Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 15, 2015
waterslide not working.
Jun 15, 2015
Our tent site was a bit small, but overall the location was great! The showers could be cleaned more frequently as a lot of people stay at this KOA. The service was very friendly, pancake breakfast was a hit with my family. Overall it was a nice camping site, next time we hope the water slide is open.
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean and very nice facilities. The staff was pleasant and the restaurant, Ponderosa, that we ate at had good food. Nice for a pit stop but if looking for actual camping, I would choose a place where the sites aren't right on top of each other. There is no privacy whatsoever.
Jun 15, 2015
Excellent experience! Loved the clean washrooms! The fire pit was very difficult to cook on, it was our only complaint (not deep enough).
Jun 15, 2015
We had a great time. Loved all the amenities that were offered, great customer service working with me to get coordinating spots, and the friendliness of the staff. However we were very disgusted that the bathroom/showers were not cleaned once in the 4 days we stayed. By the time we left only 1 of the 4 toilets were functioning. It was very disappointing as this campground is great overall
Jun 14, 2015
Tent site not level, although it was nice grass. Water running down all the streets so you had to walk in mud. Sites crowded together. WIFI didn't work at all at our campsite and was way slow to useless everywhere else.
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
This KOA campground was amazing. We have a rooftop tent on our 4Runner and they let us drive around to find the perfect spot. The emenities were clean and handy and the people were great!!!!
Jun 11, 2015
I understand that the weather had an impact on some of the activities but was a little disappointed that nobody ever made any offer or effort to compensate us for the inconvenience. Many of the things that we selected this campground for were unavailable to our kids while we were there. (Climbing wall, jump station, water slide etc.)Our kids were looking forward to these things!
Jun 11, 2015
The employees were rude when asked questions, the showers were incredibly filthy, and the "camp spot" that we were given was nothing more than a parking spot with a picnic table. I was underwhelemed and it did not stand up to what I thought was the KOA name.
Jun 10, 2015
The layout of the campground was terrible. Bathrooms were not easy to get to from really anywhere. The numbering made no sense. Showers had no vents and were really dirty. The pools were okay but the outdoor hot tubs were pretty gross.Check-in and check-out was fairly easy.Although they were going to put us in the tent site that had been flooded the night before. But did change it when asked
Jun 10, 2015
It was great to say there we loved it we definitely come back and stay again loved it
Jun 10, 2015
Great facility. Very accommodating - we were there on a quite day - our campsite was quite out of the way and on a hill (had rained heavily for days, very muddy) - they moved us no problem and helped us select a better site of those available. Super friendly and helpful staff.
Jun 09, 2015
I got myself lost and ome of the staff driving around offered to give me ride to where I was attempting to go. The young lady working at the store by the mini golf area was also very friendly and great with the kids.
Jun 08, 2015
Clean,well kept,beautiful,friendly staff.Will be returning to this site in the future.
Jun 08, 2015
Always a great place to stay!
Jun 07, 2015
Vergas Boy Scout troop #322 had a great time camping there and everyone so nice!
Jun 07, 2015
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at!
Jun 06, 2015
This was our first time to stay at a KOA, and we were very pleased. This is an EXCELLENT camp sight with tons of fun things to do and extremely helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay! It was also a perfect location between Mt. Rushmore and Crazyhorse.
Jun 06, 2015
This was my third stay at this KOA so obviously I keep coming back. My only complaint and the reason I don't give it five stars is the price for tent camping is just too high.
Jun 01, 2015
I arrived after a day full of rain and was camping in a tent. The site they had initially reserved for me was washed out with rain. The friendly employee on his ATV gladly found me another site that was dry with a level ground for my tent without me even having to ask. The campground was very clean, including the restroom facilities. PERFECT campground for families or reunions!
May 26, 2015
May 23, 2015
May 18, 2015
Wonderful....well....2 thumbs up!
Sep 23, 2014
Beautiful, clean campground with so much to do. Can't wait to go back!!
Sep 21, 2014
I was traveling alone with my dog, and as a female traveling alone can be scary, but the members of this koa were wonderful. They put me in a spot that I was near the restrooms and the office and one member whose name I'm sad I didn't get brought my dog a tennis ball and told me where I could get someone if I ever needed help. Thank you!
Sep 19, 2014
Amazing kampground! Super friendly and helpful staff. Well maintained grounds and restrooms/showers. Very convenient location between Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore. We definitely plan to stay here again!
Sep 16, 2014
Prefer more private restrooms as at Moab UT.
Sep 14, 2014
After ariving and setting up my tent I found that there was a stream of water 4 feet wide seperating my site from the rest of my site I called and talked to the assistent manager and he told my it was my fault I asked to speak to the manager and he never called me back and he wouldn't take my calls when I called This is by far the worst KOA I have ever stayed at!
Sep 12, 2014
Best time my family has had in a long time. Nice clean family friendly campground. Lots of fun!!!!
Sep 10, 2014
Place was a mini city! Nice lady at the front discounted me 10 because i paid too much online. Honesty! The pub was awesome and had excellent food and service! Shame I had to leave after one nite. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Great time and beautiful surroundings!
Sep 09, 2014
Unclean bathrooms, pool area smelled like sewer waste, unfriendly staff. We have had better stays at KOA-PG, but will probably not ever be back.
Sep 09, 2014
It is a nice campground. We got a great spot near the lake where we could see sunrise in the morning. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Sep 08, 2014
Great place to keep the kids busy! Campground is the largest we've ever stayed at, but very organized. The restaurant had an estimated 30 min wait, but it ended up taking 60 mins. So we were hungry and the food was good. Loved the 2 pools and pancake breakfasts.
Sep 08, 2014
They had above and beyond accommodations in a beautiful setting. I'd love to come back!
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Pools are cold. They do not have wifi as they claim. water at bottom of slide is brown. They sell expired milk for breakfast and don't tell you about it.
Sep 03, 2014
Our family had so much fun here. We stayed in a tent and we really enjoyed the camping kitchen. The only complaint is the pool near the kiddie place was dirty and smelled of the bathrooms.
Sep 02, 2014
Our stay was good. Our picnic bench was broken, but we hardly used it. We were at site 308. The bathrooms were clean and the property was nice. The general store was a little overpriced. I know you're there to make money. But some of that stuff was double I paid in the near by towns.
Sep 02, 2014
Too many kids on bikes (against your policy) site space small compared to other sites, too much smoke from campfires, family next to us was up and screaming at 6am, they didn't put out fire, burned my tent
Aug 31, 2014
Location is great including the peaceful camping feel and lots to do.
Aug 28, 2014
Thank you for a great visit!
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
this was our first time staying at a koa campground and my first time at Mt Rushmore. I couldn't be more pleased with everything. Keep up the good work and we will be back. As a matter of fact our kids are coming this weekend.
Aug 26, 2014
Great place to stay! The climbing wall was not available and the items on the printed schedule didn't always match up to what was going on exactly. Overall, we had a good experience.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Amazing first camp experience!! My kids absolutely loved all the activities!! Very clean as well!
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Thank you! We were also excited to find out our weekend was on Family Faith weekend. It was the icing on the cake and we were joyful.
Aug 24, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.