Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 27, 2016
This was a great place to stop during our road trip to Mt. Rushmore. The amenities were great and had everything we needed and picturesque landscape we did not expect.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Great resort site--only stayed one night on our way home, but would love to return for a few days. Kids loved the splash zone and the playgrounds. Nice sized tent spots where we were. Could use better lighting on the street signs--was hard to find our spot in the dark.
Jul 26, 2016
Location and amenities were great. However, I was disappointed that the facilities were not better maintained. The mini golf course was really a shambles with torn carpeting, crumbling retaining walls and even a pool of disgusting water that had apparently once been a water feature. Showers had seriously compromised caulking and grout, and smelled of mildew. Other things looked shabby, also.
Jul 26, 2016
We were booked into a site not suitable to tenting and the registration staff was able to provide us with several alternate sites and let us choose the one we wanted. The Bathroom/showers in the "comfort station" nearest our campsite wasn't cleaned often enough. The ladies restroom was out of hand washing soap for 3 days before I saw housekeeping close my "comfort station"for cleaning.
Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the amenities and the staff a great place to stay HOWEVER the showers were filthy almost felt dirtier after a shower
Jul 25, 2016
Bathrooms were dirty. Resort fee unnecessary. Unfriendly staff. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of sites
Jul 25, 2016
Tried to write a comprehensive review but was cut short by the small number of characters. I'll head over to TripAdvisor to write a full review. Here is the Cole's Notes version. rude and impatient staff in the store Coffee shop not open due to staffing problems $10 resort fee is a joke and shouldn't be charge. Stayed in KOA's every night for two weeks and this one was the worst.
Jul 25, 2016
The 1st clerk at check-in ignored me, then the cashier in gift store was very unpleasant, then at the pancake breakfast, the lady asked me about my bottled water, she said outside food wasn't allowed and followed that statement up with "I wouldn't bring food into your home." ...what was I gonna do, walk all the way back to my tent site, leave my water, and walk back up to the pancake tent...wth
Jul 25, 2016
Mostly it was dirty and lacked the conveniences of other KOAs. Bathrooms were atrocious. No sinks for washing camp dishes. Stayed here bcz I wanted to ride horses, but their stables stunk like old zoo elephant habitats- and I ride, too. Lost my appetite for it.
Jul 25, 2016
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are so many activities right on the campground it isn't even necessary to leave. There is some type of entertainment every night, we saw a chainsaw artist. The restaurant on site is delicious and reasonably priced and they also have a fast food restaurant on site too. And the pancake tent, amazing!!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Extremely crowded and loud.
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes, mini golf, and wax museum. Would recommend a better place for women to blow dry after showers. It made the bathroom gross. Also there were so many people that at times I was worried we were going to hit someone while we drove.
Jul 24, 2016
We had a hard time finding our tent site because it was not marked. We did have to get security to escort us but they were very friendly. We loved the fun zone.The activities had everyone in our group entertained.
Jul 24, 2016
Congested compared to other KOAs we have stayed at. Wanted to purchase something at camp store but waited for approx. 3 minutes and couldn't find a staff to ring it up so we just left.
Jul 24, 2016
Great place, great staff. Only down fall in my opinion were the restrooms & showers. Several shower stalls did not have hooks for clothes and towels or place to set soap and shampoo. Also for size of place, having just 2 stalls in men's room created lines of 5 to 6 people at times. Aside from that the place and all it had to offer were great.
Jul 24, 2016
Love this KOA! Multiple playgrounds, hiking paths, close to Mount Rushmore, activities throughout the day for families, food options, shops! Truly resort camping!
Jul 23, 2016
People at check in were great. I requested a campsite away from kids. Our campsite was 5 yards away from a playground. It was nice to have showers but they were pretty nasty.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Nice place with good amenities, but very, very big and crowded.
Jul 23, 2016
Top notch facilities and service. We were amazed four years ago and have been back every year since.
Jul 22, 2016
It really is a great place for kids. A ton of things to do. I wish the Comfort house had more restrooms. But you are camping and so the facilities meet those expectations.
Jul 22, 2016
We found it to be family friendly. It is close to hot spots to check out. The personnel was friendly and service was good. We'll definitely stay there again.
Jul 22, 2016
Hot showers. Plenty to do. Quiet by bedtime. Lots of family options to plan and do. Great facility.
Jul 22, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA Kampground. Our original vacation plans were to camp one night and stay in a hotel the next night. We were so impressed when we got to our tent camp site, that we immediately cancelled our hotel reservation and reserved the second night at KOA! We plan on coming back next year, bringing more family, and staying longer!
Jul 22, 2016
Awesome KOA. Great for the kids. Only complaint is that the tent sites are too close together and not level.
Jul 21, 2016
The kids loved all of the activities and amenities, the water slide especially. Lovely setting and great campground!
Jul 21, 2016
we loved the whole experience. There was lots to do and the area was beautiful. They even let us change tent sites so our boys could use their hammocks. The only thing we didn't like was the sand in the Volleyball pit it was full of rocks. They should just make it a grass court. We would definately stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
Jul 21, 2016
Great stay. Great tent camping spots. The only negative thing I would say is that our camp spot was missing the number plaquered. This made it difficult to find and even the person that escorted us wasn't sure but gave us a spot in the area of where it should be. But I would stay again when I am back in SD.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
This campground has everything you need, and is kept clean.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time. This is the perfect campground for families with hound kids - the amenities and activities were great! My kids loved the pools, water slide, playground, and organized activities like the movies and crafts. The grounds are very pretty and well-maintained. It does get a bit crowded, but we were fine with that!
Jul 20, 2016
Lots of amenities and close to several historic and family fun locations!
Jul 19, 2016
Tent sites are small and not shaded. Wi-Fi is spotty. Not much water pressure in showers. May have enjoyed amenities more if we stayed longer.
Jul 19, 2016
We love the location and amenities that this KOA offers. We loved the pancake breakfast, stables and chuckwagon that are available as extras. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The only downside is that the bathrooms could be cleaned more than once a day with the number of people using them. We will be back if we visit the area again.
Jul 19, 2016
We loved everything about this camping area. Perfect for our family (4yr old and 9 yr old).
Jul 19, 2016
great, clean, fun, place to stay!!!!!
Jul 18, 2016
train and fun but hard to get internet and cell service
Jul 18, 2016
It was my fault for not understanding this was a resort not a campground. People are piled on top of each other. There is no privacy. I would recommend this place to people who do not want to experience the outdoors. If you enjoy camping and scenery, do not stay here.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean. Friendly staff. Easy to find.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Great facility! The amenities were greatly enjoyed by the two grandsons. The staff was exceptionally helpful. Bathrooms and showers were clean! No complaints about this place, only complements!
Jul 15, 2016
This place is massive, tent site we had was tiny and sloped badly. Bathrooms were clean but quiet a hike. On a good note, close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We won't stay there again.
Jul 15, 2016
Our tenting location was fantastic. The restrooms were busy and could be cleaned more often. Also disappointing non-working wifi!
Jul 15, 2016
We loved it!!
Jul 15, 2016
Although this was a large site, we were very impressed that the camping tents were sited away from the RV's. It was quiet at night, and the facilities were more than adequate and always clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals