Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 14, 2015
Really big camp area. Cabin with the loft was very nice. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend
May 14, 2015
Beautiful resort with a wonderful staff!
May 14, 2015
May 13, 2015
The deluxe cabin was clean and cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, I would like to visit KOA Mount Rushore again.
May 12, 2015
Great staff & very convenient!
May 12, 2015
We arrived in a snowstorm and had to stay a little longer than plannen. The staff was very helpful.
May 12, 2015
The weather deteriorated and any possible issues were addressed and solved for us without having to address them. AMAZING
May 10, 2015
Even though we were there early in the season, the staff were friendly and helpful. At first we were concerned about the actual site we were assigned (size and distance from other campers), but it was quiet and suited our needs especially with two dogs. We did not realize how big this campground (resort) is!! WOW!! We just might stay again when we make future plans. Thank you.
May 10, 2015
We encountered the threat of a horrible weather forecast in the form of 12-24 " of snow. So we decided to check out a day early. Shelby Thomas in the office went above and beyond to help us plan the best route to avoid the worst of the weather. She was very sweet and efficient. With poor cell phone reception at that KOA, I would suggest adding wifi as a convenience to your campers.
May 08, 2015
Stayed there in May. Everything was closed. Showers were only cold water no curtains. Don't know if it's because we showed up to late or at a bad time. Otherwise super close to Mount Rushmore and very clean :)
May 07, 2015
May 06, 2015
Excellent KOA. Clean and a lot of amenities. A little messy after a rain since the pads are gravel/dirt and wi-fi is very weak. Very friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.
May 06, 2015
Amazing place .....can't wait to come back!!!!
May 06, 2015
May 06, 2015
We arrived late and instead of the usual package showing how to get to the site , we had name and site number on the office door. We drove up and down rows to find our site beside the bath rooms. Fan on this building ran all night.As well we were charged a resort fee but nothing is open until memorial day. This was refunded when I showed staff the Ipad confirmation.
May 06, 2015
X
May 05, 2015
Fantastic! Staff was exceptional.Beautiful well maintained grounds. Excellent proximity to area attractions. Would definitely return!
May 04, 2015
We had a terrific time! The only thing that was disappointing was that some of the amenities were not open that we thought should be, like the bike shop! But over all we had a wonder wonderful time!
May 04, 2015
Bathroom/shower facility has unisex showers that were spotless. Gravel road freshly graded. Some sections have gentle slope to rv parking sites. Very helpful staff. One bar verizon.
May 03, 2015
We actually showed up almost 2 weeks before they were open for the season and we were able to stay all by ourselves! Granted we had no water, but had electricity. It was awesome to wake up to deer grazing outside our trailer.
Dec 23, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Staff was great. Physical condition of site was very good. Location was excellent. Two problems: had to pay extra for resort fee;however, last week of season not all amenities were avail. Second: tons of flies in our cabin. Paid extra instead should have gotten a discount instead of paying more.
Oct 19, 2014
Most of the amenities were closed for the season but we appreciated the central location.
Oct 16, 2014
THIS CAMPGROUND HAS NO PROBLEM COMING IN AS THE #1 CAMPGROUND FOR KOA!
Oct 16, 2014
Love the restaurant.Came late and left early, but all was fine. Beds were a little close for the bunks. Almost bumped my head in morning. A little dark when walking to bathroom at night.
Oct 16, 2014
The restaurant on site is awful. We stayed 3 nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned the whole time. Yuck.
Oct 16, 2014
They were very helpful in helping me resolve an issue with my tow vehicle. I cannot say enough about the staff and their assistance.
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
this park is more expensive than the rest of the parks we visited.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this KOA to anyone who asks! The park was beautifully kept, also.
Oct 05, 2014
Hi, we are from Germany and traveled by RV from Minnesota to South Dakota. Your campground was the best on our way. Clean, comfortable, friendly stuff and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy all the sightseeings in the Black Hills. S. and G. Bauerfeind
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
very friendly and helpful staff beautiful resort
Oct 04, 2014
Was a large campground with plenty of room. Had an event when we were ther and was a pleasant surprise to the stay.
Oct 04, 2014
Best, biggest KOA I've ever seen! Amazing facility.
Oct 03, 2014
Great reception and directions. Poor internet. No cable TV access. Restaurant was open for last evening and missing many items. Would come again if in area.
Oct 01, 2014
I've never had to pay 3 dollars or any amount per dog per day at any rv park before.
Oct 01, 2014
You actually have a great campground but the lack of internet/phone service is unacceptable to people like us who run their business from the road! Wouldn't recommend this to anyone who needs to stay connected!
Oct 01, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE. No oven or cooktop in deluxe cabins. No real coffee maker. Water gave my daughter and wife diarrhea. Staff unwilling to repair problems found in cabin. Wifi is advertised but has poor coverage and is as slow as dial-up. Campground restaurant is the worst food I have experienced anywhere. This review is cross-posted on Google+ and Yelp.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
WOW!! Fabulous location! Friendly folks! Amazing forest scenery from our rv! Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. Best KOA ever!!! and the restaurant on premises was such a bonus. Stayed in late Sept. but I bet summer would be so great with all the activities!! Highly recommend.
Sep 30, 2014
Clean and well maintained - just wish that all the activities and shops weren't closed during our stay.
Sep 30, 2014
Wonderful
Sep 29, 2014
Great place to stay
Sep 29, 2014
Perfect location. Clean campground with lots of room and easy access.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.