Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2016
enjoyed everything, except one of the pools was hardly open with no explanation. Other pool was COLD, hot tub was correct pool temperature
Jun 19, 2016
We had a wonderful time at the Mount Rushmore KOA. The activities were top-notch and the facilities were perfect. All of the staff that we encountered were helpful and courteous.
Jun 19, 2016
Clean, fun campground.....definitely not our parent's KOA...Entire family loved it!!!! Thank you to all the hard working g staff
Jun 19, 2016
Very impressed in how they take care of the camp and campers. It rained and the employees were out taking care of the roads and warning people to lower their awnings. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids had a blast with all the activities.
Jun 19, 2016
Even though we requested a shaded, more private site, sites are all extremely close together. No privacy at all. Luckily we camped during the week, as we were leaving the campground was really filling up. Site maintenance has a very hard time with pools, all very green and one had to be closed. Unfortunately, Rodeo grounds took away the 1 natural, pretty view. Showers are horribly moldy smelling.
Jun 19, 2016
Very friendly staff, plenty of activities for the family and a beautiful campsite. Bathrooms & showers are nice and clean. I wish they had more bathroom & shower facilities because my son had an accident since we had a bit of a walk to the bathrooms, but if I had known where our site would be VS the bathrooms; I would've requested a place closer just for that reason.
Jun 19, 2016
We had a nice slot. The showers & bathroom area was nice & clean. Staff & other campers were friendly. Our granddaughter enjoyed both pools. The snack bar had great food which we enjoyed many times. Good place to stay especially if you had children with you! Thanks a bunch for a great stay-4 nights.
Jun 19, 2016
Place was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My son loved the pools, slide, horses, firetruck ride, I could go on forever. I would give the bathroom a 5 star but the showers a 3. I've been in worse but I have been in better. All in all I will definitely be back.
Jun 19, 2016
Very nice
Jun 19, 2016
Great place with lots of kids to enjoy watching. WiFi was very poor is the only down side
Jun 19, 2016
This place could not be any better! The entire staff was so nice and helpful, the grounds were very well kept, and there was so much we could do. Horseback riding was our favorite,
Jun 19, 2016
Stayed 3 nights. Was a good stay. Would do it again.
Jun 19, 2016
Best place ever, so much to do for the entire family.
Jun 19, 2016
Lots of fun activities for the kids
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
We were told when we made the reservation that it was FULL hookups.The receipt said FULL hookups it was not. The sight was pretty run down. Disappointed for the price,
Jun 18, 2016
This was out second time at Mt. Rushmore KOA. It is still a great place to stay, but they have expanded so much they havent stayed caught up on some things they need. They need another camp kitchen back past the second swimming pool. They also need to do something about the water system, it was orange and horrible tasting the whole week.
Jun 18, 2016
Great campground with nice amenities! Showers and bathrooms the best I've seen!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Great facility,family friendly,endless things to do immaculate highly recommended
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean nice Koa but the cabin beds leave something to be desired.
Jun 18, 2016
Fantastic!! Wish we could've squeezed in another day of our trip just to hang out at the park!!
Jun 18, 2016
The campground was very nice. Our deluxe cabin was very nice & perfect for our family of 4. We were very happy to be tucked up and away from the main campground for privacy. Only reason I am not giving a 5 star rating is because the pool was closed every day but one while we were there. Very frustrating. The kids were disappointed as the other pool was cold & smelled - next to the stables.
Jun 18, 2016
My Kids love it!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Nice stay in deluxe cabin with kids loft. Only hick up was I had made a reservation for a 6 seater UTV. Once there they gave me a 4 seater. (When I called to reserve I specifically had female agent check to make sure 6 seater. She said it was) luckily person had 6 seater didn't want it so we traded.
Jun 18, 2016
It is a must for me to tell them that I have been sent straight to the best campground in a central location for your vacation needs WE had a great time with the new friends Of KOA it's a great time for the hole family WE will be back
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Only issue was one of the pools was not open all the time
Jun 18, 2016
Though the park is a great setting I would only recommend it for people with kids. Over priced for the services we had no dump and tough to get into with our size coach but I find all KOA's overpriced.
Jun 18, 2016
We had a great time! Tons to do for the kids at this KOA and close to a lot sites we wanted to see! Staff were very friendly and helpful!
Jun 18, 2016
Only place to stay in the Black Hills! Loved it. We'll be back.
Jun 18, 2016
WOW! Stayed a a lot of Campground/Resorts and this is what everyone else hope to be. If you have kids this is THE place. Well done from check in to check out.
Jun 18, 2016
The map showing the location of our camping spot was worse than useless. The 30 amp electric hook up was not 30 amp, it consistently tripped the breakers. We were charged an extra $20 for a "Resort Saver Package", whatever that was for. Overpriced and too big.
Jun 18, 2016
Great for kids and adults, so many things to do, VERY accommodating!!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean, pancake breakfast was very good but should state pancakes are $3 for all you can eat. Had a courtesy phone which was a great idea. I thought thevresortvfee of $10 was a little much considering the price of overnight stay.
Jun 17, 2016
The staff were absolutely fantastic! Loved our nightly walks and visits to the ice cream shop. We will be back.
Jun 17, 2016
You need internet/cell reception!!!
Jun 17, 2016
The pancake tent took my money And refused me service even though I had pu.t my service dog outside! Disappointed in the anti American attitude. They got angry because I tried to discuss it ,and they refused to serve me. They said it was their right! Wish I did not buy that membership card!
Jun 17, 2016
They were accommodating when it came to switching our site to another that we liked better. Beware of what your neighbors might be like though.... The staff is great!! you will probably enjoy it. We are of a different kind, so if we were still who we used to be, we probably would have had a ball... Very convienently located and lots to do. MOTORCYCLES Will love this area!!! It's very nice.
Jun 17, 2016
Great for families with children
Jun 17, 2016
First time with RV and Mt Rushmore. Very nice hospitality. Did not come for the Rodeo but after that the first night it was all great.
Jun 17, 2016
Great kids activities. Clean. Pizza and restaurant were good, not great. Quiet campground. We didn't do the trail rides but watched others enjoying it, horse stalls were very nice. Fun bikes to rent. Check-in easy. Only complaint was our camper was way to big for the place we were assigned. Tree right there couldn't use awning.
Jun 17, 2016
Registration was quick. Everyone was very pleasant to work with and extremely friendly. Facilities were in excellent condition and very clean. We can't wait to stay again!
Jun 17, 2016
So much to do, kind helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere! Our kids favorite stop on a lengthy trip! Bathrooms were a bit messy at times, but with the number of people here it would be hard to keep up. Highly recommend requesting a tent site near the creek. Lots of fun!
Jun 17, 2016
Wish we could of stayed longer. So much to do. Great place.
Jun 17, 2016
Amazing amount of amenities! Friendly, helpful staff, very clean facilities. Very close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jun 16, 2016
Loved it!! We had our 3 kids with us and there was so much to do for them - we had a blast!
Jun 16, 2016
Cabin doors warped so not able to close completely, bathrooms a long walk with hills away. hot tub over run with kids (no kid rule needed in hot tubs or with an adult only).
Jun 16, 2016
Great campground with great amenities and lots for the kids to do. Almost didn't want to leave to go see the local attractions!
Jun 16, 2016
Great service. Friendly and efficient employees. My only complaint is in regards to the water. It was a clear brown. My water filter took care of some of it, but brownish water still flowed through the faucets in my trailer.
Jun 16, 2016
We loved staying here!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals