Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 14, 2017
This KOA was super and the operators are very kind. The only drawback is - and I'm certain you know this-there is NO cell service and the wifi is almost nonexistent.
Jul 14, 2017
Very beautiful and very kid friendly. Very accomidating to the disabled, Thanks!!
Jul 14, 2017
Everything was good except no cell service or wifi available at our site. I would think that a KOA of this size could solve that issue. We work while we travel. Thanks,
Jul 14, 2017
Great amenities, very clean. Probably a bit too large for our preferences, though, and lacked a 'personal connection' with the staff likely due to the sheer size of the place. Loved the dining options and proximenity to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 14, 2017
The high reservation fee is only justified by the location. We were sited near the entrance in a pull through site with a gas grill that was filthy. Some litter was left on the site. We have stayed at much nicer KOAs at 1/4 the cost. Disappointed but given the heavy usage it is not unexpected.
Jul 14, 2017
Stayed in spot 191. Constantly had foot traffic through our lot due to therr being no path to the comfort station near our lot. Very poor layout. Very short lot so truck had to be disconnected and parked on grass. No tv recrption, no wifi, no phone. Appears money only spent on things that could be charged for after you pay ovrr 80.00 per night. I booked this planning on taking grandkids. Did not
Jul 14, 2017
Kids loved it, but a little crowded for the adults
Jul 14, 2017
It's a koa on steroids. Awesome
Jul 14, 2017
Showers were in desperate need of care/repair. QC/maintenance needs to get off their duff. Lots of folks driving around, didn't see any maintenance. Wifi was not available even at hotspots. They advertise it, but not there. Great location. Friendly staff. Come well stocked.
Jul 14, 2017
We loved staying here. Lots for kids to do, helpful staff, and beautiful location.
Jul 14, 2017
My grandkids had so much fun with all the things to do, so did the adults. Will definitely stay there if we come out to South Dakota again. Thanks for everything
Jul 14, 2017
The campground was nice with a lot of activities especially for the kids. Our spot was very small, which I did expect. There were just so many kids it wasn't the most relaxing camping trip. The wifi did not work and you can not really get cell phone service at this location.
Jul 14, 2017
Great koa lots of things to do . Only stayed 2 nights but wish we stayed more .
Jul 14, 2017
The fun zone for kids was great and we loved the pancakes each morning! Our trail ride was a highlight for sure. It was nice being so close to Rushmore!
Jul 14, 2017
Will never stay there again. we didn't get what we asked for and the people that helped us, blamed US for not getting what we asked for. No room, super crowded and not worth the money you pay to stay there. I will never recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 13, 2017
I am giving it a three star instead of more because it is seriously lacking in the restroom department. I have stayed in three other KOA campgrounds so far this trip and they are all smaller, but have more available toilets. They have also been much cleaner restrooms. That being said, the staff was friendly and my kids loved all of the activities.
Jul 13, 2017
Plenty of activities for the kids but sites are too close together. Very congested. And I didn't find a dog park.
Jul 13, 2017
The facility was amazing and clean, the staff was friendly and eager to help, and there are endless fun and adventure provided on site. This KOA made our vacation go from great to amazing.
Jul 13, 2017
Great facility for children - tons of activities for them to do. The WIFI (I know its camping, but I work remote and needed WIFI) is pretty terrible if you need internet expect a 35-40 min drive for anything reliable.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, lots to do there.
Jul 13, 2017
Too congested in the middle with the fun zone especially in the afternoon/evening creating a potential danger for pedestrians and drivers.
Jul 13, 2017
The only campground that should be used while visiting The Black Hills without a doubt. A 4 Star campground. Thank you for such an enjoyable and memorable vacation.
Jul 13, 2017
Great place for kids. Friendly helpful staff. Downside was very spotty, limited internet in only a few places in the expansive grounds. Some people need to work while on the road.
Jul 13, 2017
Great family place!
Jul 13, 2017
Very large park, great for kids with plenty of activities. Down side is it is a large park with very little space for RV. Mislead about the "Full Hookups". They advertise 30 & 50 amp., but when we arrived all they had was 30 amp available. It was a big hassle.
Jul 13, 2017
some of the pull through sites on the other side of the creek are a bit tight but other than that the place is far and above any other KOA!
Jul 13, 2017
I surprised at the price (about $150 for 2 nights for a tent site) but after arriving and exploring I soon realized why. There is an abundance of activities that are complimentary to include mini golf, climbing wall, pool etc. The only complaint I have is that our campsite (545) was NOT graded. There was no level area on that site at all for a tent. I have already recommended this KOA!!
Jul 13, 2017
nice
Jul 13, 2017
the site was unlevel and hard to get in & out of. The fire rings for the next site was right next to our trailer. The amenities such as pool was great for kids, but lack of wifi or service did make it difficult to make plans for the surrounding area.
Jul 13, 2017
Too crowded...WiFi not operable except at 5:30am standing directly in front of main office ...but great for kids which seems to be the target audience
Jul 12, 2017
Love all the fun activities for kids.
Jul 12, 2017
While the KOA is gigantic, and has tons of on site activities, the facilities are not kept nearly as clean as other KOA's we stayed at on our 3 week trip. Even at 6am the restrooms smelled horribly, and never looked clean at any time. The employee that checked me in, did not review the site amenities, and actually sent us to the wrong site #. We were led to a tiny area in a 38' 5er...
Jul 12, 2017
Wow! Place was huge! Plenty to do in and around the campground.
Jul 12, 2017
This place is fantastic! It is a destination in itself.
Jul 12, 2017
They stay was great. Felt like a resort not like a campground. Everyone on staff were extremely nice. Kids and I took advatage if the horseback rides and pools and splash pad. Only thing is the WIFI reception was bad. All in all a great stay we will stay again.
Jul 12, 2017
We had a great time at this KOA. We went to see the sites around the Black Hills but my kids didn't want to leave the campground. We would stay again.
Jul 12, 2017
WiFI service could be much better. Should find provider other then Tengo.
Jul 12, 2017
We loved it. Our 3rd time from Ohio. Briugh son and grandsons this time. The flowers are amazing! Wondering why shower hooks aren't replaced and why handicapped shower has. Cold water only. Hard to have to redress and go to another shower
Jul 12, 2017
I wish we could have stayed longer! So much to see in the area and so much fun to be had at the campground. This is a kidcentric park that is conveniently located near Mount Rushmore. After 6 months traveling across the USA, this was the most fun park for the whole family. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. I wish there were MORE KOA parks like this one!
Jul 12, 2017
Our Stay was very nice. At check in the ambassador looked at our truck and trailer and knew off the top of his head that it was going to be a tight fit on the site that we had been assigned, so he suggested we go back to request a site that had more room. ended up with a great roomy site. Thanks for the great stay!
Jul 12, 2017
Loved the facility. Rented a car right on site. That was great. Chuck wagon dinner was a bit overpriced. Shower house was dirty with a beer can and other trash in the shower. Most of the staff was really polite and helpful. My family will be back. Love the KOA. Resort idea. You should open more of them.
Jul 12, 2017
It started off rocky getting there but it was worth the drive in the RV. Tom was great getting us a site that worked for us. Great spot to stay to see the sites in the area . Thanks again from Pat and Jan from Ontario Canada
Jul 12, 2017
I was very surprised when I arrived to find it was not a KOA but a KOA Resort. I found this place on line and made the request. Definitely a place I will stay again.
Jul 12, 2017
My kids really enjoyed the stay. LOTS to do. Great services and activities. I recommend the tie-dye shirts! Just know that it can be loud at times (sometimes past 10pm) and super smoky at night. FYI-We had no internet or cell phone service anywhere on the campground. Lots of employees, so if you need anything, it's taken care of promptly. Met many nice people and would definitely stay again.
Jul 11, 2017
We were on a Family Vacation with 3 large 5th wheelers booked last fall in deluxe sites. 2 of us were in 134, and 135 and the other was in 266. No one told us we could have called in for all of us together. We did leave a message. Manager would not change sites for us even when the sites beside us were 1 nighters and empty a lot. No where does it say in booking we can call and request sites.
Jul 11, 2017
Loved the amenities this KOA has to offer!! Staff was very friendly and spots were large. Wifi leaves a lot to be desired, but overall we loved our stay. We will be back!!
Jul 11, 2017
We had the best time - we stayed for 1 week and could have stayed longer. Our kids loved all the activities! We will be back.
Jul 11, 2017
We had a great time at this campground. Lot's for everyone to do and see. We hope to get back soon!
Jul 11, 2017
We had a great time. Very relaxing, kid friendly, plenty to do right there. Plus not far away from the sites we wanted to visit. We would stay here again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals