Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 23, 2014
Shower heads positioned 2 high for short people. Shower stalls & surrounding area with plastic stand pretty dirty. Restroom was great. Nice & clean. Laundry room needs 1 or 2 chairs. A bench isn't enough. For me, needing more dryers, I had to use the bench when he left to climb on to get my clothes out on top. Bottoms in use. Love that u have a church service. Nice and friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2014
This is perhaps the best family KOA we have ever stayed at and would have received 5 Stars had it not been for disgusting bathrooms.
Aug 23, 2014
Excellent facilities and lots of amenities to safely entertain our grandchildren when we were not out sightseeing. Very friendly and helpful staff!!
Aug 23, 2014
Great for families, plenty to do onsite, staff was super friendly and helpful. Campground was kept clean with the exception of the showers in the bathrooms. Moldy shower curtains, benches and tile - gross. Other then that we had a great stay and the kids loved the campground!! Also the location is perfect; close to things to do and Hill City which was nice for an afternoon of civilization:)
Aug 23, 2014
Not escorted to our site especially when we asked. Given wrong info on getting to site.Site too small
Aug 23, 2014
The only disappointment was the restrooms and showers. They were in dire need of a good deep cleaning and the shower heads just dribbled out water. Other than this the campground was great. Please fix these showers and we'll be back
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Great facilities but... when we made our reservation, this KOA failed to notify us of all the extra charges such as a $10.00 per day "resort" fee and a $3.00 per dog per day for our 3 dogs (and their Kamp K9 was unusable). On top of all that, there was no TV available (even antenna) and no Wi-Fi at the site. So instead of the 4 days we had originally reserved, we left after one night.
Aug 22, 2014
We really only spent the night because we got in so late and had to leave early. But we wish we could have explored all you offer. Grand kids were very disappointed that we were not able to stay longer.want to plan a return trip here.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
This campground had all the bells and whistles. Fully stocked, great bathrooms. The only recommendation I would have is to now allow small children to use the hot tubs. It's unsanitary. I would have liked to have used them, but they were always filled with small kids.
Aug 22, 2014
Excellent campground!
Aug 22, 2014
loved the campground, everything about it except the phone service and wifi. Get those fixed and its a 10 all the way around
Aug 22, 2014
The best campground we have ever stated at! Tehachapi, CA
Aug 22, 2014
Loved it....so much for kids to do, that they didn't want to leave.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
This is by far the biggest site we have stayed at - everything was perfect and the grounds were beautiful. We had to have our truck repaired and a rental car was available at the site! The pools were warm. The pancake breakfast is to die for. Bring your own WiFi hotspot!!
Aug 22, 2014
Our stay at this KOA was awesome.The place has everything you need and then some. On site car rental and on site horseback riding were a big plus for us. The eating and shopping on site was extremely helpful. The staff that checked us in were friendly,courteous and of course helpful.The staff that we encountered on the grounds were courteous and helpful. We will return. Thanks
Aug 22, 2014
Couldn't be better!!!
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Always a fun experience for my whole family.
Aug 21, 2014
The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The trip to Mt. Rushmore for the lighting ceremony was fantastic. The breakfast they served was delicious and the restaurant on the grounds was very nice. I'll definitely stay there again.
Aug 21, 2014
We came for a family reunion and loved it! Thanks for activities for all ages and grassy, comfortable sites.
Aug 21, 2014
Location was great, decent pools, showers were perfect. The firewood was overpriced. But overall we had a great stay and would go again!
Aug 21, 2014
Fantastic experience
Aug 21, 2014
This facility was like a summer camp for kids! I can't believe how much they offered for them to do at no extra charge. My kids are still talking about it and will likely for a long time. Unfortunately, the wifi is really not available in the summer with the number of campers trying to use it.
Aug 21, 2014
We had a great time and will return.
Aug 21, 2014
Very clean campground. Love that there are 2 pools. My daughter loved jump pillow. Beautiful flowers throughout park.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Coolest KOA I have ever seen!!!! Definite future stay!!!
Aug 21, 2014
Last time we stayed here was 4 years ago. That stay was amazing! This time it was sub par. The washrooms were gross, never clean. We went to the New washrooms and they were a bit better but still dirty all the time. Will stay somewhere else. Oh, and the fellow working the counter was kind of rude too. I was very disappointed as the last stay was so nice that is what made us come back this time.
Aug 21, 2014
Great place if you have kids,clean. Wifi poor
Aug 21, 2014
this koa needs more WiFi hotspots and TV cable added to all full hookup sites, the water in the swimming pools was very dirty. you can't beat the atmosphere and Papas pancake tent!
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
The things that I didn't like were: showers were filthy and not cleaned often enough. Also the mark up on items such as milk is just plain wrong!! $4.50 for a HALF GALLON! Terrible! Also there was no rock climbing wall as stated on your brochures/website. The horses and chuck wagon dinner were fabulous!!
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
This KOA is wonderful for families. Many things to do and nice facilities.
Aug 20, 2014
While we were only there for two nights, it was our type of resort. Loved that the kids had a water slide, bouncing pillow and many other things that were free to go to. It had a restuarant, wine tasting for grown ups and films for the kids. Excellant resort.
Aug 19, 2014
Great campground! Kids had a blast! Clean facilities!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Nice staff, but extremely small campsites. More restrooms for easier access would also be nice instead of having to haul the kids down a large hill every time. Kids love to swim so the 2 pools were nice, but missed out on the rock climbing wall, because it was in for repairs. For the price and added fees, I think we will choose a different campsite in the future.
Aug 19, 2014
Best koa by far for the whole family on my so far 52 day vacation Have not seen another like this one in all my travels Will be back
Aug 19, 2014
Viele Aktivitäten auf dem Campingplatz möglich, gut für Familien, gut geführter Platz, saubere Restrooms
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
the site that we were given needed to be graded, the rain had washed away gravel and left a low spot where the door was. needed to use a milk crate to add a step. Also the site was small, limited level area for chairs and table.
Aug 19, 2014
The only aspect that I was disappointed with was the WiFi connection. It did not work at all and would have presented difficulties if I would have had to complete any work.
Aug 19, 2014
Fantastic stay! Would have been much more enjoyable with kids. There could be a little more space between spots and at least a path between campers to get to the center restroom more easily.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.