Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
Fantastic facility with all amenities. Good restaurant, lots of showers, kid friendly. Helpful staff also.
Sep 14, 2016
Very nice, enjoyed our stay! Great location!!
Sep 14, 2016
It was good. The washrooms are clean.
Sep 13, 2016
Clean and friendly
Sep 13, 2016
Great Campground, Not Happy with the extra fees, need to address the lack of Wifi on site, due to the very poor cell service in the area. Every thing else was about as good as it gets.
Sep 13, 2016
Campground centrally located in Cody. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside is horrible WiFi even sitting in he office.
Sep 13, 2016
Sep 13, 2016
Had a great stay. Liked there was a restaurant on site. Staff was helpful and overall wonderful. Store was well stocked for our needs. The only problem was there was no cell, TV or Internet service and we needed to keep in touch with family. I made good use of the courtest phone that was awailable. We were also thrilled the stables and riding were available after Labor Day.
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
We really enjoyed this location, although we visited when most of the amenities were closed down. The wifi didn't work, which was difficult when we needed to be connected for work.
Sep 12, 2016
Very close access to Mt Rushmore which I guess justifies the price. Great sites, restroom could be cleaner.
Sep 12, 2016
The Disneyland of campgrounds. Great layout, lots of activities and things to do and the location is beautiful.
Sep 12, 2016
Beautiful location for KOA. Loved all the amenities (horses, restaurants, shows, stores, rentals). However, although advertised, there isn't internet service that works often or consistently. In addition, the bathrooms were never cleaned for the 48 hours of our stay and the showers were filthy. And the swimming pool was also dirty - my son wouldn't swim in the pool.
Sep 12, 2016
We have recommended your KOA to others already.
Sep 12, 2016
The staff was super friendly and helpful. Gorgeous park with lots of activities for the kids.
Sep 12, 2016
The first site we received was a big mud hole, after setting up we had to move as we couldn't get into our vehicle with all the water and mud. Second site was dry but water had to be shut down for repairs. When turned back on water was brown for quite a while then finally cleared. We extended our stay by one more day but was greeted the next morning by a loud knock on door to check out. Rude.
Sep 12, 2016
This is a great KOA and the people are very nice and helpful. They had two water line breaks while we where there and it plugged up my water filter and others in the Camp. Lots to do here at this KOA and around it. Would stay here again. Jeff
Sep 12, 2016
Great!
Sep 12, 2016
Excellent even though quite expensive
Sep 11, 2016
I liked very much that the pool area was opened until 10pm. So you had time to enjoy together with the stars on nightsky.
Sep 11, 2016
This is the biggest KOA we have stayed at. Plenty to do, lots of kids during labor day weekend, but after it was very quiet. Very bad internet and no cell service. Wish I would have known that before our stay. Nice level lots and plenty of helpful staff. We even rented a car that was easy to do.
Sep 11, 2016
Wifi was terrible. Our campsite was underwater most of the stay. The facilities are great, but it's a bit overrated for the price.
Sep 11, 2016
It was the best camping place we have ever camped in including all the places in Europe we have camped in. Every one was so friendly and all the beautiful flowers were really made us feel good. Thanks for all the help provided while we were there. Thomas Barbara and our dog Dixie.
Sep 11, 2016
L,allée de notre camping très très bruyante, tous les véhicules qui passent, tres vite, même ceux de KOA et pousierreux
Sep 11, 2016
Very convenient to Mount Rushmore and all the other sites in that area. It be a perfect place for a family with all the activities at the KOA.
Sep 10, 2016
Great place for families! Tons of activities for the kids and adults. Clean, organized, luxurious. Beautiful surroundings and great jump off place for exploring the Black Hills and Badlands. Will definitely stay again!
Sep 10, 2016
Sep 10, 2016
Very nice location great facility but extremely busy on holiday weekend. WiFi does barely work and is insufficient for a " resort" water shortages followed by brownish water supply?
Sep 10, 2016
The site and people were fantastic, the only recommendation I would make is that you don't put a 40 Motorhome with a tow vehicle in spot 620 - it was difficult to exit the spot due to the way other campers were set up around us - and we didn't even have our tow vehicle hooked up. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Sep 10, 2016
I only wish I had planned out trip prior to the day AFTER labor day. Many of the fun attractions were closed for the season, but we still enjoyed the resort. I would visit again
Sep 10, 2016
Best KOA we've ever stayed at. Beautiful grounds, especially the meadow area. We stayed after Labor Day, when most of the family activities were closed, which made it nice and quiet for the two of us. But families with kids must have a ball during the summer when everything is in full swing. Will be back and definitely reccommend to friends.
Sep 09, 2016
Big campground with a big store. Unfortunately we got not a really good place, Sturgis was to near ;-) Nevertheless it was okay.
Sep 09, 2016
The agent with Mt. Rushmore KOA, Serena, was simply outstanding! She worked with me to locate a space when I arrived early, and did so with a wonderful smile! She should be a trainer, if not already one. The site was very clean, as was the entire campsite. The fellows who greeted me at the gate were also marvelous - wonderful personalities, and incredibly friendly. I will definitely visit aga
Sep 09, 2016
The best campground ever!!! Now if the rain would stay away next time :-)
Sep 09, 2016
way over priced. for what i got.Debit Card Purchase MT RUSHMORE KOA/PALMER HILL CITY SD. $135.68 FOR 2 NIGHTS site was only 10 feet long rv site and we only had tents. it was all they had. after riding the black hills there were a lot of places with camping for a lot less. when we asked about the inter net we got a lady with a bad attitude and said to us there is 500 people trying to get on.
Sep 08, 2016
Very crowded on Labor Day Weekend. WIFI was good, but there was no internet connection. Lots to do for families. Were good to work with for our reunion.
Sep 08, 2016
$80 is over kill...we have been in much nicer ones for 1/3 the price...
Sep 08, 2016
We stayed at many KOA's on our way to SD from California. Some were pretty much dumps.The KOA@Palmer Gulch SD was amazing. None of us wanted to leave. It was a beautiful surrounding and very nice people and great amenities. The only downers were not having cell reception, wifi nor cable. Since we had a lot of rainy evenings while there, it would have been nice
Sep 08, 2016
Expensive & Dirty Bathrooms.
Sep 08, 2016
Way to much smoke from campfires. Pancake breakfast ran out of batter at 10 am on last day!! Had to go to rapid city for breakfast...disappointing!
Sep 08, 2016
We enjoyed camping here. As others have said no cell coverage but that was okay by me. Lots to do with most of it free. Tks
Sep 08, 2016
Way to expensive for what we needed. The park is gorgeous but the cost is prohibitive. They charge double compared to other KOAs but you paid extra for services of all kinds. Lots to do and centered right in the middle of all we wanted to see. We paid extra for cable and wifi and got neither. We also had no phone service if this is important to you
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Wouldn't answer phone when we were trying to find campground on a rainy night. Made reservation year in advance for motorhome 30' towing had to take trailer off and still barely fit on spot!!!!
Sep 07, 2016
nice park
Sep 07, 2016
The campgrounds and all of its facilities were top notch! My only concern was the low morale of the staff members. Many staff members had poor customer service and appeared to be pre-occupied with concerns greater then the campers! Palmer Gulch management: please take better care of your staff! There should be no reason for them to be disgruntled towards campers if they are being well taken
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is great, the campground is clean & tidy, pool & hot tub are maintained, a little pricey, the wi-fi needs an upgrade, no cell signal, awesome view of Harney Peak, lots of cool amenities, will stay again! Thank you!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy