Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2016
Very helpful. Love the car rental option. Food was very good.
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice place. The campsite numbering system is a joke. Some of the tent sites on the hill are not even useable.
Aug 14, 2016
too big and too expensive
Aug 14, 2016
Very unfriendly staff - impossible to get a hold of front desk without going into building - always a wait line. Hot tub didn't work :{ Wifi did not work nor phone - difficult to contact family members without walking all over camp. Stayed in KOA's for 6 nights in a row... this was worst and most expensive!!
Aug 14, 2016
Really nice KOA but I thought it was to expensive for what my RV site offered. We had a gravel site (621) with a mud hole no internet at our site, no tv svs, and no cable tv. Really nice family park but for what my site had it cost to much.
Aug 14, 2016
Great time. We lost water one night, but the crews worked fast and got it up and running very quickly. No complaints here!
Aug 13, 2016
We have enjoyed staying with you for many years and we have recommended our friends and family to join us each year..which they did. Love the amenities and location, but due to the rise in cost to stay at this KOA, unfortunately, we can no longer afford to stay and we did not rebook our stay for next year.
Aug 13, 2016
I have been staying there 16 years I like it very very much
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
Nice place, clean! Great people all over, everyone very helpful! We will be back
Aug 13, 2016
The only compliant I have is your promotion of WIFI HotSpot connections. It is pretty much nonexistent. To promote something that is not really there is not good. The WIFI HotSpots on your maps should be removed. Share about your "maybe WIFI connections" at the time of check in only. Then it would feel like an added bonus if we get connected. Other than that you have a nice place to stay.
Aug 13, 2016
We had stayed in years past, we were amazed at the improvments that have been made.The camp is so close to everthing a visitor might want to see or do.
Aug 13, 2016
THis is hands down the most awesome campground - period! So many fun things to do and clean and easy! The kids are never bored and the parents can relax! The only one thing is that the bathroom showers were a little stinky....other than that, TOPS in al other categories! Don;t even THINK about staying anywhere else if you are in this area! We were SAD to leave!
Aug 13, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA many, many times over the past 25 years. We keep coming back...enough said.
Aug 13, 2016
This campground was so amazing. Amazing views. We had a centrally located campsite so the kids could play and we had eyesight the whole time. There were kid friendly activities everyday and the kids enjoyed looking at the schedule to see what was next. Thank you for an awesome stay!
Aug 13, 2016
The campground itself was wonderful but the staff working was not as wonderful. The young peoplease working were very rude and when asked questions there answers were always I don't know. The all looked bored and not wanting to bE there. One in the little store in the fun zone actually rolled her eyes at me and said "I don't know, it's open when it's open." About the jumping pad. Poor staff.
Aug 13, 2016
Fun fun fun times for all
Aug 13, 2016
Very nice staff. Took care of all our needs
Aug 13, 2016
A very helpful staff & fellow campers during an accident. Sturges people- noisy & fun.
Aug 13, 2016
Need more toilets.
Aug 12, 2016
We stay every year for sturgis and have a great time every year meeting new people !!
Aug 12, 2016
Clean
Aug 12, 2016
Someone had gotten sick in one of the two men's washroom stalls in the upper area by the 400's cabins and it wasn't cleaned up for the three hours that I noticed. At least one of your members was at the location.
Aug 12, 2016
The only real complaint I have is the laundry rooms there needs to be more washer and dryers for as big as camp ground as this KOA
Aug 12, 2016
Great facilities.However, staff are not welcoming. Seemed frustrated with our questions
Aug 12, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. However, we were extremely disappointed in the mini golf course, the pools had lots of bugs and hair balls, and the one hot tub was green. The showers, well they were filthy everytime I used them. Mud on the floors, snot on the inserts and curtains, and our last morning I opted to not shower because of not only the filth but people having very loud sex.
Aug 12, 2016
So much to do! We stayed in about 10 different KOAs across the country this summer and nothing compared to Mount Rushmore KOA
Aug 12, 2016
Perfect park for access to Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc. Definitely recommend it!
Aug 12, 2016
Beautiful place. To crowded for me. Staff could be a little more friendly. Great activities for kids. (We didn't check to see if any for adults) as we had grandkids with. And somehow wifi should be available everywhere throughout the park for all campers n for all types of phones. Sorry. In this day n age it is needed for some of us. Overall u have a great place. Keep up the good work
Aug 12, 2016
The camp was great and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. There are a lot of amenities and activities. (The kids really enjoyed the magician.). Extremely convenient for Mt Rushmore. But if you are tent camping make sure to pick your site if you can!! We were on the main road so that was very loud. (Especially due to Sturgis motorcycle rally.)
Aug 12, 2016
noisy, sites packed too tight, wifi very poor, very disappointed, more like an amusement park rather than a pleasant campground
Aug 12, 2016
Value for price paid was low. Our camping site was too close to adjacent sites, and wasn't level. It had approximately a 4% slope front to back and 3% side to side. Very annoying was lack of any real wifi at all of the advertised hotspots. Wifi should not be advertised if it's virtually non-existent.
Aug 12, 2016
I have used this camp ground before for many years and they keep making great improvements. Great place for family to come and just stay in one location and lots of fun activities! It's a great stop for anyone visiting S.D. Only complaint is they seem to be understaff. You can't get firewood delivered to ur site after dark. The resturant is separate from KOA and can't handle sturgis.
Aug 12, 2016
Staff friendly. Campground overall was nice. However, our site was a mud pit. The sites on either side were fine. Could have put us in either one, would have been better.
Aug 12, 2016
This is the Disneyland of KOAs! Staff were EXTREMELY friendly, happy & helpful. Too much for the kids to do. We stayed 3 nights after 10 days of camping in national parks. It was the perfect outlet for our kids. Parents, relax knowing your kids are hopping from one fun activity to another & back ALL DAY, any hour!
Aug 12, 2016
Great location! But I was really disappointed with our spot. Our campsite had the neighbors sewage dump right in our picnic and grilling area. It was literally 3 feet away from our picnic table.
Aug 12, 2016
Our stay was fine. Might stay here again, next stay I'll be more aggressive to feel like I got my money's worth. Picnic table broken, one whole side rusted off, lying on ground. Electricity did not work in 296, we shared with guy across the trail. We weren't there much, so I didn't complain. We had a 5 man tent, space 296; very small. Campsites were not outlined how much space was ours.
Aug 12, 2016
Very nice and clean.Great staf
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
What would put it over-the-top is to have cable. Must have cable TV at all sites. As many things as there are to do, still missed not having television. We bragged about this campground to our son who plans to visit someday. Really enjoyed the country western guitar player. Enjoyed sitting by the fire, a very nice touch! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
This KOA is huge! Great hot tub and other fun things to do, friendly staff. First time in a kabin and it was very nice. Restrooms were clean but need some attention to stall door hardware. I liked that the showers were centrally located for males and females, not in separate restrooms.
Aug 12, 2016
Great spot for kids.
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying at your KOA for over 25 years and every year for the past 14 years and it has always been a great experience. We always look forward to our return trips. Thank you!
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying here for 4 years now and the camp is always kept up very nice.
Aug 11, 2016
It was so much more than I would ever think a campground would be. They have everything you could want in one place, the kids were always on the run from the water slides to the movies and bouncy pillow was so much fun. I highly recommend if you are camping stay here.
Aug 11, 2016
My only complaint was our spot. We booked on-line and paid for a "Premier" location what we got was the busiest corner in the campground. Last time we visited we loved being in the cabins in the woods this time not so much. Still love this place but if we go back we will be following up on location, I definitely think we didn't get what we paid for.
Aug 11, 2016
We had a great time. Too many things to do in our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay on our next trip to the black hills.
Aug 11, 2016
No wifi,no cable tv, too noisy after 10:00pm, small laundry,in perspective to the size of the campground. Stayed 3 days all 3 were terrible!!
Aug 11, 2016
This campground is awesome!! Wish they had cell and Internet service.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals