Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

May 21, 2015
I feel that the money charged per night for this KOA is too high. It's like airlines charging for checked luggage: extra pet fees, resort fees when it wasn't even ready for resort season, cramped sites, lots of litter everywhere, and very poor cable connectivity (admittedly so for those of us "on the hill"), and the paved roads were miserable. We stayed here to be close to relatives. Never again
May 21, 2015
Had great time there.
May 21, 2015
Had a water/elec site for my tent and it was a good size. On arrival, had no picnic table. Mentioned it to two woman on staff and they assured me they would take care of it. After 50 minutes, no table. Alan stopped by my site with a load of wood and a tablecloth. I told him I'd really like a table and he had it at my sight in 15 minutes. Thanks, Alan. Clean restrooms. Camp store pricey.
May 21, 2015
All the golf carts running around no one could lead us to our site when we arrived. That would have been very helpful.
May 21, 2015
VERY tight and crowded campground. We might go back because our son liked the game room and pool. But would hate to be there when it is full.
May 20, 2015
We have stayed several times now. This trip we did not like our site the sewer and electric from the site in front of us was right in the middle of our site. I went to the camp office and let them know I was not very happy with the site. They were very helpful and helped us find a new site to move to. I really appreciated the kindness of the staff. We had a great stay and love the amenities.
May 20, 2015
Laundry was a disaster zone. Over half of all machines are out of service and one dryer not flagged as defective ruined $100 of blankets and mattress covers. What a dump... I am left with the impression that ownership / management is trying to get the last dollars from their sinking ship. Also was left with the impression from the number of defective machines, there was no value in complaining
May 19, 2015
Well this is a tough one to rate . the site we stayed in was in very poor condition. the site was uneven to about 2 inches per foot in all directions. The picnic table was badly bug ridden and rotted.. other parts of the campground were in somewhat better condition, but this side of it was poor. Sad to see since most KOA adhere to a much higher standard . The office staff was great and polite..
May 19, 2015
While checking in we were asked about pets. We answered honestly stating that we had a Rottie and an English Bulldog. We were told that we were not allowed to have the Rottie but they were not turning away our business and proceeded to let us into the park. Then the proceeding day we were sternly spoken too about our dog for no reason other than bc of his breed. This is contradictory/unnecessary.
May 19, 2015
Lots of noise-our site was next to the main asphalt lot. Next to us were party-city sites and noisy. A long term stay site next to us was very trashy looking, tall grass, junky, dirty. Disappointing stay.
May 18, 2015
We had a great time. Loved the breakfast. Check out was a little early for us.
May 18, 2015
Had a great stay, staff was friendly and helpful, campground clean and well maintained, our site (159) was a little too close to site 158, next time we'll request a different site
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
Even though it rained we had a great time!
May 18, 2015
Everything was very nice. Would be nice if the check out time could be 12:00.
May 18, 2015
We have camped at your campground several times and will continue to do so. We had a problem with our TV reception and the maintenance man was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
May 18, 2015
We always stay at our favorite site . (Lot 12 to be exact). Staff is always warm and friendly. Haven't had a complaint in 3 years of camping with you guys!!!!
May 17, 2015
We stayed over the Mothers Day weekend 2015. Although we had a great time, I was surprised there were no activities geared towards or showing appreciation for Moms....Also, the grass and dandelions were very tall. Grass seriously needed to be mowed. It was very tall. Other than that, we had a great stay.
May 17, 2015
The staff was wonderful. It was a clean campground.
May 15, 2015
much too pricey....cable below average
May 15, 2015
A friendly site perfectly situated to learn more about the history of the United States.. Thank you..
May 14, 2015
May 14, 2015
We enjoyed out stay for the most part - pancakes and lots of activities were great. What we did not like is that there were too many campers crammed into the campground. This was especially evident in the evening when all the campfires were going... the smoke was too much. I would also suggest informing campers that the loud noise from the cannons can be very scary to the dogs
May 13, 2015
May 13, 2015
My favorite campground! The staff is always hepful and polite. I have referred several friens.
May 12, 2015
What's not to love about this place?! Our friends were able to camp in the site next door. Great auction items! Well stocked camp store :-)
May 12, 2015
Wish the activities were not extra $$... most seemed not worth price paid
May 12, 2015
We will be back... enough said.
May 12, 2015
We were disappointed that the pool was not open but otherwise a nice stay.
May 12, 2015
This was our second time here and it is a great campsite. So much fun for our entire family and a beautiful location.
May 12, 2015
We were put in site #124 against the old cabin and it was so unlevel it took 5 leveling blocks to level the trailer. I hated this site it caused alot of trouble for us. Please level this site!!!
May 12, 2015
The only downside was the roads were too narrow to get a large travel trailer in and out.
May 12, 2015
very nice campground- this was our third time there and we will certainly return again- only complaint is the size of the "big rig" sites are extremely cramped and make having a fire- even with the fire rings, very cramped
May 12, 2015
We had a great stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the grounds are kept clean. There are many things to do and see and the fire pit was a great time. We'll be back.
May 12, 2015
This campground has declined over the last few years. The prices are ridiculous- only 1 adult is included I the price. The grass had not been mowed. The sites were not kept. Our fire pit was over flowing with leaves. Some of the staff were rude. The mini gulf had a complete hole missing. Staff had their dog in the karaoke hall but campers' dogs are not allowed.
May 12, 2015
We love this campground and stay at least 3x throughout the year. We were extremely disappointed this time since there was a Race coming thru the campground at our sites were in the heart of the festivities. We were woken up around 6:45am to people yelling right outside our camper. There were several spots open and there was no reason to not tell us what was to be expected. very disappointed!!!!
May 12, 2015
Had a good time. We booked late so we got a kinda small site for our size csmper, but hey we had fun.
May 12, 2015
The site was very slanted and needed some mowing but the am entities were great
May 12, 2015
We had a great time. The free pancakes were great and my kids loved the bouncing pillow. My only complaint is that they sold us wet/green wood and we couldn't light it. All in all we had a great stay.
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
The canopy was not over the jumping pillow and the pool was not open. This campground was not prepared for Mothers Day Weekend. Very disapoonted.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The pool was open on May 15 as scheduled. The jumping pillow cover is installed in the spring when weather permits. All other amenities and activities were open, we are unaware of any other preparations that were needed.
May 12, 2015
The 10pm quiet time is ridiculous! Every other campground I can think of is 11pm. To be told at 10:15 on a weekend night to stop playing corn hole is also ridiculous especially when a party of at least 30 people could be heard clear across the campground. The quiet time really needs to be changed!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Most of our campers enjoy the 10PM quiet hours. We are sorry that you do not enjoy our quiet hours.
May 11, 2015
This campground has everything! Wonderful sites, fantastic staff, and Civil War history literally under every step you take! My only regret is that our stay was for work, not play, so we couldn't take full advantage of the numerous amenities available.
May 11, 2015
A little too busy for us - a couple of old retirees without children or dogs - but great for families
May 09, 2015
The location of this KOA was excellent for Civil War & Harpers Ferry activities. It was poorly set-up and maintained, however, compared to other KOA's where we have camped. The pull-through sites in our area were not level and tight with other campers, trees, and elec. poles. Staff were not very friendly during check-in and the grounds could have been cleaner and mowed!
May 09, 2015
Even though we came during the Off Season and some off the amenities were not yet open, it was a Great Place to stay and relax. We would like to have had some more shade, but due to the size and electrical needs, we had to stay in the open are area. Next time we will stay in the fall and only use the 30 amp. But we will return.
May 08, 2015
May 06, 2015
The campground has a lot of great activities for families. We loved the dog park and movie theater. My only disappointment was with the bathrooms. The showers and bathrooms were always very dirty.
May 06, 2015
The sites were very rocky(we had tent with water and electric. There were only three stalls in the bathroom making it difficult to get one. The 10pm noise ordinance was not enforced and I was up listening to chatters until 2am. However, the staff were very nice and the showers were amazing. There were also plenty of activities planned each day
May 06, 2015
the initial call to the Harpers Ferry Campground quoted us a figure of $127.00 for a 3 night we said we would call back in less than 15 minutes after we discussed it when we called back a different person took the call and said that the person who took the first call was not available ,we said we would take the space and he quoted us $170.00 fifty dollars more than the first person after a lengthy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.