Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
great!!!!
Jul 27, 2014
We had a great time at your koa thank you.
Jul 27, 2014
Lots of activities for kids and adults! Absolutely love this campground!!
Jul 27, 2014
Our sites were the best sites at the camp!! Close to laundry, bathroom, and pool!! When we stay again we will certainly request them!! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved all the free activities and the trail rides. My only recommendation would be to update/remodel the showers. They got the job done, but were quite "dirty" looking, though it could be that they just need an update!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay.
Jul 27, 2014
Bathrooms need updated. Cleaned more frequently. Prices on items high. Booked a shaded site, was given a flooded no shade site. Some poor attitudes at lodge. Terrible service and food at the ponderosa. Location and most other staff very helpful. Great activities.
Jul 27, 2014
Wifi didn't work Flies were all over sink in Comfort station 4 Fire ants all over wall behind urinals. Flies were taking over some of the shower rooms. The hot tubs in kid area was full of yellow water. There was also a lot of kids in them all the time.
Jul 27, 2014
Lean and well maintained. Definitely a great place for kids. Wifi is only available at 3 hotspots however. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2014
First-rate family fun. Great location, friendly helpful folks at every turn. A special thank you to Jim, who showed us our camp sight upon check in, he was friendly and great with our kids. A wonderful time!
Jul 27, 2014
Superb Campground with a lot of fun activities for kids and families. Well kept up, and the employees were very friendly and helpful. Only 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore too.. Great place to camp!
Jul 27, 2014
Pool water was dirty. Bathrooms needed cleaned more often.
Jul 27, 2014
Wow! What a campground! We will be coming back next summer for a week or two so we can spend some time, can't wait!
Jul 27, 2014
Loved it! Very active place for kiddos! Water slide, 2 pools, bball court, vball court, the kamp kitchens are dirtyweren't cleaned the whole time we were there. The komfort station nearest us was run down and needs a lot more cleaning. Staff was great and attentive!
Jul 27, 2014
Not much shade, but lots to do for all ages. Very well run camp ground
Jul 27, 2014
This KOA was so filthy I cut my stay short. The pool was terrible, sites were small, rude people. I do not know why there would be a $10 resort fee for staying in such a bad place. This KOA should be visited by health inspectors it would be shut down
Jul 27, 2014
On a dirt road backin with 30 amp service when I requested a 50 amp pull through and was told ok but you may have to move each day. 30 amp did not stay on . Checked to see where I would be the following day of my 3 night stay & was told another site just like it. Cancelled and moved to a better campground .
Jul 26, 2014
We had a wonderful time at Mt. Rushmore KOA! There are so many things to do and activities! We will definitely come back again!
Jul 26, 2014
It was great. Thanks. U may want to leave trash bags daily when u pick up so we could have continued to recycle.
Jul 26, 2014
there does need to be a few more seats in the restrooms, for as many sites and cabins that there are. we love the location and all the wonderful amenities. it was our 3rd time staying at Palmer Gulch! One employee, Jane from Mass. was not as customer friendly as she should be, but the rest of the staff was great.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Great place for kids and close to attractions. The only bad thing is the wifi is terrible otherwise we enjoyed it!!
Jul 26, 2014
Used site 624 cramped,Muddy and you could smell the dumpster behind it. I think I will try another camp ground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
It was great ! We stayed an extra day just because how much fun we were all having !
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great time . The camp ground are nice and clean and the employes were very helpful and friendly .
Jul 26, 2014
Attendant extremely friendly and helpful, facilities well keep and clean, a lot of activities for families. Only complain the alcohol and cigarette ID purchase require by the manager if you can not differentiate between a 70 year old and a 17 year old them you must may need to find a different job!!!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Great place for kids. Disappointed in the wifi, couldn't get service at all.
Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyed the campground . Kids were thrilled with the activities that were available to them. Just a little too much traffic- cars coming and going all the time - made us a little nervous about our little one and getting too close to the road. Also dump site should not be so close to camp sites- pay too much money to have to smell that smell everyday.
Jul 25, 2014
Clean showers , great food , lots of activities.
Jul 25, 2014
So I stayed another night
Jul 25, 2014
There was no internet service at our site or the hotspot indicated on their map. Other than that it was a very nice place.
Jul 25, 2014
We had a great camping site! However, the handicapped accessible shower was out of order the entire time of our 4 night stay. Didn't have kids with us but would be a great spot for kids. Amazingly, by 10 o'clock the campground was very quiet.
Jul 25, 2014
My sister & her family & my family met there (from MT and MN). We had a kamping kabin and a site for a pop-up. We had a total of 7 children between the two families. After a full day of sight-seeing & seeing what the KOA had to offer, our second day was spent completely at the campground. The activities offered were amazing and everyone had a blast. I highly recommend this A+ campsite!
Jul 25, 2014
to many people for the amount of comfort stations that were available. Was unable to use the shower the two times I attempted and the bathrooms ere all ways full. Need more for the number of sites and cabins.
Jul 25, 2014
2 minor complaints NoCell phone service Some more attention to rest room early morning bugs on sinks & floor
Jul 25, 2014
Too busy to be personal. Didn't care that campers were so close to one another that awnings could not be pulled out. Nice activities for kids but water in slide and wading pool very dirty.
Jul 24, 2014
Great location, excellent amenities. But WAY too crowded.
Jul 24, 2014
Just two gents toilette cubicles in a comfort station near Roosevelt with many many people wanting to use the toilet! WiFi hotspots absolutely useless! It's a gigantic RV Park so that the minimal supply of bandwidth is severely clogged by so many people wishing to use the Internet for different purposes and when a kid lgs in and starts streaming videos or games then there's no Internet.
Jul 24, 2014
Great service and great views. People were always friendly and helpful. Being in a valley it was difficult for TV and internet reception, but no need for that with all the sites and things to do.
Jul 24, 2014
I rate your KOA as great. We had a wonderful time. I like to see the water situation get better. Taste very poor. Lots of fun great staff and we will be back next year for a two week stay with my grandson. Thanks everyone. Ron Blasko
Jul 24, 2014
This was a great place with lots of activities for the kids. We stayed here 11 years ago too. The showers were full of gnats so we used our own facilities, but otherwise everything else was great.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
great time and place, it was our 2nd time there thanks.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
The staff was very helpful. The amenities at this KOA are pretty unbelievable (i.e. pool/splash park, volleyball, mini golf, horseback riding, etc). Great location. Only downside is that the tent sites (with electric) are very small but staff as very accommodating helping us find something that would work for our two tents.
Jul 24, 2014
Way too crowded for our tastes. Nice though.
Jul 24, 2014
Advertising "free WiFi", and providing excuses for not having a usable service is known as 'bait & switch'. It is frankly illegal. You should be ashamed of doing that. It is not a technical issue, it is a financial one. Invest in the infrastructure and the problem will go away. Otherwise change your advertising to tell the truth before someone commits to stay there.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.