Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 10, 2014
The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
Aug 10, 2014
The lady that checked us in and the people in the gift shop need to smile more. The restrooms and the shower rooms were always clean.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Great place to stay! Staff was very helpful in finding us a spot for our big tent when the spot we were assigned was too small. Plenty to do to keep you busy not only in the KOA park but also driving distance. We will be returning!!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
8 of us camped on sites 304 and 305, it was amazing! We fished every morning, license were reasonable. The campsite was perfect, something to do everyday. We rented the ATVs and the golf carts, what a blast. The canoes and pedal boats were free, they were pretty fun too.
Aug 07, 2014
We had a quick stay, no problem checking in at 11:00 PM was nice. And who doesn't like all you can eat pancakes.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
I asked for shade for my tent site, but didn't get any. And, the site was on a slope so had to pitch right next to the road, which was the flattest part of the site. Showers were not as good as I have seen at other KOAs.
Aug 06, 2014
Had a great time, the activities kept the children engaged and busy in a fun atmosphere. All the staff were excellent and helpful. This is a great place to stay, Thank you all.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The tent site the facilities and the services were all excellent - we will be back.
Aug 05, 2014
Dirty bathrooms, even worse showers were not cleaned daily. Both pools were dirty and 2/4 dryers in laundry blew cool air. No "out of orders signs" were placed on dryers, so people just kept putting in quarters and not getting clothes dry. Riding horses looked dirty and thin. Shops were clean and staffed with quality people. Reasonable prices for camping. The Kid Zone was safe and well staffed.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The workers are very friendly and I'm sure its a fine KOA. But I would not recommend this as a place & time to stay because it was rather loud with bikers coming in late and leaving early. Cabins are very close to tent sites. The men's bathroom stalls had foul language and pictures draw on them. Inappropriate for kids and disgusting to see appeals for sex acts.
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great stay and didn't have enough time to do all the activities we wanted to do.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Awsome campground! Loved all the great things to do there! Only complaint is that the ponderosa restaurant is garbage ,,,, waitresses were unorganized and it took way to long to get our food. We gave it four chances to get better during our stay and all four time were bad, however the food is great. Loved renting the atvs...
Aug 03, 2014
We loved our tent camping trip at KOA Mt Rushmore. The staff was over the top friendly. Pancake breakfast delicious. My only complaint would be the pool was dirty (1/2 closed for 2 days) the registration bathroom was down one stall for 5 days and the bathrooms by tent site rarely had hand soap. All things we could deal with. Would come back again if our travels take us this way.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
After 2 weeks in beautiful campgrounds around Yellowstone and Glacier National Park, this campground felt more like a county fair than actual camping. It was crowded, there were screaming kids everywhere, the water out of the taps was brown, and the RVs outnumbered tents 20 to 1. If you want any kind of relaxing, authentic camping experience, skip this campground. It was a circus.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
First time campers...LOVE IT!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Super close to Mt Rushmore. Great facilities. Bathrooms were clean. The pancake breakfast is a great deal.
Jul 31, 2014
We enjoyed the camp ground! Sites are a little tight but didn't really bother us. The pool was a little gross looking towards end of the day but that happens with kids. The horses were great and we loved the chuck wagon ride!
Jul 31, 2014
Most amazing KOA we've been to. Now my boys have high expectations that may never be met again!
Jul 30, 2014
Far and away the worst KOA stayed at. We booked a tent site. Because they had overbooked there was a pickup truck, towable RV and boat trailer in our site when we came back. Staff said we had to share. There was not even room for my car left and had to park several hundred yards away. Our RV neighbors drank, smoked and partied less than 10 feet from our tent. Staff would not do anything. No sleep.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay if you're visiting the area. It would also be a great destination spot. The kids loved all the activities provided. Facilities seemed fairly well maintained. The only complaint would be that the woman running the horses went right by our site every morning at 6:00 (during quiet hours) and was whooping and hollering extremely loudly.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a great time! Kids loved the Ghost Ride & swimming pools. Only downside was privacy. Felt campers were a bit too close together. Thank you for having us!!
Jul 29, 2014
Wow. So much to do. Extremely friendly staff! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and courteous staff. Convenient location to all the sites. Quiet peacefull nights. Many activities for all ages. On our return trip we will ride the four-seat bike and take a trail ride. We were also impressed the politeness of the other campers, including the children. A lot of good people! See you all again next year:)
Jul 29, 2014
We had a wonderful time staying with you! It is our 3rd time staying and we will definitely be back. You are in a great location, are very clean, family friendly and we had a great stay! THANKS!!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
My wife and I took our 3 year old and 1.5 year old on their first camping trip here. We had a great time. There is so much to do for kids of all ages. The only thing we didn't really like was the 6 am "wake up call" by the horse herders but we got over it. Will be back if we come to the area again!
Jul 28, 2014
Lots of things to do besides see Mount Rushmore. The all you can pancakes are the best!
Jul 28, 2014
Friendly staff and lots for the kids to do!
Jul 28, 2014
Suggest you ask tent sizes for proper sites and maybe send a confirmation picture of your site because my confirmation page said "Your Campsite Tent, No hookups Grassy tent sites along Palmer Creek offer a quiet campsite away from the busy activities of the campground. Get back to the basics of camping in these primitive sites." We were nowhere near this creek. Other than that a great stay.
Jul 28, 2014
We love this place and so do our kids lots of stuff for the kids to do. We did end up changing locations do to some of the tent sights not being large enough to hold our party . The office staff was very attentive to our needs and helped us to re-locate.
Jul 27, 2014
We had so much fun as a family. There was always so much to do that we almost didn't want to go explore the sights. One thing we did miss was an indoor area where we could get away from the elements and play some indoor games. Otherwise a great and exciting place to stay.
Jul 27, 2014
More amenities were offered than we anticipated. Well kept KOA.
Jul 26, 2014
Very nice location - my one complaint would be that the 'quiet time' should be strictly enforced. We were kept awake long after 11.00 by car engines, headlights shining into the tent, people shouting, arguing and laughing. Just my two cents! Otherwise, a lovely location.
Jul 26, 2014
Lots of activities for kids! Comfort stations were always clean, staff was very friendly, and pancake breakfast was the BEST! My only 2 complaints are the constant traffic going through the campground, which w/ a campground of this size I don't know how you would fix, and the wet firewood. Overall, we really did enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.