Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Great service; was our first stay at a KOA. Loads of different things to do when your not out exploring elsewhere.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Great place! New bathrooms, cabins, pool facelift are very nice.
Aug 23, 2015
Shocked at how nice this little campground is! Great store and pizza! Excellent Dog Park! Very clean and beautiful.
Aug 22, 2015
I thought it was a very nice park. The only problem that we noticed was the amount of noise when somebody drove behind our camper or when a vehicle went by on the road. Our site was towards the front of the park. The traffic noise seemed very loud. Everything else was very new and very clean.
Aug 22, 2015
It was busy in Iowa with the state fair, so I understand that there was very little room. We were only able to book a pet-free cabin for our stay. Our only choice was to leave our cats in the car over night. However, isn't camping full of allergens? I explained that we had pet fur on our blankets, but the man at check out said that is okay. I am not sure if they did put us in a per-friendly cabin.
Aug 22, 2015
It was excellent and will definitely stay again!
Aug 21, 2015
:)
Aug 21, 2015
Nice clean campground. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved the new showers. Lots of neat things for the Grandkids to do
Aug 21, 2015
The sites were very close! Once my site next door to us was used. I couldn't open any of my driver side doors that's how close we were.
Aug 20, 2015
very nice facility. A little noisy with a lot of vehicular traffic, but still enjoyed our time.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Great staff!!
Aug 19, 2015
excellent bathrooms
Aug 19, 2015
Cabin was nice and clean. This is one of the busiest KOA's we've stayed at with people coming and going all hours of the day and night. :) I think because it's a great stop off place to get some yummy hot pizza, swim in the pool, and relax for a couple of hours before traveling on! Great KOA for being such a busy one!!! :)
Aug 19, 2015
it was great we booked for 2 other stays
Aug 19, 2015
We loved having the option of having a hot pizza delivered to our campsite after a long day of driving. Everyone was very friendly and helpful
Aug 18, 2015
More trees would be nice!
Aug 18, 2015
Enjoyed the patio site. The swing and BBQ were very nice touches. The staff were very accommodating to us by holding our spot open for one day while we drove to Moscow IA to have a jack problem looked at. Would stay there again. We were in a 45ft Motorhome.
Aug 18, 2015
Very family friendly and staff was courteous--pool was great and all areas very clean--kids and adults loved it--lots of fun activities!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had hard time finding it but that was our mistake. Took the wrong exit. Once there, we felt like honored guests. Facilities clean, well kept. TV was missing a means of power and one of the team brought an ext cord, remote. I did not expect a TV so was surprised. Great place, great people
Aug 17, 2015
Love it! We'll be back!
Aug 17, 2015
The hosts were so gracious and helpful. It was very quiet at night and the cabin was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again next year. Thank you . . . .
Aug 17, 2015
THE NEWLY REMODELED RESTROOMS/SHOWERS WERE VERY NICE. THERE WERE LOTS ACTIVITIES FOR KIDS.
Aug 17, 2015
We loved all the recently added amenities. My kids said it was the best campground we've ever stayed at. They didn't run out of things to do all weekend!
Aug 17, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. It's probably one of the neatest, well kept campground we've stayed in. They do a wonderful job catering to both the overnighter with excellent level full hookup pull through sites. But, also, they do an amazing job with their family/kids activities. We would definitely recommend this park to our friends and family.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Wonderful campground. Very family friendly.
Aug 17, 2015
enjoyed the one day stay. pull-thru are getting alittle small, but over all o.k.
Aug 17, 2015
Sadly, I got to my spot and lo and behold, someone else had taken it! How does that happen? I had a reservation and phoned ahead indicating I would be arriving late. I was assured it was not an issue and I had a spot reserved. I had to squeeze in behind the people that took my spot. No room for both of us but they didn't pack up and move. I would like a refund or partial refund of my money.
Aug 17, 2015
One of the best KOA's I have ever stayed. Clean and updated bathrooms. Have Hunts pizza and wings which were really good. If I came back this way I would differently stay here again.
Aug 17, 2015
very accomadating
Aug 17, 2015
Clean and level site. Friendly staff. Far enough from interstate to get a good nights sleep.
Aug 17, 2015
Our rental camping trailer was very clean...liked that :-) Very disappointed we could not use our reward points b/c we were a late check-in and were told we would have needed to be there before the office closed that first day. Also disappointed we needed to pay for kids to use the jumping pillow. Other campgrounds have this as an amenity with no cost.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It's unfortunate that KOA doesn't allow us to use the VKR points towards the reservation deposit, only at registration. I wish we could, because for anyone staying overnight only, it's hard to use since KOA's deposit in 1 night's stay.
Aug 16, 2015
Great bathrooms and showers. Pool looked inviting. Easy pull in and pull out
Aug 16, 2015
nicely quiet, clean and activities for all ages. also pet friendly! was great to relax and meet other campers
Aug 16, 2015
I love KOA and Chris and Jamie. We will for sure be back. Best campground in central Iowa, hands down!
Aug 16, 2015
Clean bathrooms. Nice pool.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Friendly and well manicured and clean! Great pizza, big rig friendly, and our kids loved the cabin sites!!
Aug 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Easy in/out for big rugs towing. Staff and owners are fantastic. My only complaint is the wifi. Everyone uses the Front wifi because the back does not work. SLOW SLOW
Aug 15, 2015
Great staff was always there to help. Had a great time with this KOA
Aug 15, 2015
staff was great, campground was very clean.
Aug 15, 2015
Checkin very friendly! Washrooms very clean! But campsites way too close to each other. My husband tripped over the firepit which was JUST outside our steps down and he fell on it and bruised and cut himself, and twisted his ankle. It could have been much worse as he landed almost on his face as his hands were full.
Aug 14, 2015
Nice big sites. Very friendly people.
Aug 14, 2015
Nice and clean... Organized, polite & cheerful staff... Kamper Kabin was a nice & quiet option to a stale smelling motel.
Aug 14, 2015
tres beau terrain
Aug 14, 2015
Our initial contact with this park was with a lady who was rude and unhelpful. She also messed up our reservations. Once we got there, the other staff was nice and extremely helpful in helping us get our reservation corrected. The facility was very nice and clean. A bad experience turned out very nice.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award