Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 06, 2016
Grounds keeping mowed grass too early in morning. Host was distracted with another person during my checkout.
May 05, 2016
Beautiful setting. Great hosts. Pizza and wings delivered to your site. Win win.
May 04, 2016
First time I have ever stayed at a KOA, and it was amazing!! Friendly staff and a beautiful cabin!
May 03, 2016
Great place, husband had stayed here before!
May 02, 2016
May 02, 2016
Clean and well maintained! Wireless worked great! Very friendly and accommodating!
May 02, 2016
We had an awesome time even though it rained the whole weekend!! We can't wait to go back and experience all the activities when it's not raining!
May 02, 2016
Stayed two weekends in a row. Very clean. Great stay.
May 02, 2016
We have enjoyed both times we have stayed at this KOA. The people are great and the area is awesome!
May 02, 2016
Our cabin was very clean and comfy! Our 10 year old child enjoyed sleeping in the bunk bed. The Bathroom in our cabin was very clean as well.
May 01, 2016
Staff was very nice and very helpful
May 01, 2016
Apr 28, 2016
very clean facility, employees very friendly, the best koa i've visited.
Apr 27, 2016
We had a very nice time. The cabin we rented was very clean and comfortable.
Apr 26, 2016
Nice quiet area and pet friendly.
Apr 25, 2016
Friendly staff and an extremely clean park. Long, level pull-thrus with large grassy area between sites. Very nice!
Apr 25, 2016
Park is very well maintained. Good wifi. Trash pickup is nice feature. Although only 1.5 miles from I-80, beautiful, quite and secluded. Nice staff.
Apr 25, 2016
Great people, very helpful
Apr 25, 2016
We have been at a lot of KOAs and this one by far is the best one close to home.
Apr 24, 2016
Late night check in was easy
Apr 20, 2016
We stay at koa campgrounds as often as possible but this one was the best ever! Bathrooms were gorgeous and clean. The activities available were unique and fun for all. It will be a destination from now on.
Apr 19, 2016
They were quick to resolve electrical issue (50-amp not working)
Apr 19, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
Easy to find, just off I-80. Plenty of room to get around. All pull thrus. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed my stay.
Apr 18, 2016
The staff is very helpful and courteous. They have done improvements every year. The place is looking good!
Apr 18, 2016
The BEST KOA we've ever camped at!The staff is amazing, so friendly and helpful and the campground itself is beautiful and so well kept! We love it!
Apr 18, 2016
Nicest campground we stayed in on our trip from California to Indiana! Everyone was super friendly, and the grounds are immaculate!
Apr 17, 2016
Very clean, easy to find and get in and out. Staff fixed us a pizza and chicken wings for dinner, brought it to our site. Quiet, restful.very very nice.
Apr 16, 2016
The layout of the campground was good. The problem is with the gravel on the sites and roads - like large marbles making it hard to walk on. With this they have a real problem with dust - I can't imagine it being like this all summer. For this reason, we are going to check out another campground the next time in this area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Elaine, you caught us right as we were doing our initial grading of all the roads and sites, so it stirs up the rocks a bit and creates dust. This will subside usually in a few days and after the first rain. It's not like that all summer, luckily. :)
Apr 15, 2016
La réservation s'est fait facilement on line. L'accueil était cordial. Les facilités correspondaient à ce qui était annoncé sur le site Web. Le Wifi fonctionnait bien. Les sites sont sur le gravier mais c'est très propre.
Apr 14, 2016
Excellent front office and customer interaction. Good facilities and amenities: with the exception of WiFi strength and stability. Lots of us depend on robust internet access and operation for key parts of our lives. This WiFi system drops out and would not maintain a consistently available signal.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Robert & Patricia, I'm sorry for the inconsistent signal the day you were here. We were actually hanging all new wifi equipment that day, so now the signal is rock solid throughout the entire park. This is our 3rd wifi equipment in the 5 years we've owned the park, and so far the new system is great
Apr 11, 2016
The staff is very friendly and welcoming. They made us feel at home immediately. Also, the entire property is very well maintained!
Apr 11, 2016
It was early April, so there weren't any activities open, which we expected. We appreciated the K9 area for our dogs. Our boys are very anxious to return in the summer to experience everything the campground has to offer. We also came in late Friday and appreciated the information left for us. Thanks!
Apr 10, 2016
Apr 09, 2016
Quiet, relaxed location. Friendly professional staff, very clean facilities.
Apr 09, 2016
Very nice place to stay!
Apr 08, 2016
Such a nice park very clean lots of children's activities and a great corral for the canines owners are fantastic and very helpful highly recommend this beautiful park
Apr 06, 2016
This was an overnight stay and definitely will come back for a longer stay soon.
Apr 06, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. The nicest bathroom facilities of ANY campground I have visited. Too early if the season to utilize the pool, but it looked nice. Recommended.
Apr 06, 2016
Perfect
Apr 05, 2016
Just a quick in (almost dark) and out (before office open). Site assignment and facility (bathhouse) were just right.
Apr 05, 2016
Apr 05, 2016
excellent KOA
Apr 04, 2016
When showed up main office a mess they waited till last min to set there camp ground up. So there for we had to listen to them work all weekend instead of enjoying the outdoors. Bathrooms said clean daily but wasn't the men's room was filthy
Apr 04, 2016
We stayed opening weekend. A lil chilly but you cant control mother nature. At least it was a clear day as opposed to the eeather report! Nice pond and dog park. Great to have a fire and sleep in a tent.
Apr 04, 2016
one of the best out of 9 different KOA campgrounds during our 2 week trip. and it had the best restrooms of any KOA we have seen !
Apr 04, 2016
Stayed in the delux cabin, very nice an clean!
Apr 02, 2016
We were there right when the campground was closing for thseason for a large family event. The facility worked fine for that but most of the amenities were no longer open.
Dec 19, 2015
Nov 22, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award