Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and really enjoyed the campground. I gave a four star because I think that some improvements can be made to make for a better experience staying in a deluxe cabin. The loft needs window blinds to keep the sun from beating in on the occupants. We did not realize the loft area was not twin beds, but actually only twin mattresses laying on the floor.
Jul 26, 2016
Loved the deluxe cabin we stayed in! Only drawbacks were storage issues and would have been nice to have some shades on the windows to block out some light for nappers or just to sleep in! Otherwise it was perfect! Great cabin, great view, and great deck!
Jul 26, 2016
Excellent campgrounds and staff. Well kept and maintained.
Jul 26, 2016
Lots for kids to do and the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
This was our first visit to KOA and the South Dakota area. It was a family trip and we stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was wonderful. Our kids and grandkids didn't want to leave.
Jul 26, 2016
I am surprised, this is suppose to be a resort location. I will never go here again because: The site wasn't nice The bathroom stalls were so small you had to stand in the toilet to open the stall door The resturants were filthy The camping site was downwind from the horses it smelled like a barn The staff was unhelpful when I asked to be moved my family has horse allergies.
Jul 26, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay if you like the open country and the smell of the clean fresh air, the campgrounds has everything you could possibly need while staying, great experience 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
Jul 26, 2016
Great Campground. Pool was a little cold. Wi fi not so good. Loved the store.
Jul 26, 2016
Anyone with kids should stay here but would not recommend for a quiet evening by the campfire. Sites were great but rules/regulations were not enforced. Neighbor was washing his RV - water running down the street. Across street was a 5th wheel, 2 tents and 4 vehicles on one site. Staff was excellent. Kudos to grounds keeper. Flowers/etc beautiful and well tended. Second time I have stayed.
Jul 26, 2016
Location and amenities were great. However, I was disappointed that the facilities were not better maintained. The mini golf course was really a shambles with torn carpeting, crumbling retaining walls and even a pool of disgusting water that had apparently once been a water feature. Showers had seriously compromised caulking and grout, and smelled of mildew. Other things looked shabby, also.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Great accommodations and the staff were very friendly at check in. Everything was just right! Thank you!
Jul 26, 2016
Great location and wonderful and helpful people. It's a great place to camp with lots of activities for the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
Enjoyed our stay,
Jul 26, 2016
I love the bazillion flowers I saw all over the camp site!! It was hot but God gave me an opportunity to use one of two beautiful pools. We read, chatted with neighbors, had fudge, pizza and ice cream and explored the camp site. This is our second year and I am still raving about it to all our neighbors back home in Nebraska. Way to go South Dakota...it was our home away from home for five days:
Jul 26, 2016
Our stay was a bit disappointing. The space 135 had numerous issues. We had to run the water for 10-12 minutes to get rid of the rusty brown color. The Cable connection was broken. For first timers I suggest your host who guides a camper to their sight ask if one has questions before driving off. The men's shower/bathroom close to 135 was nasty and in need of remodeling especially the showers.
Jul 26, 2016
The only issue was that we were not co-located close to family we were meeting, but our location was more remote, wooded, and quiet than theirs, so in the end it worked out okay.
Jul 26, 2016
loved it! so much to do, clean, fun. was our second visit and won't be our last!
Jul 26, 2016
The cabins were awesome! Great location and friendly staff!
Jul 26, 2016
great amenities but sooo crowded and the hot tub was disgucting
Jul 26, 2016
Perfect. Though the kozy kabins need thicker mattesses like aome other KOAs.
Jul 26, 2016
we had a small site, but so much to do it didn't matter
Jul 26, 2016
We have been coming there for 16 years. This year there was a very rude worker there that ruined our day and we were ready to leave. My son complained and we should have gotten an apology but did not. We won't be back. I also have this campground as my home base campground on my value card which I will be changing.
Jul 26, 2016
We were booked into a site not suitable to tenting and the registration staff was able to provide us with several alternate sites and let us choose the one we wanted. The Bathroom/showers in the "comfort station" nearest our campsite wasn't cleaned often enough. The ladies restroom was out of hand washing soap for 3 days before I saw housekeeping close my "comfort station"for cleaning.
Jul 26, 2016
Cabins were perfect, low maintenance to spend time with friends. Scheduled activities were a blast! On site activities were uncomparable! Note: take cash for the pancake breakfast. Comfort station #2 was the best 😂
Jul 26, 2016
Campground was great but please don't advertise wireless when there is none.
Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the amenities and the staff a great place to stay HOWEVER the showers were filthy almost felt dirtier after a shower
Jul 26, 2016
Workes were friendly campsights a little small some of the restrooms needed attention
Jul 25, 2016
Friendly staff, Good central location to all the sites to see. No wifi in camping area (only at lodge)or cell service in campground and for a couple of people in our group kind of a pain as they had to check in with work while there. They rent 4 wheel bikes that hold 4 kids no designated area for them to ride so they are doing on streets of campground and of course they are not watching.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
The facility at Mount Rushmore, SD was very nice. the site we reserved and stayed in was supposed to be 75ft. but we are 60 ft. total and had just fit in the pull-through. Very clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2016
Le WiFi n'est pas toujours opérationnel. Pas de réseau téléphonique.
Jul 25, 2016
We shared a deluxe cabin with my sister's family. It did not sleep 8 comfortably. The sleeper sofa had a spring out the size of two softballs. The campground has a lot of stuff for kids, but it's just way too packed for our liking. We stayed there years ago and it was a more pleasant experience.
Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful camp, something for everyone! The addition of firepits and permanent seating around them at the cabins was an excellent addition!!! Many upgrades were notice. The groundskeepers are to be commended!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Great time lots of stuff for the kids
Jul 25, 2016
Bathrooms were dirty. Resort fee unnecessary. Unfriendly staff. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of sites
Jul 25, 2016
Tried to write a comprehensive review but was cut short by the small number of characters. I'll head over to TripAdvisor to write a full review. Here is the Cole's Notes version. rude and impatient staff in the store Coffee shop not open due to staffing problems $10 resort fee is a joke and shouldn't be charge. Stayed in KOA's every night for two weeks and this one was the worst.
Jul 25, 2016
Our stay was fantastic however we would like to see a recycle station for water bottles and such after all camping is about being in the outdoors and being in the outdoors is loving mother nature and taking care of her
Jul 25, 2016
AMAZING! Just the most wonderful stay at a campground I have ever had. We got the free Rodeo. All the fun activities etc. Truly a resort experience!
Jul 25, 2016
Beyond FANTASTIC!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place for kids, not so much for a retired couple like us. Expensive and our site was adjacent to an overflowing dumpster, flies and smell were bad.
Jul 25, 2016
Family friendly campground, so many activities for the family to do together. Grounds are well kept and staff was friendly. Centrally located to surrounding area attractions.
Jul 25, 2016
Scenery was beautiful but staff was rude and not helpful what so ever. Extremely disappointed.
Jul 25, 2016
Great time with lots of family fun- surprisingly quiet, clean and still a relaxed atmosphere. Priceless time with family. thank you!
Jul 25, 2016
The 1st clerk at check-in ignored me, then the cashier in gift store was very unpleasant, then at the pancake breakfast, the lady asked me about my bottled water, she said outside food wasn't allowed and followed that statement up with "I wouldn't bring food into your home." ...what was I gonna do, walk all the way back to my tent site, leave my water, and walk back up to the pancake tent...wth
Jul 25, 2016
I liked the seasonal staff. I did not find the permanent staff as friendly.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Mostly it was dirty and lacked the conveniences of other KOAs. Bathrooms were atrocious. No sinks for washing camp dishes. Stayed here bcz I wanted to ride horses, but their stables stunk like old zoo elephant habitats- and I ride, too. Lost my appetite for it.
Jul 25, 2016
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are so many activities right on the campground it isn't even necessary to leave. There is some type of entertainment every night, we saw a chainsaw artist. The restaurant on site is delicious and reasonably priced and they also have a fast food restaurant on site too. And the pancake tent, amazing!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals