Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 21, 2014
Close enough to the highway for convenience, but far enough away to be quiet.
Apr 21, 2014
Just opened. New young, friendly, enthusiastic owners (2 weeks). Camp end swirl after a rough winter. Everything worked fine.
Apr 21, 2014
This is a very "basic" KOA that has clean campsites, restrooms and facilities. However, there is no pool or cable access. They are very willing to help with late check-ins for cabin access or locating the correct RV spot. Kind, friendly staff. Just wish they had cable hook up!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We definitely have a heated swimming pool Memorial Day through Labor Day, so maybe you got us confused with another park you visited recently. We don't have cable access, but we do receive 15-18 digital channels from Des Moines on your antenna.
Apr 20, 2014
Peaceful, clean, helpful staff. Not much to see or do, but great for a good nights rest. Enjoyed the on site pizza. Delivered right to your campsite. Very good, tasty and reasonable priced.
Apr 19, 2014
Friendly staff, nice and clean campground. very quiet.
Apr 19, 2014
It was our second stay in a week. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Clean bathrooms and hot showers are a plus.
Apr 17, 2014
A very helpful staff. Nice large level pull throughout.
Apr 17, 2014
Thanks
Apr 16, 2014
Very clean campground and facilities. Friendly, helpful workers. Easy access from I-80. I'd definitely stay here again.
Apr 15, 2014
Very friendly and accommodating. Clean bathrooms with heat...nice since it snowed overnight!
Apr 10, 2014
Not a destination but a decent stopping off point along the way. Four stars for the great people who manage the place. Laundry is a good deal. Visit winterset and shop at Fareway Grocery.
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
Good hosts who make good pizza a good place to stay
Apr 08, 2014
Great time as always and the pizza was fantastic!!!
Apr 08, 2014
FANTASTIC 1st time out!!!
Apr 07, 2014
Very nice grounds,facilities and very well maintained and very friendly owners.
Apr 07, 2014
We were bringing our new camper home from the dealer and were dry. Called hosts found them very accomodating to help us out. Bath towels, paper towels and other small items needed. The shower stalls could stand some updating. Yes I would stay there again.
Apr 05, 2014
One night only but would like to return soon
Apr 04, 2014
No hot water for showers
Jan 08, 2014
We really enjoyed the pool, playground, and the bike rentals!
Nov 04, 2013
Great place. Friendly helpful staff.
Nov 02, 2013
Nov 01, 2013
This KOA does not have any cable service
Oct 30, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Very friendly employees directed us to a nice local restaurant at our request and gave good directions. Also greatly appreciate the 1pm check out time.
Oct 27, 2013
Our family did a fall campout in the cabins. They were clean, staff friendly and plenty of fun for all.
Oct 27, 2013
Nice & friendly, easy to navigate, & very quiet!
Oct 26, 2013
Only stayed one night as we traveled through Iowa. Very nice and clean campgrounds. Staff friendly and very knowledgable about area.
Oct 24, 2013
Oct 23, 2013
A plus sites, clean restrooms, large park area with pond, large dog run excellent KOA highly recommend
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
I would not order your pizza again. It was much too spicy. Looked like it was covered in [pepper flakes
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
WiFi could be better, overall very nice campground:-)
Oct 19, 2013
Ww arrived late at night, arround midnight and left the next morning there was no contact with KOA personal the thing that sticks in my mind is that the rate listed for the late registration was for 2 adults and two children which does not fit our situation. the other thing that sticks in my mind is that the one night rate was out of line with other KOA's I guess that is what big city Iowa KOA ma
Oct 18, 2013
Oct 18, 2013
Fabulous campground and the official duck greeters were fun to watch!
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff
Oct 15, 2013
No heat in the bathrooms. The shower head fell off the shower and got my daughter's clothes wet. Campground was quite noisy. Other campers did not observe the 10pm - 7 am quiet hours even after I reminded them. At 10:25 pm I called the KOA main number and left a message about the noise. To my knowledge, no one came to the campground to resolve the problem.
Oct 15, 2013
We are very pleased withour stay. The campground was very clean the staff was nice and helpful. We arrived later in the night and there was a welcome packet there with all needed info to begin our stay. We travel with a pet and she was greeted with open arms. The Thorps will return.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Nothing spectacular. No complaints
Oct 14, 2013
Clean facility. Got our pizza order wrong, we ordered thin and got thick-yuck. Otherwise good KOA but really weird, weird store hours.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
As it was late in the season additional space was left between units which was a nice touch and very appreciated not being jammed together as so often happens. Thanks!
Oct 13, 2013
We spent one night at the campground. The camp is only a short distance from the interstate, but was very quiet and very clean. My husband had a medical emergency during our stay, and we had no problems with getting help. Thankfully we were able to continue our trip. A big thank you to the camp host who showed such concern and please thank the medics and volunteer responders for us.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.