Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
Nice campground. However, WiFi did not work and water was brown. The water could be due to the large amount that it rained.
May 26, 2015
Very kind and helpful .. My family will be back 😀
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Everyone was very nice and very helpful. Even when the weather was not.
May 26, 2015
Loved it!
May 26, 2015
We had an issue with not realizing that the Basic Cabins do not come with heat. Compounded with the fact we arrived very late. The gentleman in the white truck was a blessing...he was able to get my Parents into a Room and then guided us to our campsite. Your Team is Awesome!!!
May 26, 2015
Excellent KOA. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to camp near mount rushmore. There are lots of activities and the staff is friendly.
May 26, 2015
It rained the entire stay and we were not able to utilize the kid friendly attractions that we initially stayed at this KOA for. The cabin floors were very slippery and me and my children fell several times. The sofa sleeper bed mattress was so uncomfortable my son could not sleep on it. The towels racks fell off the wall when we used a towel as well as the toilet paper holder. The queen mattress
May 26, 2015
beautiful campground with all amenities anyone could ask for
May 26, 2015
May 25, 2015
Great KOA loved it I will be back and bring family members
May 25, 2015
So many fun activities and the staff were amazing. So helpful and accommodating.
May 25, 2015
A lot of activities for kids, but miss movies at night, especially on a rainy evening. Limited Wi-Fi. The mini golf course needs a make-over. It really shows it's age. Great pancake breakfast.
May 25, 2015
Wow, can't wait to come back. Would come in summer, we had snow. Still it was beautiful. Loved the restaurant.
May 25, 2015
The cabin prices were double that over other local campgrounds, (last minute plans didn't help). Bathrooms were located away from the cabins in the middle of the RV parking. While the staff was great, the overall experience would not make us come back to this campground again.
May 25, 2015
Great location right in between the Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments. Clean facilities and very nice employees. Would definitely stay there again.
May 25, 2015
This KOA is in a beautiful setting. It snowed while we were there and it was like a postcard. The staff was very helpful. We appreciated the little store that they have there for things we ran out of. The only complaint, and it is not their fault, is the cell service is very spotty. But, your are in the mountains so that is to be expected.
May 25, 2015
Very nice for any age camper. Lots of activities for kids and adults
May 24, 2015
What a great place. Friendly people, fantastic views, and super amenities.
May 23, 2015
We appreciated the "upgrade" to a better site, but, it would've been better if the "upgrade" wasn't right in front of the broken water line repair, with its associated backhoe...
May 23, 2015
We were there too early in the season and a lot of the camp wasn't up and running yet (ie: the pizza/ice cream store, the horse rides/buggy show). We would love to come back to experience it all. We loved our cabin and the proximity to all the attractions, especially Mt. Rushmore. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will hopefully be back one day. We will stay at a KOA again.
May 23, 2015
We were there before May 31st, so things weren't up and running yet, however the main disappointment was being park in a site filled with water, which we had to walk in to put pads down for our stabilizers and tongue stand, when there were site all around us that didn't have a water hole. Someone on a golf cart could have selected site not to rent, as you had plenty of sites available. Sorry
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
Friendly staff, but way over priced.
May 21, 2015
Best KOA stayed at. Exceptional amenities, indoor shower closets, hot water, very clean and well maintained, superb gift shop and restaurant, several extras in season. The views are spectacular of the Black Hills all around. This would have received a 5 star except with no cell service, Wi-Fi is mandatory for planning sight seeing and travel. Half their Wi-Fi was down the three days we stayed
May 21, 2015
Great facilities and thanks for doing your best about the wifi. Please upgrade the heaters in cabins.
May 21, 2015
STAFF WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
May 21, 2015
Very nice KOA. good location!
May 20, 2015
Great customer service.
May 19, 2015
Camp ground was great, staff was very friendly and scenery was awesome! Cant wait to come back!
May 18, 2015
Great staff and campground. Already booked a second trip
May 18, 2015
This campground was beautiful! The staff was helpful above and beyond the call of duty. We had a special request that they helped us with without hesitation. They do their job amazingly well.
May 18, 2015
Wonderful....well....2 thumbs up!
May 18, 2015
They upgraded our pop-up site to a cabin when I called a few hours before our arrival and there were terrible storms. Sigh of relief since we had our 4 kids with! We were also the first family the season in the restaurant for breakfast. Great service and great ambiance. Thanks!
May 17, 2015
May 17, 2015
Way to expense as all KOA's are now.
May 17, 2015
We only stayed one night and it rained like crazy. But the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back in a couple of months.
May 16, 2015
Staff was very knowledgeable, helpful and nice.
May 16, 2015
Fantastic place and super nice staff.Highly recommend
May 16, 2015
Everyone there took care of us promptly and effectively. Storm came through and staff had a plan for potential issues, sharing the plan and offering assistance 24/7. This group of people are a great team. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay here. The staff and the campground was one of the best camping experiences we've ever had.
May 16, 2015
Office staff very inept & not terribly welcoming. If park is open for the season then all the amenities should be open at same time.
May 15, 2015
This was absolutely the nicest KOA we ever stayed at. The bathroom/shower room was great. Wish we could have stayed longer and that the snow didn't shorten our stay. Thank you for everything!
May 15, 2015
We came in with two young boys expecting to spend a week playing at the local monuments, and got 17 inches of snow instead. The staff upgraded us to a more comfortable cabin and made sure we had everything we needed to still have an amazing stay. Will deffinately be back!
May 15, 2015
They were very helpful and made the stay very nice. It is because of the hosts that we will be back.
May 15, 2015
May 14, 2015
Really big camp area. Cabin with the loft was very nice. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend
May 14, 2015
Beautiful resort with a wonderful staff!
May 14, 2015
May 13, 2015
The deluxe cabin was clean and cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, I would like to visit KOA Mount Rushore again.
May 12, 2015
Great staff & very convenient!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.