Lava Hot Springs KOA

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
SPACES ARE TIGHT, WATER AND SEWER ARE ON OPPOSITE SIDES MAKING HOOK UP DIFFICULT. STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, AND THE AREA IS CLEAN. NOISY TRAIN NEARBY, BUT NOT ALOT YOU CAN DO ABOUT THAT.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Great fun! Nice location near the river and nice town. Didn't enjoy the hornets though, four family members got stung. Train real close, noise at times.
Aug 12, 2013
While this location is set nicely next to an enjoyable river, the facility itself is lacking in many areas. Few cement pads are available and the ones they do have are only about 10 feet long making any decent size motorhome sit on gravel. The most unfortunate item however are the bathrooms/showers. They are extremely run down and seem to always be a bit on the dirty side. While this site does
Aug 10, 2013
I selected KOA as it seem to have all the things we needed for 1st time in our trailer! I also secured it because it had WIFI as I needed to check in on my laptop for a very important project but it was not working at all! Very very disappointed! Then water issue first day we were there created a problem for grand kids! For the price we paid, it was not worth it! Thought there would be more shade
Aug 10, 2013
Can't wait to return next year!
Aug 09, 2013
Campground was awesome, very clean. We would like to suggest that a license plate number should be required at check-in to help identify who is actually staying in the space. We were mistakenly charged an extra night that we were not there, due to confusion over who was in which spot. The new owners were very cordial about it and refunded the money for that.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Campgrounds were very clean, and improvements were even being made as we stayed here. Our site was next to the river. So perfect. The owner was friendly and and attentive to all our needs. We were within walking distance of town and tubing down the river, which was a blast. We also did some fishing and had a relaxing & fun time. Would stay at this KOA again for sure.
Aug 08, 2013
I don't want to recommend you because then EVERYONE WILL WANT TO COME HERE!!! You have done a wonderful job with the renovation of the west side. Love the 30 and 50 Amp service and new water faucets. WiFi does not quite reach to the western edge of the campground.
Aug 08, 2013
We stop here on our way home from Yellowstone and loved this KOA. This was our first time at Lava Hot Springs. I was kind of dreading staying here after reading some of the reviews but I quickly realized I this is a great place to stay. Yes, you have a train or two go by but we did not notice. Just 3 hours from our home we will be back for sure.
Aug 06, 2013
It was okay I know they have new owners that are making it better!
Aug 06, 2013
The freight trains that ran all night long are enough alone to never stay at this KOA.
Aug 05, 2013
I think there ought to be a fairly early time to have campfires extinguished completely. One across from us smoldered well into the night and was really obnoxious. The people went into their rented cabin and didn't have to smell it that late.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We were happy to have a pull thru but the one we had had the hook ups on the opposite side while the sites on each side of us had them on the correct side. Also, it hard to get into restrooms. If the showers were separate that would help.
Aug 04, 2013
Very clean and well maintained.
Aug 04, 2013
We were disappointed that we did not have a table to use at our site. We were impressed with the laundry/bathroom building until the line to use one of the 5 bathrooms formed in the evening and again in the morning. Perhaps one of the rooms could be used for the toilet only because 5 people taking showers definitely makes the wait too long if you just need to use a toilet.
Aug 04, 2013
Very nice campground and close to the big and hot pools.
Aug 04, 2013
The remote bathhouse was excellent in the layout and was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were a little close together where our slide out did encroach on the picnic table of our neighbor but did not affect us.The water and electric hookups were located on the opposite side from normal to where our water hose and power cable had to be run under our trailer.
Aug 03, 2013
It was perfect. I wish I could have stayed a week.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
The front bathrooms need to be updated. There is no laundry room. We were camped by the office. Very inconvenient to take cloths up the hill. Our spot was very nice. But the lawn needed watering.
Jul 30, 2013
The facilities were wonderful and met our needs perfectly. Our host and hostess were the greatest in every way. I've already recommended it to my siblings' for their reunion.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
had a rain storm so we had no water or electricity for a while.
Jul 29, 2013
We stay at this KOA every year. This year there were a lot of noisy people up well after midnight, I kept waiting for the camp host to make their rounds and ask people to be quiet. This year was exceptionally noisy and a little too much for my family. The camp hosts never showed. Otherwise, there were great improvements to the overall condition of the facilities over previous years.
Jul 29, 2013
Love the improvements. Love the garbage placement. Kept very clean and well groomed. Nice to guests.
Jul 29, 2013
The bathroom could have been cleaner, & the constant trains running through kept the weekend from being peaceful. However, our sites were shaded & beautiful. We also loved the short walk into Lava.
Jul 29, 2013
Very pleasant and helpful personnel, our check in and check out were handled quickly and efficiently. Thanks. The spots are very close together and our fire ring was against the street, so we couldn't sit all the way around it. We were in #80. We didn't use the showers or restrooms so no comment on these. Just pretty noisy as they are so close.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
The restrooms were too far from our campsite. By the tent area there was a dangerous drop into the river. There wasn't any fencing or anything to prevent a child from falling. If a child fell from that spot it would be fatal. This was a major concern for the entire stay. The pricing was high. We had to pay for family members to stay in our RV. Who camps with only two people? Disappointed!
Jul 27, 2013
camp ground was nice. Very much enjoyed the rafting down the river! Best part. Needed more adult supervision behind counter. Four "very young girls" did nothing to promote campsite. stood at counter waiting for help with no one else in office. girls on facebook....if it wasn't for rafting down river would probably not go back.
Jul 26, 2013
Love what the new owners have done so far. It was great to have grass at the sites near the river. We enjoyed the short walk to town. I do wish the lower bathrooms were as nice as the upper. Also my husband didn't like where the sewer hook ups were located. The staff were friendly and helpful. The KOA store was well stocked. And they had complimentary coffee. We booked a trip to return next week.
Jul 26, 2013
People at desk are great. Lower camp spots to west are great The upper area we stayed in leave room for improvement .
Jul 26, 2013
Really enjoyed the river frontage site. Thanks!!
Jul 25, 2013
This is a nice campground beautiful trees nice river sites. However when I made my reservation I told them my length 36ft and asked if I would be able to keep my truck attached they said it would be no problem. When I arrived my site was way undersized for a 32 foot RV. I was lucky to fit in it without damaging my unit and others. KOA's mistake. The bathrooms were also not great.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Very noisy (trains & trucks) and cramped. Site extremely narrow.
Jul 24, 2013
The staff were super friendly & helpful and it was clean but the location of this campground is horrible. Trains were screeching down the hill all night so we were woken numerous times and the garbage cans were right beside us and a garbage truck came to empty them at 6:45am, waking us all up yet again. I would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone who wants to sleep at night.
Jul 24, 2013
We had a great stay at your campground. Your facilities were great.
Jul 24, 2013
We were on the best sites... 14 and 15. These are perfect for our large family and right on the river. We had a great time running the river!
Jul 24, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay there. Very clean campground!
Jul 24, 2013
Le KOA avait fait une erreur avec notre réservation et disait que c'était de notre faute. Ils voulaient nous charger pour la nuit mais c'était de leur faute. Il a fallu s'obstiner durant plus d'une heure pour qu'ils acceptent de ne pas nous charger. Les égouts ont mal fonctionnés. Il y a eu un problème d'eau. Le wifi ne fonctionnait pas bien. La machine a changé n'avait plus de change.
Jul 22, 2013
We enjoyed the many campground services and improvements.The staff was very accommodating as well as helpful. Bart & Connor, Paradise, Utah
Jul 22, 2013
The campground was fine, our site was great. However the undisclosed proximity to the highway and railroad tracks with trains running every 15 minutes and squeeling breaks to slow down made it IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. We did not stay the second night. We will return to Lava Hot Springs but not to KOA. It makes me leery of choosing a KOA againg so I won't be using any of your properties.
Jul 22, 2013
We stayed for 5 nights and had perfect service and enjoyed every aspect of the RV Park and personnel. We definitely will return there as often as possible. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2013
The ladies restroom had T-h-r-e-e stalls, which might not have been so bad, except the door in the middle would not shut, or stay shut, hampering ALL stalls. It wouldn't have taken much to move the frame back, making the stall useable without stress. Attention to detail. Not all sites had tables, mine was one of those. Being along the shore and the view with it was delightful!
Jul 22, 2013
it was awesome everyone was great to work with.will stay there again on our next outing to lava hot springs
Jul 22, 2013
New favorite place to take trailer. New owners are amazing, their employees are great too. Coffee goes fast in the morning.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.