Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 08, 2012
Oct 07, 2012
We were pleased with our cabin and Kampground generally. I knew what to expect. The "late night" arrivals disturbed our sleep. ( Too much auto noise )
Oct 07, 2012
Great folks. Unfortubately very noisy that night, (Friday night) but still nice facility!
Oct 06, 2012
NICE KOA
Oct 06, 2012
nice koa. a little pricey for the traveling camper. only have full hookup price when I only need electic. good deal on stay two nights and get one free.
Oct 06, 2012
Oct 06, 2012
Really a great place to stay. Great bath/shower facilities, 10 stars.
Oct 05, 2012
Hi, We enjoyed the quiet evenings at the campground. Though quite a distance from Des Moines, it was easy to get to the things we wanted to see and do. The accessability to Winter set and the Bridges was a plus. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will certainly come there again if we are in the area. Bob & Alice Johnson
Oct 05, 2012
Oct 04, 2012
Well we got there at about 2:30 and no one was in the office, they did however have our paperwork in the laundry room. No one ever talked to us, even when they drove around on the golf cart. I just didn't feel very welcomed at this KOA. I was a bit disappointed, and I don't know that we will ever camp there again.
Oct 04, 2012
Oct 03, 2012
great pizza!!!
Oct 02, 2012
Loved everything about the stay except the mattress in the master bedroom of the deluxe cabin. Very unbalanced, but everything else was fine.
Oct 02, 2012
Except for the dusty gravel roads, this is a nice campground. This seems to be a problem with many campgrounds in your area. I think you will find that big rig motorhomes will avoid you because of this.
Oct 02, 2012
To pricy for off season
Oct 01, 2012
The staff was extremely welcoming & made us feel very comfortable with our stay. We stay in one of the larger lodges & every thing was extremely clean & just how the pictures showed. We will be staying again soon!
Oct 01, 2012
Oct 01, 2012
nice staff nice place
Oct 01, 2012
Nice and peaceful. Very clean restrooms. Really need to have changes made so that they are ADA approved though. Our son cannot use the bathrooms at this site. Other than that it is very nice.
Oct 01, 2012
Oct 01, 2012
Stayed here before and it is better now than a few years back,the pool didn't work then. I can't say if it does now since it is off season. If pool works than this is a great campground and I will try it again in the summer.I love that they have a great dog enclosure and it is a quiet campground at night.
Oct 01, 2012
We have stayed here many times and love it. This trip was just as enjoyable, however, we were a little disappointed. The cabin was dirty I had to spend an hour cleaning it and we always enjoy the activities but there weren't any.
Sep 30, 2012
Sep 30, 2012
Sep 29, 2012
Needs more work
Sep 29, 2012
The camp ground it's self was very clean. We enjoyed our as far as that goes. Very disappointed, we were told that if we stay 3 nights, that on the 3rd night would be free. Our frequent lamper rewards card was punched for the two nights, we decided to stay the 3rd night, but was told only on a return visit. For us a return visit impossible, since we are from Ca. and the card exp. 9-24-2013
Sep 29, 2012
The Wi-Fi was terrible connection!
Sep 28, 2012
Sep 28, 2012
Sep 27, 2012
Sep 26, 2012
Enjoyed the quiet.
Sep 26, 2012
3 stars because of price. Awesome campground just WAY too expensive! There are other places close that are equal in my opinion for less money.
Sep 26, 2012
Sep 25, 2012
Sep 25, 2012
Wonderful dog run, clean, nice family atmosphere
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 24, 2012
Very clean but website made it sound closer to des Moines than it was. Loved the dog park & playground. The sign on road said coffee at 8am; it was 9am. beautiful log cabin. Loved the trees and landscaping.
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 23, 2012
We had cockroaches in our cabin. Seeing 10+ running across the floor while making a trip the bathroom in the night is not how I like to vacation. Also there is a thick coat of dust on the fan and wall in the bedroom. We enjoyed our stay, the people and location until the roaches. We checked out a day early but didn't get a refund. It would have been enjoyable in a Tent or camper.
Sep 23, 2012
I hope you guys offer groupons for next summer! This is how I found out about you guys and ended up coming three times this summer. The store hours (only til 8 on weekends and 7 on weekdays) closed a little early for us though. It seemed like when we needed things it was too late! Also, I wish the gift shop offered more things specific to the Des Moines campgrounds or just KOA in general!!
Sep 23, 2012
Sep 23, 2012
came in after hrs to a strange place But the paperwork was done and the directions to the site were great. thanks
Sep 22, 2012
Everything was fine but I made reservations for 3 sites. We stayed there on the 15th and again on the 20th and our sites were not together.Disappointing since we were traveling together. When we ask about it, you said the sites were pick by the computer, in this day and age, computers can be overridden. We would stay at your place again,if we need to, nothing wrong with your place.
Sep 21, 2012
Very nice people running campground. Great, great place for a dog. Fellow gave us advise on a problem we had with furnace and it solved problem. Clean, open, picturesque campground.
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
Everytime we stay it is great. The campgroups and all the facilities are very clean. There are always fun things to do!
Sep 19, 2012
loved the wine tasting!
Sep 19, 2012
Not having to punch the restroom code any more was convenient, but it was not a big deal the previous time when I had to do it.
Sep 18, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.