Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 23, 2017
Great for families so much to do onsite and also not far from all attractions. Already booked our vacation for next year at the same KOA. Very family friendly staff was very helpful and nice. Facilities very clean.
Jun 23, 2017
The kids loved the Fun Zone and water slide. There was a lot for them to do. The Pancake tent was great.Bathrooms were messy (showers), I was there at 7:15 pm. Otherwise great and close to Mt Rushmore Memorial and Crazy Horse.
Jun 23, 2017
Everything was clean. The employees were so helpful and nice. Great place to stay.
Jun 23, 2017
Loved the location, all the amenities, a little more pavement to keep the dust down would be nice
Jun 23, 2017
Too busy for me and the internet does not work anywhere. You should not advertise that it is available.
Jun 23, 2017
The location was beautiful. That's about it. Staff was not very friendly. Was too busy paying attention to the other other transaction that was happening, and the WiFi was terrible. I'm from out of state and was disappointed that I had no service what so ever. Kinda ruined our trip. Couldn't search for more things to do in the area.
Jun 23, 2017
First of all, when I called I booked a deluxe patio site I expected what I booked. Instead I got a standard patio which they labeled as a deluxe but the map shows standard patio. I talked to the supervisor and she said the map is wrong. I feel I should be reimbursed because I did not get what I booked. Also the site we had was the sparse. Lastly, no cell or wifi, not good.
Jun 22, 2017
Clean, well maintained, friendly ztaff, great services and plenty of activities.
Jun 22, 2017
Kid oriented. Lots of kids equipment to play on. Our 2 grandkids, 9 + 10, loved it. Enjoyed sightseeing. We will be back.
Jun 22, 2017
Very nice campground, we like that there are a lot of things available right there at the camp, car rentals, golf cart rentals, play area for kids, bar and restaurant as well as coffee, enjoyed our stay and will recommend this campground to friends and family .
Jun 22, 2017
This was our first KOA experience and our stay at Palmer Gulch could not have been better. We had an issue with our reservation (site type), but Ben saved the day!! He went above and beyond to make sure we got the right accommodations! We cannot thank him and the whole staff enough! Thanks for making our trip special!
Jun 22, 2017
Excellence!!!! We were first timer to the whole KOA experience and what a great time we had! Everything at our fingertips! The staff was 5 ♦️♦️♦️♦️♦️ Thank for the best RV experience!
Jun 22, 2017
We rolled in late. Had a reservation. We have a long and low trailer and was unable to get to the site they saved for us. Mike and his crew found a site that we could get in to. It was perfect. They hospitality was great. Hope we can catch your rodeo next time. It sounds cool! Thanks mike and the crew. Moses Lake WA
Jun 22, 2017
Sites were very tight. Showers were pretty gross and smelled.
Jun 21, 2017
It was great. The KOA manager Mike did an awesome job and was so helpful.
Jun 21, 2017
We had a great experience. We will definitely be back.
Jun 21, 2017
Lots to do for kids. Fairly crowded, spaces close together.
Jun 21, 2017
It was a great campground to stay at. There was so much to do at the location itself. The horses​ and little pizza joint was our favorite. The lodge up front was also a nice and very practical for camping. I rated it 4/5 because the bathrooms were alittle dirty for my liking and the sites are packed together so tight on busy nights that we barely fit in our spot.Overall we would stay again
Jun 21, 2017
Great place, my grandkids loved it
Jun 21, 2017
Wonderful! Much better than we expected and even decided to stay an extra night because of it. Appreciated the helpful staff and clean grounds.
Jun 21, 2017
Excellent facilities for a KOA. You need to stay here.
Jun 21, 2017
Awesome place, lots to do and see around the area.If you get a chance do the trail ride and ATV trails, spotted over 50 deer, turkeys, chipmunks, and cows.
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
Great site with incredibly helpful staff. Will definitely be back soon!
Jun 21, 2017
We had a great stay. My only problem was that the wifi didn't work. We even tried hard wiring it too. Its hard to make plans on back home trip when you can't make any reservations.
Jun 21, 2017
Wonderful time! My son didn't want to leave. Thank you to all the staff!!!!
Jun 21, 2017
Check in was a bit disorganized. We were at one check in,the lady said she didn't have a till & had us go to another check-in. We request to be in a part of the resort we know because we're local and were told "we don't do that" & instead were put in the most crowded part of camp, Spot 552. Our fire pit was nearly under our neighbors slideout. Our kids like this camp but it's much to cramped
Jun 21, 2017
Fun place!
Jun 21, 2017
Very Close to Mt Rushmore and very clean.
Jun 21, 2017
No cell service, no wifi except tethered sitting in the laundry area, 30 amp instead of 50 reserved, sites extremely close together and unsympathetic staff. Even though they could not accommodate our 50 amp request for 2nd night we were still charged a $10 cancellation fee for not staying the second night,
Jun 20, 2017
Great place for family get together. Have camped here for about 25 yrs. Now our kids are coming with their families with us annually.
Jun 20, 2017
Enjoyed our stay thoroughly
Jun 20, 2017
camp grounds have very narrow roads,campsites & some are on hills not for large campers my is a 5th wheel 33ft.they said wifi is spotty they were not kidding no cell service I have verizon I would go to town for both services.will stay in town next time
Jun 20, 2017
I made my reservation for a family trip in January. Explained that we had 14 individuals and would have a minimum of two tents and an RV. The spot provided was the size of a postage stamp I'm not sure why when I was more than willing to pay for additional sites. Very disappointed - made for a really poor experience
Jun 20, 2017
Best KOA We've stayed at. Great variety of things to do. Beautiful setting.
Jun 20, 2017
This was our first KOA visit and was one of our best rv stays ever. Left our awning out on our camper on a very windy day, when we returned our awning was secured back to our camper, thany you. 5 stars
Jun 20, 2017
Excellent campground, a lot for kids to keep busy with, clean, and friendly.
Jun 20, 2017
We very much enjoyed the stay at your KOA. We had our very active grandsons along, and they truly enjoyed all of the activities you offered. (And, the pancakes!!)
Jun 20, 2017
Fantastic.!!
Jun 20, 2017
Great location; loved the rodeo, horse riding and pools. A little too large for us, but enjoyed our stay.
Jun 20, 2017
The Fun Zone is great. Campsites. Except for Deluxe we're fair. The young men cleaning up campsites were great in promptly getting gravel for a mud hole on our site. Will come again with grandkids but not just us. Chuck wagon ride and dinner was great.
Jun 20, 2017
We were able to arrive the day before our original reservations, and they graciously had a nice space for us, which was very much appreciated.
Jun 20, 2017
There is a "good" side to this camp ground and "rustic" side. We got the bad side. Site not even close to being level, lifted front wheels off the ground to get level. Several camp grounds in area looked nicer. But it was real close to attractions.
Jun 19, 2017
Beautiful campground with lots of activities to keep kids entertained. One of the best we have stayed at.
Jun 19, 2017
This KOA was awesome. By far the best place to stay in the area. Right next to Mt Rushmore and it has everything you could ever want. We especially enjoyed the horseback riding!
Jun 19, 2017
My family and I had a great time during our four day stay. We wish we would've booked a longer stay as it was our first time visiting the Mt. Rushmore area. We will definitely be returning!
Jun 19, 2017
Poor wifi access and noisy conditions will prevent my return.
Jun 19, 2017
Great KOA with alot of amenities. Very close to Mount Rushmore and other attractions in the area. Our only complaint is with the terrible WIFI service. Tried to connect near the office/store and at the pub. Never could connect near the office and only one of the 2 nights we visited the pub. Had to sit in a certain seat at the bar to get it to connect.In today's fast paced world WIFI is important.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
There was always something to do that kept us busy and the family had an amazing time wish we could have stayed longer
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals