Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2016
Great!
Sep 12, 2016
Stay was great. Would help if maps were more accurate and easy to understand.
Sep 12, 2016
Excellent even though quite expensive
Sep 11, 2016
I liked very much that the pool area was opened until 10pm. So you had time to enjoy together with the stars on nightsky.
Sep 11, 2016
Clean, quiet, and friendly
Sep 11, 2016
This is the biggest KOA we have stayed at. Plenty to do, lots of kids during labor day weekend, but after it was very quiet. Very bad internet and no cell service. Wish I would have known that before our stay. Nice level lots and plenty of helpful staff. We even rented a car that was easy to do.
Sep 11, 2016
Wifi was terrible. Our campsite was underwater most of the stay. The facilities are great, but it's a bit overrated for the price.
Sep 11, 2016
Pretty nice
Sep 11, 2016
It was the best camping place we have ever camped in including all the places in Europe we have camped in. Every one was so friendly and all the beautiful flowers were really made us feel good. Thanks for all the help provided while we were there. Thomas Barbara and our dog Dixie.
Sep 11, 2016
L,allée de notre camping très très bruyante, tous les véhicules qui passent, tres vite, même ceux de KOA et pousierreux
Sep 11, 2016
Very convenient to Mount Rushmore and all the other sites in that area. It be a perfect place for a family with all the activities at the KOA.
Sep 10, 2016
Great place for families! Tons of activities for the kids and adults. Clean, organized, luxurious. Beautiful surroundings and great jump off place for exploring the Black Hills and Badlands. Will definitely stay again!
Sep 10, 2016
Sep 10, 2016
Very nice location great facility but extremely busy on holiday weekend. WiFi does barely work and is insufficient for a " resort" water shortages followed by brownish water supply?
Sep 10, 2016
The site and people were fantastic, the only recommendation I would make is that you don't put a 40 Motorhome with a tow vehicle in spot 620 - it was difficult to exit the spot due to the way other campers were set up around us - and we didn't even have our tow vehicle hooked up. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Sep 10, 2016
I only wish I had planned out trip prior to the day AFTER labor day. Many of the fun attractions were closed for the season, but we still enjoyed the resort. I would visit again
Sep 10, 2016
Best KOA we've ever stayed at. Beautiful grounds, especially the meadow area. We stayed after Labor Day, when most of the family activities were closed, which made it nice and quiet for the two of us. But families with kids must have a ball during the summer when everything is in full swing. Will be back and definitely reccommend to friends.
Sep 09, 2016
Big campground with a big store. Unfortunately we got not a really good place, Sturgis was to near ;-) Nevertheless it was okay.
Sep 09, 2016
The agent with Mt. Rushmore KOA, Serena, was simply outstanding! She worked with me to locate a space when I arrived early, and did so with a wonderful smile! She should be a trainer, if not already one. The site was very clean, as was the entire campsite. The fellows who greeted me at the gate were also marvelous - wonderful personalities, and incredibly friendly. I will definitely visit aga
Sep 09, 2016
Loved it! Deluxe cabin was perfect with everything we needed. So many things for everyone to do! Will definately stay again. 2 suggestions; 1. Better wifi, if you are not at lodge you will have no phone service. 2. Have a KOA channel on the TV that lists the day's weather, activities etc
Sep 09, 2016
The best campground ever!!! Now if the rain would stay away next time :-)
Sep 09, 2016
During one night of our stay one stall was out of toilet paper. By 9 the next morning more were out and we finally saw a truck in front of the bathrooms a little later. They hold 2 BIG rolls so not sure how there were multiple stalls empty at one time.
Sep 09, 2016
way over priced. for what i got.Debit Card Purchase MT RUSHMORE KOA/PALMER HILL CITY SD. $135.68 FOR 2 NIGHTS site was only 10 feet long rv site and we only had tents. it was all they had. after riding the black hills there were a lot of places with camping for a lot less. when we asked about the inter net we got a lady with a bad attitude and said to us there is 500 people trying to get on.
Sep 08, 2016
Very crowded on Labor Day Weekend. WIFI was good, but there was no internet connection. Lots to do for families. Were good to work with for our reunion.
