Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 26, 2016
Staff was rude, very busy place and overpriced for what you get.
Jun 26, 2016
Tent site on a slope, very disappointed. Cabin neighbors loud past midnight.
Jun 25, 2016
We brought our 4 granddaughters for a 4-night, 5-day vacation. They had so much FUN at this resort. There were so many things to do. The deluxe cabin, #280, worked great for our group of 6. I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to the Black Hills!
Jun 25, 2016
Even though we were in the area to tour and view the beautiful scenery, when we got back to the campground, they had many great things to do for the kids. I was told this is the best KOA by a co-worker and so far for our experience, this is true. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Jun 25, 2016
Had a fantastic time! We will come again.bathroom situation could be better. One not working often and could be cleaned more often. Otherwise the place is as my granddaughter said "paradise".
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great stay I just wish there were a few things that could have been lower in price, like the fire wood bundles. For the a abundance of wood on the forest floor, $6 a bundle was outrageous and made me not want to enjoy having a fire. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Fun place. Tent site was huge . Slight hill was a bit awkward for tent, but well kept grassy site, lots of trees. Enjoyed the night sky and watching bats at dusk.
Jun 25, 2016
Had plenty to do within the campground. Kids loved the slide and splash pad. Bathrooms were nice but could use some ventilation. As soon as anyone showered it was like a sauna in there the rest of the day. Campground was way too crowded though. We had the unfortunate coincidence of arriving on the same day as the rodeo and the place was a madhouse.
Jun 25, 2016
we did not have space for our tent. Went back to the registration desk for help and the lady walked away. We got a hotel and did not stay at the KOA.
Jun 25, 2016
Great for kids - spaces too tight for large rigs - too many people allowed to each site.Front smells like horse pee, and at night it is a huge smoke pit.
Jun 25, 2016
Lots of stuff to do and great that it was all open late! Close to all the attractions.
Jun 25, 2016
We were very pleased with the amenities and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2016
The staff were all courteous and helpful, campsites were nice, the only complaint we had it felt like they were understaffed. The bathrooms by us didn't look like they got cleaned as often as the should have.
Jun 25, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For such a large campground, it was very quiet. The highlight of our trip was the chuck wagon dinner on our last night!
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great place had a lot of fun with my family will definitely be going back there but do you guys think you can get a little bit thicker mattresses on the hardwood bed frames besides that everything was great
Jun 25, 2016
lots to do for kids. very busy. too few showers for the number of campers. Bathroom and shower floors very dirty.
Jun 25, 2016
Fantastic KOA destination! We've stayed in KOA's in so many states and this park takes the cake. Restaurant, bar, pizza & wing shop, ice cream, horse rides, dune buggies on 35 miles of off road terrain. Did it all and we loved it!! So close to everything in the Black Hills. Come here, you'll love it!
Jun 24, 2016
Only complaint is that it says coffee maker in the cabin but it wasn't specific staying it was a Keurig. There were 4 adults and we all brought coffee for a regular pot. Should just make that more specific. Otherwise it was great! We had kids from 5 to 15 and they all kept busy
Jun 24, 2016
Wonderful amenities and kind helpful staff. The location was perfect for all of the areas activities.
Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful campground with so much for the kids to do! Showers were really dirty though.
Jun 24, 2016
An amazing campground - very friendly staff - great facilities, many options to entertain yourself between exploring Mt. Rushmore and the surrounding natural beauty.
Jun 24, 2016
one of the best We have ever been to. Staff was nice and friendly. Thank you we will be back.
Jun 24, 2016
A very large campground with a number of activities. The staff were friendly and helpful but the full hookup site we had was in very poor condition, a mud hole, not close to level and the sewer connection was up hill! Other sites were like a parking lot ...for $60 a day and not even cable. It was the poorest KOA experience we've ever had. I cannot recommend this campground when there are others av
Jun 24, 2016
First time to stay here & we loved it!!
Jun 24, 2016
We only stayed one night but would return for more nights! Perfect place for kids and we only had time for a few activities of the many offered! Great facility!
Jun 24, 2016
Check in was easy, and helpful with extending my stay.
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Awesome resort. The pools and activities were great for the kids and it was clean and centrally located. We would definitely stay here again!!
Jun 24, 2016
This was perfect place nestled in the Black Hills. Perfect for kids and families. My only complaint is the bath houses needed to be cleaned a little more frequently.
Jun 24, 2016
30 amp power almost caught fire because of faulty wiring, the toaster blew the circuit so we were hot with no AC, entire row without power all day to fix, cars speed through this park and the help seem to have no clue to what is going on so when you ask for help....good luck. I wasted my money on this KOA. The store and reservation people are clueless and seem to be lacking training or managment.
Jun 24, 2016
Rv spot very small. Could not put awning out because of tree. Price to high & did not have sewer hook up.
Jun 24, 2016
If this was my first experience at a KOA, I would not stay at another one. The restrooms were very dirty and not well maintained. The campground itself is fine, just a little confusing do to its size. This location has zero cell service and only wifi at specific locations. Wifi throughout the campground would be beneficial. Also, the tent sites are stacked on top of each other.
Jun 23, 2016
The cabin had a spectacular view and the staff always had a smile and were helpful.
Jun 23, 2016
Great place with a lot to do. We'll be back.
Jun 23, 2016
The cabins should have air conditioning. Also you need more bathrooms and the registers in the store should be open so that I don't have to wait 20 minutes to pay for a bag of ice in the same line as campers who are checking in.
Jun 23, 2016
Very nice place. Wifi didn't work at all
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Wonderful campground. We rented an UTV and a car. Great place to get ice cream and coffee too. Rodeo was great. Best KOA
Jun 23, 2016
Pull-through spot was extremely small. Not enough room for my TT and truck. This KOA has some great amenities but it was wall-to-wall people crammed in like sardines.
Jun 23, 2016
Loved the grounds. As a former horse owner thought the stables were a-one! Great kid friendly activities! Only complaint was our site was a bit wet and muddy. Some because of rain but even after no rain still a bit soggy!
Jun 23, 2016
Charged a pet fee upon arrival. Front desk was not able to explain what the dog fee went for we are not charged at better koa. Also camp site was small and poorly maintained
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Very dissappointed a resort fee was charged! Especially when there was an additional charge to participate in many of the activities that made the koa a "resort"
Jun 23, 2016
Fun place with tons of activities for kids and adults!
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at-loved all the amenities for kids & adults.
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Only bad thing I could say is a place this big should take you to your sites other than that it was great
Jun 22, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals