Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 14, 2016
So many things to keep the kids entertained!!!! Makes the parents life a little easier :)
Jun 14, 2016
Highly recommend for a family!
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Great campground especially for kids. Restrooms should be attended to on a more frequent schedule.
Jun 14, 2016
We had an amazing time at koa resort in South Dakota! Kids had a blast! This is a resort, with lots of fun family activities. Good was delicious. We will be back for sure!!!
Jun 14, 2016
One night stay was fine.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Family Reunion, which is always fun. Have been there before for a Reunion. Will be back again Labor Day for a different Family Reunion. So much to do to keep all age groups busy. Had a great time.!!
Jun 13, 2016
Very nice place to stay. Limited cell service. Great for kids. Chuck Wagon dinner was wonderful. Couple workers rude when asking what time different events started or ended. This happened twice.
Jun 13, 2016
Great fun for kids! Loved the rodeo.
Jun 13, 2016
This campground was very family friendly! I loved that. I do wish there was more of a connection with the wifi because our cell phones had absolutely no service. But other than that, it was great!
Jun 13, 2016
Lots of a activities for a family. Great facility except for the very limited wifi. With no cell service or tv reception made communicating difficult.
Jun 13, 2016
We loved the tons of activities for the kids. Great amenities from the ice cream to the coffee and wines. Shelley from Pennsylvania was an AMAZING barista!! I enjoyed her great coffee/fudge making skills and she has such a GREAT personality that makes you feel right at home. My husband and I tried to get wine at 9:30 one night and Stacy wouldn't serve us because it was drizzlin and she closed earl
Jun 13, 2016
We took our grandchildren for the first time we were impressed by all the things you had to offer. The campground was impressive. it was well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It had enough stuff to make everyone happy at any age. we have been to many campgrounds also many KOA campgrounds but I think this was the best by far.
Jun 13, 2016
Just a great stay and the kids loved all of the things available to them
Jun 13, 2016
Beautiful campgrounds, our favorite on our trip. Clean bathrooms, campsite was great and very near attractions.
Jun 13, 2016
Beautiful view and all facilities outstanding for kids and adults !
Jun 13, 2016
HOWEVER THE COST WAS WAY TO HIGH FOR A CAMP GROUND $95.00 FOR A NIGHT STAY IN A CAMPGROUND IS WAY TO MUCH .SHOULD HAVE DONE MORE RESEARCH BEFORE STAYING THERE . THEY HAD LOTS TO OFFER HOWEVER THE SHORT TERM VISITOR SHOULD NOT NEED TO PAY THIS MUCH JUST FOR A PLACE TO CAMP THANK YOU DAVE KARLSTADT
Jun 13, 2016
What a great place for kids! So much to do! Gorgeous setting. Kind of a madhouse though, so much going on! Our site was teeny and not even on map. No internet. Comfort Stations were quite a hike and in continual use so a bit messy. Wasn't a relaxing stay for 2 older folks, but I can see why fsmilies love it.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great experience. We wished the wi-fi was better and phone signal better. Lots of great activities to do and close to all attractions. Great place. We will be back.
Jun 13, 2016
This KOA is such and amazing place to stay. We've always had the best customer service here. This last weekend we were put in a site next to a dog, my daughter has always been afraid of them. I went to the front desk and asked if we could move and they found us a new site, even in an extremely busy weekend! We were very grateful!
Jun 13, 2016
What a wonderful, family-oriented campground. There is so much to do -- especially for kids.
Jun 13, 2016
Great stop on our trip, thanks for having us!
Jun 12, 2016
So much fun!
Jun 12, 2016
This KOA has it all! It's huge, extremely clean, and the amenities are amazing. Horse riding, ATV rentals, car rentals, swimming pools & hot tubs, kids play area with tons to do, pancake breakfast, and more. Great location near everything important to see, MT. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer Park, Caves, etc. My family and I would go again.
Jun 12, 2016
Our three girls absolutely loved the all the great activities! We did horse back riding twice. Amazing views and amenities! Loved it!
Jun 12, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
Very large.Very well run. Tons of things for the kids to do. Truly a KOA resort.
Jun 12, 2016
Beautiful campground and facilities. Just maybe work on getting better wifi!
Jun 12, 2016
Excellent stay. Employee where great
Jun 12, 2016
We enjoyed are stay and will be back again. Next time we will request a spot in a row or two off the main road through the resort. There are cars, campers, golf carts and people going back and forth 24 hours a day.
Jun 12, 2016
Clean restrooms. Seemed like enough staff. Fun family setting.
Jun 12, 2016
The most fun koa we have been to. Clean and safe place to camp with our 4 children.
Jun 11, 2016
Kid fun zone was great. Views are awesome, and staff was very friendly. Both pools always had lots of bugs though, making nonefforts of us want to swim
Jun 11, 2016
Great location.So much for grand kids and adults to do.The view of Harney Peak has to be one of the best at any KOA.
Jun 11, 2016
Great for families, lots to do to entertain the kids. The staff is fantastic! They were very accommodating with my request to move. So why not 5 stars and a 10? It's a VERY kid friendly place.
Jun 11, 2016
The splash pad was not working the whole 5 days we were there.also there are rules for the hot tub that need to be enforced, like no small child, especially at the one in the fun zone. everything else was great, bathrooms super clean, staff super nice.
Jun 11, 2016
Great staff. Clean park. I will return.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Very nice place and the staff are extremely pleasant.
Jun 11, 2016
alot of activities for the children at a reasonable fee or most of them are free. Large park, but alot of beautiful spaces and cabins. Would definitely stay again, compared to other KOA's on this trip. Thank you to a great staff
Jun 11, 2016
We loved the location awesome bathrooms rental car and all that you offer not to mention the fabulous scenery!! Jackie was fabulous and very helpful and friendly we greatly appreciate the amazing customer service! Loved our stay
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly and professional 5 star staff! Everything was clean, level, & set up for relaxation & fun. The view of Harney Peak from our RV was amazing. The car rental was easy & very convenient. The Hill City Sliders and s'mores were a highlight. Thanks, KOA!!
Jun 10, 2016
I enjoyed my stay at the KOA Mount Rushmore my knees were attended two very professionally all my questions were answered professionally the food was excellent the horseback riding instructors were very professional and a guide was very professional had a great time !!!!
Jun 10, 2016
We have stayed there 2 times before and like the campground, but this time the water pressure was terrible. We were in site 547 and some mornings we didn't have water at all for a short time.
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Tons of activities for the kids. Everything was clean and in good working order. The only issues I faced were the extremely weak wifi and low water pressure/lack of hot water. Had to take a cold shower one day and the washers at the laundry took so long to fill that if took me a total of two hours to do one load of laundry!
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Campground was really nice however there is no phone signal and their Wi-Fi is not good
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals