Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2015
Loved the area, everyone was very helpful. Our grandkids enjoyed the fun zone and made many friends
Jul 23, 2015
We stayed at this KOA 25 years ago. Went back this 2015 and was better than ever. This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Very kid friendly. Lots of things to do with the family. Great place to stay. We will stay there again. No question.
Jul 23, 2015
The cabins were very nice, but any other koa I stopped at the cabins have screen doors and fans. Also no grill, just a fire pit.staff was awesome!
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
This park is huge! Tons of stuff for the kids to do. It was full for most of our stay and very busy. Very close to Mt. Rushmore. The bathrooms and showers were a bit run down and the men's bathroom smelled most of the time. Even after cleaning. No internet at the sites, even though it was advertised on the website. Couldn't even get on at the so called hotspots. No cel phone service at all.
Jul 23, 2015
Just passing through on vacation
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived the family that had reserved the 2 sites next to us were overflowing into our site. It was awkward to have to have that conversation with them. They were nice about it, but I think they had been confused by the way the tent spaces were marked. Bathrooms could have used more attention. Minor issues, but overall great stay, though! Thank you so much!
Jul 23, 2015
Had a great time.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived, we were placed in a site that was completely flooded. Though it was a full hookup site, we were not able to utilize the sewage since it was flooded. Parking in the site in a swamp was not ok. The site should never have been available for anyone to use.
Jul 23, 2015
Wonderful stay. We enjoyed all the amenities, I felt safe letting the kids run, lots of staff, for the most part friendly. My only negative comment would be the wifi - or lack of wifi. Wonderful stay - we will be back someday.
Jul 23, 2015
Really nice campsite, so much entertainment! Little too crowded for my taste, but probably great when traveling with kids!
Jul 23, 2015
We loved the overall facility. Almost like a resort! Dislikes were the Internet ( or lack of) never could get on at all. The showers were also in need of attention in the AM. Very dirty around 6am from the night before of swimming I'm guessing. Very dirty to take a morning shower. Other than that the facility was great. I Would love to stay there again!
Jul 23, 2015
This campsite has a lot of activities , wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 23, 2015
Staff is extremely friendly, activities are fun, bathrooms/ showers are clean. The problem is the number of people they cram into the space. It is insane. We had to go to 3 different camp sites before we found room to set up our tent. People are right on top of each other. There is no privacy or peace. Between babies crying, dogs barking, car alarms going off all night, sleep is impossible!
Jul 23, 2015
The Koa should consider updating it water park features. Too small of area for the mass number of guests who can stay(lots of sites). The guests kids run around at night at all hours, we had no encounters, but some other campers did. Just a busy time of year I guess.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Cost too much
Jul 23, 2015
They need to pay more attention to where they assign big rigs (over 37' towing). Was put a slot for a pop-up or tag along. When I left the morning of the 22nd I damaged my rig. I know they were busy but can do a lot better with the cleaning of the rest rooms. We paid an extra $10 per day for other amenities for that price they should do a better job cleaning the facilities.
Jul 23, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Only sorry that cell phones don't work and internet also. We were there from Sat. to Thurs. and couldn't contact family.
Jul 23, 2015
Great for kids, however we are seniors and found the campground very crowded and noisy. Forget the 10 MPH speed limit the staff drove around at twice that speed.
Jul 22, 2015
Our large group used the extremely clean group area for several meals. The abundant flowers were a beautiful backdrop. Hated no wifi or cellular but it is a gulch! Go no tech I say! Wonderful destination KOA!
Jul 22, 2015
Have been RV ing to PG KOA for 20+ years to family reunions. All visits, before this one were A rated. This one felt "bottom line" a C +. Want details? : crowded, "jammed in" RVs, not as friendly, no 6AM coffee. Exception: Chuck Wagon dinner-fantastic!
Jul 22, 2015
Very Expensive!!! No internet or phone service made it difficult for our family to communicate. Most all other family members stayed elsewhere because of previous stay issues. Will be staying elsewhere the next visit to the area.
Jul 22, 2015
Had a great time. Lots of fun and great set up for kids.
Jul 22, 2015
this is a very busy KOA. Great if traveling with kids. ChuckWagon dinner was fantastic. Laundry facilities good. I enjoyed very much because my grandkids were able to stay busy.
Jul 22, 2015
Fun campground in a beautiful place. Crowded, but fun. Lots to do.
Jul 22, 2015
The staff was great. Very helpful and friendly. The site 584 was subpar. It was muddy and sized for a camper, not for a fifthwheel. I had to back my trailer past the pad, onto the grass and there was no cable hookup.
Jul 22, 2015
you guys had everything. Showers and bathrooms were clean and warm. lots of activities for the kids
Jul 22, 2015
This is a great campground with lots of fun amenities. It is also in a central location. It was a great place for a family vacation!
Jul 22, 2015
Stayed 8 nights. Good base for side trips. Lots to do for all ages. Could use better wifi reception and band width.
Jul 22, 2015
Place is beautiful, lots to do, great location in the Black Hills. Loved the cookout centre. Would definitely come back but not in the one bedroom cabin. The 5th bunk is completely useless. Also, the bathrooms near us were not adequate, the shower stalls tiny and many stalls were missing their hooks. They need a makeover like the beautiful one in the middle of the Rv's near the main building.
Jul 22, 2015
The KOA staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 22, 2015
Very tight quarters in most pull through, staff extremely courtious and helpful loved all kid activities
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the pancake tent, swimming pool/slide, kid activities, and coffee shop!
Jul 22, 2015
I REALLY LIKED THE ARREA AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.
Jul 22, 2015
We loved all the amenities, the shuttle to Mount Rushmore, and the people were great. We just found it hard to relax with the tiny camping space and although the property is surrounded by beautiful trees and mountains we actually felt very disconnected from nature.
Jul 22, 2015
Great place but needs better area for kids. There were too many in the roadway.
Jul 22, 2015
Way too big. The bathroom/showers/laundry were so far away that we drove down the hill to them. They could use twice as many for a campground this large. Showers were dirty and over-used. Simply too many people for the amount and locations of the showers and bathrooms.
Jul 22, 2015
Beautiful and clean place with lots of things to do and excitement!
Jul 22, 2015
Perfect choice close to everything we wanted to see and do
Jul 22, 2015
Lots of fun at Mt. Rushmore KOA! It was busy, but the kids had a great time with the water slide, pools and games/activities! Disappointed that the rock wall was down, but plenty of other things to do. Really enjoyed the complimentary attractions in Keystone that were included with our stay as well! Thanks!
Jul 22, 2015
Awesome! Kids loved it - SO much to do. We will definitely return!
Jul 22, 2015
Ashley the assistant manager was so great! Such a wonderful place!
Jul 21, 2015
Our only complaint was that we felt that some folks drove much faster than the 10 mph through the campground..
Jul 21, 2015
Had an issue when I arrived with a camp site that was not big enough for my camper slide outs. Was moved to a new site that was perfect. very accommodating. Kids loved all the activities and we wish we would have been able to stay more nights.
Jul 21, 2015
We had an amazing stay at the KOA My Rushmore. Thank you for such a great time!!
Jul 21, 2015
There are plenty of ammenities at this KOA. Everything was very Klean. Plenty of aktivities for the Kids. Would really like to see more WiFi Access as it is in an area with limited access and it helps in planning the days activities to have that access.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.