Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2017
My stay in my 40ft motorhome was for 4 days in a delux pull through site very close to all the services. The site was nice as any other $100+ per night KOA. The campground was appointed nicely. Many activities for the kids. The problem was they advertise that they have wireless service and they really dont have any. My phone service was unavailable which I expected in the moutains
Jun 29, 2017
Taking a trip to Yellowstone national park in memory of our son who died in 2016. Stopped here for two nights. Was a beautiful place. Close to mt. Rushmore and crazy horse parks. Lots of activities for kids to do. Staff was wonderful. Place is clean and showers had plenty of hot water. We hope to stay again in future.
Jun 29, 2017
Our grandson had a great time but I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms. When asked a young man to wash out the shower he gave me a look like I had gone to far.
Jun 29, 2017
Nice resort - just a little too crowded for us. If you don't mind crowds it would be a great place to stay.
Jun 29, 2017
wow! this was the biggest camp ground we are ever been to. the kids had a blast in the fun zone and we where very happy with the wide range of things on site to do and also the amenities
Jun 29, 2017
Rate was too high $85 even with a discount, site was very close to everyone else, packed in like sardines. No cell phone of Wi-Fi reception. Could not respond to a serious family issue. This KOA is very over rated just because it is close to the Rushmore Monument. Many other RV camp grounds in the area and on the side of the mountain with cell and Wi-Fi reception.
Jun 29, 2017
Great koa. Would stay here again. Saw the rodeo which was on our trip list and it was a great experience. So much to do we never even made it to the restaurant or shops and snack places.
Jun 29, 2017
Huge place in a beatiful location. Wifi was an advertised amenity but literally non existent even at the designated laundry place. For some could be a deal breaker for future visits like me.
Jun 29, 2017
It was amazing! My granddaughter loved the water slide and the bouncy pillow. The pancake breakfast was also amazing. I just wish they had more golf carts to rent. I would definitely recommend this camping ground to anyone. They have 500 campsites so you know that you will get a spot...exept in the summer time because everyone will want to go on the waterside and 2 pools.
Jun 28, 2017
Was a great stay
Jun 28, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at this KOA. There were so many family activities that we took all in. We can't wait to come back!! Papa pancakes rocked too!
Jun 28, 2017
Very nice, lots of activities for everyone, and most importantly zero cell phone signal.
Jun 28, 2017
When I accidentally booked our stay for the wrong month they were quick to help us get into a cabin! The staff and owner are awesome! The facility was clean and airy. I just can't thank the owner enough! Definitely recommend this to anyone in the area!
Jun 28, 2017
We thorough enjoyed our stay. Clean, plenty of activities for all ages in our family, helpful staff, and friendly atmosphere.
Jun 28, 2017
a GREAT KOA. It was well run, clean, and everyone was very friendly. Loved the Rodeo on Sunday night. Will definitely recommend it to anyone traveling in the area.
Jun 28, 2017
Just got home from a great trip to South Dakota. The KOA was very clean and there were lots of activities for the kids including a Rodeo. The Staff was friendly and accommodating. Thank you!
Jun 28, 2017
Great place to stay. Lots of stuff to do for the whole family.
Jun 28, 2017
very good
Jun 28, 2017
The back in camping g spots are very small without a lot of maneuvering room to get your camper into the spot. Too many people. A lot of fun activities for the kids.
Jun 28, 2017
We have been coming here many years. Prices are getting very high, although tremendous improvements have been made, we will shop around next year.
Jun 28, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Great place, but no cell service with Verizon, and the campgrounds Wi-Fi doesn't work at all.
Jun 27, 2017
This was the first time we have stayed at a KOA and it was a great experience! My kids loved all the activities from swimming to mini golf to bike rentals. We especially enjoyed the Rodeo! We will definitely be back and recommending it to anyone making a trip to the Black Hills!
Jun 27, 2017
Love this campground. It is central to most of the popular attractions. The campground has everything! The main bathrooms could have been a little cleaner but it was sufficient.
Jun 27, 2017
It was fun for the whole family.
Jun 27, 2017
we traveled almost 4000 miles and stayed at a total of ten campgrounds on this trip and this was by far the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. from the very beginning to the end everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. the staff were awesome. truly a great time.
Jun 27, 2017
Great park if you have children, so much for them to do. Not so good if you do not have children. The bathrooms/shower facilities, although advertised they are cleaned several times a day, lacked that cleaning. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Jun 27, 2017
It was so much fun. The grounds were great and there was so much to do for kids. We had a blast.
Jun 27, 2017
Only complaint is lack of cell service and very limited Internet service.
Jun 27, 2017
We absolutely loved your park! Only wished the 50 amp sites had more shade trees and needed more gravel on the site to help with drainage during the sudden thunder showers. Our site held water for several days and was very muddy. Thank-you!
Jun 27, 2017
Wish we had more time to enjoy all of the amenities. Kids loved it.
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Very,very crowded, staff was awesome and park was great
Jun 27, 2017
The main problem was the kids didn't want to leave the campground.
Jun 27, 2017
This campground is not well maintained. The bathrooms were gross, the pool was dirty and when I went to the showers at 9:15 am they were closed for cleaning. Tent sites are too close together. We left early. The only good thing about this koa were the horses.
Jun 27, 2017
We loved everything about this campground except the bathrooms. It would be great if they were cleaned more often..
Jun 27, 2017
Huge property with a wide array of activities for all ages. Extremely well maintained and staffed. Cell reception very limited which could be a problem for those who need to stay in close contact. But a really great location! Very nice Kamp K-9 ... our Goldens loved it!
Jun 27, 2017
This campground is always great, I stay here every summer visiting the Hills and its just great! There is a lot of things for families to do and it isn't too far from all the sites to see! Only reason I didnt give 5 stars is because the bathrooms and showers are usually pretty dirty, its pretty busy so its understandable that this would happen! Overall,this campground is great!!
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Oustanding!!
Jun 26, 2017
Great People, Great Place...Super Fun Time!!!
Jun 26, 2017
Great place!!
Jun 26, 2017
Nice facilities but overpriced. No phone or wifi service. Very hard to communicate with other party members.
Jun 26, 2017
This was by far the best RV campground we have ever stayed in. Our two grandkids had a ball enjoying all of the various activities offered.
Jun 26, 2017
We were welcomed to KOA with friendly staff. Our family had a great time at your KOA as there was plenty of fun things to do for all at no charge. We ate all the pancakes we wanted for $3 to get our day started....Awesome! The Deluxe Cabin was nice but for a party of 8 (4 adults,4 kids) a little too small for us. Again, thanks for making our vacation memorable. We will be back.
Jun 26, 2017
Perfect!!!!
Jun 26, 2017
I woke early on Saturday, went to shower, used the handicapped shower near my cabin and had NO hot water. I was very pissed and will never stay with you again!!!!
Jun 26, 2017
So much fun! Thank you!
Jun 26, 2017
Bathroom connected to the pool house never had paper towel in it. I even talked to 3 different employees about it and they all promised they would take care of it. Annoying, considering I was there for 4 days! Otherwise the campground was nice.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals