Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2015
From the moment I arrived I felt very welcomed.Very helpful staff. Took me to my pull through site and helped me get situated. Very nice facilities. New bath house, pool and laundry.Very nice store and they did made to order pizza.
Aug 11, 2015
Great place!!
Aug 11, 2015
Clean sites and easy off and off. Friendly staff. No issues.
Aug 11, 2015
Loved being able to order a great pizza and have it delivered to our site. So nice after a long day on the road.
Aug 11, 2015
Very quite and clean. Very relaxing stay
Aug 11, 2015
Really enjoyed the time there. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice and reasonably priced. I'd like to see what the next size bigger is the next time I go to a KOA. Our grandson really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We all had a good time relaxing in the pool.
Aug 11, 2015
We loved this KOA, the staff was terrific . The grounds were kept up and clean. There is a lot to do for families who have children ,but yet the park was quiet.We will be staying here again!
Aug 11, 2015
Loud parties, no enforcement of quiet times, staff members didn't pick up after their dogs in a shared campsite. Most staff friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
Very nice cabin, great modern bathroom facilities, pretty setting, friendly staff. Downside: we came in late at night and it was hard to find. This KOA is far removed from a town (more than expected) and could definitely use more of the standard KOA signage to guide drivers through the rural area. Also, some jerks stole our parking spot, but not the staff's fault.
Aug 10, 2015
This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Friendly staff. Clean and updated facilities.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a quiet stay while we did highway141 garagesales. A nice bed and roof over our head in between. Also soaked in the pool after a long day of garagesaling. Love the updates!!
Aug 10, 2015
This place is awesome. One of the nicest campgrounds I have ever seen. Great facilities, well maintained grounds, and the location is far enough off the interstate (1.5 miles) you feel secluded, but have easy access to getting back on the road. We stayed here for an overnight in July and would definitely stop in again on our way through the area. Great park - you won't be disappointed.
Aug 10, 2015
We spent one night at this KOA as a stop over point on a long trip west. Excellent campground!Very well maintained, bathroom/showers were clean and staff was super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
Aug 10, 2015
Great for overnight stay. Very kind people.
Aug 10, 2015
We enjoyed many of the activities at the campground. From swimming to fishing to the playground.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
We mainly used the campground as a place to sleep, had plans in DesMoines most of the day Saturday, so didn't get to enjoy the (what appeared to be) fun filled events they had planned. Very nice, clean, and plenty to do here! Will definately need to come back again when we can hang out at the campground itself!
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
-Great Bathrooms -Great Pool -Fishing pond seems empty -Some campsites are extraordinarily close to each other -Nightly fee somewhat high priced -Kids only allowed to use play areas after purchasing a $10 wristband.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The $10 Fun Pass is a great value! It includes unlimited Jumping Pillow, $1 off any Gem Mining Bag, a FREE bucket of balloons for Water Wars, and a FREE half hour on the pedal bikes. It's completely optional, of course, but most folks love it.
Aug 09, 2015
Great stay. Would stay again.
Aug 09, 2015
Would have given 5 stars but: My only beef was with the poor wi-fi reception. It didn't ruin the stay as the owners and staff were very accommodating. The facility as a whole was great!
Aug 09, 2015
RV site was level. Great pizza on site. Delivered to our trailer.
Aug 09, 2015
Owner very nice. Quick service for pizza! Campground clean.
Aug 09, 2015
Shower and restrooms were clean. Staff was friendly.
Aug 09, 2015
It was short but the staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Aug 09, 2015
Loved the wine we bought at the camp store! Don't see that very often and it was quite enjoyable.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Great staff
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly staff clean restrooms good pizza
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
This was an extremely well run, very very nice campground
Aug 08, 2015
Hospitality was great
Aug 08, 2015
super
Aug 08, 2015
Friendly owner and bathrooms and showers amazingly clean and modern. The grassy tent sites are lovely.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly folks and nice clean place. Not rated higher only due to few extra amenities.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Well designed, clean and comfortable park.
Aug 07, 2015
Great staff as most KOA's. Nice camp site. Fantastic WiFi. "Big Shot" Colorado Springs KOA should contact them to get the same system!
Aug 06, 2015
Spacious sites, all pull-thrus, a row of buddy sites, friendly and helpful staff. Lots of stuff for kids to do, amenities are first rate!
Aug 06, 2015
The campground was kept up well. The facilities were clean, and well kept. The employees were very helpful and friendly. This campground is great if you have children with the swimming, trampoline, and activities for kids.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice and well kept
Aug 06, 2015
We had a great experience at the West Des Moines KOA. It was our first KOA stay, so we were very impressed with all the facilities and amenities: the bathrooms, the play area, the shop, etc. Also, the staff was super friendly AND helpful. We arrived late at night as it was starting to rain and the manager kindly offered us to pitch our tent under the pavilion, so that we don't get soaked.
Aug 06, 2015
The only neg. I have is that the clerk did not ask me if I was a veteran to offer a discount.
Aug 06, 2015
Power pedistal showed a ground fault. AC would not run.
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent set up, clean, neat, and well organized.
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice and friendly staff! Just a few more shade trees would be good in camp area. Otherwise, a very clean and well kept campground. Enjoyed the covered bridges area of nearby Madison County!!
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
This KOA is above and beyond! The cabins are were we usually stay and they are wonderful, but have been raised in price over the past 4 years and we just can't afford an entire weekend :( We chose to stay in the travel trailer and it was a bit disappointing. I would highly recommend the campground, just not the travel trailer.
Aug 05, 2015
clean quiet and comfortable no complaints
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award