Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Resort style setup Options and amenities Proximity to attractions Cons: Pools were filthy Restrooms/Showers not the cleanliest
Aug 10, 2016
The campground is well maintained & facilities are clean. Lots of things to do for families with small children.
Aug 09, 2016
It was great stay at this Koa!!!! It had lots to do and kids had a blast and one of best parts is the was no cell service at all and no one in my family was playing on there phone there hole time. Thanks for make Koa so great
Aug 09, 2016
303 was a terrific campsite!!! The mini-golf course could use some maintenance. Everything was easily accessible and clean! Thanks to the staff for a great stay. We had two guests staying with us from France whom we had brought with us who had never camped before and it was a great experience for them too!
Aug 09, 2016
Hi Gang Had a short 2 day stay with You, the first day we were in site 455, the second day the gals in 456 left early so we came to the office and You let Us move to site 456, which was very helpful, the 455 site isnt the most user friendly- hard to find a level spot to accommodate both a 9x9 tent n the picnic table on level ground, luckily were not sitters!! Thanks again Paul
Aug 09, 2016
The best KOA we have ever stayed at! My kids had an amazing time enjoying all the playgrounds and extras you had to offer. The pillow was their favorite. The staff was very nice and helpful and the park was beautiful and clean.
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great location. Good Amenities. Good Value
Aug 08, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were great. Park was clean. Wonderful place EXCEPT for our camp site. Very rocky and UNEVEN. Was very disappointed about that. Will not stay or recommend.
Aug 08, 2016
Loved it, everyone was so nice!!!
Aug 08, 2016
We had a lot of fun and it gave us the opportunity to disconnect from the world today and connect with each other.
Aug 08, 2016
The location was beautiful and the kids had plenty to do. I think with there being no cellphone service made the trip that much better because everyone was enjoying each other's time.
Aug 07, 2016
We were very surprised at how much you had for children and youth. Really made the stop worth while. Professional staff and very helpful.
Aug 07, 2016
I came here with my family many times as a child and now I love bringing my children! Such a fun campground with so much to do.
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Great area and facilities! Rained a lot but still had great time at the "fun zone" and Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 04, 2016
With 4 kids ranging in ages 2 months to 13 years old, it is difficult to go on vacations and be able to entertain all of them. But KOA Mt Rushmore at Palmer Gulch was the perfect destination. We all had a blast!
Aug 04, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA and it was excellent. Enough activities for the kids. Turtle town food was excellent along with the service. Very pleased with our stay.
Aug 03, 2016
Very nice clean campsite with many things to enjoy.
Aug 03, 2016
The location and facilities were perfect for our needs.
Aug 02, 2016
Pleasantly surprised - we will definitely go back!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
We enjoyed a beautiful spot tent camping for 4 nights! Excellent view of the tower on top of Harney Peak where we hiked with the kids. Our three kiddos loved the jumping pillow. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 02, 2016
Site #445 given to us was a bit small for a four-man tent. It was non-grass with lots of small stones. Our first night rained so it made quite a mess since it's not grass. I have nowhere to park my car so I parked it side by side with the tent. Good thing I'm not using the picnic table so I pushed it out of our way to make more room. I gave it a 3 star for the nice facilities and it's staff.
Aug 01, 2016
Great family place! Lots to do onsite and close to many attractions. Well cared for but bathrooms could use better ventilation and all showers need hooks for towels/clothes.
Aug 01, 2016
We had done our annual immediate family get-together (19 people) and it was an excellent site for us. It accommodates the children so well with plenty of activities right on location. We already recommended this KOA.
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful camping close to many attractions. If only they could control the weather
Aug 01, 2016
So fun for the kids!
Aug 01, 2016
So much to do at this KOA! Best for RVs, tent sites were limited! Our tent was in a lane of RVS - very noisy!
Aug 01, 2016
We had a lot of fun! The kids loved the water slide and just a over all great stay! Definitely worth the money!!
Jul 31, 2016
We loved it. the place was awesome!
Jul 31, 2016
Toller Platz, sehr nettes Team! Leider schlechtes WiFi.
Jul 31, 2016
While I realize you try to accommodate as many people as possible the tent sites suffer from it greatly. I was so tight in site 433 that the user in 432 parked on one of my tent stakes.
Jul 31, 2016
This place has it all. Horses, Chuck wagon dinner, pools. We loved the pancake tent. Our tent site was beautiful, quiet at night. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 31, 2016
Great amenities and service. Love the location and the views.
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
So wonderful. Clean, super friendly staff, so much to do, beautiful setting. We tented in the rain, sprang a leek so bailed a day early and they gave us a refund for our last night without asking. Can't say enough about this incredible place.
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA is in a beautiful location near Mt. Rushmore. We had a beautiful campsite facing a tree covered mountain. The activities available for the children are numerous. Although the campground was incredibly busy, campers were respectful of quiet hours. The only complaint I have is the dirty bathrooms and showers. but we attributed that the the sheer volume of people that visit the campgroun
Jul 28, 2016
We had the best stay at the campground, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I will always go to this KOA when going to South Dakota it was perfect for my son and myself and it is pet friendly which is helpful!! thank you KOA Campgrounds
Jul 28, 2016
Honestly, I would give this KoA more stars if the staff was friendlier but it seemed like every person I talked to hated my guts. Not to mention the tent sites were right on top of each other. It'd be nice to have even a couple more feet of space. Overall disappointed.
Jul 27, 2016
This was a great place to stop during our road trip to Mt. Rushmore. The amenities were great and had everything we needed and picturesque landscape we did not expect.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Great resort site--only stayed one night on our way home, but would love to return for a few days. Kids loved the splash zone and the playgrounds. Nice sized tent spots where we were. Could use better lighting on the street signs--was hard to find our spot in the dark.
Jul 26, 2016
Location and amenities were great. However, I was disappointed that the facilities were not better maintained. The mini golf course was really a shambles with torn carpeting, crumbling retaining walls and even a pool of disgusting water that had apparently once been a water feature. Showers had seriously compromised caulking and grout, and smelled of mildew. Other things looked shabby, also.
Jul 26, 2016
We were booked into a site not suitable to tenting and the registration staff was able to provide us with several alternate sites and let us choose the one we wanted. The Bathroom/showers in the "comfort station" nearest our campsite wasn't cleaned often enough. The ladies restroom was out of hand washing soap for 3 days before I saw housekeeping close my "comfort station"for cleaning.
Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the amenities and the staff a great place to stay HOWEVER the showers were filthy almost felt dirtier after a shower
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy