Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 08, 2016
We had a great time. The campgrounds were clean, and accommodated our request to be near a friend that had booked separately. My boys loved the bouncy pillow!
Jul 08, 2016
Let me start with the fact this is a very well run facility. Clean, well equipped with great staff. Why I cannot give it a higher rating is that for me, it was just too big with too many people and all of the noise, crowding, etc. that comes with this. Quiet hours were not really followed and it was really only ever quiet between 11 PM and 5:30 AM. If this does not matter to you, it's GREAT.
Jul 08, 2016
Tent side was uneven and rocky. Not sure why they would put us there with so many flat grassy sites available. The pictures look great, until you actually want to us the amenities. The WIFI doesn't work unless you are an employee. The rock wall is only open from 2-5pm. I guess that is one way of advertising, without actually having to provide.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
This location has a lot of amenities for the family. It's very large. A lot of the camp (tent) sites are not flat so you might be camping on an incline. The staff was nice.
Jul 07, 2016
Loved our stay! Our site was beautiful, the kids had fun & we are already planning a trip back
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
There is so much to do for families and kids. It was a great stay. I wish the hallway going to the bathrooms could've been mopped a little more often as it was very muddy all the time. Other than that, it was a fantastic stay and beautiful surroundings.
Jul 06, 2016
Many fun activities! My boys loved the pool and basketball court. Everyone was very friendly. Dean K. helped us when our car wouldn't start. Prices a bit high in the stores for things like ice, food staples, and fire starters. We would visit again and will recommend!
Jul 06, 2016
LOVED THIS CAMPGROUND!!!! I stay at KOAs all of the time. This was my second time at this location. Ranks as one of my favorites!!!
Jul 06, 2016
Very loud with so many people everywhere.
Jul 06, 2016
Campground has many amenities, but is way too big.
Jul 06, 2016
Bathrooms were not cleaned regularly.
Jul 05, 2016
SO much for the kids to do! Camp site was beautiful. Grounds beautifully maintained. Bathrooms and showers as clean as could be expected.
Jul 05, 2016
If you have kids, there is plenty for them to do at the Palmer Gulch KOA! Some great activities and lots of space for them to roam around. It seemed that many of the tent spaces were unshaded and very close together. In our case, we had one of those "unshaded" spots, and we were also placed adjacent to one of the kids' playgrounds, which was very well used (see above), but also very noisy.
Jul 05, 2016
The bathrooms could be a lot cleaner.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The facilities are very good, a great place for an extended stay. One big gripe. If you advertise WiFi, then have enough WiFi bandwith. It was unusable the entire time (was told too many people). I chose this KOA in part due to WiFi accessibility for work, and had none for 3 days.
Jul 05, 2016
The whole family had a great time, things to keep busy, and relax in the beautiful surroundings!
Jul 04, 2016
this was a superb site, all the facilities we needed, central location, friendly staff, all in all an excellent stay.
Jul 04, 2016
Lots to do at the campground!!!! Very family friendly, but can be noisy in the morning because of the crowds at the campground.
Jul 04, 2016
Family friendly, clean, and tons of fun.
Jul 03, 2016
Amenities were fabulous and the kids enjoyed them all. However the campsite were way too close together. I felt very crowded
Jul 03, 2016
The best KOA we've been too!
Jul 03, 2016
It was great. Shower water was lukewarm
Jul 03, 2016
This is a great family friendly site. The views were amazing. KOA staff was circulating throughout the facility to offer help, directions, and security. There were plenty of activities for our family to do. I wish we had the time to stay an additional night.
Jul 01, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights and i have been amazed with the fun zone they have for kids. Bathroom and shower is AAA+
Jun 30, 2016
Love KOA, and Palmer Gulch is one of the best.
Jun 29, 2016
Why would u put 2 adults no kids right up against a playground? Children unruly & running thru my camp site. Bathroom smelled & dirty. Informed supervisor. Nothing done. Should have adult only section.
Jun 29, 2016
Try another place. We were placed in a terrible tent site, it did not have shade and was right next to a playground. The bathrooms were NASTY! We had to walk to the middle to find a clean shower. Over crowded. Good pool and good stores. Close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy horse. 30 miles from Walmart.
Jun 27, 2016
Friendly staff, nice facilities. Unlimited pancake breakfast option was great!
Jun 26, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Campsite was nice and spacious. Just need to improve wifi coverage and ban smoking on the grounds or have a designated spot for it.
Jun 26, 2016
Staff was rude, very busy place and overpriced for what you get.
Jun 26, 2016
Tent site on a slope, very disappointed. Cabin neighbors loud past midnight.
Jun 25, 2016
Fun place. Tent site was huge . Slight hill was a bit awkward for tent, but well kept grassy site, lots of trees. Enjoyed the night sky and watching bats at dusk.
Jun 25, 2016
Lots of stuff to do and great that it was all open late! Close to all the attractions.
Jun 25, 2016
The staff were all courteous and helpful, campsites were nice, the only complaint we had it felt like they were understaffed. The bathrooms by us didn't look like they got cleaned as often as the should have.
Jun 25, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For such a large campground, it was very quiet. The highlight of our trip was the chuck wagon dinner on our last night!
Jun 24, 2016
If this was my first experience at a KOA, I would not stay at another one. The restrooms were very dirty and not well maintained. The campground itself is fine, just a little confusing do to its size. This location has zero cell service and only wifi at specific locations. Wifi throughout the campground would be beneficial. Also, the tent sites are stacked on top of each other.
Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful KOA! So many activities, restaurants and places to go, we wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of everything there. Our tent campsite was great, reasonably secluded and very quiet. Bathrooms were updates and quite clean. Would definitely come back.
Jun 21, 2016
The only thing we didn't like was that there were nightly movies advertised on the website/brochure, but there were no movies during our stay. We were looking forward to having something to do after dark.
Jun 21, 2016
My family and I had a blast camping over father's day weekend
Jun 20, 2016
we had a blast! nice tent sites with shade, close to everything!
Jun 20, 2016
LOTS of fun for all! Bathrooms were CLEAN & impressive! Our tent site (310) was great! (The drinking water spigot needs to be fixed. It sprays water everywhere.) Thank you for a great experience!! We'll be back! Running the horses by our tent at 6:30 the 1st morning scared the crap out of us. Thought it was some guy yelling at his dog! But the next morning, it was like a natural alarm clock! :-)
Jun 20, 2016
What a great KOA! The nicest I have been in yet! So much to do in the area and in the campground.
Jun 20, 2016
I don't have enough time for all the issues I had here.
Jun 19, 2016
Stayed 3 nights. Was a good stay. Would do it again.
Jun 17, 2016
They were accommodating when it came to switching our site to another that we liked better. Beware of what your neighbors might be like though.... The staff is great!! you will probably enjoy it. We are of a different kind, so if we were still who we used to be, we probably would have had a ball... Very convienently located and lots to do. MOTORCYCLES Will love this area!!! It's very nice.
Jun 17, 2016
So much to do, kind helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere! Our kids favorite stop on a lengthy trip! Bathrooms were a bit messy at times, but with the number of people here it would be hard to keep up. Highly recommend requesting a tent site near the creek. Lots of fun!
Jun 14, 2016
We had an amazing time here! Campground employees were extremely informative, helpful, and kind. So much more to do here than we expected! Super fun family vacation!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals