Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2016
Everyone was friendly and helpful; bathrooms were clean despite the high number of guests. It was crowded on the tent hill as there are no individually marked sites. I only spent one night, so the lack of privacy did not bother me too much. All in all, it was a good place to spend the night on the way home to Ohio from Wyoming..
Jul 05, 2016
Love the activitys! A lot of great things added, but others neglected. Playground area is run down as well and picnic tables in tent area are rotted.
Jul 04, 2016
We only stopped in for 1 night but the customer service was great. Really clean camp sites with great picnic tables. Easy to get to.
Jul 04, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean campground and easy to get into sites.
Jul 04, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
Clean and quiet! We got in at night and had our registration packet waiting on us with a welcome message. Easy transaction for a quick stay over.
Jul 03, 2016
We can't say enough wonderful things about this campground! Friendly, fun, clean, convenient! Definitely going back soon.
Jul 03, 2016
great 1 night stay all was fine but site was a little close for me to other campers in the same site
Jul 02, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Des Moines West, IA. The staff was corteous, friendly and helpful. The property was inviting and close to local attractions in the area.
Jul 02, 2016
Every time we were in the store it took forever. People at counter seemed inexperienced. Didn't explain details of wristband 4 bike rental, had to spend more money to get bike with more than 1 seat. Seem to nickel and dime us this stay.
Jul 02, 2016
Great place. Very nice and clean bathrooms. And they will make you a pizza and deliver it.
Jul 02, 2016
Older campground. Lots of character. A little tight for larger rigs overall nice place.
Jul 02, 2016
No shade, very crowded. We needed an adapter to plug in, but the worker was making pizzas and we ended up buying it! Pool was very nice, but our daughter cut her foot on the rough bottom. Employees must be overworked!
Jul 02, 2016
Excellent facility. Loved our stay and wanted to stay one more day but all booked up for the holiday. Understandable. Thanks for the clean facility. Staff very professional.
Jul 02, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area.
Jul 01, 2016
Nice grounds, especially nice dog run!
Jul 01, 2016
I was really irritated to learn things like the jumping pillow were an extra $10 fun pass. I think the website should indicate some things are an extra fee. Maybe an * or something. Otherwise the camp was very clean, great bathrooms and the staff was super kind.
Jun 30, 2016
Clean cabin, friendly staff, fun activities for kids, and dog friendly. Great experience!
Jun 30, 2016
We loved this campground we did not have kids but we thought everything you did with them was great our kids would have loved it if they were young again the children we talked to were having a blast
Jun 30, 2016
Jun 30, 2016
Never stayed at a place that was soooo close together. Other campers almost touched ours. I don't recommend this one.
Jun 30, 2016
Great people, location and condition
Jun 29, 2016
Clean Updated Restroom Facilities. Nice to have Pizza option right there after traveling a long way and not many other options near the KOA. Jumping pillow was nice. Cabins have lots of privacy.
Jun 29, 2016
Another great KOA
Jun 29, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
Your KOA works great for our family reunion with the cabins & campsites! A few minor suggestions for the cabin we were in. We had 6 people for 2 nights & ran out of TP. A few hooks or towel bars would be nice as we were hanging towels all over the room on wood chairs and bed posts. The coffee pot looked like it had not been cleaned at all, it had mold swimming in liquid. We love your campground!
Jun 28, 2016
The campground was very nice. The people running the campground were very friendly and helpful. It was nice to be a little way off the busy highway. Good job.
Jun 28, 2016
We had a mini- vacation with our grandchildren from ages 2 &13. Lovely patio site was a nice surprise! The kids loved the pool, jumping pad, and ice cream!
Jun 28, 2016
Love the activities for the kids, we had grandkids with us and they loved it! Nice clean campground! We will return.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
A very clean well maintained campground. With the exception of one gal working behind the desk, the hosts were very friendly.
Jun 28, 2016
They were having a very busy night, but they were doing their best to accommodate the crowds and keep everything running smoothly. The tent sites are very small and the restroom is a long walk, but the public facilities are very nice and this would be an excellent park to bring kids to, because there is so much fun stuff to do. We really enjoyed the pool. The staff was very nice to us.
Jun 28, 2016
Very friendly staff. A nice place to rest after a full day of travel.
Jun 28, 2016
Very friendly staff, nice sites with grass, and fun atmosphere for the kids!
Jun 27, 2016
Great staff!
Jun 27, 2016
Top notch campground with top notch owners!
Jun 27, 2016
Bathrooms are a bit too far away, but the whole campground and facilities are nice, kept up, family friendly, and the people are Iowa nice.
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice campground. Loved having pizza delivered to our RV door! Just wish it had more trees.
Jun 27, 2016
camped for my daughter 10th bday this weekend...they loved all of the activities.
Jun 27, 2016
Thanks for friendly atmosphere and various times of day trash pick up. Had a great time
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time. Lots for kids and families to do. Very friendly staff!! We will be back:-)
Jun 27, 2016
We drove in to this campground believing we had a reservation. It turned out that we didn't have a reservation, I had made it at Newton KOA in error. Luckily, there was one cancellation and they gave us the site. We only spent the night so I really cannot comment much I the campground. I can say the bathrooms at the main building were the BEST KOA bathrooms I have ever seen!
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
Great friendly staff, nice gift shop and beautiful neat lots. Whole park is very pretty.
Jun 27, 2016
Lovely big grassy area for tents. The lightening bugs in the corn field next door were a fortuitous plus! Helpful, friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2016
Good level pull throughs. Modern and well maintained facilities. The pool was pretty small and the lounge chairs had broken slats. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The sites were very large for a KOA.
Jun 25, 2016
Clean bathrooms otherwise not much. We didn't even stay for our 2nd night - lost the money, but didn't care
Jun 25, 2016
The park was very clean, and the lots very level. There were no trees or shade. The people were very friendly and helpful. The cable did not work.
Jun 25, 2016
Nice quiet close to The Bridges of Madison County!
Jun 25, 2016
We were on the road 13 hours and needed to sleep. We arrived called and we arrived about 9:00 p.m. Very friendly staff and the grounds were kept up. We did not use any of your facilities, just slept and gone again at 7:00 a.m. Thank you!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award