Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 19, 2015
This was our first experience with our new Motor Home, after many hours of driving, I had a couple of problems with my hookups and your staff was right there to walk me through it, it is a lot different reading the book and actually doing it, but your staff was so supportive. They even came back a couple hours later and checked up on me and celebrated with me that we were all settled.
Jun 19, 2015
Lower rated due to no wifi. With no wifi and no phone service could not keep in contact with family at home.
Jun 19, 2015
Very nice and resort like however our site was very small.
Jun 19, 2015
Lots of kid activities. Beer sold on site. Beautiful view. The only negative is lack of privacy. Spots seemed to be crammed in with no trees in between. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.
Jun 19, 2015
Hate to rate so low b/c staff is wonderful!!! But the smell of campfire smoke was really overpowering/sickening. Need more gravel 4 rain. Water is dirty color - safe to drink but unappetizing. Pay extra even if u don't use kiddy stuff.butpeople were great. Wifi doesn't work & shouldn't be advertised.
Jun 18, 2015
Lots of things to do for all ages. Inexperience front desk staff mixed up reservations. No to Poor internet. No to poor cell phone access. outside of the mix ups, the older staff tried to make things right but in a few incidents it was too late.
Jun 18, 2015
It is an awesome resort with tons to do for kids and adults. So close to all the sites you want to see in the area. Downside. It rained a lot and since there are very few paved roads or sites, it was a muddy mess. We cut short our stay since the kids could not use all the great amenities at the campground without being full of mud. Just pave the roads and sites and this is a top resort!
Jun 18, 2015
Added annoying fees to quoted price when we signed in.
Jun 18, 2015
No cell service (Verizon). No wifi. Hot spots were not working.
Jun 18, 2015
Surrounding view is lovely with lots of amenities. Staff was friendly and efficient. RV sites are close with no trees. Hundreds of campsites, feels very crowded. Activities geared for young kids, not teenagers. No cell service or wifi and hot spots didn't work. Expensive if not using amenities. Water out of faucet light brownish. We left a day early. Just not for us.
Jun 18, 2015
Great stay overall but if you don't have satellite you must reserve deluxe patio sites to get cable tv. Non functioning camp canine but they charge you an extra $3 per dog!!??! Also don't know what the $10 per day resort fee was for. Loved the friendly gal at the main snack bar. Enjoyable trails if you rent ATV. Try the fried tacos at the restaurant but be really hungry or share,they are huge but
Jun 18, 2015
Very kid friendly. We saw lots of families. Workers were very friendly rained a lot while we were there so very muddy
Jun 18, 2015
This is a beautiful KOA destination. Although the Wi-Fi and cellular reception is poor to nonexistent. The bathroom cleanliness was also regrettable.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Was very nice. Everything you would want or need. Just to many people and campers for us. To crowded. Location was 6-7 miles to Mt Rushmore. Very convenient. If you don't mind the crowds, good place to stay.
Jun 17, 2015
Very enjoyable with lots of activities for the kids. We did miss not having the movies.
Jun 17, 2015
The activities and facilities are great. We always have a good time!
Jun 17, 2015
Our site was taken and although they found us another spot, it was muddy and it took us over 45 minutes before we pulled in. There was no refund of any kind just a bundle of wood given, which we couldnt use because our youngest is allergic to smoke,for our "inconvenience". The grounds were all muddy and it was such a bummer that after a long day of traveling we didn't come into a "resort".
Jun 17, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Great big resort and lots to do, we had rain for our stay so my comments may be a little jaded by that. With the rain, everything was a little muddy and sloppy. Overall great resort, but a little pricey. Additional $10 resort fee added to all nights.
Jun 16, 2015
This is an amazing place!!! We had a wonderful stay. There is so much for the kids to do. I wish the water slide would have worked. Also it would be nice to have more activities in the evening, karaoke, dances, better bands
Jun 16, 2015
Only complaint--young people at front desk had no info about area. Need to teach local infor. Loved our stay. Thanks for having church!
Jun 16, 2015
Lots to do at this park. There are plenty of family activities including panning and horseback riding. Food at Turtle Town was pricey and decent. Except for the long lines, breakfast tent was very good. Only bad point was no wifi throughout the camp, but isn't that the point of camping? Overall very good family resort that I would recommend.
Jun 16, 2015
Our campsite was extremely muddy, and we had reserved 3 spots side by side and did not get them, we were seperated. We will not come back to this KOA agai n, nor will we recommend it.
Jun 16, 2015
Excellent KOA, 6 mi from Mt. Rushmore, large gift shop, groceries, 500+ sites. Lot of water on road, muddy sites. Ours was great on hill, with great view, gravel level spot. Long walk to BR - 0.44 miles one way. 2 inground hot tube (one broken), 2 nicely heated pools, 4 very good baths, one older. NO cable, hotspot Wifi. Nice onsite bar.
Jun 16, 2015
Too expensive and too many additional charges, Really 3.00 per day for my small dog. Limited WIFI, and cable. Plus $10.00/day saver pack. Saved what?
Jun 16, 2015
I was very disappointed in the fact that I could not connect to WIFI any of the time I was there. That is one thing I look for in a campground. Otherwise the stay was great.
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was great. The rain made it a little messy. Some of the sites could use some more gravel.
Jun 16, 2015
Good: on site activities, proximity to Mt Rushmore, staff were courteous and helpful. Bad: parked in muddy,unimproved area. Adjacent sites had concrete pads. WiFi unusable except in Hotspot almost 1/2 mile away although signal was good. Roads in disrepair, credited to much rain in recent weeks. Not park issue: no AT&T cell service.
Jun 15, 2015
At first glance this KOA appeared out of this world with all the amenities it offered. However, campers were packed in like sardines and the bathrooms were not clean. This KOA is way too big, loud and offers no privacy. Our biggest complaint is that the advertised wifi DID NOT WORK which is one of the main reasons we selected this KOA. Additionally, there was a drunken shouting match.
Jun 15, 2015
I recently stayed at your resort, I liked the stores and the shuttle bus driver to Mount Rushmore was very nice so kudos to him. Nice place to stay The only thing that was a bump in the road I tried calling the concierge desk 10 plustimes and no one answered so that I could sign up for the shuttle and I left a message with the supervisor and no one ever called me back. Luckily I was able to signu
Jun 15, 2015
Employees were mostly friendly but manager hadn't communicated schedule or broken equipment to employees. Many of the kid activities were broken or not labeled right on schedule.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice Plenty for the kids to do
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
This place is a joke. No Wi-Fi, no cable. I reserved the deluxe patio site and no gas grill. 2 days later I got a wooden swing. Staff has poor service. Bathrooms and showers never cleaned. Brought to their attention and nothing was done.
Jun 15, 2015
Extremely clean campground. A few issues.... We had no wifi for our stay. Even right at the hotspots we had no connection. Very disappointed since this was a deciding factor. Also the roads to the hillside sites is extremely erroded. We broke a grill from the extreme bouncing and struggled up the hill almost getting stuck.
Jun 15, 2015
The SummerShine staff was outstanding & the resort had a lot to offer & entertain!! The women's bathroom by the pool & by our campsite was a little gross. The roads had huge, unavoidable ruts (maybe from the excess rain). A little dissappointed the waterslide wasn't working. I know the firetruck was probably fun, but so annoying to head over & over & over. Out campsite was also very noisy.
Jun 15, 2015
A great campground with so many amenities. Love the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast and the shuttle to Mount Rushmore. Love the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast and the shuttle to Mount Rushmore . The kids love the on-site horseback riding . Definitely a do over
Jun 15, 2015
Great location and great activities. However they rip you off on the luxury sites. No bigger than others. The place is a mud pit. Our entire site was nothing but thick mud. I was standing in water and mud to my ankles just trying to unhook. I feel completely rip off and won't stay there again. They also offer Internet but if you use a apple product good luck. awful awful awful.
Jun 15, 2015
Nice, except for the water all around our site. We know there had been a lot of rain. Need to improve the drainage in that area. Site 636.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful and staff was friendly and helpful. There was tons of stuff to do without leaving camp. The kids were bummed the waterslide was not in use. That is the only reason it is not a perfect 5.
Jun 14, 2015
this campground was amazing! we loved the kamp kitchen. it made it quick and convenient to cook. we also loves the unisex showers! they were much larger and nicer than traditional camp showers.
Jun 14, 2015
Trevor was AWESOME!! He tried to make our stay comfortable despite the rain and mud. Nice campground for families looking to entertain the kiddies.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location...beautiful grounds...pancake breakfast is awesome.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location in the Black Hills.
Jun 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time the weather didn't cooperat but that's nature. 5 days beautiful 2 days cool and wet. Really nice facilities all about the kids which is wonderful. Thanks for a great time.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location and amenities. Will definitely stay again!
Jun 14, 2015
Our stay at PG KOA occurred just after a period of heavy rains, and in fact, after 2 days of nice weather, it rained again as we departed. The showers, therefore, were rather muddy, but not sure what more could be done, except to put more manpower on it. The kids had a great time using the pool and going on a horseback ride...and making craft leather bracelets with the staff. Nice resort.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.