Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
Said we could watch the first college football game of the year at restaurant as long as we bought drinks. We did and they were very rude and then refused to allow any sound on the television because sound is "against their policy" Did I mention how rude they were? We were quiet, polite, and had our small children with us so it wasn't like we were disturbing anything...plus we were only ones there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about our onsite restaurant. I will be sure to pass your notes along to them as I know your feedback is very important to them! I assure you they will take the necessary steps to improve based on this review. Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 07, 2015
Very efficient. Nice people. Beautiful area and central to attractions. Don't need to leave koa so much fun stuff to do there. Very pleased!
Sep 07, 2015
Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty for kids to do would stay longer next time.
Sep 07, 2015
I was disappointed with two things one being the fact that it almost two days and three trips to complain about a clogged toilet in one of the bathrooms. The second is advised wifi. The service was nonexistent. When we arrived on Wednesday morning it had a full signal but my phone show no Internet service. Either boost the Internet or don't advertise free wifi
Sep 07, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay could've maybe liked the pool a little warmer but all in all good time and clean.
Sep 07, 2015
Start by saying the staff and all the people working where great. This is not my style for camping. Every site is very close I worried about my fire pit being too close to the next camper. There is no room for parking after disconnecting. Just too many people for me. Other than that there is tons of stuff for the kids and adults to do.
Sep 07, 2015
We loved the feel of it, all the activities, more then you can even plan in one day! Great staff and friendly people!!
Sep 07, 2015
Over Priced for Senior Citizens. Great for Family with Kids. Poor Internet and Phone reception, if at all possible. Would not stay at this campground again.
Sep 07, 2015
Best KOA we've ever stayed at!!!
Sep 07, 2015
Saturday of labour day weekend - nonreservatio- NO PRONLEM! Wild happening KOA. One night is not enough. The amenities amazing. Unfortunately we only enjoyed the laundry facilities. Big plus was the pancake breakfast. 😎. Washroom and showers, the other necessisity - #1. All staff were professional and friendly.
Sep 06, 2015
you guys are the standard in which all others try to be, one issue was only, fair,I am an amputee of 40 plus years,my point is I know how get around the few obsticles that I am confronted with each day,while showering in the bath house next to spacs 136 I was stepping from the shower with my finger tips on the shower curtain rod,it was so severily rotted,the whole rod and all came down causeing me
Sep 06, 2015
The ponderosa restaurant and Papas pancakes were outstanding. The activities offered were excellent for all ages. Live music by Marley Cook was beautiful. All KOA personnel were polite and accommodating. We would definitely return.
Sep 06, 2015
Absolutely wonderful but need to seriously upgrade your wifi. Best pizza and ice cream. Front desk staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Sep 06, 2015
This place was great, friendly helpful staff, kids had a good time with all the kiddie things to do. I don't know why there is complaints about the size, it is big but they state that on the web site. As for the wifi again they let you know where you have service and where you don't so I'm not sure again why the complaints... Maybe some folks don't know how to read or listen so well.
Sep 05, 2015
Great park centrally located reasonably price very well kept up they even pickup your garbage (nice) they have lots of activity,nice pool,wished they had cable and wifi in the whole park we would stay there again
Sep 05, 2015
Best KOA or camp any where!
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
very overpriced-as senior citizens, we felt a $20.00 fee on top of the regular high rate was not necessary. We did not use anything extra and price did not include cable TV. Had to go to 2nd site due to person checking us into a poor site not suited to Class C MH.
Sep 04, 2015
Awesome location, friendly staff, beautiful campground esp with patio sites.. Could use a few more shady spots but we loved it .
Sep 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of amenities. Only disappointment was lack of WiFi throughout the campground. Access to reliable internet is extremely important to those of us who work remotely.
Sep 04, 2015
Diane & Sara gave us a welcome, from there it was all down hill. We waiting 15 mins for an escort that never showed Scott.Our site wasn't level plus small, didn't have cable or wifi. We have traveled KOA's all over the country, never paid this much before plus a resort fee when we didn't use anything. Registered for 2 night tried to get out of 2nd night, no we didn't give them 48hr notice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort. I have refunded your card for the second night that you did not stay. I'm sorry this did not happen at the time of your departure as we do not require a 48 hour notice as was told to you. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 03, 2015
Great locations! But very small sites.
Sep 03, 2015
We loved everything and the staff was super nice.
Sep 03, 2015
Had a great time, the summer shiners did a great job with our kids. The only issue we had was with our water. It came out of our tap very brown so we had to get water from other sites
Sep 02, 2015
The call center does not understand what each campground's sites are like. Electrical sites with tent's can turn into big ordeal. This campground also floods, as it did where are tent was located...
Sep 01, 2015
The campground is very big and quite expansive. Yet, WIFI is available only at two spots near the entrance. Considering tue high price, this is ridiculous ! Our Site (#602) was at a slope of a hill and not completely even. Friendliness at registration was OK. We had much better KOA campgrounds during our holiday, e.g. Devils Tower, or Erstes Park.
Sep 01, 2015
We had a great experience at Mt. Rushmore KOA. There is a lot to do and it is located close to many different attractions. I highly recommend this campground! Looking forward to coming back again!
Sep 01, 2015
The staff were very nice and the facility is lovely -- especially for people with children. However, the amount of smoke (people burning campfires) at night prevented us from venturing outdoors or opening our windows for the cool air. We even had to take our smoke detectors down inside the RV. This was very disappointing since there was a meteor shower going on that week.
Sep 01, 2015
Lots to do, helpful staff, great location
Sep 01, 2015
real impressed clean nice and lots of features
Sep 01, 2015
The stay was real nice but its so busy, there's not a lot of personal feelings. They didn't carry on with you like the other KOA we stayed at.
Sep 01, 2015
Great and relaxing place to stay!
Sep 01, 2015
Gotta fix the WiFi. Always an issue and cell service is all but non existent.
Sep 01, 2015
The rate for W/E for an overnite stay was outrageous! The only reason we chose this particular KOA was for the evening shuttle for the lighting ceremony @ Mt.Rushmore. The site was not level, the distance to the bathrooms/showers was quite a distance, no real path to them, so had to find my "own way".I realize this is a "resort", however for an overnite stay, the "resort fee" should be waived.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
The view was great! The bathrooms were clean! It was great!
Aug 31, 2015
One of the best places we've stayed at. They had a lot of things to do, and the staff as awesome!
Aug 31, 2015
Great site for people with families. Lots to do, nice bath house, great location - between Hill City and Mt Rushmore. Pleasant staff. Free wi-fi does not work - at all! In fact, staff told us to go to Hill City for best reception. I don't mind that except website says free.
Aug 31, 2015
The KOA at Palmer Gulch is at a wonderful location and has just about everything you could ever expect, except WIFI available at your site and cell phone connectivitiy. Quite a surprise knowing that is a past KOA "campground of the year".
Aug 31, 2015
Your KOA was the nicest one we have ever stayed at. The only draw back is not having access to our cell phones or Mi-Fi. If they would put in a cell tower your place would be perfect!
Aug 31, 2015
My family stays here at least 5+ times each summer, always a great time and never a bad experience! Actually the staff usually goes above and beyond expectations. Much appreciated.
Aug 31, 2015
i just love your place
Aug 30, 2015
Great place for kids!! Tons to do, next time we will stay for a full week!
Aug 30, 2015
Very Nice campground, plenty of things to do, would be nice to have wi-fi at out rv.
Aug 30, 2015
Loved everything about campground except dog play ground it was in horrible condition! Also need to put trash cans around campground! Had to pay extra for dogs that couldn't enjoy the pet yard! Not mowed and r little guy could get out under fence! Feel I should get a refund for the dogs!
Aug 30, 2015
We had a great time! The kids didn't want to leave to go do anything else!
Aug 30, 2015
Bathrooms dirty, men's smelled like sewer. $10/day "resort fee" for amenities included at other KOA's. No WiFi at campsites, and down more than up in common areas. If you don't have kids, DON'T COME HERE. Stay at KOA in Custer City instead.
Aug 30, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
Very nice and helpful staff. Tons of stuff to do. Very clean and well arranged.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals