Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 28, 2016
Great resort place. Wish we had had more time there to fully use the amenities
Jun 28, 2016
The campground was fantastic, The people were great. The cabin (inside and outside) was littered with bees, Outside they were around all of the time. There were dead ones in the front window. I woke up early both mornings with bees in the cabin. I have a child who is afraid of bees and he rarely came to the cabin, except to sleep.
Jun 28, 2016
Fabulous resort-2 pools all kinds f activities fr the kids and Abdul's too!(horses riding, won ride dinners!) restaurants pub and sme Roos etc are set up to look like a town. The wifi was no-extent and there' s no phoe service. The saff are extrely helplful. Close to everything. If you have a really arge if take the truck rote it the park as the regular route s steep and winding.
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground! Would have given a 5 if not for the horrible wi-fi. There is little to no phone service but they advertise wi-fi availability. It is non-existent to so slow you'll give up before getting any response. I'd have felt better if they said it wasn't available Everything else about this KOA is first rate. Loved the pancake breakfast tent. Abundant activities for the kids.
Jun 28, 2016
Was a great place felt like a resort The grandkids were very entertained Will stay there again Very impressed.
Jun 28, 2016
We stayed here before in 2012 & that is why we came back. Although the premium RV sites are a bit pricey - they're great sites. The grounds has a lot to offer for everyone. Close to many worthwhile sights & activities.
Jun 28, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful! I was very impressed at all the activities for the kids. They were never board!
Jun 28, 2016
We had a great stay! The coolest KOA we have stayed at yet!
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
The Disneyland if all KOAs. Coolest place ever
Jun 28, 2016
Absolutely the kid mecca of the West. Great people, great sites and all around great experience. We have stayed many times and we will stay many more. Every year you guys improve or add something. Thank you.
Jun 28, 2016
This was the nicest campground we've visited. Lots of activities and very clean and pretty. Wish you were closer to our home!
Jun 28, 2016
very family/kid friendly with lots of activities and nice bath/showers. Camp sites felt a little cramped.
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground, super clean and lots of activities to keep all busy!
Jun 27, 2016
Lots to do, nice place
Jun 27, 2016
Celebrated my 83rd birthday with my family. . Three generations. Perfect place!!
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time at Palmer Gulch! Centrally located to many of the attractions, but you don't even have to leave the resort to have a full day! My 10 year old loved the Fun Zone and would have stayed there all day! There was no cell service and the Wifi is almost nonexistent, but that can be a plus too!
Jun 27, 2016
Lack of wfi sucks. You need more routers.
Jun 27, 2016
Wonderful campground and wonderful experience! This is a kids haven! The activity staff was great with all the children. We did have bad customer service at the ice cream/pizza parlor. But everything else was amazing!
Jun 27, 2016
What an amazing place to stay. So much fun for kids - young and old!
Jun 27, 2016
My kids loved this campground. So much to do after a long day site seeing! They have so many activities and performances at the campground my kids actually looked forward to coming back there at the end of the day.
Jun 27, 2016
The facility is beautiful and clean but very busy
Jun 27, 2016
Great location. Staff mostly friendly and helpful. Nice to have stables and fun zone on the property. However, sites are small and close together. Many fire rings are placed on slopes and are hard to use/ gather around. No enforcement of quiet hours. We were near a group partying loudly until after midnight. Kids had a great time but if you want a peaceful camp experience this is not it.
Jun 27, 2016
It's a beautiful campground, we really enjoyed our stay.
Jun 27, 2016
No cell phone service and Wi-Fi was nonexistent
Jun 27, 2016
Very friendly staff. Very crowded. It did not seem like camping but rather just jamming as many campers in one area as you could. I think the prices were a little excessive given we just wanted to camp and launch from there.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
The staff was friendly and there was so much to do that we were wishing we could spend another day or two. Facilities were clean. The only negative was that our cabin was pretty far from a bathroom. That was rough with a potty training toddler in tow.
Jun 27, 2016
Thought the KOA was great. Showers/bathrooms could of been a bit cleaner.
Jun 27, 2016
had a great time, one of the best campgrounds in America. Would be better if they talked Verizon into adding coverage at the park.
Jun 27, 2016
Way too close together and crowded.
Jun 27, 2016
Sites are crowded and mixed with tents. Needs tlc.
Jun 27, 2016
I wish the bath houses were closer to the campers that actually need to use them. They are surrounded by big rigs with full hook ups. The bath house over by the kid zone is too small for all the campers over there that need to use it, another whole bath house could be added over there.
Jun 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Great location to Mt Rushmore site. Very nice facilities.
Jun 27, 2016
Great location with tons of kid activities. However it is a very big campground. There are lots of pets and lots of pet owners that don't clean up after their pets. Couldn't play ball in the grass strip adjacent to our campsite without dodging multiple doggy doos.
Jun 27, 2016
terrains trop petits. tables vieillissantes.
Jun 27, 2016
Friendly staff, nice facilities. Unlimited pancake breakfast option was great!
Jun 27, 2016
Beautiful, beautiful! It really is a resort. I wish we could have stayed for a few weeks.
Jun 27, 2016
Bathrooms at comfort stations were horribly dirty and out of paper stock.
Jun 27, 2016
There should be bicycle lanes for all the bikes.
Jun 26, 2016
Nice campground with great views in a great location. The firewood is extremely overpriced and the WiFi is terrible.
Jun 26, 2016
This is my third stay at Palmer's Gulch KOA.It is all about location. We had a group of 18 for five nights and did not have enough time to see everything that we wanted. We will undoubtedly visit again.
Jun 26, 2016
Awesome place that has all the things ya need!
Jun 26, 2016
Beautiful setting with helpful staff and something for everyone!
Jun 26, 2016
It is a parking lot. Noisy neighbors. They changed our site which caused 45 min of wasted time. Did not get 50 amp that paid for and reserved. Kept blowing circuit due to this. Gave a credit back on card at least when complained. Sewer hole was way too far from our unit and uphill. Hard to dump.
Jun 26, 2016
friendly and courteous, wonderful sites with excellent hook ups, scenic and beautiful parking areas, I love the culture, the swimming was fantastic, horseback riding was outstanding, the Cowboys and cowgirls are very helpful, I really really really enjoyed mine in my family way to go KOA. good job
Jun 26, 2016
Loved it - great facilities and nice staff
Jun 26, 2016
Everyone was excellent but Hanna was magnificent in solving a problem our neighbor had with the sewer. She got us moved until things could be cleaned up. Wonderful employee.
Jun 26, 2016
Restrooms and showers very dirty.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a great time. There was so much to do at the campground and I the area that we could have used another day. All the staff was friendly and seemed to make sure everything was fun and clean for the guests.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals