Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 29, 2014
Had some parking lot sites and some rural areas that were nice. Could not get WiFi or cable in the rural sites... Staff very friendly and helpful... Loved the deep fried bacon!! Noticing when younger staff comes on they are not too helpful or friendly...
Aug 29, 2014
A really nice campground..lots of things to do and very well kept
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Great staff and facilities, looking forward to next year!
Aug 28, 2014
So hospitable and kid friendly - a very safe feeling place. Our kids loved it and we WILL be back!
Aug 28, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Everything was excellent besides the wifi and the poor quality and stinky water.
Aug 28, 2014
Location is great. Wifi coverage needs to be improved. The dog play area needs to be repaired and/or expanded; it is sadly neglected. Add another, more central laundry area. Overall the amenities are great, but the ones most important to me were lacking.
Aug 27, 2014
Great place to stay. Clean and friendly staff too!
Aug 27, 2014
Mount Rushmore KOA was wonderful. They had so many activities and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Papa's pancakes were great. I would recommend Mount Rushmore KOA to anyone with children because there are so many activities for them to do.
Aug 27, 2014
Great place just one draw back. Wi-fi. Not good .
Aug 27, 2014
The signs on the camp roads are very hard to read in the dark, no escort was offered to our sight, so getting in and getting set up was very difficult.Light bulbs in the laundry room were burnt out. The pancake breakfast sounded like a good deal, except everything was actually a la carte and priced so that the "$2.75 all you can eat pancakes" was more like $26 for a Family of 4 breakfast
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
We all had a great time and will be back
Aug 27, 2014
I really enjoyed the park and the amenities offered. There was a faith festival taking place and I would have preferred a quieter setting. That was a fluke I am sure. Otherwise everything was good.
Aug 26, 2014
We were impressed by the facilities and the extra amenities that were available. It was a nice to call home for a few days.
Aug 26, 2014
Family vacation. Our grandaughter loved the horses. Rode 2 days in a row. She says she wants to go back evey year, so guess we'll see you next year. Everyone was extremely friendly. Thanks KOA.
Aug 26, 2014
Gorgeous site and fabulous staff! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.
Aug 26, 2014
Bathrooms were very dirty....we stayed 4 nights and the same piece of gum was on the wall the entire stay....Black mold in showers..
Aug 26, 2014
The concept of KOA is geared for family's which is a great thing. But we are two seniors traveling and have no interest in anything that is offered. Loved our stay; very clean, great staff and would stay again; maybe.
Aug 26, 2014
Great campground, but like usual does not recognize/positively react to koa red vk card. H Stein
Aug 25, 2014
Excellent KOA with excellent amenities and close proximity to all the Black Hills have to offer. We had a wonderful stay!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
This was a wonderful campground. It had lots of activities, was central to lots of sites and the staff in general was wonderful. The only problems we had was a rude staff at the icecream shop and the hot tubs did not seem to have the proper chemical balance.
Aug 25, 2014
Has such high hopes for this place. 12 year old boys dream place!!, and parents nightmare. As the preteens rule the roost here. Not very family oriented. Says they have internet, but they don't. They keep saying its b/c of all the campers. You'd think they could plan infrastructure around how many camping spots they have. It's the largest KOA and it shows. Won't be staying there again
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Always a great stay at Palmer Gulch. Our grandchildren and us have a wonderful time. We recommend you highly to all our friends. Thanks for the great service!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We always have a great time when we stay at this KOA! All the staff are amazing!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
From the minute we arrived until we checked out our time at the KOA Mt. Rushmore was fantastic. Kudo's to Jane at registration for excellent customer service. Keep up the great work!
Aug 25, 2014
So many great things to do and see at this location and area can't wait to come back
Aug 25, 2014
thank you so much for such a clean and friendly place to stay. I think we had the best spot in the campground :) Thank you to the signers for their performance! I would highly recommend to others!
Aug 25, 2014
They do not tell you when you make a reservation that they will charge you a $10 a day "resort fee" on top of space fee. No cable no WiFi very hit or miss phone service. Great kids park but seniors not so much. Be sure ask about all fees before booking.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
I thought I was suppose to get wifi, but the site I was in did not receive it. Also, my waste water hookup was higher than my camper, causing me trouble disconnecting from the waste water connection. The area is beautiful and staff friendly.
Aug 24, 2014
All of the amenities were awesome. The staff was extremely friendly.
Aug 24, 2014
This KOA has it all. That said the cell reception was very poor- not necessarily KOAs fault and the wi-fi only worked in a few "hot spots" not within the campground and only a few had cable. So we were comm out for 3 days - withdrawal!!!!!.
Aug 24, 2014
Great location, quiet campground, lots of amenities, including 2 pools, full service restaurant, and also pancake breakfast. Had a very pleasant stay here and would definitely come back here if we were in the area again.
Aug 24, 2014
An amazing facility and we look forward to returning next year!
Aug 24, 2014
Beautiful setting, clean facility, friendly people and EXTRAORDINARY flowers.
Aug 24, 2014
The stay was wonderful. The people at the front desk where outstanding and understanding about our situation at the camp site. When we arived for our stay the camp site that was alucated to us was full of dog poop. The manager moved us and had the site cleaned up ASAP. So the next couple would not go through and poppy site. I would love to stay there again and I think I might.
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful experience. This place is out of this world.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Great place to stay. Best campground we've been at. So much to do onsite and plenty to keep a child happy and entertained.
Aug 23, 2014
great place....stayed here before so i kinda knew what we were in for. This place is great for kids and adults a-like
Aug 23, 2014
Internet service through out the campground would be great.
Aug 23, 2014
Shower heads positioned 2 high for short people. Shower stalls & surrounding area with plastic stand pretty dirty. Restroom was great. Nice & clean. Laundry room needs 1 or 2 chairs. A bench isn't enough. For me, needing more dryers, I had to use the bench when he left to climb on to get my clothes out on top. Bottoms in use. Love that u have a church service. Nice and friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2014
This is perhaps the best family KOA we have ever stayed at and would have received 5 Stars had it not been for disgusting bathrooms.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.