Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2015
Had a great time. Lots of fun and great set up for kids.
Jul 22, 2015
this is a very busy KOA. Great if traveling with kids. ChuckWagon dinner was fantastic. Laundry facilities good. I enjoyed very much because my grandkids were able to stay busy.
Jul 22, 2015
Fun campground in a beautiful place. Crowded, but fun. Lots to do.
Jul 22, 2015
The staff was great. Very helpful and friendly. The site 584 was subpar. It was muddy and sized for a camper, not for a fifthwheel. I had to back my trailer past the pad, onto the grass and there was no cable hookup.
Jul 22, 2015
you guys had everything. Showers and bathrooms were clean and warm. lots of activities for the kids
Jul 22, 2015
This is a great campground with lots of fun amenities. It is also in a central location. It was a great place for a family vacation!
Jul 22, 2015
Stayed 8 nights. Good base for side trips. Lots to do for all ages. Could use better wifi reception and band width.
Jul 22, 2015
Place is beautiful, lots to do, great location in the Black Hills. Loved the cookout centre. Would definitely come back but not in the one bedroom cabin. The 5th bunk is completely useless. Also, the bathrooms near us were not adequate, the shower stalls tiny and many stalls were missing their hooks. They need a makeover like the beautiful one in the middle of the Rv's near the main building.
Jul 22, 2015
The KOA staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 22, 2015
Very tight quarters in most pull through, staff extremely courtious and helpful loved all kid activities
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the pancake tent, swimming pool/slide, kid activities, and coffee shop!
Jul 22, 2015
I REALLY LIKED THE ARREA AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.
Jul 22, 2015
We loved all the amenities, the shuttle to Mount Rushmore, and the people were great. We just found it hard to relax with the tiny camping space and although the property is surrounded by beautiful trees and mountains we actually felt very disconnected from nature.
Jul 22, 2015
Great place but needs better area for kids. There were too many in the roadway.
Jul 22, 2015
Way too big. The bathroom/showers/laundry were so far away that we drove down the hill to them. They could use twice as many for a campground this large. Showers were dirty and over-used. Simply too many people for the amount and locations of the showers and bathrooms.
Jul 22, 2015
Beautiful and clean place with lots of things to do and excitement!
Jul 22, 2015
Perfect choice close to everything we wanted to see and do
Jul 22, 2015
Lots of fun at Mt. Rushmore KOA! It was busy, but the kids had a great time with the water slide, pools and games/activities! Disappointed that the rock wall was down, but plenty of other things to do. Really enjoyed the complimentary attractions in Keystone that were included with our stay as well! Thanks!
Jul 22, 2015
Awesome! Kids loved it - SO much to do. We will definitely return!
Jul 22, 2015
Ashley the assistant manager was so great! Such a wonderful place!
Jul 21, 2015
Our only complaint was that we felt that some folks drove much faster than the 10 mph through the campground..
Jul 21, 2015
Had an issue when I arrived with a camp site that was not big enough for my camper slide outs. Was moved to a new site that was perfect. very accommodating. Kids loved all the activities and we wish we would have been able to stay more nights.
Jul 21, 2015
We had an amazing stay at the KOA My Rushmore. Thank you for such a great time!!
Jul 21, 2015
There are plenty of ammenities at this KOA. Everything was very Klean. Plenty of aktivities for the Kids. Would really like to see more WiFi Access as it is in an area with limited access and it helps in planning the days activities to have that access.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Only criticism and it is very minor I had bring my own toilet paper one day to facility #3 and I left the roll for others, toilet was plugged and overflowing so I notified manager. Lord knows what was attempted to flush down, so couldn't blame you for that. Very impressed by the courtesy, competence and caring of your staff.
Jul 21, 2015
we like that there was a lot to do at the site, thanks for giving us a great time.
Jul 21, 2015
So many great things for the kids! Wish i could stay longer, Beautiful bathrooms and warm showers - love it!
Jul 21, 2015
This is our third time at your camp. Love it here!! However, I wasn't able to use the hot tub due to under age kids using it without adults.
Jul 21, 2015
No WiFi at all even at the office. suppossed to have two sites next to each other,didn't pay any attention to our site number as we were to be next to each other. 3 hrs later I was told to move across campground.
Jul 21, 2015
Everything was good except the fact that the sites that were given to me arent very good for camping and we were rite by the horse area so was very hard to eat and the staff wasn't really able to give me all the info i needed like where is area location before heading over there u guys should really be more descriptive on ur map and also have that on ur website
Jul 21, 2015
We loved the many activities they provide for us while we stayed there. My kids didn't want to go anywhere they wanted to stay and play at the KOA!
Jul 21, 2015
Nice stay. 4 th time. Comfort stations could use a bit of updating/deep cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
The spots are too small. The manager was changing peoples sites with out putting the change into the computer system. This left us a choice between two muddy spots or one small spot were the larger next door neighbors visitors parking in out spot. I suggest you buy some gravel for your spots so people would not have to put there campers in muddy spots. This was the worst stay of our trip.
Jul 21, 2015
We were in the camping cabins. the cabins were nice, they did what we needed. I was not pleased with the cleanliness of the bathroom /shower area. It appeared they only cleaned them once a day, and that was questionable. Even the main lodge nathrooms in a 24 hr period never got cleaned.
Jul 21, 2015
people working ice cream shop bike rental, need to get another job very rude. Site we stayed in over priced
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent place to camp!......lots for the kids to do!
Jul 21, 2015
wonderful camp ground
Jul 21, 2015
we should have stayed longer!
Jul 21, 2015
KOA needs to install sidewalks to get people in and out of fun zone. This is a very busy campground with very poor pedestrian safety measures.
Jul 21, 2015
We loved the cabin we rented (D402). We ate at the Ponderosa, & was disappointed - esp. that the women's restroom had no working water faucets, so no way to wash my hands. I think that's against sanitation rules to be open for serving when that happens. Also, there was only 1 server for all the tables - so obviously, the service was poor. Gals at the registration desk were outstanding, though!
Jul 21, 2015
The place was very nice, very peaceful at night despite many people there. Many showers but only two toilets. The wifi was not working. Not enough deckchairs around the pool.
Jul 21, 2015
Thank you
Jul 21, 2015
Very disappointing for a KOA. Very narrow roads. Free Wifi non existent even in lodge lobby and only for Apple devices. Too many other nicer and less expensive campgrounds in area to ever stay here again. Most enjoyable part of stay was that we were away all day and evening sightseeing.
Jul 21, 2015
wish we stayed longer to enjoy all your camp had to offer. we will return.
Jul 21, 2015
Disagreeable staff, except the concier who really helped us obtain reservations at KOAs for our next two stops. Site was too small for our rig and badly eroded from the recent rain.
Jul 21, 2015
We were there five days and had a great time! We started out with campsite 601 which was fine for my husband and I, but we were concerned because it was steep and our grandkids were coming. We asked to move and Danelle worked and worked and succeeded in getting us a better spot! God bless her! Also, we love the Sunday service. (Miss the paddle boats though.)
Jul 21, 2015
THis was our 4th Trip and We were quite disappointed, we were moved to a location that was up a steep hill. We had our 4 month old and 3 year old grandsons that had to be toted up and down this big hill. The 3 year old fell going down it and injured his knee due to the steep incline. I was told when making reservations that we would be in 287 & 288, as I said we needed near the playground.
Jul 21, 2015
roads are in terrible condition lots of potholes, site was very poorly maintained, reported to staff who seemed too busy to care, poor customer service

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.