Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
We all had a great time and will be back
Aug 27, 2014
I really enjoyed the park and the amenities offered. There was a faith festival taking place and I would have preferred a quieter setting. That was a fluke I am sure. Otherwise everything was good.
Aug 26, 2014
Left refreshed and happy, the whole family, as usual! Thanks so much!
Aug 26, 2014
We were impressed by the facilities and the extra amenities that were available. It was a nice to call home for a few days.
Aug 26, 2014
Really well run. You can tell that the management is leading and training the staff well. Even though this place is bustling with lots of families, we felt our camp site was quiet. The view is incredible and there was so much for our kids to of at the KOA. The location to get to all the area attractions is perfect too.
Aug 26, 2014
this was our first time staying at a koa campground and my first time at Mt Rushmore. I couldn't be more pleased with everything. Keep up the good work and we will be back. As a matter of fact our kids are coming this weekend.
Aug 26, 2014
Family vacation. Our grandaughter loved the horses. Rode 2 days in a row. She says she wants to go back evey year, so guess we'll see you next year. Everyone was extremely friendly. Thanks KOA.
Aug 26, 2014
Gorgeous site and fabulous staff! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.
Aug 26, 2014
Great place to stay! The climbing wall was not available and the items on the printed schedule didn't always match up to what was going on exactly. Overall, we had a good experience.
Aug 26, 2014
Bathrooms were very dirty....we stayed 4 nights and the same piece of gum was on the wall the entire stay....Black mold in showers..
Aug 26, 2014
The concept of KOA is geared for family's which is a great thing. But we are two seniors traveling and have no interest in anything that is offered. Loved our stay; very clean, great staff and would stay again; maybe.
Aug 26, 2014
Great campground, but like usual does not recognize/positively react to koa red vk card. H Stein
Aug 25, 2014
I truly recommend this place - the kids loved the activities and did not want to leave. I will be returning to this fantastic place in two years with extended family!
Aug 25, 2014
Excellent KOA with excellent amenities and close proximity to all the Black Hills have to offer. We had a wonderful stay!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
This was a wonderful campground. It had lots of activities, was central to lots of sites and the staff in general was wonderful. The only problems we had was a rude staff at the icecream shop and the hot tubs did not seem to have the proper chemical balance.
Aug 25, 2014
Has such high hopes for this place. 12 year old boys dream place!!, and parents nightmare. As the preteens rule the roost here. Not very family oriented. Says they have internet, but they don't. They keep saying its b/c of all the campers. You'd think they could plan infrastructure around how many camping spots they have. It's the largest KOA and it shows. Won't be staying there again
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Great stay great for kids !!!
Aug 25, 2014
Great place for families. It's rather large, so if your unit is further from the activities, expect to walk a lot. A lot of people in the pool, and adult hours are 8-10PM, which makes it hard to enjoy the pool. But I loved the amenities for food/dining, and access to extra activities like horseback riding. It's almost like going to a dude ranch without the price tag.
Aug 25, 2014
Always a great stay at Palmer Gulch. Our grandchildren and us have a wonderful time. We recommend you highly to all our friends. Thanks for the great service!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We always have a great time when we stay at this KOA! All the staff are amazing!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
From the minute we arrived until we checked out our time at the KOA Mt. Rushmore was fantastic. Kudo's to Jane at registration for excellent customer service. Keep up the great work!
Aug 25, 2014
So many great things to do and see at this location and area can't wait to come back
Aug 25, 2014
Hands down this is one of the best KOA's we have stayed at. Lots to do for the kids and Adults. Close to most of the day excursion tourists sites. My family and I enjoyed our Vacation very much. Thank you!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in a camping cabin and absolutely loved our family time there! The campgrounds were amazing - clean, beautiful, and extremely family friendly! Our 3 kids range in age from 4-14 and each one of them had their own amazing experience. Thanks Mt. Rushmore KOA for the best family vacation we've ever had!!
Aug 25, 2014
thank you so much for such a clean and friendly place to stay. I think we had the best spot in the campground :) Thank you to the signers for their performance! I would highly recommend to others!
Aug 25, 2014
They do not tell you when you make a reservation that they will charge you a $10 a day "resort fee" on top of space fee. No cable no WiFi very hit or miss phone service. Great kids park but seniors not so much. Be sure ask about all fees before booking.
Aug 25, 2014
Amazing first camp experience!! My kids absolutely loved all the activities!! Very clean as well!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
I thought I was suppose to get wifi, but the site I was in did not receive it. Also, my waste water hookup was higher than my camper, causing me trouble disconnecting from the waste water connection. The area is beautiful and staff friendly.
Aug 24, 2014
All of the amenities were awesome. The staff was extremely friendly.
Aug 24, 2014
This KOA has it all. That said the cell reception was very poor- not necessarily KOAs fault and the wi-fi only worked in a few "hot spots" not within the campground and only a few had cable. So we were comm out for 3 days - withdrawal!!!!!.
Aug 24, 2014
Great location, quiet campground, lots of amenities, including 2 pools, full service restaurant, and also pancake breakfast. Had a very pleasant stay here and would definitely come back here if we were in the area again.
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Thank you! We were also excited to find out our weekend was on Family Faith weekend. It was the icing on the cake and we were joyful.
Aug 24, 2014
An amazing facility and we look forward to returning next year!
Aug 24, 2014
Beautiful setting, clean facility, friendly people and EXTRAORDINARY flowers.
Aug 24, 2014
The stay was wonderful. The people at the front desk where outstanding and understanding about our situation at the camp site. When we arived for our stay the camp site that was alucated to us was full of dog poop. The manager moved us and had the site cleaned up ASAP. So the next couple would not go through and poppy site. I would love to stay there again and I think I might.
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful experience. This place is out of this world.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
We had a great time! My 6yo twins loved the splash pad, the pool, the water slide, and the loft in our cabin. Everyone was very nice and courteous. We are already talking about coming back again, just to enjoy the KOA amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
The location is great--it has everything you need right on site. The cabin was new, quiet and well-equipped. My only complaint is that it's incredibly difficult to find your way to cabins at night! There are a lot of roads and turns and the directional signs are small and not lit so they were completely useless. Make them bigger, light them or make them reflective--please!!
Aug 23, 2014
Great place to stay. Best campground we've been at. So much to do onsite and plenty to keep a child happy and entertained.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.