Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Site was pretty small: camper and small SUV did not fit on pad, had to park in grass. Wifi was slow and restricted to small areas--which is an issue here (e.g. weather reports) since there was no cellular service (as in "No Service" was displayed on the phone). That being said: the staff and facilities were great and clean, and the location in the heart of the Mount Rushmore area was fantastic!
Jun 21, 2016
Over rated, high priced, no wifi, spaces on hill side were to short for 31 foot trailer. Staff were great.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Palmer gully koa was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I came in to camp with a reservation. The site didn't work for my needs so the general manager Mike went with me and found a spot that would work for my groups special needs. I am greatful the staff cared enough to make sure we were taken care of!
Jun 20, 2016
Only thing that you could improve on is the wifi since using cell service isn't possible.
Jun 20, 2016
This was our first trip to a KOA and our family will definitely be back to this one. The facilities were amazing! The campsites were clean and well kept. Every staff member we met was friendly and went above and beyond. One of the pools was closed for a day and they worked very hard to get it back up and running again. The bathrooms, showers, etc. were spotless. We were impressed!
Jun 20, 2016
Too much noise and people. Ok for family type of customers. Just not our cup of tea.
Jun 20, 2016
if you have kids you would never have to leave the camp ground so much to do
Jun 20, 2016
To large and confusing. Shower house was to far away. No wifi except in a few public areas. Helpful staff and clean facilities just way to big!
Jun 20, 2016
The spot (167) we were at was very wet, so some grading might need to be done. We were surprised not to find cement slabs at each space, especially the pull through (more expensive) spots. One pool was closed half the days we were there, the other was freezing (heater broken?) which made it unusable. No enforcement of some kid area rules (pillow). We still enjoyed out stay.
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun!!
Jun 20, 2016
We got together with some of our children and grandchildren. We were grouped together, 4 campsites, had beautiful weather and completely enjoyed ourselves. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay.
Jun 20, 2016
Great place to stay with lots of things for kids to do.
Jun 20, 2016
WIFI never worked. Pool closed most of week and no cellphone reception in valley. Paid way too much for no wifi.
Jun 20, 2016
The kids loved this campground and were sad to go!
Jun 20, 2016
Fun trip! Good location. Nice grounds and kept up well. Showers and bathrooms were clean. This place has just about everything!
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great. Alot of things to do for kids. Staff is helpful and very nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Fun time, bathrooms not the cleanest
Jun 20, 2016
There are so many things to do, that I have recommended Palmer Gulch to my daughter & husband who have 4 young boys. They would have a great time and get some history as well.
Jun 20, 2016
Nice campground, but too expensive for the wifi to NEVER work and to not have cell reception. I pick KOA so I can still have a taste of civilization, but this wifi didn't work at all. For $100/night this must work. The pool was also closed during the week for an unknown reason. The resort is clean though and the ice cream shop was nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Great location and friendly employees.
Jun 20, 2016
All is great. Staff very helpful. Wish it was a little cheaper, tho.
Jun 20, 2016
Originally planned to stay only two nights but extended our stay for five nights. Very clean with amazing views and lots to do (rented a UTV and went horseback riding). Great pizza/ice cream parlor as well as a coffee/wine shop. Staff was extremely polite and helpful.
Jun 19, 2016
Great place to vacation.
Jun 19, 2016
enjoyed everything, except one of the pools was hardly open with no explanation. Other pool was COLD, hot tub was correct pool temperature
Jun 19, 2016
We had a wonderful time at the Mount Rushmore KOA. The activities were top-notch and the facilities were perfect. All of the staff that we encountered were helpful and courteous.
Jun 19, 2016
Very impressed in how they take care of the camp and campers. It rained and the employees were out taking care of the roads and warning people to lower their awnings. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids had a blast with all the activities.
Jun 19, 2016
Even though we requested a shaded, more private site, sites are all extremely close together. No privacy at all. Luckily we camped during the week, as we were leaving the campground was really filling up. Site maintenance has a very hard time with pools, all very green and one had to be closed. Unfortunately, Rodeo grounds took away the 1 natural, pretty view. Showers are horribly moldy smelling.
Jun 19, 2016
Very friendly staff, plenty of activities for the family and a beautiful campsite. Bathrooms & showers are nice and clean. I wish they had more bathroom & shower facilities because my son had an accident since we had a bit of a walk to the bathrooms, but if I had known where our site would be VS the bathrooms; I would've requested a place closer just for that reason.
Jun 19, 2016
We had a nice slot. The showers & bathroom area was nice & clean. Staff & other campers were friendly. Our granddaughter enjoyed both pools. The snack bar had great food which we enjoyed many times. Good place to stay especially if you had children with you! Thanks a bunch for a great stay-4 nights.
Jun 19, 2016
Place was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My son loved the pools, slide, horses, firetruck ride, I could go on forever. I would give the bathroom a 5 star but the showers a 3. I've been in worse but I have been in better. All in all I will definitely be back.
Jun 19, 2016
Very nice
Jun 19, 2016
Great place with lots of kids to enjoy watching. WiFi was very poor is the only down side
Jun 19, 2016
This place could not be any better! The entire staff was so nice and helpful, the grounds were very well kept, and there was so much we could do. Horseback riding was our favorite,
Jun 19, 2016
Best place ever, so much to do for the entire family.
Jun 19, 2016
Lots of fun activities for the kids
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
We were told when we made the reservation that it was FULL hookups.The receipt said FULL hookups it was not. The sight was pretty run down. Disappointed for the price,
Jun 18, 2016
Great campground with nice amenities! Showers and bathrooms the best I've seen!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Great facility,family friendly,endless things to do immaculate highly recommended
Jun 18, 2016
Fantastic!! Wish we could've squeezed in another day of our trip just to hang out at the park!!
Jun 18, 2016
My Kids love it!!!
Jun 18, 2016
It is a must for me to tell them that I have been sent straight to the best campground in a central location for your vacation needs WE had a great time with the new friends Of KOA it's a great time for the hole family WE will be back
Jun 18, 2016
Only issue was one of the pools was not open all the time
Jun 18, 2016
Though the park is a great setting I would only recommend it for people with kids. Over priced for the services we had no dump and tough to get into with our size coach but I find all KOA's overpriced.
Jun 18, 2016
Only place to stay in the Black Hills! Loved it. We'll be back.
Jun 18, 2016
WOW! Stayed a a lot of Campground/Resorts and this is what everyone else hope to be. If you have kids this is THE place. Well done from check in to check out.
Jun 18, 2016
The map showing the location of our camping spot was worse than useless. The 30 amp electric hook up was not 30 amp, it consistently tripped the breakers. We were charged an extra $20 for a "Resort Saver Package", whatever that was for. Overpriced and too big.
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean, pancake breakfast was very good but should state pancakes are $3 for all you can eat. Had a courtesy phone which was a great idea. I thought thevresortvfee of $10 was a little much considering the price of overnight stay.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals