Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 15, 2016
Been staying here since 2000 always been excellent nicest Koa we stayed at keep up the good work thanks mike
Aug 15, 2016
Lots of activities for the kids. Great campground.
Aug 15, 2016
Good campground with lots to do! Close to mount Rushmore which is why we picked it. Only downsides were that the tent site we had was very small, so we were cramped and didnt have much room to cook, and that there were no trees that provided shade where we were. We will probably come again but will have to pay for a pull through site or something.
Aug 15, 2016
Great experience at this family friendly campground. Lots of amenities and good store if you forgot something! clean shower building. Would go here again. Sites are a little tight, and not many trees in this valley to give privacy, had a broken water spigot also.
Aug 15, 2016
Very family oriented , organized and friendly helpful staff. I have a handicap and the service drivers were willing to meet our requests. Thank you
Aug 15, 2016
Stayed here 7 years now for the Sturgis rally...Always great!! They have everything you need plus ALOT more !!
Aug 15, 2016
friendly staff gorgeous stores!
Aug 15, 2016
Love this place, one build would be to have an Wifi connection that actually works. I have stayed for a couple of years, but to know you have to leave the campground and go into Hill City to get a signal can be annoying.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
I loved the location. I loved the amenities. I was profoundly disappointed in how I was treated by some of the staff. I was given false information concerning rentals. And I felt like I was being "scammed" by threats of additional charges.
Aug 15, 2016
Loved it
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
This was a beautiful campground that had so many amenities that we were unable to take advantage of. Would love to come back again.
Aug 14, 2016
Only reason I don't give a full rate is the poor internet and cell service. I have friends that will not stay there for that reason. Mike the GM is awesome.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Awesome place for families with kids. Lots to do and close to all major sights. Enjoyed the trout pond, pancake breakfast and the tavern at night.
Aug 14, 2016
Great campground. Loved amenities but really think the lack of wifi and tv hook ups decreases the appeal. I'm a doctor and not having cell service was dicey for me.
Aug 14, 2016
We really enjoy your KOA and have stayed there multiple times, but we may not stay there again if the wifi situation is not fixed. Connectivity and cell phone reception were notably worse than when we stayed there 2 years ago.
Aug 14, 2016
Beautiful resort; fantastic amenities; very well maintained; RV sites are very tight and can be an issue for longer units.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Very helpful. Love the car rental option. Food was very good.
Aug 14, 2016
Very unfriendly staff - impossible to get a hold of front desk without going into building - always a wait line. Hot tub didn't work :{ Wifi did not work nor phone - difficult to contact family members without walking all over camp. Stayed in KOA's for 6 nights in a row... this was worst and most expensive!!
Aug 14, 2016
Really nice KOA but I thought it was to expensive for what my RV site offered. We had a gravel site (621) with a mud hole no internet at our site, no tv svs, and no cable tv. Really nice family park but for what my site had it cost to much.
Aug 13, 2016
We have enjoyed staying with you for many years and we have recommended our friends and family to join us each year..which they did. Love the amenities and location, but due to the rise in cost to stay at this KOA, unfortunately, we can no longer afford to stay and we did not rebook our stay for next year.
Aug 13, 2016
The only compliant I have is your promotion of WIFI HotSpot connections. It is pretty much nonexistent. To promote something that is not really there is not good. The WIFI HotSpots on your maps should be removed. Share about your "maybe WIFI connections" at the time of check in only. Then it would feel like an added bonus if we get connected. Other than that you have a nice place to stay.
Aug 13, 2016
THis is hands down the most awesome campground - period! So many fun things to do and clean and easy! The kids are never bored and the parents can relax! The only one thing is that the bathroom showers were a little stinky....other than that, TOPS in al other categories! Don;t even THINK about staying anywhere else if you are in this area! We were SAD to leave!
Aug 13, 2016
This campground was so amazing. Amazing views. We had a centrally located campsite so the kids could play and we had eyesight the whole time. There were kid friendly activities everyday and the kids enjoyed looking at the schedule to see what was next. Thank you for an awesome stay!
Aug 13, 2016
Fun fun fun times for all
Aug 13, 2016
Very nice staff. Took care of all our needs
Aug 13, 2016
A very helpful staff & fellow campers during an accident. Sturges people- noisy & fun.
Aug 13, 2016
Need more toilets.
Aug 12, 2016
The only real complaint I have is the laundry rooms there needs to be more washer and dryers for as big as camp ground as this KOA
Aug 12, 2016
Great facilities.However, staff are not welcoming. Seemed frustrated with our questions
Aug 12, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. However, we were extremely disappointed in the mini golf course, the pools had lots of bugs and hair balls, and the one hot tub was green. The showers, well they were filthy everytime I used them. Mud on the floors, snot on the inserts and curtains, and our last morning I opted to not shower because of not only the filth but people having very loud sex.
Aug 12, 2016
So much to do! We stayed in about 10 different KOAs across the country this summer and nothing compared to Mount Rushmore KOA
Aug 12, 2016
Perfect park for access to Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc. Definitely recommend it!
Aug 12, 2016
Beautiful place. To crowded for me. Staff could be a little more friendly. Great activities for kids. (We didn't check to see if any for adults) as we had grandkids with. And somehow wifi should be available everywhere throughout the park for all campers n for all types of phones. Sorry. In this day n age it is needed for some of us. Overall u have a great place. Keep up the good work
Aug 12, 2016
The camp was great and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. There are a lot of amenities and activities. (The kids really enjoyed the magician.). Extremely convenient for Mt Rushmore. But if you are tent camping make sure to pick your site if you can!! We were on the main road so that was very loud. (Especially due to Sturgis motorcycle rally.)
Aug 12, 2016
noisy, sites packed too tight, wifi very poor, very disappointed, more like an amusement park rather than a pleasant campground
Aug 12, 2016
Value for price paid was low. Our camping site was too close to adjacent sites, and wasn't level. It had approximately a 4% slope front to back and 3% side to side. Very annoying was lack of any real wifi at all of the advertised hotspots. Wifi should not be advertised if it's virtually non-existent.
Aug 12, 2016
I have used this camp ground before for many years and they keep making great improvements. Great place for family to come and just stay in one location and lots of fun activities! It's a great stop for anyone visiting S.D. Only complaint is they seem to be understaff. You can't get firewood delivered to ur site after dark. The resturant is separate from KOA and can't handle sturgis.
Aug 12, 2016
Staff friendly. Campground overall was nice. However, our site was a mud pit. The sites on either side were fine. Could have put us in either one, would have been better.
Aug 12, 2016
This is the Disneyland of KOAs! Staff were EXTREMELY friendly, happy & helpful. Too much for the kids to do. We stayed 3 nights after 10 days of camping in national parks. It was the perfect outlet for our kids. Parents, relax knowing your kids are hopping from one fun activity to another & back ALL DAY, any hour!
Aug 12, 2016
Great location! But I was really disappointed with our spot. Our campsite had the neighbors sewage dump right in our picnic and grilling area. It was literally 3 feet away from our picnic table.
Aug 12, 2016
Our stay was fine. Might stay here again, next stay I'll be more aggressive to feel like I got my money's worth. Picnic table broken, one whole side rusted off, lying on ground. Electricity did not work in 296, we shared with guy across the trail. We weren't there much, so I didn't complain. We had a 5 man tent, space 296; very small. Campsites were not outlined how much space was ours.
Aug 12, 2016
Very nice and clean.Great staf
Aug 12, 2016
What would put it over-the-top is to have cable. Must have cable TV at all sites. As many things as there are to do, still missed not having television. We bragged about this campground to our son who plans to visit someday. Really enjoyed the country western guitar player. Enjoyed sitting by the fire, a very nice touch! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying here for 4 years now and the camp is always kept up very nice.
Aug 11, 2016
It was so much more than I would ever think a campground would be. They have everything you could want in one place, the kids were always on the run from the water slides to the movies and bouncy pillow was so much fun. I highly recommend if you are camping stay here.
Aug 11, 2016
My only complaint was our spot. We booked on-line and paid for a "Premier" location what we got was the busiest corner in the campground. Last time we visited we loved being in the cabins in the woods this time not so much. Still love this place but if we go back we will be following up on location, I definitely think we didn't get what we paid for.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals