Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 18, 2017
Very nice tent sites. Felt comfortable, even though the campground was very full. Clean facilities, helpful staff.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
This KOA is by far the best campground our family has ever camped at. Clean facilities, ample activities, and a beautiful view. Top notch, you will not be disappointed.
Jul 18, 2017
I loved it. One thought would be look into selling baby swimming diapers. We had forgot our and the closest place around was either Custer or rapid city. I think if you made that choice you could provide a good thing to the parents who have kids still in diapers and also prevent anything happening to the pools.
Jul 18, 2017
There was lots to do for the kids, it was close to keystone & Mt Rushmore. We liked the free tour of the President wax museum and the golf...Kids wanted to ride horses but was to much, otherwise thanks for a good week.....
Jul 17, 2017
Nice grounds, friendly people
Jul 17, 2017
Amazing campground! So much to do at the campground itself! Our three teenagers had a blast!!!
Jul 17, 2017
Good time nice tent site great staff
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Horrible. Felt like a sardine with the very small sites. People in site next to us smoked marijuana and drank until midnight. No hot water in shower. This is not a campground. It's a zoo. Worst KOA or campground I have ever stayed in.
Jul 15, 2017
Best stay ever!
Jul 15, 2017
I stayed here for one night on a two-month road trip. Having stayed at MANY other KOA's in the Western US, this one was, by far, the best bang for your buck. The facilities and amenities were outstanding as was the staff. For the cost of a tent site, this KOA offers the most for your money!
Jul 15, 2017
Lots to do. Fun for the kids. Clean. Store is super expensive though. And some guests were loud late into the night. Overall, good place to stay.
Jul 15, 2017
We had SO MUCH FUN! We came for Mount Rushmore and other sites around South Dakota, but my kids would have happily stayed the entire 3 days at the KOA and not go see anything else. Tons of fun things to do, helpful & friendly staff, clean restrooms, and great campsites! We will be back!
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
Clean facilities (although varied in style), wonderful activities for kids, safe area, great water points. Dry camping on the fish pond was amazing. Camp spots are somewhat crowded and close together, with cars driving through sites to get to another site. Limited parking. Check in process was overall smooth, but can be congested and frustrating if unfamiliar with procedure.
Jul 13, 2017
Great location, tons to do in the park as well
Jul 12, 2017
Best KOA Ever!
Jul 12, 2017
I loved KOA. The only thing I think should have more restrooms. Few bathrooms, for many people.
Jul 12, 2017
This campground is excellent for families with children. Tons of things for them to do. Staff was very friendly and accomodating for campsite big enough for our tent. Very happy with our stay.
Jul 12, 2017
We have camped at the PG KOA 11 years ago and have recommended it repeatedly to friends and family. Many have passed through on our recommendation. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Mini-golf, swimming, gaga and swimming were the highlights for our kids,16, 17 and 7. We ran out of time to take a trail ride or the chuck wagon dinner.Coffee in the cafe/wine bar was +CLEAN the RESTROOMS MORE OFTEN
Jul 11, 2017
All the amenities but crazy busy and crowded. Nights while tent camping were noisy. Quiet hours were not enforced. 30 minute wait to be escorted to campsite after check-in.
Jul 10, 2017
Great location, very clean, and friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2017
This resort has great amenities, especially if visiting with kids. The negatives...campsites are right on top of each other. We stayed at a tent site and we were crammed between cabins and other tents with not one piece of flat ground to pitch our tent on. Definitely no such thing as privacy.
Jul 10, 2017
Amenities were nice. Friendly staff and restaurant was superb. RV exmaybe be different, but the tent sites were uneven, crowded, unshaded, and generally unsatisfactory. The showers were also less sanitary than we found in other State Parks on the way to the KOA. We were so disgusted with our tent site (#469) that we left without staying the night. Just showered and left before nightfall. just bad
Jul 10, 2017
SUPER FUN
Jul 10, 2017
We had a great time camping and loved how this location was so close to mount rushmore.
Jul 10, 2017
We asked to move sites after first night because the tent site we had had no shade, no trees, and we were basically sharing a little field with other campers. whole campground felt clustered and cluttered, all sites were very tight together, small, and hard to even define 1 site from the next. Comfort stations always packed and filled with lines. Bike paths/sidewalks would do wonders.
Jul 09, 2017
This KOA was a great place to stay as a family. The reasons for 4 stars instead of five: the bathrooms could have been better cleaned and the pancake breakfast (Extra $$) was lackluster. Plan to make your own breakfast and you'll be fine. My kids took advantage of all the Fun Zone activities and had a great time. We would definitely stay there again.
Jul 09, 2017
Always our 1st choice and the best KOA we have ever been to! Lots to do just at the resort, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Thanks for another year of memories and until next time!
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
i have not tent camped in over 30 yrs I loved it and stayed 2 additional nights. this was an anniversary trip number 39 i wanted to do something we would not normally do it was so wonderful. thanks so much we will be back/.
Jul 08, 2017
Best 1st experience camping in a tent for my family, clean and safe. Lots of family fun.
Jul 07, 2017
My stay at the Palmer Gulch KOA was fantastic. My only complaint was the fact that twice I had to have my fire ring repaired. Each repair I had to remind the staff I had asked for some assistance after waiting several hours. The second repair was completed too late to prepare dinner for my family and I had to eat out ($30 for a pizza, an order of fries and drinks), an undesirable expense.
Jul 07, 2017
Other than the blood curtling screaming in the middle of the night it was great.
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
everyone was very nice even the other guests
Jul 07, 2017
This is a very well run and maintained KOA. The kids had a great time with all of the family friendly activities and amenities. The only minor complaint I have is that WiFi is advertised, but it was barely usable enough to just read a few emails when it would allow me to connect.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
So much to do for the family. We had a lot of fun at this great location.
Jul 05, 2017
This is a great place for kids. There is a great variety of activities with different ones every day. The campground is well maintained. We will definitely be back!
Jul 05, 2017
This was by far the best KOA (from entertainment point) and would recommend this to anyone. With that said, I was very disappointed with out tent campsite. We got there and it was on a pretty good slanted hill. So much that when we set up the tens, our cots leaned so far that we had to reposition them so they would not break, and this was the flat spot! Tried calling twice and no one answered.
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
We had a blast. What a fun, last-minute get-a-way. Thanks!
Jul 05, 2017
Our first site #420 was too small for our family of five and there was not a place to keep our mini van. It was very busy and we went back to the front desk. We were graciously given a perfect campsite from one of the ambassadors Ben...said it was his favorite spot, not even on the map! It was perfect. only complaint was the crying dogs that appeared to be on private property
Jul 05, 2017
You need more comfort stations. It would also have been nice to let us know our camp site had a big concrete utility box on it. Alot of our space was taken up and I tripped on it several times!Thank goodness I didn't hurt myself!
Jul 04, 2017
Beware, if you are tent camping here, you might not have enough room for your tent if it's a large one. The sites are very small, and only a few would accommodate a 10-person tent or two tents at once. We went on 4th of July weekend and it was very crowded, but we still had a great time and there's lots to do. Mount Rushmore and Keystone is very close. We will go back :)
Jul 04, 2017
The campground was a lot of fun. The website listed the tent sites as "generous," but this was definitely not the case. We had another tent less than a foot away from us. Overall, a good experience nonetheless.
Jul 04, 2017
Awesome place to take your family, so many things to do for both adults and kids. We are definitely heading out again for future camping fun
Jul 04, 2017
There was so much to do to keep our child entertained as well as us adults. We will be returning soon!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals