Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 29, 2015
We really enjoy this KOA. The sites could be a little wider, but even so, the camp staff, cleanliness of the whole facitity, and great location make this one of my favorite "go to" destinations.
Jun 29, 2015
Great place!
Jun 29, 2015
The campground was in good shape for the most part, but some of the facilities are in dire need of updating. For example, the putt-putt course is in horrible shape. There is plywood showing up through the "grass". Also, The movie theater, while awesome to have on the raining weekend we had, needs some new seats. Other than that, the people were friendly and courteous and took care of us.
Jun 29, 2015
Lots for the kids to do even in the rain! Our large group of 15 had a grey time. Clean facilities and friendly staff. Will be back next year!
Jun 29, 2015
Sites are tightly packed together, especially the "huge" 50amp spots. Many areas of the campground are run down. Pictures are very deceiving on the website (not actual pictures in many instances). The only positives are that staff members were nice and bathroom facilities were clean.
Jun 29, 2015
camp sites where to small way out of level access to camping area was very tight saw 2 campers get damaged trying to pull in there sites because it was so tight I got stuck in the mud due to the pour conditions and was told by the camp ground they would not help I should call a tow truck
Jun 29, 2015
Nice staff very clean campground.
Jun 29, 2015
We had such a nice visit. The staff was very helpful and were able to help us "first timers" out with set up.
Jun 29, 2015
I needed to ask the maintenance men to borrow a ladder and have some stone brought over to the site.... They were there within minutes!! I didn't get their names but they were Awesome!! Thank you again!! R. DeJohn
Jun 29, 2015
This campgound is showing it's age a bit but then I think it has been here for a long time so I can't say that is a negative. Everything was clean and there were plenty available showers, also clean. Something I didn't count on was the free all you can eat pancakes every morning. That made breakfast really easy compared to cooking and cleaning in the RV. We will be back for certain.
Jun 29, 2015
We would not stay at this location again. We have stayed at regular campgrounds that had better amenities and did not charge for a dog or a resort fee on top of already high site fees. The sites are extremely un-level and they advertise amenities that they do not provide.
Jun 29, 2015
Nothing but kids to deal with. Practically had to beg for an escort. Last time there all the staff was helpful and didn't have to ask for escort. This place does not rate being a RESORT. Has way to many extended stay sites for a KOA. Guess the new owners are just interested in money.
Jun 29, 2015
Two issues, we have a 36' camper and we mentioned that when we came in. It took 5 people to park us, squeezed like sardines and too many trees. The other issue was no one was enforcing quiet hours. There were people hooting and hollering at 11:30. I have a 3 year old I was trying to get to sleep. I called the office-no answer.
Jun 29, 2015
I like the amount of activities available for the children. Very worth while to visit again.
Jun 28, 2015
We had a good time! Our site,132, was less than ideal, quite narrow and downhill from our neighbor so our mat was full of mud after the rain. The jumpy pillow was kept closed 24 hours after the rain, which was a bummer. On the plus side,pool was great, pancakes rocked and there were plenty of staff who seemed helpful enough! We'd come again,now that we know which sites we'd prefer!
Jun 28, 2015
When I called about our reservations I told them our camper was 41 foot. They put us in a site that really was not for a 41 foot camper (site 94). We ended up damaging our camper while trying to get into the site. When we left, a camper, who had a site in front of us, moved his camper so we could just pull out. We probably would have had a better time if it had not started out on the wrong foot.
Jun 28, 2015
They put the sites WAY, WAY to close together. It's ridiculous! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, but that shows greed to me. Sorry
Jun 27, 2015
Choose site carefully if you have slides.
Jun 27, 2015
We always have a great time at this campground.
Jun 26, 2015
Asked for an easy pull thru site and was charged $20 and never told there was a charge. Have asked for similar accommodations at every other KOA and have never been charged before. Tight sites, watched a camper hit a car as there is very little room to maneuver.
Jun 26, 2015
I have come here over the years many times. It was my children's favorite camp ground. This will be our last visit ever. 26 of the washers and dryers were tagged for repair and not working. We stayed a week and had to fight to get laundry done. Many sites are just washes when it rains the roads are in horrible condition. Just sad over all.
Jun 26, 2015
Great experience, but Putt-putt course needs major repair work, comfort stations in rv area needs cleaned more frequently and more extensively and rv sites need leveled-up. Impressed by free (quite tasty) pancake breakfasts made by super friendly staffer and excellent pizzas. Impressed by pool cleanliness. Plan on returning end of July through first part of August.
Jun 26, 2015
just a one night stay on our way home but will go back to this one for a vacation
Jun 25, 2015
I love the campground, however, the restroom facility really needs some improvement. There was a rain storm when we were, and the restroom floor got saturated. No one ever came to dry the floor. There is a leak in the ceiling of the restroom (women's area) that needs to be fixed. Recreation is excellent.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
great activities for kids and family. Staff very friendly. Pancake breakfast was great. We look forward every summer to camping here.
Jun 25, 2015
Fun. Family, friendly, cleanand great activities.
Jun 25, 2015
This is our 2nd time coming to this site. My children age 10, 7 and 3. Love it!!! This is place where I trust my kids be safe. The Koa staffs are helpful and friendly. My children love the staff who were on pillow jump duty. Only suggestion I have maybe have dog watcher or sitter with pay at bark area. Because our family had to split in order to stay with our dog.
