Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2015
The scenery is beautiful and the amenities are plentiful but be warned it's a very busy campground. A lot of traffic coming and going. Our kids were a bit old to appreciate the fun zone. Perfect for young families.
Jul 31, 2015
If it rains, there are very few activities available for children. Unfortunately for my family, it rained.
Jul 31, 2015
We loved all the amenities, great location, and helpful staff.
Jul 31, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff! Our golf cart guide went out of his way to help us find a place to park our boat before taking us to our site. We loved the facility and activity options, but were only there for a quick overnight. Our only complaint was how crowded and close the sites were.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
it was a great camp ground. Will be back.
Jul 31, 2015
This campground was a lot of fun, Our high maintenance boys, who always have to be doing somthing were never bored. Two pools, Basketball, ATV's and trails to ride them, Horse back riding, and a great playground for the youngsters, And your in one of the most beautiful places in America. Worth the trip.
Jul 31, 2015
Great place to camp. Just wish there was a little more grass at tent sites with electricity and also that the Wi-Fi would work.
Jul 31, 2015
It is the nicest KOA we have been to, and that is a lot of them. However, they should not advertise wifi. It only works about 5% of the time. There also is no cell service.
Jul 31, 2015
I would not stay here again. They do not tell you that there is no cell reception or WiFi. The campground is overpriced for 1 person with no children. Would not recommend to others.
Jul 31, 2015
The electric box did not include standard 110 volt wire cords and had to purchase two adaptor so that we could use our extension cords. The small site (507) was real nice with flowing brook on three sides. Restroom/showers-pool were close by. We would stay here again.
Jul 31, 2015
While this KOA is a resort, we were extremely disappointed with the number of cabins, tents and RV spots crammed into one space. We had NO privacy. The perception quickly becomes that of making money and less on camper satisfaction. Additionally, our cabin was an older unit in need of some repairs.
Jul 30, 2015
Did not like manure smell around food. Water pressure too low on bathroom. Would have liked to have known about exit at top of hill that was a short cut to Hill City. Bath houses good. Pancake breakfast good. Beautiful scenery .
Jul 30, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Camp ground is very close to Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, and Custer State Park--all places we planned to visit. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2015
Very disappointed in tne change of spot when we got there. We had reserved the site we wanted (given a site number and everything), but when we got there we were given a different site that was farther away from the pool, jump pillow, etc which we wanted to be close to and that is why I called to reserve a site 5 months ahead of time. we were never told about the $10 fee to hold this site. third
Jul 30, 2015
Best KOA of our whole trip.
Jul 30, 2015
Motorcycles were loud. Dirty water. No footpaths. Fun for families with kids! Lots of activities in the campground and close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
No paddle boats or kayaks which our kids wanted to do most of all. No TV service as tree branch brushing camper. No wifi. No phone service. No electricity one night so no air conditioning. Site on a hill so sloped. Jumpy house and climbing ended too soon. Water slide rules: one said anything goes another very strict. Not enough mats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jul 30, 2015
I'd stayed here several summers with my boys when they were young. They've grown & left, & now my sister & brother & I take a 'family' vaca ea. yr. The 3 of us have an absolutely WONDERFUL time @ your KOA, just like my sons & I always did for many summers! There's so much to do right @ the KOA that one almost forgets there's 4 presidents waiting for attention also. Thanks for amazing memories.
Jul 30, 2015
We have stayed at your Campground for many Summers and loved it. This stay July 25th through the 29th was very disappointing. We feel they are more concerned with how many people they can fit into the campground instead of the quality of the amenities they provide. The sites feel crowded and some of the bath houses are outdated and need to be redone. We are unsure if we will return to this KOA.
Jul 30, 2015
This was crowded and busy, hard to access facilities. The campground was too large and our cabin was too small - not as nice as the cabins in the other two KOAs we booked along the way on our recent trip. The one shining bit about this campground was the very receptive and friendly staff who tried to accommodate.
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground. Clean, nicely kept, friendly staff and a lot to do for the kids. They had a nice variety of activities and great little shops offering a wide variety of items. Couple issues. We had a 28ft 5th wheel and they placed us in a spot we were not able to fit. We were traveling with a group of three, so when they moved us we were not together. Solves shower issue promptly.
Jul 30, 2015
only wish that the parking spots for the cabins were designated on which side of cabin to park and more space for the table to set up on flat surface
Jul 30, 2015
Our site was in an area with an spring so we had water all the time. All gravel sites but what was THE WORST no phone or TV reception! !!!!.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were to far from campsite. Horrible cell service with all carriers. No wifi! Even in supposed hotspot areas. I will not stay there again or recommend this location to anyone
Jul 30, 2015
Great for the family. It rained and some places were very muddy.
Jul 30, 2015
awesome place to set up base camp for the area's attractions. Lots of activities and extras here. staff was well developed and attentive to the campers. Our only complaint would be the Bathroom and Shower facilities. The size of this place should consider slightly larger facilities, people were dancing around the building waiting to relieve themselves. showers needed a little maintenance.
Jul 30, 2015
Too much chaos
Jul 30, 2015
Sites very small and close together just barely long enough for my 24 ft mh. No cover on sewer connection, was fixed but should not have been an issue. People not sympathetic at all. Booked 4 days stayed 2. Will not be back!
Jul 30, 2015
This was disappointing. While there were some fun activities like live music and panning for gold include in the rental, we felt like much was not-as-advertised. The cabin was dirty, facilities were FAR from our site and hard to access. Water went out. Wi-Fi was non existent even though it was promised. This campground was large and crowded, our cabin was cramped.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Overall, we had a great time!
Jul 30, 2015
The amenities for our family were perfect. The kids loved the bouncing pillow, pool, water slide, and more. We, adults, appreciated the laundry and food available on-site. Only problem was we could never get WiFi, even in the buildings we were told it was best available in.
Jul 30, 2015
Accommodating,courteous staff. Facilities very clean. WiFi leaves a lot to be desired
Jul 30, 2015
Great place for families! So much for the kids to do. We loved it!
Jul 30, 2015
The area was beautiful there were loads of great things for kids to do we were going to spend two nights but left after one we had no wifi which we needed and we had no water pressure for our trailer my husband checked it wasn't our hose and there was no pressure in the faucet
Jul 29, 2015
Our stay was great. The staff was very nice to deal with and helpful.We had a pull thu site with plenty of room. We stayed for two weeks and loved the surrounding area. We stayed in a 40ft fifth wheel.Yes we would stay there again. I gave it a 4 star because of no cell service and bad wifi service. Other than that we loved our stay.
Jul 29, 2015
Upon arrival, we were sent to 3 different sites that already had ppl set-up at them. After 1 1/2 hours, we were finally given a site, but 2 other parties were sent to our site and told they had been assigned there. Very disorganized & frustrating after a long day of traveling!
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Everything was great! Friendly helpful staff, clean facilities, fun for all. The only thing I wish was different is this: We left on a Monday (tie dye day) and neither of the 2 people I asked at the store could figure out whether/how we could buy the shirts and tie dye at home. If that's the worst thing, it's still a success! Thanks for taking such good care of us!
Jul 29, 2015
This was our 33rd stay in a camping cabin here. The grand kids love all the fun things there are for them to do. It is relaxing for us.
Jul 29, 2015
too small
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Everything was pretty great! The hot tub was full of brown water and not hot one day. And one of the bathrooms could use a remodel like the other bathrooms deeper in the campground. Otherwise I loved my spot by the creek and had a great time. Friendly staff!
Jul 29, 2015
Too loud, too busy. Our neighbors had 12 people and 3 tents in I single tent spot. Older children were hanging out at the playground past 11pm. Multiple campers asked them to be quiet before they finally dispersed. Lots of activities for kids but not worth it if you're only staying one night and don't want to spend all your time at the campground.
Jul 29, 2015
Very good a lot to do.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.