Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729


34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 28, 2015
really appreciated the extra effort with all the Halloween activities for our kids.
Sep 21, 2015
It was very clean. Great hospitality!
Sep 11, 2015
Everyone was very nice and the bathrooms and showers were great and clean. I liked the motion sensor lights because I had to walk to bathroom after dark . I was single woman alone and felt safe. Thanks
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and staff were very pleasant. Convienient location for our visit to the Bridges of Madison County.
Sep 08, 2015
The facility is wonderful and clean. All the staff was very polite, helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our time.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
The hosts were angelic, and the facility was spotless. Loved the activity selection. Electricity at site was not working, only issue.
Sep 01, 2015
The staff was fantastic. Keep it up!
Aug 26, 2015
Very nice grassed tent sites. Had chicken wings delivered to our tent, awesome!
Aug 24, 2015
Our experience was very satisfying. The pool, grounds and especially the bathrooms were extraordinarily clean. We all enjoyed the delivery pizza. The only suggestion I have is to provide some drainage for the tents sites. A heavy rain resulted in standing water for three days in front of our tent. The clay used for fill in that part of the park did not allow for drainage of rainwater. Thanks.
Aug 24, 2015
Drunk, noisy neighbors....luckily the thunderstorm chased them to bed early. This kampground is great though, nothing beats having pizza delivered to your tent!
Aug 24, 2015
Great service; was our first stay at a KOA. Loads of different things to do when your not out exploring elsewhere.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Sadly, I got to my spot and lo and behold, someone else had taken it! How does that happen? I had a reservation and phoned ahead indicating I would be arriving late. I was assured it was not an issue and I had a spot reserved. I had to squeeze in behind the people that took my spot. No room for both of us but they didn't pack up and move. I would like a refund or partial refund of my money.
Aug 15, 2015
staff was great, campground was very clean.
Aug 14, 2015
tres beau terrain
Aug 14, 2015
It was great good quality time with the girlfriend
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time! Very friendly staff and the restrooms were very nice & very clean. Grandkids had a blast with all of the fun things to do. Will make this a yearly trip!
Aug 12, 2015
As a single traveler with a dog, my only need that wasn't met is a place (even an outhouse) to pee that I can bring my dog with me. I had to put my dog in the car every time I needed to go to the bathroom.
Aug 09, 2015
Shower and restrooms were clean. Staff was friendly.
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly staff clean restrooms good pizza
Aug 08, 2015
Friendly owner and bathrooms and showers amazingly clean and modern. The grassy tent sites are lovely.
Aug 07, 2015
Great staff as most KOA's. Nice camp site. Fantastic WiFi. "Big Shot" Colorado Springs KOA should contact them to get the same system!
Aug 06, 2015
We had a great experience at the West Des Moines KOA. It was our first KOA stay, so we were very impressed with all the facilities and amenities: the bathrooms, the play area, the shop, etc. Also, the staff was super friendly AND helpful. We arrived late at night as it was starting to rain and the manager kindly offered us to pitch our tent under the pavilion, so that we don't get soaked.
Aug 04, 2015
Very nicely managed. Tent sites with electric were a little close to each other. Very nice facility.
Aug 04, 2015
We had one of the electric tent sites and the space was extremely tight. would have been better off renting one of the camper sites
Aug 04, 2015
We tented and the site was smooth and lots of grass. No rocks/mud.
Aug 03, 2015
We loved the owners!! The restrooms were amazing and the campground was very clean.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
We love the showers. The store is really nice. Camping was great and the the pizza deliver to our camp. The pizza was very good. Enjoyed the Chinese lanterns.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Pros: This KOA is very nice. Clean washrooms. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Cons: Had to swim around the leaves in the pool. The WiFi which I asked about is less than marginal. We weren't told about this when I booked the site. I depend on it for things I need to take care of for my storage business. Apparently there is no quiet time as it can be very noisy after hours.
Jul 30, 2015
Great shady tent sites away from highway noise
Jul 29, 2015
This place was unexpectedly amazing. From the 5 star bathrooms, pool, and convenience store. My only complaint is that the tent camping doesn't have a separate area and the fire pits did not have grill tops, but other than that this place is amazing!
Jul 27, 2015
Nice campground, great hosts. Could have more frequent trash pickup. Thanks!!!
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice facilities & amenities.
Jul 22, 2015
Great clean, Very nice staff
Jul 21, 2015
I would suggest to make the tent sights specific with numbers assigned! The just go get one didn't work very well.
Jul 21, 2015
Outstanding KOA. New bathrooms, very well maintained grounds, very friendly staff.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
We only stayed one night, but we were very impressed with how well-kept this campground was. We'll definitely consider staying in KOA campgrounds in the future.
Jul 13, 2015
It was a last minute decision to camp and KOA found some room for us. Supplies were there and delivered very nice stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Excellent & clean CG! The kid activities were great and the girls running them did a great job! One suggestion is to cap the extra wristband activity fee per family. At $10 per kid and 3 kids, $30 is steep considering we brought their bikes and only wanted to use the giant jumping pillow. Capping at $20 per family should generate more revenue compared to the zero generated as I was not paying $30
Jul 13, 2015
Loved it. Saw fireflies. Nice people. My favorite stay so far.
Jul 12, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean bathrooms and campsites. Odd location but once you're in, it's good.
Jul 07, 2015

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy