Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2016
Great place to stay with lots of things for kids to do.
Jun 20, 2016
WIFI never worked. Pool closed most of week and no cellphone reception in valley. Paid way too much for no wifi.
Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful KOA! Lots of great activities and fun for everyone. Would love to come back again.
Jun 20, 2016
we had a blast! nice tent sites with shade, close to everything!
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great for kids.
Jun 20, 2016
LOTS of fun for all! Bathrooms were CLEAN & impressive! Our tent site (310) was great! (The drinking water spigot needs to be fixed. It sprays water everywhere.) Thank you for a great experience!! We'll be back! Running the horses by our tent at 6:30 the 1st morning scared the crap out of us. Thought it was some guy yelling at his dog! But the next morning, it was like a natural alarm clock! :-)
Jun 20, 2016
The kids loved this campground and were sad to go!
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun. Wish we could have stayed longer!!
Jun 20, 2016
Fun trip! Good location. Nice grounds and kept up well. Showers and bathrooms were clean. This place has just about everything!
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great. Alot of things to do for kids. Staff is helpful and very nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Fun time, bathrooms not the cleanest
Jun 20, 2016
There are so many things to do, that I have recommended Palmer Gulch to my daughter & husband who have 4 young boys. They would have a great time and get some history as well.
Jun 20, 2016
Nice campground, but too expensive for the wifi to NEVER work and to not have cell reception. I pick KOA so I can still have a taste of civilization, but this wifi didn't work at all. For $100/night this must work. The pool was also closed during the week for an unknown reason. The resort is clean though and the ice cream shop was nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Great location and friendly employees.
Jun 20, 2016
All is great. Staff very helpful. Wish it was a little cheaper, tho.
Jun 20, 2016
Originally planned to stay only two nights but extended our stay for five nights. Very clean with amazing views and lots to do (rented a UTV and went horseback riding). Great pizza/ice cream parlor as well as a coffee/wine shop. Staff was extremely polite and helpful.
Jun 20, 2016
What a great KOA! The nicest I have been in yet! So much to do in the area and in the campground.
Jun 20, 2016
I don't have enough time for all the issues I had here.
Jun 19, 2016
Great place to vacation.
Jun 19, 2016
enjoyed everything, except one of the pools was hardly open with no explanation. Other pool was COLD, hot tub was correct pool temperature
Jun 19, 2016
We had a wonderful time at the Mount Rushmore KOA. The activities were top-notch and the facilities were perfect. All of the staff that we encountered were helpful and courteous.
Jun 19, 2016
Clean, fun campground.....definitely not our parent's KOA...Entire family loved it!!!! Thank you to all the hard working g staff
Jun 19, 2016
Very impressed in how they take care of the camp and campers. It rained and the employees were out taking care of the roads and warning people to lower their awnings. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids had a blast with all the activities.
Jun 19, 2016
Even though we requested a shaded, more private site, sites are all extremely close together. No privacy at all. Luckily we camped during the week, as we were leaving the campground was really filling up. Site maintenance has a very hard time with pools, all very green and one had to be closed. Unfortunately, Rodeo grounds took away the 1 natural, pretty view. Showers are horribly moldy smelling.
Jun 19, 2016
Very friendly staff, plenty of activities for the family and a beautiful campsite. Bathrooms & showers are nice and clean. I wish they had more bathroom & shower facilities because my son had an accident since we had a bit of a walk to the bathrooms, but if I had known where our site would be VS the bathrooms; I would've requested a place closer just for that reason.
Jun 19, 2016
We had a nice slot. The showers & bathroom area was nice & clean. Staff & other campers were friendly. Our granddaughter enjoyed both pools. The snack bar had great food which we enjoyed many times. Good place to stay especially if you had children with you! Thanks a bunch for a great stay-4 nights.
Jun 19, 2016
Place was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My son loved the pools, slide, horses, firetruck ride, I could go on forever. I would give the bathroom a 5 star but the showers a 3. I've been in worse but I have been in better. All in all I will definitely be back.
Jun 19, 2016
Very nice
Jun 19, 2016
Great place with lots of kids to enjoy watching. WiFi was very poor is the only down side
Jun 19, 2016
This place could not be any better! The entire staff was so nice and helpful, the grounds were very well kept, and there was so much we could do. Horseback riding was our favorite,
Jun 19, 2016
Stayed 3 nights. Was a good stay. Would do it again.
Jun 19, 2016
Best place ever, so much to do for the entire family.
Jun 19, 2016
Lots of fun activities for the kids
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
We were told when we made the reservation that it was FULL hookups.The receipt said FULL hookups it was not. The sight was pretty run down. Disappointed for the price,
Jun 18, 2016
This was out second time at Mt. Rushmore KOA. It is still a great place to stay, but they have expanded so much they havent stayed caught up on some things they need. They need another camp kitchen back past the second swimming pool. They also need to do something about the water system, it was orange and horrible tasting the whole week.
Jun 18, 2016
Great campground with nice amenities! Showers and bathrooms the best I've seen!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Great facility,family friendly,endless things to do immaculate highly recommended
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean nice Koa but the cabin beds leave something to be desired.
Jun 18, 2016
Fantastic!! Wish we could've squeezed in another day of our trip just to hang out at the park!!
Jun 18, 2016
The campground was very nice. Our deluxe cabin was very nice & perfect for our family of 4. We were very happy to be tucked up and away from the main campground for privacy. Only reason I am not giving a 5 star rating is because the pool was closed every day but one while we were there. Very frustrating. The kids were disappointed as the other pool was cold & smelled - next to the stables.
Jun 18, 2016
My Kids love it!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Nice stay in deluxe cabin with kids loft. Only hick up was I had made a reservation for a 6 seater UTV. Once there they gave me a 4 seater. (When I called to reserve I specifically had female agent check to make sure 6 seater. She said it was) luckily person had 6 seater didn't want it so we traded.
Jun 18, 2016
It is a must for me to tell them that I have been sent straight to the best campground in a central location for your vacation needs WE had a great time with the new friends Of KOA it's a great time for the hole family WE will be back
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Only issue was one of the pools was not open all the time
Jun 18, 2016
Though the park is a great setting I would only recommend it for people with kids. Over priced for the services we had no dump and tough to get into with our size coach but I find all KOA's overpriced.
Jun 18, 2016
We had a great time! Tons to do for the kids at this KOA and close to a lot sites we wanted to see! Staff were very friendly and helpful!
Jun 18, 2016
Only place to stay in the Black Hills! Loved it. We'll be back.
Jun 18, 2016
WOW! Stayed a a lot of Campground/Resorts and this is what everyone else hope to be. If you have kids this is THE place. Well done from check in to check out.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals