Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 07, 2016
Wouldn't answer phone when we were trying to find campground on a rainy night. Made reservation year in advance for motorhome 30' towing had to take trailer off and still barely fit on spot!!!!
Sep 07, 2016
nice park
Sep 07, 2016
The campgrounds and all of its facilities were top notch! My only concern was the low morale of the staff members. Many staff members had poor customer service and appeared to be pre-occupied with concerns greater then the campers! Palmer Gulch management: please take better care of your staff! There should be no reason for them to be disgruntled towards campers if they are being well taken
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is great, the campground is clean & tidy, pool & hot tub are maintained, a little pricey, the wi-fi needs an upgrade, no cell signal, awesome view of Harney Peak, lots of cool amenities, will stay again! Thank you!
Sep 07, 2016
There's really no reason to have to leave this camp ground. Everything you need is right there and very kid friendly.
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
LOVE this place!!! Went twice this summer and plan on going back next summer for an entire week. Top Notch!
Sep 07, 2016
Great location to Mt Rushmore and Custer St park. Staff was very helpful and lots of things to do at the koa. Site was set off from main campground so there was no wifi. I would recommend asking for a site behind the office.
Sep 07, 2016
Wonderful facility with more amenities than one would imagine at a KOA. I'm sure they'll improve their wireless network for those of us tied to our technology, and try to make the improved bath facility less like a sauna.
Sep 07, 2016
It rained pretty good and I know that is Mother Nature but when you pay $80 for a camping spot you would think there would be enough gravel so there wouldn't be ankle deep mud at your camper door.
Sep 07, 2016
Right where we wanted to be, with helpful staff and all the amenities you could possibly want. The kids loved it!
Sep 07, 2016
I would think every kid would love it!
Sep 06, 2016
Lots to do if you are so inclined but having to pay a $10/day resort fee on top of the camping fee is a bit much. Our water was quite discolored at the spigot but better after passing thru our water filter. Friendly staff.
Sep 06, 2016
No TV, water flows down hill better!
Sep 06, 2016
The low marks are basically for the site(596) we had. Not level and the sewer hole was up on the side of the hill, higher than my camper drain. Very friendly & courteous staff. Extra $10 resort fee per day wasn't worth it for us as we were there to sightsee. Great place for kids if you have them. Plenty of activities.
Sep 06, 2016
The facility itself is amazing!! The wi-fi is horrible, dont count on it working. Most of the employees were not very friendly, mostly kids. We told a girl at the store in back that kids were destroying the mini golf and she said that she only worked at the store, not her issue. Also, the guy that checked us in, Im sorry people checking in is such a big inconvenience to you.
Sep 06, 2016
Great place in a beautiful setting, tons of activities for all ages. Perfect location for a Black Hills vacation. Bathrooms need updating.
Sep 06, 2016
Stayed over 4th of July weekend. We liked our campsite although everyone had a campfire at night and it was extremely smokey. Facilities were in good shape although the womens shower needed cleaning. No wifi at our site was a disappointment. This is a huge resort and they did a good job managing all of the people and activities. Overall, we liked it.
Sep 06, 2016
Was a great family vacation! We have 4 kids ages 3-16 and the campground had many activities for all my children! Well done!
Sep 06, 2016
Beautiful setting. Nice and clean. Resort like feel. A ton to do.
Sep 06, 2016
The facility and staff were great and the location/view are wonderful. I think there could have been a little more attention to the daily activities and making sure the staff was all on the same page, if the staff is unsure of the activities the guests are completely unsure.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great time. We really enjoyed the water slide, pool,chuck wagon dinner and bus ride to Mount Rushmore was all a lot of fun.
Sep 06, 2016
Not at all what we expected from our first stay at a KOA. Loud, undisciplined children, no respect for personal space from fellow campers and way over priced for what you get. If this is a representation of the crowd that KOA's attract then we'll stick to National/State parks.
Sep 06, 2016
My family and I absolutely love KOA. We have been camping at Palmer Gulch for 8 years now. Unfortunately we can no longer afford it. Especially when we can get a hotel room cheaper.
Sep 06, 2016
This is a good place to take the kids while staying in the BH's. We will likely be back. That being said, there are several areas of inprovement that could take place to justify the cost that is being charged. 1) the bathrooms need some work. 2) water quality not good. 3) WiFi is horrible.
Sep 06, 2016
Best KOA that we have stayed. So many things to do and very friendly staff!
Sep 06, 2016
It was wonderful with lots to do for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Beautiful place. Lots of activities for kids that don't cost extra (mini golf, rock climbing wall, water slide and pools, dances, spray park, live music, fishing pond, etc). Ideal for kids. If you want quiet and peace, ask for a spot on the outskirts of camp, very busy around the "fun zone". Not a lot of negatives to report. Scott (Labor day wknd 2016)
Sep 06, 2016
I loved the campground and all the amenities it had to offer - great place for kids!Just 1 thing, the coffee shop had about a 30 minute wait and the day we left we couldnt get assistance in the Ponderosa. The people before us were waiting for 30 minutes and still had not been seated. They should have been better staffed for a holiday weekend! Only one server at each place. Id still give it another
Sep 06, 2016
It was amazing. The customer service is great!
Sep 06, 2016
Wonderful time! Will be back for sure!!
Sep 06, 2016
Too crowded. Very, very poor internet (yes, its important to me). No cable---why no cable ? Seems like an easy fix. Lots for the kids to do. Nice location for the area sites.
Sep 06, 2016
While the campground and activities were the best...we had rented a group tent for a family reunion. When we arrived there, it was set up for a wedding. I got a refund but cannot believe the booked the tent to 3 parties for the same day. DISAPPOINTED!!
Sep 06, 2016
Great place to stay if you have children campsites a little small
Sep 06, 2016
It was Awesome! It exceeded our expectations. Had 2 grandchildren with us and they had the best time ever!!
Sep 06, 2016
We did not use the amenities as our children are grown. If you have young kids this is the place to come. You won't find anything better to keep them entertained! No Internet or Verizon Wireless but clean and comfortable campground!
Sep 06, 2016
Amazing resort! The staff accommodated my husband with his disability by shuttling us to the village up front since we were located at the other end of the park. Absolutely gorgeous-wish we had our grandkids with us to take advantage of all of the fun things to do! Thanks so much!
Sep 06, 2016
Great location for any kind of event big or small!! We celebrated a wedding here and are planning the next big family event here as well!!
Sep 06, 2016
Took my girls here to enjoy some activities in the area and all they wanted to do is stay at the resort. Well done guys! Great place. The best base camp for hitting all the sights and activities in the area. Staff is top notch and everything you need is right on site. Tent sites were clean and had good water. All the other campers were fun and courteous. If you have kids this is the place!
Sep 05, 2016
Lousy internet, and they don't seem motivated to do anything. No shade at site, old bathroom. Huge park, better for people with kids. Expensive - resort fee is onerous.
Sep 05, 2016
The accommodations at your resort are amazing and great fun was had by all. The flower were ever so beautiful, and everything was welcoming.woulduse your KOA again. We had a reunion there and the shower house and staff were excellent. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!!! Rita Loeffen
Sep 05, 2016
Spent 6 nights here, truly a great experience. This park is near all of the attractions and has so much to offer if you just stay in the park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Sep 05, 2016
Real nice and quiet until the weekend. Has everything you need as far as services. Grandkids really liked the place.
Sep 05, 2016
Excellent facility, lots of fun activities, thank you for your hospitality, everyone of your staff was friendly and helpful. We will be back, thank you
Sep 05, 2016
We stayed over Labor Day weekend and although the campground was full you could still find quiet places to walk. Beautiful flowers and helpful staff.
Sep 04, 2016
Very nice campground with lots to do at the campground and in the local area. On checkin, we became aware of a discrepancy between the Palmer Gulch website and our confirmation email regarding our site. We thought we had a deluxe site (that's what the email said) but we had actually booked a standard. I spoke to the manager and he fixed the website on the spot. Nice job. We even caught fish!
Sep 04, 2016
Great place to stay close to Mt. Rushmore. Lots of amenities and activities.
Sep 04, 2016
Thanks again for another Great Stay at the Rushmore KOA. From the time we called to reserve spots until we packed to leave. It was a great time for us all. We had a group of 6 campers and we are planning it again for next year. Have stayed there several times and will continue to stay with you all. Thanks again.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals