Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Very,very crowded, staff was awesome and park was great
Jun 27, 2017
The main problem was the kids didn't want to leave the campground.
Jun 27, 2017
This campground is not well maintained. The bathrooms were gross, the pool was dirty and when I went to the showers at 9:15 am they were closed for cleaning. Tent sites are too close together. We left early. The only good thing about this koa were the horses.
Jun 27, 2017
We loved everything about this campground except the bathrooms. It would be great if they were cleaned more often..
Jun 27, 2017
Huge property with a wide array of activities for all ages. Extremely well maintained and staffed. Cell reception very limited which could be a problem for those who need to stay in close contact. But a really great location! Very nice Kamp K-9 ... our Goldens loved it!
Jun 27, 2017
This campground is always great, I stay here every summer visiting the Hills and its just great! There is a lot of things for families to do and it isn't too far from all the sites to see! Only reason I didnt give 5 stars is because the bathrooms and showers are usually pretty dirty, its pretty busy so its understandable that this would happen! Overall,this campground is great!!
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Oustanding!!
Jun 26, 2017
Great People, Great Place...Super Fun Time!!!
Jun 26, 2017
Great place!!
Jun 26, 2017
Nice facilities but overpriced. No phone or wifi service. Very hard to communicate with other party members.
Jun 26, 2017
This was by far the best RV campground we have ever stayed in. Our two grandkids had a ball enjoying all of the various activities offered.
Jun 26, 2017
We were welcomed to KOA with friendly staff. Our family had a great time at your KOA as there was plenty of fun things to do for all at no charge. We ate all the pancakes we wanted for $3 to get our day started....Awesome! The Deluxe Cabin was nice but for a party of 8 (4 adults,4 kids) a little too small for us. Again, thanks for making our vacation memorable. We will be back.
Jun 26, 2017
Perfect!!!!
Jun 26, 2017
I woke early on Saturday, went to shower, used the handicapped shower near my cabin and had NO hot water. I was very pissed and will never stay with you again!!!!
Jun 26, 2017
So much fun! Thank you!
Jun 26, 2017
Bathroom connected to the pool house never had paper towel in it. I even talked to 3 different employees about it and they all promised they would take care of it. Annoying, considering I was there for 4 days! Otherwise the campground was nice.
Jun 26, 2017
We had a family reunion at your KOA. It met all of our needs and exceeded our expectations! Thank you for making this such an excellent trip to the Black Hills! We will be back😀
Jun 26, 2017
Staff was very helpful and very fun place for a family to enjoy
Jun 26, 2017
Tons of options to keep the kids busy! They loved learning Gaga Ball.
Jun 26, 2017
The staff are all happily and willingly available to help the campers. Everyone from the check-in staff, cleaning crew, servers, and cashiers were friendly and helpful! It's a great place to stay!
Jun 26, 2017
Absolutely wonderful!
Jun 26, 2017
I wish there was cell phone coverage and Wi-Fi available other than the laundry room, but I am 78 years old and I survived most of my life without it. I pray that we can come back again. It will be our 4th or 5th time if we do.
Jun 26, 2017
Showers could have had more water pressure and hot water.
Jun 26, 2017
This campground was amazing. The kids had so much to do and were always entertained. I do wish the bathroom showers would have been cleaner but that was the only complaint that i had. We will definatley be returning next year!!! Thanks for a great stay!
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
This is the best KOA that I have seen so far!
Jun 26, 2017
The best thing about this campground, jokingly, is that their Wi-Fi and cell phone service is awful. Hence the kids actually have to get outside and do something. We have stayed here several times and love it every time. Conveniently close to Hill city, Keystone, Custer State Park, Rushmore monument, Rapid City. Will return again!
Jun 26, 2017
love the well kept grounds, kids activities, clean bathrooms! especially love all the signs telling drivers to slow down because there are kids at play!
Jun 26, 2017
Great place to stay,like the location,and all that the kids can do at the camp. After a day touring everyone is glad to get back to camp!
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
We loved this location and could have kept busy for a few days longer. It was a bit frustrating to have bathrooms closed for cleaning at 9 am each day.
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Great restrooms. There is a lot to do at the campground. Only complaint would be the spotty WiFi.
Jun 26, 2017
No cell service, limited wi-fi, no TV. Great otherwise.
Jun 26, 2017
Plenty for the kids to do, they really enjoyed it. I thought the bath houses could've been cleaner, they smelled really bad too. They probably need more bathrooms for the number of camp sites that are there.
Jun 26, 2017
stayed for 5 nights. Liked the restaurant and other food amenities but very busy venue with very little privacy to campsites. Loved the chuckwagon dinner ride. Food excellent. Good location.
Jun 26, 2017
great time.
Jun 26, 2017
Considering the cost of this campground, I would have expected a nicer facility. A lot of areas were in a state of disrepair. Not enough Shores/bathrooms and very far from the e/w sites on the hill. Our site was very uneven and small. More supervision needed at the Fun Zone. I had to speak to several children who were swinging golf clubs way too hard launching golf balls at people and horseplay.
Jun 26, 2017
Not enough bathrooms/showers for the amount of people staying there!
Jun 26, 2017
NA
Jun 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, everyone was friendly. The grounds are very nice.
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Love this place. Stay here every time we visit the area. They are very accommodating with requests made.
Jun 26, 2017
Loved every aspect about this place. My kids (10, 5) had an amazing time. We loved it. I will write a detailed review on trip advisor. Thank you.
Jun 26, 2017
Staff was very pleasant and helpful. One of the best RV parks we have ever stayed at. Los to do.
Jun 26, 2017
Love the resort. An additional dump site is needed, and some of the bathroom/showers could use updating. You can see the slime in between the shower molds, and latches on bathroom doors are coming loose. Otherwise, a nice place.
Jun 26, 2017
Lots of things to do for everyone! Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay but looking for less people at our next site.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals