Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2016
Stayed here many times. Very clean. Family friendly. Rodeo was a special treat! Wish you would reinstate recycling. Looking forward to next summer! Thank you for a great stay.
Jul 21, 2016
Absolutely amazing. Great activities and very friendly staff
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Campsite was in excellent condition. The fun park had what every child would want. I would recommend this campsite to anyone that wants a fun get away.
Jul 21, 2016
Great overall. Customer service and the cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers could definitely improve.
Jul 21, 2016
My kids love all the activities, highly recommended!
Jul 21, 2016
The kids loved all of the activities and amenities, the water slide especially. Lovely setting and great campground!
Jul 21, 2016
Way over priced. No WiFi ,no TV for news,no phone service.. Could not get an emergency call. Lost family member. didn't know for two days.Water bad can't even wash clothes. Would not recommend
Jul 21, 2016
We had a wonderful time!! We go to the Mt. Rushmore KOA every year.
Jul 21, 2016
Concrete patio, swing, grill and fire ring!! 15 min from Mount Rushmore and other attractions. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place to stay! Lots to do with kids of all ages.
Jul 21, 2016
we loved the whole experience. There was lots to do and the area was beautiful. They even let us change tent sites so our boys could use their hammocks. The only thing we didn't like was the sand in the Volleyball pit it was full of rocks. They should just make it a grass court. We would definately stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2016
Everything was good except that we had some trouble to level out the motorhome. The site was so uneven that the standard yellow wedges were not good enough.
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
Jul 21, 2016
This KOA is probably great for families with children, but for two retired folks we did not care for it. The wifi did not work and we needed to do banking and check our travel plans and could not. We had to go Mt Rushmore to get any wifi. Our phones did not work well either. We felt the sites were small for the prices. Again if you have children this KOA is probably just what you want.
Jul 21, 2016
Friendly
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Best we have stayed at. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 21, 2016
We didn't have enough time for the kids to play because it rained. But we still had a great time!
Jul 21, 2016
First time at a KOA and was skeptical to try but this facility out performed our expectations as it was clean, with many extras we never knew would have been offered. The staff was well organized, courteous, and helpful in every way. I'm sure not all KOA's are this nice but this one was great. We were given a nice quiet spot on the outer edges of the campground after calling the same day.
Jul 21, 2016
Great stay. Great tent camping spots. The only negative thing I would say is that our camp spot was missing the number plaquered. This made it difficult to find and even the person that escorted us wasn't sure but gave us a spot in the area of where it should be. But I would stay again when I am back in SD.
Jul 21, 2016
1)Packed in like sardines! 2)There was meant to be a dump at your site but I never found it. 3)Noisy. 4)Incredibly expensive for what it was. 5)Crap food at their restaurant Ponderosa. 6)No internet service even though they promise free wifi. 7)Badly lit areas with very small signage - impossible to find your spot at night. 8)Lousy customer service:I rang 8 times in a 2 hour period. No ans
Jul 20, 2016
Great place and location. Well kept up. Bathroom/showers were cleaned consistently. Please get a recycling program for plastic bottles.
Jul 20, 2016
Had a blast! Kids loved the fun zone.
Jul 20, 2016
Everything was great except my mom and dad stayed at the lodge and there bathroom had mold all over.
Jul 20, 2016
Plenty to do if you have young children.
Jul 20, 2016
BEST KOA I'VE EVER STAYED AT!! I will be coming back again.
Jul 20, 2016
Second time here. The people are friendly and always willing to help if needed. We had family flying out of Rapid City . They rented me a vehicle and allowed me to leave my camper there after my days were up until I could get back from Rapid. We will be back.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a blast! We were disappointed in how crammed in everyone was. It took away from the "camping" experience a bit!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
This campground has everything you need, and is kept clean.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time. This is the perfect campground for families with hound kids - the amenities and activities were great! My kids loved the pools, water slide, playground, and organized activities like the movies and crafts. The grounds are very pretty and well-maintained. It does get a bit crowded, but we were fine with that!
Jul 20, 2016
Fun place to stay with family, and lots to do on the campground.
Jul 20, 2016
This was a very nice KOA we really liked all the amenities lots of people but it was overridden by the wonderful amenities at this resort. This was our 4th time at that KOA.
Jul 20, 2016
For the busiest KOA in the country it ran really well. Major thunderstorm with hail as we were setting up. The staff was very helpful and made sure everyone was alright.
Jul 20, 2016
Lots of amenities and close to several historic and family fun locations!
Jul 19, 2016
This is by far the best KOA we stay at. This is are 4th summer here. There is something for everyone. We can't wait to come back next summer.
Jul 19, 2016
Best yet! Extremely family friendly, kids loved it.
Jul 19, 2016
Great for all ages!Very clean and fun activities all around!
Jul 19, 2016
We had a great time! This is the place you want to stay if you have kids! There's so much for them to do! Our family loved the UTV ride and the horseback riding as well. There's something for everyone young and old:)
Jul 19, 2016
The camp was everything we wanted and the kids needed - things to do for the kids that were easily accessible in a lovely setting - great pancake breakfast made it easy to get the family ready for adventures in the nearby area - Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sylvan Lake, Custer State Park and the amazing Mammoth Site. Kids did not want to leave and asked to come back next year - just fabulous!!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
We absolutely loved our trip and this Kampground was our first KOA experience. we couldn't say enough great things about the staff and how many great activities they have. It was so hard to leave.
Jul 19, 2016
Everything is great except for cell and internet coverage which are horrible.
Jul 19, 2016
Wifi was very poor. Would have liked cable. Everything else was great.
Jul 19, 2016
Horrible!
Jul 19, 2016
Tent sites are small and not shaded. Wi-Fi is spotty. Not much water pressure in showers. May have enjoyed amenities more if we stayed longer.
Jul 19, 2016
We had a fabulous stay! There are so many activities for the kids they were never bored! I want to specifically thank the folks at the Trail Ride - and Liz in particular - for helping us coordinate my son's proposal to his girlfriend while on a ride! It was fabulous and the people there were awesome! The people at registration were very pleasant and helpful too! I would give 10 stars if I could!
Jul 19, 2016
We love the location and amenities that this KOA offers. We loved the pancake breakfast, stables and chuckwagon that are available as extras. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The only downside is that the bathrooms could be cleaned more than once a day with the number of people using them. We will be back if we visit the area again.
Jul 19, 2016
Tons of amenities. Huge campground in a great location. Young kids working there were super. Clean restrooms. Downside is that there was traffic going by our site constantly which made it not safe for the kids. Dryers didn't work.
Jul 19, 2016
Lots of family activities here and really enjoyed our camping cabin. Don't expect wifi around the campground, which is exactly as advertised. Thanks for a great stay!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals