Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 22, 2016
Had a great stay, people are very nice. Had planty of space. Would have liked to have WIFI.
Sep 22, 2016
the facilities were great. They need to get Wifi to whole campground. No TV unless you're hook to cable. Cell service in the campground not great. That is not their fault.
Sep 22, 2016
beautiful place
Sep 22, 2016
all good
Sep 22, 2016
If they had internet service in the actual RV camping area I would have given them 5 stars. Keep in mind no cell phone or internet services anyplace but the check in store are.
Sep 22, 2016
Probably one of the BEST we stayed at..... Very friendly, clean and well laid out
Sep 22, 2016
This may be a nice place in season but off season the rates do not reflect the services. We parked in a gravel area, with straw for grass with intermittent Wi-Fi at best and no TV reception. We were told the restaurant was open until 9:00 Pm but when we went for dinner at 8:05 it was closed. When trying to make reservations we were disconnected several times. This park may be better in season
Sep 22, 2016
They have basically shut down for the season, most amenities closed, WiFi horrible but still charging a "resort" fee. Not worth the $$!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the misunderstanding about resort amenities and activities. We will do better with the listings online. I also did check you payment record and a Resort fee was not charges.
Sep 21, 2016
Friendly stuff, quiet
Sep 21, 2016
Sep 21, 2016
Amenities galore were advertised but during our stay - ALL CLOSED. Apparently, shutting down for the season means BEFORE you shut down for the season. YET we were STILL charged the SAME high price as if all amenities were available. Will never stay here again. We left 2 days earlier than planned. No AT&T nor Verizon phone service, no internet & only 6 cable channels of which ONE comes in clear.
Sep 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. The bathrooms were amazingly clean. We came on the off season, but wished the ice cream shop would have been open yet.
Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful people to deal with.
Sep 20, 2016
A great place to stay in the summer for folks looking for a campground with plenty to do. When all those extras are open or available the resort fee makes perfect sense. When many of these extras are closed, when they don't escort you to your site, and when they don't deliver firewood, the resort fee is not fair. Could not find our confirmed reservation. Great location saves this KOA.
Sep 20, 2016
We stayed here years ago and were very pleased. This time we were very disappointed. First KOA where they did not escort us to our spot. We pull a 40' 5th wheel with a crew cab short box. We were too long for our spot. I was too tired to try to manage to drive back to the office and too tired to walk. I am not young anymore. So we unhooked and found some parking a distance off. GREATLYDISAPPOINTED
Sep 20, 2016
Very nice park but no mention of a $3/day dog fee when making reservations, nor do they tell you that only 36 out of 615 sites have cable, nor there is no TV reception from your antennas, nor that you have zero cell phone service from any provider. I asked for a cement pull through site when making my reservation and was told my site was paved. No cement pads in the park. Lots of mis-information.
Sep 19, 2016
Super nice campground. My favorite in the Black Hills so far. Lots of space and activities for my kids. When they say the WIFI is limited, they aren't kidding. All of the campgrounds in the Hills are expensive, and this one is no exception. Other than price and WIFI they are 5 star. Will stay again.
Sep 19, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Thank you
Sep 19, 2016
We liked that it is central to everything in the Rushmore area, but the restrooms were not that clean. Our RV hook up experience was not good. The water hookup leaked and we could not use the water because we arrived late in the evening. They did fix it in the morning, but not having water was a pain.
Sep 18, 2016
Extremely clean and organized- highly recommended to family and friends
Sep 18, 2016
We were very disappointed with this KOA. All of the activities were shut down because it was after Labor Day but the prices were not discounted. We were told that we have purchases full hook-ups. No TV and Internet service was only at the registration desk. Very disappointed!!!!!
Sep 18, 2016
A little pricey. More of a resort than a campground. Beautiful area and easy access to Rushmore and other tourist attractions nearby. No WIFI or phone or anything due to location in a valley. Clean facilities. Off season it was very nice!
Sep 18, 2016
Amazing bathrooms and showers! We weren't able to stay long (one night) but we definitely want to come back. Very nice place!
Sep 17, 2016
Very nice Campground.Enjoyed the restraunt for breakfast and dinner. Would definitely stay there again.
Sep 17, 2016
Sep 17, 2016
Muddy need cement or at the very least gravel parking slots. Otherwise quite lovely
Sep 17, 2016
We loved our time there thank you
Sep 17, 2016
Very expensive for what you get! Pull through spot had huge puddles of water from rain( need to be filled in and better drainage - no wifi or phone bars at all - only in the laundry room! Very expensive and many of their services that they promote are closed after Memorial Day but no discounts fir staying! Washrooms clean!
Sep 16, 2016
We loved the campground, thought maybe the sites we a little closer to each other than we would have liked. Staff was very nice and the views were amazing. Loved that you could rent a car so we didn't have to drive out huge truck thru the hills. Really enjoyed it!!!!😃
Sep 16, 2016
Resort KOA so a little pricey. Most amenities were not available due to being the day after labor day. No cell service and the wifi doesn't reach the campsite made planning the next phase of our trip very difficult. Extending the wifi to the campsites is a much needed improvement to this KOA.
Sep 16, 2016
All activities were close for the season but it is a great camp ground
Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful landscape, centrally located to everything. Loved the place! One lady in gift shop wasnt friendly.
Sep 16, 2016
More than a campground this KOA is a resort with lots for kids to do. We stayed in September when it was mostly us retired folk. Quiet, safe and clean. A bit high priced probably because of proximity to Mt. Rushmore.
Sep 16, 2016
No cell service nor wifi
Sep 15, 2016
We arrived at 12:30am after a long day on the road. The space we had been assigned was way too short for our rig but it was corrected the next morning. The WiFi was almost non-existant but other than that we had a great time.
Sep 15, 2016
What an awesome place!!! We were so impressed with the cleanliness of the park and all of the things there were to do without leaving the park. My three kiddos ages 9-15 had plenty to keep them busy for our 5 night stay. Pancakes were great and we all enjoyed the icecream and pizza.I would say that the only thing I was a little disappointed with was the friendliness of some of the staff.
Sep 15, 2016
This is a premiere RV park. Everyone was so friendly and nice. A bit expensive for an RV park.
Sep 15, 2016
Too crowded. Too many young kids. Too much noise. Cheap laundry machines that don't do a good job.
Sep 15, 2016
Very nice accommodations. Highly recommend your lamp. Thanks
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
Fantastic facility with all amenities. Good restaurant, lots of showers, kid friendly. Helpful staff also.
Sep 14, 2016
Very nice, enjoyed our stay! Great location!!
Sep 14, 2016
It was good. The washrooms are clean.
Sep 13, 2016
Clean and friendly
Sep 13, 2016
Great Campground, Not Happy with the extra fees, need to address the lack of Wifi on site, due to the very poor cell service in the area. Every thing else was about as good as it gets.
Sep 13, 2016
Campground centrally located in Cody. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside is horrible WiFi even sitting in he office.
Sep 13, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals