Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
This is an awesome campground to stay at. There is so much to do at the campground and close by the campground. This was our 3rd time here in last 4 years. We will be be back.
Aug 18, 2017
30/50 amp back in site (646) was a good fit for my 20 foot Toyhauler RV, truck, and 2 motorcycles. Great campground for families, and great location. ..as others have said there is no cell service for Verizon customers, and no over the air TV signal. Not much of a problem for us as we came to the black hills to catch the last part of Sturgis week. Chuck wagon dinner show was a great experience.
Aug 18, 2017
Great KOA!
Aug 18, 2017
We had such an amazing time. We enjoyed Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer but our favorite thing was just hanging around the Mt. Rushmore KOA.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
It was ok. Bathrooms weren't very clean and the sites were very close together. Spread out the sites and clean the bathrooms and I'd think about coming back.
Aug 18, 2017
The park was convenient to Rushmore and other places; the staff was attentive and professional, and there were a lot of activities. However, we had no connectivity - cellular or WiFi. One of these is a must for today's parks. As a result, I can not recommend or rate the park highly.
Aug 18, 2017
We were able to visit Mt Rushmore, The Crazy Horse Monument, Bear Country & Custer Park due to The perfect location for us! We stayed 2 days and it was not enough! So much to see & enjoy. Love Black Hill City, Custer. Lots of activities that will keep you busy, since there is "No Phone Service" not internet, you have to leave the park to get some signal. Love this Koa, no trains !
Aug 17, 2017
We stay here whenever we are in the Black Hills, every 2-3 years. That said, our premium site was not well maintained. Big ruts full of water in our pull through and we had to request gravel to fill them in. That should have been done before we arrived. The grill was dirty and filled with grease that had spilled on concrete staining it. Grass and scrubs were not well maintained.
Aug 17, 2017
All in All it was a great two week stay at your property. We really enjoyed the pancake breakfast and the close vicinity to many Black Hills attractions. We didn't like that we could never obtain a web link in order to read e-mails or pay bills on the road like we can at most KOA facilities. We also had a hard time finding any cellphone connectivity but that may be typical for the BH's.
Aug 17, 2017
KOA should identify that the Mount Rushmore site is in an area that you cannot receive any phone, wi-fi or tv services. Other than that a great campsite.
Aug 17, 2017
Everyone was so helpfull. The camp grounds were beautiful. We were amazed at how much there was to do at the camp ground. We will be back.
Aug 17, 2017
Everything you need for an extended stay is right here located in the heart of the black hills.
Aug 17, 2017
It would be nice to have access to recycling in the future. Also, there was an issue with our campsite set up as far as some confusion about a wooden bench/swing that were not in the proper locations. Otherwise, we had a great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
We really weren't there long enough to give an accurate opinion. Reserved and paid on-line so heck-in was very easy and despite how busy it was we didn't have to wait long to be taken to our spot.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Clean bathrooms and lots to do. Make sure not to use phone directions to find this KOA or you'll come in the single lane gravel back road. Guess there's supposed to be a sign to help avoid this but we sure didn't see it
Aug 17, 2017
All in all it was a very nice RV park with lots of activities for the kids. I must say the shower facilities needs cleaned. The fiberglass shower stalls had built up scum on them, that was disappointing considering the cost of $100.00 a night. Definitely a money maker for the owners!
Aug 17, 2017
The employees at the Play Zone do not care about their jobs or your children. My daughter was climbing the rock wall and almost to the top when the employee started freaking out that she forgot to put my daughter's helmet. She was to busy talking to another employee. I have more to say about the other activities but they will not let me write anymore!
Aug 17, 2017
The original site we had was too small for all our bikes and tents, but staff was able to rent is the spot next to us as well. This KOA is by far a 5 star campground!! Amazing grounds, tons of options, and bathroom #2 was outstanding!!
Aug 17, 2017
Very nice place to spend days or weeks, clean lot of activities, 5 star amenities, organised . Excellent.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
yes nice campsite but if you want to stay in touch limited cell service
Aug 16, 2017
This campground is awesom! So much for the kids to do, and great facilities. By far the nicest campground we have stayed at!!
Aug 16, 2017
"Wow!" is all I can say. Everything under the sun was available and we even debated skipping all of our other plans, just to hang out at the campground!!! What a clean, friendly and AMAZING facility! We will be back for sure!
Aug 16, 2017
Beautiful setting, wonderful campstore with lots of merchandise. Coffee bar delicious. Friendly staff. Putt putt and activities superb. Need to improve bathroom facilities and cleanliness. Bathrooms may have been dirty due to crowd with Sturgis motorcycle fest, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
Crowded but lots to do at the KOA and very close to Mount Rushmore. Very well run and organized.
Aug 16, 2017
The location was great, and the amenities were amazing. Our camping site had the neighbors sewer hook up right in the middle of our sight which was not very nice....
Aug 16, 2017
The staff was always very helpful! The activities were great and kept both our 4 and 16 yr old busy!
Aug 16, 2017
A very convenient location, a massive campground that is well maintained, with lots to do for everyone. But, be warned, there is very poor cell coverage (AT&T) and wifi never works, even if they say it sometimes works!
Aug 15, 2017
My favorite family campground
Aug 15, 2017
FANTASTIC,,,the kids and adults,,had a great time,,,we shall return.. Thanks,, Scott
Aug 15, 2017
Stay was good, restrooms and showers need to be remodeled they are not in good shape and one shower didn't even work. Other showers have low pressure.
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly staff. Campground was clean and well organized
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground and very convenient to the sites of the Ruhmore area.
Aug 15, 2017
They put us right in a group of a family reunion people walking through our camp site and little kids riding there bikes through it. Was very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Bathrooms/showers were gross at times. Need to be cleaned more often when busy. Would have liked better WiFi, because it was so full internet was basically non existent, which also can be a pro...
Aug 15, 2017
Our stay was awesome! Thereally was so much to do and see at the campground and in the area. Our only problem was that the GPS took us to the service entrance of the campground and it was difficult to find driving an RV.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We loved our time here. It was very clean, well maintained, loads of things to do and very little cell phone service (which is a good thing).
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
overall good
Aug 15, 2017
Wow!!!
Aug 15, 2017
Way too crowded, campfires made the air very smokey. We couldn't even see the stars at night. Was not up to standards of a "Holiday" resort. No landscaping between sites. Very dusty. Did not compare to the Glacier KOA. Kids running around EVERYWHERE! You should try to have an adult only area do we could have had a more pleasant experience. Too crowded for campfires!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Really nice campground, the staff is very friendly and has a lot of activities.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals