Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 04, 2015
Great stay, friendly staff, clean campground and amenities. Lots of fun for our children. Stucker- nc
Jul 04, 2015
We were here 10 years ago, and the 26 - 28th stay was awesome!!! My 13 & 14 year old can't wait to come back. Thank you so much!!!
Jul 04, 2015
Clean and well run by friendly folks. Bathrooms were great and our kids enjoyed the jumping pillow.
Jul 03, 2015
The newly remodeled restrooms are beautiful. Staff was friendly and helpful (special thanks to Roxanne and Lowell!) Not a bad one-night stop for some weary travelers.
Jul 02, 2015
Jamie was very friendly and helpful checking me in and everyone else I met there was as nice as can be. The grounds were pretty and well maintained. I very much enjoyed my stay and will remember Des Moines West KOA in the future! The tent camping area was great. Thanks again!
Jun 30, 2015
There were no designated camping sites. We were told to pick a spot in a field and there you go. They also advertised no freeway noise which was not the case, I could hear the freeway all night and in general the place was noisy.
Jun 29, 2015
I loved it there! All of the staff were very friendly and went out of they're way to make our stay nice. The campground was very well taken care of and the bathrooms were immaculate compared to other campgrounds. I would definitely go out of my way to stay there again!!
Jun 29, 2015
Great campsite! Far enough off the hwy to be quiet, but close enough to the hwy to be easy to find. Lots of fun activities for kids!
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
The site is quite and well managed. They just updated bathroom and shower facility. Staffs are friendly and accommodating.
Jun 15, 2015
We loved it and had a great time!
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
We were very pleasantly surprised with the amenities. It's very much a family oriented campground and someplace I think we'd stay again if in the area. I also want to say that they have the prettiest bathroom facilities I've ever seen at a campground.
Jun 15, 2015
very nice,clean and the pool was nice
Jun 09, 2015
This rating is comparison to a previous nights koa i was at. No fire pits, not a lot of room, showers were a bit dirty.
Jun 04, 2015
Very nice KOA. It isn't near anything loud and the accommodations are great. A lot of stuff for families with kids.
Jun 03, 2015
The staff was nice. I don't understand why it's so difficult for KOAs to put clients in areas that are not muddy. I hate to have to continually ask for a better spot.
May 30, 2015
Very clean and comfortable. The Wifi could be a little more consistent. But other than that we really enjoyed our stay
May 29, 2015
It was awesome! It was very nice of the owner to give my kids a day pass to the jumping pillow and go carts because the pool was being fixed. We really liked the newly remodeled bathrooms too.
May 26, 2015
Facilities were clean and well maintained.
May 26, 2015
I love this camp ground it is very clean, the staff is always great and I love all the activities for the kids.
May 25, 2015
We tent camped on a site with electricity- fun! We always have a great time at the KOA and my boys never want to leave!
May 24, 2015
Great owners, and I'm sure usually it's a great place to stay, grass was nice to set up the tents. Unfortunately, very muddy, and no trees so we were totally exposed to the sun, the other campers, and no privacy. And in a muddy messy because it rained (the car almost got stuck bc there's no real parking spots at the tent sights). Lastly, the sights are REALLY close together, no privacy at all!
May 02, 2015
one of the best koa campgrounds I've been to loved it! they had a nice large fenced in dog area plus lots of grassy areas to walk in the bathrooms are beautiful and brand new and clean and the staff was super friendly
Nov 01, 2014
I stayed in a tent site, with electricity, on Sept.4. They were prepared for my late arrival. Washrooms were very clean. Wireless internet worked well at my site. The picnic shelter was great on a drizzly morning! Thanks!!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
Very clean. Friendly, efficient staff. GREAT dog park area!!!
Oct 13, 2014
very calm place but too far away from tent to restroom and too dark during the night.
Oct 06, 2014
Our stay was great and the staff was amazing! Thank you for all of your kindness! Cant wait to come back!!
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
Great tent site - really enjoyed our stay.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Great mother nature needs to behave though.storms all night ,tent camping the campground was very nice.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
It rained, but we enjoyed it.
Sep 08, 2014
Great place. Great location.
Sep 03, 2014
The staff is amazing! I've campted there two times this year: once in a cabin and the other time in a tent. Both times, the staff was so friendly and helpful. That's what it's all about. Keep up the great work and we'll see you even more next year! Also, pool and bathrooms were very clean. Kids had a blast and had fun fishing too.
Aug 25, 2014
Nice campground and surroundings. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean bathroom and facilities. Location is not too far from the street, which in one hand good, on the other it was too noisy for sleeping in a tent and hearing highway traffic noise,
Aug 19, 2014
Very accommodating hosts"found" a site for us, even though they had no more actual mobile home sites. We were grateful for a site with water and electricity as we arrived late on a Saturday (State Fair ) night. They did not turn us away as the next KOA was over an hour away.
Aug 18, 2014
The kids loved the movies, sundaes and jumping pillow. We loved the site, giftshop, dog park and our neighbors on either side. Park was quiet. Loved it!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Used camp site as a base camp to do some geocaching in the area and to ride/explore the local bicycle trails.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
We arrived super late at night due to a long drive and delays. The hosts had left information for us and got in touch with us to tell us how to check in. The facilities were great, the tent area was beautiful! Overall, great to have a KOA to rely on. You know it's going to be convenient, safe, well-kept, and a good experience.
Aug 15, 2014
We got in late and left early. We couldn't find a tent site that was level in the dark.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Fun
Aug 12, 2014
Nice people, hot showers and dish washing sink. Important for renters! We liked that there were so many tent sites available
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.