Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Oct 29, 2012
Oct 29, 2012
Oct 28, 2012
I thought it was a very nice KOA, I had 3 dogs with me and the dog park was great for letting the dogs off leash to play. Showers were great and very nice staff. I will be staying there in my RV again for sure.
Oct 28, 2012
Oct 27, 2012
I've stayed here several times and always the best service. I'll be back again.
Oct 27, 2012
As always - great place to stay
Oct 26, 2012
The park was clean and quiet. We stayed just one night so cannot comment on the facilities too much. There was free WI-FI that came in handy
Oct 26, 2012
Convienent to interstate and just far enough off to be away from traffic noise resulting in good nights sleep
Oct 25, 2012
I appreciated that there was information about local attractions (covered bridges, John Wayne's birthplace) in the camp brochure as we were not familiar with the area.
Oct 23, 2012
Staff helpful and pleasant. Restrooms clean EXCEPT water in restrooms had "rotten egg" smell so I certainly did not take a shower! Was stinky too. . when I washed my hands. Was told water was continually tested for seafety but with fewer guests during fall had been standing in tanks and developed this smell.
Oct 22, 2012
This is a great camp ground. Thank You for a enjoyable weekend.
Oct 22, 2012
Oct 22, 2012
Oct 21, 2012
We reserved late that afternoon, pulled in at dark and left before light so can't say much other than thankful you could accommodate us. The lady in the office was very pleasant but the dogs camping next to us barking at 1 and 4 in the morning weren't.
Oct 20, 2012
Oct 17, 2012
Nice campround and facilities. Hosts are very helpful.
Oct 16, 2012
Oct 15, 2012
We always enjoy our stays at your KOA campgrounds. The accomodations are always great and the place is very clean. The people there are very nice and help you out in any way possible.
Oct 14, 2012
Oct 13, 2012
Oct 11, 2012
Oct 10, 2012
Other than a long ways from anywhere it is a very nice park. Nice long and wide pull thrus. The on site Pizza and Wings shop would suit a lot of people.
Oct 09, 2012
The water in the shower was cold on two occassions. When reported, the manager denied it was a problem. When I escorted 3 men to the women's bathroom to resolve the issue, I thought it was overkill. A lot of water is wasted while it is being heated. Nothing worse than standing naked waiting for water to heat for 10+ minutes.
Oct 09, 2012
The WIFI is really slow.
Oct 08, 2012
Excellent campground. Very nice, and informative host. Easy to get on and off interstate. Good internet.
Oct 08, 2012
Oct 07, 2012
Great folks. Unfortubately very noisy that night, (Friday night) but still nice facility!
Oct 06, 2012
NICE KOA
Oct 06, 2012
nice koa. a little pricey for the traveling camper. only have full hookup price when I only need electic. good deal on stay two nights and get one free.
Oct 06, 2012
Oct 05, 2012
Hi, We enjoyed the quiet evenings at the campground. Though quite a distance from Des Moines, it was easy to get to the things we wanted to see and do. The accessability to Winter set and the Bridges was a plus. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will certainly come there again if we are in the area. Bob & Alice Johnson
Oct 05, 2012
Oct 04, 2012
Well we got there at about 2:30 and no one was in the office, they did however have our paperwork in the laundry room. No one ever talked to us, even when they drove around on the golf cart. I just didn't feel very welcomed at this KOA. I was a bit disappointed, and I don't know that we will ever camp there again.
Oct 04, 2012
Oct 03, 2012
great pizza!!!
Oct 02, 2012
Except for the dusty gravel roads, this is a nice campground. This seems to be a problem with many campgrounds in your area. I think you will find that big rig motorhomes will avoid you because of this.
Oct 02, 2012
To pricy for off season
Oct 01, 2012
nice staff nice place
Oct 01, 2012
Oct 01, 2012
Stayed here before and it is better now than a few years back,the pool didn't work then. I can't say if it does now since it is off season. If pool works than this is a great campground and I will try it again in the summer.I love that they have a great dog enclosure and it is a quiet campground at night.
Sep 30, 2012
Sep 30, 2012
Sep 29, 2012
Needs more work
Sep 29, 2012
The camp ground it's self was very clean. We enjoyed our as far as that goes. Very disappointed, we were told that if we stay 3 nights, that on the 3rd night would be free. Our frequent lamper rewards card was punched for the two nights, we decided to stay the 3rd night, but was told only on a return visit. For us a return visit impossible, since we are from Ca. and the card exp. 9-24-2013
Sep 29, 2012
The Wi-Fi was terrible connection!
Sep 27, 2012
Sep 26, 2012
Enjoyed the quiet.
Sep 26, 2012
3 stars because of price. Awesome campground just WAY too expensive! There are other places close that are equal in my opinion for less money.
Sep 26, 2012
Sep 25, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.