Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2013
I had an awesome time.
Jul 19, 2013
very nice and clean park. our greyhounds really loved the added perk of a fenced in area special for them to run!
Jul 19, 2013
it was the best time I had camping in 30 years of camping. the people who ran this campgrounds were the nicest I have ever been with
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I liked the extra activities for the kids and the campground was very clean. The store could have been stocked a little better and open earlier in the morning.
Jul 18, 2013
This was a stop on our way to a final destination (where we'll be for 7 weeks). It was a nice KOA, but further from the freeway than we prefer to stay. Because of that, if we were traveling through the area again, we'd try to find something closer to the highway 35 freeway.
Jul 18, 2013
The Kabin was clean but advertised amenities were not provided. The showers were ICE COLD. There was a sign that said to allow 2 minutes for the water to heat up but it never warmed up. The wifi was so slow and intermittent that it was impossible to even check email. The Kabin electricity was cut around 8am so we had no lights or air conditioning while packing up.
Jul 18, 2013
Great staff. Beautiful campground. As a dog owner, I loved the big dog run. My dogs were able to burn off energy by playing with other dogs.
Jul 18, 2013
Although we were there only one night we enjoyed our stay. Free from mosquitoes, fish in the pond. I fly fish and they took two of my flies, most likely because I didn't tie them one right. We will certainly be back when we are going in that direction.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
friendly staff, but we seemed to share a site with another popup camper. Could have shook hands with them we were so close.
Jul 17, 2013
Great place for overnight stay along I-80. Quiet. Very friendly staff; nice touches like wine tasting & ice cream social.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
NC
Jul 17, 2013
Clean, friendly people, helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
WE HAVE ALREADY PAST IT ON ABOUT HOW GREAT YOUR CAMPGROUND IS. However, we did have to complain to Mr.Forbes in regards to loud campers and he did talked to them and they did quite down we should have said something sooner.we would definitely stay there again.
Jul 16, 2013
Site was un-level and not paved. Roads were white rock and very dusty. Most sites had no shade. Would stay here again only in an emergency.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very nice stopover campground. Clean facilities and friendly staff. No complaints!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean, shaded, nice folks running the place. Will stay there again!
Jul 15, 2013
Very nice campground. Large grassy sites. Level parking for camper. Beautiful Iowa countryside setting.
Jul 15, 2013
A wonderful peaceful stay. Ordered pizza, did wine tasting .. Lots of events for all ages. Staff was friendly & helpful. We had a spot with a mature tree so we had shade from the hot sun.
Jul 15, 2013
Too short. Kampgound very nice. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 15, 2013
Great campground! Clean. Kids activities and the worker who headed them up was great! Our kids really enjoyed him.
Jul 15, 2013
We were greeted by fire ants and the neighbor had plumbing issues that disturbed our kamping area. We were not offered any sympathy or accommodations for our trouble. Campers were squeezed in tightly. We loved the pool & activities. We will stay again
Jul 15, 2013
Great shaded site. Clean well kept pool. Clean washrooms. Friendly people.
Jul 15, 2013
This is a great camp ground with very friendly staff, we wish we would have had more time to spend in the area. Definately will come again i the future.
Jul 15, 2013
Campground was nicely maintained despite it's age. Campsites were spacious with tables and fire rings. We took our grandchildren to weekend activities which were poorly run and supervised by teenager. All activities started late (as much as 40 minutes) The Slip and Slide was great fun, but very dangerous to younger children because proper supervision was lacking.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
We were only in over night, bu foun restrooms and showers (particularly the women's) to be in need of of repair and cleaning. The condition of the facilities did not support the per night cost compared to other sites we stayed at during our trip. For example...a beautiful state park in Colorado with spacious, full service pull through sites, and modern well maintained showers cost $43/day.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Large nice sites. Staff was very nice, informative and helpful. Thank you for a great stay, even if it was only one night.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Extremely friendly and clean! Great place to stop over, easy ins and outs! Pizza was great! Good line up of activities too!
Jul 14, 2013
Stayed there 4 times in a motorhome. Very nice campground
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Enjoyed our stay very much. The building needs some paint on the outside.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Loved the wine tasting and ice cream social. Good camp store.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
They took us to our campsite, the bathrooms were clean, everyone was very friendly.
Jul 14, 2013
The handles in the pool are loose and dangerous

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.