Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was great lots to do. But check in was horrible very rude people working the counter
Aug 04, 2014
Been coming here since our kids were little and still coming and they're now 18 21 25 and 29! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
The campground was much too big for personal preference. The map was very confusing so we struggled to find showers and the swimming pool based on the map. The staff was friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We were there along with our daughter and grandson and their families as we attended our oldest sons retirement from the Air Force in Rapid City on Aug. 1st. This was our second year of camping at your KOA. The campground is very well kept and pretty quiet. It was a little annoying hearing the wranglers whooping and hollering early while gathering the horses in.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The staff was really friendly and helpful. The cleanliness of the cabins, bathrooms, and showers weren't quite as good as I expected from KOA, but as good or better than any other campground. The facilities were in good shape and well maintained.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The workers are very friendly and I'm sure its a fine KOA. But I would not recommend this as a place & time to stay because it was rather loud with bikers coming in late and leaving early. Cabins are very close to tent sites. The men's bathroom stalls had foul language and pictures draw on them. Inappropriate for kids and disgusting to see appeals for sex acts.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great stay and didn't have enough time to do all the activities we wanted to do.
Aug 04, 2014
We were very disappointed by the poor (non-existent) internet service. We loved the campground for everything else and plan to return with our grandson.
Aug 04, 2014
Overall the facility was a great oasis for the family during our trip to Mt. Rushmore. Our individual site could have used some gravel as well as the roads. Lots of mud when it rained.
Aug 04, 2014
Way too loud, there were manhy koa vehicles and golf carts cruising the park but still loud music was allowed til 11pm that kept us awake and the music started again at 7am, I know it was Sturgis weekend but still you need to consider your other guests and enforce the noise rules. Probably wont stay here again. Tom West
Aug 04, 2014
2 few bathrooms small camp site drain system in middle which made site smaller dirty bathrooms no escort to find site
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Bathroom and showers were under maintained. A pool of water was always in the hallway to bathroom. Ceiling tile in showers needed to be replaced.
Aug 04, 2014
Amazing KOA, fantastic facilities and kids entertainment, it is certainly a holiday destination and was difficult to drag our daughter away! Thank you for reasonably prices laundromat too.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Extremely crowded KOA. Our site was right up against our neighbors. Noisy. When we asked several staff members what to do with our grey water, they asked, your what? You know, our dish water. They asked, you do dishes? We found no facilities for doing dishes. Did love the shower house. Finally one I could stand under the shower head and have enough room to move around.
Aug 03, 2014
Are trip was great and koa made it even better. Everyone was so helpful and kind. And the stable people were excellet . This place was the clean's camp ground I have been in. Beautiful place to stay. We will be back. The Whites from Indiana.
Aug 03, 2014
Awsome campground! Loved all the great things to do there! Only complaint is that the ponderosa restaurant is garbage ,,,, waitresses were unorganized and it took way to long to get our food. We gave it four chances to get better during our stay and all four time were bad, however the food is great. Loved renting the atvs...
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
During our week long stay the pool was filthy and cloudy. The bathrooms were always full of bugs and no where to put your clothes while showering to keep them from the bugs. The campsites were too crowded. The restaurant food was not even close to good. The activities for the children were great though and the staff was great as well.
Aug 03, 2014
I've been here twice now and this is the very best KOA ever!
Aug 03, 2014
This KOA was the best we stayed at. It offered the most activities and facilities. This KOA set our expectations too high to even compare any other site without sounding like we were complaining. If every KOA was this nice we would travel more.
Aug 03, 2014
Received limited wifi. Campground was well maintained and clean with a beautiful setting.
Aug 03, 2014
Awesome stay. very pretty. nice location. bathrooms a little dirty. Water slide water was dirty. over all---an ok stay
Aug 03, 2014
Good service, friendly staff. Lots of activities for families. Some sites are more close together than others. Overall this was a great KOA.
Aug 03, 2014
Nice location, but too big and chaotic for its own good. Cons: Basically two kinds of campsites: Flat and no shade, or shaded with rocky terrain. (Our site had a culvert-fed wash that ran through the middle of our site.) WiFi does not work, period. Bathrooms were a bit gross, even by KOA standards. Pros: Pancake breakfast is cheap and fun. Decent prices in the store, too.
Aug 03, 2014
Nous avons trouvé très désagréable que les gens du secteur des tentes circulent sur notre terrain pour aller au bloc sanitaire. Ce serait intéressant qu'il y ait un passage d'aménager.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
loved everything---but the trail ride girl needs to do some fact checking. Raspberries have been growing wild for hundreds of years, and her horse knowledge is also poor/humorous but not correct.
Aug 03, 2014
good time with the grandkids!!
Aug 03, 2014
We loved our tent camping trip at KOA Mt Rushmore. The staff was over the top friendly. Pancake breakfast delicious. My only complaint would be the pool was dirty (1/2 closed for 2 days) the registration bathroom was down one stall for 5 days and the bathrooms by tent site rarely had hand soap. All things we could deal with. Would come back again if our travels take us this way.
Aug 03, 2014
Would have gave it a perfect score except for having only one paddle boat for the entire camp ground and got to the last hay rack ride only to be told they were filled. Even after showing up on time!Isn't that why we paid extra for all the activities!? over all great location for all other surrounding attractions
Aug 03, 2014
Lots of thing for kids to do.
Aug 03, 2014
We stayed there close to the time of Sturgis motorcycle rally so there were many loud motorcycles -
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
The only reason it is not 5 stars and extremely likely is that you advertise WiFi but it does not work, and no cell phone service, in these times people use he internet to plan there day and have a need to be in touch with the outside world, I talked to someone at your desk and they said everything has been tried, we have a car on Mars that we comunicate with, SD much closer, plese don't advertise
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Original campsite #607 was unsuitable, no where to even sit around th campfire, we were given one other spot to move to. Did not appreciate the extra $10added to the daily fee without even bing told about it. I'd prefer to chose which activiies i would pay extra for. Also didnt appreiciate the horse wranglers making so much noise at 615am bring the horses in, i was trying to sleep.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
1. Slide not being watched by workers. Girl sat against the railing eating lunch. Kids ran into each other at bottom of slide. 2. Bathhouse closest to office is awful. Should be bulldozed and replaced. 3. Grass was mowed in premium site area and not blown off cement. Campers were left with grass to track into rvs.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.