Mount Shasta City KOA

900 North Mt Shasta Blvd.

Mt Shasta, CA 96067

Reserve: 800-562-3617

Info: 530-926-4029

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Sep 22, 2014
The staff is very accommodating and friendly. However, we were tent camping. There are not enough EARPLUGS in the world to muffle the multiple TRAINS (6) that passed during the night Leaning on the HORN, and literally shaking the ground. Trailer campers may have better luck as they are on the far side of the campgrounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We always hope the hospitality, our friendliness, clean restrooms, the service we provide and the beauty that surrounds us will make up for the trains. Trains have been here long before us and they will continue to be here. Our local economy was built on trains and many find the trains enjoyable.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The final two nights of our stay in several close campsites there was a group of extremly loud and unruly people. The adults were drinking and the kids were running wild. Both the adults and kids were so loud it made sleeping impossible. It would be helpful if you had on site camp hosts 24/7 to Handel situations such as those, plus it may help to deter them.
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Great experience! Clean, friendly, professional - will definitely return!
Sep 06, 2014
Disorganized reservation, the host does not know what is available in their own camp. Wifi is limited to the immediate area of the office and non-functional: the staff has no idea why but was instructed to lie about the possible reason.
Sep 03, 2014
This was our first time visiting Mt Shasta and staying at a KOA. The campgrounds was clean and the employees were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was an ideal location and centralized to all of the activities what we wanted to do. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this location to my family and friends. Thank you KOA for the amazing experience. Barbara
Sep 01, 2014
Not very good, my spot was in what appeared to be a dirt parking lot. No shade, hard to set up tent in rocky area. No roving by employees to enforce quiet hours. No holiday weekend major events other than some kids things. Was told only 30 people could do the guides hike... Had to pay for three days but we left two days early .... Not the best koa
Sep 01, 2014
We were driving overnight from Seattle to LA and arrived late to the Mount Shasta KOA. Nicole from the office called me on my cell and gave us clear directions on how to check in after hours. We rolled in just before midnight and were able to bed down right away thanks to their friendly service. I did hear a train blow in the middle of the night but it sounded far away and I went right back to bed
Aug 22, 2014
Fantastic site, helpful hosts, clean shower block. Great camping amongst the trees. The trains are a bit noisy.
Aug 21, 2014
Very pleasant stay. Clean and great showers. Stayed both going to and returning from LosAngles.
Aug 19, 2014
We have been going to this KOA for 15 or more years - separately and together. There have been many changes over the years, which make staying there more pleasurable. (upgrades)The staff has always been helpful, considerate, beyond competent, & friendly. The grounds are clean and well kept. We always enjoy staying here. Blessings
Aug 19, 2014
super nice, clean location although wearing earplugs helped to muffle the sound of the trains at night!
Aug 19, 2014
Nice and easy, quiet camp w/ the occasional train going by... great view of the mountain.
Aug 18, 2014
Superbes emplacement! Avec des camping sit sous les gros arbres. Wifi, piscine, feux de camp et joli petit parc pour les enfants. Un seul point négatif, beaucoup de train qui traverse le village avoisinant et on entend le sifflet 3 ou 4 fois durant la nuit.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Place was nice bathrooms good. Didn't have wi-fi service. Check-in easy. A little noisy at night with the trains and freeway .
Aug 11, 2014
The people and services were great. However the highway and train noise was a problem.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Very enjoyable stay. The Mt. Shasta City KOA was centrally located to all the sites I wanted to see. The service was great and camp sites were clean. I'll be back again.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Campground immediately proximate to active train tracks -didn't know that when booking site. That was nothing compared to the next night when a large, loud, intimidating, aggressive party took place the entire night in the tent section. No sleep was possible; no KOA people stepped up to quiet it, so apparently condoned by KOA standards. Potentially threatening place for civilized women and men.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Bathroom was dirty most of the time. And the night of Sunday it was not cleaned at all. I saw the same garbage on the bathroom floor for more than 24 hours. Unnaceptable
Aug 04, 2014
Nice tent site that was tucked in the trees. Bathrooms very clean and staff super friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Middle of the forest! Really has the feel of camping. Only complaint is that it is the largest KOA I have ever stayed at and yet it had the lowest amount of showers and bathrooms I have ever seen.
Aug 03, 2014
I stay at KOA when I go to ShastaYama each summer. It is close, clean, and welcoming. I have recommended it to friends who can't find nearby lodgings.
Aug 03, 2014
Customer service was excellent. The tent campsites were spacious. Nice pool. Best of all was the friendly atmosphere.
Jul 31, 2014
This is a lovely campground. There are many things to do close by from strenuous hiking to shopping in the adorable downtown. The campground is clean, well-run, and beautiful.
Jul 28, 2014
The washrooms were so clean and well kept and the camping space had everything we needed. The staff working were also very friendly and were hosting an ice cream event that night for everyone where they could get a scoop of ice cream for $1. This wasn't a big issue but the only thing that might bother some people is the sound of the train passing by several times a day. We had a great stay!
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great time. Even the kids events they make fun.. Thanks again.. We will be back for sure
Jul 27, 2014
Great
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Good facilities. Very clean. Beautiful tent sites in the trees. Nice staff. We'll be back.
Jul 21, 2014
One of the nicest koas on this side of the country. Keep it up
Jul 18, 2014
A lot of trees, It seems all of tent sites are under shade.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Friendly staff and quiet (except for the occasional train that sounded like it was going right thru the campsite)
Jul 09, 2014
I'm a single woman who was traveling by motorcycle. Felt welcomed and safe. Met nice people. Showers were nice. Clean facility. Good tent space.
Jul 01, 2014
Nice clean koa.
Jul 01, 2014
This is not a real bad campground but it has its problems; one, it sounded like a train coming through our tent every hour! We couldn't find any hiking trails and the toilets didn't work well. The positive is, is that you're in a beautiful campground surrounded with pine trees and the campsites are spacious.
Jun 30, 2014
My family went with this koa because some members needed cabin with restroom. When we arrived these cabins were being moved and were not available. We were not told ahead of time. They were moved to small cabin no restroom and tent sights were all under construction. We all were moved with no notice. Dusty from tractors working. They stopped when we complained. It all worked out in the end
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.