Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2013
We love coming here. The people are great, the camp ground is clean and the pool and cabins are fun! We live very close by but stay once a year as a family tradition!!! We love it!
Sep 02, 2013
Very appreciative of the family friendly activities--the great staff--the well maintained grounds. My family had a wonderful experience.
Sep 02, 2013
Other than the severe storm that passed through, everything was great! Friendly staff and guests!
Sep 02, 2013
Nice Kamp in a secluded location. Friendly and helpful staff. Tent sites were really on a slope,and that's the reason for only 4 stars, but everything else was good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey. Yeah, our South Side tenting areas are a tad more uneven than our north side, which is nice and level. In the future, when you book a reservation with us, please request the north tenting area.
Sep 01, 2013
was in area to visit friends so did not use many of facilities but very clean, and very nice people managing it.
Sep 01, 2013
Friendly staff and well maintained large sites. Close to Interstate access yet quiet and pastoral setting.
Sep 01, 2013
Different costumers then the previus ones, it was long week-end. Verry friendly and accomedating.Doors from toilets and showers very awkward,should be changed if possible.Overal rating: good.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
very nice sites and koa people very helpful
Aug 30, 2013
Extremely clean.Very nice KOA. Employees very friendly.
Aug 29, 2013
As always, a constant among it's peers...
Aug 28, 2013
We make a plan to stop at least twice a summer (going and returning)as we always feel a warm welcome. THANKS
Aug 28, 2013
We have been to a lot of KOA's and this rated among the best!!! Great owners that made us feel very welcomed; Beautiful cabin, the nicest one we've ever stayed in!; and wonderful friendly camp workers. When we get back to the area for more yummy sweet corn, we will definately stop!!!! We'll also spread the word about you guys! Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!! :)
Aug 28, 2013
It was fine for tenting. The washrooms were a little far away. It was a fairly well lit area. All in all I would stay there again.
Aug 27, 2013
The only complaint would be that the side by side spots are very close to your neighbor. Otherwise it was a very nice place to stay.
Aug 27, 2013
Nice campground, very friendly, clean. Stay there each year coming and going to South Dakota.
Aug 27, 2013
We only stayed one night as we were passing through. Great service, nice dog area. Was nice that pizza was available. Level gravel sites which were large. Wifi was fine. Would stay again when we pass through.
Aug 27, 2013
2nd time in less than a week. Great place to stay. Very quite. Very nicely kept.
Aug 26, 2013
The staff was great!
Aug 26, 2013
This was my family's first chance to go camping, and everything was much better than expected. Events for the kids, comfortable cabins, and an overall clean park.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
nice facilities, nice people
Aug 26, 2013
nice park and staff
Aug 26, 2013
Awesome visit! Kids have fun with all the activities and the pool was great on the hot summer day.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
loved the Hunt Brothers pizza - great tasting and excellent quality and service and price especially after a long day of driving!
Aug 25, 2013
clean,friendly,staff is great!!,activities as much as you want, best Pizza in Iowa,very quiet campground and amazing place for pets too.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
We arrived and found out we had propane issues and the staff fixed our problem immediately. Many thanks Richard Bolin
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Love the pizza and ice cream delivery. Nice campground with a GREAT dog run. bathrooms were clean and staff very friendly.
Aug 24, 2013
Very well kept park enjoyed our stay
Aug 23, 2013
Nice site for a quick stop over. Not mush else.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Beautiful grounds, wine tasting, pizza delivered, nice large dog playground...great stay!
Aug 23, 2013
helpful staff, and proud of their grounds, eager to help.
Aug 23, 2013
we were only one night because on our way home.the camp grounds were perfect and the pull throughs were very good. yes we will return
Aug 23, 2013
Good campground! No complaints. Would have given 5 stars if campground roads were paved.
Aug 22, 2013
Very nice campground, big site, friendly staff. Very big dog run for my very big dog! Will stay again.
Aug 22, 2013
I love the little cabins! A good sturdy bed for my bad back, but I Can still enjoy the camp fire and grill. I love the butterfly bush helped me enjoy my two favorite things! Butterflies and hummingbird!!
Aug 22, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground appeared. Very neat and clean and very well managed. A definite place to stay.
Aug 22, 2013
Always friendly people and clean facilities.
Aug 22, 2013
Showers / office area closed too early. No cable; first site was next to a tree so couldn't use satellite dish. Second site was unlevel; wheels were off ground when jacks deployed. Third site was OK. Was a quiet location.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry your stay wasn't up to your expectations. But, I'm wondering if you have us confused with another park, because our showers are open 24 hours/day. And, our office is open till 9pm 7 days/week. We hope you give us another chance, because we rarely have complaints about our sites.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.