Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

May 31, 2016
Arrived Thursday 5/26 and the campground was pretty empty. We were accommodated nicely by allowing us to change our site last minute since we arrived early. By Friday evening the campground was pretty full. Campground was maintained well although it could use some upgrading. I would definitely camp here again however not during a holiday; it was just too crowded for us. The sites are very tight.
May 31, 2016
Overall our camping trip was good. Our only complaint was regarding your dog discrimination policy. Yet we saw numerous dogs that were on the prohibited list. Typically we never travel with our dog and for this reason we will never return.
May 30, 2016
Reservation that I made was not honored. Our group was all split up and we had no electric or water and were not very happy. We spent over an hour on the phone sorting out the reservation locations for our group and then when we arrived they said that the reservation center always messes it up
May 30, 2016
Great amenities, location, and staff! Loved the bark park! Will definitely return. Thank you KOA!
May 30, 2016
I am highly disappointed! The grounds are terrible and unkept, picnic tables missing and falling apart fire rings. The bathrooms everywhere were filthy and falling apart. The manager is rude and lazy and has no idea how to manage a campground. Half the staff is rude as well. We have been coming there for 4 years, several times a year and I am disappointed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have and delivered several new picnic tables and fire rings to multiple sites during the weekend, we are sorry that your need was not reported.
May 29, 2016
It was extremely loud after quite time. The shower where not really clean. The staff was every nice
May 17, 2016
Really enjoyed the Wine tasting, and the Saturday night Band.
Apr 26, 2016
I was impressed with all the activities and facilities. Our tent site was a little close to the next site, but luckily we didn't have any neighbors to worry about. Overall, great place we will be back!
Apr 26, 2016
The staff is great alot of the kids to do. I reserved online gotta a crapy canp site it was small and only flat place to put up the tent was gravel:( office told me I can pick my site for a extra $20!! The place was empty only one other tent camper I don't see why I couldn't simply just move to a bigger site
Apr 24, 2016
The location was really convenient to park headquarters and historic Harpers Ferry. The showers were a nice size, clean and gr8 hot water!! I switched my tent site so I could pitch my tent on grass and be able to push my stakes in. Most of the tent sites are a gravel/gravel dust. I'm glad I took my trip in the off-season, as the sites are close together and fairly open (not too many trees)!!
Apr 12, 2016
Boy Scout Troop 1941 has made this our base camp. The boys all love the campground. There is tons of history and wonderful hiking close by.
Apr 06, 2016
Great time, very friendly and helpful staff
Mar 29, 2016
Dec 10, 2015
We stayed 2 nights camping with Boy Scout while visiting Civil War Battlefields. We came during off season,so most facilities were shut down for the year. Bathrooms clean, staff friendly. Our campsite was not level which made it more challenging to set several tents on same site. Would like to go back and camp there in season
Dec 01, 2015
We were Boy Scout camping. The facilities and staff were great.
Nov 08, 2015
.
Nov 02, 2015
One of the best KOAs in the country.
Oct 29, 2015
disappointing-sites not as described-elec only charged phones EXCEPT IF neighbor was already using it-one nite dep of 55 left 72 bal altho nothing changed-didn't use 2nd site bc it was on other side of road-camping seems to be about making money not accommodating campers-pillow too crowded sat but already deflated on sun AM - NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE-VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!
Oct 29, 2015
Oct 21, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean bathrooms considering the amount of use, great location. My only suggestion is to bring back the free popcorn! :) I was told it was costing too much money to make and then be tossed out so maybe as a compromise you could pop it for the 7:00 pm showing only. That showing has ALWAYS been packed and we've stayed here many times before and the popcorn always runs out. :)
Oct 20, 2015
loved all you planned activities for the kids
Oct 20, 2015
Staff were friendly and helpful. Campground was well organized. Activities were very fun. Our tentsites (203-6) were not very good. Washed out and not level. Wouldn't want to stay in those sites again
Oct 19, 2015
Had a great time with friends but the campsite could have been better... No flat land to put a tent and the bathroom were disgusting and not well kept. Ran out of toilet paper at about 11pm one night and not refilled til 10am the next day. Our group of 50 people might look into other options next year,.. Sad because this is our annual Halloween spot. Also sad that the hayride is only daytime now.
Oct 19, 2015
It was way over crowded, the bathrooms were disgusting. There was never any toilet paper and when a manager was alerted he stated "it wasn't his problem."
Oct 19, 2015
Best campground around the DC area! I bring my kids and their friends twice a year.
Oct 19, 2015
This was our first time at this campgrounnd and we were extremely impressed. We were concerned that a facility with so much today wouldnt have the real camping, outdoors feel, but we were mistaken. Theres plenty to do without sacrificing the camping experience, We shall return next year.
