Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
The wifi is a joke, every activity costs more above the $10/night resort fee, "mineral" water from hookup is nasty-bring bottles. Spots are extremely close together, and the camp is noisy, not only do private people bring ATV's but the staff is constantly driving around in their golf carts. For $80 a night I expected better. There are NO trees within the camp, just along the edges.
Sep 08, 2015
We had an excellent stay at the KOA by Mt. Rushmore. It was conveniently located near lots of attractions and was easy to get the camper in and out of even though the campground was pretty full. Only thing I would suggest improving upon would be the food in the pub and icecream shop. A little more variety would go a long way.
Sep 08, 2015
Great amenities and location! Staff was very friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The pictures we took did no justice to how great this place really is! Tons of activities for our kids (ages 15 mo, 7, and 11) and for adults the scenery and relaxation we got was amazing. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and exactly what we wanted. Never been to such a wonderful place.
Sep 08, 2015
Its a nice Place. Too bad everyone around our site was so rude. Kept my little family awake all night. Someone urinated on the side of my truck. We left and didn't stay our 2nd night that we paid for.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time; my only complaint is the campsite next to use was a group of young men that stayed up getting drunk and using foul language. We have three kids and much of there loud conversation was not appropriate. I know you can't choose who is camping next to you, but it would be nice if they could be a little more considerate of families around.
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome!
Sep 08, 2015
Great facilities for families-my kids had a fantastic time. For as busy as this place was, our tent site was quiet and out of the way of the masses. Also seemed very dog-friendly. Centrally located. Will definitely come here again!
Sep 08, 2015
Over crowded. Although most of the grass areas are mowed, they are infested with Canadian Thistle weed. Kids entertainment is great.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a lot of fun this was our very first camping trip. There is so much for us to do and also best part no cell service
Sep 08, 2015
The sound and smell of ATV's kind of spoils the effect of nature's beauty all around. And children should be wearing helmets and not driving unless licensed.
Sep 08, 2015
Great location, super fun. Loved camping kitchen and esspresso coffee! :) Bathrooms clean. Only complain is that a group of people was checked in late (close to midnight) and woke us up in the middle of the night and kept us awake for an hour! :(
Sep 08, 2015
This was the best camping experience my family could've had for our 1st camping trip. Everyone was nice and we all had tons of fun. This is a great location for families and friends to gather. Looking forward to next year and kabin484. Thank you KOA for an amazing family memory.
Sep 08, 2015
Had a great stay,lots to do on site and much more in the surrounding area. Will definitely be back.
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and comfortable facilities. Good variety of events for kids. The tent sites could use some shade but other than that everything was fantastic.
Sep 08, 2015
The address listed takes you to the back entrance on GPS, so make sure you look at a map first. It was very crowded over Labor Day, but the check-in was quick and there was an escort to our spot. The store and other amenities are great, my daughter loved the trail ride. We will likely go back during a non-peak weekend. Only 10 minutes to Mt Rushmore and a great launch pad for everywhere else!
Sep 08, 2015
I was happy to have a great place to stay while in the Black Hills
Sep 08, 2015
too expensive

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding our rates during your most recent stay. You stayed over Labor Day Weekend and on our most premium RV site which is why your rate may have been a little higher then expected. We offer lower rates on other sites and weekends for your convenience.
Sep 08, 2015
One of the guests in our group had bed bug or flea bites all over them. The drinking water in front of cabin and out of rest room was very hard water had very yellow/orange to brown color. We had an infant with us and bought water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! We were also surprised to hear of the bed bugs and have taken the necessary steps to remove them. As for the water, we have well water and so a slight discoloration is expected throughout the resort. We hope you will try us again in the future. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 08, 2015
It was so full this labor day weekend and I thought for sure we would not get any sleep but it was so quiet. I got a shower anytime I wanted. Best KOA I have been too. Wish I could of stayed longer to do many of the amenities that were there. Thanks for a great vacation!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay over the Labor Day Holiday! We love hearing that you had such a great time and that our resort exceeded your expecations. We hope to see you again next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean family friendly camp ground. Staff was super professional when we accidentally hit another camper and didn't realize it. Somethingfor everyone.we will be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! I'm sorry to hear of the mishap with the other camper but glad that we were able to assist in a way that exceeded your expecations. I will be sure to pass along your review to our staff! Sincerely, Danielle Akey -Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Everyone was very helpful. Great bathrooms and showers. Did not know that such a campground existed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We love hearing that our staff was so helpful and that our bathhouses exceeded your expections! We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Showers on Sunday morning were in need of attention. Otherwise awesome service and lots to do for all of the family.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay! We will make sure to follow up with our shower crew regarding Sunday morning's cleaning. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Said we could watch the first college football game of the year at restaurant as long as we bought drinks. We did and they were very rude and then refused to allow any sound on the television because sound is "against their policy" Did I mention how rude they were? We were quiet, polite, and had our small children with us so it wasn't like we were disturbing anything...plus we were only ones there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about our onsite restaurant. I will be sure to pass your notes along to them as I know your feedback is very important to them! I assure you they will take the necessary steps to improve based on this review. Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 07, 2015
Very efficient. Nice people. Beautiful area and central to attractions. Don't need to leave koa so much fun stuff to do there. Very pleased!
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Very clean KOA, wish there were more bathrooms spread out, was a long walk in the mornings.
Sep 07, 2015
Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty for kids to do would stay longer next time.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
I was disappointed with two things one being the fact that it almost two days and three trips to complain about a clogged toilet in one of the bathrooms. The second is advised wifi. The service was nonexistent. When we arrived on Wednesday morning it had a full signal but my phone show no Internet service. Either boost the Internet or don't advertise free wifi
Sep 07, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay could've maybe liked the pool a little warmer but all in all good time and clean.
Sep 07, 2015
Start by saying the staff and all the people working where great. This is not my style for camping. Every site is very close I worried about my fire pit being too close to the next camper. There is no room for parking after disconnecting. Just too many people for me. Other than that there is tons of stuff for the kids and adults to do.
Sep 07, 2015
i feel robed, the price for a tent site was on the website $21.00 and we had to pay $30.00 ?? the answer was oh they have not changed the website duh. and the site was not wurth the $ 30.00. WIFI sucks only 2 points available and you had to be within 5 yards to have reception.
Sep 07, 2015
We loved the feel of it, all the activities, more then you can even plan in one day! Great staff and friendly people!!
Sep 07, 2015
The nicest camp ground I have camped in. It's very clean with lots of staff to help with anything, and a large option of camp sights and ways to camp there. I was very impressed.
Sep 07, 2015
Over Priced for Senior Citizens. Great for Family with Kids. Poor Internet and Phone reception, if at all possible. Would not stay at this campground again.
Sep 07, 2015
Best KOA we've ever stayed at!!!
Sep 07, 2015
Saturday of labour day weekend - nonreservatio- NO PRONLEM! Wild happening KOA. One night is not enough. The amenities amazing. Unfortunately we only enjoyed the laundry facilities. Big plus was the pancake breakfast. 😎. Washroom and showers, the other necessisity - #1. All staff were professional and friendly.
Sep 06, 2015
you guys are the standard in which all others try to be, one issue was only, fair,I am an amputee of 40 plus years,my point is I know how get around the few obsticles that I am confronted with each day,while showering in the bath house next to spacs 136 I was stepping from the shower with my finger tips on the shower curtain rod,it was so severily rotted,the whole rod and all came down causeing me
Sep 06, 2015
The ponderosa restaurant and Papas pancakes were outstanding. The activities offered were excellent for all ages. Live music by Marley Cook was beautiful. All KOA personnel were polite and accommodating. We would definitely return.
Sep 06, 2015
Absolutely wonderful but need to seriously upgrade your wifi. Best pizza and ice cream. Front desk staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Sep 06, 2015
This place was great, friendly helpful staff, kids had a good time with all the kiddie things to do. I don't know why there is complaints about the size, it is big but they state that on the web site. As for the wifi again they let you know where you have service and where you don't so I'm not sure again why the complaints... Maybe some folks don't know how to read or listen so well.
Sep 06, 2015
We felt like this KOA was very unorganized we had extreme difficulty finding our campsite the numbers didn't match at all. The sites we crowded and you have to pay for nearly every activity.
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
Great park centrally located reasonably price very well kept up they even pickup your garbage (nice) they have lots of activity,nice pool,wished they had cable and wifi in the whole park we would stay there again
Sep 05, 2015
Best KOA or camp any where!
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
very overpriced-as senior citizens, we felt a $20.00 fee on top of the regular high rate was not necessary. We did not use anything extra and price did not include cable TV. Had to go to 2nd site due to person checking us into a poor site not suited to Class C MH.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals