Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 13, 2017
Great place for kids. Friendly helpful staff. Downside was very spotty, limited internet in only a few places in the expansive grounds. Some people need to work while on the road.
Jul 13, 2017
Great family place!
Jul 13, 2017
Very large park, great for kids with plenty of activities. Down side is it is a large park with very little space for RV. Mislead about the "Full Hookups". They advertise 30 & 50 amp., but when we arrived all they had was 30 amp available. It was a big hassle.
Jul 13, 2017
some of the pull through sites on the other side of the creek are a bit tight but other than that the place is far and above any other KOA!
Jul 13, 2017
I surprised at the price (about $150 for 2 nights for a tent site) but after arriving and exploring I soon realized why. There is an abundance of activities that are complimentary to include mini golf, climbing wall, pool etc. The only complaint I have is that our campsite (545) was NOT graded. There was no level area on that site at all for a tent. I have already recommended this KOA!!
Jul 13, 2017
nice
Jul 13, 2017
the site was unlevel and hard to get in & out of. The fire rings for the next site was right next to our trailer. The amenities such as pool was great for kids, but lack of wifi or service did make it difficult to make plans for the surrounding area.
Jul 13, 2017
Too crowded...WiFi not operable except at 5:30am standing directly in front of main office ...but great for kids which seems to be the target audience
Jul 12, 2017
Love all the fun activities for kids.
Jul 12, 2017
While the KOA is gigantic, and has tons of on site activities, the facilities are not kept nearly as clean as other KOA's we stayed at on our 3 week trip. Even at 6am the restrooms smelled horribly, and never looked clean at any time. The employee that checked me in, did not review the site amenities, and actually sent us to the wrong site #. We were led to a tiny area in a 38' 5er...
Jul 12, 2017
Wow! Place was huge! Plenty to do in and around the campground.
Jul 12, 2017
This place is fantastic! It is a destination in itself.
Jul 12, 2017
They stay was great. Felt like a resort not like a campground. Everyone on staff were extremely nice. Kids and I took advatage if the horseback rides and pools and splash pad. Only thing is the WIFI reception was bad. All in all a great stay we will stay again.
Jul 12, 2017
We had a great time at this KOA. We went to see the sites around the Black Hills but my kids didn't want to leave the campground. We would stay again.
Jul 12, 2017
WiFI service could be much better. Should find provider other then Tengo.
Jul 12, 2017
We loved it. Our 3rd time from Ohio. Briugh son and grandsons this time. The flowers are amazing! Wondering why shower hooks aren't replaced and why handicapped shower has. Cold water only. Hard to have to redress and go to another shower
Jul 12, 2017
I wish we could have stayed longer! So much to see in the area and so much fun to be had at the campground. This is a kidcentric park that is conveniently located near Mount Rushmore. After 6 months traveling across the USA, this was the most fun park for the whole family. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. I wish there were MORE KOA parks like this one!
Jul 12, 2017
Our Stay was very nice. At check in the ambassador looked at our truck and trailer and knew off the top of his head that it was going to be a tight fit on the site that we had been assigned, so he suggested we go back to request a site that had more room. ended up with a great roomy site. Thanks for the great stay!
Jul 12, 2017
Loved the facility. Rented a car right on site. That was great. Chuck wagon dinner was a bit overpriced. Shower house was dirty with a beer can and other trash in the shower. Most of the staff was really polite and helpful. My family will be back. Love the KOA. Resort idea. You should open more of them.
Jul 12, 2017
It started off rocky getting there but it was worth the drive in the RV. Tom was great getting us a site that worked for us. Great spot to stay to see the sites in the area . Thanks again from Pat and Jan from Ontario Canada
Jul 12, 2017
I was very surprised when I arrived to find it was not a KOA but a KOA Resort. I found this place on line and made the request. Definitely a place I will stay again.