Jun 25, 2015
Nice clean park with lots of activities. Kids must love coming here. Even nice for us seasoned travelers. Hope to return.
Jun 25, 2015
Staff was friendly but were less than forthcoming when making reservations for 6 motor homes of all the tacked on fees to the initial reservation. The bathrooms were inadequate for our group never mind the other campers near us. The sights were uneven and a disgrace to be called premium. We were very disappointed and will let our national chapter know.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All rates and fees are available at the time of reservation. All reservations require a first night deposit which includes all rates and fees. Your group booked 50 Amp Pull through sites, we do not offer "premium" sites.
Jun 25, 2015
The camping spots are the tightest I've ever experienced. The staff were nice until we asked if they had a blood pressure cuff. My mom did not feel 100% and wondered if she should check her pressure just in case. The girl behind the counter looked at me like I had 3 heads. The movie theatre also flooded during a rain storm. The gutters are in terrible shape at the main building. Rough place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry we did not have the medical equipment you requested. We do not have medically trained staff or provide any medical services. We do provide camping facilities, we see where this may have been confusing. Emergency medical services are available via 911 at any time.
Jun 25, 2015
This KOA is perhaps the worst one we have ever stayed at in out 10 years on the road, They perhaps feel that there proximity to Harpers Ferry Federal park is justification for there high price. The rough roads and mud everywhere are really bad. Its So tight that we had to back up many times just to get in there "PULL THROUGH" site to avoid the RR ties holding back some of the mud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Rates at any campground or hospitality facility are based on demand and local area attractions. Unfortunately, Tropical Storm Bill came through our area during your stay. We do our best to control mother nature for your comfort, but do not always have a choice in the matter. We are sorry it rained.
Jun 24, 2015
It was extremely crowded our 1st day, which is to be expected Fathers Day weekend. However, our site was directly next to a Military Vet Reunion who blared music from 11am-10pm. I understand quiet hours do not begin until 10pm, but the music was ridiculous. I was discouraged that they were allowed to party so loud, and for so long, at family campground. Everything else about our stay was great!
Jun 24, 2015
Overall, great. Very crowded though, sites are small and packed in together, although we managed to be assigned 100, which was actually great, kind of an "island" as the registrar put it. Enjoyed all the extras, like the wine tasting, fantastic camp store, DJ at the pool, live band at night. Game room and basketball rooms a little worn, but still good places for kids to hang out & play. Gr8Staff
Jun 23, 2015
Hoping that KOA will invest in levels of sites.
Jun 23, 2015
The only thing that upset us this whole weekend was the rudeness of the staff in the lounge area. We waited 7 minutes to even be waited on. The 2 girls were busy. One was washing dishes and one was cooking, but the boy was talking to a friend on the other end of the counter who was playing his music so loud on his phone that you couldn't hear.
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Weren't we surprised to find all the extra fees tacked on to our reservations for 6. We even had a club membership tacked on to one reservation. The sites were un-level, the bathroom was inadequate and we will NOT be visiting KOA's again, and we will let our national organization know of our disappointment.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All rates and fees are available at the time of reservation. All reservations require a first night deposit which includes all rates and fees. We are sorry you felt the bathrooms were "inadequate", we are unaware of any issue during the time you were here.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
There were many pros and cons to this campground. Let me start with the pros, staff was friendly, pool was great, grinds and grapes was neat! Cons- smallest sites I have ever seen. Our neighbors sewage hole was one foot away from our camper! Gross! We watched four campers come in and leave because they were placed in ridiculously small sites!
Jun 22, 2015
Good pool and plenty of activities. Nicely balanced between family, adult (wine tasting) and children's activities. Also couldn't be closer to the national park.
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Only issue was the campers next to us who had no regard for quiet hours.
Jun 22, 2015
We like this KOA very much but camped there with friends and couldn't be side by side because of the size of campers. They assured us that we would be right across the road from each other and on the map it showed that way but when getting there they were across and down the road. Your staff on the phone and at site were not aware of the distance between these sites. please correct your map.
Jun 22, 2015
i understand this koa is under somewhat new management. We go there everyyear as a family and this time was not a good experience. Bathrooms were nasty, had poop in one of the showers. After 10 pm i was sitting out by the fire by myself and was told i had to go into my camper because it was after quiet time. They rode around and did this to everyone who was out. The time was around 11pm.
Jun 22, 2015
Excellent sites, great staff!
Jun 22, 2015
Best KOA for activities. Really homey feel
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Full hookup sites were tiny. I was about 30 ft from the Wyfi transmitter but there was no service. The cost was extremely high and the value was poor. The location was OK but once was enough.
Jun 22, 2015
From the beautiful ladies that greeted us at the entrance to the pancake makers, everyone was so happy, friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone and everyone!! I so enjoyed my Birthday Weekend!! Thank you!!
Jun 22, 2015
the campground was in a state of disrepair. sites needed mowing limbs on ground everywhere trash on sites more than 1/2 of the machines in laundry broken sites too crowded and too small for the average trailer/tow vehicle combination.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps