Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2015
We had a great time and found all of the employees we met to be very friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks.
Aug 21, 2015
The KOA is impressive and clean as a facility. However, I don't appreciate paying a $10 resort fee on top of a pricier than usual kamping kabin. The only "resort" amenity available was the pool which should be standard. We couldn't use the rock climbing wall, after asking at least 4 staff members, it turned out nobody really knows when it is operational only that it is not often. Staff rude.
Aug 20, 2015
Very nice campground. Could use more bathrooms. Overall vry nice
Aug 20, 2015
We loved all the activities for kids! No Wi-Fi or cell phone use through out the park was a definite bummer!! Our cabin had a big puddle of water out the front door and in our fire pit 4 of the 5 nights we stayed. We talked to the office about this but no solution, you need to build a wood patio out front cabins(check out Butte KOA).
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful park, so many things to do for all age groups. So close to all tourist sights. Thank You for hospitality.
Aug 20, 2015
It's an OK facility. Hot tub was filthy. Sites were anything but level. We had two days of rain and some of the sites had 6" of water in them. No cell phone service whatsoever. Paid for the 5 grandchildren to take a trail ride but they were cancelled and closed, so I'm not sure how I'm going to get the $150+ back. ATV's were a blast.
Aug 20, 2015
The place is too big and too impersonal.
Aug 20, 2015
Palmer Gulch KOA is awesome with so many activities you will be amazed. Pancake breakfasts can't be beat. Central location in the Black Hill's is good.
Aug 20, 2015
Although it was cold and rainy most of our stay we had one nice day to do many activities and the campground. The pool/waterslide was super cold to me but the kids seem to like it ok. I wished the wifi was a little better...not a huge deal but would be better to get a hold of family to coordinate activities outside the campground. Overall we love the KOA!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
loved all the activities that we could do there. The dinner, pools, rides, and the accessibility to Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 20, 2015
Really great stay ... I think you could have more groceries available and your wifi was absolutely terrible and you need to upgrade your system immediately or you will lose valuable customers!!!!
Aug 20, 2015
Nice place. Stayed there many times. Very family oriented with tons of kids playing. So if you want quiet solitude not the best. But it is a good basecamp in the heart of the hills. Recommend.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Has a lot of fun stuff for the kids, but it's a VERY BUSY campground. Should be expected by it's very convenient location to Rushmore.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our Resort! We love to hear that there was plenty to do for your kids and that you found us convenient to Mt. Rushmore. While we have a very busy park,we recommend you request 4th area on your next visit as it is a much quieter place to camp.
Aug 19, 2015
Hands down the best KOA! (And we've camped at a lot of them!) We highly recommend this campground. Sooo much to do there. Conveniently located to lots of attractions. Can't wait to go back!!
Aug 19, 2015
My only complaint is that the bathrooms were small and far away from our campground.
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay at Mount Rushmore, SD KOA was wonderful! No Complaints what-so-ever. The staff was cordial and the services were tip top. The location is great and it's very easy to get anything you wish to see. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Mount Rushmore!
Aug 19, 2015
Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Unfortunately stayed only one night. Up the hill in the woods, far from restaurant and other amenities. In the Black Hills, okay. On our way to Littleton CO to meet family.
Aug 19, 2015
The campgrounds are very nice lots to do here. The only thing is you need to bring your bike to ride around because it takes you forever walk around. Some of the tent sites are on big hills and are not flat for your tent to go on. Also the staff should have a time zone for when they clean the washrooms NOT 9AM when people are getting out of bed and need to use them.
Aug 19, 2015
There was a bag of trash when we got to our cabin. Even though we reported it 3 times to staff, it was never removed. There was also a car at our cabin site. Somebody did come by once but ultimately at 10:00 pm, I had to ask the people to move it so my car was not out in the road.
Aug 19, 2015
Very accommodating. Originally put in a tiny sloped tent spot without shade. Went to the office and they allowed us to move spots with no hassle.
Aug 19, 2015
We were originally placed in a rather flooded site but KOA accommodated us with a drier site nearby. The bathrooms were VERY clean!!! Very clean park and facilities. There are a lot of activities for the kids and daily extra activities. The campground was one of their favorite things on the trip. I would only suggest having some of the activities later or twice a day as people are on day trips.
Aug 19, 2015
Too expensive. No cellular telephone access. WiFi only available near the office and speed was worse than "dial-up" of many years ago. We drove into Hill City and used our "hot-spot" for WiFi. The horse corrals are adjacent to the swimming pool which was unpleasant. They need to put down some gravel -- I had to wade in the mud to hook-up my car when we left. The flower displays were nice.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Great family KOA. Was going to stay one night, but decided to stay two. Lots of things to do.
Aug 19, 2015
Only got to stay one night but I'd bring family back ina minute for tent or cabin.
Aug 19, 2015
This place is more like it's own attraction and kind of takes away from why people go there to begin with. I remember when I was there about 17 yrs ago it was not yet as big but still fun. I'm kind of sad that they developed so big.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice place but all camping spaces were very close together
Aug 19, 2015
Very muddy in front of camper they need more gravel in someofthe camp sites,the lady that checked me in did a great job and found me a dealer to take my truck to to get fixed.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice campground but a little too pricey for lack of cable and wifi. A lot of activities and great location for Mount Rushmore
Aug 19, 2015
Just an overnight stop. Wish it was longer. Great campground with lots to do. Very large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review! We hope the next time you are in the area you will be able to stay a little longer and enjoy all of the fun things we have to offer! Sincerely, Danielle Akey Assistant Manager
Aug 18, 2015
Great place for great views
Aug 18, 2015
There was a wide variety of activities available, as well as food options. I especially enjoyed the pancake breakfast in the big tent.
Aug 18, 2015
we were very pleased but found little help from the reunion manager and it was annoying not to be able to stay together or even know where everyone stayed.
Aug 18, 2015
We have always loved visiting here, and trust me, we drive over 18 hours just so the kids can enjoy this KOA. However, very disappointed that my family and other guests were unable to enjoy main fun zone due to busses of kids, not camping there, showing up and taking over the pool. Had no respect for KOA guests, lacked supervision, especially group from FYS. Spent a lot of time & $ for this trip.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is not the same as it was 6 years ago. Too crowded and staff not helpful. Campground does not warrant their high cost or the resort fee. If someone wants to use the "resort" activities, let them pay for it rather than everyone....resort fee is not warranted. I have stayed in many, many other KOAs that are much nicer and less expensive.....
Aug 18, 2015
Busy campground so not a great place for my young child as they couldn't really be outside unless held. Cars, trucks, campers were going by at all times of the day and night. Lots and lots to do for older children. Wifi does not work at all. Even the person in the coffee shop/Internet cafe couldn't get it to work. I gave up after the second day and went to Mt Rushmore to use theirs.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This was our second stay. Only complaint was the significant sewer gas odor throughout our stay. This included the restrooms which consistently smelled bad.
Aug 18, 2015
Stayed here when I was 13, 18, 21 and now again at 34, bringing my own child! It keeps getting better! I love this KOA, always a friendly staff and so much to offer, never disappointed!! Great place to stay especially for a family vacation! Well priced too!
Aug 18, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA as new RV owners. We previously have only tent/pop up camped in state parks. We chose this KOA so we could stay near friends renting a cabin. We found the sites to be much closer together than what we are looking for. Obviously the convenience of hookups was awesome. The kid zone was great and we loved playing in the open space and climbing the big rocks.
Aug 18, 2015
We had a great stay! The kids were kept busy with all the activities. They loved the water slide and the bouncy ball! We had great meals at the 2 restaurants and fun entertainment at the wine bar. It was very relaxing.
Aug 18, 2015
our stay was very enjoyable. Every year there is something new and fun. Our 5 year old enjoyed the many events put on by the sun shiners. The rockets, strawberry floats and the coloring t-shirts. We have done every event that is offered whether free or a additional cost and always worth the time and or money. We always meet and make new friends. Wish every where we stayed we had this much fun
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a site that had the patio set on cement which we liked, but the cable TV did not come in, it was all fuzzy and the restroom/shower house was not very desirable.
Aug 18, 2015
This was kid HEAVEN! My family enjoyed every minute. The pool, playgrounds, waterslide, and jumping pillow were huge hits. Love the easy access to Mount Rushmore, the on-site general stores, and the activities. We will be back! My only complaint: no cell service and an overwhelmed wi-fi. Did not expect to be completely disconnected.
Aug 18, 2015
Great stay!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.