Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2015
We love this for the kids and all the activities not so much for the camping experience. You are packed in like sardines. The bathrooms are well kept, the activities are great, the scenery is great, just too tight all stacked on top of each other.
Jul 06, 2015
With a few more attentions to details this could rate higher. Buildings are nice. RV sites need some work. Ours was very uneven. Broken plumbing, still worked, Dirty fire pit area, mangled fire ring. Bus ride to Mt. Rushmore is a must. WiFi was impossible to connect. I made sure to ask when reservation was made. I run a .com so wasn't user error, trust me. :) we left a day early w/o a refund ;(
Jul 06, 2015
Kampground has everything you could ask for would recommend for everyone
Jul 06, 2015
KOA gave me camp site that was under water, and I got stuck getting into it in a 4 wheel drive. They told me that all the sites were wet because of all the rain. I asked them why I wasn't notified of this when I booked and she just shrugged her shoulders. I was then moved to a grass field and told I couldn't have a fire and there were no tables available as well.
Jul 06, 2015
Very Family Friendly Campground and helpful friendly staff!
Jul 06, 2015
Wonderful!!! Staff were very helpful and courteous. Lots of things for the kids to do. Bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. That was our 2nd stay. Would stay again!
Jul 06, 2015
Site was on a hill and uneven. Sites were close together. Paying $120 to tent camp for 2 nights is ridiculous and charging $22 per night for 2 kids is absurd (We used none of your so called amenities) This is NOT camping!
Jul 06, 2015
I would not advertise wi-fi if it doesn't work. If you do, then you should refund for it not working.
Jul 06, 2015
It was a great place. The only thing holding me back from a "10" and "5 Stars" was the condition of the bathrooms and showers in the fun zone area. They were dirty and I was uncomfortable using them. The other bathrooms were in far better shape, cleaner and seemed to get more cleaning attention.
Jul 06, 2015
The camp sotre was a pricy. Issues with our tenting spot. Had to ask to be moved when the neighbors area was spilling over into ours.
Jul 06, 2015
This was our first ever camping vacation. We rented an RV to go explore South Dakota. The Gulch was the last leg of our stay and we were impressed by the camp grounds. So much to do and so little time. The only negative was that the Wifi was not working and according to the hot tube chat it had not been working for some time but when I made my resorvation I asked and was assured it was.
Jul 05, 2015
Beds were not very comfortable
Jul 05, 2015
The campsite itself was good and we like the campground and all the activities for kids. Unfortunately the shower facilities were run down and dirty. We also were frustrated by the campers flying around on golf carts, UTV's and ATV'S. The roads are narrow and people parked their toys everywhere along the road making it hard to navigate. We also didn't like the drone buzzing campsites around us
Jul 05, 2015
Little pricey but a great place to stay if you are visiting Mt. Rushmore! Campground was well kept and lots of things to do in the campground. A great location to see all of the sites located in the Mt. Rushmore area.
Jul 05, 2015
One of our kids said "good" and the other said "fantastic". We enjoyed the Kamper Cabin, especially when it kept us dry during the storm. Beds were simple but comfortable. Pools were a good size and basketball hoops were great. Lots to do for all ages. Great central location for most activities in the Black Hills - only 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and 15 from both Keystone and Hill City.
Jul 05, 2015
One of the best camping trip I've had. My kids had a great time enjoying you're activities. Thanks so much
Jul 05, 2015
Our stay was excellent. The KOA had something for the whole family.
Jul 05, 2015
Lots of activities for the kids. Great friendly staff and check in.
Jul 05, 2015
My husband and I stayed here for one night on our cross-country road trip. We were sad to only stay one night, because this KOA offered so much to do. In the future, we would love to take a family vacation here. It was wonderful!
Jul 05, 2015
We spent 5 days tent camping on site 484. The resort staff are friendly and accommodating. Had a severe storm come through one night which caused our tent to collapse in. Went to the front office and they immediately placed us into an available cabin for the evening without charging us. Absolutely loved every minute! Already planning our return trip for next summer!
Jul 05, 2015
REAL NICE
Jul 05, 2015
.Very poor internet connection. Should not advertise as having. No cell phone service. Very wet. Need to pave runoff area where they wash cars or put in a drain. Playground very wet.
Jul 05, 2015
Paid $100 for cabin with no air, dirty floor, steep hillside to get to one of the few and far away bathrooms. Disappointed.
Jul 05, 2015
Very nice just to big for me
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Last minute reservation. Site given was too small for our travel trailer and the sewer hose would not work for us. No phone service and the WIFI was not working. Pool area near horse stables was "fragrant" and also had a propane odor. Too "big" for our tastes but it looked like a nice "resort" if that is the vibe you were after? A lot of amenities to offer. And easy access to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 04, 2015
Koa needs to switch over to battery operated maintanace vehicles the current gas ones are to loud at 7:00-7:30 in the morning
Jul 04, 2015
Great location - not honest about lack of cell service and wifi. We paid $3.00 per day per dog and there were very very few facilities to potty the dogs (2 of them). The area marked for the dogs had most of the rear fencing missing and the weeds were waist high. Only found two potty areas (very small) with waste containers - no bag dispensers anywhere. Your Website said wifi available on site.
Jul 04, 2015
It is too bad there is not a better way to divert all the rain water than through the sites as it made everything very muddy and stayed that way for the entire week. Otherwise it is a nice campground!!
Jul 04, 2015
The grounds were well maintained and there was plenty for everyone to do.
Jul 04, 2015
We love your KOA, it is well maintained, entertaining, and clean. Only one thing missing, WIFI and maybe it's a good thing. We truly get away from it all. Thanks Marie and Larry
Jul 04, 2015
Although out of the KOA control, the rain impacted our stay. The kids specifically wanted to come here because of your "Fun facilities." Unfortunately the first day the slide was down due to pump and then another day the power outage had everything shut down. We stayed on Rosevelt Rd. It is sooo muddy! Hoping in the future you can add a concrete slab for motorhomes and pave. Bathroom needs work.
Jul 04, 2015
The only problem we had was with ATV rentals, due to weather our 3:30 scheduled reservation was cancelled, totally understandable, however, no one notified us of the cancellation until we showed up at 3:30! This cost us one whole day of our 6 day vacation in SD.
Jul 04, 2015
Very friendly and helpful for such a large campground. When a flash flood threatened we were moved per request from a creekside site to higher ground no questions asked. Mike the GM was very helpful.
Jul 04, 2015
Fun, good and just what we expected.
Jul 04, 2015
Slight problem when we checked in due to lots of rain but staff quickly corrected the problem. Lots to do and close to Mount Rushmore, Keystone, Custer.
Jul 04, 2015
Love all of the activities available for the kids. What a huge facility. Had one of the largest lightning and thunderstorms I have ever seen one of the nights we stayed. WOW!
Jul 04, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Love it here! A great location and friendly staff. Lots to do!
Jul 03, 2015
Over priced for what you get. Pull thurs were rough. WiFi was joke and never worked.
Jul 03, 2015
We didn't have as much fun this year. Very muddy. The power was out too. The spot we had was the premium deluxe with grill etc. 120$ per night. It was super noisy in that spot, trucks non-stop for 3 hours on Wednesday delivering rock, trash and who knows what. The wifi never worked the entire stay. We left a day early because once the power went out we were done.
Jul 03, 2015
The best resort we have ever stayed at. It was awesome!
Jul 03, 2015
Loved this koa. My grandkids were never bored and neither were we. So much for everyone.
Jul 03, 2015
Variety of activities available, location great, could use more shade around camping cabins and play areas
Jul 03, 2015
We were very impressed with the campground and the staff. The grounds were kept clean and very well looked after despite poor weather conditions. The activities were great for the kids. THANK YOU
Jul 03, 2015
Other than rain shutting down the kids activities early, and filling the waterslide with mud so the kiddos couldn't use it (they were so excited when they saw it as we were pulling in) This KOA was fantastic. A++++
Jul 03, 2015
Big campground with lots of people! We were crowded around our cabin. KOA kept putting tent campers in a site right in front of our porch. There couldn't have been 10' between sites when there were other less crowded spots. The resort has many amenities but is over crowded. A good place to stay if you want to be around a lot of people.
Jul 03, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids liked the "Fun Zone," but mom thought some upkeep needed - some things broken or not well arranged. Wish the shower/rest rooms would have been larger. They are clean. Better exhaust fans needed in both restrooms and showers! Nestled in the Ponderosa pines was beautiful & relaxing. Conveniently located - Keystone, Mt. Rushmore, Custer. Thanks!
Jul 03, 2015
Absolutely the best campground I have ever stayed at. It was very clean. Only negative thing is with bad weather wish we would of known. With no WiFi we had no idea. We could of been better prepared for the storm.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.