Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
The bathrooms were fantastic. Thank you for that.
Jun 19, 2014
We have a 4 yr old son who is on the go from sun up to sun down. He had all sorts of activities to go and do. There were lots of other children to play with. Would go here to camp again
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
We had a little confusion with the electric, after being frustrated and returning to the front desk 3 time, we were finally going to just give up, but Shawn (sp) who was mowing asked us if he could help, he then called Jack (maintenance manager) who then figured out we needed an adpter, so he went somewhere, fixed our reservation, got us an adapter and saved the day, Shawn also help with network
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Your KOA was one six KOA campgrounds where I was UNABLE to connect to your wifi!!!
Jun 19, 2014
Lots of great things to do for kids right at the resort! Bathrooms were relatively clean. Our only issue was with the reservation staff making us move our cabin twice. Not easy to do with two kids in tow. Jack at the front desk was amazingly helpful!
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
The restrooms were continually out of soap and toilet paper. The showers did not have hot water.
Jun 18, 2014
Had challenges this time. The biggest being all but 3 of the showers in our area were locked with no explanation why?? Negative attitude from the young man working in the coffee shop-saying yuck to a customers drink order and laughing at us when we asked about WiFi-rude! Why pay a $10/nt. activity fee when the pools are not open and you have to pay extra to play mini golf? What does the fee cover?
Jun 18, 2014
Staff was friendly, but half the showers were not open on a holiday weekend. Pools and hot tubs were not maintained well. Pool was dark green and the hot tub was lukewarm. Location was good and centralized to Mt Rushmore and surrounding activities.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
The cabin was comfortable, cute with the hanging flower basket, and having our own fire pit and picnic table was so handy. Being near the kid play area and fishing pond were fabulous. Couldn't believe it was so quiet at night too! We will pass on the recommendation to our friends.
Jun 18, 2014
The location is wonderful, staff was helpful and facility was kept up. Great place for children - loved the mini golf course. An actual pay phone would have been nice with limited cell service, though.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
This is a great place to stay with kids!
Jun 17, 2014
Stayed here before and will stay here again. Great except the weather.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
we enjoyed the 5-person cabin & the mini-golf, rock climber & other available activities. Thank you!
Jun 17, 2014
The Mount Rushmore KOA has to be one of the best KOA's. We stayed in our RV with our 5 grandkids. There is so much for the kids to do they want to go back. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you get a chance, stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA!
Jun 17, 2014
Kids had a blast and we camped in luxury for 4 nights. Had to change sites at first due to lack of tent pads and space on most of the tent sites, but once we found 227 we were set!
Jun 17, 2014
Great trip up to South Dakota - clean, well-kept campground, friendly staff - we had a great time!
Jun 17, 2014
Have been here before and it was great. This time, bathrooms were really disgusting. Wads of paper on the floor, in the showers, stagnant dirty water on the shower floors. Also, lots of loud campers this weekend. Had to call on one group who were drunk and loud at about midnight. Another another group were lound until 1 AM. Maybe be proactive with security rounding at quiet time?
Jun 17, 2014
There was mouse crap on the beds. The shift manager gave us $40 off our stay .Then proceeded to tell me the person who cleans the rooms is handicap .NEVER in my life have I wanted to strangle someone. Also 7 of 12 showers were out of order, the laundry room change machine was out of order .along with 1 of 3 dryers. I will never recommend that KOA to anyone.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
The heated pool could have been a little warmer but other than that our stay was great.
Jun 17, 2014
We came to the KOA at Mount Rushmore for a two night stay, tent camping. My husband and I have four children 3-16 in age and they all had a great time. The boats, jump pad, climbing wall and playground were the perfect outlet for their energy after almost two weeks of travel. Shower and restroom facilities were close and clean. We'd definitely stay again when in the area!!!
Jun 17, 2014
Very nice facility bad weather stopped us from using all the options available. Still had a nice stay. Keep a restaurant open past 9PM. staff was great
Jun 17, 2014
Many things to do ... Showers could be a little cleaner .
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Very disappointed. Lots of extra fees. Needed gravel around our site as mud was a problem and you can't stop the rain. Internet service almost non existent. Nice park. Employees were only mildly interested in guests.
Jun 17, 2014
Water at camp site not usable. It was dirty red and muddy Wifi non-existent
Jun 16, 2014
Our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA was great! We are a family of four, with two children (ages 8 and 4). This is a great campground with lots of activities for the whole family to enjoy. It's also located in a great spot with easy access to all of the area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jun 16, 2014
We LOVE the Palmer Gulch / Mt Rushmore KOA. Despite the thunderstorms and downpours our family STILL had a great time. There is always something to do on the property - rain or shine - or the staff has a bunch of recommendations for fun in the surrounding area. This KOA is only 10 minutes from Mt Rushmore so it's in a great location. We tent camped by the pond
Jun 16, 2014
Truly enjoyed our weekend &hope to return soon. Great site &service.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Out of 7 showers,there was only one working. One stool didn't work the whole time we were there. The weather was rainy, which is out of their control, therefore a lot of the activities were shut down due to the rain, which left the kids with nothing to do. Even after the rain stopped, they didn't reopen some of the activities. We really like this place, question our return.
Jun 16, 2014
after a ruff start with a under water site the rest of the week was great good service great for kids staff very nice
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful location, friendly staff, great facilities. So much for the kids to do, love all the activities. We will be back!
Jun 16, 2014
beautiful place for family but staff seemed to busy to help a family member locate us...and with no internet connection or cell phone service it was extremely frustrating for both us and our family. We were not given a spot in a nice area, even though many were available but on the main road with all of the maintenance vehicles starting around 6 am going back and forth. Noisy. Beautiful place tho
Jun 16, 2014
Very enjoyable
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.