Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

1540 South Tomahawk Road

Apache Junction, AZ 85119

Reserve: 800-562-3404

Info: 480-982-4015

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 16, 2015
Very nice campground.
Apr 14, 2015
Very unreliable internet. Sewer stank all of the time! Mail not secure at all! Laundry room signs are wrong. Unsafe cacti all over the place. When staff were asked about assistance, we were told that the "owners did not care and would not do anything." Worst KOA I have ever stayed at!
Apr 14, 2015
My wife and I, as well as our family visitors enjoyed our four days at the KOA. Everything was perfect and our hosts were more than accommodating. We'll be making reservations again before the end of the year.
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 13, 2015
Excellent campground, one of the best! Colorful blooming flowers and shrubs, beautifully manicured park.Friendly hosts. Lives up to expectations for KOA parks.
Apr 13, 2015
2nd time here. Clean, friendly staff, close to everything..we will continue to stay at this KOA! Thanks!
Apr 10, 2015
acomodations were grate, the area was well kept the veiw was ok for being in town, there needs to be a gill at the campsights to use and we really missed not having a fire ring to have a small fire to keep bugs away. showeres were suficent and well kept. all and all a grate time.
Apr 10, 2015
Whole campground in disrepair, dog's excerment everywhere, bathrooms dirty, at times toilets plugged up! WiFi non existent ! Pool with bugs! The owner does not wants to see the problems and insists everything is ok. Will never stay there again !!
Apr 09, 2015
good! friendly hosts - internet very very poor
Apr 08, 2015
Apr 08, 2015
easy to find - great hospitality!
Apr 07, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpfull.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
This was our 4th year staying at the AJ KOA. Once again, the KOA was very clean, and the groundskeepers kept everything running smoothly. The only complaint is about the female staff at the office. They are very slow with the computer and in fact cannot seem to be able to make bookings properly....also very slow at serving customers. Other than that, we highly recommend this KOA .
Apr 06, 2015
very noisy near busy roads.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
This is a nice park and we will return, but it is very dusty. A little concrete or paved roads would make a big difference.
Apr 05, 2015
3 1/2 stars for the site itself. Internet was very bad and that is an important factor for us.
Apr 05, 2015
Pool was murky for a while, but got cleaned up eventually. Staff was grumpy and basically lied to me when I asked to check to see if I could pick another site. They said they were full so could not change anyway. Many sites were unused that night and all of the 8 or 9 nights we stayed there. You would thin that such a loyal customer would get some options.
Apr 05, 2015
All of the workers very helpful. We were disappointed that the office is closed from 11:30-3:00 because the kids wanted to get souvenirs the last day when we were leaving but no one would come up to allow this.(the hours on the phone were different than what was listed on the door sign.
Apr 05, 2015
Clean, friendly , and beautiful scenery !!!!!
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice facility. Close driving distance to Superstition Mountains.
Apr 04, 2015
e enjoyed our stay very much. Would have enjoyed it more had we had good WIFI.
Apr 04, 2015
Enjoyed the stay. However, being so close to such a large metro area, something needs to be done about the internet access.
Apr 04, 2015
perfect!!!!
Apr 03, 2015
This is definitely for older couples (55+) campsite. Did not have activities for kids besides the pool.
Apr 03, 2015
I love the landscaping, the staff, the location. We don't use the pool, but it looked inviting for someone who like to swim. We have stayed here twice and we make it our home anytime we visit the Mesa/Apache Junction area!
Apr 03, 2015
Nice open sites and friendly staff.
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Staff was rude. rec room opened till 8:30 but office closes at 7. found the on call rep and he wouldn't open the rec room for me. said office needs to be open. My kids were in the hot tub with me sitting in the chair next to them. the staff member walks right pass me and starts asking my kids how old are they and they can't be in there without an adult. I told the staff they where my kids.
Apr 01, 2015
We have been staying there for about 10 years. Its always friendly. the only thing is the water pressure in the showers.
Apr 01, 2015
The site was good sized - long, wide, and level. The park was easy to maneuver in my motorhome. The staff was friendly during check-in and assisting me receiving mail.
Apr 01, 2015
We had a very nice stay!!
Mar 31, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Most everyone was quite friendly.
Mar 31, 2015
Mar 31, 2015
I stay with the Devos brothers and have neen doing so for 4 years and it's been a great experience.
Mar 31, 2015
Check in was a breeze, the woman at the counter was extremely nice and helpful. They personally escort you to the site. Not much room between sites, I guess this is normal for KOA. Pretty noisy, right by the old hwy. Women's showers have very low water pressure. The campground & pool were kept very clean, making the stay comfortable. So glad we found KOA, no other campgrounds allowed children!
Mar 31, 2015
Excellent, staff very friendly. Campgrounds clean very well kept Clean bathrooms.
Mar 31, 2015
Tent sites are too close together and unbearably exposed. So hot, no escape from heat of the sun.
Mar 31, 2015
There was absolutely NO information on things to do in the area. The WiFi was very slow making it difficult to do any research. Personnel in the office weren't knowledgable of the Renaissance, the Easter Pageant, Arizona Opry, etc. The pet area is very small - not much of a place to walk or play with pets. Restrooms and pool were very clean. Sites were clean and well maintained.
Mar 31, 2015
Nice and clean good helpers, Debbie, Mike
Mar 31, 2015
I reserved a pull thru site but received a back in site when we arived. Confirmation email had pull thru. Staff said "well we are really full!" We arrived after hours and our map did not have the bathroom code. Went to the store 30 minutes before closing and they were already closing the register so I couldn't buy anything. Keep going - stay somewhere else.
Mar 31, 2015
They have done a great job with the vegetation at this KOA. Staff was friendly but we had issues with our sites. Booked two nights then another and problems occurred. Seemed like a communication problem amongst the staff. Also a water problem while we were there. Hate to give a negative review but things could have gone smoother.
Mar 30, 2015
All amenities clean and working,friendly staff, and nice size sights.
Mar 30, 2015
Very enjoyable and Quiet. Just wish check out was a few hours later so you can enjoy your last day there. 11am came to quick leaving no time to enjoy the morning . But over all a 10
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
Lots of sun and fun.
Mar 30, 2015
The staff was nice. It was packed but it didn't seem like it. We had a good time and would recommend this K.O.A. WE WILL BE BACK!
Mar 30, 2015
Well run, beautiful and clean - my favorite KOA. Immaculate upkeep and wonderful desert landscaping. The best KOA anywhere.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.