Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2015
It was a very lovely camp ground and very accommodating to our last minute request for a cabin. My only reservation was that on more than one occasion, I witnessed show utter frustration and irritation towards the new hire they were coaching and that I found to be unprofessional. It's not what you say, but how you say it. Otherwise, a totally positive experience.
May 30, 2015
Our family was impressed with this campsite. We are so happy we selected this location. We would recommend this site if you are touring the Black Hills. The Services and Staff are Outstanding. After a long day of site seeing it was nice to come back to a resort style full service site to unwind and rest for next day. Perfect for families.
May 30, 2015
Cabins are very nice, the staff is very friendly. The bathroom could be updated, though.
May 30, 2015
Women's restroom was not heated in less than 32 degree weather. Light at front door of women's was not working. Electrical outlet in cabin in front room did not work.
May 30, 2015
Beautiful campground. Nice and quiet. Beautiful view of the hills.
May 30, 2015
never been so disappointed at a KOA. Gave up a free campsite to get cable that was advertised just to be told that even with premier site cable was worthless. Since I had already given up a free site at another area I did stay 4 night but not again at this camp.
May 30, 2015
Over commercialized, COLD SHOWERS, no wifi and 2 times more the cost of other KOA facilities. I was NOT impressed.
May 29, 2015
Wonderful campground, employees are friendly, showers are clean and hot, lots of things to do and great places to eat.
May 29, 2015
May 28, 2015
We had floods and terrible rain, but the staff made the best of it. We will come back someday, hopefully with better weather. The campground was amazing with tons of great amenities.
May 28, 2015
The rain caused a lot of problems. The staff took good care of us. We paid for amenities that were closed because of weather. Wish there was some place for kids to play indoors when the weather is bad. Seemed pricey for small tent sites. Our tent wouldn't fit on the tent site. Had to get pull through RV site. Then the flood happened and we got a small cabin. Clean bathrooms and facilities.
May 28, 2015
Had a leaky focet, it was fixed in less than 30 minutes. Amazing service, outstanding views!
May 28, 2015
Enjoy very much our stay..would recommend everyone to stay at this camp and visit all that rushmore has to offer.
May 27, 2015
Rained entire time there. Staff made it as comfortable and convenient as they could, and never missed a beat to help us stay comfortable. Staff members were courteous and diligent. The location and environments they have there are really good. My 9 yr old son and 12 yr old daughter did not want to leave.
May 27, 2015
After busy days of sight-seeing, it was fun to make a campfire, roast s'mores, and rest at our camping cabin. We ate meals at our picnic table and enjoyed the view of the mountains from the swing. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Great location!!
May 27, 2015
I'm a single female traveler with safety as a priority. This campground is located very close to Mount Rushmore and is a very safe place to stay. The staff is friendly and the accommodations are clean. Sites are well maintained. I would definitely stay again!
May 27, 2015
My family n i stayed at ur KOA Memorial weekend and all it did was reason non stop.we had to evacuate our site (502) cuz it became flooded.but ur staff was AMAZING! they helped us in every possible way they could.every one of ur staff workers every where we went were so nice n very helpful worth any thing we needed.there was so much to do for activities n events.We had a great time n will be back.
May 27, 2015
Not much was open since it was b4 memorial day but the site is clean, beautiful & the ppl are so nice! I wish all KOAs were like this one!!
May 27, 2015
The only issue were the children behind us making noise until midnight
May 27, 2015
Rain effected stay. Water system was producing brown water. Decided not to take on water and moved on. Sites were muddy.
May 26, 2015
Nice campground. However, WiFi did not work and water was brown. The water could be due to the large amount that it rained.
May 26, 2015
Very kind and helpful .. My family will be back 😀
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Everyone was very nice and very helpful. Even when the weather was not.
May 26, 2015
Loved it!
May 26, 2015
We had an issue with not realizing that the Basic Cabins do not come with heat. Compounded with the fact we arrived very late. The gentleman in the white truck was a blessing...he was able to get my Parents into a Room and then guided us to our campsite. Your Team is Awesome!!!
May 26, 2015
Excellent KOA. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to camp near mount rushmore. There are lots of activities and the staff is friendly.
May 26, 2015
It rained the entire stay and we were not able to utilize the kid friendly attractions that we initially stayed at this KOA for. The cabin floors were very slippery and me and my children fell several times. The sofa sleeper bed mattress was so uncomfortable my son could not sleep on it. The towels racks fell off the wall when we used a towel as well as the toilet paper holder. The queen mattress
May 26, 2015
beautiful campground with all amenities anyone could ask for
May 26, 2015
May 25, 2015
Great KOA loved it I will be back and bring family members
May 25, 2015
So many fun activities and the staff were amazing. So helpful and accommodating.
May 25, 2015
A lot of activities for kids, but miss movies at night, especially on a rainy evening. Limited Wi-Fi. The mini golf course needs a make-over. It really shows it's age. Great pancake breakfast.
May 25, 2015
Wow, can't wait to come back. Would come in summer, we had snow. Still it was beautiful. Loved the restaurant.
May 25, 2015
The cabin prices were double that over other local campgrounds, (last minute plans didn't help). Bathrooms were located away from the cabins in the middle of the RV parking. While the staff was great, the overall experience would not make us come back to this campground again.
May 25, 2015
Great location right in between the Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments. Clean facilities and very nice employees. Would definitely stay there again.
May 25, 2015
This KOA is in a beautiful setting. It snowed while we were there and it was like a postcard. The staff was very helpful. We appreciated the little store that they have there for things we ran out of. The only complaint, and it is not their fault, is the cell service is very spotty. But, your are in the mountains so that is to be expected.
May 25, 2015
Very nice for any age camper. Lots of activities for kids and adults
May 24, 2015
What a great place. Friendly people, fantastic views, and super amenities.
May 23, 2015
We appreciated the "upgrade" to a better site, but, it would've been better if the "upgrade" wasn't right in front of the broken water line repair, with its associated backhoe...
May 23, 2015
We were there too early in the season and a lot of the camp wasn't up and running yet (ie: the pizza/ice cream store, the horse rides/buggy show). We would love to come back to experience it all. We loved our cabin and the proximity to all the attractions, especially Mt. Rushmore. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will hopefully be back one day. We will stay at a KOA again.
May 23, 2015
We were there before May 31st, so things weren't up and running yet, however the main disappointment was being park in a site filled with water, which we had to walk in to put pads down for our stabilizers and tongue stand, when there were site all around us that didn't have a water hole. Someone on a golf cart could have selected site not to rent, as you had plenty of sites available. Sorry
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
Friendly staff, but way over priced.
May 21, 2015
Best KOA stayed at. Exceptional amenities, indoor shower closets, hot water, very clean and well maintained, superb gift shop and restaurant, several extras in season. The views are spectacular of the Black Hills all around. This would have received a 5 star except with no cell service, Wi-Fi is mandatory for planning sight seeing and travel. Half their Wi-Fi was down the three days we stayed
May 21, 2015
Great facilities and thanks for doing your best about the wifi. Please upgrade the heaters in cabins.
May 21, 2015
STAFF WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
May 21, 2015
Very nice KOA. good location!
May 20, 2015
Great customer service.
May 19, 2015
Camp ground was great, staff was very friendly and scenery was awesome! Cant wait to come back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.