Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

May 09, 2016
May 07, 2016
The staff was amazing, especially Ben, and even though not everything was open it was our favorite spot on a cross country trek.
Apr 26, 2016
grate place to stay very clean
Oct 07, 2015
Great campground, beautiful views. A lot of amenities were closed because we went there after Labor Day. The bathrooms and showers were really nice.
Oct 03, 2015
Wifi did not work. Even when it does it's only available at the main bldg. no cell service. Store only open until 6. Tried to speak to a manager and he never returned my call. Unhelpful staff
Sep 28, 2015
The free wifi here is terrible. When we got to our site to set up, the site next to us had put their tent on our site so we were right next to them and there wasn't anything we could do because they close the desk at 6:00 pm which is really early for coming in on a Friday night.
Sep 28, 2015
We just needed somewhere to pitch a tent for one night. Very glad we found the KOA. The facilities were really nice and the campground was quiet.
Sep 26, 2015
Very large KOA. No generous camp space/privacy as adverstised. Lots of amenities for kids. Close to attractions. Would recommend other camp sites all within a few minutes of attractions.
Sep 26, 2015
The store needs to stay open later than 6 pm. Awesome KOA.
Sep 24, 2015
I wish some of the ammenities had still been open, but other than that it was very nice!
Sep 21, 2015
The campground was really nice with a view of the mountains and a small lake. The staff was very friendly. The store has every5hing you need from beer to water. The showers and restrooms are really clean. You can even rent special bikes that can fit up to 4 people. Great place to stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We love that we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you again next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 15, 2015
We tented and arrived late at night the staff made sure we where able to find our location and the showers fantastic experience thanks again
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 13, 2015
Sep 12, 2015
Overall, excellent. Staff was helpful and activities were fun. However, wifi didn't work at either hotspot location, and finding our assigned camp spot was difficult; labels were confusing.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
My son and I arrived to the campsite early. The woman at the registration desk was not pleasant acting as if I had been there before and should know everything already. Next, I went to eat and watch a football game at the restaurant on Saturday afternoon. The sound of the game was turned off as management cited "policy" as a reason. There was no one else in the restaurant at the time and we were p
Sep 08, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and in a great location, also many entertain options were available!
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time; my only complaint is the campsite next to use was a group of young men that stayed up getting drunk and using foul language. We have three kids and much of there loud conversation was not appropriate. I know you can't choose who is camping next to you, but it would be nice if they could be a little more considerate of families around.
Sep 08, 2015
Great facilities for families-my kids had a fantastic time. For as busy as this place was, our tent site was quiet and out of the way of the masses. Also seemed very dog-friendly. Centrally located. Will definitely come here again!
Sep 08, 2015
Great location, super fun. Loved camping kitchen and esspresso coffee! :) Bathrooms clean. Only complain is that a group of people was checked in late (close to midnight) and woke us up in the middle of the night and kept us awake for an hour! :(
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and comfortable facilities. Good variety of events for kids. The tent sites could use some shade but other than that everything was fantastic.
Sep 08, 2015
The address listed takes you to the back entrance on GPS, so make sure you look at a map first. It was very crowded over Labor Day, but the check-in was quick and there was an escort to our spot. The store and other amenities are great, my daughter loved the trail ride. We will likely go back during a non-peak weekend. Only 10 minutes to Mt Rushmore and a great launch pad for everywhere else!
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
i feel robed, the price for a tent site was on the website $21.00 and we had to pay $30.00 ?? the answer was oh they have not changed the website duh. and the site was not wurth the $ 30.00. WIFI sucks only 2 points available and you had to be within 5 yards to have reception.
Sep 07, 2015
The nicest camp ground I have camped in. It's very clean with lots of staff to help with anything, and a large option of camp sights and ways to camp there. I was very impressed.
Sep 06, 2015
We felt like this KOA was very unorganized we had extreme difficulty finding our campsite the numbers didn't match at all. The sites we crowded and you have to pay for nearly every activity.
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 02, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
We have stated here several times and will again. This time we were tenting and sites were not very level but we made them work. Lots of people here but it is centrally located for visiting the area. Lots to do at park.
Sep 01, 2015
The all you can eat pancakes were awesome and the tent site was large and grassy. The showers were a little small and there was only a small stool to put your clothes and shower supplies. There were some very small tent sites. The picnic table was on a hill so if you go to the front of the table you fall into a hole.The packages of wood were pretty small.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
Great place to stay. Kids loved it. Close to all attractions. WiFi did not work but that was a good thing
Aug 30, 2015
Great! Only suggestion is that the wine tasting have enough wine to wet the taster's tongue (a tad sparse)
Aug 28, 2015
Great place, lots of amenities. Were happy to let us choose a different tent site from available ones after we arrived. Great stay
Aug 28, 2015
I don't think my words can come close to expressing how amazing this campground is! The employees are amazing and so kind. I was moved to tears for the kindness shown to my family & especially to My little boy Noah. Noah has autism which makes outing & vacations difficult but not this trip! You made his world! Thank you for making it a vacation we never wanted to end!
Aug 26, 2015
with nice view and great facilities, especially wonderful staffs!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
Campground is very nice, but was a bit disappointed with the tent site...not very level or large.
Aug 25, 2015
Do not plan ur stay during Sturgis Week!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA. We have never stayed at a KOA and this was way more than we expected! The kids enjoyed all of the activities and we enjoyed knowing they were having fun. Thank you!
Aug 24, 2015
Great clean camp. Have been staying here for 5 years, and never fail to impress. Always something to do, fun for everyone.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice clean place. Convenient showers/restrooms and friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2015
Wonderful,so much for the kids and family.grandkids loved the planed entertainment each night. and the facilities where clean. A great exsperience.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Very nice and affordable campground. Lots to do.
Aug 22, 2015
Great accommodations a just a little to crowded for us if you do return we will reserve a site that is a little more off the path of cars.
Aug 22, 2015
Minus the all day and all night rain it was a beautiful area for a campground but the tent sites were too close to the cabins as well as each other. The bathroom facilities were nice and showers clean!
Aug 22, 2015
Great place to go
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals