Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2016
Very nice and clean.Great staf
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
What would put it over-the-top is to have cable. Must have cable TV at all sites. As many things as there are to do, still missed not having television. We bragged about this campground to our son who plans to visit someday. Really enjoyed the country western guitar player. Enjoyed sitting by the fire, a very nice touch! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
This KOA is huge! Great hot tub and other fun things to do, friendly staff. First time in a kabin and it was very nice. Restrooms were clean but need some attention to stall door hardware. I liked that the showers were centrally located for males and females, not in separate restrooms.
Aug 12, 2016
Great spot for kids.
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying at your KOA for over 25 years and every year for the past 14 years and it has always been a great experience. We always look forward to our return trips. Thank you!
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying here for 4 years now and the camp is always kept up very nice.
Aug 11, 2016
It was so much more than I would ever think a campground would be. They have everything you could want in one place, the kids were always on the run from the water slides to the movies and bouncy pillow was so much fun. I highly recommend if you are camping stay here.
Aug 11, 2016
My only complaint was our spot. We booked on-line and paid for a "Premier" location what we got was the busiest corner in the campground. Last time we visited we loved being in the cabins in the woods this time not so much. Still love this place but if we go back we will be following up on location, I definitely think we didn't get what we paid for.
Aug 11, 2016
We had a great time. Too many things to do in our stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay on our next trip to the black hills.
Aug 11, 2016
No wifi,no cable tv, too noisy after 10:00pm, small laundry,in perspective to the size of the campground. Stayed 3 days all 3 were terrible!!
Aug 11, 2016
This campground is awesome!! Wish they had cell and Internet service.
Aug 11, 2016
Excellent facility and helpful staff. If you don't enjoy your stay, it's your fault
Aug 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Worth the $ for vacation however if lived in the area wouldn't pay that for wknd fun.
Aug 11, 2016
The stay at your Mount Rushmore location was a wonderful experience.
Aug 11, 2016
Nice place - arrived on day 1 of Sturgis so I think it was much more full than normal. Would recommend if you're able to take advantage of extra services (waterslides, horseback riding, etc) but if you're just sleeping, probably not worth the extra $$$.
Aug 11, 2016
Amazing! This is not a campsite but an amusement park. Lots of activities for kids of all ages.
Aug 11, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here! There's lots for the kiddos to do. The only negatives would be that the kids play area is in need of some freshening and there's quite a lot of campers.
Aug 11, 2016
Really enjoy ped this place for our base.....just wish we didn't have to pay $10 a day for amenities....we have no children and do not use the pools, etc.
Aug 11, 2016
Amazing
Aug 10, 2016
Camp ground was in very good location to the sites to see would have liked to see the campground road to be in better shape had areas of mud and standing water a little gravel would help in to use areas I know this as it have been there for at least the past 4 years otherwise we really like the facility
Aug 10, 2016
This was a fabulous RV/Campground. It was laid out beautifully and extremely well maintained. Very clean! Efficient and friendly staff everywhere! There were two stores, an Ice cream/pizza/wings deli that was a big hit with our kids of all ages!! There was a great restaurant that was reasonably priced! There was an AMAZING Fun Zone for the kids and a complete horse back riding program!
Aug 10, 2016
Premier RAC property. Kids loved it and didn't want to leave. Seemed like an army of people working here all very friendly and helpful. Great place but ultra expensive and everything but the $90 site costs extra. Still, wish we could've stayed longer
Aug 10, 2016
Great place to stay. Very convenient to many things to see. The on site car rental was very convenient.
Aug 10, 2016
Very nice park. Lots of things for all ages to do. The one draw back would be check your calendar before staying to make sure it's not Sturgis rally week. Lots of bikers, noisy when coming into or leaving the campground. But if this is your cup of tea this is the place to be! Would definitely come again. Also, we stayed an extra night on Sunday n the rate was $90.00. Maybe due to rally??????
Aug 10, 2016
Too big, crowded, no security
Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Resort style setup Options and amenities Proximity to attractions Cons: Pools were filthy Restrooms/Showers not the cleanliest
Aug 10, 2016
Everything was great....our site, the pool, water slide, events etc....except the showers were not cleaned the whole 4 days we were there. They were full of hair and dirt. I'm not sure if the bathrooms were cleaned either. That is my only complaint. Otherwise it was a great place for our family to stay!!
Aug 10, 2016
We were a bit disappointed in the hours of the splash park/slide on Sunday. We chose to stay here for those activities for our kids and barely got to use them due to the fact that they opened so late in the morning. Since we needed to get back on the road we didn't get much time to play.
Aug 10, 2016
No WiFi - No TV - No Cell Phone Service
Aug 10, 2016
The best camp ground we have stayed at. Well kept and clean. A lot of activities for every one in the family.
Aug 10, 2016
The campground is well maintained & facilities are clean. Lots of things to do for families with small children.
Aug 10, 2016
The location of this KOA was excellent! Large facility with many features. The issues we had was with the details. The bathrooms and showers were nasty to say the least. The water spigot leaked.,and general housekeeping was not up to par with all the other KOA,s we have used
Aug 10, 2016
Nice facility. Lots of activities. Very close to all attractions in area
Aug 10, 2016
The bathrooms were really bad...not clean and really small, the stool was broken as well. Granted we got there really late...but at night not impressed. Laundry facility dryers need updating...dryers did not all work. In morning saw the beautiful flowers planted and the many things to do at campsite...so the initial impression softened.
Aug 09, 2016
Our family of 5 really had a great time staying at your koa. This is a destination resort in it's own right. So many activities for kids and adults. So convenient with on-site eateries and stores. I was truly impressed with cleanliness of everything and friendliness of staff. Truly made some great vacation memories during our stay and will absolutely stay here again in the future!
Aug 09, 2016
Amazing! There were so many kid activities to do in the KOA itself, we arranged our schedule to hang out for a while. Clean, friendly, helpful and kind. We loved this resort and plan to come back to stay longer soon!
Aug 09, 2016
Campground is nice. Good activities for the kids. Yes it is more spendy and it is going to be busy during the summer. Campgrounds have good spots and bad spots. Wifi and Cell service are the worst part. No cell service on Verizon for me. Bring walkie talkie to communicate for kids if they go out on their own. Food is good and not that expensive if you eat at the restaurants.
Aug 09, 2016
It was great to have rental cars available on site. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Did what was best for us, not what made them the most money. So appreciate that! Already planning another trip west to stay here again!
Aug 09, 2016
It was great stay at this Koa!!!! It had lots to do and kids had a blast and one of best parts is the was no cell service at all and no one in my family was playing on there phone there hole time. Thanks for make Koa so great
Aug 09, 2016
We had a wonderful time! Our family enjoyed your many free activities as well as the few that cost. No need to go outside the campground however the surrounding area also had much to offer. We loved the sense of freedom we felt and the friendliness of the KOA staff!
Aug 09, 2016
303 was a terrific campsite!!! The mini-golf course could use some maintenance. Everything was easily accessible and clean! Thanks to the staff for a great stay. We had two guests staying with us from France whom we had brought with us who had never camped before and it was a great experience for them too!
Aug 09, 2016
Our stay was great!
Aug 09, 2016
Amenities outstanding...location exceptional...service top rate!!!
Aug 09, 2016
Hi Gang Had a short 2 day stay with You, the first day we were in site 455, the second day the gals in 456 left early so we came to the office and You let Us move to site 456, which was very helpful, the 455 site isnt the most user friendly- hard to find a level spot to accommodate both a 9x9 tent n the picnic table on level ground, luckily were not sitters!! Thanks again Paul
Aug 09, 2016
Very nice campground . Mount Rushmore and Crasy Horse memorial near by .
Aug 09, 2016
Nice campground. Only issue is cell phone signal was non exsistant thus making the wifi useless.
Aug 09, 2016
The campground was great and well taken care of. Just didn't like that was reserved two camp site (even call and talked to someone) and they wouldn't let us park next to each other. We were clear across the campground from each other.
Aug 09, 2016
The best KOA we have ever stayed at! My kids had an amazing time enjoying all the playgrounds and extras you had to offer. The pillow was their favorite. The staff was very nice and helpful and the park was beautiful and clean.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy