Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Aug 14, 2013
Great Campground. Good people.
Aug 13, 2013
Poor security. Drunken partiers in cabin across from our (myself and child) tent site allowed to party all night. When I asked (at midnight) that they at least turn off music they laughed and made obscene comments. Office staff said security came by a few times, I never saw them. In CA we would have Sheriff's Department take care of them after a warning. I doubt I'll go back to this KOA.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Had a great time tent camping at this KOA. The rain was a bummer but enjoyed the nightly movies and morning pancakes. Lots to do at the campground. We have stayed here before and will again.
Aug 12, 2013
Our camping trip was fantastic. We stayed in a tent site along the creek - and it was beautiful. We have four young children and the activities available kept them busy and happy. The campground was kept clean and the staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay here again.
Aug 12, 2013
I wouldnt stay here in a tent again. Maybe in a cabin or rv. There was thunder, lightning and rain every day.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
One very large problem is not internet or phone service. No one at home could contact us if they had to.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Great place to stay. A ton of activities. people were very nice. Campground was quiet. The bathrooms/shower rooms were very dirty. I complained and did not get an apology just that other people had complained and they were sending people up to clean it. when I went in later the wall was wiped down but the bathrooms and showers were still gross. Would have rated higher if cleaner.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
I loved it. We got there and checked in and by the time we were set up I already knew I was going to extend our stay. There was never a dull moment with all the fun things to do. It was supposed to be just a place to sleep while we visited surrounding attractions however we found ourselves wanting to go back to camp and hang out there. We will definitely recommend staying there.
Aug 10, 2013
Great pancake breakfast. Nice showers. Friendly staff. Like the lodge and selections inside. Also the restaurant. The pizza and rib joint was nice. Nice place. Nicely staffed and accommodations.
Aug 09, 2013
road drainage terrible lots of washouts.restroom,showers,laundry house disgusting I was cleaner going into the shower than when I left it.watched the cleaning crew, they were terrible I had to point out things they missed while I was doing laundry.
Aug 09, 2013
Lots of activities for kids, bathroom showers could have been a little cleaner, hard to find campsite at night, need more signs
Aug 08, 2013
We had a good time in the area, but the restrooms Were moldy & dirty. Would not take a second shower. Would not recommend this Koa.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much, the amount of activities available was great. The only negative comment we have is that the tent site we were at was not flat at all, so on Mon when it rained so much, our tent flooded from the rain flowing downhill :( We will be back, but maybe not in a tent.
Aug 08, 2013
I made reservations a week in advance so when we arrived we were greeted, got checked in quickly ! When you ride 300 miles you like to set up without any delays! The service was great and we will be back next year! Thanks
Aug 07, 2013
It was VERY crowded when we arrived on Saturday, but many people left on Sunday, so we had more space after that. Our family enjoyed the many amenities, including the water slide, jumping pillow, swimming pool, and bike rental.
Aug 07, 2013
We were on a week long camping trip at KOA's across the country and this was by far our favorite. Has everything you could possibly need. Facilities were clean, the works. We will be back!
Aug 07, 2013
The tent site that we were in was OK, but not great. A big open field, and it was tricky to tell which table belonged to which site. The facilities at this KOA are fantastic. Lots of entertainment for kids, big and small. The pools are very large and everything is well maintained. You do have to get up early for a hot shower, but they are kept very clean. Close to Mt. Rushmnore and Needles Hwy.
Aug 06, 2013
The bathrooms could have been maintained better. They were quite dirty. The activities at this campground were awesome. My kids I think the front desk could have don I think the front desk could have done a little better job of explaining the amenities and the different things offered at the campground.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Wonderful
Aug 06, 2013
Great! Maybe consider a changing room at the main pool, and a fee more umbrellas. :)
Aug 05, 2013
What a great place. We had so much fun. The only complaint that we had was the campsite we had was on a slope and had no Flat land to pitch our tent. Otherwise we had a great time. You have an amazing facility and I look forward to going back again someday!
Aug 05, 2013
Great family friendly campground. We will definitely be back soon!
Aug 04, 2013
I felt like the overall campground was awesome, but our individual campsite left something to be desired.
Aug 04, 2013
Great campground. Plenty for the whole family to do. Quiet at night and great facilities. Close to everything.
Aug 04, 2013
Very convenient location, plenty of activities for the family, clean/warm showers. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Great value for our family and a great reason we stay at KOAs while on a road trip.
Aug 03, 2013
We were Tent camping with minimal supplies. Pancake breakfast and restaurant made it incredibly easy for us. Free showers were an added bonus. Great experience!
Aug 03, 2013
We Loved our stay! We celebrated our daughters 15th birthday there and the group across from us even sang to her!The pancakes were amazing as were all the amenities. Only negative was choosing between all the local attractions or all the fun things to do in camp! We can't wait to come back!
Aug 02, 2013
We had the best time. Can't wait to return.
Aug 02, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
My family loves it here. We go nowhere else!!! There is so much to do and it is such a nice, clean place. We will camp here whenever we go camping!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Great Campground, lots to do. My kids didn't want to leave the campground to see the sites of the Black Hills.
Jul 29, 2013
So much fun - lots to do!
Jul 29, 2013
The BEST place to camp. We come every year and it just keeps getting better and better!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
The kids activities were great! The pancake breakfast every morning was delicious! However, the showers were very dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a long time. There was barely any water pressure-took a long time to take a shower.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Great family campground. Lots of activities. Big and busy but receptive staff.
Jul 26, 2013
I took my two sons tent camping at the KOA. We had such a fun time that we ended up extending our stay for one more night. There are a lot of fun things to do in this area. We loved Sylvan Lake,the Jewel Cave, and Mount Rushmore as well as all the fun activities inside the KOA. We would recommend this KOA to our friends. Thanks!
Jul 26, 2013
The location was wonderful and the personnel helpful. The tent site was very small and noisy, and was in the odor range of an rv outgassing.
Jul 25, 2013
Tent camping spots way too small!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.