Oct 19, 2015
Lots of activities, very nice facilities. A little cramped in the spots. Not great parking.
Oct 19, 2015
The staff was extremely pleasant. The campsite was clean. I only wish they kept the grass up a little more but that can be difficult, i'm sure, with how busy they get (bring a tent footprint/tarp). We were able to do some light hiking and see some great Civil War relics as well as an incredible view of the Shenandoah. If you arrive to the campsite in the evening be sure to get plenty of firewood b
Oct 19, 2015
I liked our stay, 1. would like to see some vegetables available for purchase in the campground area, 2. would like tents (baisic camping gear) be available for rent on site, 3. Stuff was super nice( not only for show), they were very friendly and helpful, went out of their way to help: 4. would like to have more space, tents, RVs etc were very close to each other. 5 overall a very nicestay t
Oct 16, 2015
Very enjoyable. The site (257) was good. The showers were hot, and the rest rooms were clean.
Oct 15, 2015
We always have a great time when we stay and the staff is great!..thanks again for a wonderful weekend!!
Oct 14, 2015
Our kids had a blast trick-or-treating!
Oct 13, 2015
Wonderful KOA. Well organized and loads of family activities, However sites were confusing (couldn't tell where they began and ended). Roads were rough. Sites were very small. Picnic table had been taken by another camper. Very noisy from some sites after 10
Oct 13, 2015
As for first try..it wasn't bad But can't tell if we likeed it or not.. But staff was friendly and facilities were very well organized but kids playing area were little bit dirty and needed some updates and works needed.
Oct 13, 2015
The girls and leaders very much enjoy your facilities and campground and the staff on site is great. However, we had an extreme amount of difficulty making our reservation this time. If group reservations must be made directly through the location, then either someone should be available to answer phones or someone assigned to return all phone and email messages. We left several, none answered.
Oct 12, 2015
Our only complaint was our fellow tent campers who were playing cards loudly until 1 in the morning . . . other than that, great experience!
Oct 12, 2015
The staff was very helpful/flexible and friendly to help us to switch to a different sites where we can park more care and enjoy spacious campsites (as opposed small and narrow sites). The campground itself has variety activities for the kids and family members to enjoy during the stay. We would come back again. Thanks.
Oct 12, 2015
Please put larger numbers for the campsites. We had a guest camp on a small open spot on our campsite because he was so tired he couldn't find his site. It was not a good feeling to come back at night to someone set up on your space near your equipment.
Oct 11, 2015
The staff were all wonderfully helpful and the restrooms were very clean, but as this was my first KOA (or any campground) stay ever, I was a bit surprised and dismayed by how crowded/close everyone was. It was lovely, but not my idea of relaxing.
Sep 30, 2015
Restaurants and other facilities where closed, and even while dropping over $150 for 3 nights, they charged me over $30 for 3 nights parking of my car. Appalling service and employee wasn't willing to think along with the customer.
Sep 30, 2015
We always have a great time at this KOA. The facilities are very nice and the staff is consistently friendly and helpful. They seem to have thought of everything when it comes to making this a great place for families. Loads of activities both permanent and on-going. This most recent stay was particularly excellent: Reenactment weekend. We will definitely be back soon!
Sep 28, 2015
Our stay was great! The additional civil war items absolutely made the trip. I just wish there was some grass where we stayed. Sleeping on rocks was a tough. Over all it was a great time.
Sep 14, 2015
We had a great time! The staff was friendly and the there were nice amenities - the general store and free pancakes stood out. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. This was my second time at KOA Harper's Ferry, and I would definitely go back.
Sep 13, 2015
We tent camped and found the tent sights hard to locate. poor roads going in. bathroom a long ways away. The reception people were helpful. store was good. roads were unmarked for exit. I will not stay at this KOA again.
Sep 13, 2015
Very crowded over the Labor Day weekend. But I never had to wait for a shower or toilet. Noise levels were up through out the night.
Sep 09, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots to see and do. Very family friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The Harpers Ferry Campground is our family go to campground for our annual camping trip. We love it and there is always things to do for the children. We don't want to go anywhere else!
Sep 08, 2015
Family and dog friendly campground. Lots to do and everything is very close. Some sites are crowded and uneven.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time. The kids enjoyed the activities and I enjoyed the wine tasting.
Sep 08, 2015
The campground was very clean, as were the bathrooms. A short trail leads to River Riders for water activities. The store has everything you would need plus. Grinds and grapes is an added plus with delicious gourmet coffee; and wine tasting at 2PM daily the tent sites all looked shaded and lovely.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals