Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

RV Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Des Moines West, IA gets an A+ in all facets of the camping experience for the travelling camper. Customer service was as good as you can get. Friendly, courteous and helpful. This was our second visit and will stay again if in the area.
Jul 25, 2015
Everyone was very friendly and helpful very nice park. would stay again if we come through there again.
Jul 25, 2015
Lovely little campground close to a quaint old Iowa town (Adel, IA). Perfect for a stopover. Nice folks, superclean bathroom and shower.
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice overnight stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Staff as friendly and very helpful. I'm new to camping and the staff made it very easy for me and answered all my questions. Site was clean and was to get in and out of.
Jul 24, 2015
Excellent customer service! Great pool, shower house and store which offers pizza, wings, ice cream and much more! They really place the customer first!
Jul 23, 2015
Extremely pleased
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the staff and owner. Loved the location, convenient but quiet. Pool was great and the bathroom/showers were awesome. New and clean. Please visit Winterset in Madison County to see covered bridges and Birthplace of John Wayne. Very cute towne. Don't forget the Pizza.(delivered fresh and hot to your campsite.)
Jul 22, 2015
Good stop over KOA. Nicest bath house I've seen. Clean bath house and laundry area.
Jul 22, 2015
This was our 3rd visit here. It keeps getting better. A very nice family campground with friendly people, largesites and clean grounds. I would recommend to anyone passing through or wanting to stay for a few days. We were in a 40ft 5th wheel.
Jul 22, 2015
GREAT KOA. Great pizza and wings. Great Pool....Loved this KOA. Stayed on way to Mt Rushmore and on my return to home trip. Enjoyed EVERYTHING about this KOA
Jul 22, 2015
our second time with you and would stay again
Jul 22, 2015
The spots were too close together, we couldn't put our awning out we were so close to the next camper. The locals had much roomier spots.
Jul 22, 2015
We haven't stayed at this koa in several years and was pleasantly surprised with all the new updates.
Jul 22, 2015
The campground was clean and easy to use it
Jul 21, 2015
Friendly people, great facilities!
Jul 21, 2015
Overnight stop. Nice park, very clean. Easy off and on interstate.
Jul 21, 2015
the campground was clean and well cared for, which made our stay pleasant.the kanes
Jul 21, 2015
Always great! Best part is the kids having a good time. Thanks
Jul 20, 2015
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at. We love that your sites are long and spacious. The pizza and ice cream are just a plus. Thank you.
Jul 20, 2015
Nice, clean facility. Friendly staff. We enjoyed pool, bike riding at campground and wine tasting!
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice big lots we have a 45' and had lots of room very friendly staff. Can't say anything negative
Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful We have stayed here the last 3 years. Love seeing the new changes. Next trip there will be with the grandsons. Thanks for all you do for your guests.
Jul 20, 2015
never answer there phone even for res.
Jul 20, 2015
Could use more help. Took 30 mins to check in and we had reservations with site numbers.
Jul 20, 2015
LOVED the facilities... The store with icecream and fresh made pizza was fabulous. The others should follow your example. Thank you for great time.
Jul 19, 2015
Quick, efficient check-in. Great staff. One of the cleanest and neatest we've seen. Many activities for families - "themed weekends" a great idea. K9 park great. Lake and surrounding grounds fabulous.
Jul 19, 2015
Just stayed one night. Friendly helpful staff. The only complaint I have is that the rate is way overpriced. Almost $50.00???
Jul 19, 2015
Great new showers. Would like a little more pressure. Pleasant friendly staff!
Jul 18, 2015
Lots of things for kids to do. Loved the pool since it was 100 out most of the week! Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 18, 2015
We loved our weeklong stay at the West Des Moines KOA. Near to the fun city and perfect for relaxation and TONS of fun for our 5 year old son.
Jul 18, 2015
Very clean. Nice service and we enjoyed the made to order pizza from the clubhouse. Good for kids, too.
Jul 17, 2015
Great KOA! Unusual, but very nice layout. Obviously designed and amenitiies provided by RV owners. Regret that this was just a one night stay. Look forward to returning for longer stays in the future.
Jul 16, 2015
Staff great, but we were in the middle section with side by side connections, and the slide outs on the same site, were so far over on our sites, that we had to be careful when we opened truck door. Actually could not open truck door all the way. Probably would not stay here again unless given site not in the middle.
Jul 16, 2015
Staff greeted us warmly and were very helpful. The facilities were neat and clean. Easy access to sites and exiting was also a breeze.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
I like that this campground had a gift shop.
Jul 15, 2015
Every thing was good. We were able to use our satellite tv after we moved out from under to huge tree.
Jul 14, 2015
Great facilities & staff. A tornado warming with a siting of a tornado close by, the staff went around to everyone in the campground to warn them and tell them to take shelter which we did in the main building then moved to a neighboring basement. The concern for the campers was very appreciated. The only negative I can say is that the 30 amp pull thru's were way to close to each other.
Jul 14, 2015
Great park with exceptional shower facilities. The pool is wonderful but the $5 cost for the bounce pillow is a little much. I had 3 kids with me which is why only rated at 4 instead of 5.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff was great and the campground was satisfactory. Needs work. But we would stay again.
Jul 13, 2015
The campsite was level, the restrooms were spotless, and the staff had all kinds of activities planned for the kids. It was a great little family get away.
Jul 13, 2015
Wonderful! Staff were approachable and accomodating. Grounds were well maintained, pool was clean. Lots for kids to do and those bathrooms were cleaner than some hotels we have been in!. Movies on the big screen plus they made and delivered hot pizza if we ordered it!!!!! Will absolutely put this facility in our list of places to return to!
Jul 13, 2015
This campground was great. Plenty for a family to do, with many activities. The bathrooms were fantastic and the other facilities were kept up. The actual campsites were close together and your neighbors are really near. This is really the only negative.
Jul 12, 2015
pleasant, very clean, and friendly
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Cramped sites. No trees. This was not the best KOA. They charge extra for things that should be included. Bathrooms and pool are nice though.
Jul 11, 2015
Great week of camping even with the "non" July weather (blankets and coats Iowa odd) we had a blast and great time with the staff and other campers what a great family campground cant wait to camp again. Thank you for the great week
Jul 11, 2015
Overall a pretty good campground, except the streets are gravel and the playground not real nice. Wi-Fi is worthless.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.