Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 24, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
We had a great time and the activities that were available for my daughter made for great memories.
Sep 18, 2016
Very nice family oriented kampground!!
Sep 14, 2016
We had a short and lovely stay. Almos didn't realized we were that close to the Highway. Staff is very nice.
Sep 07, 2016
Our site was extremely small but we were lucky to get a site at all since I reserved so late. We had fun there
Sep 06, 2016
The activities were fun and owners and staff very welcoming! Campground was clean- highly recommend!
Sep 06, 2016
This was our 1st camping experience with our kids & we were so pleased with this campground. It was very clean. There were a ton of kids activities & all of the staff were very friendly & helpful. We will definitely go back!
Sep 06, 2016
It was our first time there. We brought grandchildren and they said it was the best place we ever camped!
Sep 06, 2016
It's a very clean camp site full of fun activities for the kids! And the staff was super friendly. We will be back!
Sep 06, 2016
We love visiting your KOA! We always have a great time, everyone is friendly and everything is so clean.
Sep 06, 2016
This is thebest KOA I have stayed in EVER. Most friendly, accomodating, and extra amenities others don't offer. Thanks for a great stay!
Sep 05, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
Weekend trip to celebrate bday....loved all the kid activities and the grounds were well kept with a wonderful view
Aug 22, 2016
Very clean, good amenities, friendly staff and live campsites. Fishing pond is great. Everything in walking distance. Quiet and away from road noise and I80 traffic noise!!
Aug 18, 2016
We had a blast! I appreciate so much the super friendly staff and all of the activities offered to the kids!!! Highly recommended!!!
Aug 17, 2016
This was our second year staying at KOA with the grandkids and they had a blast! The only thing we would suggest is updating some of the picnic tables. Other than that, it was awesome!
Aug 16, 2016
Our favorite campground of our road trip from NC to WY and back! Best KOA bathrooms ever! Very quiet for tent camping! Great play area for children! RV sites are close together. Not far from Winterset which is the cutest town we visited.
Aug 15, 2016
They have one of the best bath houses of any KOA we have stayed in! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful, staff was very friendly all that activities kept our kids very busy. It was a great place to stay. We will be back.
Aug 15, 2016
This was our first time staying at a KOA. We loved all the activities that were available. They kept the kids busy. There was 2 things we had issues with 1) the activity schedule. Our kids wanted to do the slip and slide and went over 10 min after it was supposed to start and it was done. 2) there was no shade in our north tent spot but we requested the south one next time which has lots of trees
Aug 15, 2016
AWESOME!I was amazed to see how much there was to do and the improvements since our last stay ~3yrs ago. Kudos to the owners. My kids loved the pool, paddle boat, slip n slide, dunk tank and many other activities that were offered. The bathrooms are updated and clean; only suggestion is outhouse on south side camping grounds.We will be back!
Aug 15, 2016
loved all the activities for the kids!
Aug 15, 2016
Surprised how many family activities this KOA has. I stayed alone passing through but next time I will bring the whole family. Beats a hotel any day!
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
En fait le camping etait bien par contre nous devons partager le fire ring. Alors cetait un peut bizzard car une tente etait deja installer et nous sommes arriver et preparer le feu et quand les gens sont revenu ils etaient mecontent. Peut etre prendre moins de clients afin que chacun aie leur emplacement
Aug 14, 2016
Was awesome great camp Staff was very friendly. Couldn't ask for any better Keep camp this great See u again soon
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Excellent, mais très court séjour dans ce KOA où nous sommes arrivés très tard. Tout nous attendait au poste d'accueil. Salle des toilettes et douches très propre. Nous le recommandons vivement!
Aug 11, 2016
Nice people. The bathrooms? Hmmn.
Aug 09, 2016
Everything was great expect we couldn't really tell where our site ended and the next one began and they were a little smaller than expdcted, great park activities and customer service.
Aug 03, 2016
Warm clean swimming pool with recent new concrete deck. Tent site is flat and thick grass. Comfortable. Also, beautiful lavatory. Newly done.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
wonderful clean excellent!
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful
Aug 01, 2016
One night stop over during a motorcycle trip and I was very impressed with how nice this KOA is and the staff is extremely friendly.
Aug 01, 2016
It would have been better if quiet time was enforced. We were very close to a group of young adults partying all night. We tried to ask them to be quiet many times and they were drunk and obnoxious talking inappropriately, while we had a 10 year old with us and were trying to have a family outing.
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful place with a very progressive staff. Great accommodations.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
This was amazing, I reserved on line that day, received a call within hours outlining after hour check in. It was exactly as described and an very easy process. The place was clean, well maintained and current. Our first ever stay was at the KOA outside the Grand Canyon earlier in the week and we were AMAZED. I am hooked on the quality and affordability of KOA and will be back for sure.
Jul 29, 2016
It was an amazing time
Jul 26, 2016
Nice facility. The tent field is not flat and you are closest to the highway and farthest from the bathrooms. It was not restful.
Jul 19, 2016
Need additional bathroom and should not be charged extra for jump pillow
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Great! Bathrooms were gorgeous and clean! OUTSTANDING activities for the kids! Only complaint was some noisy neighbors across the way who cussed later at night and kept their dog outside crying all night.
Jul 11, 2016
Swimming pool should have been better.
Jul 10, 2016
I made this suggestion to the manager: We were a group of about 14-15 families. While in pool a guy was drowning. There was no life guard or floats for me to throw to him. So I went in and pulled him from his sleeve to safety. You guys need to do more for safety in the pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a shepard's hook, but we'll get some rings too based on your suggestion.
Jul 06, 2016
The amenities were great for my whole family and staff were very helpful. Only issue is only one location for the bathrooms. For little ones, it was a task to get them there before the accident.
Jul 05, 2016
When the people on the next campsite took up 1 1/2 sites you were very helpful in getting us a new location so we could set up our tents.
Jul 05, 2016
Everyone was friendly and helpful; bathrooms were clean despite the high number of guests. It was crowded on the tent hill as there are no individually marked sites. I only spent one night, so the lack of privacy did not bother me too much. All in all, it was a good place to spend the night on the way home to Ohio from Wyoming..
Jul 05, 2016
Love the activitys! A lot of great things added, but others neglected. Playground area is run down as well and picnic tables in tent area are rotted.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award