Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

RV Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
We stayed four nights during our last stay in July 2015. We stayed here previously for two nights. The staff are friendly, the campground is well supervised, the bathrooms are modern and clean, and the area is very quiet with no planes, trains, or highway noises. Our teenages enjoyed the pool and the bouncing pillow. We prefer to stay here when in the Des Moines area.
Jul 29, 2015
Should be called - Limited Free Wifi. You were asked not to use Netflix, ect. This was an issue for us. Bouncing pillow was great for my son.
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great stay. We really liked the improvements they have made over the past year! It really makes paying so much for a campsite worth it. We would like the jump pillow to be just part of the rate instead of having to purchase even more when we arrive.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice people and loved the pizza.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
need more shade trees
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice campground with lots of family activities especially for kids. There are plenty of theme weekends throughout the season--ours was Christmas in July which was fun to observe. Also a nice local wine tasting was a fun experience. A heavy rain in the middle of the night did not seem to affect the area the next morning--drainage must be excellent. It is a bit far from the metro area but quiet
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Not only was there adequate staff, but they were a bunch of great people! The facility was clean and modern. We will be returning with the Grandkids next time because of the many things for them to enjoy as well. Did I mention the staff!!!! Thanks for a great stay. Jim
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I am an insurance adjuster and travel all over the United States.The best KOA I have ever stayed at. The people there are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure that everything is just right. The owners are doing a magnificent job on representing the KOA family you should the proud of them. Kenneth Lode 817-821-4893 Fort Worth Texas.
Jul 26, 2015
This koa was a pleasant surprise. We were going on the Boone train ride and other tourist attractions. This koa was centrally located. We loved the two area dog run,the spacious pads and cleanliness. We plan on coming back.
Jul 26, 2015
Great staff, great sites, great activities, very clean and updated facilities! This was our first visit to a KOA. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to future visits!
Jul 26, 2015
These facilities are clean and modern and the staff is great! Thanks for a great place to stay.
Jul 26, 2015
We love this campground and your staff.
Jul 26, 2015
Best KOA we've stayed at yet!
Jul 26, 2015
Middle campsites are a tight fit. Not many shade trees. Clean and neat. Staff are friendly.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Des Moines West, IA gets an A+ in all facets of the camping experience for the travelling camper. Customer service was as good as you can get. Friendly, courteous and helpful. This was our second visit and will stay again if in the area.
Jul 25, 2015
Everyone was very friendly and helpful very nice park. would stay again if we come through there again.
Jul 25, 2015
Lovely little campground close to a quaint old Iowa town (Adel, IA). Perfect for a stopover. Nice folks, superclean bathroom and shower.
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice overnight stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Staff as friendly and very helpful. I'm new to camping and the staff made it very easy for me and answered all my questions. Site was clean and was to get in and out of.
Jul 24, 2015
Excellent customer service! Great pool, shower house and store which offers pizza, wings, ice cream and much more! They really place the customer first!
Jul 23, 2015
Extremely pleased
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the staff and owner. Loved the location, convenient but quiet. Pool was great and the bathroom/showers were awesome. New and clean. Please visit Winterset in Madison County to see covered bridges and Birthplace of John Wayne. Very cute towne. Don't forget the Pizza.(delivered fresh and hot to your campsite.)
Jul 22, 2015
Good stop over KOA. Nicest bath house I've seen. Clean bath house and laundry area.
Jul 22, 2015
This was our 3rd visit here. It keeps getting better. A very nice family campground with friendly people, largesites and clean grounds. I would recommend to anyone passing through or wanting to stay for a few days. We were in a 40ft 5th wheel.
Jul 22, 2015
GREAT KOA. Great pizza and wings. Great Pool....Loved this KOA. Stayed on way to Mt Rushmore and on my return to home trip. Enjoyed EVERYTHING about this KOA
Jul 22, 2015
our second time with you and would stay again
Jul 22, 2015
The spots were too close together, we couldn't put our awning out we were so close to the next camper. The locals had much roomier spots.
Jul 22, 2015
We haven't stayed at this koa in several years and was pleasantly surprised with all the new updates.
Jul 22, 2015
The campground was clean and easy to use it
Jul 21, 2015
Friendly people, great facilities!
Jul 21, 2015
Overnight stop. Nice park, very clean. Easy off and on interstate.
Jul 21, 2015
the campground was clean and well cared for, which made our stay pleasant.the kanes
Jul 21, 2015
Always great! Best part is the kids having a good time. Thanks
Jul 20, 2015
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at. We love that your sites are long and spacious. The pizza and ice cream are just a plus. Thank you.
Jul 20, 2015
Nice, clean facility. Friendly staff. We enjoyed pool, bike riding at campground and wine tasting!
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice big lots we have a 45' and had lots of room very friendly staff. Can't say anything negative
Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful We have stayed here the last 3 years. Love seeing the new changes. Next trip there will be with the grandsons. Thanks for all you do for your guests.
Jul 20, 2015
never answer there phone even for res.
Jul 20, 2015
Could use more help. Took 30 mins to check in and we had reservations with site numbers.
Jul 20, 2015
LOVED the facilities... The store with icecream and fresh made pizza was fabulous. The others should follow your example. Thank you for great time.
Jul 19, 2015
Quick, efficient check-in. Great staff. One of the cleanest and neatest we've seen. Many activities for families - "themed weekends" a great idea. K9 park great. Lake and surrounding grounds fabulous.
Jul 19, 2015
Just stayed one night. Friendly helpful staff. The only complaint I have is that the rate is way overpriced. Almost $50.00???
Jul 19, 2015
Great new showers. Would like a little more pressure. Pleasant friendly staff!
Jul 18, 2015
Lots of things for kids to do. Loved the pool since it was 100 out most of the week! Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 18, 2015
We loved our weeklong stay at the West Des Moines KOA. Near to the fun city and perfect for relaxation and TONS of fun for our 5 year old son.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.