Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
They took us to our campsite, the bathrooms were clean, everyone was very friendly.
Jul 14, 2013
The handles in the pool are loose and dangerous
Jul 14, 2013
Nice grounds, good space, nice pool. Only drawbacks were closing of pool at 9PM and VERY low water pressure in women's showers. Barely a trickle.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It took us a few days, but we finally found the culprit to the low water pressure in the showers. I know it doesn't help your experience any, but now the showers have plenty of water pressure and they're nice and hot. Sorry for the inconvenience, but thanks for letting us know the problem.
Jul 13, 2013
The cabin was pefect. We are looking forward to our next stay!
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Our 3 grandsons loved the pool.
Jul 13, 2013
Very nice people and clean and quiet campground.
Jul 13, 2013
Love the new dog play area.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
We had a great time!! Clean, friendly, and fun facility!! Will definitely be back!!
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
My son had a great time in your pool & playground. The only downer was the immense amount of flies everywhere. It was like being on a farm. Your people were very pleasant, and if it weren't fore the flies, it would've been perfect.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Park not adequately monitored as kids were yelling and adults making lots of noise till about midnight!
Jul 11, 2013
It was Fantastic with friends and family!! The slip in slide for kids was great, but the adult one was hilarious!!!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Enjoyed the stay. Only problem is the site was not level front to back so I had to unhook to level my 5th wheel.
Jul 11, 2013
Well maintained. Great overnight stay. Hardworking folks, friendly and helpful. First rate place.
Jul 10, 2013
No hot water in showers both days I tried to take a shower
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Just an overnight, but very friendly and nice place to stay
Jul 10, 2013
Great pizza! Very clean campground. We'll stay again when we're headed out west.
Jul 10, 2013
Very friendly owners and workers enjoyed staying there and would recommend Chris is the best
Jul 10, 2013
It was fantastic, loved the pizza delivery and the pool. The people were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 10, 2013
Very clean, pleasant hosts, great swimming, very clean cabin. Would say this was one of the best events of our summer!!
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
The Wi-Fi connection was so slow as to be useless. The personnel behind the counter appeared unaware of the KOA membership coupon that I received a week ago. Otherwise a nice place.
Jul 09, 2013
RESERVATIONS WENT SMMOTHLY AND THE KOA PERSONEL WERE VERY COURTEOUS AND KIND WITH THE 4 SITE GROUP WE HAD.
Jul 09, 2013
The bathrooms were not very clean Friday-Sunday. Maybe need cleaned twice a day during holiday weekends. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 09, 2013
We travelled 3 hours only to discover that we had left our tent poles at home! Thankfully, there was an open cabin and our reservation was changed. All of the staff was friendly and helpful and we were pleased with our entire stay. Having a pizza shop on site is genius! We would love to stay here again!
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Upon arrival the staff found us a perfect tent spot. The staff is excellent here in making sure you have the best stay. Haven't had this much fun in years. We will be back! Thanks!!!
Jul 09, 2013
We stayed two separate days within a week and it was very clean and the staff were helpful. Excellent grass area at both sites. Concrete area at the pool, pool edges and walkways are chipped out and need repair.
Jul 09, 2013
Stayed one night, in and out, did not have a chance to check out the amenities.
Jul 08, 2013
We had a nice level site. Utilities worked very well. I thought the price of the ice in the store was rather high. One suggestion would be to have some picnic tables or a bench or two next to the playground. Also ,some of the people at the pool were very rude. My small grandchildren were getting knocked around by rowdy kids & parents in the pool. Some people just think they own the world.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The campground was not very well kept. The pool was gross, we swam and felt itchy. Would not recommend this KOA.
Jul 08, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin. Had a great time. Cabin was very clean. Our daughter enjoyed the loft all to herself. The pool was a bonus however there were LOTS of kids unsupervised and it was too busy at times. Staff was helpful and very friendly.
Jul 08, 2013
I loved the Adult Slip N Slide very entertaining!! Pool was awesome and we had a great stay!
Jul 08, 2013
Chris and the staff make all of our visits great. The kids all have a blast with events that are planned. Thanks for everything!
Jul 08, 2013
I had reserved a 50 amp full hookup site several weeks in advance but when we arrived we were taken to a very cramped 30 amp site and told that all the 50 amp sites were reserved, It was a very hot day and a 30 amp site would not allow us to use our ac system. The man who brought us to our site did return a short while later & moved us to a larger 50 amp site, which we greatly appreciated.
Jul 08, 2013
the bathrooms were dirty and full of flies, otherwise it would have been 5 stars.
Jul 08, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.