Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2016
Everything was great expect a couple things. KOA workers seemed to not know about the activities going on around the campground. Also the Pizza/Ice Cream shop late night workers were rude. They first burnt our pizza, then were reluctant to make a new one. This is the pizza place connected to the horse trail rides building.
Aug 25, 2016
Very large and busy place. Very tight sites, really just a parking lot. Premium price but no cable, wifi and weak phone service. Great location in the middle of the area attractions. Lots of kids activities.
Aug 25, 2016
Over all our stay was wonderful! The facility was clean and well kept! I was disappointed in the fact that I couldn't ride horse with my family, due to being more than 240 pounds (but I guess that's my problem not your). Also our fire pit was located very close to our neighbors camper. Thanks!
Aug 25, 2016
GREAT! Have stayed before. Plan on staying again. Need more cell phone service other than at office area.
Aug 25, 2016
Only thing we were not happy with is that we did not get our requested sites and we were camping with family and were given sites across the campground from each other!
Aug 25, 2016
We enjoyed the Mount Rushmore KOA Palmer Glutch so much!! It exceeded our expectations! With such a friendly staff and such a variety of activities and events, we can't wait to come back! Thank you so much for making our family vacation so incredible!
Aug 25, 2016
Overall we had a wonderful stay and the last minute car rental saved our vacation. Only downside was a small campsite for our size RV and fire pit could have used some TLC.
Aug 25, 2016
overall was a great place to stay with lots for our family to do! Would recommend to all our friends & family to stay here!
Aug 25, 2016
The BEST ever time we had with all the kids! Will be back next year! Thank You for a GREAT vacstion!
Aug 25, 2016
Great,friendly place!! Lots to do....
Aug 25, 2016
Great resort with lots to do! Only negative was the site we had was partially covered with water.
Aug 24, 2016
Great park. Great staff.
Aug 24, 2016
Cabin could be a little cleaner under the beds and in the corners. Staff was great.
Aug 24, 2016
Nice park, very large establishment. Sites were small, had a section of grass on my site removed. Caused more dirt and mud (rained during our stay)to be track into the trailer.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
It was wonderful kids really enjoyed it will definitely come again
Aug 24, 2016
Excellent campgrounds especially if you have kid lots to do and clean facilities.
Aug 24, 2016
Pancake deal, not such a deal for larger groups. Will suggest others skip it due to cost. Consider allowing byo beverage/shareable sizes of meat at a discount. Great time with the grandkids, 8-6-2. Right across from Kids Zone.They had a blast! Thank you!!
Aug 24, 2016
Both the water slide and one pool were closed. I called to reserve a golf cart and got a person from another KOA that was extremely rude that hung up on me, her name was Erica. Otherwise, it was very big and beautiful.
Aug 24, 2016
Fantastic stay in the Black Hills - only wish we had booked for longer. Staff was friendly, facility was clean, and I was amazed with all that was going on. Definitely would stay there again on our next trip to the area.
Aug 24, 2016
Wish we had our grandkids with us!! They would have loved your campgrounds too!
Aug 24, 2016
This was the most amazing camp grounds I have ever stayed at.
Aug 24, 2016
We absolutely love going to the Mount Rushmore KOA. We were very disappointed to find that the water slide was closed for "maintenance" for the duration of this stay, as that is our daughter's favorite activity there, but it was still a good experience overall
Aug 24, 2016
This campground is priced too high unless you have small children to use the facilities. I stayed here because I could not find other suitable space. The showers were not maintained as well as they should have been. The wifi is only available at three places over a very large campground. There are flies everywhere and the cable is not up to date and maintained. I had to pay a resort fee.
Aug 24, 2016
Shower house 3 needs some work. It should be more like shower house 1. $5.00 for a dozen eggs!? We were there for only two days. Great place for young families. Just stock up groceries before you arrive.
Aug 24, 2016
The person taking the reservation on the phone told me we would have premium site. When we arrived the site wasn't a premium nor was was it dry. ( it was a giant mud puddle) After paying more for a premium site we asked what the extra $40.00 was for, we were told it was for the pool and other activities. We were never told about this. We cut our stay short and will not return
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
Very friendly staff! Many things to do at the campground.
Aug 24, 2016
Welcomed to KOA by Sarah at the front desk. Very friendly and was able to give us good direction to our campground, especially since we arrived when it was already dark out. Staff was friendly throughout stay and facility was clean and easy to navigate! Had a great time, was able to enjoy the gorgeous night sky amongst the forest green foliage.
Aug 24, 2016
A great place for the family but not for relaxing.Tight spaces, dirty bathrooms and I don't mean just mud. I was unable to enjoy the serenity of being in the woods. There was just too much commotion and noise. The entrance is grand and so is the KOA building but that's about it. Expensive.
Aug 24, 2016
Disappointed. Campground was dark, crowded and confusing. Roads had no signs, gravel, direction signs or exit signs. No campground lighting. Office people were nice.
Aug 24, 2016
Very well managed campground with friendly attentive staff. Overpriced and then they add another $10 "resort fee". Not sure what that was suppose to cover but I was annoyed that it was charged after already paying too much for a campground that doesn't even have 1 WiFi spot. with very limited cell phone coverage WiFi is a must to keep in contact while traveling.
Aug 24, 2016
The campsite was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The Wifi was only available at the service buildings and was slow during peak hours.
Aug 23, 2016
Need a little more Dust control
Aug 23, 2016
Helpful friendly staff fabulous stores!
Aug 23, 2016
This was our first time there and we were travelling with my aging parents. Your campground was an excellent experience! We will be coming back! Thank you
Aug 23, 2016
We would highly recommend this place, along with a horseback riding trail guide with Jake. Great crew who stepped up when a few things went wrong. Not going to give a full five stars. There's always room to improve and please work on keeping the showers cleaner.
Aug 23, 2016
This is a beautiful and well run park. It has horse rentals, car rentals, ute rentals, a resteraunt and bar, coffee and wine shop and more. I loved it!
Aug 23, 2016
Had a great time. They have EVERYTHING you need. We would go back.
Aug 23, 2016
Super kid friendly!! Surpassed our expectations! Will highly recommend to others! :)
Aug 23, 2016
disappointed that we could not get full hookup and 50 amps. service was very good as was the upkeep of the park
Aug 23, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
It was nearly perfect! The one issue we had was that none of the comfort stations have changing tables. They need to be in the men's and women's bathrooms.
Aug 23, 2016
We loved the cabin site, all-you-eat pancakes, and convenient access to all the other offered amenities. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place and all the activities 👍🏻🇺🇸😘
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
It rained mist of iur time there which limited the activities the kids could do but we understand safety concerns. The only real negative was someone threw up in a shower and it didnt get cleaned for a whole day and the womans bathroom had standing water in a corner which didnt seem safe either. It was the one by where the rodeo was held
Aug 22, 2016
Love this place. So much fun. Rodeo was a great idea and a huge benefit
Aug 22, 2016
I thought it to be quite pricey. It is more for families and not motorcycle riders who will be there only to sleep and swim. I feel like people who camp with no children should be given a price break.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals