Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3404

Info: 480-982-4015


1540 South Tomahawk Road

Apache Junction, AZ 85119

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 04, 2016
I would consider this place more of a KOA lite. Showers and bathroom were clean. Tent area was more of a group site for everyone. Very small spaces for people. Hardly anyone else at campsite. If it was busier, then you would be very close to everyone with tents. Still a good place for camping on a road trip. Just don't expect something like the bigger KOA's closer to some national parks.
Jul 25, 2016
May 31, 2016
Friendly staff, clean camp site
May 28, 2016
Wonderful people and wonderful place!!
May 27, 2016
Always a favorite place to stop. The facilities are ckean, the pool is nice, camp is clean and staff are friendly. Thank you!
Apr 25, 2016
Only complaint is that the reserved tent spots weren't spaced out (we were surrounded by other tent campers, notwithstanding there being open unused spots on the other end).
Apr 02, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Mar 31, 2016
Friendly staff good facilities just a bit on the expensive side.
Mar 26, 2016
Decent WiFi is crucial in 2016 and was lacking here
Mar 21, 2016
First ever KOA visit and it definitely won't be the last!
Mar 21, 2016
We enjoyed the pool and hot tub very much. The camping could use some more dirt and less rocks to sleep on, and an official lights out would be good. We did enjoy our stay and the price was just right.
Mar 20, 2016
Code to restrooms changed and office was closed when we returned to our site. We were lucky to get code from another guest. A personal text message or email note would have been more considerate to those of us not informed of change until after hours.
Mar 18, 2016
We enjoy the location of this KOA. It is very close to lots of shopping and amenities, as well as to various attractions and nice motorcycling roads. We are tenters; there's not a lot of shade and it does get hot but there's always the pool to cool off in!
Mar 14, 2016
We stayed there several times many years ago, and it seems to have had little maintenance since then. Toilets and sinks didn't drain well--but the worst thing was the WiFi system, which was the slowest I have ever seen in my life. We won't be back.
Mar 14, 2016
Clean restrooms and nice hot showers. Good rec room too.
Mar 08, 2016
Nice and clean site, site was a bit small... restrooms and showers were clean... quiet at night... i wish there were fire pits. overall we had a very nice time.
Mar 06, 2016
The bathrooms were very clean
Dec 01, 2015
The staff is friendly and helpful. The property is well maintained.
Nov 01, 2015
I reserved a tent campsite. According to the website there was going to be a picnic table and a fire grate. When I arrived the camp spot was no bigger than my van, there was no table and no fire pit. The tiny little camp sites were pointless. There was no was I could park my car in the spot (required) and set up a tent. It was so disappointing I left and got a campsite at Lost Dutchman State Park.
Oct 26, 2015
The campground was very clean, nice restrooms, nice pool, and friendly staff. Only bummer was they don't allow campfires... That's half the fun of camping!
Jul 16, 2015
the bathrooms were nice and clean,the pool felt good....grass for the tents would have been nice though.
Jul 08, 2015
It would be nice if more attention was given to the ladies room. On a positive note the sunrise was very peaceful :)
May 03, 2015
As provided in the note included in the payment envelope with our #35. Arriving at 8:30 pm we occupied 'slot' 122: there was no electricity. The bathroom facilities have code locks: no code was provided. We wished to empty our grey tank on leaving at 6:30 am: the dump facility was locked. Never again. 'Nuff said!
Apr 10, 2015
acomodations were grate, the area was well kept the veiw was ok for being in town, there needs to be a gill at the campsights to use and we really missed not having a fire ring to have a small fire to keep bugs away. showeres were suficent and well kept. all and all a grate time.
Mar 31, 2015
Tent sites are too close together and unbearably exposed. So hot, no escape from heat of the sun.
Mar 30, 2015
The tent spaces are very close together, making for a loud and sleepless night, even when your neighbors are trying to be quiet.
Mar 25, 2015
We stayed here last year for several days and really liked it so came back this year. Great staff, good location close to everything we wanted, motorcycle friendly and we met great fellow campers. Wifi could be better but otherwise, a perfect spot for us to camp with our tent!
Mar 21, 2015
Our stay was delightful,. Very clean facility, very helpful staff, quiet campground.
Nov 10, 2014
Very nice tent spot,would have liked to have had a fire pit but that is the fault of the city not the camp ground. Very clean facilities and friendly staff. Loved my stay. Cleanest showers in the west!!! Thanks!!
Sep 07, 2014
Marvelously courteous and friendly managers (Faye/Carl). Well-manicured and clean facility. Loved having the pool to (mostly) myself for 2 days. Will come back again! Beautiful desert KOA location.
Sep 03, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Really helpful and accommodating staff and great facilities too!
Jul 21, 2014
Personnel très agréable !!!
Jun 01, 2014
We pulled in late and left early in the morning. We completed a self check-in/out with ease. The ground has excellent, clean bathroom facilities and flat tent sites. Highly recommended.
May 03, 2014
When checking in I was told that it was that it was the owners policy that only one tent could be put on a tent site. There was two of us traveling on our motorcycles and we each had a tent. I have traveled throughout the western states staying in KOA's and haver never been told that only one tent was allowed on a tent site. I would not recommend this campground because of this.
Apr 13, 2014
Nice place, poor location. Road noise is excessive, it's like sleeping in a parking lot.
Apr 03, 2014
This KOA is in a great location, near Tonto National Forest, and the Superstition wilderness. The laundry and restrooms were clean and in good repair. The dry tent sites are in an unfortunate location near the entrance, so every RV and diesel truck drove past, including those making an early departure. Also the quiet hours were not reinforced and loud music played late into the night.
Mar 31, 2014

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy