Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Great park. Great staff.
Aug 24, 2016
Nice park, very large establishment. Sites were small, had a section of grass on my site removed. Caused more dirt and mud (rained during our stay)to be track into the trailer.
Aug 24, 2016
It was wonderful kids really enjoyed it will definitely come again
Aug 24, 2016
Excellent campgrounds especially if you have kid lots to do and clean facilities.
Aug 24, 2016
Pancake deal, not such a deal for larger groups. Will suggest others skip it due to cost. Consider allowing byo beverage/shareable sizes of meat at a discount. Great time with the grandkids, 8-6-2. Right across from Kids Zone.They had a blast! Thank you!!
Aug 24, 2016
Wish we had our grandkids with us!! They would have loved your campgrounds too!
Aug 24, 2016
We absolutely love going to the Mount Rushmore KOA. We were very disappointed to find that the water slide was closed for "maintenance" for the duration of this stay, as that is our daughter's favorite activity there, but it was still a good experience overall
Aug 24, 2016
This campground is priced too high unless you have small children to use the facilities. I stayed here because I could not find other suitable space. The showers were not maintained as well as they should have been. The wifi is only available at three places over a very large campground. There are flies everywhere and the cable is not up to date and maintained. I had to pay a resort fee.
Aug 24, 2016
Shower house 3 needs some work. It should be more like shower house 1. $5.00 for a dozen eggs!? We were there for only two days. Great place for young families. Just stock up groceries before you arrive.
Aug 24, 2016
The person taking the reservation on the phone told me we would have premium site. When we arrived the site wasn't a premium nor was was it dry. ( it was a giant mud puddle) After paying more for a premium site we asked what the extra $40.00 was for, we were told it was for the pool and other activities. We were never told about this. We cut our stay short and will not return
Aug 24, 2016
Very friendly staff! Many things to do at the campground.
Aug 24, 2016
A great place for the family but not for relaxing.Tight spaces, dirty bathrooms and I don't mean just mud. I was unable to enjoy the serenity of being in the woods. There was just too much commotion and noise. The entrance is grand and so is the KOA building but that's about it. Expensive.
Aug 24, 2016
Disappointed. Campground was dark, crowded and confusing. Roads had no signs, gravel, direction signs or exit signs. No campground lighting. Office people were nice.
Aug 24, 2016
Very well managed campground with friendly attentive staff. Overpriced and then they add another $10 "resort fee". Not sure what that was suppose to cover but I was annoyed that it was charged after already paying too much for a campground that doesn't even have 1 WiFi spot. with very limited cell phone coverage WiFi is a must to keep in contact while traveling.
Aug 23, 2016
Need a little more Dust control
Aug 23, 2016
Helpful friendly staff fabulous stores!
Aug 23, 2016
This was our first time there and we were travelling with my aging parents. Your campground was an excellent experience! We will be coming back! Thank you
Aug 23, 2016
This is a beautiful and well run park. It has horse rentals, car rentals, ute rentals, a resteraunt and bar, coffee and wine shop and more. I loved it!
Aug 23, 2016
Had a great time. They have EVERYTHING you need. We would go back.
Aug 23, 2016
Super kid friendly!! Surpassed our expectations! Will highly recommend to others! :)
Aug 23, 2016
disappointed that we could not get full hookup and 50 amps. service was very good as was the upkeep of the park
Aug 23, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place and all the activities 👍🏻🇺🇸😘
Aug 22, 2016
Love this place. So much fun. Rodeo was a great idea and a huge benefit
Aug 22, 2016
I thought it to be quite pricey. It is more for families and not motorcycle riders who will be there only to sleep and swim. I feel like people who camp with no children should be given a price break.
Aug 22, 2016
Very much liked our stay. Only suggestions would be to clean the bathrooms a few more times a day and improve the Wifi.
Aug 22, 2016
The campsite was great. The WiFi router could be reset more often. You could connect to the router but it sounded like no one could connect to the internet at the out post. I understand the bandwidth but even with low bandwidth should be able to connect to something.
Aug 22, 2016
Everyone was friendly and the place immaculately clean everywhere! Thank you
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
We love this campground!! Very fun for kids!
Aug 22, 2016
We stayed at this campground for 3 nights in August 2016. Great activities for the kids, super clean bathrooms/showers and the convenience stores were great. Rented a car, as we had an RV to see the local sites. We will be back!
Aug 22, 2016
Wonderful camping here!! Everyone very helpful and polite! Would advise anyone to stay here !!
Aug 22, 2016
Great location, great facilities and friendly staff. the only complaint is that the pools were very cold and the pool by the stables could use a skim to get the bugs out
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Loved it!!
Aug 21, 2016
Good spacing on camp sites. Morning pancakes in the tent is the best reason to wake up in the morning.
Aug 21, 2016
Amazing campground, like staying at a resort! We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!
Aug 21, 2016
Your place it wonderful for kids. But was disappointed in how close camp sites were , dirty bathhouses, and pool and hot tub were dirty .
Aug 21, 2016
Great place, great location, great service, great amenities. Too many lights, doesn't get dark, campers too close. We'll probably head to state parks in future. If your into these RV hotels you will not find a better one.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was great except for WI-FI. Lots of things to do, great location. Friendly, helpful staff.
Aug 21, 2016
Simply Fantastic
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for families with kids . Not so much for older couples . Too many ATV's ruining around . Be very careful parents let their kids run free . Makes restrooms very dirty at times .
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for a family.
Aug 21, 2016
We have stayed in the past but found the bathrooms to be dirty during whole stay. It seemed like this visit the facilities were not kept up as they seemed to be last time. Putt putt course needs some love. Other than that we had a nice stay.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was wonderful!! However, you do need to install speed bumps on the main road side. We camped in a spot on the side closest to the main road I think 240 .... Vehicles flew by way too fast!!! Not the 10 mph limit that was posted. Very unsafe!!! Otherwise great place!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Every thing was great except the Wi-Fi while present did not work most of the time.
Aug 20, 2016
my stay was wonderful the campground was clean and quiet the staff was friendly I could not ask for anything more a definite must stay if you are in this area
Aug 20, 2016
Too many things to do in one trip. We will be back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals