Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2013
This was our first time staying at this KOA. We really liked it. The cabin was clean and cozy. The pizza delivered to our site was excellent and so convenient after our long drive.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Very clean, great restrooms & showers. Staff very friendly.
Aug 15, 2013
Really appreciated the large clean fenced dog area. Bella needed a place to run after being in rv for a week and on leash.
Aug 15, 2013
Absolutely loved the dog park as my dog is a runner and it gave him a chance to run free.
Aug 15, 2013
Very friendly and comfortable. Would certainly stay again and will recommend to family and friends in Australia.
Aug 15, 2013
Friendly staff, very clean bathrooms with HOT water/great pressure, shade trees for tenting, pizza/ wild wings delivered to your site, nice dog run. Facilities are many. Highly recommend
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Wonderful people working here!
Aug 14, 2013
This is a very packed in camp. No shade trees for tent camping with electric hook ups. Beautiful dog park (great shaded area). Friendly hosts. Fun activities.
Aug 14, 2013
The person at the front desk was extremely helpful & friendly, I don't remember her name, but stayed at another since then.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
The people were extremely friendly and the campsites were in great condition. The campground was packed and everyone seemed to be having a great time.
Aug 13, 2013
We were there with other family members and we had a blast! Nice amenities, always something to do for young and old alike!
Aug 13, 2013
Wonderful time at the KOA, and will definately stay there next year! Unfortunatly, a neighbor stole some of our firewood but Phil from the KOA brought us some more which was awesome!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
This CG was a dust bowl, by the time we got to our site, going as slow as we could, the back of our coach was covered with dust from the road, the wifi did not work even when they said it was fixed
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice facilities, clean KOA grounds, friendly staff. What more could you expect?
Aug 12, 2013
Love this campground! One of our favorites to stop on our way out west! Very clean and friendly!
Aug 12, 2013
Excellent family fun all day long. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2013
After checking in I told my husband that the owner (woman) was the nicest person I had ever experienced helping me at a KOA. We had an absolutely wonderful time-from the wine tasting to the ice cream social, to our 3 time walk around the campground. We could have even ordered pizza which was very tempting.The cabin was clean & smelled like someone made sure it had not been closed up all day.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Love this campsite! It is very children friendly!!!!
Aug 12, 2013
Had a great stay! Staff were great. Buildings and grounds were clean and well maintained. We would stay again!
Aug 12, 2013
Very clean KOA. Nice big sites. No complaints. Wish they had a jumping pillow for kids.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites were to close together. Not enough space.Price was to high for what you had to offer. Fire pits didn't have a grill to cook on. No shade trees. People were very friendly, everything was clean and well organized.
Aug 12, 2013
We were just there overnight. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool and we used the laundry. Clean and inviting appearance.
Aug 12, 2013
The staff/owners were very accomodating in helping us find a spot and making sure we had everything we needed. (tent)
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Was only there for the night but had a great time. Looking to stay longer next visit.
Aug 11, 2013
Campsites a little to close to each other when you are parked side by side as they do in some sites. Very confusing at times trying to figure out whos sewer system is whos. Same thing with picnic tables

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Next time you're here we'd recommend staying in our larger single sites with both 30/50amp service. This way you'll have more room.
Aug 10, 2013
The staff treated us very well clean place we like to stay at this koa.
Aug 10, 2013
We love this place! Well maintained, close to golf, shopping, bike trails, friendly staff... Highly recommended!
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Had a fabulous time hanging out with my family. Very nice campground!
Aug 10, 2013
Great swim in pool, helpful at office when checking in.
Aug 10, 2013
Campers that were in our site before us left a bunch of garbage by where a fire ring was. When we asked for a picnic table it was delivered promptly. We never did get the fire ring we asked for. Over all the stay was very nice. The WIFI could be improved.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Nice clean place and good people running it. Could use cable though as we don't have dish for our trailer.
Aug 09, 2013
The people in the office were tremendously friendly and helpful. The park was terribly dusty and the bathrooms and showers need updating.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Friendly staff and clean facilities .
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Stumbled upon this koa. Not experienced campers at all. My husband and I and our two boys (ages 3 and 6) spent an extra day here because it was just so comfortable and clean! Campsite was great, clean bathrooms and showers, fun pool, and well stocked store. Thanks for a great time!!! Would definitely stay again!!
Aug 08, 2013
Staff was very friendly, campgrounds clean, park itself not too close to interstate or major road. Camp site was a little small but fine for a night or two.
Aug 07, 2013
Parfait pour une ou deux nuits. A première vue on dirait un grand parking, mais au final les emplacements sont très spacieux, possibilité de partager le carré d'herbe a plusieurs (si vous venez a 2 VR) La piscine (chauffée) est grande et profonde j'ai vraiment apprécié mon séjour

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.