Sep 08, 2016
$80 is over kill...we have been in much nicer ones for 1/3 the price...
Sep 08, 2016
We stayed at many KOA's on our way to SD from California. Some were pretty much dumps.The KOA@Palmer Gulch SD was amazing. None of us wanted to leave. It was a beautiful surrounding and very nice people and great amenities. The only downers were not having cell reception, wifi nor cable. Since we had a lot of rainy evenings while there, it would have been nice
Sep 08, 2016
Expensive & Dirty Bathrooms.
Sep 08, 2016
Way to much smoke from campfires. Pancake breakfast ran out of batter at 10 am on last day!! Had to go to rapid city for breakfast...disappointing!
Sep 08, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campsite was beautiful and well maintained. Bathrooms/showers were clean. The KOA is in a great location and is close to all the tourist attractions. I would stay here again.
Sep 08, 2016
We enjoyed camping here. As others have said no cell coverage but that was okay by me. Lots to do with most of it free. Tks
Sep 08, 2016
Way to expensive for what we needed. The park is gorgeous but the cost is prohibitive. They charge double compared to other KOAs but you paid extra for services of all kinds. Lots to do and centered right in the middle of all we wanted to see. We paid extra for cable and wifi and got neither. We also had no phone service if this is important to you
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 08, 2016
Omg. This Kia is off the charts. Beautiful. Lots of wilderness with nice accommodations. Close to mt Rushmore
Sep 07, 2016
Wouldn't answer phone when we were trying to find campground on a rainy night. Made reservation year in advance for motorhome 30' towing had to take trailer off and still barely fit on spot!!!!
Sep 07, 2016
nice park
Sep 07, 2016
Unbelieveable how clean the whole KOA campground was, including the Comfort Rooms, exceptional. Only thing lacking, we stayed in Exec cabin and parking was inadequate for 8 guests. The cabins were exceptionally clean and well furnished.
Sep 07, 2016
The campgrounds and all of its facilities were top notch! My only concern was the low morale of the staff members. Many staff members had poor customer service and appeared to be pre-occupied with concerns greater then the campers! Palmer Gulch management: please take better care of your staff! There should be no reason for them to be disgruntled towards campers if they are being well taken
Sep 07, 2016
This is a great family campground. There are so many fun activities for the kids that they didn't even have time to do everything. The facilities were clean and everything seems well maintained. We have already made plans to return next summer.
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is great, the campground is clean & tidy, pool & hot tub are maintained, a little pricey, the wi-fi needs an upgrade, no cell signal, awesome view of Harney Peak, lots of cool amenities, will stay again! Thank you!
Sep 07, 2016
There's really no reason to have to leave this camp ground. Everything you need is right there and very kid friendly.
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
We love the place, but left a day after labor day. We didn't know that the amenities would be shut down before we got to use them! The grounds were great but amenities quit early on labor day!!!
Sep 07, 2016
LOVE this place!!! Went twice this summer and plan on going back next summer for an entire week. Top Notch!
Sep 07, 2016
Great location to Mt Rushmore and Custer St park. Staff was very helpful and lots of things to do at the koa. Site was set off from main campground so there was no wifi. I would recommend asking for a site behind the office.
Sep 07, 2016
Wonderful facility with more amenities than one would imagine at a KOA. I'm sure they'll improve their wireless network for those of us tied to our technology, and try to make the improved bath facility less like a sauna.
Sep 07, 2016
It rained pretty good and I know that is Mother Nature but when you pay $80 for a camping spot you would think there would be enough gravel so there wouldn't be ankle deep mud at your camper door.
Sep 07, 2016
Right where we wanted to be, with helpful staff and all the amenities you could possibly want. The kids loved it!
Sep 07, 2016
I would think every kid would love it!
Sep 06, 2016
staff was friendly, cabin and restrooms were clean and a lot of activities
Sep 06, 2016
Lots to do if you are so inclined but having to pay a $10/day resort fee on top of the camping fee is a bit much. Our water was quite discolored at the spigot but better after passing thru our water filter. Friendly staff.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy