Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 25, 2015
Almost too big. It does not have the small family campground feel. There was two major storms while we were there and not one person asked us how we were doing.
Jun 25, 2015
Great family friendly resort, clean and fun for the kids! Although we paid extra for wifi, there was no wifi. Don't be fooled and pay the extra for it!
Jun 25, 2015
Awesome had a great time😀😀😀
Jun 25, 2015
I wish I could bring all 12 of my grandchildren here and my 5 great grand children. The staff was very helpful and the prices for the extra was reasonable. Thank you Hill City K.O.A.
Jun 25, 2015
My children loved it there. We liked the variety of activities, food options and shower and laundry availability. We enjoyed horseback riding. The wranglers and guide were all very nice and helpful. My only complaint is it would be nice to have more spacing between sites and trees/shrubbery for privacy and to feel more woodsy or "campy".
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you and we had a wonderful time during our stay. Our Granddaughters were happy just to be there and enjoyed all the children's facilities that you have available. Wished we would of had a longer stay and hope to be back soon!
Jun 25, 2015
Huge KOA lots of things to do for the whole family.
Jun 25, 2015
The lodge was nice but the campground needed to be mowed. The bathhouse #4 was very nasty. Showers full of dirt hair and rocks the toilets had black rings. We left a day early due to the conditions of the bathrooms. We complained and then it was the first time in 2 days the restroom was cleaned some what. My standards are much higher than their efforts. I don't anticipate we will ever use them
Jun 25, 2015
CAmpground was very wet from previous rIn and unfortunately our hook up was in 1 inch of water sewer connection not reachable had us dump station next day staff was very helpful good not great experience
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time! All of the staff there were very helpful and friendly. Thank you for having us!
Jun 24, 2015
Had water under camper 5 days. No internet. Little space between spots. Designed for kids. Too big a camping. Place. No ladder available to check the hail damage everyone had!
Jun 24, 2015
Much too high a price to stay in a jammed up campgtound. Wifi was totally useless. Everything is much more expensive than a regular koa. Staff was friendly and kids had fun. Good pancakes.
Jun 24, 2015
Employees were wonderful. Our camper did not fit in first site given. The second site was on an incline.No place to put picnic table on level ground. Fire pit too close to camper.
Jun 24, 2015
When we checked in the older dark haired woman was not friendly at all. We felt like cattle being herded through a gate. this was by far the dirtiest and muddiest KOA we have ever stayed in. Roads need a lot of improvement and so do the campsites. Very noisey, could not use wifi in any area and no cable tv. We will not be back
Jun 24, 2015
It had rained before we arrived so it was so muddy. The showers were extremely dirty. Hair in the drain, what looked like mold on the bath mat,toilet plugged & muddy footprints on floor.I didn't use that shower but none of them were very clean. Looked in them the next day & looked as if they had not even been cleaned. We stayed in June in a Trailer.
Jun 24, 2015
KOA- our favorite in Midwest. Rushmore altered opinion. Excited about trail rides; during ride, "gentleman" freely smoked vapo-cig and veered off trail, saying he wanted some fun. Do you want your guests' children to be exposed to this behavior at your facility? Your guests were clueless-walking thru occupied sites. A camping etiquette handout might be helpful at check-in.
Jun 24, 2015
Camp site was a swamp asked for new site after they gave away site we were suppose to be in that was high and dry and was told all other sites were full we proceed to see full hook up which is what I had be empty through out are stay and numerous so called deluxe sites wasn't Even offered to get one if I paid difference I was put in crappy site that they had no plans of using by there mistake
Jun 24, 2015
No one showed us to our site. I had to flag down help since my site had too much water to stay on and ask for a different site.
Jun 23, 2015
You need to clean the restrooms and for gods sake, spend some money on gravel, the mud was unacceptable and quite easily overcome with some money and elbow grease
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Durning our week stay the campground was a mud hole. This was not the first rain and won't be the Last. The sites need to be raised and gravel need to be put on all the roads. It didn't rain every day but because the pot holes were never attended to it was a swamp just getting to and from the camper. Every camper couldn't believe the condition of the sites and roads. Not worth what we paid!
Jun 23, 2015
You have a great facility that is in a great location. No cellphone service and little to no wifi signal negates your well run facility.
Jun 23, 2015
Way too expensive! Wifi did not work. Everything costs extra and is over-priced. Premium space is not premium. It is the same as all the others. Concrete patio was missing pieces. Maintenance staff was not friendly. Full report will be at www.rvparkreviews.com
Jun 23, 2015
Tons of things to do, very well run.
Jun 23, 2015
You don't get what you pay for when they can move you around and around to accommodate someone else
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great stay, It would have been great if you would have stopped the rain
Jun 23, 2015
Had a great time the staff did a wonderful job keeping the campground clean even with all the rain the have had
Jun 23, 2015
Move the horses away from the pool and food and it would be much better for the front sites. Other than that and the price of ice we had a wonderful stay.
Jun 23, 2015
We were promised WiFi and cable and did not have any WiFi at all and no cable until late the last day of our stay. Absolutely unacceptable with the promise made to us. My husband had to work online and couldn't because of this. For what we spent on a premium site we were not happy.
Jun 23, 2015
Beautiful setting but no connectivity - cell phones, internet, or TV. They say they have Wi-Fi, but we were never able to connect.
Jun 23, 2015
I stayed at two particular sites at Rushmore. This particular site was spectacular. Definitely recommend. A lot of fun activities for the children to do. Very clean amenities. Great location.
Jun 23, 2015
We had an amazing time at the Palmers Gulch KOA. The staff are outstanding. They did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The grounds were clean and the facilities were amazing. I would definitely come back to this campground in a heartbeat. Thanks again for helping us make a life time of lasting family memories. Front desk girls were above and beyond helpful and friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
Very much enjoyed our stay. everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Jun 23, 2015
We had no fire pit most likely due to the rain washing it away, but it would have been nice to know about it before the camper was situated. Tight spots if neighboring campers have multiple slides. Our spot was muddy which was difficult with a dog. Staff were friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
The campground had a lot of fun activities and was the largest KOA that I have ever stayed at. I didn't care for the site that I stayed at as I had a lot of standing water, which attracted a lot of bugs. I am sure that most other sites were nice. I would stay at this camp ground again.
Jun 23, 2015
Hail destroyed all four of my air-conditioners and my car. won't be back. Site was muddy, needed some gravel in it. for the money it cost,was not good
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of hail damage but KOA staff wonderful - out in full force. Wish prices were better for nightly rates but still a wonderful facility.
Jun 23, 2015
No internet service which we paid for. Too many packed into a small space
Jun 22, 2015
We have visited this KOA three times in the past four years. This year was disappointing. Very disorganized, less events for the kids, but worst of all, the most unfriendly staff we've ever encountered. We certainly hope things change, or we may need to look elsewhere for a campground next summer. Best of luck that you can figure things out and update the KOA and improve overall!
Jun 22, 2015
Awesome staff, great amenities, great food, nice sites, strange camp fire placement, nice bathrooms and showers.
Jun 22, 2015
We have stayed at this koa a number of times. This is the first time we have had to jump puddles to get to our site. Which we wouldn't have minded as much, but we had asked for a different site and were told no. We had seen drier stops that were open the whole time we were there. Otherwise our stay would have been very nice.
Jun 22, 2015
Need one or the other, WiFi or cell phone access. Need emergency contact with family and friends outside.
Jun 22, 2015
Internet doesn't work even in hot spots. Cable fuzzy. Deluxe patio falling apart. If you are on main road, constant noise and traffic and noise. Crowded and expensive
Jun 22, 2015
We love coming out because everyone is so friendly and helpful. Place is very clean. We loved our 601 spot! Also, my first time horseback riding in 28 years. My husband lost his voice box to cancer so he speaks very softly. Girls that took us out riding constantly checked if he was OK. Very conscious of his not being able to yell out if he was in trouble. See you June 2016...
Jun 22, 2015
Our site was very muddy/wet - I know it rained a lot but other sites were nothing like ours. We have stayed there 2 other times and convinced our family to do a reunion there due to our pleasant stays in the past - not so this time. The gravel roads are horrible!! There were pot holes and washouts all over - piles of gravel were there but in our 5 days we never saw anyone do anything about it.
Jun 22, 2015
We had sewer back up at our site and all the sites down our road stunk. It was not even enjoyable to go out side.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Called to verify my reservation and our group could be together and was told it was possible, but wasn't at check in. Also asked the condition of the campsites, due to the recent rain, told they were ok, but we stayed in a mud hole. The last thing is the showers were nasty and hadn't been cleaned that day, and it was 11 am.
Jun 22, 2015
One of the BEST campgrounds we've ever stayed at!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
pros-We had a great time! This is a very nice campground. Large lots. Very clean. cons- no cellular service, little to no Wi-Fi. Need to have more sites with cable hook ups. Firewood is expensive for the size of the bundles considering it is pine and burns quickly. It takes several bundles to have a small camp fire for smores. The kids loved the 3 wheeled bikes but were to expensive to ride mor

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.