Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 17, 2014
Great
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Apparently "young" campground; most trees in 2/3 of campsites are close to sapling size. Restrooms could use an upgrade.
Jul 16, 2014
The site was even,the pool was great and the staff was very friendly.It was a good night.
Jul 16, 2014
We stayed so far in 4 KOA camp grounds and all have been great. There will be more as we continue our trip.
Jul 16, 2014
This is one of the cleanest campgrounds I've ever stopped at.
Jul 16, 2014
We didn't have a reservation and got off the road earlier than expected. They were very willing to accommodate us and even canceled our reservation at the other KOA! The pizza was great too!
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Clean and quiet sites were good and location great .... friendly service ..... very accommodating
Jul 15, 2014
We are traveling in a 44' motorhome and found getting in and out not to be difficult at all. Staff was friendly and facilities were clean and well maintained. Get place to stay when you are in the area.
Jul 15, 2014
Koa west des moines hss awesome friendly staff
Jul 15, 2014
I am getting really annoyed with cg's that advertise "free" wifi that you cannot even get your emails with. Otherwise, things were nice including a well kept dog park.
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly staff and nice store.
Jul 14, 2014
Great place to stay, very kid friendly. They have a lot of activities that keeps the kids entertained.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Staff is so friendly and willing to help. Loved the new jumping pillow and movie screen. We'll be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly, knowledgeable office staff. Resolved misunderstanding about arrival date quickly. Very well maintained facilities. Only negative is that many of the sewer connections are about 8 - 10 inches above ground level requiring water to run uphill.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
My only complaint was the limited WiFi. I was unable to get on the internet. Otherwise my stay was perfect and the staff very friendly.
Jul 13, 2014
The people were nice and very helpful. As we just stayed for one night while traveling from Colorado to Michigan. It served our purpose. FYI the pull through sites are not level and the hook ups are in the middle of these longer sites. You will probably need extensions for one or more of your hook ups and more blocking than normal for your stab jacks. Bathrooms could use some updating but usable.
Jul 13, 2014
clean & friendly...a+
Jul 13, 2014
Great stay. Wish there were more 50amp. Nicest owners.
Jul 12, 2014
Had a good stay. Reservations weren't handled correctly by a staff member there and no on ever apologized but got rather snarky over it instead. Other then that lots to do here.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Ship shape like all KOAs. Nothing negative to report.
Jul 11, 2014
great place to stay
Jul 11, 2014
Stayed 2 nights with 30' fifth wheel in adjoining spot with friends. If only high class hotels provided this type of outstanding service! Staff and owners were very visible during entire visit...ALL were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and personable. The grounds are kept up daily and are extremely well-kept. Great dog park, playground, pool and trampoline. We're looking forward to bringing grand
Jul 11, 2014
Good stopover point heading west and returning east.
Jul 11, 2014
We were there during the change of owners. Both couples were very cordial and helpful. Very nice campground.
Jul 11, 2014
All employees very friendly and helpful. Told us about the pizza on premises and delivered it to our site. Mailed our postcards too. Very pleased with the experience. The sight was good too. Easy in and out!
Jul 11, 2014
was a clean campground, friendly people and helpful, quiet and peaceful would recommend to everyone.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Every thing about the campground is good; nice wide & long sites. It would be nice if cable was available.
Jul 09, 2014
Convenient to I-80. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2014
We had a family wedding at a venue close by and the KOA campground was the perfect place to stay. Very friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Love this location so close to the Bridges of Madison County.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Nice, clean, and we ordered pizza instead of cooking which was nice. We don't usually eat pizza but this one was really good.
Jul 06, 2014
Love the campground and all of the activities! The cement around the pool needs a lot of work. Very rough in areas even in the pool. Would be nice to have a game room as well. Prices are good in the shop and the bounce pillow is awesome!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Very accommodating in the front office but we were told our campsite was level and it was not.
Jul 04, 2014
Bathrooms and showers were clean. The personnel were very helpful and friendly. All in all, a very pleasant stay.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Very nice with good amenities. Staff, well trained.On our list of KOA s 1 to 10 An 8
Jul 04, 2014
very poor internet bandwidth & difficult to retrieve e-mail; otherwise would have given higher ratings.
Jul 04, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.