New York City North / Newburgh KOA

Open March 24 - October 29

Reserve: 800-562-7220

Info: 845-564-2836

Email

119 Freetown Highway

Plattekill, NY 12568

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 23, 2016
Not enough bathrooms. Nice amenities.
Aug 23, 2016
This KOA needs help. No cable (it was out for a week before we arrived) the planters between sites need to b weeded (over your knees!) and employees were bad mouthing KOA corporate while we were in the store. And they charge a resort fee...for what? Over priced for what we got and we won't be returning.
Aug 23, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
Ideal location for the bus trip into New York City. Facilities were great. Only complaint, too much noise from some close by campers after quiet hours.
Aug 23, 2016
Great stay. Excellent sites and service.
Aug 22, 2016
Only issue with this campground was the scarcity of bathrooms. This required frequent cleaning of the 2 that are there. This was a little inconvenient to campers.
Aug 22, 2016
Had a great time here for our annual family reunion camp weekend, The staff are extremely helpful and polite. All their grounds are kept extremely clean. The only thing I found unlikable was the amount of skunks at night but, if you don't bother them they are also fine.
Aug 22, 2016
We love all the amenities that you offer. We would suggest that each camper gets a paper at check in to list the events happening during their stay. We missed out on a few not knowing what was available. Also, the kids love the gaga pit...a suggestion of getting a glow in the dark ball and lighting the perimeter of area was made so that they can play in the evening. Can't wait to see everyone agai
Aug 22, 2016
Only real quibble about the stay: Hard gravel bed for tents in electric hookup sites unpleasant surprise. A word of warning on the selection page would help to make an informed decision. Last time we stayed in a cabin because of bad weather, so didn't know.
Aug 22, 2016
fabulous as always
Aug 22, 2016
Everyrhing were just great but to much noises afret midnight ::/ people were singing, walking, laughing a loud... Thats have been waking up us so, i thint sjould be at least one stuff for night shift to check campground at night..
Aug 22, 2016
The staff is outstanding and helpful. The RV sites are nicely shaded and you are not right on top of another site. They also were most helpful in helping us locate a repair facility to handle the damage done to our trailer by a bad dip in one of the NY country roads. Outstanding!
Aug 22, 2016
The cabin was nice and clean it was way over priced!! Mini blinds were broken people could look right in and there were dogs barking non stop there should have been restrictions !! Could have used something fun for adults. One campsite was so dirty and messing with garbage all over the place it looked like the slums like I said before you need to up your restrictions!!
Aug 22, 2016
Good people great service Fresh air many attractions
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
The only thing I wasn't a fan of is how close our site (site 6) was to our neighbors. We could barely fit our two cars in the small space between us
Aug 22, 2016
The quiet hours are not enforced at all and the noise from certain groups staying in the kabins was awful. On Friday night the partying went on until 2:30am and on Saturday night it was 3am. Security were not evident at all on Friday night and after complaining I was given a direct number to call them on Sat night should the same thing happen. The number should be given to everyone at check in.
Aug 21, 2016
We have been coming to the Platekill KOA for over 25 years and have always been happy with it. I have 2 suggestions....there needs to be a handicapp bathroom. The floors are always wet and slippery, making it very difficult for someone with a cane to walk on. I almost fell a few times. Also, I think as faithful and returning customers, we should not be charged extra to reserve our same sites
Aug 21, 2016
We didn't stay long but overall our stay was good. Nice facilities and helpful staff
Aug 21, 2016
Aug 21, 2016
All the facilities are clean and first-rate. The fee for guests to visit is high for adults and fine for kids who swim and take advantage of the great kids' activities. Our site was nicely shaded and large. We'll return!
Aug 21, 2016
Extremely clean. Great breakfast. Would highly recommend. Beautiful sites
Aug 20, 2016
I rated this campsite a 4 star only because we didn't spend much time there and really couldn't evaluate the entire park. However, it was a clean campground with nice wooded sites. There were plenty of activities for all ages. The campgrounds offer free pancakes each morning which was really nice. The campgrounds are also close to the train station if you want to go into NY city, which we did.
