Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 03, 2017
great location , friendly staff, lots of amenities
Aug 03, 2017
Would definitely stay here again. Wish we would have had more time here. Lots to do for the family.
Aug 03, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Too many people, campsites too close. Noise next to us until well after midnight...and started again early in the morning. We got very little rest. Lots of group activities available.
Aug 02, 2017
Had a family "meet up" here with about 4 different parts of the family and we all liked it a lot. So much to do for all ages!
Aug 02, 2017
I've stayed at this KOA 4 times now (this was #4) and this was by far the worst experience that I've had... sadly. The "curfew" of 10PM was not at all adhered to (nor enforced). In my tent, I recall looking at my watch at 10, 11, 12, 1, 2 and 3 am... with noise all around... Additionally, I was saddened at the fact that there was no water fountain, water bottle filling station, or the like availab
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Too many campsites in too small area. No privacy. Tents, without bathrooms are 1/4+ mile from the restrooms, while RVs are parked next to them.
Aug 02, 2017
Koa community was great.however wi-fi was not great and the bathrooms need improving.
Aug 01, 2017
For sure the best koa we have stayed with!
Aug 01, 2017
Advised by clerk to use restroom too far away. It was Late and I couldn't find it was so far away and I didn't want to leave my children (1 adult) for that long. So I came back; went to pool which was very nice. It wasn't til the next day that the right restroom was found; nice but too far; that place was too big. Didn't know where to put my garbage or get water. You only good for RVs. 😤
Aug 01, 2017
So much fun for our family! Great clean facilities, and plenty to keep the kids busy.
Jul 31, 2017
Laundry facilities need to be fixed so there is enough if them. Two of the dryers were broken and none of the soap containers were working. Other then that a fantastic stay!
Jul 31, 2017
It was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Great family place. Only downfall would have been there were not enough golf carts - for the entire weekend. Other than that it was perfect! Pancakes were awesoem
Jul 31, 2017
We loved staying at such a clean facility!
Jul 31, 2017
Amazing place to stay for a great price!
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Made reservation to camp one night but ended up staying three nights because the kids loved the camp. So much fun things for kids and camp was very well maintain.
Jul 29, 2017
The fun activitirs and features for kids, are of course great. The camping however, is less than desirable. As a tent camper, I wish things were set up differently, better for tent campers. A specific area for tents only would be great. Tent pads would be helpful too. A bathroom more accessible to the tent area so we don't have to walk through motor home sites would be useful too. Thank you.
Jul 29, 2017
Great place to stay with many activities for kids throughout the day and night. Most of them are free. Only one little issue. The fish pond could use a little attention. There were a few dead fish floating near shore for a couple days along with a few plastic bottles and other garbage. There were also 4-5 foot tall thistles growing and hanging over the bike path near the fish pond.
Jul 28, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were nice, with the private showers, but need a major remodel. They were cracking, dirty, and dark.
Jul 28, 2017
Lots for kids to do!! Bathrooms a hike from tent sites... very busy. Showers and bathrooms dirty...probably from all the traffic. Shut water slide half an hour early so worker could leave...kids were bummed. No wifi...said they had three hot spot zones...never could check email or connect. Told office...they said that happens when they are full. Frustrating for a resort.
Jul 28, 2017
It was great! The staff were friendly, happy and helpful. We would love to come again and will reccomend. Need wifi though!!
Jul 28, 2017
I really feel its the people who work there who make it all so amazing! We have come every summer for a couple years now with our family but found this year those working didn't set the tone like years before. The energy and the love of the job of those who had worked there before made it feel like our own little Disney land right in the black hills.
Jul 27, 2017
We got placed directly next to the playground. Quiet hours were not observed. The tent sites were basically on top of each other. I would not recommend this koa to anyone.
Jul 27, 2017
Great location and loved the Fun Zone
Jul 26, 2017
We brought our youth group for 3 nights and it was totally awesome. SO much for all the kids to do, the staff was very nice, everything was clean and the surroundings are beautiful! We are already planning on coming back next year! VERY satisfied customers.
Jul 26, 2017
This location was wonderful, all of the activities and amenities we great. Great for everyone, safe and cozy. Felt like we were in a community of friends and neighbors. Will Definitely stay here again.
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
I stayed in a trailer and 3 of my children stayed in tents with their families. They all made the comment that it would be better if the comfort stations were in the areas where the tents are instead of in the area where the trailers are as most trailers have bathroom facilities in them. It was difficult to take several small children to the restroom when they all had to go at different times and
Jul 24, 2017
Only recommendation for improvement is that the lights at the maintenance facility by Tent Site 355 be turned off after 10 pm and to encourage staff to turn off their vehicle head lights and keep their radio chatter lower.
Jul 24, 2017
I was very Pleased with my stay
Jul 24, 2017
Tons of campers seemed like we had to walk into or through other campers spots to go anywhere the bathrooms were filthy by our campsite from the first time I used them at 8:30pm and still filthy at 7:30am.
Jul 24, 2017
Great facility!! Great services! Great people!!
Jul 24, 2017
great team, and great time all around
Jul 24, 2017
Fantastic site, convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Will stay again!
Jul 24, 2017
Lots to do here!! Showers and bathrooms were nice. Only complaint was our campsite was on a hill with no level surface
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Great atmosphere, clean restrooms, and excellent location!
Jul 24, 2017
The reason we chose to return was the added entertainment value, Pool and put put golf but I was disappointed by our campsite. For a tent site we didnt expect to have much space but we had to change sites twice because the only place available for a family size tent was on the extremely rocky surface right next to the road. The site we ended on only had a grassy spot with a slope for our tent.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
We were set up and someone came by and said that we were in the wrong location. We were spread out too much. We were at camp site 300 and out of sight was the 214 marker. It was fine but we had already set up camp and started cooking dinner and had to stop to move everything. We enjoyed our stay though and will definitely come back. Thank you!
Jul 24, 2017
The staff was very friendly and patient.
Jul 23, 2017
Overall, it was an okay place to stay. The location was excellent to everything I was planning on visiting. My biggest concern is the attitude towards solo guests. In comparison to others, I was told very little at check-in and my questions were treated rudely. Solo travelers are paying guests and should be given the exact level of attention and respect as couples and families.
Jul 23, 2017
We had a blast! All of the staff members were friendly and helpful; the kids loved the Fun Zone and it was a treat to have so many activities for them during the day. The bathrooms were kept clean and the availability of laundry appreciated. Only complaint? Tent site on the hill was a bit "interesting" and provided little shade and no soft grass. Thank you! We'll be back for sure.
Jul 23, 2017
We had a great time! We stayed for 2 days and wish it would have been longer. Lots to do for our busy two year old-he loved the water slide! The one downside was the bathrooms were a little bit of a hike for said two year old. But they were in great, clean condition. We did wish we weren't so close to all the other campsites, we felt like our neighbors were on top of us!
Jul 23, 2017
It was my first time camping I loved it little bit crowded but everybody was having fun just like my family was out for the summer beautiful Terrain absolutely look forward to doing this again
Jul 23, 2017
Nice stay. Bathrooms clean. They first tried to put us in a hill with a tree in the middle with no space to put one tent let alone two even after we called and asked if we would have room to park our car right next to it. They rectified the situation and put us on a nice site. Would stay again.
Jul 22, 2017
Lovely place but sites a little close to each other.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals