Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2013
Chris and the staff make all of our visits great. The kids all have a blast with events that are planned. Thanks for everything!
Jul 08, 2013
I had reserved a 50 amp full hookup site several weeks in advance but when we arrived we were taken to a very cramped 30 amp site and told that all the 50 amp sites were reserved, It was a very hot day and a 30 amp site would not allow us to use our ac system. The man who brought us to our site did return a short while later & moved us to a larger 50 amp site, which we greatly appreciated.
Jul 08, 2013
the bathrooms were dirty and full of flies, otherwise it would have been 5 stars.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The staff was very helpful. It was the first time I was escourted to my camp site which I thought was very handy, Very well kept campground !!!
Jul 08, 2013
Beautiful,well maintained campground. Friendly and helpful people.
Jul 08, 2013
I stayed in a tent site and in was very comfortable/ peaceful site. Only thing was the availability of water. It would have been nice to have water available close by and bathrooms alittle closer
Jul 07, 2013
Wonderful activities, super staff and the pool made this a one-in-a-million camping trip!
Jul 07, 2013
More locals than travelers. Crowded with large families. Unauthorized fireworks until 2AM.Great Wings to order to your site. Very professional owners or Managers.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Always very nice koa staff very friendly. Only negative the Rv people who stay long term are messy makes park look run down.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 06, 2013
Nice facilities but a little "tired". Very friendly, helpful staff. I would return here if our travels took us back through Des Moines.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. They had planned events for the adults and the children. When some of the staff did not have anything going on, I saw them playing basketball with the kids which I thought that was very nice of them. I will stay at this KOA again if I am in that area.
Jul 05, 2013
Amazing, as always! Nothing but good things to say about your facility!
Jul 05, 2013
Perfect
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Travelling thru. Only spent one night but very clean campground and very courteous staff. Thank you.
Jul 04, 2013
Too many drunks,too close to next camper, no 50 amp service, lousy service
Jul 04, 2013
Very friendly, helpful personnel. Very quiet, no highway noise. Kid oriented for family fun getaway.
Jul 03, 2013
Great place and very friendly. Nice and quiet too!
Jul 03, 2013
-great pizza -clean pool -friendly staff -sites could use more trees to counter the "parking lot effect"
Jul 03, 2013
Area was nice, stay was comfortable.
Jul 03, 2013
The campground is very nice. We stayed in a new, very nice cabin. However, we did not know pillows,dishes and pots and pans were not furnished. the Website said to bring your linens. The owners were very nice and said they would update the website to add that you needed to bring those items too. The queen bed was too hard and needed a foam topper. Our stay was very pleasant other than that.
Jul 03, 2013
Great dog run, friendly staff.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Great staff - nice campground. Good, quiet location.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
What a wonderful weekend. We will definitely stay here again. My 60th BDay was celebrated with family. On Saturday 40 members were present. The fishing was great. The kids caught fish after fish, including one snapping turtle. Grandma of course, spent much time baiting worms and releasing the fish :) All the employees were extremely helpful. A weekend I will always treasure. Highly recommend!!
Jul 02, 2013
Bathrooms not up to KOA standards. Broken tiles & what looked like black mold did not contribute to a pleasant experience. Outside campground was fine - hardly any dust due to gravel that covers the parking areas. Just disappointing bathrooms! Should be better at a KOA. Didn't expect such disrepair.
Jul 02, 2013
this is a very nice and friendly campground
Jul 02, 2013
Staff and owners were great. Smiling faces all around. I will be staying there again during my next trip.
Jul 02, 2013
We had a great camp site, the people were friendly, bathrooms were good, we would camp there again.
Jul 02, 2013
Always a great time at Des Moines West KOA.
Jul 01, 2013
Our stay was great. The location, fishing pond, and activities exceeded our expectations. Thank you!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
It is so good to have people that are sincere in there kindness and not a put on smile and fakeness. Keep up the good work
Jul 01, 2013
Perfect overnight place to stay while on the road, just far enough off the road to be quiet yet close enough for on-off convenience.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.