Aug 20, 2016
Poorly supervised. Beer bottles in pool. Lots of drinking. Surly check in dirty campsites. Noisy band.
Aug 20, 2016
Great
Aug 20, 2016
Loved the NY tour!!! Great spacious, shady sites! Enjoyed the free pancakes.
Aug 20, 2016
Nice Staff
Aug 20, 2016
Paid for site with cable - not working. Was not informed at checkin. Paid extra for dog - dog park closed Our site was a dirt road with contractors & workkampers Was not told about the NY tour.
Aug 20, 2016
We got there and our rez.was messed up. No cable for our whole stay. (5days) septic lift station smelled really bad.
Aug 19, 2016
Great as usual your staff is kind & very helpful at all times. We will continue to use your KOA again in October . See u then thanks for everything.
Aug 19, 2016
Clean and family friendly
Aug 19, 2016
No refund for 3 days of lost cable connection during the Olympics due to a lightening strike. Would have been nice. Then, septic field dug up right across from us for 4 days...lovely.
Aug 19, 2016
Very nice KOA. The sites were nice and wide with lots of trees. Each site was wide enough for slide outs. Check in and out was very easy. Bath house was always well stocked and clean. Close to NYC and easy to get to from the Beacon Metro North station. Definitely would stay here again.
Aug 18, 2016
Beautiful campground. Friendly staff. Will return.
Aug 18, 2016
The camp was good. Many activities but we do not use. Site was nice and we were overall happy.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
It was a wonderful stay our first time KOA experience. The staff was very kind and accommodating. The facilities were clean and the free pancakes were delicious. We also enjoyed the NYC tour, Mitch our tour guide was very informative and helpful. Though I do wish our time in Time Square was a little longer. Overall this KOA exceeded our expectations! Thank you for your hospitality!!
Aug 18, 2016
Awesome place
Aug 17, 2016
Love this KOA site. But there was a hole in our window screen, which we duct taped closed. The only real issue we had was the fire pit had been relocated to a better spot. But the old one was not filled in. Stepped in it about 20 times!! Love this place. See you next year!!
Aug 17, 2016
Beautiful campground. We loved our secluded back-in site. Free pancakes was definitely a nice treat. The lady at registration was extremely nice. Explained to us how to get to NYC on the train..... that was wonderful. Nice view along the Hudson River and brings you directly to Grand Central Terminal. The kids loved the play areas and the outside movie at night.
Aug 17, 2016
Attentive front office staff, sites are well-tended. Two nice pools, snack bar is very good, and free pancakes are always nice. The NYC bus tour was worth the price and was well-organized.
Aug 16, 2016
This is our time at the campground and we had a great time. Few minor issues with the cabin but overall a great stay.
Aug 16, 2016
Wonderful time with the family. Fun place to spend the weekend. Everyone was very accommodating
Aug 16, 2016
You had adults with GLASS beer bottles drinking in the pool all day on sat 6/13. Glass bottles in the pool. Nobody from KOA ever checked. Dangerous situation that you could control with one person from the snack bar checking the pool. Why allow campers to drink while in the pool plus have glass bottles. You are looking for a lawsuit
Aug 16, 2016
Adam in Activity Center and Carol were fantastic! So welcoming and helpful. I was a bit dissapointed by the adults drinking beer from glass bottles in the pool - maybe some staff rounds during the day? I also had two wooden axes stolen from my campsite. But overall great facility, great activities, definitely will visit again.
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Excellent campground, I give it high marks on everything, facilities, cleanliness, size of sites, etc. The only thing that I would like to point out is if you are an RV above 40' and towing you will need to disconnect your towed. Many of the roads in the campground are very tight. Good to know.
Aug 16, 2016
Very noisy, non stop barking dogs, very close camping spot, dirty showers
Aug 15, 2016
We love this campsite and come twice a year. Our only complaint this year is that there were ants in the cabin and the blinds on the door were broken. Otherwise it was fun as always and we will be back in the fall!
Aug 15, 2016
The amenities are really nice and the staff is nice. Unfortunately this is the second time we have stayed there and have been kept up during the night by noisy campers. The quiet hours are not enforced and it is frustrating.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals