Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2015
Everyone and everything was perfect. Beautiful camp
Sep 10, 2015
Very friendly staff Thank you
Sep 09, 2015
We enjoying staying there very much.
Sep 09, 2015
We had a wonderful time.....would recommend that you try to get better wifi service and some kind of cable TV service even if customer has to pay a small price for the service.....enjoyed the camp ground and all its services.
Sep 09, 2015
We loved Palmer Gulch! We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Mt. Rushmore!
Sep 09, 2015
We loved it! Location activities food fun!!
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Lots to do, very clean and updated facilities. Had a great time. Great location!
Sep 09, 2015
Wonderfull destination with much to do, would be a 10 if you had much, much better wifi and cell service -- major problem for me and our friends who met us there. We want to rertun to Black Hills but will look for other campground with better communications support
Sep 09, 2015
It was amazing! There is so much to do here. The staff was great! None of us wanted to leave!
Sep 09, 2015
well kept and lots of activities for all ages.... really enjoyed our stay!
Sep 09, 2015
AWESOME
Sep 09, 2015
Staff was not friendly.Had to wait to be helped while the staff finished their personal conversation. Were not told of activities going on in park like, pancake breakfast, horses, ect. We stayed in cabin and was not told at check in that the restrooms were so far away. There was a path to the bathroom down a small steep hill that could have very easily had proper steps put in. Will not go back.
Sep 09, 2015
very pretty, liked the live music!
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
The staff were so kind and friendly and all the activities were so much fun for our daughter. We live in Rapid City but the Mount Rushmore koa made of feel like we were on an amazing vacation. We cannot wait to come back!
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and friendly
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
This was a great place to stay with many great activities for the while family!
Sep 08, 2015
We were so happy with this campground!!! Amazing views, clean, nice people...I have already recommended it to 2 people and we have been home for less than a day!
Sep 08, 2015
This was an EXCELLENT campground! Beautiful location, great amenities and awesome for kids. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Fun.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
My son and I arrived to the campsite early. The woman at the registration desk was not pleasant acting as if I had been there before and should know everything already. Next, I went to eat and watch a football game at the restaurant on Saturday afternoon. The sound of the game was turned off as management cited "policy" as a reason. There was no one else in the restaurant at the time and we were p
Sep 08, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and in a great location, also many entertain options were available!
Sep 08, 2015
To crowded small space
Sep 08, 2015
The wifi is a joke, every activity costs more above the $10/night resort fee, "mineral" water from hookup is nasty-bring bottles. Spots are extremely close together, and the camp is noisy, not only do private people bring ATV's but the staff is constantly driving around in their golf carts. For $80 a night I expected better. There are NO trees within the camp, just along the edges.
Sep 08, 2015
We had an excellent stay at the KOA by Mt. Rushmore. It was conveniently located near lots of attractions and was easy to get the camper in and out of even though the campground was pretty full. Only thing I would suggest improving upon would be the food in the pub and icecream shop. A little more variety would go a long way.
Sep 08, 2015
Great amenities and location! Staff was very friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The pictures we took did no justice to how great this place really is! Tons of activities for our kids (ages 15 mo, 7, and 11) and for adults the scenery and relaxation we got was amazing. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and exactly what we wanted. Never been to such a wonderful place.
Sep 08, 2015
Its a nice Place. Too bad everyone around our site was so rude. Kept my little family awake all night. Someone urinated on the side of my truck. We left and didn't stay our 2nd night that we paid for.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time; my only complaint is the campsite next to use was a group of young men that stayed up getting drunk and using foul language. We have three kids and much of there loud conversation was not appropriate. I know you can't choose who is camping next to you, but it would be nice if they could be a little more considerate of families around.
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome!
Sep 08, 2015
Great facilities for families-my kids had a fantastic time. For as busy as this place was, our tent site was quiet and out of the way of the masses. Also seemed very dog-friendly. Centrally located. Will definitely come here again!
Sep 08, 2015
Over crowded. Although most of the grass areas are mowed, they are infested with Canadian Thistle weed. Kids entertainment is great.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a lot of fun this was our very first camping trip. There is so much for us to do and also best part no cell service
Sep 08, 2015
The sound and smell of ATV's kind of spoils the effect of nature's beauty all around. And children should be wearing helmets and not driving unless licensed.
Sep 08, 2015
Great location, super fun. Loved camping kitchen and esspresso coffee! :) Bathrooms clean. Only complain is that a group of people was checked in late (close to midnight) and woke us up in the middle of the night and kept us awake for an hour! :(
Sep 08, 2015
This was the best camping experience my family could've had for our 1st camping trip. Everyone was nice and we all had tons of fun. This is a great location for families and friends to gather. Looking forward to next year and kabin484. Thank you KOA for an amazing family memory.
Sep 08, 2015
Had a great stay,lots to do on site and much more in the surrounding area. Will definitely be back.
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and comfortable facilities. Good variety of events for kids. The tent sites could use some shade but other than that everything was fantastic.
Sep 08, 2015
The address listed takes you to the back entrance on GPS, so make sure you look at a map first. It was very crowded over Labor Day, but the check-in was quick and there was an escort to our spot. The store and other amenities are great, my daughter loved the trail ride. We will likely go back during a non-peak weekend. Only 10 minutes to Mt Rushmore and a great launch pad for everywhere else!
Sep 08, 2015
I was happy to have a great place to stay while in the Black Hills
Sep 08, 2015
too expensive

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding our rates during your most recent stay. You stayed over Labor Day Weekend and on our most premium RV site which is why your rate may have been a little higher then expected. We offer lower rates on other sites and weekends for your convenience.
Sep 08, 2015
One of the guests in our group had bed bug or flea bites all over them. The drinking water in front of cabin and out of rest room was very hard water had very yellow/orange to brown color. We had an infant with us and bought water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! We were also surprised to hear of the bed bugs and have taken the necessary steps to remove them. As for the water, we have well water and so a slight discoloration is expected throughout the resort. We hope you will try us again in the future. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 08, 2015
It was so full this labor day weekend and I thought for sure we would not get any sleep but it was so quiet. I got a shower anytime I wanted. Best KOA I have been too. Wish I could of stayed longer to do many of the amenities that were there. Thanks for a great vacation!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay over the Labor Day Holiday! We love hearing that you had such a great time and that our resort exceeded your expecations. We hope to see you again next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean family friendly camp ground. Staff was super professional when we accidentally hit another camper and didn't realize it. Somethingfor everyone.we will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! I'm sorry to hear of the mishap with the other camper but glad that we were able to assist in a way that exceeded your expecations. I will be sure to pass along your review to our staff! Sincerely, Danielle Akey -Assistant Manager
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals