Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
great place for families and kids!
Jul 18, 2016
Loved it. Well be back for sure. Wish there was a path to the restrooms by site 163 so if you're in 226 lie we were there was a more direct way to go instead of walking the entire row and around or cutting thru someone's site which is disrespectful.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very accommodating, friendly, clean. It met all our needs. I love that it was family friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
Best KOA stay! Would definitely return.
Jul 18, 2016
Fun family environment. Lots of activities. Recommend signing up for the chuck wagon dinner! They need to trim bushes by bike path and level the bridge.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great staff. Very busy campgraound with lots of people. Very family friendly and great location.
Jul 18, 2016
Great location! Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse close by. Great activities for everyone at the campground. Only problem is the lack of wifi bandwidth for the amount of campers and cell signal is very bad due to be in the hills. But not a negative point but a great point to bring the family closer together.
Jul 18, 2016
Quite, campground. Clean bathroom.
Jul 17, 2016
We were impressed with our campground and kids enjoyed the pools, but need more gravel around sewer when it rains!
Jul 17, 2016
The Disneyland of camping for kids & parents. Great central location for visiting area natural wonders.
Jul 17, 2016
The resort was nice with lots of amenities, however, our campsite was extremely loud at all hours due to large amounts of traffic going by. Also, on one occasion, another camper had spread dirty, wet toilet paper all over the bathroom. When we complained to the resort staff they told us nothing could be done until the following morning. That had not happened by 10:30am which we found unacceptable
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
As they say, "It's always a good day at Palmer Gulch KOA". We've been staying at Palmer Gulch since 2002, always clean, employees helpful, the pancakes are great. It is a large place, we haven't gotten lost yet! I recommend to all who ask where to stay in the Hills. We'll be back, again, and again
Jul 17, 2016
Extremely pleased with the amenities at this KOA. Everything a family could need or want during their vacation including UTV/car rentals, horse back riding, pools, restaurants etc. The list goes on and on! We will definitely put on our "to return" list!
Jul 17, 2016
The Palmer Gulch KOA Kampground is amazing. There is always something to do, the grounds are clean, and the staff is very friendly. Definitely one of our favorite places to stay!
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Like To See cable tv&Wifi,The Campsite Was To far from Restrooms&playground, To rocky For Bike Riding, For Grandaughter.
Jul 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed for 2 nights. We enjoyed all the amenities and liked that it was so close to Mount Rushmore. We really enjoyed the rodeo!
Jul 17, 2016
The kids dance party was top notch! I'd wished the showers had been updated and cleaner but nothing is perfect.
Jul 17, 2016
It was one of the best and nicest campgrounds we have stayed at I would recommend it to anyone
Jul 17, 2016
Great place to stay with kids
Jul 17, 2016
There are so many opportunities for different activities there. It is well cared for and clean.
Jul 17, 2016
Super Clean bathrooms that are cleaned periodically throughout the day. Great coffee shop for the AM. Splash pad, Pool, Water slide for the kids... and adults lol. On site store has a decent amount of things and a good price. Planning on staying here again.
Jul 17, 2016
A great campground to stay at-beautiful setting😊
Jul 17, 2016
this was the worst campsite we have ever had. Below the hill where you can see when you drive in is pretty, but where they stuck us and many other campers that were to big for the spots were nothing but dirt and over crowed. We heard nothing but complaining from other campers for the same reasons. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone on the the campsite alone.
Jul 17, 2016
A really big KOA with lots to do. The showers started out ok, but by the third day they were horrible. Hair everywhere, benches were dirty, and there was a tampon in one shower stall.
Jul 17, 2016
They were very accommodating when I wanted to stay a 3rd night. In fact I even liked the site better than the first.
Jul 17, 2016
very nice and lots for kids to do had a bad site for leveling the office cleared it up right away and got us a new site
Jul 17, 2016
Expensive, water is brown and bad tasting. Campground wayyyy to jammed in and busy. Very noisy.
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice
Jul 16, 2016
Good location for all the side trips in the area. Sites too short and too close together. Garbage containers not emptied often enough.
Jul 16, 2016
I have been going to this KOA for thirty years and love it. However, this year service in the reception area and in the store was non-existened, no service and did not care. I still love this KOA and will try one more year, if not improved I will not go back.
Jul 16, 2016
Would have liked more tables and shade around pool areas
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
It was everything we hoped it would be
Jul 16, 2016
Stayed for a week and would definitely stay again. Location is the best. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2016
Great place to stay, lots of great amenities. I just wish they had better internet. It was basically non existent as even the Internet cafe people told me it hardly ever works. Even with that, I still highly recommend this KOA.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Such an awesome place! Friendly staff, lots of activities and the pancake breakfast is awesome!
Jul 16, 2016
Worst stop on our trip. Bigger is not better! Horrible customer service, they have an horrible I don't care attitude. Managers Ben and Dillion did not impress. Dirty bathrooms, brown water green spa & NO wifi! Had to relocate as spot given was I. Horrible condition, told to go to other spot which was taken, then told no more spots. found site, and then got red tagged next day for their mistake
Jul 16, 2016
Campsites are packed in tight for a resort, and lack of reliable wifi or cell service is annoying for the price and having to pay a resort fee.
Jul 16, 2016
We did not get the site we reserved. But staff were very helpful!
Jul 16, 2016
Not senior.friendlywife fell on grade while directing parking. Limbs obstructing site. Cold shower at bathhouse
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
The campground for kids is top notch, the activities,movies swimming water slide and the grounds rate all great big kid or little. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers are a 3 star. If you have kids no better place to stay around Mt Rushmore. Four stars only because of restrooms and showers not cleaned routinely
Jul 15, 2016
Great resort, plenty of places to ear, the food was good. Many activities for children and adults . Only negative is WiFi doesn't work and no cell coverage in the park . Some premium sites have Cable TV if that's important otherwise just 2 channels with air antennae . The best KOA we have stayed in 10's for everything
Jul 15, 2016
Really Great campground!!! Beautiful views and so much to do!!!
Jul 15, 2016
Kid zone and rodeo were a lot of fun and kept kids busy. Location of KOA is great as many outside activities are close by Ned not far to drive too.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals