Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
Campground was awesome and the kids loved all the activities! Only complaint was the bugs in the bathrooms...like 1000's of them! Cabins and staff were great!
Jul 26, 2014
We had a wonderful time at Mt. Rushmore KOA! There are so many things to do and activities! We will definitely come back again!
Jul 26, 2014
It was great. Thanks. U may want to leave trash bags daily when u pick up so we could have continued to recycle.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location! Only complaint was the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
Jul 26, 2014
there does need to be a few more seats in the restrooms, for as many sites and cabins that there are. we love the location and all the wonderful amenities. it was our 3rd time staying at Palmer Gulch! One employee, Jane from Mass. was not as customer friendly as she should be, but the rest of the staff was great.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Have used this KOA since mid 1980's. Took our children here, now taking our grandchildren here. There are so many great activities to do right there at the KOA. Climbing wall a great addition. Staff was very pleasant. Only complaint is some ageing bath houses. One is beautiful, new - others dire need of repair. Handicap shower out of use the whole week we were there.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Great place for kids and close to attractions. The only bad thing is the wifi is terrible otherwise we enjoyed it!!
Jul 26, 2014
Very nice location - my one complaint would be that the 'quiet time' should be strictly enforced. We were kept awake long after 11.00 by car engines, headlights shining into the tent, people shouting, arguing and laughing. Just my two cents! Otherwise, a lovely location.
Jul 26, 2014
Lots of activities for kids! Comfort stations were always clean, staff was very friendly, and pancake breakfast was the BEST! My only 2 complaints are the constant traffic going through the campground, which w/ a campground of this size I don't know how you would fix, and the wet firewood. Overall, we really did enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Jul 26, 2014
Great location from several site seeing points. As well plenty of things for the kids to do. A little expensive for the Extras things to do...but overall a Good experiance.
Jul 26, 2014
Used site 624 cramped,Muddy and you could smell the dumpster behind it. I think I will try another camp ground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
It was great ! We stayed an extra day just because how much fun we were all having !
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great time . The camp ground are nice and clean and the employes were very helpful and friendly .
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was fine however, the knants were HORRIBLE in the bathrooms. If you have a problem, there needs to be more than one time of cleaning a day. Also, you have staff everywhere else, someone needs to man the putt putt so some kids that are left to run wild on the grounds, don't hurt someone messing around.
Jul 26, 2014
Attendant extremely friendly and helpful, facilities well keep and clean, a lot of activities for families. Only complain the alcohol and cigarette ID purchase require by the manager if you can not differentiate between a 70 year old and a 17 year old them you must may need to find a different job!!!
Jul 26, 2014
Excellent bathroom/shower facilities, lots of family activities, pancake breakfast under the tent, variety of small stores on site. Close to Mt Rushmore, but peaceful and serene. Only negatives were that we had to root thru the grass to find campsite #, and ATM was down. Great stay!
Jul 26, 2014
Our son loved all the activities and met some great kids.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Beautiful surroundings & excellent amenities. Great location in Black Hills Nat'l Park area-very central location to many attractions! Must stay.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location, services, store, pool. We had "Aaron" help us out with a bunch of questions regarding the campground, etc. and he was incredibly helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
We went to breakfast. Came back to make sure everything was out of our cabin at 10:30 and it was all cleaned. We still had the keys and had not checked out. Now I am missing my camera. I know I had it on the deck before breakfast. Just saying I did not have a chance to do a final walk through of the cabin. I left one message for supervisor and will continue to until I get a response.
Jul 25, 2014
Great place for kids. Disappointed in the wifi, couldn't get service at all.
Jul 25, 2014
Location of this KOA was perfect. Activities were fun. Disappointed there weren't more tractors for hay ride...waiting in line for an hour with little kids is impossible. However we loved the deluxe cabin and will enthusiastically recommend this location to our friends. The staff was so friendly and all accommodations were exceptionally clean. We will be back again!
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful area. We loved all the extras and activities. We liked the restaurant on site but service is slow.. We would have enjoyed the ice cream parlor if the smell of manure from horse stables wasn't so bad. Our cabin was small but did its duty. The bathrooms at the pool were not cleaned once in our stay. The dirt road near the bridge has a huge hole that my son fell in. Had good time.
Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyed the campground . Kids were thrilled with the activities that were available to them. Just a little too much traffic- cars coming and going all the time - made us a little nervous about our little one and getting too close to the road. Also dump site should not be so close to camp sites- pay too much money to have to smell that smell everyday.
Jul 25, 2014
Comfort stations very far from cabins. Great with so many activities, but too big and noisy for our taste.
Jul 25, 2014
Clean showers , great food , lots of activities.
Jul 25, 2014
So I stayed another night
Jul 25, 2014
There was no internet service at our site or the hotspot indicated on their map. Other than that it was a very nice place.
Jul 25, 2014
We had a great camping site! However, the handicapped accessible shower was out of order the entire time of our 4 night stay. Didn't have kids with us but would be a great spot for kids. Amazingly, by 10 o'clock the campground was very quiet.
Jul 25, 2014
My sister & her family & my family met there (from MT and MN). We had a kamping kabin and a site for a pop-up. We had a total of 7 children between the two families. After a full day of sight-seeing & seeing what the KOA had to offer, our second day was spent completely at the campground. The activities offered were amazing and everyone had a blast. I highly recommend this A+ campsite!
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful facility with so much to do for the kids. Highlights were the pool and bouncy castles. The slide was a disappointment tho. The campsites should be monitored better as we rented two spots and someone parked in one of ours. Daddy's Pancakes was good but additional charge for extras was expensive. We had a rude awakening when they moved the horses from pasture to stables at 6 a.m.
Jul 25, 2014
We enjoyed our overall camping experience, but wished that our cabin had air conditioning. We did bring a fan from home, and the weather helped with our comfort. We also had poor AT&T cell phone service and wifi reception, even when near the main building. We had hoped to use the wifi to help with daily planning, but couldn't. The location of the KOA was a major plus.
Jul 25, 2014
Love the facility. Everyone helpful except the concierge who was very rude.
Jul 25, 2014
to many people for the amount of comfort stations that were available. Was unable to use the shower the two times I attempted and the bathrooms ere all ways full. Need more for the number of sites and cabins.
Jul 25, 2014
2 minor complaints NoCell phone service Some more attention to rest room early morning bugs on sinks & floor
Jul 25, 2014
Too busy to be personal. Didn't care that campers were so close to one another that awnings could not be pulled out. Nice activities for kids but water in slide and wading pool very dirty.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Great location, excellent amenities. But WAY too crowded.
Jul 24, 2014
Just two gents toilette cubicles in a comfort station near Roosevelt with many many people wanting to use the toilet! WiFi hotspots absolutely useless! It's a gigantic RV Park so that the minimal supply of bandwidth is severely clogged by so many people wishing to use the Internet for different purposes and when a kid lgs in and starts streaming videos or games then there's no Internet.
Jul 24, 2014
Perfect for my family. Very kid friendly environment.
Jul 24, 2014
Great service and great views. People were always friendly and helpful. Being in a valley it was difficult for TV and internet reception, but no need for that with all the sites and things to do.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.