Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2015
Spacious sites, all pull-thrus, a row of buddy sites, friendly and helpful staff. Lots of stuff for kids to do, amenities are first rate!
Aug 06, 2015
The campground was kept up well. The facilities were clean, and well kept. The employees were very helpful and friendly. This campground is great if you have children with the swimming, trampoline, and activities for kids.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice and well kept
Aug 06, 2015
We had a great experience at the West Des Moines KOA. It was our first KOA stay, so we were very impressed with all the facilities and amenities: the bathrooms, the play area, the shop, etc. Also, the staff was super friendly AND helpful. We arrived late at night as it was starting to rain and the manager kindly offered us to pitch our tent under the pavilion, so that we don't get soaked.
Aug 06, 2015
The only neg. I have is that the clerk did not ask me if I was a veteran to offer a discount.
Aug 06, 2015
Power pedistal showed a ground fault. AC would not run.
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent set up, clean, neat, and well organized.
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice and friendly staff! Just a few more shade trees would be good in camp area. Otherwise, a very clean and well kept campground. Enjoyed the covered bridges area of nearby Madison County!!
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
This KOA is above and beyond! The cabins are were we usually stay and they are wonderful, but have been raised in price over the past 4 years and we just can't afford an entire weekend :( We chose to stay in the travel trailer and it was a bit disappointing. I would highly recommend the campground, just not the travel trailer.
Aug 05, 2015
clean quiet and comfortable no complaints
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice campground.
Aug 05, 2015
had a great time/
Aug 05, 2015
Awesome owners! The park is looking great:)
Aug 04, 2015
Great kids activities!
Aug 04, 2015
Very nicely managed. Tent sites with electric were a little close to each other. Very nice facility.
Aug 04, 2015
Sites slightly unlevel side to side due to slope. Nature trail did not exist.Good long sites and great staff. Easy to locate and spacious roads
Aug 04, 2015
We had one of the electric tent sites and the space was extremely tight. would have been better off renting one of the camper sites
Aug 04, 2015
Really great facilities and things for kids to do
Aug 04, 2015
We tented and the site was smooth and lots of grass. No rocks/mud.
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed our two night stay immensely! Only complaint is the shower ran either freezing cold or boiling hot! Nothing in between.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The owners and workers at this KOA are super people. They were very helpful and quick to act if there was something that needed attention....a great place to stay!
Aug 03, 2015
We loved the owners!! The restrooms were amazing and the campground was very clean.
Aug 03, 2015
We requested two spots that we could park awning-to-awning, and we were accommodated nicely. There was much to do with the grandkids (aged 4, 3, 2 and 1)..they especially liked the bouncy area and the pool. I do wish there was more room for those campers who are actually staying for the amenities as opposed to those who are just stopping for the night. They aren't outside and using the fire pit
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very friendly and efficient check-in process even though they were very busy. Easy in and easy out. The campground is only a mile and a half from the interstate highway so it's easy to get to but it's far enough that you don't hear any road noise.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
We love the showers. The store is really nice. Camping was great and the the pizza deliver to our camp. The pizza was very good. Enjoyed the Chinese lanterns.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
great facility very nice park helpful and friendly host will stay here the next time we are in the area
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
the staff at koa was great and also helpful thank you koa
Aug 01, 2015
You guys are doing a great job.
Aug 01, 2015
Very friendly staff & there were many activities for our grandchildren to choose from. The convenience store had many things to choose from for our possible needs.
Aug 01, 2015
I came in late so it was nice to find the lights on and the air on. Thank you.
Aug 01, 2015
Only comment would be that some of the sites are smaller and campers looked packed together.
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice and clean campground . People very friendly and helpful .
Aug 01, 2015
The two woman working there were great, we got pizza and chicken it was delivered quick and hot and was very good. Everything was clean and welcoming...just thought having to pay extra for the bouncy was a bit much.
Jul 31, 2015
Wonderful park. Staff very friendly and helpful. WiFi a bit iffy at times.
Jul 31, 2015
The employees were great. The location was very quiet and easy to get to and back to interstate. Site was very level and clean and the restrooms were well maintained. I would use this as a sleep stop on my way to other destinations in the future.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice enjoyed our stay.
Jul 31, 2015
Best KOA campground we have stayed in and as KOA VIPs, we've stayed in plenty. Kid and pet friendly, organized activities and themes for kids, serene fishing pond, spacious sites, wonderful staff, manicured and well maintained park environment. Even makes & delivers delicious pizzas!
Jul 31, 2015
We stayed in the new lakeside cabin. We felt welcome and comfortable, and thankful for the additional touches of home! Dish towels, soaps, and laundry soap were appreciated! We had a lovely pizza, which made our stay even easier. We were thankfull for friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 31, 2015
Helpful staff,food service was a nice addition, clean grounds, peaceful.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Pros: This KOA is very nice. Clean washrooms. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Cons: Had to swim around the leaves in the pool. The WiFi which I asked about is less than marginal. We weren't told about this when I booked the site. I depend on it for things I need to take care of for my storage business. Apparently there is no quiet time as it can be very noisy after hours.
Jul 31, 2015
The kids were so excited for all the fun activities. I was impressed how clean and well kept the property looked.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award