Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 28, 2016
This place was amazing, we wished we had stayed more days! There was so much stuff to do and it was mostly free! The kids would definitely not been bored for days.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Awesome campground! Clean and inviting, helpful staff, family-friendly, and lots of amenities. $3 all-you-can eat pancakes is a nice touch. Very close to Mount Rushmore too! I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
Welcomed to KOA by Sarah at the front desk. Very friendly and was able to give us good direction to our campground, especially since we arrived when it was already dark out. Staff was friendly throughout stay and facility was clean and easy to navigate! Had a great time, was able to enjoy the gorgeous night sky amongst the forest green foliage.
Aug 24, 2016
The campsite was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The Wifi was only available at the service buildings and was slow during peak hours.
Aug 23, 2016
It was nearly perfect! The one issue we had was that none of the comfort stations have changing tables. They need to be in the men's and women's bathrooms.
Aug 22, 2016
We had a RV and tent adjacent sites. Selection was VG. However, I wish I would of had known, during reservation process that a tent was able to be set-up on an RV site as I discovered there were many such situations. Leaned this upon check-out that we could of requested. This would of saved some dollars and made it more convenient for family and children. Will be sure to do so next time.
Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful and centrally located in the Black Hills. Conveniences that few campsites offer, and very clean and well-managed. There were many cool activities for the kids! We had a great stay and highly recommend the campground!
Aug 22, 2016
Over crowded tourist trap. 40$ for a tent site on a hill surrounded within arms reach by strangers. Can't see the night sky for all the lights, can't hear any nature sounds for all the generator noise, bathrooms were not clean. There is a nice state park Campground right across the road! Stay there!
Aug 21, 2016
After arriving at 1 am, there were people staying on the site we paid for and had it completely blocked off so we had to set up camp around them. Were only there for the one night so we didn't have much time to enjoy the Koa. The people working there were friendly though
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Great location, but small and unleveled tent site for a high price. Shower, restrooms not as well maintained as in other kampgrounds.
Aug 17, 2016
Nice pitch, great facilities, although showers could have been a little cleaner.
Aug 17, 2016
Pleasant stay based on location and the services provided. place to eat and drink or just get a snack
Aug 17, 2016
As soon as I got there it started to rain and the storms kept coming. Not a lot to do for kids when there is bad weather. We ended up leaving after three hours
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful, safe setting, friendly staff and tons of family friendly activities made for a wonderful vacation to the Black Hills.
Aug 16, 2016
Like the campgrounds but NOT thrilled with the site we were 1st given & changed. The bathrooms in the tent area NEED DESPARATE UPDATING & cleaned more often. (Worth the long walk to the other bathrooms for cleaner, larger showers) It's too bad people can't follow the quiet hours, they are up & about at 5 a.m. taking their campsite down, slamming car doors, talking LOUD.
Aug 15, 2016
The people were friendly and the food was good. I especially liked the pool/hot tub. The tent spaces were closer together than expected but still comfortable.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Great for families!Our kids are 11,9,& 7 yrs old and there was much to do at the KOA and in nearby towns & parks. Staff is friendly. Showers and restrooms are nice & clean. We enjoyed swimming, waterslide, horseback ride, live music, chainsaw art show, community campfire and smores,minigolf, movies at night, basketball, bag toss, & pan for gold. WiFi is terrible so used phones on our daytrips.
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice and scenic had a great time your people were very nice and polite. Hospitality was great.
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice place. The campsite numbering system is a joke. Some of the tent sites on the hill are not even useable.
Aug 14, 2016
too big and too expensive
Aug 14, 2016
Great time. We lost water one night, but the crews worked fast and got it up and running very quickly. No complaints here!
Aug 13, 2016
The campground itself was wonderful but the staff working was not as wonderful. The young peoplease working were very rude and when asked questions there answers were always I don't know. The all looked bored and not wanting to bE there. One in the little store in the fun zone actually rolled her eyes at me and said "I don't know, it's open when it's open." About the jumping pad. Poor staff.
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Excellent facility and helpful staff. If you don't enjoy your stay, it's your fault
Aug 10, 2016
Too big, crowded, no security
Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Resort style setup Options and amenities Proximity to attractions Cons: Pools were filthy Restrooms/Showers not the cleanliest
Aug 10, 2016
The campground is well maintained & facilities are clean. Lots of things to do for families with small children.
Aug 09, 2016
It was great stay at this Koa!!!! It had lots to do and kids had a blast and one of best parts is the was no cell service at all and no one in my family was playing on there phone there hole time. Thanks for make Koa so great
Aug 09, 2016
303 was a terrific campsite!!! The mini-golf course could use some maintenance. Everything was easily accessible and clean! Thanks to the staff for a great stay. We had two guests staying with us from France whom we had brought with us who had never camped before and it was a great experience for them too!
Aug 09, 2016
Hi Gang Had a short 2 day stay with You, the first day we were in site 455, the second day the gals in 456 left early so we came to the office and You let Us move to site 456, which was very helpful, the 455 site isnt the most user friendly- hard to find a level spot to accommodate both a 9x9 tent n the picnic table on level ground, luckily were not sitters!! Thanks again Paul
Aug 09, 2016
The best KOA we have ever stayed at! My kids had an amazing time enjoying all the playgrounds and extras you had to offer. The pillow was their favorite. The staff was very nice and helpful and the park was beautiful and clean.
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great location. Good Amenities. Good Value
Aug 08, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were great. Park was clean. Wonderful place EXCEPT for our camp site. Very rocky and UNEVEN. Was very disappointed about that. Will not stay or recommend.
Aug 08, 2016
Loved it, everyone was so nice!!!
Aug 08, 2016
We had a lot of fun and it gave us the opportunity to disconnect from the world today and connect with each other.
Aug 08, 2016
The location was beautiful and the kids had plenty to do. I think with there being no cellphone service made the trip that much better because everyone was enjoying each other's time.
Aug 07, 2016
We were very surprised at how much you had for children and youth. Really made the stop worth while. Professional staff and very helpful.
Aug 07, 2016
I came here with my family many times as a child and now I love bringing my children! Such a fun campground with so much to do.
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Great area and facilities! Rained a lot but still had great time at the "fun zone" and Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 04, 2016
With 4 kids ranging in ages 2 months to 13 years old, it is difficult to go on vacations and be able to entertain all of them. But KOA Mt Rushmore at Palmer Gulch was the perfect destination. We all had a blast!
Aug 04, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA and it was excellent. Enough activities for the kids. Turtle town food was excellent along with the service. Very pleased with our stay.
Aug 03, 2016
Very nice clean campsite with many things to enjoy.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals