Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
best campground i ever stayed at, activities for kids outstanding, clean friendly staff so much available for families excellent best time ever
Jul 22, 2017
The bathrooms for the tent campers was a little lacking. Didn't really notice until ours had a back up and we had to use the ones in the middle (rv). They all have a bathroom in their unit and you all give us the shithole bathrooms at the bottom of the mountain to use. We paid to be there too. You have a lovely HUGE resort, guess I prefer the smaller kampgrounds.
Jul 22, 2017
kept kids busy with fun activities. Very clean, great hardworking staff
Jul 22, 2017
This is our third trip to this campground. Love the kids free activities and paid for Tye dye. Always a good souvenir. Great sites. Great pancakes. Updates badly needed for comfort station number one. Longer shower curtains needed.
Jul 22, 2017
The campground itself is great and so much to do! Our reservation got mixed up but Mike the general manager worked tirelessly to get it fixed and us moved to the correct site. Close to everything you want to see in the black hills!
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Comfort station 1 really needs upgrading. Only 1 toilet flushed in womens bathroom and upon arriving, only 1 shower head worked well. Same for mens bathroom.
Jul 22, 2017
Lots of fun stuff for the kids. Zero cell service and wifi is virtually non-existent, even though you pay for wifi in the extra fees. Some spots are very tight you can't park your vehicle or the fire rings are right under your awning.
Jul 22, 2017
Very friendly staff and clean campground. Only concern is that it is almost too big. Very congested.
Jul 22, 2017
It was a great place to stay, located in the center of the Black Hills iot was the perfect place to base camp to see all the sites of the Black Hills
Jul 22, 2017
Lots of activities do and overall cleanliness. Poor to average water pressure Would use again.
Jul 22, 2017
Had a great time here! Sites were large and activities were well planned and fun. Very pleased with the Sunday worship opportunity. Friendly staff and awesome location.
Jul 22, 2017
Lovely place but sites a little close to each other.
Jul 22, 2017
Please have fans for cabins without AC. Could use updates to put-put and water slide attractions
Jul 22, 2017
It was fantastic! We will be coming back soon and hope we can get our same spot back!
Jul 22, 2017
The pool was great and the grounds were beautiful. Super convenient access from freeway and the staff member was very accommodating when we didn't feel like putting up a tent and found a cabin for us.
Jul 22, 2017
We had a great time with you all.Met a few very interesting people along the way.Will defiantly stay with you again.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
I loved almost everything about this accommodation. It was a bit too crowded for me. In our deluxe cabin, the air mattress on the pull out kept deflating, and when I complained about it, no one cared; the response was that they were already aware of the problem. When you pay that much, you should be able to be comfortable. Other than that, we had a great time!
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Traveling with Yankee Tours. Rod picked a Great place. Clean,efficient, and yummy breakfast
Jul 21, 2017
Great stay for our family reunion!!Bring walkie talkies as cell service doesn't work! Wifi in 3 places. Although this is good because everyone is talking, playing board and card games. Also singing round the campfire!
Jul 21, 2017
The Campground staff was great. The camps is a little too big for my liking. I did enjoy the shuttle ride to see the lighting of Mt. Rushmore Ralph Bates
Jul 21, 2017
So much to do! Convenient location.
Jul 21, 2017
Driveways become very muddy in daily rains. Needs more gravel and/or pavement. Bathrooms often dirty. Large hairball found in pizza.
Jul 21, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 21, 2017
Great campground from the service and amenities to the views. This was our second stay in the past three years, love it. Staff was friendly this stay but remember them being more friendly last visit.
Jul 21, 2017
The staff was all very friendly and our kids loved all the activities! There was so much for kids to do, they were never board.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Lots of activities for children and adults. Only thing I didn't like was kids riding bikes after dark and not watching if vehicles were coming. Our GPS also brought us right to here.
Jul 21, 2017
Great
Jul 21, 2017
So much fun for the whole family!
Jul 21, 2017
This is a huge KOA. Beautifully maintained,and like a self-contained mini-community. Close to Mt Rushmore/ Crazy Horse sites. Although our 30' travel trailer barely fit the spot we were assigned, and other campers expressed the same concern, we still would return to this KOA if we were touring this area again. One surprise at check-in was the extra "resort" charge ($10) per day.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
The Cadillac of KOAs!
Jul 21, 2017
This place was amazing. So many activities and beautiful setting. Kids loved the pool and water slide and we happened to be there the evening of the rodeo. What a treat.
Jul 21, 2017
You offer alot of activities for the children, which is very good, but the "Comfort Stations" were very disappointing. A small improvement would be to provide hooks in the facilities. I would also recommend cleaning them regularly. I have stayed in many campgrounds, and yours had one of the poorest facilities.
Jul 21, 2017
Was the worst camping spot we have E#VER had...,.asked tobe moved butthey wouldn't even talk about it. Cancelle the the rest of our reservation and went to a small nice camp ground...DO NOT STAY HERE
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Very fun for the kids! We were happy with this place. They had a lot to offer!
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
The sites are way too small. The first site we were placed in would not fit a 30' motor home with an awning out. Poor customer service at the counter. I would be happy with a call to explain the rest of the concerns.
Jul 21, 2017
we had been there before many years ago, so it had changed quite a bit but we loved it again.
Jul 21, 2017
It was a great vacation and a nice place to stay no worries when we left for the day to see the sights
Jul 21, 2017
Very enjoyable. Courteous, helpful people, lots of amenities, close to everything we wanted to see
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
The staff were helpful and professional, the grounds well kept and the facilities lovely. We expected the pool, but not the other fun activities (from mini-golf to the trampoline) which my kids loved.
Jul 21, 2017
Very disgusted. While my 11 year old granddaughter and I were in the ladies shower. Male cleaning crew came into ladies shower building even after I shouted out to them please come back later they returned 2 minutes later and began cleaning. I went to the manager at registration and was told that they are foreign workers with limited English PARENTS DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN GO TO THE SHOWERS ALONE
Jul 21, 2017
VERY nice place. Lots to do. Would come back. Would recommend this KOA to everyone.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals