Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
Great stay!
Aug 18, 2015
Have always loved staying at Palmer Gulch so much fun for everyone
Aug 18, 2015
Lots to do... Unfortunatley, we had to drive into hill city to get phone service... I had a few papers to trun in for work and the wifi was not working.
Aug 18, 2015
over priced..They also let kids (8-9) drive off road vehicles through the camp. Wi-Fi ? What a joke. There is none & no cell coverage. The water pressure was terrible. But the weather was nice.
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is nice but they have the site's right on top of each other. To crowded!! The man at the bike rental was totally rude and the kids got yelled at everywhere they tried to ride. To much traffic for bike rentals. UNSAFE!!
Aug 18, 2015
This was by far the best KOA that we have ever stayed at! Not only was the beautiful scenery breathtaking, there were so many activities to appeal to both the kids and adults! We will definitely be coming back to this resort.
Aug 18, 2015
It is conveniently close to Rushmore. Very nice. Lots of amenities and stuff to do. Pricey, but it is a resort. However, for that @$!# much money the WiFi should work everywhere in the park but it doesn't work even at the front desk area where they say it works. Ticked cause I really needed that. They need front loading washers for sleeping bags etc.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Too much chlor in pool. Burning eyes and color fadin in bath suit.
Aug 18, 2015
We love this Place we stay here every year. It would be nice to get some kind of Discount as we did in the past for coming back I the next year. I think we have been here 10 out of the last 15 years from KY to SD.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort! We also appreciate your loyalty and while we currently do not have a repeat coupon we will most certainly look into adding that for 2016. We hope that you will continue to choose to stay at our Resort in years to come.
Aug 18, 2015
I made my reservations back in December 2014 for August 2015 and asked for a full hookup pull through as I was towing a trailer. I was contacted and they found a dry camping spot for me. Once there I found out that people were able to get full hookup pull through spots after I reserved mine. No one contacted me to give me what I requested.???

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Resort. After reviewing the reservation log it showed you reserved a site without sewer. I am sorry for the confusion on your booking and hope that you will give us a chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Danielle Akey
Aug 18, 2015
Love it, just wet beyond their control. Rained at night Sunny in the day time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you and your family had such a great time during your stay. We have definitely had our fair share of rain this year! We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are back in the area! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Aug 17, 2015
Pricey but alot for children to do!
Aug 17, 2015
Customer Service has went down from last year. I understand it is under new management. A lot of standing water an several camp sites after storms.Was very disapointed from our stay last year.
Aug 17, 2015
did not get what I payed for And I reg 14 mths be for I got there. It seems not one person knows what is going on.
Aug 17, 2015
My family has been staying at this KOA for the last 30 years and we enjoy it every time we come. The opportunities for things to do are endless! One thing I would complain about is the cost, I have gone camping all over the US and this is the most expensive campground I've stayed in, by far. Also, I was there for 8 nights and the WiFi never worked. It would connect and disconnect constantly.
Aug 17, 2015
We love staying here!!
Aug 17, 2015
Simply AWESOME!!!!
Aug 17, 2015
This was the worst. Bad roads, small cramped sites, horrible restrooms (filthy 90%of time), not enough facilities (restrooms or showers).
Aug 17, 2015
Place was great till you realize that they hate tenters. sites for tents are sub-par and the bathrooms are located near people who do not need them
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful setting...but crowded
Aug 17, 2015
This was our second trip to Palm Gulch KOA. We booked a specific area (sites 247 area) that we stayed in last year. Upon arriving we were given a site which was more or less flooded out. IT had wooden pallets layed down (for our comfort i assume) in front of the site. The site was saturated from rain. We were told there was nothing the KOA could do for us. Our KOA Membership discount wasnt apld
Aug 17, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. But seemed to b too busy. We like a laid back camping experience. Enjoyed horse riding and laundry facility.
Aug 17, 2015
If you feel like paying 4$ for a half gallon of milk than stay here. The site are mud and grass. no internet and no phone service. for what they charge i think they could at lease supply internet access. Run by a Corporation what do you expect! not for me.
