Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 21, 2016
We didn't have enough time for the kids to play because it rained. But we still had a great time!
Jul 21, 2016
First time at a KOA and was skeptical to try but this facility out performed our expectations as it was clean, with many extras we never knew would have been offered. The staff was well organized, courteous, and helpful in every way. I'm sure not all KOA's are this nice but this one was great. We were given a nice quiet spot on the outer edges of the campground after calling the same day.
Jul 21, 2016
1)Packed in like sardines! 2)There was meant to be a dump at your site but I never found it. 3)Noisy. 4)Incredibly expensive for what it was. 5)Crap food at their restaurant Ponderosa. 6)No internet service even though they promise free wifi. 7)Badly lit areas with very small signage - impossible to find your spot at night. 8)Lousy customer service:I rang 8 times in a 2 hour period. No ans
Jul 20, 2016
Had a blast! Kids loved the fun zone.
Jul 20, 2016
Plenty to do if you have young children.
Jul 20, 2016
Second time here. The people are friendly and always willing to help if needed. We had family flying out of Rapid City . They rented me a vehicle and allowed me to leave my camper there after my days were up until I could get back from Rapid. We will be back.
Jul 20, 2016
For the busiest KOA in the country it ran really well. Major thunderstorm with hail as we were setting up. The staff was very helpful and made sure everyone was alright.
Jul 19, 2016
This is by far the best KOA we stay at. This is are 4th summer here. There is something for everyone. We can't wait to come back next summer.
Jul 19, 2016
Best yet! Extremely family friendly, kids loved it.
Jul 19, 2016
Great for all ages!Very clean and fun activities all around!
Jul 19, 2016
We had a great time! This is the place you want to stay if you have kids! There's so much for them to do! Our family loved the UTV ride and the horseback riding as well. There's something for everyone young and old:)
Jul 19, 2016
The camp was everything we wanted and the kids needed - things to do for the kids that were easily accessible in a lovely setting - great pancake breakfast made it easy to get the family ready for adventures in the nearby area - Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sylvan Lake, Custer State Park and the amazing Mammoth Site. Kids did not want to leave and asked to come back next year - just fabulous!!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
We absolutely loved our trip and this Kampground was our first KOA experience. we couldn't say enough great things about the staff and how many great activities they have. It was so hard to leave.
Jul 19, 2016
Everything is great except for cell and internet coverage which are horrible.
Jul 19, 2016
Wifi was very poor. Would have liked cable. Everything else was great.
Jul 19, 2016
Horrible!
Jul 19, 2016
We had a fabulous stay! There are so many activities for the kids they were never bored! I want to specifically thank the folks at the Trail Ride - and Liz in particular - for helping us coordinate my son's proposal to his girlfriend while on a ride! It was fabulous and the people there were awesome! The people at registration were very pleasant and helpful too! I would give 10 stars if I could!
Jul 19, 2016
Tons of amenities. Huge campground in a great location. Young kids working there were super. Clean restrooms. Downside is that there was traffic going by our site constantly which made it not safe for the kids. Dryers didn't work.
Jul 19, 2016
Don't have the pancake breakfast! Very gross! Otherwise, top notch!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Had reservation for deluxe patio, when arrived several open spaces and spot for "us "still had camper in it. Told computer error and no spot got lesser site, guided by golf cart KOA to spot, and paid that fee. Found out the site was for someone with adjoining site so had to move. Promised deluxe next day. Moved again next day, noted several deluxe sites open during stay.7 th time there.ugh
Jul 19, 2016
When booking I missed the word "resort". The location of the campground was awesome and the services offered were great. It was extremely busy ALL of the time. While the onsite car rental was great for us the car we were given wasn't. Just a little too busy for us and what we're used to while camping.
Jul 19, 2016
Awesome!
Jul 19, 2016
The campground is awesome but the office was having major reservation issues and we were in the middle of it. It got resolved but lots of unhappy people shaking their heads.
Jul 19, 2016
The site was at such an angle that it bottomed out the rear of my RV when it was level. The water was brown.
Jul 19, 2016
So much to do we decided to stay longer. Perfect location close driving distance to everything. Added convienance of being able to rent car at site.
Jul 18, 2016
This was our second time camping here. We love KOA's for their kids activities and clean washrooms. What was lacking on this trip was wifi availability was extremely poor. If due to terrain you cannot provide quality wifi then do not advertise it. I was also disappointed that they are now charging for things such as bike rentals which before were included as part of the camping/resort fee.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Mount Rushmore KOA was like checking into a time share. It had everything and our family would stay again.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Our favorite campground!!!
Jul 18, 2016
This campground had it all. We used it as a base camp while we drove to explore all the beautiful scenery in SD. Staff was extremely helpful. Bathrooms were nice and clean!
Jul 18, 2016
Clean and pleasant facilities but terrible wifi connection and no cell service means that staying in touch is hard with our party within the campground was hard. Therefore the wifi needs to be expanded or updated to get a better rating.
Jul 18, 2016
The kids were very sad to leave,
Jul 18, 2016
Great activities for the whole family. Well maintained.
Jul 18, 2016
My only complaint with the campground was we were placed in dog row and did not get a pull through site which we had requested while other dog owners were given pull through sites with much larger dogs than a chihuahua. We had requested a pull through site because we had stayed there before and were able to get internet and cable service which we needed for work while on vacation.
Jul 18, 2016
This is a great campsite - lots to do for kids of all ages!! Pancake breakfast was delicious!!
Jul 18, 2016
We got a site with no shade at all for a popup camper. Campsite was way to loud. We left a day early just to go somewhere more shady. We asked to move sites and they gave us another site in the field. We asked for a primitive site when we booked. I do not recommend this campgrounds unless you want no sleep and a hot tent or camper.
Jul 18, 2016
Great place.
Jul 18, 2016
Loved the kids activities and the pools. Every area was very very clean.The flower plantings were very cheerful. Loved the horses being onsite for trail riding
Jul 18, 2016
great place for families and kids!
Jul 18, 2016
Loved it. Well be back for sure. Wish there was a path to the restrooms by site 163 so if you're in 226 lie we were there was a more direct way to go instead of walking the entire row and around or cutting thru someone's site which is disrespectful.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very accommodating, friendly, clean. It met all our needs. I love that it was family friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
Best KOA stay! Would definitely return.
Jul 18, 2016
Fun family environment. Lots of activities. Recommend signing up for the chuck wagon dinner! They need to trim bushes by bike path and level the bridge.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great staff. Very busy campgraound with lots of people. Very family friendly and great location.
Jul 18, 2016
Great location! Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse close by. Great activities for everyone at the campground. Only problem is the lack of wifi bandwidth for the amount of campers and cell signal is very bad due to be in the hills. But not a negative point but a great point to bring the family closer together.
Jul 18, 2016
Quite, campground. Clean bathroom.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals