Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 11, 2015
Something must be done with your water. The sand and iron in the water stains the clothes in the washing machines. Can't drink it as it comes out the faucet brown Other than that I had a good time.
Sep 11, 2015
great place to stay. Great views. Easy access to MT Rushmore.
Sep 11, 2015
Was disappointed to be told no Veteran's discount when your website stated that you offered one. Otherwise, extremely pleased with the experience. The Ponderosa Restaurant was great. The staff and food was A-1. Dave Mohr Chamberlain, SD
Sep 11, 2015
It was family friendly and there was something to do for everybody. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Facilities were excellent.
Sep 10, 2015
Everyone and everything was perfect. Beautiful camp
Sep 10, 2015
Very friendly staff Thank you
Sep 09, 2015
We enjoying staying there very much.
Sep 09, 2015
We had a wonderful time.....would recommend that you try to get better wifi service and some kind of cable TV service even if customer has to pay a small price for the service.....enjoyed the camp ground and all its services.
Sep 09, 2015
We loved it! Location activities food fun!!
Sep 09, 2015
Lots to do, very clean and updated facilities. Had a great time. Great location!
Sep 09, 2015
Wonderfull destination with much to do, would be a 10 if you had much, much better wifi and cell service -- major problem for me and our friends who met us there. We want to rertun to Black Hills but will look for other campground with better communications support
Sep 09, 2015
well kept and lots of activities for all ages.... really enjoyed our stay!
Sep 09, 2015
AWESOME
Sep 09, 2015
very pretty, liked the live music!
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
The staff were so kind and friendly and all the activities were so much fun for our daughter. We live in Rapid City but the Mount Rushmore koa made of feel like we were on an amazing vacation. We cannot wait to come back!
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and friendly
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
This was an EXCELLENT campground! Beautiful location, great amenities and awesome for kids. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Fun.
Sep 08, 2015
To crowded small space
Sep 08, 2015
The wifi is a joke, every activity costs more above the $10/night resort fee, "mineral" water from hookup is nasty-bring bottles. Spots are extremely close together, and the camp is noisy, not only do private people bring ATV's but the staff is constantly driving around in their golf carts. For $80 a night I expected better. There are NO trees within the camp, just along the edges.
Sep 08, 2015
We had an excellent stay at the KOA by Mt. Rushmore. It was conveniently located near lots of attractions and was easy to get the camper in and out of even though the campground was pretty full. Only thing I would suggest improving upon would be the food in the pub and icecream shop. A little more variety would go a long way.
Sep 08, 2015
Great amenities and location! Staff was very friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
Its a nice Place. Too bad everyone around our site was so rude. Kept my little family awake all night. Someone urinated on the side of my truck. We left and didn't stay our 2nd night that we paid for.
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome!
Sep 08, 2015
Over crowded. Although most of the grass areas are mowed, they are infested with Canadian Thistle weed. Kids entertainment is great.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a lot of fun this was our very first camping trip. There is so much for us to do and also best part no cell service
Sep 08, 2015
The sound and smell of ATV's kind of spoils the effect of nature's beauty all around. And children should be wearing helmets and not driving unless licensed.
Sep 08, 2015
Had a great stay,lots to do on site and much more in the surrounding area. Will definitely be back.
Sep 08, 2015
too expensive

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding our rates during your most recent stay. You stayed over Labor Day Weekend and on our most premium RV site which is why your rate may have been a little higher then expected. We offer lower rates on other sites and weekends for your convenience.
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean family friendly camp ground. Staff was super professional when we accidentally hit another camper and didn't realize it. Somethingfor everyone.we will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! I'm sorry to hear of the mishap with the other camper but glad that we were able to assist in a way that exceeded your expecations. I will be sure to pass along your review to our staff! Sincerely, Danielle Akey -Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Everyone was very helpful. Great bathrooms and showers. Did not know that such a campground existed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We love hearing that our staff was so helpful and that our bathhouses exceeded your expections! We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Said we could watch the first college football game of the year at restaurant as long as we bought drinks. We did and they were very rude and then refused to allow any sound on the television because sound is "against their policy" Did I mention how rude they were? We were quiet, polite, and had our small children with us so it wasn't like we were disturbing anything...plus we were only ones there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about our onsite restaurant. I will be sure to pass your notes along to them as I know your feedback is very important to them! I assure you they will take the necessary steps to improve based on this review. Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 07, 2015
Very efficient. Nice people. Beautiful area and central to attractions. Don't need to leave koa so much fun stuff to do there. Very pleased!
Sep 07, 2015
Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty for kids to do would stay longer next time.
Sep 07, 2015
I was disappointed with two things one being the fact that it almost two days and three trips to complain about a clogged toilet in one of the bathrooms. The second is advised wifi. The service was nonexistent. When we arrived on Wednesday morning it had a full signal but my phone show no Internet service. Either boost the Internet or don't advertise free wifi
Sep 07, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay could've maybe liked the pool a little warmer but all in all good time and clean.
Sep 07, 2015
Start by saying the staff and all the people working where great. This is not my style for camping. Every site is very close I worried about my fire pit being too close to the next camper. There is no room for parking after disconnecting. Just too many people for me. Other than that there is tons of stuff for the kids and adults to do.
Sep 07, 2015
We loved the feel of it, all the activities, more then you can even plan in one day! Great staff and friendly people!!
Sep 07, 2015
Over Priced for Senior Citizens. Great for Family with Kids. Poor Internet and Phone reception, if at all possible. Would not stay at this campground again.
Sep 07, 2015
Best KOA we've ever stayed at!!!
Sep 07, 2015
Saturday of labour day weekend - nonreservatio- NO PRONLEM! Wild happening KOA. One night is not enough. The amenities amazing. Unfortunately we only enjoyed the laundry facilities. Big plus was the pancake breakfast. 😎. Washroom and showers, the other necessisity - #1. All staff were professional and friendly.
Sep 06, 2015
you guys are the standard in which all others try to be, one issue was only, fair,I am an amputee of 40 plus years,my point is I know how get around the few obsticles that I am confronted with each day,while showering in the bath house next to spacs 136 I was stepping from the shower with my finger tips on the shower curtain rod,it was so severily rotted,the whole rod and all came down causeing me
Sep 06, 2015
The ponderosa restaurant and Papas pancakes were outstanding. The activities offered were excellent for all ages. Live music by Marley Cook was beautiful. All KOA personnel were polite and accommodating. We would definitely return.
Sep 06, 2015
Absolutely wonderful but need to seriously upgrade your wifi. Best pizza and ice cream. Front desk staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Sep 06, 2015
This place was great, friendly helpful staff, kids had a good time with all the kiddie things to do. I don't know why there is complaints about the size, it is big but they state that on the web site. As for the wifi again they let you know where you have service and where you don't so I'm not sure again why the complaints... Maybe some folks don't know how to read or listen so well.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals