Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
We paid extra to have water and electric. We didn't have a camper, but we thought that a site with water and electric would be a nicer flat site. Upon arrival we were in site 102. Per my conversation during reservation this site would be big enough for truck, trailer, and two tents... No way! Then we got our site up on the hill. What a joke. Not a flat area there for tents.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
This place is INCREDIBLE! I WILL COME BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Aug 08, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much, the amount of activities available was great. The only negative comment we have is that the tent site we were at was not flat at all, so on Mon when it rained so much, our tent flooded from the rain flowing downhill :( We will be back, but maybe not in a tent.
Aug 08, 2013
I made reservations a week in advance so when we arrived we were greeted, got checked in quickly ! When you ride 300 miles you like to set up without any delays! The service was great and we will be back next year! Thanks
Aug 08, 2013
We had a good experience here, the daily pancake breakfasts are worth coming back for.
Aug 08, 2013
Very nice 'resort' like KOA. However, campsites are pretty tight. Very family/kid oriented so if you are looking for a quiet getaway this is NOT for you! This KOA has everything you would want for entertainment : pools; horseback riding; putt, putt golf, etc. AND it's sooo close to MT RUSHMORE. Great restaurant options and MORE! We enjoyed our visit.
Aug 07, 2013
Helpful staff,well kept grounds.But,we had a large group of people, spending thousands of dollars to stay there, and I guess we violated the quiet time by talking and laughing too loud. KOA security came in heavy handed and threatened to throw all of us out in the middle of the night because of a complaint by only "ONE" tent camper.It could have been handled in a more friendly manner
Aug 07, 2013
Mud holes, dirty park and site, ash tray dumped in fire ring, no cable (which we thought we had) and no WI-FI (could never get it to connect). Just to mention a few.....
Aug 07, 2013
We were very pleased with our stay! We loved that so many activities for the kids were included in the price and enjoyed a leisurely day at camp after many days on the road. The staff was very responsive to requests and worked hard to maintain the roads and campsites after three heavy rains during our stay. We'll definitely be back if we're in the area!
Aug 07, 2013
Showers VERY dirty with mud/hair in stalls (multiple days with multiple family members). Camp spot poorly located with dump located higher than camp spot (poor sewer drainage). Fire ants, dirt camp spot rather than gravel (big mud puddle with rain). VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Aug 07, 2013
We absolutely love this KOA and is the 2nd time we have been back now. Hoping to come again in the future! The kids love the pools/waterpark/waterslides, and the amount of things to do is amazing.
Aug 07, 2013
It was VERY crowded when we arrived on Saturday, but many people left on Sunday, so we had more space after that. Our family enjoyed the many amenities, including the water slide, jumping pillow, swimming pool, and bike rental.
Aug 07, 2013
The people at the registration counter and in the camp store were wonderful. The only issue here was the cleanliness of the showers. There is a lot of use, but the showers need to be cleaned on a more regular basis. This place had different entertainment going on nightly which really was a nice touch to our stay
Aug 07, 2013
We were on a week long camping trip at KOA's across the country and this was by far our favorite. Has everything you could possibly need. Facilities were clean, the works. We will be back!
Aug 07, 2013
I was absolutely blown away by this campsite! I have never been to such a clean and beautiful campsite. The showers were awesome and I could not believe how many activities were made available! I would highly recomend this site to anyone and we will for sure be returning to this site! This was our first KOA expierience and it will for sure not be our last! Thank you!
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
The tent site that we were in was OK, but not great. A big open field, and it was tricky to tell which table belonged to which site. The facilities at this KOA are fantastic. Lots of entertainment for kids, big and small. The pools are very large and everything is well maintained. You do have to get up early for a hot shower, but they are kept very clean. Close to Mt. Rushmnore and Needles Hwy.
Aug 07, 2013
juste avant mon sejour chez vous quelqu un a eu une idee de combler les trous sur les stationnement des vr avec des copeau de bois... qu est ce qui arrive lorsque il pleut et que les copeau de bois flotte sur le terrain des vr... ce n est pas une idee brillante et les terrain de stationnement pour vr devraient etre un peu plus eleve avec du cruchstone et non de la terre rouge qui devient de la bou
Aug 07, 2013
The campsites were extremely narrow,I was told my site was 35' long, but could not park my Jeep Cherokee and 17' trailer on the site. I've been coming to this campground since I was a kid, I'm now 44. It was interesting to see the progress, I appreciate all the kids stuff, I have a 6 and 8 year old. I realize this is a huge tourist area, $70 seemed high, at $70 I expected to be wooed, I wasn't.
Aug 06, 2013
The scenery was great. A nice campground with a lot to offer for the kids to do. The only negative is that the swimming pool and waterslide were a green color. One day the pools were a nice blue and the next a green color.
Aug 06, 2013
We have stayed a number of KOA's. To be honest, we only stay at KOA's when it's easy for an overnight trip when we are doing a long trip. Or we stay when there is not much in the area. I looked up the KOA when we were planning our Mount Rushmore trip, and it looked nice. Once we were there, we were very surprised. It was even more beautiful in person. We loved it there!!!
Aug 06, 2013
Wow, awesome place. We were very surprised when we pulled off the road into the campground. There is a multitude of activities in the campground for kids, families & adults. The views are great. Breakfast was inexpensive but good. Great place to stay on a trip to see Mt. Rushmore. We would come back again just to stay a few days and see the sights around the campground.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
beautiful location with lots of amenities and activities! Showers could have been cleaner.
Aug 06, 2013
This campground is quite pricey for adults only camping. It is much more suited to families with children. We will probably never stay there again.
Aug 06, 2013
Great location. Great service and despite it being a very busy (sturgis) weekend, the park was quiet.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
We loved the water slide and horse riding. If you're not a motorcycle fan avoid the first week of Aug as the camp was " reving" from 7am to 10pm along with the rest of the Black Hills
Aug 06, 2013
Our Kamping Kabin was way to far from any bathroom. Also, too much traffic and not enough places for pedestrians to walk. Felt unsafe just to go to bathroom or get a snack.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Never seen so many campers crammed in, there were people with tents in what we'd call ditches along the road! Sites have NO ROOM. The pool and waterslide were great but were in serious need of cleaning. Hire a CO to clean the bath mats in the public area - they are covered in dirt and mold - or at least soak them in bleach once a week! WIFI & Phones didn't work at campsites. Need more sewer sites
Aug 06, 2013
The bathrooms could have been maintained better. They were quite dirty. The activities at this campground were awesome. My kids I think the front desk could have don I think the front desk could have done a little better job of explaining the amenities and the different things offered at the campground.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
The noise from the j ump house all day every day ruined the experience. You have another bounce area. The jump house is not needed. More bathrooms would also be a plus.
Aug 06, 2013
Great location. Muddy sites. Lousy WIFI
Aug 06, 2013
We love this place and come every year. We were close to Comfort Station 4 and thought it could have been cleaner. Even right after the cleaners left, the bathrooms weren't that clean.
Aug 06, 2013
This is a Very busy camp. The location is very convenient but our cabin stairs and deck had major issues. All in our party tripped on the sagging steps and one twisted her ankle. When reported, she was not even asked if she was ok and nothing was done to fix the steps. The deck had separated from the cabin and daylight was very visible under the wall. Very disappointed with this KOA.
Aug 06, 2013
Wonderful
Aug 06, 2013
Our stay was great. The pool water was dirty. Probably not enough chlorine. Wifi was poor. Otherwise we had fun. Thx
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Great! Maybe consider a changing room at the main pool, and a fee more umbrellas. :)
Aug 05, 2013
back 2 yrs in a row! We love it here. so much to do with the kids! only complaint we had. was every time the kids rented bikes we had to sign a waiver. they need to have a one time fee and waiver for 3 or more night stay, perfect family vacation!!
Aug 05, 2013
Best KOA we have stayed at!! Beautiful facility. Beautiful scenery. Helpful staff. Best thing is that most of the amenities are included in camping fee. That is SO much easier than having to pay for things individually. I would HIGHLY recommend this KOA to anyone!!
Aug 05, 2013
no way to communicate with family no phone service no internet
Aug 05, 2013
What a great place. We had so much fun. The only complaint that we had was the campsite we had was on a slope and had no Flat land to pitch our tent. Otherwise we had a great time. You have an amazing facility and I look forward to going back again someday!
Aug 05, 2013
What can you say about this KOA. It has everything for the young and the young at heart. Great place to stay for a few nights while seeing the sites. Love it all from the pond to the bounceing area to the horses. Have stayed several times and will again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.