Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 18, 2016
We had a blast! I appreciate so much the super friendly staff and all of the activities offered to the kids!!! Highly recommended!!!
Aug 17, 2016
This was our second year staying at KOA with the grandkids and they had a blast! The only thing we would suggest is updating some of the picnic tables. Other than that, it was awesome!
Aug 16, 2016
Our favorite campground of our road trip from NC to WY and back! Best KOA bathrooms ever! Very quiet for tent camping! Great play area for children! RV sites are close together. Not far from Winterset which is the cutest town we visited.
Aug 15, 2016
They have one of the best bath houses of any KOA we have stayed in! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful, staff was very friendly all that activities kept our kids very busy. It was a great place to stay. We will be back.
Aug 15, 2016
This was our first time staying at a KOA. We loved all the activities that were available. They kept the kids busy. There was 2 things we had issues with 1) the activity schedule. Our kids wanted to do the slip and slide and went over 10 min after it was supposed to start and it was done. 2) there was no shade in our north tent spot but we requested the south one next time which has lots of trees
Aug 15, 2016
AWESOME!I was amazed to see how much there was to do and the improvements since our last stay ~3yrs ago. Kudos to the owners. My kids loved the pool, paddle boat, slip n slide, dunk tank and many other activities that were offered. The bathrooms are updated and clean; only suggestion is outhouse on south side camping grounds.We will be back!
Aug 15, 2016
loved all the activities for the kids!
Aug 15, 2016
Surprised how many family activities this KOA has. I stayed alone passing through but next time I will bring the whole family. Beats a hotel any day!
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
En fait le camping etait bien par contre nous devons partager le fire ring. Alors cetait un peut bizzard car une tente etait deja installer et nous sommes arriver et preparer le feu et quand les gens sont revenu ils etaient mecontent. Peut etre prendre moins de clients afin que chacun aie leur emplacement
Aug 14, 2016
Was awesome great camp Staff was very friendly. Couldn't ask for any better Keep camp this great See u again soon
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Excellent, mais très court séjour dans ce KOA où nous sommes arrivés très tard. Tout nous attendait au poste d'accueil. Salle des toilettes et douches très propre. Nous le recommandons vivement!
Aug 11, 2016
Nice people. The bathrooms? Hmmn.
Aug 09, 2016
Everything was great expect we couldn't really tell where our site ended and the next one began and they were a little smaller than expdcted, great park activities and customer service.
Aug 03, 2016
Warm clean swimming pool with recent new concrete deck. Tent site is flat and thick grass. Comfortable. Also, beautiful lavatory. Newly done.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
wonderful clean excellent!
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful
Aug 01, 2016
One night stop over during a motorcycle trip and I was very impressed with how nice this KOA is and the staff is extremely friendly.
Aug 01, 2016
It would have been better if quiet time was enforced. We were very close to a group of young adults partying all night. We tried to ask them to be quiet many times and they were drunk and obnoxious talking inappropriately, while we had a 10 year old with us and were trying to have a family outing.
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful place with a very progressive staff. Great accommodations.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
This was amazing, I reserved on line that day, received a call within hours outlining after hour check in. It was exactly as described and an very easy process. The place was clean, well maintained and current. Our first ever stay was at the KOA outside the Grand Canyon earlier in the week and we were AMAZED. I am hooked on the quality and affordability of KOA and will be back for sure.
Jul 29, 2016
It was an amazing time
Jul 26, 2016
Nice facility. The tent field is not flat and you are closest to the highway and farthest from the bathrooms. It was not restful.
Jul 19, 2016
Need additional bathroom and should not be charged extra for jump pillow
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Great! Bathrooms were gorgeous and clean! OUTSTANDING activities for the kids! Only complaint was some noisy neighbors across the way who cussed later at night and kept their dog outside crying all night.
Jul 11, 2016
Swimming pool should have been better.
Jul 10, 2016
I made this suggestion to the manager: We were a group of about 14-15 families. While in pool a guy was drowning. There was no life guard or floats for me to throw to him. So I went in and pulled him from his sleeve to safety. You guys need to do more for safety in the pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a shepard's hook, but we'll get some rings too based on your suggestion.
Jul 06, 2016
The amenities were great for my whole family and staff were very helpful. Only issue is only one location for the bathrooms. For little ones, it was a task to get them there before the accident.
Jul 05, 2016
When the people on the next campsite took up 1 1/2 sites you were very helpful in getting us a new location so we could set up our tents.
Jul 05, 2016
Everyone was friendly and helpful; bathrooms were clean despite the high number of guests. It was crowded on the tent hill as there are no individually marked sites. I only spent one night, so the lack of privacy did not bother me too much. All in all, it was a good place to spend the night on the way home to Ohio from Wyoming..
Jul 05, 2016
Love the activitys! A lot of great things added, but others neglected. Playground area is run down as well and picnic tables in tent area are rotted.
Jul 04, 2016
Clean and quiet! We got in at night and had our registration packet waiting on us with a welcome message. Easy transaction for a quick stay over.
Jul 03, 2016
We can't say enough wonderful things about this campground! Friendly, fun, clean, convenient! Definitely going back soon.
Jun 28, 2016
They were having a very busy night, but they were doing their best to accommodate the crowds and keep everything running smoothly. The tent sites are very small and the restroom is a long walk, but the public facilities are very nice and this would be an excellent park to bring kids to, because there is so much fun stuff to do. We really enjoyed the pool. The staff was very nice to us.
Jun 27, 2016
Bathrooms are a bit too far away, but the whole campground and facilities are nice, kept up, family friendly, and the people are Iowa nice.
Jun 27, 2016
Lovely big grassy area for tents. The lightening bugs in the corn field next door were a fortuitous plus! Helpful, friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2016
The staff were fantastic! Very helpful and kind. The tent sites were extremely small and had little to no room for parking. Luckily, no one camped next to us so we could use that spot. A few more trees would be great!!
Jun 20, 2016
I was not given a picnic table and the 10pm quiet time rule was not enforced. Other than that...wonderful experience. I was very impressed with your remodeled men's room!
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The campground was well maintained. Can't wait to come back.
Jun 12, 2016
Awesome
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean campgrounds with very helpful and friendly staff. Even though we were going through the state we were completely satisfied with campground and staff
Jun 08, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award