Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
We were there 9 days and could only get on your wifi twice. The showers were filthy.
Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful facility that is well managed however we selected this site as your web site says wifi is available. I am a business owner and have to stay connected and I was in this campground 9 days and 8 nights and was able to get connected once and then got kicked off after a few minutes. Cell service is hit and miss so it was a very trying week had to drive to Hlll City to check email
Aug 11, 2014
I would have rated 5 stars except for internet access non existent. even the internet cafe was offline during my weeks stay.this has been issue for years,it can be resolved if KOA just resolved to do it.
Aug 11, 2014
Fabulous campground!!!
Aug 11, 2014
Cabin was great. The pizza was good. Wings too hot, onion rings burnt. Some of the staff was in a bad mood, and acted if we were the cause of their bad day. Bathroom closes to us failed. Probably will not visit during bike week.
Aug 11, 2014
Was there during the Rally and even though we were not riding the campground was excellent. Clean, quiet and excellent for kids!
Aug 11, 2014
There was no wifi as advertised, no cable, the water pressure was super low making it very hard to shower. The bathrooms were not cleaned. Overall the worst KOA I have ever stayed at. I went and asked for a credit as we left halfway though the visit and they told me there was nothing they could do for me. It was by far my worst KOA experience ever and I will not return.
Aug 11, 2014
Only one pool was open and the the bike trail needs to be longer. Staff is friendly and your camp ground is very nice. Kid friendly. Great location.
Aug 11, 2014
Great time, lots of fun! Definately will be back!!
Aug 11, 2014
I came with a Girl Scout Troop. The lady at the registration desk was very polite and informative. The girls loved the swimming pool. They really wanted to ride the horses, but it wasn't in our budget. My Co-Leader and I liked the nightly movie; it put the girls to sleep. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2014
Bathrooms dirty and in poor repair. Packed in like sardines. Lots had no room, for the tow vehicle only the trailer. Most employees were friendly. Lack of security.
Aug 11, 2014
Was not as quaint as I remembered from our trip in 1996, but my three kids love all the activities.
Aug 11, 2014
Fun time. Needs better cell and internet services.
Aug 11, 2014
My camper is 38' long and I was placed on a very tight spot Getting out was a big challenge. The main pool was very dirty. My site had a great deal of dog mess's which I cleaned up after getting setup. I find it interesting I have to pay for "my" pets and then also have to cleanup other campers messes. We stayed there in the past and we remember the campground being nicer. Will check around.
Aug 11, 2014
I wish I stay longer, so we could explore more, beautiful camp love to come back.... this time not so close to the garbage...We try your breakfast, it was really good.The personnel was very nice ,helpful and pleasant. Thank Marie
Aug 11, 2014
Enjoyed the stay. Bathrooms were fantastic. Internet service could be better.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Les salles de bain devraient être retouchées plusieurs fois par jour plutôt que juste une fois.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Cabin was very dirty - old dirt and stuff under beds. Other than that a nice KOA
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We loved it!!! So pleasantly surprised with all the amenities!!!!
Aug 11, 2014
Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only bad thing was the placement of out fire pit.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 10, 2014
We have stayed at this koa numerous times and loved it. We highly recommend this campground for families with kids. There is always something going on at the campground for them. Lots of sightseeing is close by,for day trips. We will be back again soon!!!
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
The dirt roads in campground deteriorated to a muddy mess when it rained. Consider paving the main branch roads within campground.
Aug 10, 2014
Excellent, other than a bad experience with your staff. Called the VA discount a "coupon". I suspect true managment doesn't feel the same. It's not a coupon... It's appriciation for sacrifices made - and I appreciate the thought... But calling the discount a coupon is insulting to those of use who have sacrificed more than you could understand unless you've been their.
Aug 10, 2014
The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
Aug 10, 2014
The lady that checked us in and the people in the gift shop need to smile more. The restrooms and the shower rooms were always clean.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
I think the campground was well kept and well designed we were tenting and had the ability to cook out or use the grills. Also the campground staff were all helpful and I would personally recommend this campground to friends and family. I also plan to use it again.
Aug 10, 2014
Your staff was extremely helpful in finding sites for us to move to when we had to extend our stay during a very busy stay. Kudos to Sharon for all her help.
Aug 10, 2014
Great place to stay! Staff was very helpful in finding us a spot for our big tent when the spot we were assigned was too small. Plenty to do to keep you busy not only in the KOA park but also driving distance. We will be returning!!
Aug 10, 2014
This is a very big KOA. Loved the small place feel the people strived for! Lots of services and activities at this KOA. Loved it!!
Aug 10, 2014
Our stay was great! The grounds were very clean and lots of things to do. The staff was very good. It's been a log time since we stayed at a KOA and we were surprised as to how good it was. If we get the opportunity, we will return.
Aug 09, 2014
Great place to stay, very clean, lots for the kids to do. We come back every year. Great view. Thank you KOA for such a great camp ground.
Aug 09, 2014
I only stayed for one night,but really loved the cabin I stayed in.
Aug 09, 2014
It was centered in the area we wanted to tour. It is a good place for families. You keep it nice and clean. The staff answered our questions when put to them
Aug 09, 2014
The Mt Rushmore KOA is a vacation destination on it's own. We had a wonderful stay. Mark & Kath Henn The Villages, FL
Aug 09, 2014
We had a great visit. Enjoyed all of the activities. Kim, the trail leader was especially wonderful. We appreciated the rental cars and were relieved we could explore Sturgis, Crazy Horse and the surrounding area without having to unhook our RV. CHECK OUT MY TRIPADVISOR REVIEW . amymd2014.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
We loved everything! Disappointed in the bathrooms...need to be updated. Soap never worked by the sinks, bathrooms smelled like sewer back up all the time. Wish the Chuck Wagon dinner would still run even during Sturgis. Families are still there...not everyone is a biker.
Aug 09, 2014
Very scenic cabin. Nice amenities too including a public cooking area and sinks to wash dishes in. Bathrooms and showers were plenty and very clean.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome! Lots of activities for the kids, two pools, hot tubs, this place is awesome!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.