Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
Our stay was great. The staff was very nice to deal with and helpful.We had a pull thu site with plenty of room. We stayed for two weeks and loved the surrounding area. We stayed in a 40ft fifth wheel.Yes we would stay there again. I gave it a 4 star because of no cell service and bad wifi service. Other than that we loved our stay.
Jul 29, 2015
Upon arrival, we were sent to 3 different sites that already had ppl set-up at them. After 1 1/2 hours, we were finally given a site, but 2 other parties were sent to our site and told they had been assigned there. Very disorganized & frustrating after a long day of traveling!
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Everything was great! Friendly helpful staff, clean facilities, fun for all. The only thing I wish was different is this: We left on a Monday (tie dye day) and neither of the 2 people I asked at the store could figure out whether/how we could buy the shirts and tie dye at home. If that's the worst thing, it's still a success! Thanks for taking such good care of us!
Jul 29, 2015
This was our 33rd stay in a camping cabin here. The grand kids love all the fun things there are for them to do. It is relaxing for us.
Jul 29, 2015
too small
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Everything was pretty great! The hot tub was full of brown water and not hot one day. And one of the bathrooms could use a remodel like the other bathrooms deeper in the campground. Otherwise I loved my spot by the creek and had a great time. Friendly staff!
Jul 29, 2015
Too loud, too busy. Our neighbors had 12 people and 3 tents in I single tent spot. Older children were hanging out at the playground past 11pm. Multiple campers asked them to be quiet before they finally dispersed. Lots of activities for kids but not worth it if you're only staying one night and don't want to spend all your time at the campground.
Jul 29, 2015
Very good a lot to do.
Jul 29, 2015
We had a ball at the KOA!! There was so much to do! The only problem was I took a shower and upon getting out, noticed underneath the stool that someone pooped on the floor. I found a KOA employee and told them. I waited a few minutes and then propped the door open so no one would use it. I noticed later that the showers were closed and they were being cleaned.
Jul 29, 2015
Nice campground, except the showers always seemed to need cleaning. Also, our campsite was difficult to get into - it was against an embankment and had to back uphill with a turn. Overall, nice place though. Would visit again.
Jul 29, 2015
It was great. The only thing Ican recommend is maybe when people check in, you have it on the literature as to where to go when bad weather moves in such as the hail storm while we were there. There were kids running back to their campground in the hail from the water pad area and got with hail. Otherwise awesome stay.
Jul 29, 2015
Very disappointed with the service. The staff seemed uncooperative and didn't seem willing to answer questions. In today's age, it seems somewhat archaic that there was no wifi or cell service. For the price paid, you would think this would be available
Jul 29, 2015
must drop resort fee
Jul 28, 2015
too busy people and kids always walking out in front of the car we did not use the park for activities the $10 per day was not used and made the price of our stay per day too much for the price we paid
Jul 28, 2015
Amazing place! If I read the brochure in advance I would have known what's going on there so the place took me by surprise! So much to do and see! Keep up the good work!
Jul 28, 2015
I don't even know where to start, when you come around the bend and see this place you do not realize all that it holds. From the horseback riding, water slide, beautiful scenery, pools (2), walking trails, clean and family friendly environment, nice large bathrooms and showers with doors, playground, chess area, water park area for little ones - YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!!!
Jul 28, 2015
Excellent campsite with great amenities. Children loved it.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
I really liked the pancake breakfasts because it let us get started early on site seeing.
Jul 28, 2015
Great campground with lots of activities/amenities. Friendly and helpful staff. Very close to Mt. Rushmore and other attractions.
Jul 28, 2015
This is the third time we have spend time at this very top rated KOA, we were spending our second honeymoon there as today is our 25th adv. everything was wonderful, i did miss the tour buss to Crazy horse that you had ten years ago. Specially love see the HIll City Slickers again.When we plan on a trip to the black hills our first choice is your place. thanks for making our weekend great.
