Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Sep 27, 2014
The restrooms and showers were very well kept.
Sep 26, 2014
We loved the campground,it was very nice. unfortunately we were there at the end of the season and many things were closed up. I would not, however, recommend the Ponderosa restaurant.the food was all from cans or frozen and was not good.
Sep 26, 2014
GREAT people & location.Disappointed some things at park were shut down for season, but understand!
Sep 26, 2014
Great service
Sep 25, 2014
Well run, great layout. Could use stronger wifi
Sep 25, 2014
It wasn't bad, but there was only one person to check campers in and work the gift shop when we checked in around 6pm there was only 15 spots out of over 200 that had T-V hookups and the wi-fi was unattainable .
Sep 24, 2014
Very nice!
Sep 24, 2014
Internet was very slow and only worked part of the time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay. Water was coming up from under the tiles in the lower laundry room.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
The park was large, clean and quiet. The quiet part is unusual for a KOA. I would have liked to have internet at my campsite as I am also working while on vacation, but this was not a big drawback.
Sep 22, 2014
Our stay was great, it is a beautiful campground. While I realize that when we were there you where close to closing for the season, we were very disappointed in the food service at the restaurant. They were out of several items on the menu. My only suggestion would be to make sure that what is on your menu is available at all times of the year. We only visited once, our first night there.
Sep 22, 2014
The family atmosphere could not be greater than it is at the Palmer Gulch KOA. We visit there at least once a year and look forward to returning next year. We say THANK YOU to everyone there.
Sep 22, 2014
Everyone there was very nice. The grounds were very clean, as were the shower areas. The polka paloosa was fun.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 20, 2014
There were gnat problems and a dead bird outside the restrooms (which remained there even after telling someone. Fortunately we had a camper and didn't need to use the restrooms.
Sep 20, 2014
A terrific site and the the staff were fantastic!
Sep 20, 2014
Friendly employees, great RV site, and great facilities.
Sep 19, 2014
it was great well kept, clean and pretty seating. will be back someday. Mid September a little late for the shops to be open but lots to see close by.
Sep 19, 2014
Great time there everyone friendly and helpful. Campsites a little close but they made it very campy with horses on site store and restaurant. Would come here agsin
Sep 18, 2014
Fantastic facility! Not five stars because of poor WiFi.
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Approaching end of season so very quiet but a great location. Loved the deer coming onto site and the night sky was amazing
Sep 18, 2014
We have stayed at a lot of koas since aug 4 this year. We came to Rushmore on the 9/12-9/17. We asked about the free night and were told our stay doesn't qualify. The man told us, but you have 33,000 pts. Do u want to use those? It will give you a free night almost. So we did. We went in later, and found that we did qualify, but we had used our pts, so we couldn't use the free night. Disappointed
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
great fall colors
Sep 17, 2014
We really enjoyed this campground. Nice, clean and plenty to do.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
No cable sites were available for the length of our stay, which was disappointing. The site we were on was just barely long enough for our RV. The firepit was too close to RV to use. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was not available, which was the biggest disappointment.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Best campground I've stayed at in awhile.
Sep 16, 2014
This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at and we have been to many. Wonderful sites, awesome staff, and equipped with everything we needed - even souvenirs! Thank you for a wonderful time.
Sep 15, 2014
Beautiful, scenic campground. Very clean. Centrally located in black hills for site seeing for our stay.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
You have a great staff and lots of things to do for children. Extremely clean...
Sep 14, 2014
BEST PLACE TO BE TO SEE ALL THE SITES
Sep 14, 2014
our first KOA stay. very nice staff and very well kept facility. everything that you need.
Sep 14, 2014
Great check in procedure and personnel. Somewhat difficult to relocate campsite after dark after returning from the Mt. Rushmore evening program. Limited signage to find somewhat remote campsite after dark.
Sep 13, 2014
Very nice campground. However, make double sure you have a reservation! Staff didn't have us down as travel together (3 rigs), nor our sites when we arrived!
Sep 13, 2014
Awesome, very nice and capable staff. Great experience.....
Sep 13, 2014
We called and asked if Wi-Fi was available and was told that it was. When we got there we had little if any Wi-Fi for three days. We were told to go a certain spot to have it more available.
Sep 13, 2014
GREAT, HOWEVER, POOR WI-FI, NONE
Sep 12, 2014
It was perfect. Crew was nice-positive and helpful
Sep 11, 2014
THIS PLACE IS GREAT,FRIENDLY EMPLOYEES AND STAFF, CLEAN, IF THERE IS A PROBLEM, THEY ARE CORRECTING IT RIGHT AWAY. THE BEST KOA WE HAVE STAYED AT AND I THINK THIS IS LIKE OUR 8TH YEAR AND PLAN ON RETURNING. LOVE IT. THANKS EVERYONE FOR MAKING OUR VACATION WOUNDERFUL. THE NEISER'S
Sep 11, 2014
Internet needs to be improved. Otherwise very clean and well kept. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.
Sep 11, 2014
Wonderful park. Wish we had arrived before Labor Day to be able to visit the little shops available prior to Labor Day. However, no complaints. Clean showers & restrooms, lots of green space to walk and play with our dog. The flowers were amazing! The man who does them is a true artist! Thanks for a great stay.
Sep 11, 2014
Really missed having Wi-Fi and cell phone service, had camper problems and had to go off site to use phone and lap-top.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Really enjoyed the activities for our grand children, most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Special recognition for the lady cleaning tables at the pancake tent, she was really nice and helpful!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.