Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Aug 10, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Tenting area is rather vague. No real deliniations or sites. Facilities are very clean staff was friendly.heard pancakes were good. Heard supervisor at bounce was rude miserable and mean. And tell the guys in the gator to turn wheel harder and give it more gas for a burnout! Good times!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
It was a great place for the kid .The staff was rude for the most part but there were 2 nice employees I encountered. the rain had most of the activities closed on saterday so we missed some of the fun stuff. if i go by myself then i will not return but if i take the kid i may give it another chance.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Way, way too overcrowded!
Aug 05, 2013
We loved all the planned activities and the fun things to do at this KoA!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Primaries renting sites are very expensive. Our site was poorly marked...not sure if we were even on our site....very sloped are with virtually no place to set up a tent. We were also in an area where there where sites behind ours and campers had to walk though everyone else's site to stay there. Not sure how that was supposed to work

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We generally have alternative tent sites available. The front desk is able to help you choose a site that will work better for your family.
Aug 03, 2013
We found everything perfect. Bathrooms, clean and up to date without faults. Staff, friendly and happy to assist. Our site was comfortable and very handy to all the amenities. The public areas were clean and easy to access. Our family enjoyed our stay at Harpers Ferry KOA.
Aug 03, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
We had a nice weekend stay. Very family-friendly; the kids had a blast! All of the workers were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for alone, quiet time in the woods this is not the campground for you. The sites are small and very close together. However if you are looking for a place that keeps kids of all ages busy and happy and has bathroom facilities close by this KOA is a good one.
Jul 30, 2013
The site I was given was sloped downward at a bad angle with no good place for a tent on the grass. It was only 15' from the giant dumpsters that were piled so high the lids couldn't be closed. It smelled and attracted skunks and other critters at night. Nothing against the staff, but the site I had should be retired from active duty.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your site. On most weekends we have tent sites available, the front desk will gladly assist you in finding one that works for you.
Jul 29, 2013
Friendly staff, good pancake breakfast.
Jul 29, 2013
As usual, this is a nice place with plenty of activities for the youngest up to young teens. The theme weekends are fun.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Great location. Family friendly. Some tent sites need more dirt or grass - lots of rocks and roots. A few things missing or broken : horseshoes, ladder ball. Very friendly staff - made a difference in our stay. Thanks.
Jul 29, 2013
Staff is always friendly and available. I come her a few times a year, we love this place!
Jul 29, 2013
I go to this KOA several times a year, we always use a KOA when we travel but this one is close to home and is our go to when we want to camp, we love it! The only thing that changed is they stopped keeping the store open 24 hrs on weekends, which was a life saver sometimes, but that is not a deal breaker!
Jul 29, 2013
The tent sites are not very well layed out or maintained. The first site I was assigned did not have a level area to pitch a tent. There was no grass. The surface was covered with rock fragments. Bottom line...the sites need to have tent pads constructed. They also need garbage recepticles.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have both primitive and deluxe tent sites at the Harpers Ferry KOA. Most of our deluxe sites have a tent pad along with water and electric hookups. Our primitive sites are more remote and rustic.
Jul 29, 2013
It was a very busy weekend and lots to do. I have always made reservations before and received VIK, but this year we didn't get any firewood or table cloth. I asked at the front desk but kid working there really couldn't help.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our VIK program allows for campers to guarantee a specific site, utilize express check-in, they also receive a bundle of wood and a table cloth. There is a $20 fee for this service and must be requested at the time of reservation.
Jul 28, 2013
Facility was good. Campsite was not the best as there was no adjacent parking.
Jul 25, 2013
Was a lot of fun maybe separate showers. 2 men were walking around naked. Good thing kids asleep.
Jul 23, 2013
The last time we stayed was great. But this time was not good. We had people around us being loud and playing music until after midnight. I have children to think about.
Jul 23, 2013
Our family had a great time at the Harper's Ferry KOA! There was literally something fun planned for each hour of the day and the kids loved the chocolate theme of the weekend that we were there. My son did the chocolate slip and slide and the flashlight chocolate hunt was fun too. Also, the facilities at the campground were clean and well-maintained. On our list for a return visit!
Jul 22, 2013
The electric tent campsite I had was a little rocky for my liking. There needs to be more control for noise past the quiet time of 10AM. There was a group nearby who were too noisy until around 2:30AM. My son and I did enjoy the ameneties such as the game room, miniature golf, swimming pool, etc. The all you can eat pancakes in the morning were great.
Jul 22, 2013
I liked the facility, but the enforcement of quiet hours was non-existent! At midnight and 2 am, we had to get out of our tent to ask two separate VERY ROWDY groups to quiet down.
Jul 22, 2013
Loved the chocolate weekend! Great campsite. Mini golf really could use some help. Other than that, wonderful time.
Jul 22, 2013
we had a great time at the KOA. Love the chocolate activites. The staff was very friendly. Also enjoyed the upgrades on our cabin. Loved the TV. Good Job to all at the KOA.
Jul 20, 2013
We tent camped, sleeping on a gravel floor sucks. I tent camped at one of your competitors and they had a base under my tent way better than KOA provided. Have a good summer, Tom G.
Jul 17, 2013
had a great time and really was amazed at all this koa had to offer in facilites and programs. really appreciated the free pancake breakfasts. Have recommended and will continue to recommend this koa to everyone we talk to about our trip. thank you
Jul 16, 2013
Very friendly and welcoming staff. The campground was very well designed. We particularly like having the showers separate to the restroom. Of our month of traveling this was our favorite KOA campground!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Great experience overall! I just wish the quiet hours were enforced by the staff. Some campers partied well past midnight. Otherwise, we loved all the amenities and friendliness of the staff!
Jul 15, 2013
Had a great time. I liked the pool and the jumping pillow. The kids were entertained and had a great time. The only complaint is that the tent camping site was rocky and the we had trouble setting up a lot of tents. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2013
Best time! Fabulous facility! Coming back in September!
Jul 15, 2013
We had lots of fun. Excellent facilities and friendly staff. No complaints.
Jul 15, 2013
Great time and really enjoyed it. Many things for the kids to do!
Jul 13, 2013
As always, a really peaceful stay with any comfort of home (if I wanted it).
Jul 10, 2013
Very nice stay, with people considerate of others and not playing loud music into all hours of the night. Very convenient location to Harpers Ferry.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
We had a very injoyable time and Will the maintenace man was very helpfull with all our needs hope to see you soon.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Everything was great. Loved it. Plenty for adults and kids to do. Nice and clean. Only problem I had was with one of the campers allowing her 3 dogs to urinate and defecate on empty campsites that other people would eventually be using.
Jul 07, 2013
We loved our stay! The people are wonderful! loved all the amenities and activities!Only a few complaints! The bath house near tent site 288 could of been cleaned more often! The gnats and flys are a huge problem.We will be returning again but with citronella candles ,bug spray and some lysol wipes!
Jul 07, 2013
Second trip to this campground. Second trip was unfortunate due to late night rude campers in which KOA security took until 3am in which the local police were called in to assist drunk unruly patrons next to us! Yes three am! Two young kids with us which were frightened by the loud campers! Management the next day apologized and made things right but next time I will be sure to ask for cabin
Jul 03, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.