Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 17, 2014
great place, very roomy, clean and friendly
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Wonderful place. Friendly, helpful people. Loved the dog parks.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
the person that was there behind the counter was very nice and we love to stay there as my son is the athletic director in earlham, we also like to to antiquing in des moines, we stay in des moines at the sailorville campground most of the time because we are seniors and it is 20 dollars cheaper a nite, but this is a wonderful well maintained friendly place to stay. thanks marvel caskey
Oct 13, 2014
Actually, we stayed 2 nights. This KOA has gone the extra mile for amenities: the best dog park we've seen plus a fishing pond and a great playground. If we pass that way again, we'll definitely stay here.
Oct 13, 2014
Very clean. Friendly, efficient staff. GREAT dog park area!!!
Oct 13, 2014
I wish they would post the rates so campers would know weekend rates are higher. No complaints about the park or staff. Very friendly & helpful.
Oct 13, 2014
Limited office hours are not ideal. The stay was good and we will return again when in the area.
Oct 13, 2014
Really didn't stay at the campground much...mainly just to sleep, but the little bit we were there we liked it! Great customer service! Love the fact that you can have pizza (including breakfast pizza) delivered to your camper! What better way to serve breakfast on the morning you leave!!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
very calm place but too far away from tent to restroom and too dark during the night.
Oct 13, 2014
Nice spot, peaceful weekend and wendi was so friendly and helpful.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much.professionalism was shown by everyone. We hope to return in a few days.
Oct 11, 2014
A very clean comfortable park !
Oct 10, 2014
We were late arriving. Some one came up to help us. Very nice and Every clean
Oct 09, 2014
Best Dog play area we have seen, and we've seen many. Really friendly and helpful staff. Got the Pizza and some wings delivered to our door. Both good and a welcome end to a long driving day. VERY quiet, as it is about a mile from the freeway. VERY nice grass and excellent sized spaces. We we wishing we could stay at this one longer. WiFi worked pretty well. Only thing missing was cable.
Oct 08, 2014
Located about a mile off the interstate so pretty quiet. Good access to pull thrus. Level gravel sites with good spacing. Laundry is VERY limited (4 Washer/Dryer).
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Thanx to the Boss for helping me with the apartment
Oct 08, 2014
Everything was great with the facilties. The only frustration was the WIFI. When we phoned in advance to ask, he told me it was all working great, but when we arrived at the campground she said they were having trouble with anyone with Windows 8. I have Windows 8 and couldn't get on. I needed to do some things on Internet that night and would have appreciated knowing the problem in advance.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
The campgrounds and cabin were terrific, well maintained and clean. The staff was friendly and caring, truly enjoyed our stay.....
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Bring back paper towels in bathrooms
Oct 07, 2014
The West Des Moines KOA was perfect for an overnight stay - convenient to the interstate, level sites, well-stocked store and a large laundry. The owners were welcoming and helpful. One caveat - if your computer is a PC go to office for help on connecting to the Wifi.
Oct 06, 2014
I stayed at this campground two years ago, and really enjoyed it, but not so this time. In fact, we left one day early because of no internet service. The internet would come and go. Totally not dependent, and I work as a independent consultant, and have to have e mail. I wont stay here again until this is fixed.
Oct 06, 2014
Our stay was awesome and we all will be coming back.
Oct 06, 2014
nice clean campground and restrooms. some sites are small but overall nice
Oct 06, 2014
The campground is very easy to maneuver, clean, and friendly. I liked the jumping mat for the kids and the availability of pizza delivered to the campsite. Only think I missed were trees for shade!
Oct 06, 2014
Our stay was great and the staff was amazing! Thank you for all of your kindness! Cant wait to come back!!
Oct 06, 2014
As a frequent user of KOA campgrounds, this was one of the very best. Well managed by Jamie, the grounds were excellent, washrooms spotless and service to guests was superb. It was definetly a Great Day at KOA!!!
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
nice folks and a great park.
Oct 05, 2014
We have used this camp ground many times and has always been pleasant experience
Oct 04, 2014
Half way point on my trips from Arkansas to Minnesota. I can always count on a courteous reception and a good nights rest.
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
Very nice and quiet. Consider alternate surfacing material as existing is very dusty when dry and very very muddy when wet.
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Having to pay for each child to jump on a pillow is ridiculous. We pay enough per campsite as it is, then to pay per child to jump is too much. The lady named Wendy is rude and short with people and very unfriendly at all, and is not like usual KOA employees. Roseann and Lowell were friendly and accommodating as usual. Bathrooms not cleaned as scheduled times messy. Quiet times NOT enforced-bad!
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
We have stayed here before, and while everything went well, we believe you need to upgrade your shower conditions.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.