Jul 28, 2015
This campground is more of a RESORT! It is amazing - the facilities are fantastic and very clean, there is so much to do for the kids from the pool, splash area, jump pillow, water slide, panning for gold -- and 4 eateries ON SITE and the Horse Stables!! Beautiful, would recommend this KOA to everyone!!
Jul 28, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our four days at KOA. There was so much to do to keep busy and cool off. We also enjoyed the restaurant we ate at. Thank you so much for the great stay.
Jul 28, 2015
This KOA is close to lots of great activities, and we made several day trips from here (Custer Gold Days, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mt., Badlands, Deadwood, Devil's Tower, Sturgis, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave). Tons of activities on site for young kids. Older kids liked the horseback riding and ATV. Cabins and parking a bit tight, but workable. We'll be back!
Jul 28, 2015
Great location. So much to do onsite. Clean facilities but could be a bit more accessible - just a small pathway to get between the RVs. We had a great time, even with the wind storm!
Jul 28, 2015
This is a great family campground. The staff were amazing. The facilities were second to none. Shuttle service to Mount Rushmore was terrific. This is by far the best campground we have stayed at.
Jul 28, 2015
The activities during the day were well done.
Jul 28, 2015
I called while travling and asked one of the camp sites that had the patio furniture.I spent over 20 minutes asking her to makesure that the site was one with patio furniture. We arrived later that day and it was not. Instead, we arrived to a mud filled back in site that you had to walk on boards to hook up camper. We could not even get to the sewer connections. They charged us full price.
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in the camping cabins. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The workers were very helpful all the time.
Jul 28, 2015
Great fun for the kids. The bathrooms were always a bit crowded and not as clean as I would have liked but overall the whole experience was wonderful.
Jul 28, 2015
Great experience! Very friendly staff, clean facilities, and an overall great time! We will definitely return again!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Exactly what we needed after 5 weeks on the road.
Jul 28, 2015
Great kamping.
Jul 28, 2015
Where do I start? Everything from the locale to the Summer Shine workers, to the KOA staff members, to the play grounds, bathrooms, entertainment and just everything about this campground is awesome. We originally booked for 2 nights and quickly extended our stay for an additional 2 nights. We will definitely be back!!!! Thanks so much!!
Jul 28, 2015
Campsite was full of ruts and muddy from the day before rain. Maintenance came and added some gravel. Also gave me free bundle of wood for the problem. WiFi very limited, at Hot spots it hardly worked at all. Everything else was very good.
Jul 28, 2015
Our children enjoyed the kids fun zone. One thing I wished was that the visitors staying with pets would respect when there is a sign "no pets allowed" they would respect that.
Jul 27, 2015
The best campground ever! So beautiful and so much to do there! Staff extremely friendly and nice. We had a family reunion there and it was perfect! Will definitely camp there again and recommend highly to anyone. Just fabulous!
Jul 27, 2015
There was no place to park my tow vehicle, low water pressure, no internet WiFi or Hotspot. It felt like we were at a county park. Very disappointing for KOA. Resort activities did not start on time, kids were left to wait for attendants to get the equipment ready. If the jumping pillow opens at 9:00, then open at 9:00, not 9:45. The climbing wall was never open the when we were there...
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA is perfect. Plenty of things to do - ATV - The Chuck Wagon dinner, Dining at the Ponderosa - awesome!! Great Spot - we'll be back!
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay as always! Awesome activities and setting for the kids!
Jul 27, 2015
It would have been nice if the campsites were a little farther apart and the fire rings weren't so close to the campers. Was not able to get on the WiFy and we had no access to the cable tv. Other than that it was great. My grandson had a ball with the water slide and all of the other things there was for the kids to do.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The whole place was very clean and the adult pool was nice. The staff takes very good care of you and helps when needed. I've never seen a place with so much to do and still keeping it so nice and clean. The showers and bathrooms were well kept. They give you garbage bags and pick up ever day. I would have liked a bigger sight but they allowed me to park my trailer for my Quads out of the way,
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time! Probably could use a few more people working to help with all the people. Very busy. Our site was nice and lots for the kids to do. They had a ball!!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful campground with amazing activities for the kids.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.