Jul 12, 2017
My kids really enjoyed the stay. LOTS to do. Great services and activities. I recommend the tie-dye shirts! Just know that it can be loud at times (sometimes past 10pm) and super smoky at night. FYI-We had no internet or cell phone service anywhere on the campground. Lots of employees, so if you need anything, it's taken care of promptly. Met many nice people and would definitely stay again.
Jul 11, 2017
We were on a Family Vacation with 3 large 5th wheelers booked last fall in deluxe sites. 2 of us were in 134, and 135 and the other was in 266. No one told us we could have called in for all of us together. We did leave a message. Manager would not change sites for us even when the sites beside us were 1 nighters and empty a lot. No where does it say in booking we can call and request sites.
Jul 11, 2017
Loved the amenities this KOA has to offer!! Staff was very friendly and spots were large. Wifi leaves a lot to be desired, but overall we loved our stay. We will be back!!
Jul 11, 2017
We had the best time - we stayed for 1 week and could have stayed longer. Our kids loved all the activities! We will be back.
Jul 11, 2017
We had a great time at this campground. Lot's for everyone to do and see. We hope to get back soon!
Jul 11, 2017
We had a great time. Very relaxing, kid friendly, plenty to do right there. Plus not far away from the sites we wanted to visit. We would stay here again.
Jul 11, 2017
No wifi or cell phone services the campground even st the hotspots. Staff was not helpful checking in. Ponderosa restaurant was terrible. Steak was not cooked well and when I sent it back then they brought it back burnt.
Jul 11, 2017
Excellent facilities and maintenance, but a couple of issues keep me from giving this 5 stars. The website should clearly state that there is ZERO cell service as it complicated meeting with other family members. Also their wifi hotspots were useless. The high cost of staying here should include at least enough cell coverage for a text message.
Jul 11, 2017
Our stay was excellent. Plenty of things on the campgrounds and off for the family. The missing star is because of the unavailable wifi service. The grounds are well kept and clean. The service staff was fantastic.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
We got home from KOA at MT Rushmore 2 nights ago and are already planning next years stay. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The campgrounds are very well taken care of. The amenities are awesome.
Jul 11, 2017
friendly, lots to do and loved the park
Jul 11, 2017
Great
Jul 11, 2017
we were there with our granddaughter who fell in love with the place we also loved all the things going on and all of the amenities
Jul 11, 2017
Our site was almost too small for a six person tent. Hidden "user" fees were not appropriate for two babies. We wanted to rent a golf cart but there were never any available. Shower at noon was filthy. Water slide very cold! I was going to be charged for a requested site even though I had never stayed there before!?!
Jul 11, 2017
Too many unsupervised children running around everywhere. Water slide was absolutely ice cold. Other amenities pretty nice. Very limited parking.
Jul 11, 2017
Kids had fun. Bathrooms were dirty.
Jul 11, 2017
Too busy and noisy. Not a quiet camp for being in a wonderful forest. No stargazing at this place. Kids have so many options (to play) that leaving causes fits...so how can a National Park compare! We went to Horsethief Lake to "get away"
Jul 11, 2017
Great place close to Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park and Crazy Horse. So much to do and many activities at Kampground
Jul 11, 2017
Staff was excellent. Lots to do there. Mike the general Mgr went way above to fix an issue. Comfort station 3 could use some TLC. Both restrooms had strong odors but were relatively clean considering the full camp they had during our stay. Look forward to our next visit
Jul 11, 2017
BUSY PLACE WITH ALLOT GOING ON FOR THE KIDS
Jul 10, 2017
Wow, what a great place for the grandkids. There was never a dull moment. It truly has a resort feel. The facilities are excellent
Jul 10, 2017
Wonderful amenities, definitely will be back.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
the facility is great however the fact the cellular service non existent and WiFi is a joke is severely disappointing......it's 2017...get with it. I have stayed here twice now and WILL NOT stay again
Jul 10, 2017
Enjoyed our stay
Jul 10, 2017
first class koa, would recommend to friends there is no other koa like this one.
Jul 10, 2017
Fantastic all around.
Jul 10, 2017
Very clean staff very helpful and friendly
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals