Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
One of the best KOA's I've stayed in for years. Very well maintained. Most sites were spacious. Very quiet. We'll stay again when in the area.
Sep 01, 2017
Clean quiet park. Well maintained. They even had kids stuff for them. Especially the train they drive around. I don't even have kids but I thought it was cool! Every site has a fire ring. Laundry room could be bigger with newer machines. Store was average for beer and ice cream. GOOD PIZZA WINGS STATION.
Sep 01, 2017
We always enjoy our stays at West Des Moines KOA!!!
Sep 01, 2017
I have never had another camper not be able to open his car door all the way open because he was so close to my unit. It was really incredible how packed in we were. Park employees were not very friendly. It was my worst experience ever at at KOA.
Sep 01, 2017
great
Sep 01, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Very nice campground one the nicest we been in. The front desk lady was very nice and helpful.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Only 1 restroom/shower & it was located at office. Sites very close together and thankful we weren't in a double site.
Aug 30, 2017
Sites we're roomy, bathrooms clean!
Aug 30, 2017
All amenities and cable TV with very clean restrooms.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Shower/restrooms were always clean. We were there for 5 nights. Our site was closest to the road and we heard some traffic noise. The campground was full but never too loud. Store was fully stocked for whatever you need and they kept a tab for us! Helpful friendly staff!
Aug 29, 2017
Very nice campground. A clean we'll organized place with a very nice staff. We stayed there 2 times in 2 weeks. I would highly recommend this campground to travelers.
Aug 29, 2017
I think you all do a great job; the only problem I have is with AIR QUALITY. You are in the middle of the country in pristine air, and there must have been 20 smoky fires in the camp. I know that a campfire is part of the camping "experience" but I wasn't breathing only wood smoke, there must have been a little trash in some of the fires. Air quality is poor.
Aug 29, 2017
Very nice. Beautiful bathrooms.
Aug 29, 2017
Too expensive for what you get! Narrow spaces, crowded for no reason, lots of empty spots! Asked if we really wanted a picnic table because they other people had taken both! Convinced him to move us to another space which once our slide was out was 3 inches from the trailer next to us. $45.00?? Really?? Have you been to any other KOA? Won't be back.
Aug 28, 2017
Everyone was very nice and helpful we will be back!
Aug 28, 2017
Please see attached letter sent to KOA hosts
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice campground for families. Last stayed there 5 years ago, many improvements.
Aug 28, 2017
Very good campground, as always. But the staff ALWAYS seems overworked and overwhelmed. Sometimes to the point of rudeness. That said, we love going there and will come back.
Aug 28, 2017
Nice and friendly. Only complaint was the water leak at the water hook up. Appeared the packing gland was leaking.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
I reserved a site for two days and had to cancel the second day reserved and did so in advance more than 24 hours but they still kept my money. If I don't get it back I will bad mouth that camp to all my friend and family
Aug 28, 2017
I enjoyed my nice and clean camp site. All employs were very helpful.
Aug 28, 2017
Was good
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
2 nights, clean facilities and great staff. Thanks
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice, clean and well kept, fairly good WiFi (except check in everytime we wanted to read something) at least it worked, and excellent for children with so much to do. Off the road so not too much traffic noise. Tailored to people with children, not retired travelers tho but that was ok. Store has everything. Friendly staff. We've stayed at a lot of KOAs and give this one 5 stars.
Aug 27, 2017
Excellent clean restrooms and showers!
Aug 27, 2017
Bathrooms were very clean and the atmosphere was pleasant.
Aug 27, 2017
Super clean and friendly staff! Very nice size spots! Granddaughter liked the warm pool!
Aug 27, 2017
Other campers not very friendly. Lot not level. Looks like improvements are being made along with expansion. Should be very nice.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We were in town for the Solheim Cup and could not have picked a better place to stay with our 42 foot fifth wheel. Great long level sites and great staff. Will definitely recommend to all we know.
Aug 26, 2017
Great dog park!!! Very large sites. Easy access to freeway. Only bad thing we're the 2 waste ponds which didn't smell that great. But would definitely go back.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Stayed for a long weekend. Campground was clean, quiet. People working there were friendly and very helpful. we enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Nice park, clean.
Aug 26, 2017
Quiet, level sites. Food available. Very helpful, friendly staff. Just a very nice park!!
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
This campground is very neat, and the people are extremely helpful! The owner/manager helped us pick a different site that had some shade, and worked out a redemption from our KOA account. We would definitely return.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Way over priced. It was clean.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award