Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 13, 2015
As for first try..it wasn't bad But can't tell if we likeed it or not.. But staff was friendly and facilities were very well organized but kids playing area were little bit dirty and needed some updates and works needed.
Oct 13, 2015
The girls and leaders very much enjoy your facilities and campground and the staff on site is great. However, we had an extreme amount of difficulty making our reservation this time. If group reservations must be made directly through the location, then either someone should be available to answer phones or someone assigned to return all phone and email messages. We left several, none answered.
Oct 12, 2015
Our only complaint was our fellow tent campers who were playing cards loudly until 1 in the morning . . . other than that, great experience!
Oct 12, 2015
The staff was very helpful/flexible and friendly to help us to switch to a different sites where we can park more care and enjoy spacious campsites (as opposed small and narrow sites). The campground itself has variety activities for the kids and family members to enjoy during the stay. We would come back again. Thanks.
Oct 12, 2015
Please put larger numbers for the campsites. We had a guest camp on a small open spot on our campsite because he was so tired he couldn't find his site. It was not a good feeling to come back at night to someone set up on your space near your equipment.
Oct 11, 2015
The staff were all wonderfully helpful and the restrooms were very clean, but as this was my first KOA (or any campground) stay ever, I was a bit surprised and dismayed by how crowded/close everyone was. It was lovely, but not my idea of relaxing.
Sep 30, 2015
Restaurants and other facilities where closed, and even while dropping over $150 for 3 nights, they charged me over $30 for 3 nights parking of my car. Appalling service and employee wasn't willing to think along with the customer.
Sep 30, 2015
We always have a great time at this KOA. The facilities are very nice and the staff is consistently friendly and helpful. They seem to have thought of everything when it comes to making this a great place for families. Loads of activities both permanent and on-going. This most recent stay was particularly excellent: Reenactment weekend. We will definitely be back soon!
Sep 28, 2015
Our stay was great! The additional civil war items absolutely made the trip. I just wish there was some grass where we stayed. Sleeping on rocks was a tough. Over all it was a great time.
Sep 14, 2015
We had a great time! The staff was friendly and the there were nice amenities - the general store and free pancakes stood out. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. This was my second time at KOA Harper's Ferry, and I would definitely go back.
Sep 13, 2015
We tent camped and found the tent sights hard to locate. poor roads going in. bathroom a long ways away. The reception people were helpful. store was good. roads were unmarked for exit. I will not stay at this KOA again.
Sep 13, 2015
Very crowded over the Labor Day weekend. But I never had to wait for a shower or toilet. Noise levels were up through out the night.
Sep 09, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots to see and do. Very family friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The Harpers Ferry Campground is our family go to campground for our annual camping trip. We love it and there is always things to do for the children. We don't want to go anywhere else!
Sep 08, 2015
Family and dog friendly campground. Lots to do and everything is very close. Some sites are crowded and uneven.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time. The kids enjoyed the activities and I enjoyed the wine tasting.
Sep 08, 2015
The campground was very clean, as were the bathrooms. A short trail leads to River Riders for water activities. The store has everything you would need plus. Grinds and grapes is an added plus with delicious gourmet coffee; and wine tasting at 2PM daily the tent sites all looked shaded and lovely.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
So much to do but all activities are neglected and in disrepair. The mini golf is almost unplayable. The arcade games falling apart. The bathrooms atrocious. The staff are friendly and helpful. The owners of this place need to maintain and repair existing structures instead of building new cabins and stuffing in more guests. Old cabins have tarp stapled to the roof instead of repairing roof.
Sep 08, 2015
It was a great stay! We really enjoyed ourselves. The activities were wonderful and we never ran out of things to do. The staff were wonderful and the site was really nice. I do wish quiet hours were recognized more. The people across from us were terribly loud until 2:00AM-3:00AM every night we were there. I do think the cost of wood was pricy considering the wood was cut to burn fast.
Sep 08, 2015
Good facilities and helpful staff, but the tent site was horribly rocky and put a number of holes in my $ 275 tent, essentially ruining it. The approach from the parking area was so steep I had to string a saftey rope. When the person on the site next To me arrived we had to have an employee help us figure out exactly where the site was necUse it looked like hillside.
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and lots of activities for kids, but tent sites too close together and band played until 10pm, so hard to sleep with all that noise.
Sep 01, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Lots of rocks in tent sites which made staking challenging. Many tent sites present with sloping. Overall, campground and bathrooms very clean. Showers are great. Staff is very nice. Great place for families.
Aug 31, 2015
It's a great campground but it was way too crowded in the area they had placed us. Next time I'll probably call ahead and request something more secluded.
Aug 30, 2015
The ONLY problem we had were our neighboring campers. They were the worst kind of people you want to be near when tent camping! We were forced to leave a night early. When I officially complained to the office, they refunded me the night with no problem. The activities and grounds were great and we are planning to come back. I would suggest a couple security checks around the site at night.
Aug 28, 2015
Great campsite and breakfast. The staff were very friendly!
Aug 25, 2015
Our visit was a colaboration of former Navy personnel that came together after 15 years. It was magical!!! It was as if 15 years transcended 15 days. We are all married now and our wives connected too. Great times, great memories and a great venue for more memories to come. Everyone has decided for a KOA reunioni next year!!!
Aug 25, 2015
i wished the band hadn't played so late Saturday night. 10:15 is pretty late, and the music was heard around the campsite. staff was helpful and friendly and attentive. location can't be beat. Site was fairly clean and tidy.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Tent sites on hard rock and packed too close together. Ladies who ran breakfast were great, and fun. Won't come back here, sorry. Rv sites also too close so I won't bring camper to a place like this.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Great place great service.
Aug 24, 2015
It's a warm and welcoming campgrounds except for the 30 or so confederate flags that adorn the premises, not to mention the ones sold in the gift shop. This flag is a symbol of resistance to civil rights, and its popularity soared in response to the Brown v. BOE decision (recommend Ken Burns interview on this). KOA, as I said, is warm and welcoming to everyone, but the flag sends a hostile message
Aug 18, 2015
we had a great weekend Staff was very nice will be planing another trip soon.
Aug 17, 2015
This is the second time we have stayed @ this campground and loved it! Such to the point where we had more friends come this year. The staff is more accommodating than any where else we've been. The kids had fun with all the activities. The pool is awesome too!
Aug 17, 2015
The campground has a lot of activities for families, however, it seems each year they are adding more camp sites which results in people being on top of each other. The noise level at night is horrible because you can't hear yourself think with others so close in proximity.
Aug 17, 2015
Quietest campground we have ever stayed in. Had a wonderful time
Aug 17, 2015
It was great and we can't wait to come back! The presence of staff continually curriculating the premise was very reassuring. And we can't forget the awesome daily pancakes! Yum! I would like to suggest that the office staff remember to direct its guests as to where their site is as we set up our tent before realizing that it needed to be to the right of the post. Thank you!! See you again!
Aug 17, 2015
except for the pool, the stay was nice.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
The showers seem to not be as clean as I remember from previous stays with you.
Aug 11, 2015
Great accommodations and location
Aug 10, 2015
It was very exciting doing things with the family
Aug 10, 2015
While it was mostly family friendly, there were quite a few groups of 20 somethings getting drunk and and being noisy. I did see beer pong with kegs in broad daylight on Saturday.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Good campingplace!
Aug 07, 2015
Really great for families with kids; facilities were great, kept very reasonably clean; camp store well stocked. A great experience!
Aug 05, 2015
It's definitely expensive for tent camping, but I love all the other activities and amenities provided.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals