Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2016
Great place to stay with the grandkids!
Jun 18, 2016
Good folks, great site and wish we had more time there.
Jun 18, 2016
Nice, clean cabins/campground. friendly staff.
Jun 18, 2016
Decent campground but their directions stating they were 18 miles from I35/I80 interchange were confusing. Coming sourh on 35 we had to travel 36 miles from I35/&0
Jun 17, 2016
Beautiful location, quiet and accessible from I 80. Friendly and gracios staff eager to make your stay relaxing. In our top five list. Thanks!
Jun 17, 2016
Very nice campground. Also loved the wings and hand dipped ice cream. Nice gift shop too.
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
The bathrooms were amazing!! Better than some hotels we have stayed in- granite counter and glass tile NICE. Kids loved the trampoline basketball and pool.
Jun 17, 2016
Great service. In and out with no problems.
Jun 17, 2016
Stay here every year we travel west. Nice clean campground. Washers need upgrading. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend. This campground.
Jun 17, 2016
Very very dusty. Just got my motor home and car washed before going in blew that money. Never could get the wifi to work either. Besides those two things it was fine. People were very nice and the location is close to the highway but no noise
Jun 16, 2016
Stayed one night, passing through IA. Used a very nice trailer that would sleep four. Very nice campground and dog park. Wish it had mature trees. Start planting them now???
Jun 16, 2016
Modern bathrooms, great for kids. Clean and comfortable.
Jun 16, 2016
Nice pool and K9 Kampground. Liked that it had spacious dog park area. Liked the lot size (spacious and not crowded). Liked that it had sewer in addition to electric and water.
Jun 16, 2016
Very welcoming, just great very clean and tidy with great size sites. The pizzas were great too. Excellent all the way round. Wish more were like this.
Jun 15, 2016
This facility improves each season. This is a great place for kids. This was our 4th stay and I would certainly recommend to anyone. We stayed a week in a 40ft 5er.
Jun 15, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Des Moines West KOA campground this past weekend! Their staff was very friendly, accommodating, and even highlighted for us all the possible points of interest that we might want to visit which we did go to most of the sites. We will definitely come back to the area and stay here again!
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Exceptional campground just west of Des Moines, IA! The bathrooms/showers were immaculate (probably newly done) but totally clean and well kept. Campground was well cared for and clean - hosts were friendly and efficient. Although we did not take advantage of it they offer pizza, wings. etched delivered to your site!! The off leash dog parks x 2 were nice. Nice stopover
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Very nice campground and store.
Jun 14, 2016
Top notch camp. Will stay with you anytime we're in the area. Thanks for a great stay. Butch Penrose
Jun 14, 2016
Best,clean dog runs of all the KOA camps from California to Michigan.Staff was extrenely busy, but never to hurried to answer any questions we had. A great place to camp !
Jun 14, 2016
We really like this KOA and stay there every time we travel west. Nice folks.
Jun 14, 2016
After already paying an additional fee for kids, thought it was ridiculous that you had to pay an addition $10 for them to bounce & use some of the play equipment. Seems like nickle & diming. Also on web map it said like us on face book & receive a discount-when checked in they said oh yeah we don't do that. At checkin gal interrupted every time tried to ask a question she was not customer friend

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Andrea, just to clarify, our rates include 2 adults and 2 kiddos. Additional people do cost extra, and we battle with the pricing of the fun pass every year. For example, this year we added the Trampoline Basketball ($18K) with no increase to our Fun Pass at $10. Our value to you is critical to us.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time! So many fun things to do!
Jun 13, 2016
Need to open camp store earler
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
very nice and friendly showers are excellent children have lots to do there
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
What a great place to stay!!! The hosts are so friendly and it was a wonderful experience.
Jun 13, 2016
love the new updates! Fun time and can't wait to go back!!
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The campground was well maintained. Can't wait to come back.
Jun 12, 2016
Very clean sites and facilities. Friendly staff.
Jun 12, 2016
I was in s trailer which was not a good fit for me traveling with dogs. Stairs too hard for a senior dog.staff very nice.
Jun 12, 2016
Great customer service, we broke down on our way to this KOA lost a day waiting for repairs ,they still honored our reservation the next day ! Thanks for your great service
Jun 12, 2016
Awesome
Jun 11, 2016
Awesome campground!
Jun 11, 2016
It was amazing! Perfect for our family. The entire campground was clean, safe, and there was tons of fun things to do for my family. Even the items in the shop where reasonably priced. We will definitely be back again!
Jun 11, 2016
Great place, something for the whole family. Pond, playground, pool, games. Would stay here again.
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean campgrounds with very helpful and friendly staff. Even though we were going through the state we were completely satisfied with campground and staff
Jun 10, 2016
Good time labor day weekend. Many activities for the children. Well done! Very friendly staff members.
Jun 10, 2016
Nice place, lots of staff keeping it clean. The all day trash service is very nice.
Jun 10, 2016
This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at. There were great activities for the kids. The sites were beautiful. The camp store was fun. Grounds were well kept, the restrooms were super clean. Definitely a keeper.
Jun 10, 2016
The people were very helpful and friendly. We will be returning.
Jun 10, 2016
It was fun and staff was amazing!
Jun 09, 2016
We always like staying there, awesome park.
Jun 09, 2016
Campsites are extremely close.
Jun 09, 2016
It was the best KOA to date in our cross country road trip. Beautifully maintained grounds. Nice staff.
Jun 09, 2016
Nice clean campground, super staff. Especially liked the Pizza Place (Hunt Bros.?) actually on the grounds.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award