Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins & Camping Cabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV Sites & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 26, 2016
grate place to stay very clean
Feb 26, 2016
We've stayed at a lot of KOA's but this is by far the best. Beautiful setting, nice people and lots to do for the kids.
Nov 09, 2015
Our camp site was soaking wet but they did take half off. Overall it was a great place but service was slow and ok.
Nov 07, 2015
Very clean. Everyone very courteous and helpful. The Staff very knowledgeable about the attractions to see. Liked the Shower arrangements separated from the bathrooms.
Nov 07, 2015
Nice
Oct 29, 2015
was very pleased with my stay. restrooms were very clean and grounds were clean as well, staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Oct 27, 2015
Beautiful campground
Oct 26, 2015
it was exceptional clean and very tidy.
Oct 26, 2015
It was nice to have a place to stop and plug in when all other campgrounds were completely closed for the season. Looks like beautiful facilities.
Oct 20, 2015
Oct 20, 2015
Awesome! Even off-season it was fabulous
Oct 20, 2015
stayed in after season and it worked out great, had power and dump but water was off. I'd come again.
Oct 16, 2015
It was a wonderful park. Very friendly staff.
Oct 15, 2015
This is the only campground that we stay at when we go to the hills. Everyone VERY friendly and helpful there.
Oct 13, 2015
great att, great stay
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 10, 2015
wifi and cell phone crevice was poor
Oct 10, 2015
A nice palace with a lot of amenities!
Oct 07, 2015
Great campground, beautiful views. A lot of amenities were closed because we went there after Labor Day. The bathrooms and showers were really nice.
Oct 07, 2015
we were pleasantly surprised, we have not stayed at a koa and were very impressed with yours
Oct 06, 2015
What a wonderful campground. We were in town for the Crazy Horse Marathon. We look forward to coming back in the summer. So much to do. The location is close to both Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Oct 06, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff .Clean and well maintained.
Oct 06, 2015
This is a great KOA and we are looking forward to coming back this summer for some fun!
Oct 06, 2015
Oct 06, 2015
Enormous campground. Well maintained and very clean bathrooms. We were disappointed that they didn't keep the hot tub going until they closed.
Oct 05, 2015
We really loved the campground and all the great things you had to do. Your location makes it easy to get to the popular tourist areas. We had interactions with several of the staff and had very positive results. Thank you.
Oct 05, 2015
Very nice campground. Stayed in a deluxe cabin and the amenities were great. Only issue was no lights to help light the roads, difficult to find our cabin.
Oct 05, 2015
We had a great stay here. Very relaxing and just what we needed. It's also so close to so many wonderful little towns and Mt. Rushmore, if you're in the area it's a no-brainer to stay here. Beautiful campground and fantastic staff. Couldn't ask for more!
Oct 05, 2015
Although we're not fans of KOAs, coming in late in the season meant that some parks were closed and others had shut off their water, so this was really our only choice. Boy, did we regret it! The front office help was unfriendly, almost surly. This is promoted as a luxury park with many activities and amenities, but they really need to pay more attention to their RV sites. The roads and pads in
Oct 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at your camp ground. Very clean , great staff very helpful, beautiful surroundings too. We will be back for sure thank you again.
Oct 04, 2015
Hard to find.
Oct 04, 2015
We stayed at this campground the last week that they were open to RV's for the season. The place was very clean and had nice spaces. It had many amenities although stores were already closed for the winter. Great place to stay. Maybe a little pricey.
Oct 04, 2015
Phenomenal views and great facilities. Many things for children to do. Quick access to Mt. Rushmore area attractions.
Oct 03, 2015
I wish we lived closer to this KOA, I would take my Grandkids here every year! I will be looking for other KOA's like this one in California! We were an all adult group with 8 people, stayed in 3 cabins and 1 motorhome; it was a perfect location to see the sites and the cabins were great. Our group took advantage of the fire rings and the decks. We had a great time.
Oct 03, 2015
Wifi did not work. Even when it does it's only available at the main bldg. no cell service. Store only open until 6. Tried to speak to a manager and he never returned my call. Unhelpful staff
Oct 02, 2015
Great campground which lived up to all expectations!
Oct 01, 2015
Very well laid out camp site. Little or no road noise. Very clean and up to date facility.
Sep 30, 2015
Great place!
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 30, 2015
Very efficient and friendly staff and the location was perfect. Centrally located in the Black Hills. Super clean!
Sep 30, 2015
Great stay. Quiet. Good water. Could use more powerful wifi.
Sep 29, 2015
Awesome KOA! Great staff and wonderful activities for the family. Will definitely be back.
Sep 29, 2015
Nice clean bathrooms and showers.
Sep 29, 2015
I was disappointed with our stay at this KOA. I was expecting this fantastic place for our kids to enjoy and found almost all of the fun things closed down for the season. This was not mentioned when I made the reservation. When trying to rent bikes we were told two different prices. The bathrooms were run down and water in the sinks and toilets were brown. Not sure I would return.
Sep 29, 2015
Liked everything about it!
Sep 28, 2015
it was great!!!
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin was clean and the location was great!! There is poor cell reception and the bathroom stalls are tiny. The running water is rust color so we were reluctant to use the facilities for showers or brushing teeth. We still paid the 'resort fee' even though the pools were closed and the pancake breakfasts were closed for the season.
Sep 28, 2015
Great location, loads of activities and great resort!
Sep 28, 2015
The free wifi here is terrible. When we got to our site to set up, the site next to us had put their tent on our site so we were right next to them and there wasn't anything we could do because they close the desk at 6:00 pm which is really early for coming in on a Friday night.
Sep 28, 2015
Great to have the restaurant as an option. We had a tent so, the parking lot ambiance was a bit of a drag for us.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals