Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 27, 2013
Nice & friendly, easy to navigate, & very quiet!
Oct 26, 2013
Only stayed one night as we traveled through Iowa. Very nice and clean campgrounds. Staff friendly and very knowledgable about area.
Oct 24, 2013
Oct 23, 2013
A plus sites, clean restrooms, large park area with pond, large dog run excellent KOA highly recommend
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
I would not order your pizza again. It was much too spicy. Looked like it was covered in [pepper flakes
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
WiFi could be better, overall very nice campground:-)
Oct 19, 2013
Ww arrived late at night, arround midnight and left the next morning there was no contact with KOA personal the thing that sticks in my mind is that the rate listed for the late registration was for 2 adults and two children which does not fit our situation. the other thing that sticks in my mind is that the one night rate was out of line with other KOA's I guess that is what big city Iowa KOA ma
Oct 18, 2013
Oct 18, 2013
Fabulous campground and the official duck greeters were fun to watch!
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff
Oct 15, 2013
No heat in the bathrooms. The shower head fell off the shower and got my daughter's clothes wet. Campground was quite noisy. Other campers did not observe the 10pm - 7 am quiet hours even after I reminded them. At 10:25 pm I called the KOA main number and left a message about the noise. To my knowledge, no one came to the campground to resolve the problem.
Oct 15, 2013
We are very pleased withour stay. The campground was very clean the staff was nice and helpful. We arrived later in the night and there was a welcome packet there with all needed info to begin our stay. We travel with a pet and she was greeted with open arms. The Thorps will return.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Nothing spectacular. No complaints
Oct 14, 2013
Clean facility. Got our pizza order wrong, we ordered thin and got thick-yuck. Otherwise good KOA but really weird, weird store hours.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
As it was late in the season additional space was left between units which was a nice touch and very appreciated not being jammed together as so often happens. Thanks!
Oct 13, 2013
We spent one night at the campground. The camp is only a short distance from the interstate, but was very quiet and very clean. My husband had a medical emergency during our stay, and we had no problems with getting help. Thankfully we were able to continue our trip. A big thank you to the camp host who showed such concern and please thank the medics and volunteer responders for us.
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
Nice facility. Friendly staff and campers. We bought some fire wood for our stay and the woman brought a couple of small dry branches for us to use as kindling...great customer service!
Oct 10, 2013
Very nice and very clean.
Oct 10, 2013
very nice
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
Great overnight stay. Friendly staff
Oct 08, 2013
Very friendly staff. Well maintained, very clean. WiFi reliable. Store was stocked even at the end of the season. Thank you.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
NICE STAFF, CLEAN PLACE GOOD PIZZA WILL SATY AGAIN
Oct 08, 2013
We had a great time. This is a very nice kampground.
Oct 07, 2013
We didn't really get a chance to enjoy the campground. It was nice and clean and great people.
Oct 07, 2013
Nice, quiet park in a peaceful environment. Had a great time, the granddaughter enjoyed the playground and feeding the ducks. Had a nice campfire and a good cookout.
Oct 07, 2013
We have stayed here at least 3 times and have always had a great experience.
Oct 06, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay and the people that work there are wonderful :) They were so helpful in all our needs and I would recommend that specific KOA to everyone.
Oct 05, 2013
Quiet. restful, secure.
Oct 05, 2013
Nice park. Friendly staff. Would like to see office hours and food availability extended.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Well kept facility run by extremely nice people. It's true, no airports, trains or truck traffic either.
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Its an extremely nice campground, but we thought it was pretty pricey.
Oct 02, 2013
friendly managers and very clean cammpground
Oct 02, 2013
Clean park, friendly staff. My only suggestion for the next season would be to add to your kids playground equiptment. Very basic playground, needs more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the suggestion. We're constantly adding new amenities to the park, and although it's not at the very top of the list, upgrading/adding more equipment in the playground is on the list. Thanks again for letting us know your thoughts.
Oct 02, 2013
We chose this campground because it said it had wi-fi. Not true. We were unable to connect at all - at 9:00 pm, at 11:00 pm, and at 7:00 am. This caused us major problems with our itinerary. We would never camp here again. It was clean, it was lovely, but it was not "wired." Please forewarn people in the future when wi-fi is a mere suggestion and not a reality.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm really sorry the WiFi wasn't working after we closed for the evening. We definitely have WiFi throughout the whole park, but occasionally it will go down and is fixed with a simple reset, which is what we did for you at 9am, when you let us know. Call us in the future, so we can fix it.
Oct 01, 2013
I enjoyed my stay there, area is well kept.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.