Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

3418 L Avenue (GPS)

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
For us this location is ideal to stop at while traveling between Vermont and Colorado. And it is just far enough from the highway and is clean and friendly. We'll see you again!
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Everything was clean. Workers very accommodating
Jun 21, 2016
Rude staff, small sites and litter on site.
Jun 20, 2016
Fabulous! It was quiet the scenery was beautiful around the campground and there seem to be so much for kids to do.
Jun 20, 2016
very clean lots of stuff for kids to do plenty of dogs
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Our stay was great. Very clean, many activities, very friendly and helpful service. Would definitely stay again.
Jun 20, 2016
Great activities for kids.
Jun 20, 2016
We've stayed here several times. We live over 100 miles from it so we use it as a layover rather than as a destination. They provide a several attractive activities for the family. Service is always prompt and courteous. My only minor complaint is that site #60 has the sewer connection well above the level of the drain outlet of our trailer. This is an excellent KOA and we'll be back.
Jun 20, 2016
the dragging of the rock on a daily basis didn't do much. I would suggest calcium salts to control the dust.
Jun 20, 2016
Beautiful campground with large sites. Everyone was so helpful and kind after our long day of travelling.
Jun 20, 2016
Large pull-thru sites. Clean showers. Warm pool.
Jun 20, 2016
What a great clean and friendly KOA. So many family activities and beautiful cabins for those without RV's or who don't want to "ruff" it.
Jun 20, 2016
Always a great stay.... very clean....
Jun 20, 2016
Great campground. Awesome, very clean and updated bathrooms. Great activities for the kids. My kids lived the bouncing pillow, pool and water balloon slingshot!
Jun 19, 2016
A very well run facility in a good setting
Jun 19, 2016
bummer to have to pay for jump pillow. especially with a lot of kids in our party. Some more shade around the cabins and rv lots at the back would not be a bad idea. but overall a great gift shop and having food onsite is SO nice when you are too tired to cook.
Jun 18, 2016
Beautiful shade trees at the front of the campground. Cleanest bathrooms anywhere! Friendly folks. A very nice stop on our travels.
Jun 18, 2016
Great place to stay with the grandkids!
Jun 18, 2016
Good folks, great site and wish we had more time there.
Jun 18, 2016
Decent campground but their directions stating they were 18 miles from I35/I80 interchange were confusing. Coming sourh on 35 we had to travel 36 miles from I35/&0
Jun 17, 2016
Beautiful location, quiet and accessible from I 80. Friendly and gracios staff eager to make your stay relaxing. In our top five list. Thanks!
Jun 17, 2016
Very nice campground. Also loved the wings and hand dipped ice cream. Nice gift shop too.
Jun 17, 2016
The bathrooms were amazing!! Better than some hotels we have stayed in- granite counter and glass tile NICE. Kids loved the trampoline basketball and pool.
Jun 17, 2016
Great service. In and out with no problems.
Jun 17, 2016
Stay here every year we travel west. Nice clean campground. Washers need upgrading. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend. This campground.
Jun 17, 2016
Very very dusty. Just got my motor home and car washed before going in blew that money. Never could get the wifi to work either. Besides those two things it was fine. People were very nice and the location is close to the highway but no noise
Jun 16, 2016
Modern bathrooms, great for kids. Clean and comfortable.
Jun 16, 2016
Nice pool and K9 Kampground. Liked that it had spacious dog park area. Liked the lot size (spacious and not crowded). Liked that it had sewer in addition to electric and water.
Jun 16, 2016
Very welcoming, just great very clean and tidy with great size sites. The pizzas were great too. Excellent all the way round. Wish more were like this.
Jun 15, 2016
This facility improves each season. This is a great place for kids. This was our 4th stay and I would certainly recommend to anyone. We stayed a week in a 40ft 5er.
Jun 15, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Des Moines West KOA campground this past weekend! Their staff was very friendly, accommodating, and even highlighted for us all the possible points of interest that we might want to visit which we did go to most of the sites. We will definitely come back to the area and stay here again!
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Exceptional campground just west of Des Moines, IA! The bathrooms/showers were immaculate (probably newly done) but totally clean and well kept. Campground was well cared for and clean - hosts were friendly and efficient. Although we did not take advantage of it they offer pizza, wings. etched delivered to your site!! The off leash dog parks x 2 were nice. Nice stopover
Jun 14, 2016
Very nice campground and store.
Jun 14, 2016
Top notch camp. Will stay with you anytime we're in the area. Thanks for a great stay. Butch Penrose
Jun 14, 2016
Best,clean dog runs of all the KOA camps from California to Michigan.Staff was extrenely busy, but never to hurried to answer any questions we had. A great place to camp !
Jun 14, 2016
After already paying an additional fee for kids, thought it was ridiculous that you had to pay an addition $10 for them to bounce & use some of the play equipment. Seems like nickle & diming. Also on web map it said like us on face book & receive a discount-when checked in they said oh yeah we don't do that. At checkin gal interrupted every time tried to ask a question she was not customer friend

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Andrea, just to clarify, our rates include 2 adults and 2 kiddos. Additional people do cost extra, and we battle with the pricing of the fun pass every year. For example, this year we added the Trampoline Basketball ($18K) with no increase to our Fun Pass at $10. Our value to you is critical to us.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time! So many fun things to do!
Jun 13, 2016
Need to open camp store earler
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
very nice and friendly showers are excellent children have lots to do there
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
What a great place to stay!!! The hosts are so friendly and it was a wonderful experience.
Jun 13, 2016
love the new updates! Fun time and can't wait to go back!!
Jun 12, 2016
Very clean sites and facilities. Friendly staff.
Jun 12, 2016
Great customer service, we broke down on our way to this KOA lost a day waiting for repairs ,they still honored our reservation the next day ! Thanks for your great service
Jun 11, 2016
Great place, something for the whole family. Pond, playground, pool, games. Would stay here again.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award