Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 16, 2016
Very friendly staff and family oriented.
May 14, 2016
Owners were very nice and very helpful. They went above and beyond to help us. Camp ground is a little crowded and not many trees. We thought price was a little high for quality of park.
May 11, 2016
One of the nicest campgrounds we've seen - especially since there is no cement. Excellent!
May 11, 2016
One of the BEST KOA's we have stay at, too bad it was so short of a stay.
May 10, 2016
It's always great to stay at the DSM West KOA. Everyone is so nice and helpful and it's always very clean.
May 10, 2016
Great campground. Wonderful hosts. Nice, clean swimming pool. All around, it was a great stay. Thanks!!
May 10, 2016
very clean and friendly. Campsite are very large
May 10, 2016
Great place to stay!
May 10, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 09, 2016
We love this KOA and have been so impressed by the continual improvements!
May 09, 2016
the road you are located on is very noisy with traffic and that is understandable given your location off the interstate. however we wish we would have been given the opportunity to decide on a different campsite rather than being assigned the first one right by the busy road and all incoming travelers to your park. we'd rather have been back aways where it was a little quieter
May 09, 2016
We had a great time. Lots for the kids to do, excellent bathrooms and showers!
May 09, 2016
WHAT A NICE WELL KEPT CAMPGROUND. EVERYONE THAT WORKED THERE WAS SO FRIENDLY. THERE SO MUCH TO DO FOR THE KIDS BUT WE DID NOT HAVE ANY KIDS WITH US. IT WAS SO QUIET AND JUST A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN.
May 08, 2016
Very neat & clean campground. Just far enough from highway to not hear traffic noise.
May 07, 2016
Facilities were excellent !
May 07, 2016
Clean friendly
May 06, 2016
Everyone at the KOA we stayed were all great.
May 06, 2016
Very neat and clean and friendly
May 06, 2016
Grounds keeping mowed grass too early in morning. Host was distracted with another person during my checkout.
May 05, 2016
Beautiful setting. Great hosts. Pizza and wings delivered to your site. Win win.
May 03, 2016
Great place, husband had stayed here before!
May 02, 2016
Clean and well maintained! Wireless worked great! Very friendly and accommodating!
May 02, 2016
Stayed two weekends in a row. Very clean. Great stay.
May 02, 2016
We have enjoyed both times we have stayed at this KOA. The people are great and the area is awesome!
May 01, 2016
Staff was very nice and very helpful
May 01, 2016
Apr 26, 2016
Nice quiet area and pet friendly.
Apr 25, 2016
Friendly staff and an extremely clean park. Long, level pull-thrus with large grassy area between sites. Very nice!
Apr 25, 2016
Park is very well maintained. Good wifi. Trash pickup is nice feature. Although only 1.5 miles from I-80, beautiful, quite and secluded. Nice staff.
Apr 25, 2016
Great people, very helpful
Apr 25, 2016
We have been at a lot of KOAs and this one by far is the best one close to home.
Apr 24, 2016
Late night check in was easy
Apr 20, 2016
We stay at koa campgrounds as often as possible but this one was the best ever! Bathrooms were gorgeous and clean. The activities available were unique and fun for all. It will be a destination from now on.
Apr 19, 2016
They were quick to resolve electrical issue (50-amp not working)
Apr 19, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
Easy to find, just off I-80. Plenty of room to get around. All pull thrus. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed my stay.
Apr 18, 2016
The staff is very helpful and courteous. They have done improvements every year. The place is looking good!
Apr 18, 2016
The BEST KOA we've ever camped at!The staff is amazing, so friendly and helpful and the campground itself is beautiful and so well kept! We love it!
Apr 18, 2016
Nicest campground we stayed in on our trip from California to Indiana! Everyone was super friendly, and the grounds are immaculate!
Apr 17, 2016
Very clean, easy to find and get in and out. Staff fixed us a pizza and chicken wings for dinner, brought it to our site. Quiet, restful.very very nice.
Apr 16, 2016
The layout of the campground was good. The problem is with the gravel on the sites and roads - like large marbles making it hard to walk on. With this they have a real problem with dust - I can't imagine it being like this all summer. For this reason, we are going to check out another campground the next time in this area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Elaine, you caught us right as we were doing our initial grading of all the roads and sites, so it stirs up the rocks a bit and creates dust. This will subside usually in a few days and after the first rain. It's not like that all summer, luckily. :)
Apr 15, 2016
La réservation s'est fait facilement on line. L'accueil était cordial. Les facilités correspondaient à ce qui était annoncé sur le site Web. Le Wifi fonctionnait bien. Les sites sont sur le gravier mais c'est très propre.
Apr 14, 2016
Excellent front office and customer interaction. Good facilities and amenities: with the exception of WiFi strength and stability. Lots of us depend on robust internet access and operation for key parts of our lives. This WiFi system drops out and would not maintain a consistently available signal.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Robert & Patricia, I'm sorry for the inconsistent signal the day you were here. We were actually hanging all new wifi equipment that day, so now the signal is rock solid throughout the entire park. This is our 3rd wifi equipment in the 5 years we've owned the park, and so far the new system is great
Apr 11, 2016
The staff is very friendly and welcoming. They made us feel at home immediately. Also, the entire property is very well maintained!
Apr 11, 2016
It was early April, so there weren't any activities open, which we expected. We appreciated the K9 area for our dogs. Our boys are very anxious to return in the summer to experience everything the campground has to offer. We also came in late Friday and appreciated the information left for us. Thanks!
Apr 10, 2016
Apr 09, 2016
Quiet, relaxed location. Friendly professional staff, very clean facilities.
Apr 09, 2016
Very nice place to stay!
Apr 08, 2016
Such a nice park very clean lots of children's activities and a great corral for the canines owners are fantastic and very helpful highly recommend this beautiful park
Apr 06, 2016
This was an overnight stay and definitely will come back for a longer stay soon.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award