Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2014
great fall colors
Sep 17, 2014
We really enjoyed this campground. Nice, clean and plenty to do.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
No cable sites were available for the length of our stay, which was disappointing. The site we were on was just barely long enough for our RV. The firepit was too close to RV to use. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was not available, which was the biggest disappointment.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Prefer more private restrooms as at Moab UT.
Sep 16, 2014
Best campground I've stayed at in awhile.
Sep 16, 2014
This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at and we have been to many. Wonderful sites, awesome staff, and equipped with everything we needed - even souvenirs! Thank you for a wonderful time.
Sep 15, 2014
A high-end KOA, very large with lots of activities. We are very appreciative of the staff. We had booked 2 nights, but snow was rolling in and we were on motorcycles. They let us cancel our 2nd night with no penalty. Only cleanliness issue is that there were hundreds of dead flies in the window track in the cabins. Gross!! Cabin window seals and tracks need to be cleaned better and checked!
Sep 15, 2014
cabin was nice, the pool, water slide,hot tub were cold and dirty, only water warm was kiddy pool & dirty. going to stay another night in van but after spending about 4 hrs we left. wifi was spotty if not existent. tried to talk to front desk, about our rotten stay, she didn't care that our stay sucked AT ALL, spend to much money for nothing. looks can be deceiving. everything costs.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Beautiful, scenic campground. Very clean. Centrally located in black hills for site seeing for our stay.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The heat in the cabin did not work in the kitchen/living room. It was very chilly the nights we were there and there were not any extra blankets so we were cold all night. They came over the next day to reset the breaker. It worked for a short time then did not work again. Also, the kitchen sink faucet did not work properly. We do like this campground and will stay again.
Sep 15, 2014
You have a great staff and lots of things to do for children. Extremely clean...
Sep 14, 2014
BEST PLACE TO BE TO SEE ALL THE SITES
Sep 14, 2014
After ariving and setting up my tent I found that there was a stream of water 4 feet wide seperating my site from the rest of my site I called and talked to the assistent manager and he told my it was my fault I asked to speak to the manager and he never called me back and he wouldn't take my calls when I called This is by far the worst KOA I have ever stayed at!
Sep 14, 2014
our first KOA stay. very nice staff and very well kept facility. everything that you need.
Sep 14, 2014
Great check in procedure and personnel. Somewhat difficult to relocate campsite after dark after returning from the Mt. Rushmore evening program. Limited signage to find somewhat remote campsite after dark.
Sep 13, 2014
Very nice campground. However, make double sure you have a reservation! Staff didn't have us down as travel together (3 rigs), nor our sites when we arrived!
Sep 13, 2014
Loved the place and the people! Super clean and friendly. We will make this a teary occurrence here!!
Sep 13, 2014
Awesome, very nice and capable staff. Great experience.....
Sep 13, 2014
We liked the cabin and the fire pit area, but it was a long walk to the bathrooms, so it was very inconvenient. In the morning, the sewer was backing up into the shower/bathrooms, so it was disgusting. They were working on it when we left, but in the meantime, there were no facilities to use. The location is great since it is so close to the Monuments, but we would stay somewhere else next time.
Sep 13, 2014
We called and asked if Wi-Fi was available and was told that it was. When we got there we had little if any Wi-Fi for three days. We were told to go a certain spot to have it more available.
Sep 13, 2014
GREAT, HOWEVER, POOR WI-FI, NONE
Sep 12, 2014
It was perfect. Crew was nice-positive and helpful
Sep 12, 2014
Best time my family has had in a long time. Nice clean family friendly campground. Lots of fun!!!!
Sep 11, 2014
THIS PLACE IS GREAT,FRIENDLY EMPLOYEES AND STAFF, CLEAN, IF THERE IS A PROBLEM, THEY ARE CORRECTING IT RIGHT AWAY. THE BEST KOA WE HAVE STAYED AT AND I THINK THIS IS LIKE OUR 8TH YEAR AND PLAN ON RETURNING. LOVE IT. THANKS EVERYONE FOR MAKING OUR VACATION WOUNDERFUL. THE NEISER'S
Sep 11, 2014
Internet needs to be improved. Otherwise very clean and well kept. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.
Sep 11, 2014
Wonderful park. Wish we had arrived before Labor Day to be able to visit the little shops available prior to Labor Day. However, no complaints. Clean showers & restrooms, lots of green space to walk and play with our dog. The flowers were amazing! The man who does them is a true artist! Thanks for a great stay.
Sep 11, 2014
Really missed having Wi-Fi and cell phone service, had camper problems and had to go off site to use phone and lap-top.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Place was a mini city! Nice lady at the front discounted me 10 because i paid too much online. Honesty! The pub was awesome and had excellent food and service! Shame I had to leave after one nite. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Great time and beautiful surroundings!
Sep 10, 2014
Really enjoyed the activities for our grand children, most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Special recognition for the lady cleaning tables at the pancake tent, she was really nice and helpful!
Sep 10, 2014
The staff was friendly. The sites, restrooms and showers were clean. The pancakes were good.
Sep 10, 2014
This was nice but there are other KOA,s that are much better like Spearfish and Rapid city for local examples
Sep 10, 2014
Loved this park. Favorite one we stayed at on the third week of our five week vacation.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Unclean bathrooms, pool area smelled like sewer waste, unfriendly staff. We have had better stays at KOA-PG, but will probably not ever be back.
Sep 09, 2014
It is a nice campground. We got a great spot near the lake where we could see sunrise in the morning. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Beautiful park
Sep 08, 2014
Great place to keep the kids busy! Campground is the largest we've ever stayed at, but very organized. The restaurant had an estimated 30 min wait, but it ended up taking 60 mins. So we were hungry and the food was good. Loved the 2 pools and pancake breakfasts.
Sep 08, 2014
beautiful grounds really clean very friendly staff
Sep 08, 2014
Amazing KOA! Great facilities. Many things to keep you active at the kamp. Beautiful campground.
Sep 08, 2014
Great service, set up well. People were very friendly and helpful. It was our first time at a KOA. So good we signed up for a card!!
Sep 08, 2014
They had above and beyond accommodations in a beautiful setting. I'd love to come back!
Sep 07, 2014
Mount Rushmore has been our favorite campground for the last 45 years!! We look forward to staying there at least once a year! We tell lots of people about it!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.