Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 12, 2015
Second time we have stayed here for the Sturgis ralley. It has been great both times. We actually filled out the form to stay again next year, and in the same space 135.
Aug 12, 2015
My stay at the Mount Rushmore campground was a great experience. Thanks for making my stay most enjoyable!
Aug 12, 2015
Excellent campground! Staff was friendly and helpful. ONLY downfall is NO cell service, and extremely limited WiFi - both unfortunate necessities nowadays.
Aug 12, 2015
I have stayed twice for Sturgis week in 07 & 15 & would not even consider staying else where YOU ALL ARE #1 :) #aTrueResort
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed in July. Did not have a great experience. NOT KOA's FAULT! Record rains in May and June washed out several sites (Mine was reserved in January) Location is amazing and TONS of activities were offered. We felt cramped and uncomfortable with the repaired site and the crowded (sold out) campground. KOA did everything they could to try to accommodate to no avail. Refunded $. Great for kids!
Aug 12, 2015
Great spot and awesome service. Pancake breakfast was fantastic and pools were clean and enjoyable. Nice mtn biking right behind and horses on site to rent. Awesome KOA
Aug 12, 2015
I have a business and necessary that I have internet when I'm away. I paid your raised rates because you advertised WIFI. I sat in the Registration Office and tried all over the park for 5 days and the only WIFI I got was in Hill City and I will be complaining to the KOA Home Office besides having to $48.00 to park in a field with no services of any kind. I had 2 reservation 1 for me and 1 for a f
Aug 12, 2015
We had stayed at this campground two years ago. It was sad to see the change that has taken place. It was a warm and friendly place but now it has gotten to be a cold hearted money grab-ing place.
Aug 12, 2015
While this KOA has lots of activities and a great bargain on the bus tour to Mount Rushmore the tap water quality was terrible, it was actually yellow and smelled of sulfur. We took pictures of the water and sent them to KOA. Luckily we had enough water with us for cooking and washing.
Aug 12, 2015
Grounds were great, Employees couldn't be better and locations was perfect. But Wi-Fi access was the worst. had to be in a special location and not move a quarter of an inch or the signal would be lost. Would not have been a problem but cell service was almost non existent.
Aug 12, 2015
Great spot to go with kids as there are a lot of activities. Camping spots are small, old picnic tables and showers aren't very clean. Over priced!
Aug 11, 2015
Have stayed each year during the rally 14 consecutive years, this was my last, changing camps. The prices have doubled over time, at $87 per night for 30 amp site it's just gouging us. Park is over crowded with no park controls on noise, excessive length trucks & Fifth wheels blocking streets due to small sites. Every year camp turns into a mud hole w/rain, solution PAVEMENT? Moving Rafter J Bar.
Aug 11, 2015
Repeat visit for us, loved the shuttle to mt Rushmore, pancakes, and great coffee shop! Came for Sturgis but love the country camping. The Young's
Aug 11, 2015
The site I was at the fire pit is plaste right were the back of the camper would be 😟
Aug 11, 2015
it was fine.
Aug 11, 2015
the best
Aug 11, 2015
6 year during rally,,,, always good ,,,,bathroom shower house this year was a little under par....but other wise great stay..
Aug 11, 2015
Not long enough to take advantage of all that was offered. Inconvenient no cell service. Couldn't figure out pay phones.
Aug 11, 2015
Clean, Quiet, good food, freindly staff,full facilities-pool,laundry,showers,store
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Best Campground, we ever visited. Beautiful, clean, friendly staff, great activities.
Aug 10, 2015
it is always a pleasure to stay
Aug 10, 2015
only problem was camp site was not what i told it would be but bike week you make the best of things
Aug 10, 2015
Amazing staff, very helpful. The park was beautifully taken care of, we will be back in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
GREAT PLACE VERY CLEAN DURIGN STURGIS RALLY HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 10, 2015
It would be great if you could boost the WiFi set up in your area
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent camp ground, have stayed there a couple of times. Will return in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
Was not pleased that we were charged extra $20 for this campground. Traveling with 2 other families, told we were charged extra because we asked to be near each other. That is ridiculous. WE booked at many other KOAs without extra charge.
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground
Aug 10, 2015
Enjoyed the area tremendously. Wonderful time.
Aug 10, 2015
Very lively KOA, beautiful location
Aug 10, 2015
very nice
Aug 10, 2015
Great campsite although campers are jammed in pretty tight. The resaurant was nice. We stayed during the Sturgis motorcycle rally unknowingly and that was a little aggravating. I also think the prices were jacked up because of it. Beautiful area and really appreciated the shuttle to the evening ceremony at Rushmore.
Aug 10, 2015
Great Location but the rate is the highest we have ever paid. We had reservations for 2 nights but noise from motor cycles was too much for us. We ask and received a refund for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
Great
Aug 10, 2015
Very commercial and busy site.
Aug 10, 2015
Fantastic. Clean, friendly and great activities for the kids.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Our narrow campsite had little grass - and a large water tank.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time. Nice place
Aug 09, 2015
The issues that I have is the Very poor wireless Both Internet and cell... I have to do business while there every year and had to drive to Hill city to do my business taking away from time enjoying the resort and riding the Ralley. I have stayed with you at Palmer Gulch since 2002. Worst witless seen. Made me think about moving to different camp. Staff was fantastic but 1young male supervisor. Ru
Aug 09, 2015
The site was a bit wet but that was weather issues We also had no water 1 morning but again because of weather the water was dirty and probably plugged filters But it was resolved right away Campground overall very tidy great location and lots to do
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
It was incredible everything there was clean and very well maintained thanks for a wonderful week we will be back.
Aug 09, 2015
We loved it! So much to do especially for a family. We were there for the 75th Anniversary for Sturgis, but will stay again if we are in the area.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time. We were there ten years ago, this was our second time.Cant be better!
Aug 09, 2015
Poor rating due to the fact that we made reservations 10 months in advance to be told we cannot have the site we requested. The resort was very understaffed and not at all prepared for the busy week. We were very disappointed and will not return to this location.
Aug 09, 2015
Our campsite was so rocky and uneven it was difficult to walk without tripping. It rained and it became a mud pit. There was NO wifi even though you advertise an Internet cafe on the grounds. Ok campground for children and that's it. For the amount we were charged, it would have covered the cost of a hotel and we could have parked the RV in their parking lot!
Aug 09, 2015
Long delays at check in. RV site was unsuitable for our size of 5th wheel. Very unlevel - almost impossible to step into RV. Sites crowded. People and RV/truck traffic encroaching on site. Chaotic KOA. Signs to KOA not sufficient when travelling from East.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.