Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
Excellent family fun all day long. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2013
After checking in I told my husband that the owner (woman) was the nicest person I had ever experienced helping me at a KOA. We had an absolutely wonderful time-from the wine tasting to the ice cream social, to our 3 time walk around the campground. We could have even ordered pizza which was very tempting.The cabin was clean & smelled like someone made sure it had not been closed up all day.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Love this campsite! It is very children friendly!!!!
Aug 12, 2013
Had a great stay! Staff were great. Buildings and grounds were clean and well maintained. We would stay again!
Aug 12, 2013
Very clean KOA. Nice big sites. No complaints. Wish they had a jumping pillow for kids.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites were to close together. Not enough space.Price was to high for what you had to offer. Fire pits didn't have a grill to cook on. No shade trees. People were very friendly, everything was clean and well organized.
Aug 12, 2013
We were just there overnight. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool and we used the laundry. Clean and inviting appearance.
Aug 12, 2013
The staff/owners were very accomodating in helping us find a spot and making sure we had everything we needed. (tent)
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Was only there for the night but had a great time. Looking to stay longer next visit.
Aug 11, 2013
Campsites a little to close to each other when you are parked side by side as they do in some sites. Very confusing at times trying to figure out whos sewer system is whos. Same thing with picnic tables

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Next time you're here we'd recommend staying in our larger single sites with both 30/50amp service. This way you'll have more room.
Aug 10, 2013
The staff treated us very well clean place we like to stay at this koa.
Aug 10, 2013
We love this place! Well maintained, close to golf, shopping, bike trails, friendly staff... Highly recommended!
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Had a fabulous time hanging out with my family. Very nice campground!
Aug 10, 2013
Great swim in pool, helpful at office when checking in.
Aug 10, 2013
Campers that were in our site before us left a bunch of garbage by where a fire ring was. When we asked for a picnic table it was delivered promptly. We never did get the fire ring we asked for. Over all the stay was very nice. The WIFI could be improved.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Nice clean place and good people running it. Could use cable though as we don't have dish for our trailer.
Aug 09, 2013
The people in the office were tremendously friendly and helpful. The park was terribly dusty and the bathrooms and showers need updating.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Friendly staff and clean facilities .
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Stumbled upon this koa. Not experienced campers at all. My husband and I and our two boys (ages 3 and 6) spent an extra day here because it was just so comfortable and clean! Campsite was great, clean bathrooms and showers, fun pool, and well stocked store. Thanks for a great time!!! Would definitely stay again!!
Aug 08, 2013
Staff was very friendly, campgrounds clean, park itself not too close to interstate or major road. Camp site was a little small but fine for a night or two.
Aug 07, 2013
Parfait pour une ou deux nuits. A première vue on dirait un grand parking, mais au final les emplacements sont très spacieux, possibilité de partager le carré d'herbe a plusieurs (si vous venez a 2 VR) La piscine (chauffée) est grande et profonde j'ai vraiment apprécié mon séjour
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
I stay here whenever we come to Des Moines The quality has remained high through the years
Aug 06, 2013
We stayed for 2 nights while visiting the area on our way back to Michigan from Colorado. The campground was quiet, had level and grassy sites and everyone was very friendly. Keep up the great work.
Aug 06, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff and clean, well-maintained sites.
Aug 06, 2013
Great place Will go back. Camp hosts were really friendly
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
all was great, but the pool could of been warmer? on the cooler days
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality at KOA. There was so many opportunities to get involved that our kids were entertained the whole time!
Aug 05, 2013
Great stay for our family!
Aug 05, 2013
Please plant more trees!
Aug 05, 2013
Thank you for offering activities for kids. My boys loved the slip n slide. For onc it did not rain when we camped. Thanks for bringing firewood to our site. Bait or fishing would be nice to offer for a small fee.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
very helpful, very clean, and a great family atmosphere
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
The spots were not level enough for my 38 ft. length. Should have been on big rig lot.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Needs updating of the showers if you are the ones that had the broken floors in the shower that someone could get their feet hurt in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have red mats in our showers to keep everyone's feet off the tiles, and we also don't have any broken tiles. :)
Aug 03, 2013
Friendly, kind and helpful staff Clean Quiet

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.