Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn. KOA

77 Fox Farm Road

Wilmington, NY 12997

Reserve: 800-562-0368

Info: 518-946-7878

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2015
Thank you...GREAT. .
Aug 14, 2015
We decided to take a quick trip to the Adirondacks to celebrate a birthday. For a one night stay we thought we'd try your KOA. Since the reviews were great, it seemed as if we couldn't go wrong. Our Deluxe Cabin was simply perfect for the night. The Cabin was spotless, the campground very tidy, and the hot breakfast the following morning was delicious and reasonable. We will stay again!!
Aug 14, 2015
The check in person was very arrogant and did not make me feel welcome at all. Each time I have dealt with the front office they tend to deal with campers this way
Aug 13, 2015
We are frequent campers to this camp ground. We are extremely pleased with the camp ground, the staff and the cleaniness of the store and grounds. The managers that run the grounds are extremely pleasant and efficient. I would recommend this camp ground to all my friends and family. Thank you.
Aug 13, 2015
Escorting to sites is a nice touch. We have been here for 9 years so we don't need it. However, it helped many get to their sites efficiently. Trash should be picked up at sites all day not just before 10 am.
Aug 13, 2015
We visit this KOA every year We enjoy the area and love this campground Managers Chip & Julie are the jewels of this KOA They make you feel like family and their hospitality is outstanding. We look forward to our visit next year.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful stay, as always, but our site wasn't cleaned before we arrived. We loaded up a bag with the debris (two wet socks, can of bug spray, bottle caps, paper trash, and a bottle) that was around the site. These items were in plain view and should've been easily spotted by whomever checks the sites. Site was P08 and we checked in on 8/8/15.
Aug 13, 2015
It was one of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Sites were big, clean, and quiet.
Aug 13, 2015
Everything is so convenient and well thought. The staff is very helpful. Plenty of space for privacy. Awesome that dogs are allowed: our 2 dogs loved it as much as we did! Too bad the weather didn't cooperate as much as we hoped, but that can't be helped.
Aug 13, 2015
Stayed at a tent site in R-street - third time in that very good area. Everything was fine and this is an excellent campground. Showers were a bit under-ventilated. Small problem of extra charges on my bill were quickly corrected.
Aug 13, 2015
This KOA is cleaner than most. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Not much grass; the campsites are mostly dirt as they all have lots of shade from trees. 9 miles from Lake Placid proper.
Aug 13, 2015
I just regret not being able to stay longer. We were there for a week 10 yrs ago. We probably wont wait that long again. You guys are right up there with Mt. Rushmore and West Yellowstone.
Aug 13, 2015
We rented a cabin for our family of 5 and absolutely LOVED IT!!! The cabin was very clean and well equipped with all the necessaties. The staff was friendly and helpful with any questions we had during our stay.
Aug 12, 2015
We have been to this campground 4 times. We did like that we were taken to our site and then went back to do the check in - very efficient.
Aug 12, 2015
We stayed last year and came back this year. Very nice campground and employee are very helpful.
Aug 12, 2015
I had never been to such a large active campground as this KOA. It was clean, very safety oriented and LOTS of activities in and outside of the campground! I do have an issue regarding the cabin rental. I feel that if the cabin can sleep 6 or 8 then there should be no $6.50 fee charged until it goes beyond the number it can sleep!!!
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Enjoyed the stay and would be back again. However two issues we had were: WiFi is nonexistent, we could not connect Bathrooms were very dirty and should be cleaned, especially when very busy, more than once a day.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Nice campground in a great location
Aug 12, 2015
Very clean campgrounds, very well though out layout. Cabins were cozy
Aug 12, 2015
The main batrooms at officer were very good, the out ling ( Row F were sloppy, and one was without paper. The roads are in fair condition. Still the camping was great 8/10/15
Aug 11, 2015
Best place we have been.
Aug 11, 2015
This was the first time we stayed at a KOA. Our cabin was very clean and the bed beautifully made (nicer than some posh hotels we've stayed in). Thank you Mary & Carol! We had everyting we needed, from outdoor grill to shampoo, to make our stay great. My husband and I look forward to returning next year.
Aug 11, 2015
Very clean, no issues with noise at night. Friendly staff, helpful to find things to do.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice sites, however kids moved in a nearby site and were running around playing hide and seek till very late. Motorcycles were up and going early.
Aug 11, 2015
Quiet with a friendly and accomodating staff but the infrastructure does not support the number of campers. For example, we gave up on trying to get a shower in the bathhouse on Saturday evening due to lines and the pool was too small and crowded for the number of swimmers. Hardening the trailer and RV sites with additional gravel would cut down on dust.
Aug 11, 2015
What a great camp ground, lcation and view of the mountains. Thank you Janice & Claude
Aug 11, 2015
Clean and nice place to stay. A little crowded but expected on a saturday night during the summer.
Aug 11, 2015
Overall, the quality of the campground was pretty good. Unfortunately, our tent site was located right in front of the washrooms and the bright light from the washroom shone through our tent all night affecting our sleep.
Aug 11, 2015
The campground was very nice but sites were a little to close for my liking we did not have much privacy as well bathrooms on the Saturday were a mess with feces floating about in washroom areas turned myself as well as the fellow campers right off. The breakfast was well done and very reasonable .
Aug 11, 2015
Enjoyed the breakfast served at the lodge!
Aug 11, 2015
We found the same quality of cleanness, tranquility and privacy we enjoy in state park plus there is never a "temps mort" for our children. This time, ping pong and pool were a hit! We love that the showers work without coins and everything is set up to make family camping easy and enjoyable. We took a morning run through the whole site and think we will probably try a cabin in the fall sometime
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. There is a lot of space at each site and the campground is clean. It was great to have showers there. Our campsite was next to the RVs though, next we will reserve a spot that further out in the wilderness now that we know.
Aug 11, 2015
My only complaint was that the tent site they assigned us was between two rows of trailers, and we learned too late in the stay that there were lots of other open tent sites in more wooded areas. We are only guessing they gave us the one they did because of our late arrival -- it made it easy to locate at night.
Aug 10, 2015
As always, the KOA was great. We stayed in a deluxe cabin, and the beds, porch, decor, and privacy was awesome. Having a grill was really convenient, more than I thought it would be. The fan could use some fine tuning and the toilet ran unless I unstuck it.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Clean campground, well staffed, nice sites, beautiful area. Pool could use some repair but still greatly enjoyed! Will be back!
Aug 10, 2015
Our cabin was clean and very comfortable. It was well stocked with kitchen tools. The wi-fi didn't work in our cabin, which was a source of frustration. The area around the cabin was quiet and it was very easy to relax there.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
First time staying here and we enjoyed it very much. Will probably do it again in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
We love the KOA and plan on staying with them again next year!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time this year. Kids had a blast and craft room made them very happy.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a great time at your wonderfull campground! My only suggestion would be to have your garbage and recyling picked up later in the morning. It was very noisy early in the morning.
Aug 10, 2015
We love the KOA! best location in the high peaks
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent KOA! Great location, clean facilities, fun for the kids. Only recommendation - pool could use a little tlc.
Aug 10, 2015
Overall this campground is great. I would have liked a couple more bathrooms closer to our site. Unfortunately there were only 4 bathrooms - 2 of them being showers. Also a bit more care could go into the cleaning of the restrooms. Overall they were good. One day, a Saturday, so it was busy they were not attended to. This lead to running out of toilet paper and a very muddy floor.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great stay. This was my 4th stay at a KOA and they never disappoint. The site was clean and quiet. We had great neighbors. The site was close to the river, bathroom and pool.
Aug 10, 2015
I gave this stay four stars. I would have given it five stars except for one KOA staff member. In all my many stays KOAs, mostly registered under a different name this was the worst stay ever. One particular staff member, I believe his name was JIm was rude, obnoxious and arrogant. I submitted a verbal complaint to the site manager and he informed me that there were other complaints and he wou

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.