Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2013
The campground is very nice. We stayed in a new, very nice cabin. However, we did not know pillows,dishes and pots and pans were not furnished. the Website said to bring your linens. The owners were very nice and said they would update the website to add that you needed to bring those items too. The queen bed was too hard and needed a foam topper. Our stay was very pleasant other than that.
Jul 03, 2013
Great dog run, friendly staff.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Great staff - nice campground. Good, quiet location.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
What a wonderful weekend. We will definitely stay here again. My 60th BDay was celebrated with family. On Saturday 40 members were present. The fishing was great. The kids caught fish after fish, including one snapping turtle. Grandma of course, spent much time baiting worms and releasing the fish :) All the employees were extremely helpful. A weekend I will always treasure. Highly recommend!!
Jul 02, 2013
Bathrooms not up to KOA standards. Broken tiles & what looked like black mold did not contribute to a pleasant experience. Outside campground was fine - hardly any dust due to gravel that covers the parking areas. Just disappointing bathrooms! Should be better at a KOA. Didn't expect such disrepair.
Jul 02, 2013
this is a very nice and friendly campground
Jul 02, 2013
Staff and owners were great. Smiling faces all around. I will be staying there again during my next trip.
Jul 02, 2013
We had a great camp site, the people were friendly, bathrooms were good, we would camp there again.
Jul 02, 2013
Always a great time at Des Moines West KOA.
Jul 01, 2013
Our stay was great. The location, fishing pond, and activities exceeded our expectations. Thank you!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
It is so good to have people that are sincere in there kindness and not a put on smile and fakeness. Keep up the good work
Jul 01, 2013
Perfect overnight place to stay while on the road, just far enough off the road to be quiet yet close enough for on-off convenience.
Jul 01, 2013
Very friendly staff and well maintained campground.
Jul 01, 2013
A wonderful, quiet place to stay. This was our second stay. The work campers were super!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Enjoyed our stay, interesting local sites, and all the amenities we needed as tent campers.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
the people who own and run this place are awsome. They also have a great pool and wine tastings, etc. Hope we get beck that way and will stay there for sure. Even have pizza delivery
Jul 01, 2013
Very clean, nice activities. Great dog run and playground.
Jul 01, 2013
this is a great campground! My only complaint is the women's showers. There are 3 stalls and only one of them works well. The middle one has a dribble for pressure and it turned cold on me halfway through. It did get hot again after I left it off for a period.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feedback on the showers...we will immediately remove and clean the sink faucet screens and shower head screens. I'm really sorry about the hot water not coming back, but that's due to the screens being clogged too. Too little flow and the on-demand units don't work. Thanks!
Jun 30, 2013
They tried real hard to make our stay fun, wine tasting, good wifi, good pool.
Jun 30, 2013
Your camp site provided a variety of entertainment options-fishing at the farm pond-my daughters and I caught 6 fish:) Also we enjoyed the mini cabin accomodations, the swimming pool,meeting some of the fellow campers, and renting the bikes to tour the campgrounds. thanks also for finding us a grill cover to use at our fire pit. Thanks, Steve Johnson & family
Jun 30, 2013
It was wonderful. the campgrounds were clean, the staff was wonderful. my daughter,her friend and i had a wonderful stay. we will be back. The staff we so helpful, friendly. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.
Jun 30, 2013
excellent thank you!
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Want to thank the owner who personally drove me into town to retrieve our truck which had to be towed for repairs
Jun 30, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. We found the washrooms a long way from our site.
Jun 29, 2013
Staff was very helpful and informative. Great location. BIG sites, easy in and out.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Right off the highway. Great for an overnight stay. Lots of RVs. Very clean and comfortable
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Very friendly staff. They even offer pizza and hot wings delivered to your door. Great stop along the highway with easy access.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Loved your campground. So quiet. Would deffinitly recommend it
Jun 27, 2013
Great campsite! I'm so glad I found it!
Jun 27, 2013
Check in time is too late(3:00). Most KOAs are 1:00.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
It was a overnight stay, which was good as always.
Jun 27, 2013
Lousy internet access. Never could get access to it. Trash was piled high and smelled really bad. Fairly expensive for very few amenities. Bright spot was the young man that delivered a very tasty pizza and showed us to our site.
Jun 27, 2013
Second stay within 1 1/2 weeks. Just as happy with the second stay as the first. Clean, convenient and friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.