Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2014
Our cabin seemed to be the only one with erosion in front of it. It is very hard for adults to walk on much less kids. Other than that our stay was awesome!!!
Jul 25, 2014
Nice campground. Plenty for children to do.
Jul 25, 2014
Customer service was excellent. Site was clean. Some of the facilities were dated and in disrepair. Our kids liked the putt putt but it was in bad shape. Pool was great and movie theater was nice but it flooded after a rain storm so we couldnt make use of it. I would definitely stay there again because the staff was very friendly and the location was great.
Jul 25, 2014
We thought the resort was wonderful. Our children had a super time. The only problem we had was the site that we received was very small. We were able to get our camper in but we could not open it up the whole way. We couldn't put our awning out because of trees. Also the only place for our fire ring was right next to the sewer for the next site. A very unpleasant place to have it.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice quiet campground at least that weekend and enjoyed Harpers Ferry
Jul 25, 2014
We requested a full hook up with sewage and we did not get the sewage and had to use the dump station. We were not too happy about that but other than that it s a great campground.
Jul 25, 2014
Great stay! Awesome staff and very clean facilities.
Jul 25, 2014
We were first time campers and had an awesome time. KOA has every amenity you can think of and the free pancake breakfest was a plus. Loved the cook, she was very friendly. The staff was great and the grounds are gorgeous! Thanks Harpers Ferry KOA...
Jul 25, 2014
This was an overnight stay after a long day of driving. I had printed out a few campground details of the area we thought we would be stopping. This one was a reasonable price but when we arrived an additional $8 "resort fee" was added. If the website can not reflect the correct price to be paid I don't know if I want to support such an organization.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our resort fee covers many amenities provided at the campground. All fees and taxes, including the resort fee, are included in the first night's deposits when you make a reservation online or over the phone.
Jul 24, 2014
Where I have a problem is Friday night no one had a problem with our fire. On Saturday night there were 2 young gentlemen on duty for "security". We were told 3 times that our fire was too big. THe only people around our fire were 8 adults, all of us were responsible and not drinking any alcohol. We watched and noticed that we were the only ones told about the size of our fire, very frustrating.
Jul 24, 2014
Big rig friendly sites are NOT very "friendly". It was very difficult to get into our site, which we observed to be the reoccurring theme for all units we saw arriving in the "big rig friendly" area. I feel this campground takes advantage of it's location and cares very little about the customer.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Had extreme difficulty leveling our RV in the site we were in. Maintenance used a total of eleven (11) 2x10's to get the RV level. They were very helpful. Some work needs to be done on making the sites more level. Did not appear the grass had been mowed in quite a while around our campsite. Staff at the front desk were O.K. but not as friendly as we have experienced at other KOAs.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
STAYED FOR THE WEEK WITH MY SON, BROTHER AND DAD. IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING TIMES WE'VE HAD. THANKS KOA.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Only suggestion - please stock better firewood. Other than that - we (twin 12 y/o boys) love this place.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time, the only problem we had was one night we had a young staff stop by our campsite 2X and tell us our fire needed to stay only 2in above the fire ring.We had 10-12 adults sitting around there and no one had any alcohol in us and we could handle the fire we had. We watched and noticed they never stopped at any other sites who fires where as big or bigger. Not happy about that!!
Jul 22, 2014
Sites are very close together and need some grass.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time. Looking forward to our return trip in October!
Jul 22, 2014
you need to have night patrol on Sunday nights too. walked around trying to find someone at 1:30 am when other campers were being way too loud and couldn't find help.
Jul 22, 2014
We had a great time however the spaces are very small and crowded but the staff is great so it makes up for everything. Nice place for kids
Jul 22, 2014
We have been staying at this KOA for about 6 years now. We love it. Our kids who range from 21-25 still love it. From volleyball to the jumping pillow (I know they are older but still young at heart) to the wine tastings, we had a great time. The location is also great.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
I do not care for having to pay an activity fee. That needs to be made known when a reservation is made. I felt blindsided. Plus my wife and I did not use any of the amenities. Very disappointed in that aspect of the stay.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We stayed in the cabin with the bathroom. Everything was clean, the campground was well kept, and staff was friendly. Pancake breakfast was a nice surprise. It was Hawaiin weekend when we were there and all of the activities were great. We really liked the dog park as well. The only disappointment was the sprinkler moonbounce was turned off most of the time, but otherwise we had a wonderful time.
Jul 22, 2014
Extremely crowded place, sites are literally on top of one another. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 22, 2014
Staff was friendly, lots of fun for the family
Jul 22, 2014
I would definitely recommend this campground to others, especially people with children! Lots to do, rain or shine! Plus being close to historic sites is nice! It's great for a quick weekend away!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Harpers Ferry KOA was awesome! All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was clean and the amenities are beyond what I was expecting. That it is close enough to walk to River Riders is a bonus. I would definitely stay here again.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
We always love staying here but I am sorry to see that the gate to the pool has not been fixed. It does not latch. This is a real safety concern and (I'm sure) a code violation. I am considering reporting it myself, just to prevent a small child from wandering in unattended. I see lots of positive improvements at this KOA but this important safety issue should be top of the list.
Jul 22, 2014
Bathrooms could use some attention. Especially ladies and showers.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed in one of the cabins. The roads are just terrible and the parking at cabins is very small. If you have a large truck parking will be almost impossible. the showers are clean but the shower heads and water temps are just terrible. every shower we used was different. Positive note the pizza in cafe is pretty good
Jul 21, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. Neat, clean, organized. So many things to do! Will definitely stay again next year!
Jul 21, 2014
Lots of fun family activities we just had a great time.
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin in the center of the campground. It was clean and comfortable and central to all activities. We would stay again.
Jul 21, 2014
need to offer day trips
Jul 21, 2014
My camp site had a bad wash out and only got worse each time it rained. The rest rooms were always dirty and several toilets always seemed to be stopped up. The putt-putt course was falling apart! The pool area and theater were very nice and well kept. Overall, our stay was just okay.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a very nice experience with the KOA in Harpers Ferry. The staff was more the helpful and friendly. A totally enjoyable time...
Jul 21, 2014
I liked the campground for the most part. However it was very crowded. It seemed where ever there was a small piece of land you would have a camper set up. Examples... next to the bathrooms, pancake hut and there was one site towards the back that was uneven. It looked liked a river was once there and dried up. I did enjoy the activities and the warm showers. It just would have been nice to not he
Jul 21, 2014
I loved the camp grounds and the help that was given when our cable didn't work. The guy that helped us was nice and got us up and going in ten mins.
Jul 21, 2014
I was hesitant about going back, as our previous stay had been just bad. My husband convinced me to give it another try, so I placed my concerns in the comment section and boy you guys really took care of us! The cabin was amazing, everyone was so nice (even when I started having an anxiety attack at check in). We will definitely be back and are planning on bringing friends along
Jul 21, 2014
The pancake breakfast is a great idea; I loved not having to cook first thing in the morning.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.