Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 07, 2017
Excellent place for a family to go camping in the Black Hills. My children had such a great time with all of the available activities.
Sep 07, 2017
Staff was informative , friendly and helpful. Store seemed to be overpriced. Didn't seem to be much of a concierge service. They didn't book or recommend any tours. Otherwise the campground and facility were great.
Sep 07, 2017
Very nice campground The wifi was difficult as we were at the back.
Sep 07, 2017
We loved the campground. We stayed here about 30+ years ago when our kids were small and they still talk about the great time we had at the campground and in the Black Hills. We will definitely stay here again perhaps when some of our kids and grandkids can join us.
Sep 06, 2017
Our 3 grandkids (ages 5-10) LOVED your campground and all the exciting activities for them to keep busy! The dance night was awesome and so was the band and marshmallow roast! We are sure to come back time and again! P.S...We all LOVED the Rodeo on the grounds too!!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
There was so much to do the kids never got bored, it was so clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful!
Sep 06, 2017
Fantastic campground. Very conveniently located. My husband and I truly enjoyed the site and the all you can eat pancakes were amazing. We definitely want to come back if we get the chance!!
Sep 06, 2017
The best place to stay.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
We have stayed here multiple times because we love it!! Great facilities, great staff, so many things to do, great for our grandchildren, beautiful area, what more could you ask for?! We highly recommend you check it out if you are ever in the area!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Guest Service Manager, Ben went above and beyond!
Sep 06, 2017
We wanted to close to Mt Rushmore so that worked. Also enjoyed the quiet & scenery, a very pretty site. The staff was very pleasant & helpful including the wonderful team that made our scrumptious pizza.
Sep 06, 2017
Excellent
Sep 06, 2017
Great site. Plenty to do. Employees in customer service need improvement. Restaurant was slow.
Sep 06, 2017
Great service! Hoping a few of the children's activities can be extended more than just a few hours each day (rock climbing wall and inflatables). Great set up and up keep. We will be back.
Sep 06, 2017
Ten star facility. Best we have ever stayed in. Suggestions: Make checking for incoming mail and packages faster and easier for current quests. Have rock & roll music in pavilion that you can dance to. Add a shaded area to adult pool. Have a weekly and monthly rate.
Sep 06, 2017
The stay was amazing, kids had a wonderful time. So much to do all the time, we will be back next year. Very clean and all staff incredibly nice and helpful.
Sep 06, 2017
Awesome experience. Very knowledgeable and professional staff. This KIA had numerous family activities and extremely close to Mount Rushmore and many tourist attractions. Thank you for a very memorable vacation.
Sep 06, 2017
Staff is very helpful, very clean campground, good food, lots of activities for the whole family! First time staying and will absolutely stay again.
Sep 06, 2017
Pleasant Stay / varied Entertainment ( Hillbilly Music etc) / clean Campground / scenic Campground / in total a great location
Sep 06, 2017
The only problem was that the showers were closed the 5 th without us knowing! Long cold walk to find out the shower house was closed for the season!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Wonderful upgrade at ck in, much appreciated. Great destination spot for a family. Spent 3 days as base camp. Wish there were more signage directing to camp ground.
Sep 05, 2017
All the staff were very friendly and were helpful with pointers. The campground was very clean. This is a nice large campground with many activities.
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great time!
Sep 05, 2017
Great as always
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
End of season doesn't mean lack of maintenance showers were dirty mold and mildew on curtains
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great resort for a clean, safe, and fun family vacation.
Sep 05, 2017
Clean comfortable campground. Many activities. The site itself was very small, frustrating when you have your lawn chairs backed up to the grille of your nieghbors truck to enjoy your campfire. Not a lot of value for the cost.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We did not get the campsite we requested. That is, we were with 2 other parties and were all separated. The campground in general was nice, the grounds were well kept, the staff was friendly just the reservation system seemed hard to use.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
This was an awesome resort with so much to do you don't need to leave! We had a great time.
Sep 05, 2017
The Place was AMAZING!!! all you could ask for in a KOA and more staff very helpful, friendly
Sep 05, 2017
Family camping trip with kids ranging from ages 11-17, everyone found something to do that they loved! We stayed in the wooded area (#513) and had the best of nature and conveniences. This is the fourth time we have camped here and we love it more each time!
Sep 05, 2017
We enjoyed our stay on this big and beautifully laid out campground. However, couple of minor sounding issues pulled our satisfaction down. Digital reception is poor, i.e. both cell phone and wifi. With today's technology this is easy to fix and I give no excuses for this major inconvenience. Also, a campground of this size has to be able to organize recycling of some kind.
Sep 05, 2017
Kids loved it! Lots to do!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
First I arrived on the 1st and had TO move on the 2nd which shot the morning waiting for the other rigg to leave nothing was said about my notes on my preference but it seams if you pay an additional 20 dollars you can request your spot a best kept secret not happy with that result also had a weekend I had to give up that I had paid for had an emergency and no refund was available not good
Sep 05, 2017
We have stayed here before and are so glad we came back! There is so much to do. The shop is beautiful, the grounds are clean, the flowers are amazing! We asked to be moved (closer to family) and the Customer Service was great. There was no problem moving us and there was no hassle. We will definitely be back!
Sep 05, 2017
We had reserved a camp site with water and electricity. When we arrived we were put on a tiny campsite that was on a hill and there was no room for any tents on the site. The front desk was extremely accommodating and put us in a new campsite. There is so much to do and it is great for families, we had a great time. If you are looking for somewhere quite I would not recommend this for you.
Sep 05, 2017
The staff at this Palmer Gulch go above and beyond and I will stay here again when I visit Mount Rushmore. The only problem I had with my stay was the male cleaning staff. They were not very courteous towards the females in the bathrooms by letting them know they were going to enter and start cleaning. They also played some very loud rap music well they were cleaning.
Sep 05, 2017
So much to do.
Sep 05, 2017
Thank you the best KOA we stayed at ever will return keep doing what your doing don't overprice it we left your place and went to Billings Montana the 1st KOA and was more expensive than yours and didn't even have a dump in our site just because its the 1st site built doesn't mean over price it wont go there again But palmer Gulch yes we will.
Sep 05, 2017
Had a great time, a big thank-you to the gentleman on the golf cart that brought our fire wood to our lot. He was super nice and courteous.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals