Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2013
Very well kept park enjoyed our stay
Aug 23, 2013
Nice site for a quick stop over. Not mush else.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Beautiful grounds, wine tasting, pizza delivered, nice large dog playground...great stay!
Aug 23, 2013
helpful staff, and proud of their grounds, eager to help.
Aug 23, 2013
we were only one night because on our way home.the camp grounds were perfect and the pull throughs were very good. yes we will return
Aug 23, 2013
Good campground! No complaints. Would have given 5 stars if campground roads were paved.
Aug 22, 2013
Very nice campground, big site, friendly staff. Very big dog run for my very big dog! Will stay again.
Aug 22, 2013
I love the little cabins! A good sturdy bed for my bad back, but I Can still enjoy the camp fire and grill. I love the butterfly bush helped me enjoy my two favorite things! Butterflies and hummingbird!!
Aug 22, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground appeared. Very neat and clean and very well managed. A definite place to stay.
Aug 22, 2013
Always friendly people and clean facilities.
Aug 22, 2013
Showers / office area closed too early. No cable; first site was next to a tree so couldn't use satellite dish. Second site was unlevel; wheels were off ground when jacks deployed. Third site was OK. Was a quiet location.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry your stay wasn't up to your expectations. But, I'm wondering if you have us confused with another park, because our showers are open 24 hours/day. And, our office is open till 9pm 7 days/week. We hope you give us another chance, because we rarely have complaints about our sites.
Aug 21, 2013
This was a very nice park. The staff was friendly and helpful. We came to go to the State fair and to see the bridges of Madison County.
Aug 21, 2013
Great site, Nicely mowed sites. No bugs and friendly people.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Clean, nice pool, great activities for kids
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Great location! Peaceful setting and cozy cabins. We used this as our family vacation for the year and are excited to come back next year!
Aug 20, 2013
The biggest complaint I hear on the road these days is that the Internet is sporadic at best . The first campground that figures out how to deliver good Internet service to their sites will win .For seniors on the road the Internet is not a toy ; it is an essential . It is not good enough to say you have Internet , it has to work .
Aug 20, 2013
Not as well landscaped as most others we have enjoyed over the last several days. Nice people though. Bath accommodations were not as nice. Good clean pool.
Aug 19, 2013
This was a lovely campground friendly staff, nice dog park and play grounds. The building it self was a little tired looking but overall great place to stay and I would go back and stay again.
Aug 19, 2013
We had a great time! We will be back in the Fall for sure!
Aug 19, 2013
We had a wonderful time at KOA this last weekend. My 2 daughters enjoyed all of the activities and especially the pool. Can't wait to come back again soon! Thank you!
Aug 19, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Great kids activities and the owner went out of his way to get us a spot when someone parked in the wrong spot and then left.All in all it was a great place to camp. Will positivily camp there again.
Aug 19, 2013
KOA West Des Moines is very clean and kid friendly - they loved the swimming pool and fishing pond.
Aug 19, 2013
We wish it were closer to Des Moines.
Aug 19, 2013
Had a great stay and the staff was very friendly. Thanks again
Aug 19, 2013
Very clean and quiet campground!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
The staff are very nice. The campground was well kept and clean. We enjoyed the pool and dog park. The only disappoint is no cable. On-site laundry was good to have also.
Aug 18, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Thank you for your service. WOW, it was great
Aug 18, 2013
Not a good choice for tenting - no level spots to set up the tent and no nearby water because the underground water main to the tent area is broken.
Aug 18, 2013
When we checked in there was another camper on our reserved spot. We paid extra for a larger end campsite. The manager said that they had been trying to get them to move and they would not. We were then taken to a small spot. The water valve was defective, and long story short- resulted in our camper completely flooding. We are devastated and will not be back.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Friendly, clean, quiet and a beautiful pond. Very relaxing dog walk area which is important to us as we always travel with our 2 large dogs. I do believe they enjoyed this KOA the most. Thank you for a wonderful start to our trip to Grand Teton N.P.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Your facility was very good. We were only there long enough to sleep. It was quite noisy and we definitely noticed that the 10 PM "cut the noise off" was not enforced. Otherwise all was well.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
beautiful camp, nice people, loved the dog park, good easy sites to enter and leave from. ALL IN ALL --- FABULOUS
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Kamping Kabins need to be kept on the cool side as the humidity is a killer.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.