Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 03, 2014
We loved our tent camping trip at KOA Mt Rushmore. The staff was over the top friendly. Pancake breakfast delicious. My only complaint would be the pool was dirty (1/2 closed for 2 days) the registration bathroom was down one stall for 5 days and the bathrooms by tent site rarely had hand soap. All things we could deal with. Would come back again if our travels take us this way.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
After 2 weeks in beautiful campgrounds around Yellowstone and Glacier National Park, this campground felt more like a county fair than actual camping. It was crowded, there were screaming kids everywhere, the water out of the taps was brown, and the RVs outnumbered tents 20 to 1. If you want any kind of relaxing, authentic camping experience, skip this campground. It was a circus.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
First time campers...LOVE IT!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Super close to Mt Rushmore. Great facilities. Bathrooms were clean. The pancake breakfast is a great deal.
Jul 31, 2014
We enjoyed the camp ground! Sites are a little tight but didn't really bother us. The pool was a little gross looking towards end of the day but that happens with kids. The horses were great and we loved the chuck wagon ride!
Jul 31, 2014
Most amazing KOA we've been to. Now my boys have high expectations that may never be met again!
Jul 30, 2014
Far and away the worst KOA stayed at. We booked a tent site. Because they had overbooked there was a pickup truck, towable RV and boat trailer in our site when we came back. Staff said we had to share. There was not even room for my car left and had to park several hundred yards away. Our RV neighbors drank, smoked and partied less than 10 feet from our tent. Staff would not do anything. No sleep.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay if you're visiting the area. It would also be a great destination spot. The kids loved all the activities provided. Facilities seemed fairly well maintained. The only complaint would be that the woman running the horses went right by our site every morning at 6:00 (during quiet hours) and was whooping and hollering extremely loudly.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a great time! Kids loved the Ghost Ride & swimming pools. Only downside was privacy. Felt campers were a bit too close together. Thank you for having us!!
Jul 29, 2014
Wow. So much to do. Extremely friendly staff! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and courteous staff. Convenient location to all the sites. Quiet peacefull nights. Many activities for all ages. On our return trip we will ride the four-seat bike and take a trail ride. We were also impressed the politeness of the other campers, including the children. A lot of good people! See you all again next year:)
Jul 29, 2014
We had a wonderful time staying with you! It is our 3rd time staying and we will definitely be back. You are in a great location, are very clean, family friendly and we had a great stay! THANKS!!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
My wife and I took our 3 year old and 1.5 year old on their first camping trip here. We had a great time. There is so much to do for kids of all ages. The only thing we didn't really like was the 6 am "wake up call" by the horse herders but we got over it. Will be back if we come to the area again!
Jul 28, 2014
Lots of things to do besides see Mount Rushmore. The all you can pancakes are the best!
Jul 28, 2014
Friendly staff and lots for the kids to do!
Jul 28, 2014
Suggest you ask tent sizes for proper sites and maybe send a confirmation picture of your site because my confirmation page said "Your Campsite Tent, No hookups Grassy tent sites along Palmer Creek offer a quiet campsite away from the busy activities of the campground. Get back to the basics of camping in these primitive sites." We were nowhere near this creek. Other than that a great stay.
Jul 28, 2014
We love this place and so do our kids lots of stuff for the kids to do. We did end up changing locations do to some of the tent sights not being large enough to hold our party . The office staff was very attentive to our needs and helped us to re-locate.
Jul 27, 2014
We had so much fun as a family. There was always so much to do that we almost didn't want to go explore the sights. One thing we did miss was an indoor area where we could get away from the elements and play some indoor games. Otherwise a great and exciting place to stay.
Jul 27, 2014
More amenities were offered than we anticipated. Well kept KOA.
Jul 26, 2014
Very nice location - my one complaint would be that the 'quiet time' should be strictly enforced. We were kept awake long after 11.00 by car engines, headlights shining into the tent, people shouting, arguing and laughing. Just my two cents! Otherwise, a lovely location.
Jul 26, 2014
Lots of activities for kids! Comfort stations were always clean, staff was very friendly, and pancake breakfast was the BEST! My only 2 complaints are the constant traffic going through the campground, which w/ a campground of this size I don't know how you would fix, and the wet firewood. Overall, we really did enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was fine however, the knants were HORRIBLE in the bathrooms. If you have a problem, there needs to be more than one time of cleaning a day. Also, you have staff everywhere else, someone needs to man the putt putt so some kids that are left to run wild on the grounds, don't hurt someone messing around.
Jul 26, 2014
Excellent bathroom/shower facilities, lots of family activities, pancake breakfast under the tent, variety of small stores on site. Close to Mt Rushmore, but peaceful and serene. Only negatives were that we had to root thru the grass to find campsite #, and ATM was down. Great stay!
Jul 26, 2014
Beautiful surroundings & excellent amenities. Great location in Black Hills Nat'l Park area-very central location to many attractions! Must stay.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location, services, store, pool. We had "Aaron" help us out with a bunch of questions regarding the campground, etc. and he was incredibly helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful facility with so much to do for the kids. Highlights were the pool and bouncy castles. The slide was a disappointment tho. The campsites should be monitored better as we rented two spots and someone parked in one of ours. Daddy's Pancakes was good but additional charge for extras was expensive. We had a rude awakening when they moved the horses from pasture to stables at 6 a.m.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Our family had a lot of fun!!! We liked all if the extras... Hayride, rock wall, and all the fun things to do for kids. I just thought the bathroom and showers needed to be cleaner. Also like that they had a place for us to do laundry but all but one of the dryers was broken. I also thought that the shrubs by the RV's need to be taken care of. Overall we enjoy the camp and others families like it.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We stayed right along the boat pond and it was a great location! We didn't stay long enough to partake in all the activities, but A+ for having them available and for the quality!
Jul 23, 2014
The KOA was perfect for our family. The only two complaints would be the showers could be cleaned more often and the people who brought the horses in every morning at 6am woke us all up with their yelling. The things to do at campground were great. Thank you.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The amenities and location were perfect. I only gave it 4 stars though because the water pressure was terrible. The water was literally dripping out of the shower, and switched from hot to cold very quickly without even touching the faucet. Otherwise, it was great!
Jul 22, 2014
a great place to stay and spend a weekend.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had so much fun! Great family getaway with so much to do. Can't wait to come back again soon!
Jul 21, 2014
The hot tubs were filthy.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The grounds are well maintained, people are friendly and it's located an easy drive to most places. Looking forward to returning soon.
Jul 21, 2014
we had a great stay, lots to do for kids and we loved the staff. the only complaint we would have is the online booking for tent spots. we wanted electric and water and when we got to our site there was no room for our tent so that is when we got there they told is no tent sites have that or if you want it you most likely have to put your tent on gravel. thanks to Jim to help us fine a nice spot.
Jul 21, 2014
It was wonderful!
Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly staff running this camp! Impressive all around. Papa's AUCE pancakes were awesome too! Lots to do at camp and everywhere around camp :) THANK YOU KOA MOUNT RUSHMORE!!! What a great place!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.