Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
Our family stayed there for a week the 2nd week in August and it was great. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The restroom and shower area was cleaned daily which was the highlight for me as I need to feel comfortable showering away from home, and they definitely made that happen. The only minor downside was the Wi-Fi. It barely worked the entire stay, but great overall we LOVED it
Aug 19, 2017
Best amenities I've seen Very friendly staff
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility. I was disappointed that I had to pay more when I arrived. I'm not sure I'll reserve there again if the rate charged will change before I arrive.
Aug 13, 2017
Construction going on left limited space for tent camping. The site we were assigned wasn't very level. The camp store closed early leaving us unable to get needed supplies and had to run into town.
Aug 10, 2017
a very nice and modern campground with clean facilities, WIFI was fast and stable, noise from interstate or other traffic was minimal, pizza-shack located at the grounds was reasonably priced In Summary: nearly perfect campground!
Aug 09, 2017
Great site. Helpful staff, especially the young man from Chicago! Iowa is really far from my home in NY but if I do come to Iowa ever again I would be happy to camp with you
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
There was construction underway over by the tent sites, but it didn't seem to be any inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and attentive in the disruption and all the campers seemed to have great attitudes as a result.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
We really enjoyed the activities that were planned and the friendliness of the campground. However, we would have liked to have been told that our campsite was adjacent to a construction area. During the day (until 7 pm) there was a lot of construction noise that made it pretty unbearable to sit at the site. In general it seems that the place is much more set up for RVs then for tent camping.
Aug 05, 2017
Very friendly. Well kept with amenities and activities for the kids.
Aug 05, 2017
not ideal for tent camping, but the staff did work to make it as good for us as possible when an enormous group came taking all available spots
Aug 04, 2017
I thought the swimming pool, dunk tank, jumping pillow and playground were great for my 6 and 4 year. I was really disappointed with the construction equipment at 8:30 am right by our camp site. It was so loud you couldn't talk. This was not really mentioned prior to reserving the site. The younger staff (young girl and African American boy were very helpful). Other staff not enjoyable.
Aug 02, 2017
Warm swimming pool, modern showers and grassy tent site. Great.
Jul 30, 2017
Perfect in every way!!! The electric tent sites located right next to the playground...quit at night...tons of activities for kids! One of our favorite KOAs!!!
Jul 28, 2017
Enjoyed my stay and staff was very helpful. Loved the sightseeing in the area and the town of Winterset was a wonderful surprise with all the amenities.
Jul 24, 2017
I told the staff that we would be arriving late. When we arrived, there were no clear instructions on where we were supposed to put up our tent. It didn't look like there were any designated spots, there were already a lot of tents in the area, and the tent area wasn't flat.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
I booked a specific campsite that was heavily shaded on Thurs and was told they would make sure nobody was there. I arrived a little after check in time and my spot was given to someone else and there was only 1 spot left. I was able to camp and they gave me a free pizza but I wasn't too happy about not getting the spot I requested at time of my reservation.
Jul 22, 2017
We stay at a lot of KOAs. This one is awesome! The staff are super great! Highly recommend!
Jul 11, 2017
We like this campground very much. (Lots of lightening bugs in June!) This year, however, the tent spots were under construction and they did not have a place planned for us. They did give us an RV site and were very nice. I just wonder where we would have ended up if we had gotten in after the office was closed.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
While every thing worked out in the end, I wish some would have called and explained that their electric tent sites were temporarily moved clear down by the dog park. I was very clear that I wanted an electric tent site near our friends. Had they read my special instructions, they could have called & saved an upset customer! We set up camp w/ our friend, but still disappointed in how KOA handled.
Jun 22, 2017
Our school group spend between 28 to 42 nights in tents across the U.S. This is by far the best KOA experience we have had. Thanks to you and your staff.
Jun 15, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
When I got there it was an absolute nightmare. They were under construction and didn't know where they were going to put the tents. I advised them I booked well in advance and no one said anything about construction. They finally figured it out said i would get a discount (never happened) and workers were rude when asking them questions. Almost as if being there was an inconvenience.
May 29, 2017
Great camp ground. Staff was very friendly. Kids enjoyed all the extra activities.
May 16, 2017
great folks went out of their way to accommodate me on a very busy weekend... great service
Apr 10, 2017
Feb 06, 2017
The KOA was great to stay at when traveling out West. Would stay here again if this locale was where I needed to spend the evening once again. Thanx!
Oct 16, 2016
A lot of things to do. The staff is so nice and helpful. Also very clean.
Oct 03, 2016
Very friendly helpful staff, and a very nice clean bathroom/showers.
Oct 01, 2016
Bathrooms & Showers were very nice, but the tent camping rates were much higher than the KOA we stayed at in the Quad cities area of Iowa.
Sep 24, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
We had a great time and the activities that were available for my daughter made for great memories.
Sep 18, 2016
Very nice family oriented kampground!!
Sep 14, 2016
We had a short and lovely stay. Almos didn't realized we were that close to the Highway. Staff is very nice.
Sep 07, 2016
Our site was extremely small but we were lucky to get a site at all since I reserved so late. We had fun there
Sep 06, 2016
The activities were fun and owners and staff very welcoming! Campground was clean- highly recommend!
Sep 06, 2016
This was our 1st camping experience with our kids & we were so pleased with this campground. It was very clean. There were a ton of kids activities & all of the staff were very friendly & helpful. We will definitely go back!
Sep 06, 2016
It was our first time there. We brought grandchildren and they said it was the best place we ever camped!
Sep 06, 2016
It's a very clean camp site full of fun activities for the kids! And the staff was super friendly. We will be back!
Sep 06, 2016
We love visiting your KOA! We always have a great time, everyone is friendly and everything is so clean.
Sep 06, 2016
This is thebest KOA I have stayed in EVER. Most friendly, accomodating, and extra amenities others don't offer. Thanks for a great stay!
Sep 05, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
Weekend trip to celebrate bday....loved all the kid activities and the grounds were well kept with a wonderful view
Aug 22, 2016
Very clean, good amenities, friendly staff and live campsites. Fishing pond is great. Everything in walking distance. Quiet and away from road noise and I80 traffic noise!!
Aug 18, 2016
We had a blast! I appreciate so much the super friendly staff and all of the activities offered to the kids!!! Highly recommended!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award