Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
this campground was excellent everything you would ever need to enjoy your vacation is right here. very very comfortable and enjoyable
Aug 01, 2015
Great place to stay. Very family friendly. But in today's world they should have cell phone and wifi service. Absolutely zero wifi and cell phone service. Otherwise a wonderful campground.
Aug 01, 2015
This was a great stay, however I need to say that it is absolutely ridiculous that they advertise wifi. No cell signal and no wifi and we walked all over the resort. There were poor grandparents trying to find a place to skype and even at the coffee shop and main lodge we could not get anything. It was a great stay for families as there is a lot to do for kids. We enjoyed our cabin and the showers
Aug 01, 2015
Beautiful campground! Lots of activities for kids, teens, and adults. Very clean. Courteous staff. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return for a future stay. Thanks for the great experience!
Aug 01, 2015
WONDERFUL!The Hail Storm added to our adventures in the Black Hills!
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice camp ground. Well kept bathrooms! The grass needed to be cut and terrible problem with rodents around our cabin. Need to take care of the gopher problem!!!!
Aug 01, 2015
Great location, super kid friendly, will do it again. Staff and support personnel were great as well
Aug 01, 2015
We enjoyed our stay! So much for kids to do! We would come back and the kids asked when! The dryers were not working in our area so I went to another one. Not enough bathrooms and showers for the campground either. We always waited. The one water slide needs to be fixed/updated/or more water pressure. You go down at a snails pace. Definitely a disappointment.
Aug 01, 2015
Loved the campground. Staff very friendly.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the central location to so many attraction in the Black Hills, and the number of activities for the kids
Aug 01, 2015
Tent sites are cramped, site we were in there was a large SUV (KOA worker had a trailer parked in the vehicle spot) parked in the grass on our site, we were forced to put tents on the neighboring site.
Aug 01, 2015
Friendly, clean and lots for kids to do at the campground. We loved it.
Aug 01, 2015
Wow,just wow!
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice camping grounds! We loved it and plan on going back there.
Jul 31, 2015
For a campground this size and during the busiest time, I would rate it about an 8. They definitely need more washers and dryers. The visitors did a good job with the 10 mph speed limit, but some of the young KOA workers drove too fast. The KOA did do an excellent job of repairing the roads after the hail/rain storm. I was impressed with that!
Jul 31, 2015
Great place. Great people. Unfortunately we couldn't stsy longer tonseize all tje attrations of this kamp
Jul 31, 2015
The campground was incredibly crowded and packed in,there is very little space between you and the next camper. The bathrooms are very limited and not easily accessible. We stayed up on the hill in the 500's and with my mom and her bad knee along with small kids we had to drive to the bathrooms each time, especially in the middle of the night. The WiFi NEVER worked even at the internet cafe.
Jul 31, 2015
Outstanding. Awesome staff! Love the fresh flowers.
Jul 31, 2015
All good, however the sewer is up hill? Tree over grown couldn't put out the awning. You have a lot of activity for the whole family really like that.
Jul 31, 2015
The scenery is beautiful and the amenities are plentiful but be warned it's a very busy campground. A lot of traffic coming and going. Our kids were a bit old to appreciate the fun zone. Perfect for young families.
Jul 31, 2015
If it rains, there are very few activities available for children. Unfortunately for my family, it rained.
Jul 31, 2015
We loved all the amenities, great location, and helpful staff.
Jul 31, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff! Our golf cart guide went out of his way to help us find a place to park our boat before taking us to our site. We loved the facility and activity options, but were only there for a quick overnight. Our only complaint was how crowded and close the sites were.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
it was a great camp ground. Will be back.
Jul 31, 2015
This campground was a lot of fun, Our high maintenance boys, who always have to be doing somthing were never bored. Two pools, Basketball, ATV's and trails to ride them, Horse back riding, and a great playground for the youngsters, And your in one of the most beautiful places in America. Worth the trip.
Jul 31, 2015
Great place to camp. Just wish there was a little more grass at tent sites with electricity and also that the Wi-Fi would work.
Jul 31, 2015
It is the nicest KOA we have been to, and that is a lot of them. However, they should not advertise wifi. It only works about 5% of the time. There also is no cell service.
Jul 31, 2015
I would not stay here again. They do not tell you that there is no cell reception or WiFi. The campground is overpriced for 1 person with no children. Would not recommend to others.
Jul 31, 2015
The electric box did not include standard 110 volt wire cords and had to purchase two adaptor so that we could use our extension cords. The small site (507) was real nice with flowing brook on three sides. Restroom/showers-pool were close by. We would stay here again.
Jul 31, 2015
While this KOA is a resort, we were extremely disappointed with the number of cabins, tents and RV spots crammed into one space. We had NO privacy. The perception quickly becomes that of making money and less on camper satisfaction. Additionally, our cabin was an older unit in need of some repairs.
Jul 30, 2015
Did not like manure smell around food. Water pressure too low on bathroom. Would have liked to have known about exit at top of hill that was a short cut to Hill City. Bath houses good. Pancake breakfast good. Beautiful scenery .
Jul 30, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Camp ground is very close to Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, and Custer State Park--all places we planned to visit. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2015
Very disappointed in tne change of spot when we got there. We had reserved the site we wanted (given a site number and everything), but when we got there we were given a different site that was farther away from the pool, jump pillow, etc which we wanted to be close to and that is why I called to reserve a site 5 months ahead of time. we were never told about the $10 fee to hold this site. third
Jul 30, 2015
Best KOA of our whole trip.
Jul 30, 2015
Motorcycles were loud. Dirty water. No footpaths. Fun for families with kids! Lots of activities in the campground and close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
No paddle boats or kayaks which our kids wanted to do most of all. No TV service as tree branch brushing camper. No wifi. No phone service. No electricity one night so no air conditioning. Site on a hill so sloped. Jumpy house and climbing ended too soon. Water slide rules: one said anything goes another very strict. Not enough mats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jul 30, 2015
I'd stayed here several summers with my boys when they were young. They've grown & left, & now my sister & brother & I take a 'family' vaca ea. yr. The 3 of us have an absolutely WONDERFUL time @ your KOA, just like my sons & I always did for many summers! There's so much to do right @ the KOA that one almost forgets there's 4 presidents waiting for attention also. Thanks for amazing memories.
Jul 30, 2015
We have stayed at your Campground for many Summers and loved it. This stay July 25th through the 29th was very disappointing. We feel they are more concerned with how many people they can fit into the campground instead of the quality of the amenities they provide. The sites feel crowded and some of the bath houses are outdated and need to be redone. We are unsure if we will return to this KOA.
Jul 30, 2015
This was crowded and busy, hard to access facilities. The campground was too large and our cabin was too small - not as nice as the cabins in the other two KOAs we booked along the way on our recent trip. The one shining bit about this campground was the very receptive and friendly staff who tried to accommodate.
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground. Clean, nicely kept, friendly staff and a lot to do for the kids. They had a nice variety of activities and great little shops offering a wide variety of items. Couple issues. We had a 28ft 5th wheel and they placed us in a spot we were not able to fit. We were traveling with a group of three, so when they moved us we were not together. Solves shower issue promptly.
Jul 30, 2015
only wish that the parking spots for the cabins were designated on which side of cabin to park and more space for the table to set up on flat surface
Jul 30, 2015
Our site was in an area with an spring so we had water all the time. All gravel sites but what was THE WORST no phone or TV reception! !!!!.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were to far from campsite. Horrible cell service with all carriers. No wifi! Even in supposed hotspot areas. I will not stay there again or recommend this location to anyone
Jul 30, 2015
Great for the family. It rained and some places were very muddy.
Jul 30, 2015
awesome place to set up base camp for the area's attractions. Lots of activities and extras here. staff was well developed and attentive to the campers. Our only complaint would be the Bathroom and Shower facilities. The size of this place should consider slightly larger facilities, people were dancing around the building waiting to relieve themselves. showers needed a little maintenance.
Jul 30, 2015
Too much chaos
Jul 30, 2015
Sites very small and close together just barely long enough for my 24 ft mh. No cover on sewer connection, was fixed but should not have been an issue. People not sympathetic at all. Booked 4 days stayed 2. Will not be back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.