Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 12, 2016
Stay was great. Would help if maps were more accurate and easy to understand.
Sep 11, 2016
Pretty nice
Sep 09, 2016
During one night of our stay one stall was out of toilet paper. By 9 the next morning more were out and we finally saw a truck in front of the bathrooms a little later. They hold 2 BIG rolls so not sure how there were multiple stalls empty at one time.
Sep 08, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campsite was beautiful and well maintained. Bathrooms/showers were clean. The KOA is in a great location and is close to all the tourist attractions. I would stay here again.
Sep 07, 2016
This is a great family campground. There are so many fun activities for the kids that they didn't even have time to do everything. The facilities were clean and everything seems well maintained. We have already made plans to return next summer.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
The camp was extremely kid friendly and our two year old had a blast with all of the activities. Great family memories! My only reason for 4/5 stars is that the tent sites were very close together and while we had a good site, there were others around us that I am not sure where I would have set up a tent as the entire site was on a hill. Overall fantastic experience and very friendly staff.
Sep 06, 2016
So much to do! Pools, waterslide, a kid fun zone, bouncy pillow, music, comedians, movies and more! A resort!!
Sep 06, 2016
It was the perfect location for camping near Mt. Rushmore...
Sep 06, 2016
The people working the registeation and store could me much more friendly. Kind of a downer. The you g man working the cafe/winery was amazing. Hope to see him next year. Loved the music and gas pits by the stables. Ventilation in the comfort centers really needs looking at. So uncomfortably hot/hard to breath in there. Also could have been cleaner. But all around, my favorite.
Sep 05, 2016
Well run, friendly staff.
Aug 30, 2016
Nice and clean campground with lots for the kids to do. The rodeo was a pleasant surprise...the whole family loved it.
Aug 30, 2016
It was a very loud place to stay, not very outdoorsy, very close tent sites packed too close together. Our kids had a great time with the amenities, but as for a place to tent camp, not what we were expecting. The KOA location is great, the people were friendly, it is just a little too commercial for our type of camping.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
It was huge. And muddy. And noisy. And expensive.
Aug 29, 2016
Great stay. Thank you!
Aug 28, 2016
This place was amazing, we wished we had stayed more days! There was so much stuff to do and it was mostly free! The kids would definitely not been bored for days.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Awesome campground! Clean and inviting, helpful staff, family-friendly, and lots of amenities. $3 all-you-can eat pancakes is a nice touch. Very close to Mount Rushmore too! I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
Welcomed to KOA by Sarah at the front desk. Very friendly and was able to give us good direction to our campground, especially since we arrived when it was already dark out. Staff was friendly throughout stay and facility was clean and easy to navigate! Had a great time, was able to enjoy the gorgeous night sky amongst the forest green foliage.
Aug 24, 2016
The campsite was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The Wifi was only available at the service buildings and was slow during peak hours.
Aug 23, 2016
It was nearly perfect! The one issue we had was that none of the comfort stations have changing tables. They need to be in the men's and women's bathrooms.
Aug 22, 2016
We had a RV and tent adjacent sites. Selection was VG. However, I wish I would of had known, during reservation process that a tent was able to be set-up on an RV site as I discovered there were many such situations. Leaned this upon check-out that we could of requested. This would of saved some dollars and made it more convenient for family and children. Will be sure to do so next time.
Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful and centrally located in the Black Hills. Conveniences that few campsites offer, and very clean and well-managed. There were many cool activities for the kids! We had a great stay and highly recommend the campground!
Aug 22, 2016
Over crowded tourist trap. 40$ for a tent site on a hill surrounded within arms reach by strangers. Can't see the night sky for all the lights, can't hear any nature sounds for all the generator noise, bathrooms were not clean. There is a nice state park Campground right across the road! Stay there!
Aug 21, 2016
After arriving at 1 am, there were people staying on the site we paid for and had it completely blocked off so we had to set up camp around them. Were only there for the one night so we didn't have much time to enjoy the Koa. The people working there were friendly though
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Great location, but small and unleveled tent site for a high price. Shower, restrooms not as well maintained as in other kampgrounds.
Aug 17, 2016
Nice pitch, great facilities, although showers could have been a little cleaner.
Aug 17, 2016
Pleasant stay based on location and the services provided. place to eat and drink or just get a snack
Aug 17, 2016
As soon as I got there it started to rain and the storms kept coming. Not a lot to do for kids when there is bad weather. We ended up leaving after three hours
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful, safe setting, friendly staff and tons of family friendly activities made for a wonderful vacation to the Black Hills.
Aug 16, 2016
Like the campgrounds but NOT thrilled with the site we were 1st given & changed. The bathrooms in the tent area NEED DESPARATE UPDATING & cleaned more often. (Worth the long walk to the other bathrooms for cleaner, larger showers) It's too bad people can't follow the quiet hours, they are up & about at 5 a.m. taking their campsite down, slamming car doors, talking LOUD.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals