Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 20, 2014
Helpful and Friendly Staff - Connie enjoyed the activities for her 9 year old son. She didn't have to worry about him at all. What a very CLEAN and AWESOME park.
Jul 20, 2014
Good campground.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
This was one of the nicest KOA's we've ever experienced. Nicely kept grounds, clean facilities, great store... and pizza place!! We didn't swim because it was a cool evening (just there for one night), but our 5-year-old daughter loved the "jumping pillow." And we really liked the separate, grassy tenting area that was separate from all the RVs. It really felt like camping. :)
Jul 15, 2014
Nice campground, wish we were staying for more than just one night. Long term tenants were a little noisy but eventually settled down.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
It was wonderful. Everyone on staff was friendly and very helpful
Jul 14, 2014
I stayed one night in one of the tent sites. Loved the fact I could choose my site, and I picked one with a large tree that shaded me from the rain. Loved that the picnic tables were plastic, so easy to clean. Staff at check-in were helpful and polite. Only real complaint is the bathrooms could use a little deep cleaning, but otherwise I really enjoyed my stay!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed this KOA very much. The only thing we would have changed is to have the showers and the restroom separate because of the steam and condensation. They also need to get some firewood that is more seasoned. We could not get our to catch. The grounds wee great. We stayed both coming and going on our trip.
Jul 14, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. Camp grounds were very clean and well managed. The pool was a little cloudy but appeared to be ok. Thank You!
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
My wife and I were traveling to Ohio from California and we made that KOA our only stop. We were really surprised by how nice and clean the place was, and how friendly the staff was! We also stayed there on our return trip! Definitely recommend it!
Jun 27, 2014
My first time at a KOA. Pleasant experience all around.
Jun 23, 2014
Clean and a lot of fun activties for the kids.
Jun 23, 2014
Friendly staff. Helped us find a firepit ring and picnic table for our tent site. We'll return!
Jun 17, 2014
Very fun, clean, positive environment. Kids and adults have a blast! Excellent!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
This was a great place to get away for the weekend. My kids had a blast with all the activities, particularly the slip and slide.
Jun 15, 2014
Wifi simply doesn't work on any of our devices. McDonalds wifi is rock solid and connects immediately. Thank you
Jun 12, 2014
Staff was wonderful and very attentive to our needs. Clean, well layed out grounds.
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
Very nice people, the campground is in a rural area that was quiet.
Jun 07, 2014
Great location away from the interstate. Lots of kids activities to keep them occupied. Very scenic campground.
Jun 03, 2014
3 calls to cancel tent camping. Emailed in cancellation to say I was going to share a cabin. Chris said to stop in. He was never there when I came in. I called and left msgs that were not returned. Owner said that there was a registration for me. (Perhaps because it was never cancelled?). Want 2 nights of camping returned.
Jun 02, 2014
Love love love. Will definitely return
Jun 02, 2014
Kids had a great time. My son is Autistic and has specail needs. The accomodations and staff are just amazing and polite! Thank you for making us feel welcome... you'll see a lot of us this summer!
May 28, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Firewood burned good and store had everything you needed in case you ran out or forgot something. The pool was refreshing after fishing for free in the private pond onsite, and will be a good site to camp again for those hot & humid days in Iowa.
May 27, 2014
Very well maintained camp ground with lots of activities for the kids. Alao a friendly staff. We had a good time there and will be back soon!
May 27, 2014
The only problem that wasn't a problem was we didn't have a fire ring at our campsite, which the KOA folks remedied quickly. After a over night rain a young couple got there van stuck in their tent campsite, I used my 4x4 to get them on their way. Maybe want to keep eye on weather when letting folks camp over by the pond. Great time all the same. KB
May 27, 2014
My husband and I loved staying at this KOA. The facilities are wonderful and the atmosphere is great :)
May 27, 2014
May 23, 2014
Oct 19, 2013
Ww arrived late at night, arround midnight and left the next morning there was no contact with KOA personal the thing that sticks in my mind is that the rate listed for the late registration was for 2 adults and two children which does not fit our situation. the other thing that sticks in my mind is that the one night rate was out of line with other KOA's I guess that is what big city Iowa KOA ma
Oct 03, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Noise from other guests
Sep 05, 2013
GREAT AREA SUPERB FACILITIES, THANKS WE'LL BE BACK AGAIN. FRED & VICKI
Sep 02, 2013
Nice Kamp in a secluded location. Friendly and helpful staff. Tent sites were really on a slope,and that's the reason for only 4 stars, but everything else was good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey. Yeah, our South Side tenting areas are a tad more uneven than our north side, which is nice and level. In the future, when you book a reservation with us, please request the north tenting area.
Aug 28, 2013
It was fine for tenting. The washrooms were a little far away. It was a fairly well lit area. All in all I would stay there again.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Great site, Nicely mowed sites. No bugs and friendly people.
Aug 19, 2013
Had a great stay and the staff was very friendly. Thanks again
Aug 18, 2013
Not a good choice for tenting - no level spots to set up the tent and no nearby water because the underground water main to the tent area is broken.
Aug 17, 2013
Your facility was very good. We were only there long enough to sleep. It was quite noisy and we definitely noticed that the 10 PM "cut the noise off" was not enforced. Otherwise all was well.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Friendly staff, very clean bathrooms with HOT water/great pressure, shade trees for tenting, pizza/ wild wings delivered to your site, nice dog run. Facilities are many. Highly recommend
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Wonderful people working here!
Aug 14, 2013
This is a very packed in camp. No shade trees for tent camping with electric hook ups. Beautiful dog park (great shaded area). Friendly hosts. Fun activities.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.