Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 28, 2014
The campground is amazing. Close to all the attractions in the area. There is a lot to do while staying and we were never bored.
Jun 28, 2014
Tent sites very close
Jun 28, 2014
Great facilities and staff.
Jun 28, 2014
I had a great stay at the KOA Mt. Rushmore. The facilities were excellent and very kid friendly. The staff was also excellent and very helpful!
Jun 28, 2014
WOW WOW WOW. A very well run operation. The staff was great and friendly and the tent sites were clean and well separated. We loved it!!!!
Jun 23, 2014
Beautiful location
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Your KOA was one six KOA campgrounds where I was UNABLE to connect to your wifi!!!
Jun 18, 2014
The restrooms were continually out of soap and toilet paper. The showers did not have hot water.
Jun 17, 2014
We came to the KOA at Mount Rushmore for a two night stay, tent camping. My husband and I have four children 3-16 in age and they all had a great time. The boats, jump pad, climbing wall and playground were the perfect outlet for their energy after almost two weeks of travel. Shower and restroom facilities were close and clean. We'd definitely stay again when in the area!!!
Jun 16, 2014
We LOVE the Palmer Gulch / Mt Rushmore KOA. Despite the thunderstorms and downpours our family STILL had a great time. There is always something to do on the property - rain or shine - or the staff has a bunch of recommendations for fun in the surrounding area. This KOA is only 10 minutes from Mt Rushmore so it's in a great location. We tent camped by the pond
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
Really loved all the amenities and the cleanliness. The price was better than the less like KOA we stayed at the night before. Wonderful!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Beautiful spot. Well set up. Showers are great. Amenities are just the right ones. Pancake Tent is delicious for those up and about early.
May 31, 2014
May 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at KOA Mt Rushmore- lots of activities / enjoyed that there were restaurants and shops on site. Our first tent camping trip - our family enjoyed the experience. Only suggestion better maintenance on bathroom facility/ no soap in bathroom, lack of toilet paper, and over flowing trash in women's restroom.
May 26, 2014
The bath rooms for the area of camping spots 450 or so They were out of order. The showers were being used as bathrooms. Had to go all the way to the main Gift shop to use the restrooms. They still charged the same amount as the other areas with clean and workable bathrooms. For family's its great for areas around the main view of where you enter just don't go around the corner.
Nov 18, 2013
excellent location. Extremely close to mt rushmore. Close to all of the other tourist attractions in the black hills. Not the best place for tent sites because there just are not many of them. Even if you are in a tent, though you get access to all of the amenities which are excellent. The people were very nice and for the price it is very good.
Oct 09, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 20, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Excellent customer service. I needed to leave a day early and received a refund which I was not expecting. Very friendly staff.
Sep 13, 2013
Overall everything was fantastic. Very clean bathrooms. Well maintained. My only complaint would be that the staff member who helped us when we arrived to register was not very kind or helpful.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
The only things we were unhappy about was with the temps in the 90's that the other pool and water slide Were not open. We were very unhappy with the all you can eat pancake breakfast. We arrived st 8:30 and there was only 3 tables with customers and they were all eating. We waited until 9:30 for a table and placed our order and it took until 10:15 to get our pancakes. Very slow service.
Sep 09, 2013
Although I'm against forced "resort Fees" for the use of attractions I will not use (pool, concerts, pancake breakfast, wine tasting, etc), I am especially appalled at having to pay $10 a night extra for that fee after Labor Day when the services are no longer available! The flowers were beautiful, the resort is clean and the staff friendly and plentiful, but paying $60 extra bugged me.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
It is clean.Family oriented environment is fantastic.But it just felt too crowded.
Sep 07, 2013
Never a dull moment! Enjoyable for kids and adults alike!
Sep 06, 2013
The only reason I have been coming back to Mount Rushmore koa is because i been going every summer as a kid. Other than that I'm In the military been for 10 years and the bathrooms at your koa are sick. I have seen better bathroom in the military. That and people (campers) are rude. They drive around fast and loud with there brights I brought everything up they said what do you want us to do
Sep 04, 2013
Awesome place! Tons of fun activities for the whole family. Very clean. Only complaint was that the shower doors were difficult to open and close.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Staff awesome. Ryan the director does great work!!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Awesome would be how I describe our visit. The staff were great,very helpful. We enjoyed the horseback rides too.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.