Aug 17, 2015
Location location location. I was there for Sturgis MC Rally and was told it was 16 miles to Rapid City and 18 miles from there to Sturgis. They did not allow me to cancel my reservations and relocate. I will NEVER stay there again. Management was not helpful either!
Aug 17, 2015
What a wonderful campground. Has so much to offer that you really don't need to go look at attractions or find a place for dinner.
Aug 17, 2015
Very centrally located to all attractions, clean and with a ton of activities for the kids. The restaurants, coffee shop were very reasonably priced and the pancake breakfast was great.
Aug 17, 2015
Good place for kids
Aug 17, 2015
Great place to hang out and relax.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had the best family weekend! So much to do for all ages! Will definately be back next year!!
Aug 17, 2015
My kids absolutely loved it there. They loved all the activities that were offered. I very much loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers. We will definitely be visiting again.
Aug 17, 2015
A better wifi system would make it 5 stars.
Aug 17, 2015
We have stayed at Palmers Gulch almost every year for several years this year a 4 night stay, pretty expensive, the water was yellow didn't really want to shower in it but had to! Might try it again next year we'll see ?
Aug 17, 2015
Great campgrounds! It is beautiful, clean and close to many things to do. There are plenty of activities for the kids. We can't wait to come again!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent time for kids. Wifi was not usable
Aug 17, 2015
The nicest KOA we have ever stayed at!
Aug 16, 2015
While the campground, as a whole, was great, the mud was unbelievable! The RV sites are too close to each other. The staff was great and there was a lot to do. Also, I think it's the most expensive KOA.
Aug 16, 2015
Considering the time of year and the Sturgis rally we had a great time!!! Was our third visit to Mt Rushmore KOA, and will always plan to stay there we we visit the Black Hills
Aug 16, 2015
Shame shame..I've told 100 people to stay away from this koa. Not only did the staff not care about the way this dump was being run, neither did corporate. You lost my business along with ten family members and so far, half of the 100 people I have told. So glad I used my credit card to pay, I've reversed the charges and I'll see you in court-bet I'll win
Aug 16, 2015
This was by far the best campground we've ever stayed at. The facilities and grounds were beautiful! Our kids enjoyed the water slide and rock wall as well as all of the activities. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and helpful! Palmer Gulch is in the perfect location for all of the attractions near Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 16, 2015
Three night stay. Accomodating site. Clean restrooms.
Aug 16, 2015
Street light in middle of campground made star viewing and sleeping difficult.
Aug 16, 2015
Very nice facilities. Well taken care of and maintained. Great activities for the children. Disappointed about the extra $10/day fee not mentioned upon the reservation. Fees are already very high. Laundry facility inadequate. Need to update dryers and the time notice on the wall. It took twice as long as noted to wash and dry clothes. Beautiful setting and area.
Aug 16, 2015
Had a wonderful time, and the facilities were great. Loved being greeted by a guy on a golf cart helping us park our big rig. Wireless internet doesn't actually work except at the coffee shop, and even there it was extremely slow.
Aug 16, 2015
This has to be the biggest and best KOA I've ever stayed in. Really enjoyed my stay there!
Aug 16, 2015
What a great place to stay, it has everything you could every want. I wish we could of stayed more then 2 days
Aug 16, 2015
When we needed assistance to stay longer we were moved to a spot with no full hookups noticing the one we were in never got occupied. Moving a rv is not the funnest. They could have made effort to keep us in the original. Other than that no trees for shade And all else was great with entertainment. Thank you
Aug 16, 2015
This isn't your typical park and sleep campground. There are so many activities for everyone and is super close to Mount Rushmore. There is no internet or cell service at all though.
Aug 15, 2015
Atmosphere/appearance wonderful and over the top. Cleanliness extremely poor. Young personnel staff very rude and unhelpful. Internet amenities horrible, should of had a mini business center with a few hard wired internet computers since there is no cell coverage. Very disappointing. More cable sites would have been nice to be at least able to see the weather channel, or a lounge that with TV.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.