Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 26, 2016
Nice facility. The tent field is not flat and you are closest to the highway and farthest from the bathrooms. It was not restful.
Jul 19, 2016
Need additional bathroom and should not be charged extra for jump pillow
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Great! Bathrooms were gorgeous and clean! OUTSTANDING activities for the kids! Only complaint was some noisy neighbors across the way who cussed later at night and kept their dog outside crying all night.
Jul 11, 2016
Swimming pool should have been better.
Jul 10, 2016
I made this suggestion to the manager: We were a group of about 14-15 families. While in pool a guy was drowning. There was no life guard or floats for me to throw to him. So I went in and pulled him from his sleeve to safety. You guys need to do more for safety in the pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a shepard's hook, but we'll get some rings too based on your suggestion.
Jul 06, 2016
The amenities were great for my whole family and staff were very helpful. Only issue is only one location for the bathrooms. For little ones, it was a task to get them there before the accident.
Jul 05, 2016
When the people on the next campsite took up 1 1/2 sites you were very helpful in getting us a new location so we could set up our tents.
Jul 05, 2016
Everyone was friendly and helpful; bathrooms were clean despite the high number of guests. It was crowded on the tent hill as there are no individually marked sites. I only spent one night, so the lack of privacy did not bother me too much. All in all, it was a good place to spend the night on the way home to Ohio from Wyoming..
Jul 05, 2016
Love the activitys! A lot of great things added, but others neglected. Playground area is run down as well and picnic tables in tent area are rotted.
Jul 04, 2016
Clean and quiet! We got in at night and had our registration packet waiting on us with a welcome message. Easy transaction for a quick stay over.
Jul 03, 2016
We can't say enough wonderful things about this campground! Friendly, fun, clean, convenient! Definitely going back soon.
Jun 28, 2016
They were having a very busy night, but they were doing their best to accommodate the crowds and keep everything running smoothly. The tent sites are very small and the restroom is a long walk, but the public facilities are very nice and this would be an excellent park to bring kids to, because there is so much fun stuff to do. We really enjoyed the pool. The staff was very nice to us.
Jun 27, 2016
Bathrooms are a bit too far away, but the whole campground and facilities are nice, kept up, family friendly, and the people are Iowa nice.
Jun 27, 2016
Lovely big grassy area for tents. The lightening bugs in the corn field next door were a fortuitous plus! Helpful, friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2016
The staff were fantastic! Very helpful and kind. The tent sites were extremely small and had little to no room for parking. Luckily, no one camped next to us so we could use that spot. A few more trees would be great!!
Jun 20, 2016
I was not given a picnic table and the 10pm quiet time rule was not enforced. Other than that...wonderful experience. I was very impressed with your remodeled men's room!
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The campground was well maintained. Can't wait to come back.
Jun 12, 2016
Awesome
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean campgrounds with very helpful and friendly staff. Even though we were going through the state we were completely satisfied with campground and staff
Jun 08, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
Love the pizza delivery service. It was nice after driving all day not having to worry about what to do for dinner. The bathrooms were nice and clean, The staff was friendly and very welcoming. Keep up the good work!!
Jun 06, 2016
I absoulutly love Adel KOA! We camp as much as possible and thisbis the only place that we go to!!!! Love thevplanned activites and our kids love them even more. The owners are there and involved and that makes us love it even more,knowing that they take pride in their business and make sure everyone is having a good time!
Jun 06, 2016
We love this camp ground friendly staff always helpful and great activities for the kids
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Cleanest campground I've ever stayed in. Very smooth late-night check-in. Will definitely return!
May 31, 2016
Wonderful location.
May 30, 2016
May 27, 2016
Great tent site,little loud in the AM, trains, trucks. Next time camper
May 23, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The amenities and activities exceeded our expectations! Thank you for providing an exceptional family enviroment!
May 16, 2016
Very clean and friendly!
Apr 04, 2016
We stayed opening weekend. A lil chilly but you cant control mother nature. At least it was a clear day as opposed to the eeather report! Nice pond and dog park. Great to have a fire and sleep in a tent.
Sep 28, 2015
really appreciated the extra effort with all the Halloween activities for our kids.
Sep 21, 2015
It was very clean. Great hospitality!
Sep 11, 2015
Everyone was very nice and the bathrooms and showers were great and clean. I liked the motion sensor lights because I had to walk to bathroom after dark . I was single woman alone and felt safe. Thanks
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and staff were very pleasant. Convienient location for our visit to the Bridges of Madison County.
Sep 08, 2015
The facility is wonderful and clean. All the staff was very polite, helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our time.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
The hosts were angelic, and the facility was spotless. Loved the activity selection. Electricity at site was not working, only issue.
Sep 01, 2015
The staff was fantastic. Keep it up!
Aug 26, 2015
Very nice grassed tent sites. Had chicken wings delivered to our tent, awesome!
Aug 24, 2015
Our experience was very satisfying. The pool, grounds and especially the bathrooms were extraordinarily clean. We all enjoyed the delivery pizza. The only suggestion I have is to provide some drainage for the tents sites. A heavy rain resulted in standing water for three days in front of our tent. The clay used for fill in that part of the park did not allow for drainage of rainwater. Thanks.
Aug 24, 2015
Drunk, noisy neighbors....luckily the thunderstorm chased them to bed early. This kampground is great though, nothing beats having pizza delivered to your tent!
Aug 24, 2015
Great service; was our first stay at a KOA. Loads of different things to do when your not out exploring elsewhere.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award