Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 18, 2015
Great location. We were in 445 tent site. The site was extremely small. We got in later (7pm) after driving 9hrs. Set up camp, ate and got ready for bed. Neighbors decided it was party time and ignored our request to quiet down, did this until 1am when we went to complain to security. Security was great, they had to come 3times cause they still were chopping wood with a metal splitter!
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
Lots of things for the kids to do. Had a group of 12, and when I booked, had told them we wanted two tent sites together. I was able to get two sites, but when we all arrived, sites were both so small, didn't have any room to move and you had to put the tents on rocks. Luckily, the reservation gal was so kind, and able to work with me to find better sites for my whole family.
Jul 16, 2015
Nice campground with lots of amenities!
Jul 16, 2015
This KOA seems more for profit turning than camper care. Tent sites were extremely small and packed together. Not enough showers For how many people are packed into the tent area. Showers would flood. Gross. There was clear effort across the board but not enough to really make it feel like a home. Just so massive. Lost the touch.
Jul 16, 2015
no internet but that's no problem I'll use my cell but NO CELL SERVICE. Traffic is horrendous 25 to 30 mph on a campground and that includes employees. No down time to relax because cars are always moving like in downtown L A. Oh yeah did I mention no internet or cell service. A place out in the boondocks like Devils Tower KOA is much better. The water is brown and tastes funny.
Jul 16, 2015
Beautiful location with clean facilities and grounds. Tons of fun stuff to do and close to great attractions. We will visit again!
Jul 16, 2015
It was beautiful! Clean and adorable! So far on our trip we have stayed at 6 koas. This was THE BEST! I would go back in a heart beat if it wasn't 3000 miles away from my home! =)
Jul 15, 2015
We all had a fabulous week. So many activities kept all 3kids not bored...had a little mix up on registration.
Jul 15, 2015
Why do they advertise WiFi when nobody could get on it that is the reason I chose this site. Most of the staff were not very knowledgeable about the area. One girl did not even know where mount Rushmore was. They need to work on that.
Jul 14, 2015
My family had a great time! There were so many activities available for my kids to do, and it's so close to many other attractions. We will definitely be coming back in the future!
Jul 14, 2015
Great stay with easy access to everything. Short drive to all the area attractions. Wonderful pancake breakfast right at the site, and so much to do with the family as well. Our camp site was perfect! I would recommend this location to any family. We are taking back a lot of great memories.
Jul 14, 2015
All I know is that we will definitely book a longer stay next time. There was so much to do the kids didn't want to leave the park.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Excellent stay. No complaints. Very kid friendly. Always camp here!!
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
first site smelled of dog poop. 2nd site already had another tent on it. 3rd site looked great; never experienced it as a hail storm hit without warning. No help from staff whatsoever.
Jul 13, 2015
Great place to stay! Loved all of the activities that were available! Will be telling everyone I know about it!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Great staff and great facilities. It was just really loud for our little ones at night as they were going to bed. Wish we could have slept somewhere else and visited during the day. That being said we were in a central location right by the bathrooms and pool and stuff. We also couldn't believe how close it was to so many fun things like Mt Rushmore, Bear world etc....
Jul 12, 2015
Someone was in our assigned place. The people working at the desk said the problem started earlier in the day when some other people camped in the wrong spot because the labels for the spots are not clearly placed. Luckily there was an empty spot nearby so it all worked out. All in all, we had a great time at this KOA! Lots of great activities for the kids.
Jul 12, 2015
Great activities for the kids. Loved the pancakes for breakfast.
Jul 11, 2015
My wife and I stayed here three nights on a summer road trip to the Black Hills. She had never been here, but I remembered staying here as a kid twenty years ago. We found the PERFECT campsite with the best view (thanks, Margie!), and with all there is to do, the services and hospitality you provide, we will definitely be back for more adventures!
Jul 11, 2015
We loved it! Convenient, clean, friendly staff, and plenty to do! We will be back!
Jul 11, 2015
My whole family had a great time and the camp was clean and had lots of fun activities.
Jul 11, 2015
It was a bit crowded but everything was great. Bathrooms were clean and I loved our camp sight. Staff was great!
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Enjoyed our stay here at KOA Mt Rushmore. The gent with the cowboy hat showed us our tent site which was muddy got us a dry one pronto. Thanks.
Jul 09, 2015
No pedle boats when web site said so
Jul 09, 2015
Considering the price to stay. I figured that you would provide the firewood.
Jul 09, 2015
Super loud all night long and early morning mowing of lawns and running their trucks around. First spot assigned took 15 min to find and it was taken. Second spot was not awesome. Would not camp here again
Jul 08, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and will return. Could have done without the noisy neighbors up all night playing music though.
Jul 08, 2015
Combat camping at its finest. Tent site with no hookups had no shade. Kids running and riding through my site, which is a big no no where I come from. Restaurant service was poor. Drunks in the hot tub. Closest water spigot in the middle of a stream.
Jul 08, 2015
We had a great stay. There is so much to do and it is very family friendly.
Jul 07, 2015
Great family fun. Could spend a week just at the site.
Jul 07, 2015
IT was great
Jul 07, 2015
The tent campsite was absolutely horrible! I should have asked for a refund!
Jul 06, 2015
It was a very nice campground to stay at! I would enjoy nicer camp sites though. Ours was small and on a really uneven hill and about 4 feet from another tent. Otherwise it was great!
Jul 06, 2015
Its like a resort!! Our family loved it. Will plan to come back next year.
Jul 06, 2015
The campground seemed ok. The wifi that was advertised didn't work at all. This meant we had to run into town to check simple things like weather and things to do and schedules.
Jul 06, 2015
We had a fantastic time at the Mount Rushmore KOA. Thank you!
Jul 06, 2015
KOA gave me camp site that was under water, and I got stuck getting into it in a 4 wheel drive. They told me that all the sites were wet because of all the rain. I asked them why I wasn't notified of this when I booked and she just shrugged her shoulders. I was then moved to a grass field and told I couldn't have a fire and there were no tables available as well.
Jul 06, 2015
Site was on a hill and uneven. Sites were close together. Paying $120 to tent camp for 2 nights is ridiculous and charging $22 per night for 2 kids is absurd (We used none of your so called amenities) This is NOT camping!
Jul 06, 2015
The camp sotre was a pricy. Issues with our tenting spot. Had to ask to be moved when the neighbors area was spilling over into ours.
Jul 05, 2015
My husband and I stayed here for one night on our cross-country road trip. We were sad to only stay one night, because this KOA offered so much to do. In the future, we would love to take a family vacation here. It was wonderful!
Jul 05, 2015
We spent 5 days tent camping on site 484. The resort staff are friendly and accommodating. Had a severe storm come through one night which caused our tent to collapse in. Went to the front office and they immediately placed us into an available cabin for the evening without charging us. Absolutely loved every minute! Already planning our return trip for next summer!
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.