Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2014
Beautiful grounds and surroundings,loved it-but-many showers out of order, horse staff didn't know any answers to q's about property,sites too close together, pool very cold, hot tub water disgusting. otherwise great vacation!!
Jun 23, 2014
Love the stay, great location great staff!
Jun 23, 2014
Site was not worth $70 a night...grass needed cut and site was unlevel and very tiny site. Place was too busy and too big. Pool was closed due to problems. Showers needed cleaned more often and fixed...no hot water in one and the floor of another was broke.Check in employee was very nice and friendly but did not know the area attraction.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
The campground has all the amenities you could ask for. They were very accommodating and helpful. All the staff was friendly and helpful. No WiFi if you need this though.
Jun 23, 2014
Advertised WiFi connectivity, but was actually only a couple of hot spots in a couple of buildings. Also there was zero cell phone signal; it would be nice to know that the campground has no cell phone coverage.
Jun 23, 2014
The most + quality was the variety of fun activities for children. However they were not always open as scheduled. There was no Internet service, only a lame excuse that there were too many campers for their bandwidth. Don't advertise you have it - OR EXPAND IT. We had to change sites after the first night as the smell from the nearby horse manure dumpster kept us indoors w/windows closed.
Jun 23, 2014
My grandgirls loved it they called it KO Wow they kept on talking about all the neet things they did. from swimming to horseback riding
Jun 23, 2014
We weren't aware when we made the reservation that this KOA is the 2nd largest in the nation. It was awesome! So much for the kids to do, so family friendly & picturesque as well. We stayed in one of the small cabins & it was very clean & relaxing sitting outside on the front porch. We're hoping to plan a whole family vacation soon & stay in a larger cabin - for an entire week!
Jun 23, 2014
Our second time here:Stayed in a 2 rm cabin-very clean,nice location except near propane tank and could smell gas when it was being used.Loved activities at campground,pancake tent,clean campground. Pools could have been cleaner,noticed some areas needed maintenance, that's why 4 stars instead of 5.
Jun 23, 2014
Wifi needs to be better.
Jun 23, 2014
The grandkids enjoyed the activities. However we wish for better internet service at the 'hotspot' locations. We don't need internet all over the entire campground.
Jun 23, 2014
Great place for kids. Only issue is that cell coverage is very poor and WiFi didn't work.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Beautiful location
Jun 22, 2014
Awesome stay!!
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great time. There are many camp activities and area attractions nearby . The grounds and restrooms were very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful.
Jun 22, 2014
We don't have kids but I still think this is one of the most incredible parks. I have posted pics on my Facebook page and suggested it to everyone who has children. We would definitely come back!
Jun 22, 2014
Bathrooms and showers were horribly dirty. We complained and were told that it was just to hard to keep up with the usage volume. The water at your camp site is filled with Sulfur and has a horrible smell, color and taste. So you are paying for water you can't even use at your site. Very disappointed.
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great week, staff was friendly! The only problem was the price of a 1/2 gallon of milk!
Jun 22, 2014
Great Facility Grandchildren had a won derful Great Great Facility. Grandchildren had a wonderful time. We are planning to return within the next 24 months.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great stay!Our kids had plenty to do and the facilities were very clean!! Would gladly stay there again.
Jun 22, 2014
Great facility with all the amenities you want. A great location to visit all the attractions that the Blackhills offers.
Jun 22, 2014
Great location & so much to see & do,
Jun 22, 2014
Palmer Gulch KOA is always a great time for our family! Our son wanted to have his 11th birthday party here and there was plenty for him and his friends to do. His friends said it was the best party ever! As a mom I am always pleased with the professional staff and cleanliness of the campground and bathrooms. Thank you for another wonderful camping experience!
Jun 22, 2014
We came with our 2 grandsons to see Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bear country, and Reptile Gardens. Your campground was awesome. So much for them to do. They enjoyed themselves immensely. I would like to comment on the showers. They were very clean, but the doors stuck from the moisture and it would be nice to have fans in the showers. Otherwise you had much to offer and we would certainly come
Jun 22, 2014
This place has it all - a beautiful setting, food, shops, tons of activities for every age and it's right between Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse.
Jun 22, 2014
Enjoyed the campground although it seemed a lot of locals moved in on the weekend and the 10:30 p.m. quiet time didn't seem to be enforced. Bathrooms could have been maintained a little better. Lots to do in the campground which was nice. After booking our stay for three days we were told we could stay in our spot if we decided to stay longer. We decided to stay and we were moved out of our spot.
Jun 22, 2014
KOA golf carts fly kinking up dust. If your RV is clean coming in it will be dirty going out. The extra $10 per day resort? fee is a way to make camping more expensive. No Wifi or cable in a KOA this size and expense is a first - disappointing!
Jun 21, 2014
Beautiful place only negative thing is very poor internet service. When traveling I depend on the internet to do banking and bills
Jun 21, 2014
Very clean and friendly park. Kids loved the kid zone area. Chuck wagon dinner was a delight.
Jun 21, 2014
Some things are a little pricey, but I guess you can do that when you have a captive audience.
Jun 21, 2014
Everything was awsome for the most part. We will definitely stay here again!! I was disappointed about some of the things being closed like pool ad water slide as that is why we stayed there but they were fixed quickly and reopened so that was great. My only big conaint is the speed the KOA employees drive in the campground. They drive way to fast with all the kids around there
Jun 21, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
most bathrooms were not useage and the ones that was they were nasty. where they put us it was on top of a runoff...not a pretty place...had to walk down a big hill if we need something from the shop. wont be back there again.
Jun 21, 2014
Great time, fun KOA. Was very disappointed with the wifi. We ended up having to adjust our plans to accommodate time in town to work. Also no mobile service.
Jun 21, 2014
would be a perfect score but the lack of Internet is a major hassle in this day and age and one that needs to be corrected for the price that you pay here.
Jun 21, 2014
We loved this k I a ... Very family oriented and super clean
Jun 21, 2014
thanks for putting me on a bad a site not fit for a tent. still cant figure my i paid 10 dollars a day for stuff i do not use.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
I must say that the staff at Mount Rushmore was the most accommodating and friendly that me and my wife have ever meet. And extremely helpful. We are starting to plan our next trip to the area and we will be staying with only this KOA.
Jun 20, 2014
Great views,friendly staff,great corn, fun stuff for the kids!
Jun 20, 2014
So many things to do, was blown away on how awesome it was. My family and loved the deluxe cabin we had.
Jun 20, 2014
This campground was quite nice, with a fabulous view. However, we travel with a small dog and the "pet area" was too far away and too small. To their credit they trusted campers to pick up after their pets and didn't give anyone a hard time about where campers were walking their pets. Would go back there.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Scalding hot water in sinks, but no hot water for showers; $10 resort fee without ability to enjoy amenities d/t cold, rainy weather; If fee is mandatory, just add to daily charge. Some sites in our loop were too small to pull in a vehicle after set up of pop-up trailer.
Jun 20, 2014
The entrance is lovely. But the things that really matter have been neglected. The shower house had only 3 out of 7 showers were working and they were dirty. The pool was filthy and the pizza overpriced and lousy. For such a prime location and efforts of initial presentation, this KOA was a huge disappointment. The worse one out of the three we visited on this trip.
Jun 20, 2014
The price is way too high!!! We will not stay there again because of cost for what you get ! We have stayed in other KO's for reasonable price!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.