Lava Hot Springs KOA

100 Bristol Park Lane

Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246

Reserve: 800-562-3642

Info: 208-776-5295

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
This is a wonderful place to visit and the KOA is beautifully placed along the river. The staff is outstanding.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
This is a great campground...nice location, well managed, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our campsite right on the Portneuf River and enjoyed out stay. The campground is within walking distance of the town and there are lots of activities for kids in town...floating the river, waterpark, zip lines, etc. We are looking forward to our next stay!!
Aug 27, 2015
Nice campgrounds with clean bathrooms and showers. We were on the upper campground. Easy pull through site. We will stay here again but probably down by the river next time.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Needs cable TV to be 4-star and hot tub to be 5-star.
Aug 25, 2015
Obviously the train noise was an issue. Our biggest issue was on Sunday afternoon. The KOA was emptying out and there were only 5 of 30 sites taken by us. We asked to use the shade in the spot next to us. They said "no" for fear that they might need the site. Uh...the place was a ghost town. And no party of 50 RVs rolled in unannounced Sunday night. It was petty, wrong, and short-sighted.
Aug 24, 2015
This KOA used to be spacious but like others they have crammed RV and Tents into every square inch possible. This will be our last time using this location.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time, the staff are all very friendly and willing to help with your needs. This KOA has improved 100% since we started staying here 7 years ago. Love it here, other than the trains that are noisy.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a terrific time and the staff was very helpful and courteous
Aug 24, 2015
Expensive and noisy
Aug 23, 2015
excellent service. My family and I stay here twice yearly. very clean.
Aug 23, 2015
nice customer service and clean campground. We stay there twice a year.
Aug 21, 2015
Camp sponsored activities for kids were GREAT**T shirts with KOA 100th celebration tie dye fun** many improvement ,upgrades noted. Public showers/restrooms impecably clean
Aug 21, 2015
Clean cabins, clean bathrooms. Friendly staff
Aug 21, 2015
Lava Hot Springs KOA is the most beautiful campground we have ever stayed at. The staff was very helpful. This river runs through the campground. There are things close by to do. Very peaceful place. We are coming back next summer. Great experience. Loved it. Thank you.
Aug 21, 2015
Great spot close to the river. The only drawback is the trains can be loud.
Aug 20, 2015
Not the best customer service..... terrible camping spot.
Aug 20, 2015
The staff are always very friendly and helpful. We love all the improvements the new owners have done in such a short time. We look forward to seeing what they have planned next. We would love to see more trees. My only complaint was you were out of ice-cream snickers bars. Thanks for the fun camping trip. :)
Aug 18, 2015
Mooie plaatsen. Goed sanitair. Vriendelijk personeel.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Traveling from California to Bozeman Mt. to take grandson to college. Making road trip with family for vacation. This place had something for everyone. Fishing right out back of trailer, river rafting, cute town with lots of restaurants and cute stores. Would definitely come back.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Very clean! Very friendly & helpful staff. Because of it's location it's not particularly "quiet"...i.e. the highway, railroad & river. In spite of that, we had a wonderful stay. Lots to do in area.
Aug 18, 2015
Staff is amazing helpful and friendly. Cleal rest rooms and campground.
Aug 18, 2015
We had a reunion. The accommodations were mostly great. My 2 cousins & family stayed in a cabin that sleeps 6. There was a pull out couch with a total crappy mattress that had been fixed multiple times. The mattress MUST be changed! My Cousin talked to the manager of the KOA after the 1st night & 2 times after that. We all stayed 5 nights and the mattress was never replaced!! Replace your manager

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. The sofa sleeper has been replaced with the same one KOA Corporate puts in their cabins.
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful, beautiful location! Sites are very small, and some hook-ups difficult to reach... Would love to see more private shower arrangements
Aug 17, 2015
Overall we had a good stay and will probably return. Some concerns: The WiFi was poor, we stayed in the lower section, it worked great Friday night, but not really at all after that. Also, We had 5 spots (4,5,7,8,9) with full hookups that were similar sizes. Some spots were $45/night, some were $63/night, not sure why the difference. $23 to add a tent to a trailer site is quite steep as well.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a great experience, clean, friendly, willing to accommodate us and our family. We plan on staying at lava Koa from here on out on our yearly trip to lava. Hot springs.
Aug 16, 2015
Expensive, but much nicer than Jackson KOA.
Aug 16, 2015
The workers were friendly and it was very clean. But the location is terrible. The extremely loud trains and very busy highway right next to it were so annoying and loud. After quiet time a large group of campers were up until 2 am talking loud. Because of the above it was 3 miserable nights. It was also too expensive!!
Aug 15, 2015
Best KOA of our whole trip to Yellowstone. Lots of local activities. We wished we had spent less time at other campgrounds and more time at here. Kids had a blast on the rope swing and floating the river. Only negative was the lack of TV, but had decent wifi so we could still get news. Good store with lots of items
Aug 15, 2015
Too close to the train Couldn't sleep at all. Campers too close together.
Aug 15, 2015
beautiful scenery. Excellent bathrooms. The highway is the backyard of some sites. The noise of trucks going up hill and the many times recurring trains make it almost unbearable. Also, the price is too high, but we knew that before we got there. Been there twice.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Have given this such a low rating as we did not get any sleep because of the train tracks which are across the road from the site - and the trains run ALL night. Also, the dump outlets are located so awkwardly that we could not position our RV to use it and had to drive to another empty site to use theirs. Wouldn't go back to this one sorry
Aug 12, 2015
The setting along the river was beautiful. Walking proximity to town was perfect. Ideallic and will look forward to coming back and staying longer!! Thanks for the great KOA Kamping!!
Aug 11, 2015
We come to Lava Hot Springs often for our family reunion. The campground isn't as nice as it use to be. Many of the picnic tables are broken, with chipped paint. If you're not careful you'll end up getting dumped on the ground or all your stuff will get dumped on the ground when someone gets up from the table. We may consider other campgrounds next time.
Aug 10, 2015
Great KOA! Easy walk to hot springs. Yes there is a highway and train - that made it easy to get to. Friendly and clean!
Aug 10, 2015
Great people and facilities! But I had made reservations online and they gave my spot to another RV. Still an ok spot but not the one I reserved.
Aug 09, 2015
We had the best time here. Thank you.
Aug 08, 2015
Very nice riverfront camping spot, helpful staff, loads of river rafting close by. Hot pools were close and clean.
Aug 08, 2015
Camp ground was awesome! Train going by blowing it's horn every hour,not so awesome.
Aug 07, 2015
NO HOT WATER
Aug 06, 2015
Awesome, dog friendly, peaceful setting, nestled among trees and a quiet, rippling river.
Aug 05, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
The campground staff were very nice, friendly,the bathroom/showers were the nicest I think that I have ever seen in a campground, we had a very nice time!
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Very clean, courteous, friendly employees
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.