Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2013
everything was first class
Sep 06, 2013
The flies were terrible because of manure. The smell was sickening because of horse manure . Plenty to do. Just don't go while school is out. Too crowded . This KOA needs fly predators to control flies . Gone twice no need to go again. Each time gets worse .
Sep 06, 2013
By far the best campground I have ever been to, activities were legitimate (not cheesy) ATV rental, horseback riding, fishing, wagon. Views abound, this is a serious KOA. Two items they might consider is one, we had no WiFi or cell eventhough they had WiFi it wouldn't work for many and second there it too much worker traffic on golfcarts, vans, trucks, etc. Seemed like they were back and forth,
Sep 06, 2013
The only reason I have been coming back to Mount Rushmore koa is because i been going every summer as a kid. Other than that I'm In the military been for 10 years and the bathrooms at your koa are sick. I have seen better bathroom in the military. That and people (campers) are rude. They drive around fast and loud with there brights I brought everything up they said what do you want us to do
Sep 06, 2013
We always love coming to the Mt. Rushmore KOA every year. They have lots of fun stuff for the kids to do, great Quad trails to take our family and friends on, clean amenities, and lots of variety for the whole group. We have a group of friends and their families that come every year and truly enjoy ourselves to the fullest!
Sep 06, 2013
Was so wonderful for our 2 year old grandaughter. She had been in car for over 15 hrs and it was wonderful for her to have so much to do.
Sep 06, 2013
Too many dogs. BIG dogs. BIG mess.
Sep 05, 2013
Our family said.."This is like Disney Land!" We had the most wonderful, memorable time!
Sep 05, 2013
It was great. Water park for the kiddies, a movie every night, and car rentals so you can see all the local attractions for those traveling by RV.
Sep 05, 2013
Overall an enjoyable stay, would return again. Was disappointed with waterslide for kids way too dirty, and made reservation and paid 10 dollars to "hold" site #549 got there and was given site #597 which does not have cable but paid same rate quoted for site with cable??? No explanation as to why site changed. Loved the pancake breakfast very nicely done, especially nice on day of check out.
Sep 05, 2013
Fantastic campground for family. We were very impressed with all of the activities/play centers for children!
Sep 04, 2013
we had a tent s site next to the horse trail was nice then we got rained out, moved to the top of the hill but there the gravel roads were washed out the next morning, all in all we will be back in two years
Sep 04, 2013
Awesome place! Tons of fun activities for the whole family. Very clean. Only complaint was that the shower doors were difficult to open and close.
Sep 04, 2013
Facilities and Staff were great!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Beautiful place. Nice people. Traffic past our site was non-stop and most were going too fast.
Sep 04, 2013
WE ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF OUR STAY-SOO CLOSE TO MT RUSHMORE WE WOULD DO IT AGAIN & HOPE TO
Sep 04, 2013
Everything!! Was wonderful... Except bathroom and showers in #4 were regularly dirty and terribly mildewed the entire time...we actually on the second day started walking all the way over to another comfort station rather than deal with that. Mildew, dirt, poor water pressure ...not good. But otherwise our time was wonderful!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
This is a great park, but not on a holiday weekend. People were driving their ATVs all over the roads and they were noisy and disrespectful of other campers.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Stayed here before w/my kids and had a very nice time. Decided to come again and had very wonderful stay. Thought it was a little expensive though!
Sep 03, 2013
Excellent location with many activities for kids. We have a 5 and 7 year old, and there was way more to do than they could keep up with.
Sep 03, 2013
Bathroom could have been cleaner. Shower curtain had mold on it.
Sep 03, 2013
we had a problem with our cabin 402 which was fixed. However we couldn't get rid of what sounded like a smoke alarm.Harry was great fixing that and changing the tv. We did discover late Sunday night that behind the couch is a propane alarm and whenever anyone sat or moved on the couch it set off that alarm, not the other alarm. we had a great time Thank you.
Sep 03, 2013
Lots of activities and things to do. Sites in back of grounds a little more secluded than most KOAs.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
it is very crowded and loud. that is why I would not return. Also, the rentals of anything is VERY unorganized and crazy!! there needs to be a system because there is no communication between the desk rental clerk to the guy giving away the bikes (etc). The pancake breakfast was over talked and under rated. $2.50= $10 after you get everything else! NOT mentioned in the promos.
Sep 03, 2013
We enjoyed our visit. We would of rated our stay as great if the wifi access had been better, restrooms and showers cleaner, and swimming pool cleaner.
Sep 03, 2013
The campground it great but the showers very dirty.
Sep 03, 2013
A wonderful KOA. Very nice campground and extremely helpful and happy people
Sep 03, 2013
We can't wait to come back next spring/summer it is always so much fun and the campground is always so clean. Staff are so friendly and helpful all the time.
Sep 03, 2013
Very enjoyable. Most staff were friendly and helpful!
Sep 03, 2013
With all of the options of things to do at this KOA, we were surprised that there was not something to help keep the Kamping Kabins cool like a fan or something. We have stayed at many KOA's & most of them in the warmer areas have either a fan or air conditioner. We love the variety of things to do but it was difficult to sleep when the kabins are hot and stuffy. This KOA is one of our favorites
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
This was our second stay at this campground and we had 5 adults and 4 children and every single one of us had a great time once again. There is something to do for everyone. We camped on Memorial weekend and Labor day Weekends and there were a lot of people staying in the campground but it did not feel at all over crowded. This is a well maintained and fun place to stay with friendly employees.
Sep 03, 2013
Such a great time... can't wait to come back!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
I would like to see more process controls in place for rental equipment and more information on the activities that are available on any given day. Never having stayed at the Mt Rushmore KOA finding things to do at the right times was kind of like an Easter egg hunt. Over all it was a great time and was happy to find 0 mosquitos at our camp. The office personnel was super helpful.
Sep 03, 2013
We always enjoy staying at Palmer Gulch.....so many activities for everyone and the staff is great!
Sep 03, 2013
Staff awesome. Ryan the director does great work!!
Sep 03, 2013
Loved your location! The amenities were outstanding! Staff were super friendly. The breakfast was delicious! We want to return with family and grandchildren! Thanks for a lovely experience!!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Overall I was very impressed with the campground and all the great activities available. We unfortunately stayed next too a couple that was loud and the Sheriff was actually called in for the incident which made a couple of our sleeping nights rough, but the resort was very nice.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Awesome, great time had by all.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We have stayed several times at this KOA. We love staying there but this stay was the least enjoyable experience that we have had. We ended up with a site on the hill side even though we booked a site close to the pool.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.