Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
We enjoyed a beautiful spot tent camping for 4 nights! Excellent view of the tower on top of Harney Peak where we hiked with the kids. Our three kiddos loved the jumping pillow. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 02, 2016
Site #445 given to us was a bit small for a four-man tent. It was non-grass with lots of small stones. Our first night rained so it made quite a mess since it's not grass. I have nowhere to park my car so I parked it side by side with the tent. Good thing I'm not using the picnic table so I pushed it out of our way to make more room. I gave it a 3 star for the nice facilities and it's staff.
Aug 01, 2016
Great family place! Lots to do onsite and close to many attractions. Well cared for but bathrooms could use better ventilation and all showers need hooks for towels/clothes.
Aug 01, 2016
We had done our annual immediate family get-together (19 people) and it was an excellent site for us. It accommodates the children so well with plenty of activities right on location. We already recommended this KOA.
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful camping close to many attractions. If only they could control the weather
Aug 01, 2016
So fun for the kids!
Aug 01, 2016
So much to do at this KOA! Best for RVs, tent sites were limited! Our tent was in a lane of RVS - very noisy!
Aug 01, 2016
We had a lot of fun! The kids loved the water slide and just a over all great stay! Definitely worth the money!!
Jul 31, 2016
We loved it. the place was awesome!
Jul 31, 2016
Toller Platz, sehr nettes Team! Leider schlechtes WiFi.
Jul 31, 2016
While I realize you try to accommodate as many people as possible the tent sites suffer from it greatly. I was so tight in site 433 that the user in 432 parked on one of my tent stakes.
Jul 31, 2016
This place has it all. Horses, Chuck wagon dinner, pools. We loved the pancake tent. Our tent site was beautiful, quiet at night. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 31, 2016
Great amenities and service. Love the location and the views.
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
So wonderful. Clean, super friendly staff, so much to do, beautiful setting. We tented in the rain, sprang a leek so bailed a day early and they gave us a refund for our last night without asking. Can't say enough about this incredible place.
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA is in a beautiful location near Mt. Rushmore. We had a beautiful campsite facing a tree covered mountain. The activities available for the children are numerous. Although the campground was incredibly busy, campers were respectful of quiet hours. The only complaint I have is the dirty bathrooms and showers. but we attributed that the the sheer volume of people that visit the campgroun
Jul 28, 2016
We had the best stay at the campground, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I will always go to this KOA when going to South Dakota it was perfect for my son and myself and it is pet friendly which is helpful!! thank you KOA Campgrounds
Jul 28, 2016
Honestly, I would give this KoA more stars if the staff was friendlier but it seemed like every person I talked to hated my guts. Not to mention the tent sites were right on top of each other. It'd be nice to have even a couple more feet of space. Overall disappointed.
Jul 27, 2016
This was a great place to stop during our road trip to Mt. Rushmore. The amenities were great and had everything we needed and picturesque landscape we did not expect.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Great resort site--only stayed one night on our way home, but would love to return for a few days. Kids loved the splash zone and the playgrounds. Nice sized tent spots where we were. Could use better lighting on the street signs--was hard to find our spot in the dark.
Jul 26, 2016
Location and amenities were great. However, I was disappointed that the facilities were not better maintained. The mini golf course was really a shambles with torn carpeting, crumbling retaining walls and even a pool of disgusting water that had apparently once been a water feature. Showers had seriously compromised caulking and grout, and smelled of mildew. Other things looked shabby, also.
Jul 26, 2016
We were booked into a site not suitable to tenting and the registration staff was able to provide us with several alternate sites and let us choose the one we wanted. The Bathroom/showers in the "comfort station" nearest our campsite wasn't cleaned often enough. The ladies restroom was out of hand washing soap for 3 days before I saw housekeeping close my "comfort station"for cleaning.
Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the amenities and the staff a great place to stay HOWEVER the showers were filthy almost felt dirtier after a shower
Jul 25, 2016
Bathrooms were dirty. Resort fee unnecessary. Unfriendly staff. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of sites
Jul 25, 2016
Tried to write a comprehensive review but was cut short by the small number of characters. I'll head over to TripAdvisor to write a full review. Here is the Cole's Notes version. rude and impatient staff in the store Coffee shop not open due to staffing problems $10 resort fee is a joke and shouldn't be charge. Stayed in KOA's every night for two weeks and this one was the worst.
Jul 25, 2016
The 1st clerk at check-in ignored me, then the cashier in gift store was very unpleasant, then at the pancake breakfast, the lady asked me about my bottled water, she said outside food wasn't allowed and followed that statement up with "I wouldn't bring food into your home." ...what was I gonna do, walk all the way back to my tent site, leave my water, and walk back up to the pancake tent...wth
Jul 25, 2016
Mostly it was dirty and lacked the conveniences of other KOAs. Bathrooms were atrocious. No sinks for washing camp dishes. Stayed here bcz I wanted to ride horses, but their stables stunk like old zoo elephant habitats- and I ride, too. Lost my appetite for it.
Jul 25, 2016
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are so many activities right on the campground it isn't even necessary to leave. There is some type of entertainment every night, we saw a chainsaw artist. The restaurant on site is delicious and reasonably priced and they also have a fast food restaurant on site too. And the pancake tent, amazing!!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Extremely crowded and loud.
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes, mini golf, and wax museum. Would recommend a better place for women to blow dry after showers. It made the bathroom gross. Also there were so many people that at times I was worried we were going to hit someone while we drove.
Jul 24, 2016
We had a hard time finding our tent site because it was not marked. We did have to get security to escort us but they were very friendly. We loved the fun zone.The activities had everyone in our group entertained.
Jul 24, 2016
Congested compared to other KOAs we have stayed at. Wanted to purchase something at camp store but waited for approx. 3 minutes and couldn't find a staff to ring it up so we just left.
Jul 24, 2016
Great place, great staff. Only down fall in my opinion were the restrooms & showers. Several shower stalls did not have hooks for clothes and towels or place to set soap and shampoo. Also for size of place, having just 2 stalls in men's room created lines of 5 to 6 people at times. Aside from that the place and all it had to offer were great.
Jul 24, 2016
Love this KOA! Multiple playgrounds, hiking paths, close to Mount Rushmore, activities throughout the day for families, food options, shops! Truly resort camping!
Jul 23, 2016
People at check in were great. I requested a campsite away from kids. Our campsite was 5 yards away from a playground. It was nice to have showers but they were pretty nasty.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Nice place with good amenities, but very, very big and crowded.
Jul 23, 2016
Top notch facilities and service. We were amazed four years ago and have been back every year since.
Jul 22, 2016
It really is a great place for kids. A ton of things to do. I wish the Comfort house had more restrooms. But you are camping and so the facilities meet those expectations.
Jul 22, 2016
We found it to be family friendly. It is close to hot spots to check out. The personnel was friendly and service was good. We'll definitely stay there again.
Jul 22, 2016
Hot showers. Plenty to do. Quiet by bedtime. Lots of family options to plan and do. Great facility.
Jul 22, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA Kampground. Our original vacation plans were to camp one night and stay in a hotel the next night. We were so impressed when we got to our tent camp site, that we immediately cancelled our hotel reservation and reserved the second night at KOA! We plan on coming back next year, bringing more family, and staying longer!
Jul 22, 2016
Awesome KOA. Great for the kids. Only complaint is that the tent sites are too close together and not level.
Jul 21, 2016
The kids loved all of the activities and amenities, the water slide especially. Lovely setting and great campground!
Jul 21, 2016
we loved the whole experience. There was lots to do and the area was beautiful. They even let us change tent sites so our boys could use their hammocks. The only thing we didn't like was the sand in the Volleyball pit it was full of rocks. They should just make it a grass court. We would definately stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals