Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
The kids loved the movies, sundaes and jumping pillow. We loved the site, giftshop, dog park and our neighbors on either side. Park was quiet. Loved it!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Used camp site as a base camp to do some geocaching in the area and to ride/explore the local bicycle trails.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
We arrived super late at night due to a long drive and delays. The hosts had left information for us and got in touch with us to tell us how to check in. The facilities were great, the tent area was beautiful! Overall, great to have a KOA to rely on. You know it's going to be convenient, safe, well-kept, and a good experience.
Aug 15, 2014
We got in late and left early. We couldn't find a tent site that was level in the dark.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Fun
Aug 12, 2014
Nice people, hot showers and dish washing sink. Important for renters! We liked that there were so many tent sites available
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at the camp ground. The sites are clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. The store had every little thing that a camper might need for their stay which was also nice. If traveling to or through Iowa again, would easily stay there again.
Aug 08, 2014
Facilities were great, most staff was very accommodating. Some of our family reunion group were frustrated that we were not all able to be together as a group since we had reservations since March. It was also frustrating that on top of the high price we payed to stay there each night, we also had to pay an additional rental for bikes and to jump on the inflated pillow. Otherwise, all great!
Aug 08, 2014
We were rained out our first night because our tent failed us. These people were very understanding and refunded the three nights we were planning on staying but could not because of the weather.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Staff was friendly. Grounds and facilities were clean and well cared for. Very happy with our stay.
Aug 02, 2014
I specifically noted when I made the reservation to have a campsite big enough for my car with 5'x9' trailer. I was put into the north campsites where my total area was no larger than a parking space. All designated parking areas were already full and I could not do anything but back my trailer inches from the water pipe and fire put just so I could have room for my one man tent. Too small!
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Cleanest restrooms, pool and sitting room we have experienced at any KOA from Washington to Iowa. Friendly staff and many amenities that people really like. Our group of 2 adults and 5 teenagers had a great stay. Thanks
Jul 28, 2014
We arrived on a fully packed weekend w/o reservation. Management kindly fit our small motorhome in the tenting area and hook us up with water. The only complain is the odor in the bathroom/pool area.
Jul 23, 2014
Quiet hours were not enforced and my husband bruised up his leg running into a water spicket at night that someone drove over and hadnt been properly marked as a hazard or fixed.
Jul 21, 2014
The grounds are clean and well kept. Bathroom and laundry facilities are clean. The pool is nice but could use some work. We stayed on an electric tent site. It was very narrow with no shade. If I go back, I definitely would choose a different site. Overall great except for the barking dogs all night long. A place that is very pet friendly, too bad the pet owners weren't more respectful of others
Jul 20, 2014
Helpful and Friendly Staff - Connie enjoyed the activities for her 9 year old son. She didn't have to worry about him at all. What a very CLEAN and AWESOME park.
Jul 20, 2014
Good campground.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
This was one of the nicest KOA's we've ever experienced. Nicely kept grounds, clean facilities, great store... and pizza place!! We didn't swim because it was a cool evening (just there for one night), but our 5-year-old daughter loved the "jumping pillow." And we really liked the separate, grassy tenting area that was separate from all the RVs. It really felt like camping. :)
Jul 15, 2014
Nice campground, wish we were staying for more than just one night. Long term tenants were a little noisy but eventually settled down.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
It was wonderful. Everyone on staff was friendly and very helpful
Jul 14, 2014
I stayed one night in one of the tent sites. Loved the fact I could choose my site, and I picked one with a large tree that shaded me from the rain. Loved that the picnic tables were plastic, so easy to clean. Staff at check-in were helpful and polite. Only real complaint is the bathrooms could use a little deep cleaning, but otherwise I really enjoyed my stay!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed this KOA very much. The only thing we would have changed is to have the showers and the restroom separate because of the steam and condensation. They also need to get some firewood that is more seasoned. We could not get our to catch. The grounds wee great. We stayed both coming and going on our trip.
Jul 14, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. Camp grounds were very clean and well managed. The pool was a little cloudy but appeared to be ok. Thank You!
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
My wife and I were traveling to Ohio from California and we made that KOA our only stop. We were really surprised by how nice and clean the place was, and how friendly the staff was! We also stayed there on our return trip! Definitely recommend it!
Jun 27, 2014
My first time at a KOA. Pleasant experience all around.
Jun 23, 2014
Clean and a lot of fun activties for the kids.
Jun 23, 2014
Friendly staff. Helped us find a firepit ring and picnic table for our tent site. We'll return!
Jun 17, 2014
Very fun, clean, positive environment. Kids and adults have a blast! Excellent!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
This was a great place to get away for the weekend. My kids had a blast with all the activities, particularly the slip and slide.
Jun 15, 2014
Wifi simply doesn't work on any of our devices. McDonalds wifi is rock solid and connects immediately. Thank you
Jun 12, 2014
Staff was wonderful and very attentive to our needs. Clean, well layed out grounds.
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
Very nice people, the campground is in a rural area that was quiet.
Jun 07, 2014
Great location away from the interstate. Lots of kids activities to keep them occupied. Very scenic campground.
Jun 03, 2014
3 calls to cancel tent camping. Emailed in cancellation to say I was going to share a cabin. Chris said to stop in. He was never there when I came in. I called and left msgs that were not returned. Owner said that there was a registration for me. (Perhaps because it was never cancelled?). Want 2 nights of camping returned.
Jun 02, 2014
Love love love. Will definitely return
Jun 02, 2014
Kids had a great time. My son is Autistic and has specail needs. The accomodations and staff are just amazing and polite! Thank you for making us feel welcome... you'll see a lot of us this summer!
May 28, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Firewood burned good and store had everything you needed in case you ran out or forgot something. The pool was refreshing after fishing for free in the private pond onsite, and will be a good site to camp again for those hot & humid days in Iowa.
May 27, 2014
Very well maintained camp ground with lots of activities for the kids. Alao a friendly staff. We had a good time there and will be back soon!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.