Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2016
What an awesome campground! Can't wait to come back.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
We love KOA s , but this one was different. Our group was all firemen with our wives, they knew that and put us on a hill. Cabins were not clean.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great camp sites and very clean. Friendly staff. We will definitely come back.
Aug 08, 2016
Great time and have to give it to you all ,with the best service and things to do for any body will be back thank you !!
Aug 08, 2016
Great for kids. Need to put more gravel on sites--way too muddy when rains. Young staff were great with kids
Aug 08, 2016
First time at a KOA and sure will not be the last. Mount Rushmore KOA is a now a yearly stay for us.
Aug 08, 2016
The first 2 nights we had issues with other camper's aggressive dogs not on a leash. After saying something to them and KOA nothing happened. Luckily they only stayed two nights. The water slide was down 4 out of the 6 days we were there. My daughter was able to enjoy it the last day. If you are looking for a relaxing quiet place don't go here. Lots of unsupervised kids.
Aug 08, 2016
Best KOA out there!! We always recommend to friends traveling in the Rushmore area.
Aug 08, 2016
Great location. Good Amenities. Good Value
Aug 08, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were great. Park was clean. Wonderful place EXCEPT for our camp site. Very rocky and UNEVEN. Was very disappointed about that. Will not stay or recommend.
Aug 08, 2016
Never stayed at a KOA before, but will definitely stay again! Four kids loved it and so did we! Have already recommended it to family and friends. The Camping Cabins were cozy and fun for the kids and the comfort stations clean and close by. We miss the Black Hills already!
Aug 08, 2016
Loved it, everyone was so nice!!!
Aug 08, 2016
Awesome place! Best place to stay with kids. Great staff. will definitely be returning.
Aug 08, 2016
Great facilities, very friendly staff. John went out of his way when we arrived to help with our trailer and a better campsite.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a lot of fun and it gave us the opportunity to disconnect from the world today and connect with each other.
Aug 08, 2016
The location was beautiful and the kids had plenty to do. I think with there being no cellphone service made the trip that much better because everyone was enjoying each other's time.
Aug 08, 2016
We paid way too much for a site that took half an hour to level our trailer. Then the food we had at the restaurant was not very tasty.
Aug 07, 2016
This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at. The only improvement I would offer is the Wine tasting is a great perk of staying here and one that brings us back but have more than 1 person working during 6pm to 7pm.
Aug 07, 2016
Excellent stay - lots to do
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back. I would also recommend that my family and friends stay here. Excellent place to stay with kids.
Aug 07, 2016
This is our favorite campground by far! Very clean, tons of activities for the whole family, the friendly staff always had fun stuff for the kids to do, and it's only a few minutes from Rushmore. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back
Aug 07, 2016
Kids had a great time- so much to do!
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Although many of the sites were very nice, ours was in a poorly drained muddy area. This is a great campground for kids. Lots of activities but very noisy, even at night with all the young parents. Lots of clean hot showers but only 2 flush toilets for men serving a third of the park. Overall a good experience.
Aug 07, 2016
I called explained we would have a 12 ft trailer. When checking in they did not have any of the information I gave them. Thank goodness for our ambassador John, he worked with us and was able to get everything in our site. The bad thing was when taking a shower we would loose complete water pressure. Also they claim to have Wi-FI but I had bad luck every time I tried to use it. Could not log on.
Aug 07, 2016
Our family enjoyed our stay and all the fun activities available. Horseback trail ride and chuck wagon dinner were great. Suggestions: pool needs more seating and RV sites need better gravel maintenance. Our area was muddy. Thank you!
Aug 07, 2016
Great cabin, horrible pool and showers.
Aug 07, 2016
The one big issue I had with this campground is that everyone is charged a fee for all the activities such as the water slide pool etc. and also for the dump station. We didn't use any of those but they would not remove the charge. We had full hook-ups and did not need to dump and my kids are older and did not want to use the water activities.
Aug 07, 2016
We were very surprised at how much you had for children and youth. Really made the stop worth while. Professional staff and very helpful.
Aug 07, 2016
Water slide was down, I was unable to get WIFI even at the main building. This KOA is huge with lots to do.
Aug 07, 2016
the sites were tight but everyone was friendly. If you have kids there is so much for them to do!
Aug 07, 2016
I came here with my family many times as a child and now I love bringing my children! Such a fun campground with so much to do.
Aug 07, 2016
Love the views from our campsite, friendly staff, tons to do right at the campground!
Aug 07, 2016
We were very happy to stay at this koa. I would recommend expanding cellular coverage and wifi.
Aug 07, 2016
Very nice campground. Facilities were clean and the staff was very helpful. There were also plenty of activities for the whole family.
Aug 07, 2016
We loved how close this KOA is to everything around and the extras that are available, our only draw back was the lack of cashiers when wanting to make purchases during the evening. (none at store, only at the check in line).
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
No wifi or internet was extremely inconvenience, not enough bath houses in upper levels.
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
The amenities, staff and location are terrific. Unfortunately, the evenings are choked with smoke. Not sure if this is due to being in the gulch, sold out campground or green wood.
Aug 05, 2016
Unable to check in at check in time-cabin was not cleaned yet. Bathrooms were disgusting and need to be cleaned continually!! Overall had a fun family vacation but was disappointed with several things on this trip. We have been to this campground many times before and not experienced these things. Very frustrating!!
Aug 05, 2016
The KOA had everything you could cram into it - however what it doesn't have is common courtesy for other campers - You put out a quite large booklet on dos , don'ts and activities - however you mention nothing about having campers respect other campers campsites - NEVER in all my 40 plus years camping have we seen people literally walking within one inch of camper door.
Aug 05, 2016
The amenities, beauty and cleanliness of this KOA made it our top vacation of the summer.
Aug 05, 2016
Water quality is the worst I have ever seen.
Aug 05, 2016
Beautiful setting, very clean campground, friendly people and so much to do. Loved it!
Aug 05, 2016
great camp. great staff. great activities. terrific location. couldn't have asked for a better KOA. really made our vacation. the only drawback was sites were closer together than we are used too, but that didn't really matter in the big picture. had a wonderful time.!!!!!!!!
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Amazing place
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals