Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2017
Horrible. Assigned a campsite better suited for a tent. What s zoo.
Jul 21, 2017
Perfect family resort!!!
Jul 21, 2017
1. 2 adults, no kids assigned to a spot by the playground...really? 2. site was uneven which led to a rather tough nite sleeping on a slanted site... 3. breakfast @ the Ponderosa was weak at best...price not worth the stay...
Jul 21, 2017
Your staff was a great help with the directions we needed. Our family had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Jul 20, 2017
This is a great resort for families. Lots to do and the kids loved all water activities. Also a great location for visiting Mt. Rushmore, caves and etc. It's also a beautiful setting and clean. We did, however, have to get used to being "off the grid" for there was no cell service or wifi available in the area. We would stay again, very enjoyable.
Jul 20, 2017
We had a spot right across from the bathrooms. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying early am or evenings with people walking through site. Perhaps a pathway could be installed? Lots of rain and ended up with a 4" deep puddle in our parking spot. Asked for help at front office and none offered. Husband's feet soaked hooking up. :( 3 grandkids LOVED all the activities.
Jul 20, 2017
Bathrooms and showers need to be cleaned more frequently. My husband compared the men's room to the outhouses in Yellowstone. I mentioned this to an employee and he joked about it, and stated that he agreed that they were worse than out houses in Vietnam. I would have hoped that my complaint would have been taken seriously.
Jul 20, 2017
Exceeded our expectations in every way. A destination itself.
Jul 20, 2017
Great place to stay....
Jul 20, 2017
Loved all of the activities for the kids. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Jul 20, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed at this KOA. It's a good place to go with children. Lots of activities. Close to many nearby attractions.
Jul 20, 2017
Loved all the activities available. The covered wagon ride to the chuckwagon and the horseback riding were the highlights. And the shuttle bus to Mount Rushmore was great.
Jul 20, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 30 years!! It has only gotten better with time. So many things to do, truly awesome! I gave 4 stars because I feel the cleaning crew could be doing a better job but otherwise a wonderful stay as always!!
Jul 20, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
It was a nice park and the kids enjoyed it. The whole area is a connection nightmare, good or bad! We did miss hot water when we needed to shower in the evening. Morning had no problems. We use our phones for many useful things so print what you have researched or plan on spending many hours off the grid.
Jul 20, 2017
So much to see, so much to do. A whole lot larger than we thought.
Jul 20, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
This was great campaite. We will definitely be back.
Jul 20, 2017
Dry nice rv park. I'd stay again. The 4 star is because of the cost. Store items are over priced as is the nightly rate.
Jul 20, 2017
Very family friendly. Would highly recommend this KOA.
Jul 20, 2017
We couldn't be happier. We stayed at the Palmer Gulch site for a week. We were very impressed with all of the activities and the staff who always went above and beyond. You guys truly have thought of everything. I was ultimately impressed with the garbage pickup service!
Jul 20, 2017
Beautiful area to begin with. Check in a breeze and the host service taking you to your sight helps minimize traffic and confusion given the immense size of this resort. Tons of activities and amenities. Loved every minute of our stay and recommend for families and RVers of all ages!
Jul 20, 2017
I stayed here long ago when I was a child--it's quite different now, but my kids had the same wonderful experience. Super friendly staff, lots to do, comfy cabin. Thanks!
Jul 20, 2017
Had a great time- only complaint is bathrooms didn't ever seem that clean.
Jul 19, 2017
Very disappointed in staff that went up on my porch and threw away $300 in laundry away. And no one was willing or interested or anything to locate it.
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
We love it there! So many family friendly activities for all ages. It's also so close to other great attractions in the area.
Jul 19, 2017
We really enjoyed all of the activities that the KOA had for children. Our children had so much fun on the water slide and in the pool.
Jul 19, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Very clean. Wonderful activities for your kids. Would stay again!!
Jul 19, 2017
Fun for the kids!
Jul 19, 2017
It was THE BEST! Can anyone give me the name of the people who do the Horseback riding? I'd like to send them an email.
Jul 19, 2017
Restrooms were the filthiest I have seen. They were dirty when I went in in the evening and they still had not been cleaned when I went back in twice the next morning. My premium site was right in the busy section of the campsite and very loud. It rained and part of my site had standing water. We got in a day late due to truck trouble. We got charged for both nights. They didn't seem to care.
Jul 19, 2017
Beautiful campground full of amenities for families and adults. You don't ever want to leave it's so wonderful!
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 19, 2017
Good campsite if you have kids. Lots to keep them busy. If you want privacy, this isn't the place for you. Very crowded. Nice restrooms. Good laundry facility.
Jul 19, 2017
Beautiful location, minutes away from Mt. Rushmore. Stay was 4th of July and was charged $80 + $3 for my dog, back in, water/elec only. Huge property w/1 dump station for 110+ sites not f/hups. Long wait for dumping. Many activities and amenities to choose from. Staff busy and curt.
Jul 19, 2017
The shower vents were disgusting. Water pooled in the shower. The staff at the ice cream shop were rude and put my spoon on the DIRTY counter. Over priced for my use. However those with families would feel the price was fair. This is not a place for adults w/o kids.
Jul 18, 2017
Was a beautiful spot for making lasting memories with our family & friends!
Jul 18, 2017
Great facility. So many things to do. What a resort!
Jul 18, 2017
Great location! Tons of stuff for kids to do. Bathrooms were well kept. Sites were spacious and well kept.
Jul 18, 2017
Awesome. Organized. Helpful. Friendly. Huge. Something for everyone. Total vacation destination. Loved every minute of it!! Have already told several people about it.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
so much to do at the campground. kids absolutely enjoyed it
Jul 18, 2017
One of our best stays. We were impressed with the facility and everyone was top notch.
Jul 18, 2017
It's an enormous place! With plenty to do for the kids. But, as big as it is.. there are hardly any bathrooms! We stayed in a cabin and had to walk about 5 minutes just to get to a bathroom! The site is very small. There are people coming and going at all hours of the night! It's very loud.
Jul 18, 2017
Loved it - so beautiful and the staff was amazing!!!
Jul 18, 2017
Mike Atkinson (GM) went above and beyond to accommodate us on a couple of issues - his level of service alone makes us want to come back!
Jul 18, 2017
The only issue we had was the brown water. When I went in to talk to the registration office about it, all they said was that is how South Dakota water is. We have stayed at several places in South Dakota and the water was clear.
Jul 18, 2017
Cabin was in need of updates. Some of the outlets wouldn't hold a plug also the door was warped on the cabin to the point that unless it was dead bolted it didn't shut. The Pools, restaurants and grounds were all beautiful and clean. The bathrooms were all a LONG way away from our cabin and up hill both ways, this was a huge problem for my mother, the bath houses were overused and dirty.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals