Mount Shasta City KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3617

Info: 530-926-4029

Email

900 North Mt Shasta Blvd.

Mt Shasta, CA 96067

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites, Cabins, Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Excellent
Aug 22, 2016
I love staying here! The hosts are so helpful and friendly!
Aug 21, 2016
The bathrooms are dirty.
Aug 21, 2016
Clean, well run, magnificent trees
Aug 19, 2016
We had a very pleasant stay. Our son loved the pool and playground, the grounds were safe and well-kept, bathrooms were clean, and we had a comfortable night. The train noises were especially cool for our small son. Would stay here again.
Aug 16, 2016
great for kids, clean shower, close to town, transit system, and a down hill ride to the Amtrak by bike; take the local bus up the grade from Dunsmuir stay at the koa then do other things come back if need be take a shower cleanup.
Aug 16, 2016
Loved it staff very friendly and helpful!!!
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
We will be returning to stay again next summer
Aug 13, 2016
Great people, great personalities, greatest employees & clean environment. It was our best vacation ever thanks to you guys :)))
Aug 10, 2016
Camping site was spacious in a nice patch of the woods, too dusty though. Trains pass close to the site day and night and disturb sleep.
Aug 09, 2016
The bathroom is clean. The site is beautiful. A little noisy at night when train passing by.
Aug 09, 2016
Wonderful campground!!! The staff is great and the campground is clean. A special shout out to Bill and Fran, who run the place. Bill looks out for the kids and gets to know the people who stay there (he's the kind of guy that would give you the shirt off his back), and Fran works from sun up to sun down to keep that place clean! We had a blast here, and can't wait to come back!!!
Aug 09, 2016
The manager went the second mile on our stay. Being 82 and this was our first stay at a KOA and camping. He gave my wife ice on two occasions and I needed to purchase two bungie cords they didn't sell any, so he gave two from his tool shead. Bill & Dee
Aug 08, 2016
Great location, good amenities. Disappointed that the pool was unavailable at the time. Would have been nice to have a dip after a hard days hiking.
Aug 08, 2016
Great tent spots, plenty of space and close to the bathrooms. The bathrooms however got quite crowded in the morning and the evening.
Aug 06, 2016
This KOA is located in an amazingly picturesque location: Mt. Shasta sits there behind the variety of lushes trees as majestically as ever. Two fixable drawbacks: un-highlighted paths making it almost impossible to see and second, lots of loose dust. Pros: friendly and informative staff, clean, great tent camping. We are very happy you have a KOA there.
Aug 04, 2016
A wonderful improvement would be to lay would chips and fine gravel in the tent area. The powdery dirt makes everything black.
Aug 03, 2016
The only negative is the noisy trains at night. The staff was friendly and efficient. The grounds were very neat and clean. Location was amazing! Loved this place!
Aug 02, 2016
Beautiful campground with great facilities, but very noisy because of the highway.
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Very clean toilet and shower. Train sound is noisy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback. Next time, stop by the office for a pair of complimentary ear plugs that we offer to all guests! We understand the train is noisy and we want to ensure our guests have a restful sleep among the trees. Stay golden. -Mt. Shasta KOA staff
Jul 30, 2016
Very unwelcoming staff, bordering on rude. Fourth year staying here and most likely our last.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Our staff tries to be as welcoming as possible. We never try to be rude, but we are honest in our responses. We outline your options. You are given the autonomy to choose the best option for you. If none of the options are appealing, we offer refunds and a list of neighboring campgrounds.
Jul 30, 2016
We felt like a train was going to run us over all night. We didn't know our tent site was so close to the railroad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Next time, stop by the office for a pair of complimentary ear plugs that we offer to all guests! We understand the train is noisy and we want to ensure our guests have a restful sleep among the trees. Stay golden. -Mt. Shasta KOA staff
Jul 29, 2016
Place is a dump. There are old tables, benches etc in a pile by campsites. Also large pile of dirt. Only one bathroom far from sites. Bathroom is dated. Out of paper towels around 5pm. Air hand dryer is old and inefficient.
Jul 27, 2016
It was okay. Campsite was a bit awkward shaped and all dirt amongst trees. The dirt was so dry it was dust everywhere when you walked. Wish there was grass to camp on.
Jul 27, 2016
Dirty dirty campsites but loved the rest of it. Cute town, clean restrooms although on three toilets for the entire female population. Campsite (tenting) was filthy with dirt. Not garbage at all just natural dirt. Could use a significant Raking or two. Other than that place was good. Private quiet and lovely.
Jul 27, 2016
I had a great time service was ok and I definitely look forward to visit it next year. We drove all the way from San Juan Capistrano.
Jul 26, 2016
The train ran all night right next to my tent site. But campsite was clean. Showers were hot.
Jul 25, 2016
We were put in a 2 very very dirty RV site(thumbs down). Reservations were made months in advance & upon arrival sites with grass & shade were available (stayed open). We came with little kids and being closer to the playground would have been appreciate (grassy sites). Recommend being very explicate when making reservations via the phone. Also loud train noise is present throughout the night.
Jul 25, 2016
This campground is absolutely fantastic! It is quiet, (except for the occasional train, which I loved) beautiful and clean. I will continue to stay there on my future trips to Mt. Shasta.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice convenient location. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms, But roads are very dusty and should be treated.
Jul 24, 2016
The facilities are in good condition. Basic for a KOA. The restrooms are too small for that size of campground. (3 toilets is not enough for the volume and "type" of clientele.) This campground had a lot of partiers and young/irrepsonsible people. The tent side of the campground is alongside a very busy/noisy train intersection so the horns blow all night. This would have been nice to know.
Jul 20, 2016
Everything was wonderful, clean, courteous and friendly.
Jul 19, 2016
Check-in was easy, staff and fellow campers were friendly, facilities were sufficient and clean. We enjoyed havin easy access to water at the camp site. The down sides were mostly the close proximity to the freeway and very loud trains on occasion.
Jul 19, 2016
Nice and clean campsite. The only downfall was the noise from the train multiple times throughout the night. I also asked on the phone for a campsite with electricity but was not booked for one so a little disappointed about that and they could not accommodate because we would have to move sites the next day. Other than that I did enjoy it and hope to return.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Clean, well maintained, helpful & friendly staff. Warm showers, clean bathrooms. Perfect location close to the Lake for daytime fun and a lovely downtown area for shopping and strolling. We will go again.
Jul 18, 2016
This campground was awesome. Even after dark, finding our spot was easy, and checking in was a breeze. The location is perfect!
Jul 17, 2016
The campground is beautiful and clean. Great location for Mt. shasta and other hikes.. Limited amenities, mainly bathrooms and showers. Additional bathrooms and showers would be a great addition to the campgrounds
Jul 16, 2016
This place doesn't have enough bathrooms. The only bathhouse near the office was crowded on a busy weekend--and we discovered that someone (a previous guest) had used our site far from the bathhouse as a bathroom.
Jul 16, 2016
Beautiful area! Thank you!
Jul 15, 2016
We stayed for a week in a tent site. The bathrooms/showers were always clean. The front desk staff was friendly. A bit dusty but that was ok. Tent sites (he ones we saw and stayed at) were shades by trees.
Jul 14, 2016
Nice setting, great summer weather, clean facilities, some very nice tent sites. Great for a couple nights.
Jul 13, 2016
The only reason I didn't give 4 stars is because the sites aren't secluded enough from one another. There are a few trees, but bushes would benefit to feel like you're not camping with strangers.
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
It was a wonderful stay except for one thing. By late afternoon/early evening both nights we stayed, there was no hot (or even luke-warm water) in the community showers. Freezing cold water!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals