Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn. KOA

77 Fox Farm Road

Wilmington, NY 12997

Reserve: 800-562-0368

Info: 518-946-7878

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2015
This KOA is cleaner than most. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Not much grass; the campsites are mostly dirt as they all have lots of shade from trees. 9 miles from Lake Placid proper.
Aug 13, 2015
I just regret not being able to stay longer. We were there for a week 10 yrs ago. We probably wont wait that long again. You guys are right up there with Mt. Rushmore and West Yellowstone.
Aug 13, 2015
We rented a cabin for our family of 5 and absolutely LOVED IT!!! The cabin was very clean and well equipped with all the necessaties. The staff was friendly and helpful with any questions we had during our stay.
Aug 12, 2015
We have been to this campground 4 times. We did like that we were taken to our site and then went back to do the check in - very efficient.
Aug 12, 2015
We stayed last year and came back this year. Very nice campground and employee are very helpful.
Aug 12, 2015
I had never been to such a large active campground as this KOA. It was clean, very safety oriented and LOTS of activities in and outside of the campground! I do have an issue regarding the cabin rental. I feel that if the cabin can sleep 6 or 8 then there should be no $6.50 fee charged until it goes beyond the number it can sleep!!!
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Enjoyed the stay and would be back again. However two issues we had were: WiFi is nonexistent, we could not connect Bathrooms were very dirty and should be cleaned, especially when very busy, more than once a day.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Nice campground in a great location
Aug 12, 2015
Very clean campgrounds, very well though out layout. Cabins were cozy
Aug 12, 2015
The main batrooms at officer were very good, the out ling ( Row F were sloppy, and one was without paper. The roads are in fair condition. Still the camping was great 8/10/15
Aug 11, 2015
Best place we have been.
Aug 11, 2015
This was the first time we stayed at a KOA. Our cabin was very clean and the bed beautifully made (nicer than some posh hotels we've stayed in). Thank you Mary & Carol! We had everyting we needed, from outdoor grill to shampoo, to make our stay great. My husband and I look forward to returning next year.
Aug 11, 2015
Very clean, no issues with noise at night. Friendly staff, helpful to find things to do.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice sites, however kids moved in a nearby site and were running around playing hide and seek till very late. Motorcycles were up and going early.
Aug 11, 2015
Quiet with a friendly and accomodating staff but the infrastructure does not support the number of campers. For example, we gave up on trying to get a shower in the bathhouse on Saturday evening due to lines and the pool was too small and crowded for the number of swimmers. Hardening the trailer and RV sites with additional gravel would cut down on dust.
Aug 11, 2015
What a great camp ground, lcation and view of the mountains. Thank you Janice & Claude
Aug 11, 2015
Clean and nice place to stay. A little crowded but expected on a saturday night during the summer.
Aug 11, 2015
Overall, the quality of the campground was pretty good. Unfortunately, our tent site was located right in front of the washrooms and the bright light from the washroom shone through our tent all night affecting our sleep.
Aug 11, 2015
The campground was very nice but sites were a little to close for my liking we did not have much privacy as well bathrooms on the Saturday were a mess with feces floating about in washroom areas turned myself as well as the fellow campers right off. The breakfast was well done and very reasonable .
Aug 11, 2015
Enjoyed the breakfast served at the lodge!
Aug 11, 2015
We found the same quality of cleanness, tranquility and privacy we enjoy in state park plus there is never a "temps mort" for our children. This time, ping pong and pool were a hit! We love that the showers work without coins and everything is set up to make family camping easy and enjoyable. We took a morning run through the whole site and think we will probably try a cabin in the fall sometime
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. There is a lot of space at each site and the campground is clean. It was great to have showers there. Our campsite was next to the RVs though, next we will reserve a spot that further out in the wilderness now that we know.
Aug 11, 2015
My only complaint was that the tent site they assigned us was between two rows of trailers, and we learned too late in the stay that there were lots of other open tent sites in more wooded areas. We are only guessing they gave us the one they did because of our late arrival -- it made it easy to locate at night.
Aug 10, 2015
As always, the KOA was great. We stayed in a deluxe cabin, and the beds, porch, decor, and privacy was awesome. Having a grill was really convenient, more than I thought it would be. The fan could use some fine tuning and the toilet ran unless I unstuck it.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Clean campground, well staffed, nice sites, beautiful area. Pool could use some repair but still greatly enjoyed! Will be back!
Aug 10, 2015
Our cabin was clean and very comfortable. It was well stocked with kitchen tools. The wi-fi didn't work in our cabin, which was a source of frustration. The area around the cabin was quiet and it was very easy to relax there.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
First time staying here and we enjoyed it very much. Will probably do it again in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
We love the KOA and plan on staying with them again next year!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a wonderful time this year. Kids had a blast and craft room made them very happy.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a great time at your wonderfull campground! My only suggestion would be to have your garbage and recyling picked up later in the morning. It was very noisy early in the morning.
Aug 10, 2015
We love the KOA! best location in the high peaks
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent KOA! Great location, clean facilities, fun for the kids. Only recommendation - pool could use a little tlc.
Aug 10, 2015
Overall this campground is great. I would have liked a couple more bathrooms closer to our site. Unfortunately there were only 4 bathrooms - 2 of them being showers. Also a bit more care could go into the cleaning of the restrooms. Overall they were good. One day, a Saturday, so it was busy they were not attended to. This lead to running out of toilet paper and a very muddy floor.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great stay. This was my 4th stay at a KOA and they never disappoint. The site was clean and quiet. We had great neighbors. The site was close to the river, bathroom and pool.
Aug 10, 2015
I gave this stay four stars. I would have given it five stars except for one KOA staff member. In all my many stays KOAs, mostly registered under a different name this was the worst stay ever. One particular staff member, I believe his name was JIm was rude, obnoxious and arrogant. I submitted a verbal complaint to the site manager and he informed me that there were other complaints and he wou
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
As we arrived, we instantly realized how easy of stay that will be. Not being used to wild camping myself, this was nothing like wild camping obviously. Everything is accessible, the lodge with all the goodies you may have forgot on your way, the toilets at every corner, with showers that run hot water, the sink to wash your dish and a stove, it's a stress free environment.
Aug 10, 2015
I very much enjoyed my visit to Lake Placid KOA. The grounds were well maintained and the staff were very courteous ... with only one exception. The semi-permanent motor home that was in the spot next to me and which apparently belongs to one of your employees was very loud until beyond midnight ... far beyond the 11.00 o'clock curfew. This made it very hard to sleep and be comfortable.
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent campground! Tent site was large and clean. Only suggestion is to soften up the sand pads for the tent.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Loved my stay here. My four year old loved this campground and so did we. We will be returning in a few weeks to this awesome campground!Bathrooms were clean, showers were perfect and all of the tent sites were amazing. 10/10 Would go again.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time, very clean and staff was helpful!
Aug 10, 2015
Always love staying at this KOA! Sites are great and the grounds are beautiful. Do not miss the River Trail which is beautiful to explore!
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Terrain très propre et bien entretenu. Équipement sanitaire très bien entretenu.
Aug 10, 2015
This was our first time and we were highly impressed. The campsite was clean and well maintained. All the facilities were clean. The staff was top notch and went above and beyond. Thank you for making this an excellent weekend. We will be coming back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.