 2016
Everyrhing were just great but to much noises afret midnight ::/ people were singing, walking, laughing a loud... Thats have been waking up us so, i thint sjould be at least one stuff for night shift to check campground at night..
Aug 22, 2016
The staff is outstanding and helpful. The RV sites are nicely shaded and you are not right on top of another site. They also were most helpful in helping us locate a repair facility to handle the damage done to our trailer by a bad dip in one of the NY country roads. Outstanding!
Aug 22, 2016
The cabin was nice and clean it was way over priced!! Mini blinds were broken people could look right in and there were dogs barking non stop there should have been restrictions !! Could have used something fun for adults. One campsite was so dirty and messing with garbage all over the place it looked like the slums like I said before you need to up your restrictions!!
Aug 22, 2016
Good people great service Fresh air many attractions
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
The only thing I wasn't a fan of is how close our site (site 6) was to our neighbors. We could barely fit our two cars in the small space between us
Aug 22, 2016
The quiet hours are not enforced at all and the noise from certain groups staying in the kabins was awful. On Friday night the partying went on until 2:30am and on Saturday night it was 3am. Security were not evident at all on Friday night and after complaining I was given a direct number to call them on Sat night should the same thing happen. The number should be given to everyone at check in.
Aug 21, 2016
We have been coming to the Platekill KOA for over 25 years and have always been happy with it. I have 2 suggestions....there needs to be a handicapp bathroom. The floors are always wet and slippery, making it very difficult for someone with a cane to walk on. I almost fell a few times. Also, I think as faithful and returning customers, we should not be charged extra to reserve our same sites
Aug 21, 2016
We didn't stay long but overall our stay was good. Nice facilities and helpful staff
Aug 21, 2016
Aug 21, 2016
All the facilities are clean and first-rate. The fee for guests to visit is high for adults and fine for kids who swim and take advantage of the great kids' activities. Our site was nicely shaded and large. We'll return!
Aug 21, 2016
Extremely clean. Great breakfast. Would highly recommend. Beautiful sites
Aug 20, 2016
I rated this campsite a 4 star only because we didn't spend much time there and really couldn't evaluate the entire park. However, it was a clean campground with nice wooded sites. There were plenty of activities for all ages. The campgrounds offer free pancakes each morning which was really nice. The campgrounds are also close to the train station if you want to go into NY city, which we did.
Aug 20, 2016
Poorly supervised. Beer bottles in pool. Lots of drinking. Surly check in dirty campsites. Noisy band.
Aug 20, 2016
Great
Aug 20, 2016
Loved the NY tour!!! Great spacious, shady sites! Enjoyed the free pancakes.
Aug 20, 2016
Nice Staff
Aug 20, 2016
Paid for site with cable - not working. Was not informed at checkin. Paid extra for dog - dog park closed Our site was a dirt road with contractors & workkampers Was not told about the NY tour.
Aug 20, 2016
We got there and our rez.was messed up. No cable for our whole stay. (5days) septic lift station smelled really bad.
Aug 19, 2016
Great as usual your staff is kind & very helpful at all times. We will continue to use your KOA again in October . See u then thanks for everything.
Aug 19, 2016
Clean and family friendly
Aug 19, 2016
No refund for 3 days of lost cable connection during the Olympics due to a lightening strike. Would have been nice. Then, septic field dug up right across from us for 4 days...lovely.
Aug 19, 2016
Very nice KOA. The sites were nice and wide with lots of trees. Each site was wide enough for slide outs. Check in and out was very easy. Bath house was always well stocked and clean. Close to NYC and easy to get to from the Beacon Metro North station. Definitely would stay here again.
Aug 18, 2016
Beautiful campground. Friendly staff. Will return.
Aug 18, 2016
The camp was good. Many activities but we do not use. Site was nice and we were overall happy.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
It was a wonderful stay our first time KOA experience. The staff was very kind and accommodating. The facilities were clean and the free pancakes were delicious. We also enjoyed the NYC tour, Mitch our tour guide was very informative and helpful. Though I do wish our time in Time Square was a little longer. Overall this KOA exceeded our expectations! Thank you for your hospitality!!
Aug 18, 2016
Awesome place
Aug 17, 2016
Love this KOA site. But there was a hole in our window screen, which we duct taped closed. The only real issue we had was the fire pit had been relocated to a better spot. But the old one was not filled in. Stepped in it about 20 times!! Love this place. See you next year!!
Aug 17, 2016
Beautiful campground. We loved our secluded back-in site. Free pancakes was definitely a nice treat. The lady at registration was extremely nice. Explained to us how to get to NYC on the train..... that was wonderful. Nice view along the Hudson River and brings you directly to Grand Central Terminal. The kids loved the play areas and the outside movie at night.
Aug 17, 2016
Attentive front office staff, sites are well-tended. Two nice pools, snack bar is very good, and free pancakes are always nice. The NYC bus tour was worth the price and was well-organized.
Aug 16, 2016
This is our time at the campground and we had a great time. Few minor issues with the cabin but overall a great stay.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals