Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome! Lots of activities for the kids, two pools, hot tubs, this place is awesome!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
This facilities were great. There were plenty of activities for the children. Plus it was a centralized location to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The staff are extremely curtious and help.
Aug 08, 2014
been going to this location for 4 years and this year they decided not to clean the camping kitchens, after we told them it needed attention they cleaned it once in a weeks time, traveling on a motorcycle and counting on these types of places is important to us with limited space.
Aug 08, 2014
Very nice campground! The only thing I have to complain about is the lack of room on the campsite for the towing vehicle.
Aug 08, 2014
Wished I would've known before making reservations! Added Charges: $10 daily resort fee on top of daily rate;on/off peak daily rates; $3 per day/per dog extra charge. This would've have been OK except the dog area was disgusting. Lots of old dog poop laying round;receptacle was overflowing. Cleaned up after complaining. Stinky showers with mold;water pressure at campsite was a trickle;no WFI;
Aug 08, 2014
Enjoyed close proximity to Rushmore and Crazy Horse while still being in quiet country setting. Restaurant, coffee bar, stables all terrific, well stocked store a plus. Would like to see more gravel on unpaved roads, but overall upkeep is terrific.
Aug 08, 2014
Nice, clean, family friendly park.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
I loved the amenities, but we were disappointed in the lack of internet service and poor cell phone service. I enjoyed the wine tasting and the other shops.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Crazy thunderstorm came through at 4:30 am blew our rain fly right off our tent. Thank goodness for the dryers in the laundry room!
Aug 07, 2014
Was in for 3 nights of camping with my kids. I had previously stayed at this same KOA as a kid. Had a fantastic time...only downside was the incredibly loud bikes (Sturgis bike rally) and one rude neighbor, but even that didn't ruin our stay. Would likely plan to visit at least week prior/week after next time.
Aug 07, 2014
Great facilities with tons to do for everyone. Great location for attractions in the area
Aug 07, 2014
Great place for families with kids.
Aug 07, 2014
A great place...but they need to manage the flies. The stables have a fly and smell issue. We have stayed five years and it gets worse annually.
Aug 07, 2014
The only reason for the 3 rating is due to the poor cleanliness of the showers....we tried to use another area which was spotless but there was no hot water...maybe why they were so clean? Campsite was great, all activities offered were great, restaurant had good food & service. Horseback riding was excellent. Great big area for pets to run & play. Great camping experience overall! Thank you
Aug 07, 2014
Outstanding experience! Helpful staff, clean facilities and great activities for the kids!
Aug 07, 2014
The only thing I thought really needed improvement was the bathrooms. They had a bad gnat problem and were treating it but not wiping any of the dead gnats off of anything! But they were super nice and friendly and the camp had so many fun things to do and so many activities.
Aug 06, 2014
n wifi when I reserved the site it said i had wifi. water presser was low. staff weas helpfull but could do nothing about it.
Aug 06, 2014
The activities for the kids are fabulous and the grounds are beautiful. The showers are needing some updating, but overall it is a great place!!
Aug 06, 2014
That was an awesome stay, our kids does not even want to leave the campground.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
My first time to Black Hills. Simply beautiful. The KOA had everything a young family would ever want. Only one problem the fire pit to close to RV. Needs to be in middle of grassy space
Aug 06, 2014
Some of the most helpful and kind people I've ever had the chance to meet. My kids loved this place. They had so much to do they wanted to stay for more time than we had. They were sad to leave. It's beautiful too. Love those Black Hills!
Aug 06, 2014
Just great for kids, so much to keep them busy. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was very convenient. The horseback riding right there at the campground was very good. Overall one our better KOA experiences.
Aug 06, 2014
WOW. Very nice facility. Like staying in a hotel. Only problem, the campground is so large that we frequently got disoriented finding our spot.
Aug 05, 2014
We missed hearing the City Slickers on three nights as we usually do when we stay with you. Hope they are back to regular three night schedule next year!!
Aug 05, 2014
great family reunion I would have liked to hear more of the Hill City Slickers play more than just the two nights we really liked listening to the music.
Aug 05, 2014
The location was wonderful. There was plenty of what we wanted to do very close to the KOA. We took advantage of the horse trail ride, Mount Rushmore, Keystone, challenging mountain biking and climbed one of the peaks looking for a mine. The maintenance staff was very helpful to help us with issues we were having with our RV trailer. We were pleased with our site although our WiFi did not work.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
This is the best KOA we've ever stayed at. We will be recommending it to all of our friends as well as fellow campers we meet. It was very clean, staff were professional and helpful. Amenities were great. We'll be back!
Aug 05, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay! Lots of activities and very family friendly. Cell service was nonexistent so it was hard to do business but we managed and had a great time.
Aug 05, 2014
had an amazing time. loved the palmer gulch Koa. would recommend it to anyone.
Aug 04, 2014
tHE CAMPGROUND IS WELL MAINTAINED, FLOWERS ETC. VERY NICE BUT LOTS OF PLUMBING ISSUES IN THE SHOWERS AND BATHROOMS. HAD TO WAIT WHILE SEVERAL SHOWERS WERE UNUSABLE. PEOPLE WERE GREEAT AND HELPFUL
Aug 04, 2014
Very nice KOA. Only issue I had was with the laundry. The Washing machine I used did not have cold water although I selected it. Because it used hot water there was rust/iron stains on all of my new white shirts. There was a sign about iron in the water that I belatedly read. But living in an area with iron I know that cold water is less likely to have iron stains.
Aug 04, 2014
Wish we could have been given a quieter section of the park. Being at the front of your main drag did not lend itself to a peaceful dinner.
Aug 04, 2014
best KOA ammenities ever
Aug 04, 2014
I enjoyed my time at the KOA. Lots to do. The wood though was pricey and lots of smokey fires. Mud in the shower stalls can't be helped but overall, the showers were not very clean. The coffee shop needs more help and more counterspace. I would increase the size. Our laundry was stained by the washing machines and we used 3 of them.
Aug 04, 2014
400 characters not enough. Store and front were great. Campsites w/ water and electric tiny. Showers dirty and moldy. Bathrooms dirty. Other than the front, worst KOA I've stayed at.
Aug 04, 2014
THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY ( OUR 3RD TIME ) . YOU NEED TO RE-THINK THE RELIGEOUS GROUP DOING SKITS @ THE STAGE. MANY FOUND IT IN-APPROPRIATE !
Aug 04, 2014
We always love staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA! So many things for the kids to do while mom and dad relax!! We love the horses, the pancake tent, the pools but mostly we love the awesome views! Thanks for a great vacation again!
Aug 04, 2014
This is a wonderful KOA! There is so much to do for kids. My children loved the water slide, pools, jumping pillow, climbing wall, mini golf, hayrides and the many other fun things to do here. The KOA also had a group called the Summershiners who planned so many fun, family friendly activities throughout the day and we're always so friendly. I would highly recommend this KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
great place to camp if you are wanting to see the sights of the area.. the facilties were good but seemed "over used".. alot of campers and not enough accomidations.. but the people were great and with the addition of some more showers and bathrooms this could easily be my favorite KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Rushmore KOA while visiting the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
Great location. Tons of activities. Laundromat could use some maintenance.
Aug 04, 2014
Well, I started to give two stars but that's not really fair because it was just to crowded for us..We did stay in July, the most traveled time of the year.I gave 4 stars because it it a very nice campground. parking for checking in was crazy, we were 4 abreast and 4 deep waiting. an outside check in would solve the problem.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.